Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Brenau University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/07/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Its a private university so very expensive tuition, start looking for scholorships.

    Will enjoy being here

    Everyone of the staff that has helped me have been very nice.

    Will learn a lot

    very good school so far heard from old students

  • 12/29/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 2 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be willing to work hard and take pride in your hard work! It's all worth it in the long run!

    Bang for the buck

    College is very expensive and Brenau is a private school. I do highly recommend attending Brenau, but I also recommend working hard to find scholarships for yourselves. That's why I'm here on Cappex, and let me just say how thankful I am for how easy Cappex makes searching and applying for scholarships!

    Am enjoying being here

    I actually attend Brenau's Online College, but it allows me to travel full-time with my family and to make a difference in lives around the country all while pursuing my degree.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors that I have had thus far have proven to genuinely have my success at heart! They have been very easy to work with, clear in their instructions, and willing to help when needed all while challenging their students to learn at new, higher levels.

  • 06/29/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Brenau is expensive. As long as you know what your major is and immediately start applying for scholarships, the financial aid department is extremely helpful in anyway possible.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus here is old and beautiful and the relationships formed between the professors and students seem genuine and peaceful.

    Will learn a lot

    I have gotten a chance to talk to the girls at Brenau. Based on their comments I feel comfortable with placing my future in this program. I feel that Brenau will prepare me for life after college in every aspect and the learning environment is not intimidating. Classes are small and intimate.

  • 08/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you have trouble in any academics always look to the library or you teachers. the library has plenty of tutoring centers, and teachers are always willing to help out just make sure to set an appointment.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private all women college so it will be very expensive.

    Am enjoying being here

    i love that the campus is small and in a sense intimate because everything is very close and you get to know almost everyone. We have a lot of programs and groups to join to theres always a place for you no matter what you like.

    Am learning a lot

    i have learned a lot, the classes are not easy but you will definitely learn something. the proffesors are always helpful just make sure to ask and it will make the expeirence all that more easier and understandable.

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the fountain: girls who get engaged while attending brenau get thrown into the fountain on campus!

    Bang for the buck

    the professors are so helpful! the extra help and time that come from the small class sizes are definitely worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    those who attend brenau get a free gym membership, and the sororites offer lots of fun and excitement through the events that they hold.

    Food and Dining

    brenau offers meal plans, like most colleges. i've only experienced the food once, and it was great!

    Dorm Life

    brenau is an all girls school, so don't look for guys and a football team to make the social life spectacular. the dorm and social life is built around friendships and sisterhood through the sororites that brenau is known for.

    Academic Rigor

    brenau offers honors and accelerated programs. if you're the type of student who gets bored easily if you aren't being challenged, brenau offers the types of programs that will help you fix that!

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you apply for several scholarships and keep your gpa high enough to receive scholarships from brenau. it is a private school, so watch out for the higher cost!

    In three sentences

    brenau offers small class sizes and has affiliations with the local hospital and another local college that offers several graduate programs. the way they go above and beyond to ensure the success of their students is so appealing! brenau university has everything i could ever want!

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Brenau's campus is located a few blocks from downtown Gainesville. Gainesville has an abundant variety of clothing boutiques, fine eateries, and entertainment. Brenau itself offers several clubs, organizations, and sports for their student's to enoy.

    Food and Dining

    The grounds are exceptionally beautiful and clean I imagine their dining area is wonderful with a variety of choices on the menu that are healthy and pleasing.

    Dorm Life

    This area is not applicable to me as I am an on-line student living in my own home. I imagine the rooms are spacious, clean, and updated.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically speaking Brenau's challenges their students, Brenau's instructors are highly knowledgeable in the subject areas and are willing to see that you achieve.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't miss a final for any reason. Utilize all of Brenau University's student assistance options if you seem to struggle learning.

    In three sentences

    Brenau offers a variety of degrees. Brenau's staff and educators are professionals with working experience. Brenau's instructors want their student's to achieve.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At Brenau we have 24 hour surveillance and a security staff who are serious about their job. Not only does Brenau have a security staff 24/7, we have call boxes which call the police at the push of a button.

    Greek Life

    We have 6 NPC sorities and 2 NPHC sorieties. On our campus we have a soriety for people with all different interest and personality traits. Our campus prides it self on Greek and non-Greek unity so that no one feels excluded.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At Brenau we pride ourselves on our immense amount of traditions. One of our many traditions includes a fountain where newly engaged students get carried into. Not only do we carrying on these traditions, as a whole we honor and cherish our history.

    Food and Dining

    We have two options for dining on the Brenau campus. As a residential student, we ate offered a full meal plan with flex bucks which can be used in our tea room. In the tea room, we have a coffee station and grill. This allows students to have various options fr their dining pleasure.

    Dorm Life

    At Brenau students get to have a choice for what dorm they would like to stay. We have an excellent staff of students that act as facilitators between students and the residential staff. They plan events so that we can bond as dorm members. We keep an open door policy when it comes to discussing how we feel so that everyone is comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    At Brenau, we are challenged in a way which makes learning fun yet knowledgable. We focus on critical thinking and have various speakers come and talk to the staff and students. Teachers help us expand our minds by using various recourse such as books, computers, gues speakers, and movies.

    Tips for prospective students

    If one is looking into joining the Brenau family, I would tell the perspective student to join the many Brenau Facebook groups. This allows for perspective students to ask questions and get a feel of how much Brenau's students love their campus. I would also suggest taking a tour, which is given by a student who has knowledge of the campus.

    In three sentences

    Brenau University is a tight knit community in which students are allowed to pursue their various interest while gaining a vast amount of knowledge. On this campus, we are able to be individuals without prejudice and hatred. The Brenau staff and community fully contribute to the feeling of home due to their enthusiastic actions and behaviors.

  • 09/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Brenau does have a lot of activities to do on campus. They always have some event happening on the weekend. You will never get bored.

    Food and Dining

    I wouldn't say that the food is the greatest, it's school lunch... but there is a tearoom that sells sandwiches and salads if you decide to skip cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is real fun...of course in the first year the dorms are not exactly big but when your there there is a lot of activities that you can do inside.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are very concerning to the students and always are there for help. The class sizes are smaller, so you the professors have more one on one time with the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    You can't be shy at this school! You learn to be more open, and more outgoing. Everyone on campus is very friendly!

    In three sentences

    Brenau University is a a all girl school that helps many girls gain sisterhood. It helps gain new close relationships but also helps us, and prepares us for the future. I recommend going to this great school!

  • 10/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think the school is great for any working student. I work fulltime and then attend school fulltime. It's also great for the older students who have families.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a wonderful school. The august campus only gets up to about 30 students in a room but they are usually not that full. This helps you have more one on one with the teacher, which can mean better grades.

    Bang for the buck

    I do believe you get your money's worth out of it, especially because we can only miss one class or you are dropped. Because of that I do think that's a negative. Since I'm paying for my school I feel as long as I am making a good grade it should be my choice to go to school when I want. Also, the teachers have to keep us in class the whole four hours which at times can feel like a lifetime. But, I do understand we need almost all of those hours to get a good education.

    Am enjoying being here

    I do enjoy going to Brenau. I do go to the Augusta, ga campus and although the rooms are small, it's a great school for all of us. Most of the teachers are extremely nice and understand most of us are working adults that have more work than just school to attend to.

    Am learning a lot

    Brenau has been the first college I actually feel like they are teaching me everything I need to know. Most of the teachers will help explain the material to you in a way you can understand it if you don't the first time. I love this college because they have a great learning atmosphere.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    None in the Augusta campus. Gainesville campus offers food and dining. I have never used their facility because I attend the Augusta campus. Augusta does not offer any amenities.

    Dorm Life

    None in the Augusta campus. I visited Gainesville's campus, and they offer dorm's. Appeared clean and the facility seem nice. If you want the college experience, Gainesville is the campus for you!!

    Academic Rigor

    Great!! Brenau offers students academic opportunities and the instructors are helpful and encouraging. Be aware that some classes are only offered once a year. So, sign up if you know you are required to take a certain class in order to graduate. Make sure to meet with your academic advisor in order to review your program plan. If you don't you will end up taking classes that are not required.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school if you are working full-time. You can juggle school and work. If you enjoy online classes, Brenau offers all their classes online, the only drawback, they are twice as expensive as on-ground classes. Good school if you are majoring in Accounting, Business or Human Resources. They don't offer too many majors. I was looking to major in Finance, but they do not offer this type of program.

    In three sentences

    Brenau is a great University for working adults. They cater their classes around students that are also parents, working adults and are involved in other activities. I love the convenience and location. I also like the 7 week classes!! It goes by really fast.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Brenau is a University for students who are parents and career personnel, therefore it is centrally located near many popular restaurants and fast food establishments.

    Academic Rigor

    Even though the work load is sometimes heavy, the teachers acknowledge that you are playing many roles in life and are willingly available when extra help is needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a University that cares about you graduating, and will help you work around your schedule, then Brenau University is for you.

    In three sentences

    Brenau University has allowed me the opportunity to achieve my goals as a student while having a career and family. Brenau University has small classes, which makes learning easier and the teachers are willingly available when extra help is needed. The Financial aid and Advisory staff are very friendly, patience and helpful in giving accurate information about courses and schedules.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are numerous amounts of clubs that are on campus. You will find an interest in something simply because theirs somebody that can relate with you.

    Food and Dining

    In all due respect the food at Brenau is not so great. The dining area is where most of the events around campus happen. The dining area is a good size making sure that every girl at Brenau has some where to sit in breakfast, lunch and dinner.

    Academic Rigor

    While attending Brenau it's very easy to stay on task there are no guys here for distractions. The classes are challenging but with that being said there are numerous resources that can be used to make sure you are successful. For example the writing center, the writing center ensures that once you turn your paper in you are going to receive a excellent grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    When coming into the doors of Brenau please be prepared to work your butt off. There is no slacking at Brenau there is a team of people here that believe in your future more than you do therefore you will be pushed to your highest ability.

    In three sentences

    Brenau University is a top university for students who are interested in becoming the best leaders they could be. Brenau also promotes team work with each and every student and professor. Brenau ensures that your future will be a success.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 13 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As much as the Brenau security officers are very nice men and they try, anyone could walk through campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is pretty much all encompassing at Brenau, its suffocating

    Clubs and Activities

    Although there is an abundance of clubs and activities on campus, it gets very frustrating because

    Great for these types of students

    Perfectionists and girls who love to be involved.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Fountain is both an unusual tradition and location. It is located on the front campus, and it is said to be good luck for an engaged Brenau women to be thrown in the fountain. She is not allowed to come out until she tells the story of how she got engaged.

    Bang for the buck

    Brenau is ridiculously expensive for the amount of stuff that you don't get.

    Food and Dining

    The food is sometimes worth the meal plan costs however the cafeteria is hardly ever open.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are falling apart. However, the lawn is always freshly mowed.

    Academic Rigor

    Although the teachers are wonderful teachers, it is obvious that Brenau does little to afford the teachers a suitable teaching enviroment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Rain boots are a must, especially in the fall and the spring months. Don't try to talk to members of HGH about their pins or the society.

    In three sentences

    Brenau is a traditionally all women's college that places an exorbitant amount of energy on traditions, and not enough time on the students or the actual quality of their education program. We pay almost 35,000 a year and they claim to have no money. Most of the students i have talked to are dissatisfied with the amount of time Brenau spends towards bettering the education of her students.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 14 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None on weekend Atlanta campus. Plenty on the main Gainesville campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Those interested in Occupational Therapy.

    What to do for fun

    I'm a weekend student so there isn't much time for fun on the campus. Only there from 8-5 on Saturdays.

    Food and Dining

    No dining on Atlanta campus weekend class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your financial aid is situated.

    In three sentences

    Superb academic university.

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get involved and if interested go greek!

    Academic Rigor

    Critical thinking is inforced

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you keep an eye over everything that goes on here, get involved!

    In three sentences

    The small classes make it easier for student teacher interaction. Most people employed here help as much as possible. Great unity!

  • 11/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Just completed the Miracle Mile Walk for Breast Cancer in October 2012....it was nice, but more people need to be invovled.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for working adults at Augusta site.

    Bang for the buck

    This is about the most resourceful college when it comes to spending for school....

    Food and Dining

    Only vending machines are available at this site, but there is a McDonald's close by.

    Dorm Life

    At the Augusta Site, so I am unable to say.

    Academic Rigor

    When it comes to academic rigor, you will be challenged to think and be able to apply to your everyday life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to be upfront about what you are trying to pursue, if not, they are still helpful with guiding you in the right direction.

    In three sentences

    The school is good at getting you information. The structure for a financial aid advisor is great. The communication with students has been excellent thus far.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Most any club you can imagine

    Great for these types of students

    Adult learners and traditional students

    Bang for the buck

    Brenau is worth every penny!

    What to do for fun

    There's a really great night life in Gainesville along with taking it easy at the lake.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Very outstanding professors who genuinely care about your success.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's never too late to go to college. Choose a degree that you have passion for and set a goal to achieve it.

    In three sentences

    Brenau is a great university for adult learners. I'm married with children and working full-time. Brenau is the best fit for my current situation.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 18 of 37

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    So far, I have had a good experience at Brenau. Other than being very expensive, it is a pretty good institution. I would recommend the school to others.

  • 02/11/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is security every where to make sure nothing happens

    Greek Life

    very good and very interactive

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    one unusual tradtion that i heard about is that if you get engaged while you are attending then your classmates or/and your soriterie sisters will throw you in to the fountian at the main entrence of the gainesville campus

    What to do for fun

    you can go hang out in your dorm or you can go out to eat or even go shopping there are a varity of different stores around campus

    Food and Dining

    they are great you can sit anywhere and the food is great

    Dorm Life

    great everyone is like a close knit family

    Academic Rigor

    it is very important to them that you do very good in your classes

    Tips for prospective students

    go tour the campus and if you get the chane during there winter weekend go stay the night and you will see how close knit the students are

  • 02/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    is very strong on this campus. most girls are involved in sororities.

    Great for these types of students

    Competitive, sisterly

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a ceremony you undergo that initiates you into the Brenau sisterhood. Also, every girl who gets engaged is thrown into the fountain.

    What to do for fun

    Mainly, you eat. There are a lot of places to eat. There also are some places to shop at. The school constantly has events going on. Museums and art galleries are plentiful.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright. It is hard to have restrictions, like vegetarian or gluten-free. Overall, it is still college food

    Dorm Life

    The dorms ok but are very strict. There is one night every year where boys can stay the night after the dance. Most rooms have two girls in them and a bathroom. I'd prefer living at home since it is close by.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is very competitive on the individual level. There are a lot of great professors that you can form an intimate bond with, which will help your grades out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to go to the Winter Weekend where prospective students get to spend the night at the school. It is very enlightening and worth your time. Even if you decide not to attend this school, it is still a fun event

    In three sentences

    Brenau is a great school for a woman searching for a sisterhood. The professors are great and seek to challenge your way of thinking. This school offers a lot of scholarships.

  • 11/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Brenau is extremely safe, with security walking all over campus any time of day. We also have Emergency Phone Locations in which you can easily call security if you feel unsafe or witnessed anything. When there is a suspicious person roaming campus, students are sent an email and receive a text from Brenau University which explains the situation and describes the threat's appearance. You don't have to worry about your safety here.

    Greek Life

    There's lots of Greek life at Brenau. We are home to eight sororities. Each helps different causes, such as the homeless, cancer victims, or neglected animals. Fundraisers are thrown to raise the money needed to give back. Greek life is mainly about friendships, and creating bonds that last forever. If things get tough, your sorority sisters are supposed to be there for you. There's an event to meet and speak with the various sororities, and be sure to do so if these last few sentences sound good to you!

    Clubs and Activities

    Brenau's site says they have over 50 clubs and organizations. I have not seen very much activity from any of said clubs, though, so I feel like they're pretty dead. There's many sports teams containing many international students brought here specifically to play. There's really cute boys from other schools who come to Brenau to eat lunch or dinner before/after their sports games. Everyone looks forward to that.

    Great for these types of students

    Brenau is especially suited for Southern, conservative women who would like to be empowered. Brenau University pushes sisterhood and friendships, so it is also great if you are or aspire to become an extrovert. Brenau women generally are classy and fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When a student becomes engaged, it's tradition to toss her into the fountain. Other traditions include annual celebrations such as May Day (which actually occurs in April), an event where the student body wears dresses, and (if you like) fancy hats and revel in Brenau's past and progress. Alumni come to speak and share wisdom with current students. Food and dancing is abundant during this day in the sun. Brenau also has a barbeque competition known as the Brenau BBQ Championship. Many different vendors sell their barbeque and compete for bragging rights (and possibly other prizes, I'm not sure). Everyone may attend both these events, not just students. These are a great opportunity to meet new people or invite your family to spend a day with you. ***Some believe Pearce Auditorium is haunted by a female ghost named Agnes. She's supposedly a friendly ghost, and many stories have been told about her. There is a specific seat in Pearce Auditorium in which you can supposedly feel her presence. Look it up, if you are curious!

    Bang for the buck

    The education is good, but everything else is SEVERELY overpriced. The food quickly becomes bland (again, no variety - same entrees and sides every week) and the housing is comparable to student housing that costs $2000 or less but will cost you at least $8,000+. If you must go here, choose the online school option. Even without needing to pay for housing or a meal plan, Brenau has cost me $10,000 for ONE semester of online schooling, not one year. That's extremely pricey.

    What to do for fun

    Brenau University has a handful of annual events to attend, and emails a newsletter which goes over all the activities of the week. Students know what is happening on campus via these emails, Brenau's own radio broadcasts, and word of mouth. Brenau has common rooms to hang out in, a tennis court (although I've never seen anyone use it besides tennis players), sororities and clubs to join, an art gallery (which is usually empty), a garden (always empty), a bookstore/store, and a theater in which virtually all performances happen. If you are looking to party hard, Brenau is not the school for you! Brenau is a dry campus meaning alcohol is prohibited. Whereas I'm sure a percentage of students drink and party anyhow, most of the students are more invested in hanging out with friends and having good, clean fun. College is a place to get an education, not a night club!

    Food and Dining

    I've found mixed reviews on the dining hall's food. After attending oncampus for a semester (and offcampus as an online student for another semester), I've found their food to be okay. It's good when you first arrive, but you will quickly grow tired of it because there is a severe lack of variety. There's about 3 or 4 entree options, and they are the same every week. For dessert lovers, there's a lot of options. Honestly, I think this is why at least half of the student population seems to be overweight.

    Dorm Life

    Brenau's Freshman dorms are average. There is a system of two students per room unless you are a RA. RAs get their own room. Some of the buildings have a common room which all the students of that specific dorm room may use. This room usually has a big TV, sofas, vending machines, and a pool table. West Hall does NOT have an area like this, so be aware of that when choosing your dormitory. Do your research! Upperclassmen can stay in apartment-like buildings on-campus or rent an apartment outside of campus. But, there isn't exactly an abundance of offcampus locations near the school. Items such as mini-fridges, microwaves, dish washers, ovens, etc are not included in the dorms. You can bring some of these items in yourself at your own cost (lame). I have found many colleges in the area offering much cheaper housing with better amenities and a lot more space. To reserve your dorm room (mandatory if staying on campus) is $350 - sorta high.

    Academic Rigor

    We offer free tutoring (it's probably paid for using our tuition) in many subjects, and have small class sizes which offer more individualized attention in the classroom. Classes such as Economics were tough. I suggest you take any areas you're weak in online - their online courses seem easier and you can take a combination on-campus and online classes at once. Beware that the library closes unreasonably early (I wanna say 11 or 11:30PM). For late nighters, try the SUB. It's a semi-secret study location.

    Tips for prospective students

    Turn in your housing application and deposit - if you plan to live on campus - ASAP. This will increase your probability of living in the building you would like. Apply for scholarships and grants until the cows come home, because it will save you so much money if you are awarded any. If accepted, you will be assigned someone to help you through the financial aid process. Stay in touch with this person and always do as they say immediately, do not procrastinate. Many things about college has deadlines, and you dont want to miss out on anything. Learn the ropes, because after you've been around more than a semester, staff isn't as eager to help you anymore.

    In three sentences

    Brenau University is a private women's college (with a very, very small percentage of male students - like, I've met maybe two males students in an entire semester) founded in the 1800s and filled to brim with traditions. Brenau encourages sisterhood and the power of women. Our mascot is the tiger, and Brenau University's school colors are golden yellow and black. ***The cost is really, really high (in my opinion), so if you do not qualify for scholarships such as the HOPE Scholarship, Zell Miller, etc, and do not come from an upper-middle class or better family, I do NOT recommend you attend. I come from a low income home and paying for school has been VERY stressful. I wish someone would have told me this, so I'm now making an effort to inform others.***

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Yes.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    Working class adults.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing.

    Food and Dining

    None in the Evans location.

    Dorm Life

    None in the Evans location.

    Academic Rigor

    Instructors are great and care about their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to pay a lot more for online classes. Each online class costs $1600. A lot of classes are not offered on ground, therefore you are forced to take the classes online and pay twice the cost.

    In three sentences

    Brenau University is great for working class adults. Class times are convenient and classes only last 7 weeks. They also offer online classes but the downside is it's twice the cost.

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 23 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Old technology, Ancient dorms, and Cats everywhere

    What to do for fun

    There really isn't much to do on campus or around campus.

    Food and Dining

    YUCK

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are horrific for the amount of money your spending to go this school.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are small and kind of challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit campus twice before you come, and the school is very expensive so way your options for what your paying,

    In three sentences

    If your end to the normal college experience you see on TV this definitely is not the school for you. Lots of activities but feels like high school. The campus living isn't to great.

  • 12/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All ages

    What to do for fun

    Attend sporting events, school functions, and club events

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent but nothing special

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms but i have heard horror stories

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are difficult but it is easy to make good grades if you take advantage of all study opportunities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and take advantage of every opportunity given. Live off campus if possible

    In three sentences

    Brenau is a very small school, which makes the classes intimate and personalized. The facilities are not very up-to-date, but the professors make up for it by being devoted to the students. They go out of their way to help in every way possible.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 25 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Never had to live in the dorms.

    Dorm Life

    Never had to live in the dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great if you need to work during the day. Night and online classes offered.

    In three sentences

    Pretty good school. Great for working students. Teachers not the greatest.

  • 03/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I attend on the Kings Bay campus where base security is great!

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not aware of any through the Kings Bay campus

    Great for these types of students

    The Kingsbay campus is great for non-traditional students and military affiliated students.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is a litle pricey unless you can qualify for an online military rate. I also sought out scholarships and pell grant.

    What to do for fun

    I spend time with my friends and family

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat on campus

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging but fun. Brenau has one of the best Business Administration programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    The college is a bit pricey. If you are in the military or a military spouse, online classes are the best way to go at only $250 per credit hour.

    In three sentences

    Brenau is known as an all womens college but also offers co-ed, non-traditional education. Brenau is professional. Brenau is flexible with multiple campus locations and online degree offerings.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a great campus security. They are work all hours of the night and are always alert. They help us out with whatever we need and keep strangers off campus.

    Greek Life

    I have recently joined a sorority, and I love it! Before, I thought i'd never join on because of the cost and because I did not want my grade to slip. But once someone explained it to me, the cost is not bad at all and the girls really help you keep your grades up.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have tons of clubs and activities. There is one for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Brenau really is good for all kinds of students. They offer many different opportunities for all students to achieve at. And we have a great coordinator that makes sure everyone is doing well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The most unusual is R.A.T.T week. The sophomores go around to the freshmen and ask them questions about the traditions here. If the freshmen gets it wrong, they have to dress up as some kind of Rat in front of all the students and faculty and do what ever the sophomore says.

    Bang for the buck

    Brenau is a very expensive school, but it gives you many opportunities and you get a great experiences out of it. The money defiantly doesn't go to waist.

    What to do for fun

    I joined a sorority and I love it! And if your not into that, then there are many other clubs and activities going on. You'll rarely get the chance to be bored.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. Not the best, but not the worst.

    Dorm Life

    I never thought i'd enjoy living in a dorm, but I love it! There's always someone to help and someone to talk to, but also time to have to yourself.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are a little difficult, but the teachers are always there to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind, stay positive, and get active

    In three sentences

    Brenau is the perfect school for all types of girls. The classes are small and you have great one on one contact with the professors. There is always something going on to help better the girls here.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Brenau security is always moving around campus keeping the campus secure. I have always felt safe moving around campus, even late at night.

    Greek Life

    There are at least 7 or more sororities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities on campus to participate in.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes and those wanting to join sororities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many traditions at Brenau. One of which is that the entire campus congregates twice a year for ceremonies.

    Bang for the buck

    There is an on-campus little grocery store and restaurant for when you are hungry during the times the cafeteria is not open. We are also an all womens college.

    What to do for fun

    We are just outside of atlanta and there are many things to do, see and visit in atlanta.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good and the dinning hall is nice.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are the smallest but the rooms get bigger your sophmore and junior year, and you get your own room senior year.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is not extremely difficult, depending on the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask the administration or staff for help. They are very willing and open to helping the students.

    In three sentences

    They professors are very helpful and have an 'open door' policy, their cafeteria food is good, and there are many choices to get involved in student life.

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    29 of 37

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Great registration process.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. You have security drive around a lot in navy blue SUV's. No weirdo's are wacko's close by that I know of. And most the community is 65 and older.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual tradition I know of is when they make freshman hold candles, write on paper their dreams, and then burn them in a fire. But I was a transfer, but I did it anyway.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a all women's private college, but if your going to a nurse or doctor its worth the education.

    What to do for fun

    I like to attend theatre or outside events that are for all students and are free. Also like to go to the Square and eat or drink in local restaurants. As well as, walk around and workout.

    Food and Dining

    Unfortunately, I'm not so favoring when it comes to dinning here. When ever there is an event the food is great or if there doing something for soon to be graduating high seniors. Other then that, the food is fair, but after these events the food is well (an explicated word inserted here).

    Dorm Life

    My dorm life was fun and somewhat stressful. It depends on which dorm your living in. But overall it's a great experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you pay your tuition before getting in. Cheaper to be off campus then on. Always funny people around.

    In three sentences

    Old but very comfortable environment to live in. Location is great for on campus students. Events are fun to attend, if you know about them.

  • 07/19/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe. Brenau is located in a safe city and town. The campus is safe and I have not experianced any problems.

    Great for these types of students

    Women- since it is a womens college. Also students that are looking for a hands on staff and a credable school. Students who are looking for flexability, small class sizes, and attentive teachers.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is a bit expensive, but you definetly get your moneys worth. The education you recieve and the help makes this college worth it. If you use your resources you will come out with a degree and a great GPA.

    Food and Dining

    I have not yet had the food but they do have many options.

    Dorm Life

    I will be living off campus. I have heard that the dorm life is good.

    Academic Rigor

    They want you to succeed and to have all the knowledge and more to get into the carreer you are persuing. Brenau gives you the knowledge and skills you need to advance into your carreer. You come out well equipt for the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are female and looking for a great school to get your degree and have direct contact with people this is the school for you. I alway recieve service and the school is well known with a great reputation.

    In three sentences

    A great all girl school. Great staff and very attentive. Class sizes are great and they have a great reputation. Very flexiable and knowledgable.

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is better then you would expect. We have the dining hall, and you get 19 meals a week if you are a residential student. The food in there is good depending on the day. The deserts on the other hand are great, and you might hit the freshman 15 sooner than you think :) IF you don't like the dining hall, then there is the tea room. The tea room is like a grocery store/food court/cafe all in one. You get 135 bucks to spend in there if you are a resident.

    Dorm Life

    Life in the dorms is what you would expect at an all girls school. There are many dance parties (girls only) and karaoke all night. The extensiveness of how hard girls can party can be somewhat overwhelming if you need to sleep because you have an early class and girls are being loud. But Brenau has mandated quiet hours which are between midnight and 8am. If it is ever too loud, then you have an RA (resident assistant) you can go to who will help you with anything you need.

    Academic Rigor

    Brenau has great academic classes and they can be challenging if you procrastinate. But the good thing about such a small school, the student to teacher ratio is low, so if you have any problems it is easier to get the one-on-one help that you need. Also, here at Brenau, you can jump right into your major. That is helpful, because you can get a head start on all the classes you will need for whatever major you choose to declare. It is not like high school where you are forced to take classes you don't even need for the future you choose.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for you is just make sure you have all of your financial aid in order, because Brenau is a little expensive. Also, if you decide to attend, try your best to join activities and branch out socially. It is a small school, so it is good to make as many friends as possible.

    In three sentences

    Although Brenau is a little pricey, you are really paying for the quality of education you receive. The campus is small, so it is easy to get around if you don't have a car. We are right next to downtown Gainesville, which means there are shops and things close by to the school. Everyone is friendly and there are some great sororities on campus. Don't write off Brenau because it is an all girls school.

  • 11/16/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    33 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    What I've heard: The food is GREAT, but don't be afraid to work it off sometimes.

    Dorm Life

    What I've heard: Not the best dorms, but they could always be worse.

    Academic Rigor

    What I've heard: It's challenging, but it's a matter of doing your work, that's all.

    Tips for prospective students

    I got accepted without even trying. It's not hard to apply, and as long as you've done your job in high school, you'll have no problems. Even if you're not sure about Brenau, it's worth applying anyways.

  • 12/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek Life is an amazing experience that I would not trade for anything in the world. Everyone is so friendly, whether they're in your sorority or not. Not a party school and it's a dry campus so all the sororities focus on doing good in the community.

    What to do for fun

    There are little places on the square, which is walking distance, where one can go. Little shops, restaurants, and parks are nearby to go out on a nice day.

    Food and Dining

    There are two locations as to where you can get something to eat. The dining hall has some good food and if you want something different, or if you're running late, you can also stop at the Tea Room for some good food and coffee.

    Dorm Life

    As a commuter, I do not live in the dorms, but do have friends that do. Many students enjoy living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Brenau is one of the toughest schools out there, but it's worth it one hundred percent. You know you're paying for the best education out there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Going to your classes and knowing your teachers know your name and how you're doing in your classes is great. Everyone is so friendly, you'll love it from day one.

    In three sentences

    Brenau University is a great small school. It has attentive administrators and friendly teachers. A friendly, encouraging environment that everyone loves.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We're not in a dangerous area but campus security always comes in handy.

    Greek Life

    Amazing Greek life although we're already one big sisterhood as a school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for EVERYONE to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Creative. Intelligent. Caring. Different. Shy. Out spoken. Brenau is for any woman who see's success in her future.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are too many for me to put down.

    Bang for the buck

    It's just a fun experience!

    What to do for fun

    It's an all girls school, it's basically a slumber party every night !

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay for the most part. I'm definitely not starving. I feel that the staff does the best that they can to assure quality food and many options. Sometimes I just feel as if they don't have enough variety.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life it honestly pretty great. The girls are nice and respective and the RA's are obviously trained and become one of your best friends.

    Academic Rigor

    I really feel as if I am receiving a quality education here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in with a positive attitude and above expect nothing but great things to happen to you.

    In three sentences

    This is a very creative school filled with creative people. The staff is exciting and supportive. It is a fun learning environment filled with women who want to be successful.

  • 07/06/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    36 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is fairly small, however, that is to the benefit of the students in the event of an emergency. There is constant security a phone call away. If needing someone to walk with you or drop you off at your car or dorm, they are there.

    Greek Life

    There are 8 different sorierities to check out.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a multitude of activities to get involved with, which is great!

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a theatre major, this is the place. The program is like no other with connections into the field once graduated.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Brenau works with University of North Georgia in regards to classes off campus. This gives students the opportunity to have some classes co-ed since Brenau is an all girl school.

    Bang for the buck

    For a private university, I believe that it comparible to other private universities.

    What to do for fun

    There are several sorierities to join and I am looking forward to Rush to decide which to join.

    Food and Dining

    I like how the meal program is set up and the food is great! If there are any food issues (allergies) etc they will work with you so there is food available that is healthy for you.

    Dorm Life

    I like the fact that we are able to be a part of the roommate decision. Since I am an upcoming freshman, I still havent had the opportunity to live the dorm life yet, but am excited to.

    Academic Rigor

    Based on my upcoming class load, I know I will be challenged properly and am very excited to get going.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are truly interested in this school, it is well worth a visit to meet staff and students. Stay on top of scholarship and paperwork information for your tuition and just enjoy the process, its well worth it all.

    In three sentences

    I am very impressed with the connection that the students and faculty have with each other as it is a small private school. I felt at ease right away while going through the process of auditions and registration. I love the fact that the program Im going into has great connections for after graduation.

  • 09/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Lots of variety. Prices are a little high, but what school isn't.

    Dorm Life

    They are small and outdated some but they are constantly working on them. Currently (2014) they are rebuilding many of the sorority houses and are going to do new housing soon.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know how to parallel park. Do not overload your schedule with hours just to graduate on time, it isn't worth the stress. Also, your grades will suffer and you'd rather have a great GPA in the end anyways.

    In three sentences

    Excellent smaller size school for those who want smaller class sizes. Getting a degree at Brenau is well known for a quality education. Most of the teachers are very nice and willing to help if you need extra help.