Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Briar Cliff University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is 24/7 campus security, and they are alway available to help with any situation that could arise.

    Greek Life

    briar cliff's students are currently in the process of starting a fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    briar cliff has an art club, c.h.o.i.c.e.s, s.o.u.r.c.e, cliff singers, chamber choir, jazz band, wren, football, basketball, soccer, baseball, golf, volleyball, track, and many other great activities.

    Great for these types of students

    briar cliff is great for students who are focused on academics, fun, cutting edge technology, and the opportunity to not only grow intellectually, but as a person.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    every year, incoming freshmen get to go on a trip the weekend before classes start, to okoboji, where they get the chance to do fun activities like zip lining, and where they get the opportunity to really meet new friends.

    Bang for the buck

    there is a lot of bang for your buck here at briar cliff university. for instance, everyone has unlimited access to tutors or our writing center, where they will help you with your papers. all incoming freshmen receive ipads, and the professors are much more accommodating here than at larger campuses.

    What to do for fun

    there are many fun things to do at briar cliff university. you can join our outsdanding choir or jazz band, or you can be a part of our art club, among many other things. we often have reduced ticket prices at local movie theaters and we receive student prices at our local professional symphony orchestras. all incoming freshmen receive ipads which are an integral part to learning, and are also extremely fun.

    Food and Dining

    the dining services at briar cliff are nice and accommodating to all health needs.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms at briar cliff are nice. i believe it's essential that all incoming freshman live in the dorms at least their first year of college, because it helps with problem solving and social skills.

    Academic Rigor

    the academics at briar cliff are top notch. all of the professors are experts in their fields, but are very humble, and always willing to go that extra mile to make your classes understandable and relevant.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you're a prospective student looking into briar cliff university, make sure you ask about scholarships, because they have, and are happy to help you make your education affordable.

    In three sentences

    briar cliff university is a great school to attend. they are very warm and welcoming to their students and will bend over backwards to help you succeed. briar cliff university has done so much to help me succeed in my future career choices, and i'm only a beginning freshman.

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    this school currently doesn't have any fraternities or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs and activities to join. there is something for just about any kind of person's interest from bible clubs to politics clubs to intramurals for the the athletes.

    Bang for the buck

    the school is a little bit expensive but they offer a ton of scholarships which can make it affordable and you do get a good education for your money.

    What to do for fun

    the school always has activities advertised so that you can always find something to do. the events are usually free which is another plus. we get comedians, have talent shows, ice skating, karaoke nights and have fairs.

    Food and Dining

    the cafe provides a lot of selection so there is always something that you will like.

    Dorm Life

    ra plan out fun activites for the people living on their floor which makes it easy to become friends with the people around you.

    Academic Rigor

    since the classes have less students your able to get more assistance from the teacher if you need it so difficult subjects are less difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    briar cliff is a small university with gives a sense of community that is calming but isn't right for someone wanting a giant partying school.

    In three sentences

    its a very good university where you can expect to learn a lot. teachers take time to explain anything that you may have questions about which is really nice.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus security is very safe, smart, and secure. they have a 24 hour phone and are quick and precise with everything they do.

    Clubs and Activities

    all kinds of sports and clubs it keeps you interested and gets you out of schoolwork when you need a break!

    Great for these types of students

    students who want to get away from home. students who love small classes. students who love meeting new people.

    Bang for the buck

    the price to attend should be lowered, but the overall experience of bcu is awesome. you meet so many people and have great times and i definitely recommend it for a student who wants to get away from home.

    What to do for fun

    there are many things to do for fun. go watch a basketball game, go out and watch some football, go catch a show at tyson events center, omaha isn't too far away, sioux falls is a fun town and its about an hour away, and the best thing to do is just go out with friends and you will have many unforgetting memories.

    Food and Dining

    the food quality is very good but some days you have to go out and eat somewhere. you get a good amount of food for the price that you pay. the employees working are very nice and friendly as well.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is fun because you have all your friends very close to you. and they are coed. however, you don't have too much privacy in the bathroom areas, and there should be more laundry and washer machines on each floor.

    Academic Rigor

    although the classes are fun and interesting, they provide tons of challenges that will work your brain and prove to be difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    be ready to make good friends! i've became great friends with people from all over the world! make sure just because the classes are smaller doesn't mean that you can study and work less, work hard and you will get good results.

    In three sentences

    briar cliff is a wonderful place. you get whatever help you need in any class and the classes aren't too big so it's perfect if you're someone who asks a lot of questions like myself. briar cliff teaches you very well, and the teaching staff are courteous and friendly.

  • 04/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always willing to walk you to your car.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs for business, nursing, math, science. There are also opportunities to study abroad.

    Great for these types of students

    Briar Cliff is very versatile, you will find your niche.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    underground tunnel from Heelan Hall to the Stark Center. Super cool!

    Bang for the buck

    The education there is just awesome and they are worth the money you put into it. Also there is financial assistance available for those who qualify.

    What to do for fun

    Support your fellow students with sports, activities, and lounging about in Heelan Hall.

    Food and Dining

    The food is actually pretty good. The cooks do a good job there to make sure we are eating healthy.

    Dorm Life

    You meet interesting people who can change your life. They truly become your best friends while you're there.

    Academic Rigor

    Sports, academic achievement, volunteer and good service.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best and use your resources.

    In three sentences

    Briar Cliff is a great school and each student there knows it. It is great because the school really cares about each of their students. Also, there is a sense of family and opportunity for student growth.

  • 05/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Great Christian school, there are cultural trips to help the underprivileged, to give a helping hand, and to give back to the community.

    What to do for fun

    Always something going on.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat on campus

    Dorm Life

    I don't know I live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    I think the academics are challenging, but not so hard that I fail my test. I study hard but it's because I want the great grades. If you do C work that's what you will get, but if you work hard to get that A, it will happen.

    Tips for prospective students

    This isn't a stacker school, so if unwilling to study this problably isn't the school for you. If you are looking for a challenge this school can help in that area. Make sure to bring clothes for the weather, winter coat, hat, gloves, shorts, flip flops, and a great smile-the weather is always changing.

    In three sentences

    A wonderful school, the professors are more than willing to help with anything that I am struggling with. The campus life is always fun filled and there is always something going on. Great college experience.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Not involved.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Briar Cliff is great for students that need help from the instructors as they will go out of their way to assist them.

    What to do for fun

    Sioux City has many attractions from the river to historic downtown.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in the dorms but have heard from others that they are good compared to other colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    The one thing that I would of liked to known before starting classes at Briar Cliff is to be prepared for the commitment. The rewards are huge once completed, but it really was a time commitment.

    In three sentences

    Briar Cliff is an excellent college. I am a nursing student and completed my BSN through Briar Cliff. It is an excellent college with small college values where students are respected and instructors are there to assist students in their learning.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Briar Cliff has many different buffet lines that can fit everyones needs such as vegetarian and a pizza line. It is always filled with deserts and a variety of different drinks. During certain hours the Firepit is open for some nice and quick greasy late night snacks or meals, if you can stand the line.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life can get very noisy at night when everyone is trying to sleep especially on weekends but the R.A.s try to fit everyones needs as much as possible and are open to new ideas. Briar Cliff also has many games for each floor and building to compete in.

    Academic Rigor

    Briar Cliff provides many centers where you can receive help if needed and the teachers are very helpful and give many chances to meet with them.

    Tips for prospective students

    I advise you to stay on track and talk with the teachers if you do not understand something. Also join in on the many events that goes on in the Saint Francis center, it is a great social opportunity.

    In three sentences

    Briar Cliff University has a great student body from different countries and cities. There is also many job oppurtunities for every student to work. The teachers are also very relaxed and understanding which makes it a great place to go.

  • 10/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Costs could be higher I guess.

    What to do for fun

    I have 18 credit hours, three kids, a husband, two dogs, and I work 5 days a week. I don't really have time for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Food costs are too high for the quality of food provided.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Upper level classes are very challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to ask lots of questions.

    In three sentences

    Good so far. Many helpful staff members. Tuition is high though.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is constantly on patrol. Safety is not a worry.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a bench that over looks the edge of the cliff. It's pretty nice. It's stunning to go sit there at night and overlook the city. It's a fantastic sight. There are so many unique places all over campus you just have to explore and find them.

    Bang for the buck

    Briar Cliff seems pretty expensive at times but there are many scholarships available to help make it afford able. You get an iPad, access to computer labs and paper and comfortable heating and water and cleaning services in the halls.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities available on campus to go do. There's sports events to attend and a 'pub' with pool tables and tvs to hangout at. You can also go into the city and find something to do like watch movies or go out to eat.

    Food and Dining

    You hear everyone complain about the Cafe alot but the food is pretty good. There's cereal, toast, salad bar, sandwich station, pizza,burgers, fries, and grilled cheese constantly available. There is also milk, juices, flavored fresh water, and pop available all the time.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms aren't as large as I would like but it helps you learn to compromise. I live next to Rwandans and have an issue with them being up late but dorm life is what you make of it. It has it's ups and downs but I still enjoy being around everyone.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some very easy classes available to take but much more of the classes challenge you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. Stay on top of your schoolwork and don't procrastinate. You will meet all kinds of new people but stay true to you.

    In three sentences

    Everyone knows everyone on campus. Teachers are very interactive and personable. Provides a very good education on a small campus.

  • 07/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Orpheum in downtown Sioux City brings great musical performers and groups to this college town. We also have the Tyson Events Center, which has featured anyone from Carrie Underwood to the WWE wrestlers within the past year!

    Food and Dining

    The cafe staff has recently started Going Green. This is great for the students' overall health.

    Dorm Life

    The upperclassmen dorms are the best, specifically Baxter. However, none of the dorms have changed much since they were built between 1960-80.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a great place to be pushed academically. The Honors course is also excellent for the exceptional students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a campus tour. Visit with a professor in your prospective department. Get to know the Admissions staff.

    In three sentences

    Briar Cliff University is a great place for the home-y feel. It's small and personable. There's always someone available to help you out!