Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Bridgewater College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/22/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school has a great biology and psychology department.

    Tips for prospective students

    Classes can be hard but if you put the time and effort into it then you'll love it. Also do not make fun of equestrians, this school has a large equine program and they may take some comments personally, ex. equestrian is not a real sport. It's an all around great environment with a number of activities to do.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is really expensive, but they offer a lot of aid and scholarship money.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it at Bridgewater, it's a great place to be.

    Am learning a lot

    There is a lot to learn at this school with tons of different classes and very friendly faculty (for the most part). Only one required class i have taken has been utterly useless with no transfer value, (PDP).

  • 06/06/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    great scholarship money

  • 06/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who would otherwise fade into the background. At Bridgewater you will be noticed. It is also great for people who want to be away from the hussle and bussle of city life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bridgewater College is an ideal school. The campus is lovely, expecailly during the fall or spring/summer when colors are changing or things are starting to bloom. The professors are interested in your education and a small number of students in each class makes it easy to get involved and ask questions. The students are friendly and it is easy to get involved on activities on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm not going to lie, Bridgewater is expensive. However, the amount of scholarship money they are able to give away was the deciding factor for me to come here.

    Am enjoying being here

    Bridgewater has a pleasant atmosphere. It is just as easy to find someone to talk to as it is to go off an be by yourself either inside or outside.

    Am learning a lot

    Teachers and professors want you to think. The majority are open to taking a few extra days here and there to discuss the issues that students are interested in. After all, it's our education, not theirs.

  • 06/22/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great school for all types of students. Everyone makes you feel welcome.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit your schools before choosing where to enroll!!!

    Bang for the buck

    Scholarships and loans make going here affordable.

    Will enjoy being here

    Great location!!! 10 minutes from Harrisonburg.

    Will learn a lot

    Bridgewater offers majors for everyone. Faculty and staff are very helpful. Upperclassmen are kind and very welcoming.

  • 07/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletes!!!!!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take more than one visit. Don't judge a book by it's cover and take some time to make an over night visit. It makes it much easier if you play a sport, most people on the campus are athletes.

    Bang for the buck

    Seems like I am paying a lot of tuition and nit completely sure what it all goes toward. There are a lot of fines that are punishments for disciplinary actions.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love this school. I'm from a city so I thought a small country school would be terrible, but I was completely wrong. The school takes some warming up to, sometimes even an entire semester, but definitely worth it. I love this school a lot more than expected.

    Am learning a lot

    This school challenges you intellectually but also makes you learn a lot about yourself because of the liberal arts program. Having to do community service projects teaches you a lot more than you can imagine. I have studied in both the athletic training program as well as the biology major, both are subjects that I have learned a lot in. Biology is a very difficult major, but great professors make it more understandable.

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food is so good. seriously, bridgewater's dining hall is number 5 on the list of best places i've eaten. the selection is marvelous, although the bananas are always a bit green.

    Dorm Life

    some dorms are old, some dorms are new. some dorms are small, some dorms are huge. it's luck of the draw, whatever you get, should be just fine, for any student.

    Academic Rigor

    despite a reputation as a school for those who aren't accepted anywhere else, it's a very stimulating environment. the classes are challenging and intriguing, so don't mark it off because it's a small school.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you want a small college, apply. if you don't, don't. spend a night, eat a meal or three in the dining hall, hang out with some students. even if you don't end up going, it's alot of fun.

    In three sentences

    as a small town guy, bridgewater seems like a pristine campus. people leave their bikes unlocked, the crime level is next to zero. it's beautiful and friendly and lovely.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The only safety consern you need to worry about might be getting chased by a cow! The safety on campus is amazing and the best system I've seen by far! The chief of police is there for you 110% no matter the time or day!

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately there isn't any Greek Life on campus, but you can always join the club for it!

    Clubs and Activities

    There is no way Bridgewater doesn't have a club you want! Even if they did you actually have the chance to make a new one!!!

    Great for these types of students

    The Pre-Med Society is great for all Chemistry, Biology or Biochemistry students! It helps provide insight on your near future and it allows you to ask previous graduates of Bridgewater what they're doing now!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    All of the traditions on campus have a meaning to them from earlier graduates or Presidents (of the college). However, they all are important to the students because it's what defines us as Bridgewater students.

    Bang for the buck

    Since it's a Liberal Arts College you'll get exactly what you want from it! There is a huge difference between a regular University and a Liberal Arts College. The education gained from Bridgewater will help you pursue and achieve a life beyond your expectations! There is no doubt that you could get any more from Bridgewater than you are given!

    What to do for fun

    Anything! Bridgewater has tons of intramural sports as well as clubs/activities! The best part about it is that you don't even have to be involved in the club to be invited because they send invites to the whole campus! We have corn hole, volleyball, soccer, football all the good stuff year round! Even better for us girls is the shopping mall right down the road in Harrisonburg!

    Food and Dining

    The food is great you just have to look at the menu first to decide where you'll want to eat. The KCC (main dining hall) is actually changing a lot of the food options around to help assist us with making better food choices.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is amazing! My freshman year I stayed in Geisert Hall (all girls) and i have to admit it turned out way better than I thought! The resident advisors' there are extremely friendly and have struggled through their first year as well, so don't be afraid to ask for help!

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are always able to help even when they aren't at the college. They are their to aide you and provide assistants when you think it's needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your applications are in on time!!! That will give you the best chance of getting the most scholarships!!! Also talk with students from there who are studying in your field, this will help to give you a sense of what professors you'll need as well as internships available for you!

    In three sentences

    Bridgewater is a great community to get involved in! Just be you and don't be afraid to stick out, there are many people just like you! Over all it's a wonderful family to become apart of!

  • 10/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want an open and trusting community will love the campus. While its in a pretty rural area, it isn't bad for city kids. Harrisonburg is very close.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely try your best for financial aid.

    Bang for the buck

    While they do offer movies on the lawn, well known speakers, concerts, etc, if still feels like you are paying a significant amount. You do get a small, trusting, generous atmosphere unlike other colleges, but price is still high. They do offer a lot of scholarships though.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone will talk to everyone, regardless if they know each other or not. Everyone is very friendly, which makes it an enjoyable atmosphere. There is also a strong sense of trust on campus. If you lose something, you can bet that someone will return it. Classes arent that bad either. Homework isn't as intense as some other colleges, but grading is still quite tough.

    Am learning a lot

    Liberal arts definitely teaches you a lot more overall than typical colleges, so you become more well rounded. Also, you are required to attend seven convocations a semester. While this seems pointless, it actually teaches you a lot. These convocations range from movies to well known speakers.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    bridgewater college has a very safe campus. you never have to worry about walking across campus after dark, and if you prefer not to walk alone you can always call the campus police if there is no one else around. the campus police are exceptional. they are always working to keep the students safe on campus and you can call them if you ever need anything.

    Greek Life

    there is no real greek life on campus, other than a few academic fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are tons of clubs and organizations on campus. no matter what you like to do, there is a probably a club that fits for you. they hold activities fairs each semester where students can check out and join some of the clubs on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    bridgewater college is quite expensive since it is a private college. however, they offer a lot of scholarships and financial aid is always available for those who qualify.

    What to do for fun

    eagle productions is a student-run organization on campus that plans tons of activities for students to do. there is usually some type of event going on every weekend, and if you can't find something fun on campus, there is plenty to do in harrisonburg.

    Food and Dining

    there are only a few options for food on campus, the main dining hall, the eagle's nest, and the crimson cafe. the food is okay. there are some meals that are very good, and then there are others that aren't. however, there are always plenty of different choices and you can always find healthier options too.

    Dorm Life

    bridgewater college is a residential campus, so the majority of students live on campus. it is nice because you never have to worry about whether or not you will have on campus housing each year because it is guaranteed. there is apartment style housing for upperclassmen, and you can also apply to live in honors housing. the size of the dorm rooms are fairly large compared to some schools and many of the rooms have built in dressers, closets, and cabinets for storage.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes here at bridgewater college are pretty typical college courses. the workload can be very heavy at times and professors expect you to complete all assignments, attend class, and engage in class discussion.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to visit all of the colleges you are thinking about attending. sometimes the best way to get a feel for what the college is really like and decide if it is right for you is to actually come to campus and see it for yourself.

    In three sentences

    bridgewater college has a great small community feel. the professors are always willing to help you with anything you may need. located near harrisonburg, everything is only a short drive away.

  • 03/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are over 40 on campus activities for students to join. i am currently in an organization called eagles production where we all are responsible for producing fun events every weekend. other fun activities are dance clubs, language clubs and many more.

    Food and Dining

    the food service is fair. however, it has many food options where students can choose freely.

    Dorm Life

    the halls are comfortable and develops the responsibility skills of students.

    Academic Rigor

    each course is taught by a well educated professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    if students want to build their intellectual skills very quickly, then bridgewater college will be the right place to enroll at because the college focuses on its students with care.

    In three sentences

    it has a variety of majors to choose from. it teaches its students how to be independent and responsible. its small and safe community makes its students into a one happy family.

  • 04/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Horse-riding, Eagles Production, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. You have a variety to choose from. However, after a year, you may find it tasteless.

    Dorm Life

    Really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The majority of current students here gets scholarship of some sorts. Thus, depending on classes, you will find a handful of students who study hard day and night. But then again, there still are lazy people who get all A's.

    Tips for prospective students

    -The Personal Development Program is a joke, but it's a part of the college. Choose wisely while taking the courses. -Do not drink on campus. If you want to party, head over to James Madison University. -Do not think you can cheat, the professors here are very strict about cheating. They will send you to the Honor Council.

    In three sentences

    Bridgewater is a nice college for whoever wants to be a big fish in a small pond. That means the school's small size is a plus-minus sign for someone who wants to build strong relationships, enjoy nature, and love the urban life. For the academic part, Bridgewater has wonderful faculties and staffs that are always willing to help.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe. Security is always around so that's something we dont have to worry about and if you feel unsafe late at night you can call security and they will walk with you back to your dorm.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities you just have to find what suits yuou the best.

    What to do for fun

    Bridgewater is in the middle of nowhere for people who are use to huge malls and movie theaters and places to hang out with friends. We found ourselves bored many night but when you make friends you guys will find stuff to occupy your time.

    Food and Dining

    Personally I did not like the food and I had a lot of friends who didn't either. We found ourselves eating out just about every night and it was very costly.

    Dorm Life

    For me dorm life was good. I got along with everyone. My ra's were great and when it came time for showers I never had to wait for one they were always available.

    Academic Rigor

    It is very rigorous depending on the course and professor. I know the year before i came they told us someone in the previous class said the classes were not hard enough so they started giving more work. Some general ed courses are treated like its a 300 or above course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try your best, and be confident in who you are because it is very true that if you stand for anything you will fall for anything. This is very different from being at home no one forces you to do anything so you have to want to make good grades and you also have to tell yourself when you can not hang out with friends.

    In three sentences

    The plus side for the school is that it is very small and getting to different places will not take long. A downside is if you are a picky eater you will find yourself eating out everyday. Classes are small so professor are always able to help you personally whether its by appointment or during their office hours.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are respectful.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wish there was more I could participate in.

    Bang for the buck

    Bridgewater is very expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Its what you make of it. I love hanging out with my friends. I like having friends from a bunch of different groups too because I love seeing different perspectives from different people. My favorite thing to do at Bridgewater is watching the sporting events.

    Food and Dining

    Foods not the best. But there are many different options. College food isn't going to be like home cooked meals anywhere. Plus were getting better food next year.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life's fun. There are a majority of different places to live. Including dorms, honors houses, apartments, and town house like places.

    Academic Rigor

    I think that the academics are excellent. The professors help you to not only learn the material but they help to learn how to build relationships and show respect

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the professors they will help you if you ask. They are also very good references and help you in any way they can.

    In three sentences

    Bridgewater is a college that makes you work really hard for you diploma. They make the classes very challenging but they are also very encouraging and open to helping you. If you look for them there are so many well rounded people.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    Bridgewater is a small private school where you can get a great education and one on one time with teachers. The campus is very inviting and recently renovated. Also a very safe campus with hardly any crime.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The chief teaches all the girls self defense on campus. If the guys want to take it, they can take it, too, but it security is tight. It is very safe.

    Greek Life

    I do not know much about Greek Life, but they do a lot of community service.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs to chose from. Everyone is very friendly, so it is not hard to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who are not fond of the fast life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have highlighter wars. You wear a white shirt and you have to mark someone's shirt with out getting marked.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private college, but they give a lot of financial aid. It is affordable. You can also do work study.

    What to do for fun

    There are intramural sports, equestrian club, dance classes, movie nights and many other thing. Bridgewater is small, but there is plenty to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is awesome! I do not have to worry about running home for a decent meal. There is fast food, but there is a variety of other kinds of food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very clean and spacious.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not taken any classes at Bridgewater yet. What I can say is that every teacher has a Ph.D., so I imagine there must be some rigor and it is a liberal arts school. I have been told by the professors that the are willing to help their students in any way they can, so no one has to be afraid.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you do not like the smell of horses or living in the mountains, Bridgewater College may not be the place for you. However, I encourage anyone to visit. Bridgewater is a charming place.

    In three sentences

    Bridgewater is amazing! I visited and could not find a single thing wrong with it. It has a very tranquil atmosphere.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Definitely feel safe on this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not involved in any clubs at the school. I have too much other things going on in the community.

    Bang for the buck

    Give a good amount of in house scholarships

    Food and Dining

    It is good if you only eat there once a week, but it gets old after a while.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter

    Academic Rigor

    Some tough classes that seem pointless for any education unless you find a major related to emotional wellness. The course is PDP.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your schedule has C. Versen listed as a History teacher, switch your schedule as fast as possible, he is the most arrogant and awful teacher that I have had throughout my whole education career.

    In three sentences

    I am a commuter student and only have classes three days a week. Overall, I am not the biggest fan of this school because of the uselessness of some of the classes. I have heard that the class is no longer being required after this year so that shouldn't be a problem any longer.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is amazing. There is always a police officer on patrol along with safety phones in each parking lot. If you are away from your dorm, you can call campus police and they will give you a ride back to your dorm.

    Clubs and Activities

    Bridgewater does have a wide variety of clubs from sword fighting to major clubs such as Eagle Productions.

    What to do for fun

    Bridgewater College does offer a large amount of activities that allows relaxation for the students. They offer EP (Eagle Production) events which would sometimes include magicians, bands, or even haunted houses.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is really healthy, especially this year with the new meal plans. You do have, of course, pizza and burgers but all in all the food here is really healthy.

    Dorm Life

    You have a wide variety of different dorms to live in. All female or all male or coed dorms are your options here. Every dorm feels like a giant family and is always there for each other.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor here is pretty intense. They push you a lot more than most colleges in the state. They do have higher expectations of you, especially with the amount of days you miss. You do pay a lot of money for each class, but it is worth it when you receive the credits.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students would be to study hard. The professors do not play around when it comes to work, but they do help you in all ways possible.

    In three sentences

    Bridgewater College is an amazing private college that allows individual attention towards a student when they require help. I am not just a number, but a student in the professors' eyes that. They definitely attend all your needs in order to graduate and acquire your degree of choice.

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There is a place for everyone at Bridgewater. A lot of people play on the sports teams or do intramural sports.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every time a sport team wins a game, the memorial bell rings.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good for being a college. While there are no fast food places on campus, Harrisonburg is only a short drive away.

    Academic Rigor

    Like any other college, how hard the classes are depends on the class and the professor. For the most part though, all of the classes are pretty easy. If you are struggling there are plenty of people that are willing to help around campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont be afraid when you see your professors in the dining hall during lunch time. It is a little strange at first, but you get over it. Also, dont worry about not eating with anyone at lunch the first 2 weeks of school your freshman year. Just ask to sit with a group of people.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While Bridgewater is in a safe area, there aren't any emergency buttons except for in the parking lots. Most campuses have them all around for those walking across campus alone at night. Campus police is mostly to give parking tickets.

    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are used to small town life and enjoy a smaller setting.

    Bang for the buck

    A lot of students complain about the food, etc. because we pay so much for not so great.

    What to do for fun

    Sports games

    Food and Dining

    The food is not great. Not a lot of variety. Even after we got a new food vendor.

    Dorm Life

    Our dorms are quite a bit larger than a typical dorm room. While there is only one row of apartments, really nice senior houses are available for those who can afford them. Students get to choose where they live based on their lottery number. Some upperclassmen get stuck in dorms because they don't get such a great number.

    Academic Rigor

    I went to a really great high school and took APs to prepare for college so I am better off then some students. But, I still have to study hard to make it on the Dean's list. The psychology professors are great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to other students and pick the best teachers. Play a sport! If you don't get recruited try out.

    In three sentences

    Bridgewater is very small and in a very small-town area surrounded by farms, a little too small for me. A lot of students go home on weekends and mostly people go to nearby schools for parties. I have had some good professors, but some not so great as well.

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We have an awesome out doors program, tons of places to go, located near JMU so if you really need to get that crazy party feeling you can. Small School feeling, Big school spirit. Sports are a huge thing too!

    Food and Dining

    College food sucks almost everywhere. Good luck.

    Dorm Life

    Love it personally but it can be a little slow on the weekends.

    Academic Rigor

    Liberal Arts is the way to go, I've never been so challenged or learned so much about life in my life. You don't just learn your subjects here, you learn about how to live.

    Tips for prospective students

    Play a sport in college, its worth it. Get in touch with people in your major or other students. Ask them if they like it, and Always go visit first.

    In three sentences

    I love BC for a lot of reasons. My biggest one would have to be the family feeling I get from living on the small campus. The other one is the responsibility of the students and staff, we know how to have fun but when to work.

  • 02/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Eagles Productions put on events every weekend and they always are giving prizes, food, and creating a fun, cool atmosphere. Also, James Madision University is not far from Bridgewater you could always go to party there.

    Food and Dining

    KCC has diverse and healthy food everyday. It tries to cater to gluten free and vegetarians.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in Geisert. Good dorm room spacing.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent professors and staff. Office hours and appointments with the professors really can help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be brutually honest on the roommate survey, it will help you from having future roommate problems.

    In three sentences

    Bridgewater College is a beautiful small, private college. Atmosphere is safe and learning environment. Professors actually care to help you if you need it.

  • 06/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During finals week they pick a day and have a pancake night.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do in Harrisonburg which is only a few minutes up the road. Also, Massanutten resort offers activities such as skiing, snowboarding, and an indoor water park.

    Food and Dining

    The food was not very good but every once in a while they did have some decent food

    Dorm Life

    There are many dorm options on campus. I lived in Dillion Hall my freshman year and loved it. The RA's were super nice and willing to help with whatever they could. The rooms were clean and were bigger than most college dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at this college are very rigorous especially in the psychology department. The professors expect you to do the work they assign and go the extra mile.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to talk with your professors. The professors are there to help you and are more than willing to do anything that they can to help you out. However, they cant help if you don't ask. Also, don't be afraid of what is to come. Every incoming college student is in the same position.

    In three sentences

    Bridgewater College is an excellent undergraduate college. The professors are very open and willing to help the students in every way that they can. Along with that their small campus makes it easy to get from class to class and to meet new people along the way.

  • 07/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    Bridgewater has a variety of clubs and activities to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Bridgewater is great for students who are serious about their education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bowman Hall has a fourth floor that most people don't know about.

    Bang for the buck

    Bridgewater is expensive, but the education is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Bridgewater College is nestled in the town of Bridgewater, Virginia, which is a farming community. There isn't much to do around town, so if you're looking for fun, head into Harrisonburg.

    Food and Dining

    The food is mediocre at Bridgewater.

    Dorm Life

    Everybody knows everybody at Bridgewater. The dorms are small and most everyone is friendly. Freshmen have a curfew, but upperclassmen do not.

    Academic Rigor

    The general education classes are fairly easy in the event that you do the work and come to class prepared. However, the major classes are very challenging and demanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to be challenged. The professors here get to know their students and expect a lot from them. Come prepared to work. Also, know ahead of time that Bridgewater is a dry campus with no Greek life, so if you're looking for a school with a party scene, Bridgewater probably isn't a good choice for you.

    In three sentences

    Bridgewater College is a tight-knit community of about 1800 students. The professors are personable, knowledgeable, and passionate about their subjects. It is an excellent school for those searching for an intimate education.

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are ghosts in Cole Hall, by the football field, and in Memorial Hall. The one in Memorial can be very loud and unwelcoming if you're there late at night by yourself.

    What to do for fun

    COMITATUS. BC Spark Radio Pinion Players (Theater club) Horseback riding Exploring the local area, camping, backpacking

    Food and Dining

    Ok. Not the best, but edible. You're not there for 5-star meals, anyway.

    Dorm Life

    RAs enforce the rules, but are reasonable as well. Don't be a jerk and you won't bring trouble upon yourself.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors will try their best to help you understand material and pass a class- all you have to do is ask for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join Comitatus, the medieval swordsmanship group on campus! It's a great group of people and they do all sorts of cool stuff!

    In three sentences

    Bridgewater is a fun, close-knit community focused on both academics and personal growth. Getting involved is essential, and there are tons of great student-run clubs and organizations in which to do so. Professors are friendly and try to develop close friendships with their students, which can be a great help and positive experience in your time at BC.

  • 02/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do for fun here. Most of it is in Harrisonburg, but that is only a short 15 minute drive away. There is a movie theater, a mall, and plenty of food places. In Bridgewater, you may want to stay on campus. However, there are always fun things going on. Eagle Productions does a wonderful job of creating fun and exciting events to go to every once and a while.

    Food and Dining

    I'm not going to sit here and lie to you. The food is slightly bi-polar. Some days you'll have foot that just feels like angels have begun to sing in your mouth and other days, you don't even want to touch what they serve. Here's a tip: the pizza, hamburgers, fries, and the sandwich bar are ALWAYS perfect options. Plus, the French toast, pesto, and waffle fries are rare but amazing dishes here at Bridgewater. K=Get a full plate of them when they show up.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life here is great. Everyone is so friendly and people walk around all the time, so you meet new people left and right. The best way to meet new people? Keep your door open. People will literally just walk in and say hi. That may sound creepy, but it's refreshing. Kindness isn't something you see everyday, so take advantage of it.

    Academic Rigor

    This place is challenging, I'm not going to lie. But it isn't so hard that you can't do it. Anyone can succeed here with hard work and dedication.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to make new friends. Everyone here is friendly, and I mean EVERYONE. It'll be a lonely life if you don't make at least one friend. Making friends may seem hard, but trust me, it really isn't. Everyone here is so friendly that it's really difficult NOT to meet new people that you get along with. And remember, it's okay to feel nervous. Just remember, you're not alone. This is new for every other freshman and though they may not show it, everyone gets homesick their first year.

    In three sentences

    Bridgewater College is nothing like I have seen before. Everything here is perfect: the scenery (have you seen those mountains?), the people (every guy holds the door for us girls, how awesome), the professors (they know you BY NAME), and the food is pretty good (most of the time). Overall, this was he best school I could have chosen to attend.