Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Bridgewater State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/29/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 11 people found this review useful. 1 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Bridgewater is great for many students. There are so many different majors and I think that its great for students who are undecided because there are so many different classes to take and find something that interests you.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are many different resources to use at Bridgewater and the best way to succeed is to not be afraid to use them. Like the AAC, where there are tutors for math, writing, and studying habits and time management. I used the Writing center my freshmen year and it made me a strogner writing. Everyone is so helpful and are there to help you, so don't be afraid to ask.

    Bang for the buck

    For me being an out-of-state student you would think that I am waisting a lot of money by going to an out-of-state state school, but I found that for my major I am paying the same amount if not less, then what I would be paying for a school in Maine with a different major, because the schools in Maine I was looking at don't offer what I wanted. I'm also getting a lot of bang for my buck because I feel that I am getting a great education and will be more successful with me degree from Bridgewater.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Bridgewater. I enjoying being there so much. I live on campus and there is always something to do. A basketball game to go to, dances, speakers, comedians, concerts by students and even karaoke nights. Or if you just want to relax and do your home work the dorms are great and quite and easy to get your work done, if you dont feel like going to the library. I love how there are so many people to met and new friendship you find. Bridgewater is a positive atmosphere.

    Am learning a lot

    Every class that I have taken I have learned something useful from it. I enjoy most of the classes that I have/am taking. There are a lot of core requirements but most of them are helpful and you might even find a class that you enjoy and would like to take more of those types of classes. Although many of the core classes you have to take you can find a class related to your major or you will at least find an interesting one.

  • 06/25/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 9 people found this review useful. 2 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Use the resources they have for you. Ex: the writing studio, the math studio, advisors, the RA's, the library, and ask questions.

    Am enjoying being here

    Living on campus is amazing. There is always something to do, and usually something unexpected and fun.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very good at Bridgwater. I always feel safe walking around campus, even late at night. There are 'blue lights' all around campus that you press the emergency button on and the police will be there in seconds. BSU has it's own police department so they can be anywhere on campus in under a minute. We also have a safety escort system that you call anytime between 7pm-3am and they will come and pick you up anywhere on campus and then drop you off at your destination for free. There are also student security officers in the dorms between 7pm-3am that check students back when they enter a dorm and they also sign in students guests so if anything where to go wrong it is all on the computer. Overall I think Bridgewater is a great on safety standards.

    Greek Life

    Greek life at Bridgewater State University is amazing. I am part of Greek life on campus and it really has changed my life for the better. I have met so many amazing people and made so many connections that I will never forget. Greek life students also have a higher overall GPA as compared to the rest of the school. It is not all about fun and partying. We have a strict no hazing policy and each organization has philanthropy's that they support and raise money for.

    Clubs and Activities

    The school has a tons of club and activities for students, and if you dont find a club or activity that you like you can always gather some people with the same interests and start your own club!

    Great for these types of students

    Bridgewater is great for all types of student, there is really something tor everyone at this school. I'm sure no matter what type of student you are, you will fit right in and find lots of things to keep you busy.

    Bang for the buck

    Bridgewater State University is a state school, which makes it cheaper than a lot of schools and it really is an amazing school for the price. If you don't get much financial aid though, be prepared to pay quite a few thousands dollars when you graduate.

    What to do for fun

    The school has tons of clubs and activities for fun. You can also joint the amazing Greek life community of campus. There is usually always something going on somewhere, so you are never really bored. There is also a lot of fun classes you can take that will give you credit at the same time.

    Food and Dining

    The food at BSU is decent. Some dining halls are better than others. The downside is that all of the food gets boring after you eat it every day for a couple years. The school does try though, and the dining halls do introduce new foods and specials every now and then. Just try to mix it up and go to different dining halls so it doesn't get to boring to quickly. There are two dining halls on each side of campus, so there are a bit of options to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the dorms on campus are decent. With the newer dorms being better, but they are also harder to get in to. The school is also building a brand new dorm that will open the Fall of 2013. The rooms are a decent size, but only two of the dorms have air conditioning to make sure you bring a fan!

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at this school are great. There are so many options to help you succeed and do well, you just have to take advantage of them. There are so many courses offered, that there is always something fun to add to your schedule, whether it be a sport, horseback riding or doing yoga, and they all give you class credit!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get involved on campus, whether you are living there or commuting. You will meet so many new people and it will really make the experience so much better. Also don't forget to take advantage of all the help that the school has to offer with classes and tutoring and more!

    In three sentences

    Overall I think Bridgewater State University is a great school and I love it here. There are so many things to do outside of class and so many great people. The teachers are very helpful and it's just a great school all around.

  • 12/06/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Try to apply early action if you can. At Bridgewater State many students who fit the requirements get denied through regular decision because so many people apply. If you meet the requirements for Bridgewater State and apply early actions, you are automatically accepted to the school and are guaranteed housing. Don't be discouraged if you do not get in. Bridgewater State offers a program with Massasoit Community College where you can attend Massasoit until you are able to transfer to Bridgewater.

    Bang for the buck

    Out of all the colleges I researched, Bridgewater State was one of the cheapest. It's only about $6,000 a year for commuter students who live in Massachusetts and $12,000 a year for commuter students who live out of state. Room and board is about $10,000 a year.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is always something going on on campus and there's a club or team for just about everyone. If you can't find a club or sport to join you can make your own.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes here are great! Bridgewater State helps students pick classes that are interesting for the student while still filling graduation and major requirements.

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are very strict but super into the safety of all the students.

    Greek Life

    Practically non-existent.

    Clubs and Activities

    I've only done intramural sports, not bad, somewhat fun if you get on the right team. A few friends are part of the on campus radio station so I spend a lot of time there, and thats not bad.

    Great for these types of students

    Very social, outgoing, enjoys partying (thats all most people do on weekends), athletic (most of campus is very into sports)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Wednesday and Thursday nights at the local bar right off campus called Bogharts are usually a good time.

    Bang for the buck

    About $8,000-$10,000 more expensive than I would like for an out of state student. Especially with an over all relatively mediocre campus, weekend life, and living situation.

    What to do for fun

    When the weather is nice everyone hangs out outside and tans/plays sports. On weekends a majority of the school leaves so it becomes difficult to find things to do. The party scene, if your into that, is also again very hit or miss, BYOB everywhere and you must know a resident of the off campus house to get in.

    Food and Dining

    As far as dining hall food goes; I think the food is not bad at all. Compared to most schools I've visited while seeing friends and such, the food is pretty good, however still definitely leaves something to be desired.

    Dorm Life

    Again, as a transfer student they literally just throw you in wherever they have room. I'm in a room I definitely don't fit in with four other guys.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are great, some professors are obviously more difficult than others, but when you get a good professor, classes are not only educational but fun as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're planning on transferring expect to do a lot of footwork on your own.

    In three sentences

    Great school, but doesn't do much for transfer students. Dorming is very hit or miss. But the campus and most of the classes are excellent.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cops. Everywhere. There are two police stations within 2 minutes of campus, and everyone is friendly.

    Greek Life

    There are many frats and sororities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs to choose from, ranging from GLBTA to religiously affiliated groups.

    Great for these types of students

    Aviation, Education, Psychology.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a very cheap school for in-state students, and I know many people who get decent financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    Not much, the programs that students sponsor are usually very boring and there are never any concerts or shows anywhere near campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is absolutely terrible and all the dining halls close before 7:30, except for crimson, which is overpriced dining-dollar dependent.

    Dorm Life

    All the dorms have bag-check security, and the freshman dorms have 24-hour bag-check security.

    Academic Rigor

    Very strong academic programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Not a big party school, so if that's what you're looking for you're out of luck. Not a large selection of majors, it's basically a school for people who are aspiring teachers and/or pilots. Train to Boston for 7 dollars is nice, but as of right now it doesn't run on the weekends, which is completely useless.

    In three sentences

    Bridgewater State University is located in a very small town near Brockton, MA, surrounded by nothing more than a few swamps and a town that many would consider sub-par. While the environment isn't grade-A, the educational system is fantastic, all teachers are extremely well-learned in their respective fields and class sizes never amount to more than 50 students. A perfect place for prospective teachers and pilots.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are Blue Light call boxes posted all around the campus in case one needs to call for help. The campus is well-lit, and there is a good Safety Van system that runs from 7pm to 2 or 3 in the morning.

    Greek Life

    I have no interest in Greek Life and thus am not properly educated to discuss it. There does seem to be a large Greek community, and they seem like tight-knit groups.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sci Fi Club, Anime Club, Adventure Role-playing Club, Asian Student Union, English society, Dance groups - there are far too many clubs and activities to list, but if you know where to look there's a lot to get involved in!

    Great for these types of students

    English Second Language Students Education majors English majors History majors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The biggest thing is that the campus is haunted; lots of myths are perpetuated about ghosts around here because of The Bridgewater Triangle. Many of them are friendly, like George in the auditorium who plays with the stage lights. The second floor of the Rondileau Campus Center is colloquially known as Middle Earth - besides being the middle floor, is it also the frequent hangout of students with geeky interests, like tabletop roleplaying games.

    Bang for the buck

    Bridgewater has one of the lowest tuitions in the state, only a few hundred dollars. Unfortunately, the cost of living on campus is not quiiite so lovely. The minimum housing cost for one semester is about $3000, not counting additional fees and the meal plan.

    What to do for fun

    -Play videogames in the RCC -Utilize the game room in your respective dorm (pool, ping-pong, foosball, TV) -See a school play or musical (the theater program is GREAT) -Attend an event hosted by a club (video game night, ice cream social, etc) -Play HvZ: Humans versus Zombies, a campus-wide game

    Food and Dining

    Every college complains about its cafeterias - BSU has at least four dining halls, some which cater to commuter students and others to residents. Each hall has its pros and cons -

    Dorm Life

    The majority of the dorms are new or recently renovated; community bathrooms in general aren't fun for anyone, but the maintainers in each building are lovely. Upperclass dorms seem a bit isolated compared to that of the freshman ones - seniors are more likely to only stick to their suitemates and friends that they know, meanwhile freshman are encouraged to meet as many people as possible.

    Academic Rigor

    Bridgewater holds itself to a good standard, though some programs are definitely harder than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely take a tour of the campus with your parents. If possible, find a way to get a real student to give you an unofficial tour; they aren't paid to sugarcoat the campus and tempt you into attending. Do as much research as you can, especially for your major. Many a student has been screwed over by not realizing their program may take 5 years rather than the traditional 4.

    In three sentences

    Bridgewater State University is a good school with a high retention rate of its students. Some of its programs are better than others, but the majority of the people here are fantastic. It's hard for me to think that there isn't SOMETHING here for everyone.

  • 08/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    English majors, liberal arts majors, Education majors. With the addition of the new updated Science Building, it will be good for Science majors too!

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips: Make friends with professors, and they will help you. The size of the campus is tremendous, so familiarize yourself with every building name. There's strict police watch over drugs and alcohol, so don't even try to get away with drinking in freshman dorms.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the least expensive schools in the entire area, and definitely worth it! This education is equal to a good lot of schools in the area, and my wallet thanks me for the savings.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have met people from all walks of life, and I have so many new friends that are truly deserving of my respect. Some professors are quite friendly, and I have newfound respect for many subject areas I had never truly liked.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are truly diverse, and the teachers are genuinely wonderful at their jobs. Depending on the teacher, (and there are many to choose from) each class is actually quite fun and I love to learn from them.

  • 10/08/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Hey, it's a public school. Not a knock for education value, but the low(er) price for school-going makes it hurt a little less. There's definitely worse schools to go to, for a lot more money.

    Did enjoy being here

    It's really not a bad place to be, state school and all, people are generally likeable and there's usually a whole bunch to do and get involved with. I offer one warning though: Weekends. Since nearly half of the student body is commuters, and the other half (rough estimates) live relatively close to BSU, when Friday afternoon rolls around, the campus is usually deserted. Only for a few weekends (Homecoming, Finals Week) is civilization evident at Bridgewater.

    Did learn a lot

    I only went for my freshman year, so I can't get into too much detail, but for the most part the classes I did have were informative and got the job done.

  • 12/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    anyone, financially strapped, commuting, education program seekers

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved if you live on campus. As a freshman it is easy to hold up in your room because New England weather can be fierce. If you don't try to make new friends or join a club, you will not like this school. It is all about your mindset. Take your prerequisites early, DO AN INTERNSHIP, and study abroad if you are getting stir crazy. BSU has excellent full year, semester, or short trip study programs for academic credit. Even if you are not very athletic, join an intramural team with people from your dorm or club or study group. They are fun and by your second semester you will have a great group of friends and a reason to run around for a few hours each week.

    Bang for the buck

    As it is the lest expensive state school in MA, the tuition and fees are very low. Also, professors empathise with the students when it comes to book costs, often using an edition of a book that is slightly older to save students money. I chose to live in an apartment off campus which is in walking distance and that has also saved me money in comparison to the housing costs at BSU which are not steep, but reasonable in comparison to other state schools. The school is constantly expanding and working on updating resources for students so it is definitely worth the small price tag.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have got involved in campus activities and met other students in my classes which have made my experience enjoyable. Because BSU has a large commuter population, many students come here only for their education. If a person wants to be involved here, it is easy and I guarantee it will drastically improve your overall college experience at this university.

    Am learning a lot

    This school is all about what you put into it. I am learning a lot in the field of Political Science and Public Administration. The professors in these departments want to teach, they want you to ask questions and they want you to be challenged.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Self motivated and emotionally mature, you will go a long way here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the state part of it fool you, there is a lot of hard workers here.

    Bang for the buck

    For in state students completely and also not to bad for out of state students.

    Am enjoying being here

    Student body and staff very welcoming but finding campus housing could be tough.

    Am learning a lot

    Great amount and quality of classes for specific majors. The reason why I transferred here.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    After the sun goes down, you can call a Safety Escort Bus to pick you up wherever you are and they will safely escort you to your destination, whether on or off campus. There is also a police station on campus as well!

    Greek Life

    Engaging and fun. They are literally support systems.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are literally so many different kinds of clubs. The best part is, if you don't find any you like, you can create your own!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The second floor on the RCC building on the West side of campus is usually called Middle Earth because students are always playing games that people generally find nerdy, such as Lord of the Rings, Magic the Gathering, World of Warcraft.

    Bang for the buck

    It is pretty expensive to live on campus, however it is quite cheap to commute there. Parking can be tough to find, though.

    What to do for fun

    Other than the various sports, groups and clubs they have established at BSU, there are always events to join. There recently was an intense Zombie vs Humans game that many students got involved in. If not, there are tie dye parties, etiquette dinners and more.

    Food and Dining

    I have enjoyed Bridgewater State University food more than many other campuses I've visited. There are 4 dining halls, each with an array of different kinds of food. If you don't enjoy their food, there many restaurants that deliver there anyway.

    Dorm Life

    Personally, I think dorm life is fantastic. It is an experience that every student should have. It is a tad expensive to room at Bridgewater State University but they do take this into consideration. They are constantly renovating and building dining and residence halls to accomodate to students' needs and budgets.

    Academic Rigor

    Nothing is difficult if you put your mind to it. The college is adamant on providing academic assistance and helping you succeed. There are many quiet study halls to give you a quiet place to get work done, as well as many paid tutors to help you get through your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in clubs that you are interested in! Everyone at the college is wonderful, accepting and quite light hearted about the many diversities present amongst the students and staff. I got involved in a couple of different organizations and now I run my own webshow!

    In three sentences

    Bridgewater State University is a clean, suburban and quiet campus with a very friendly feel. The campus's attractive buildings and grounds make it the ideal place to enjoy the outdoors. It has been my experience as a resident to enjoy that the staff here really works diligently to take care of the their students.

  • 02/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i am very impressed with the safety of the campus, and i have never felt safer anywhere else. they have boxes all over the campus, and if you ever feel unsafe for any reason, push the red button on the box and a policeman will come pick you up. there have been one or two incidents on the campus during my time here, but the police response was always professional and immediate.

    Greek Life

    i do not take part in greek life, but i have seen many social events and dances held by the groups that are into greek life. everyone is really kind, and once you're part of a sorority or fraternity on campus, you have friends to help you out everywhere. forget what you've seen in the movies, these groups are nothing like that. it's not a beauty contest, and it's open to anyone who would like to join, whether you're a commuter or you dorm.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many clubs and activities, and all of them are open and inviting, and well run. i was very disappointed with one group in particular, the reason i went to this school. if you are going to major in anything to do with theatre, this is not the school for you. they are very unprofessional and cocky, and that's not the students. the students are kind and encouraging, but that's as far as the welcome wagon goes with that group.

    Great for these types of students

    this college would be great for someone who enjoys groups, but can also keep up with a good amount of work.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have two churches for two different religions on campus, and that is a little different, considering we are not a religious school, but it's a nice way to show that we accept everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    i guess it's difficult to get bridgewater scholarships, and i didn't get any, so i would suggest filling out the fafsa forms as soon as you can, because it's first come first serve and the amounts of money they can give could be the reason you choose one school over another. i am currently attending bridgewater for $700 a semester, and the normal price is $7,500, so i would absolutely suggest looking into that as soon as possible.

    What to do for fun

    there are many groups that hold multiple social events, you just have to look out for them to find them. there are also a few shops off campus, and there are always movie events with snacks and such later on in the night.

    Food and Dining

    this has to be the most convenient part of the campus. there are four cafeterias spread out on campus, each one serves different food. not to mention the starbucks under the library, and the two dunkin donuts. not only that, but if you walk a few blocks off campus following the commuter rail tracks, you''l find a burger king and an emma's, and both accept bridgewater's connect cards.

    Dorm Life

    a lot of my friends have said they have been put into a force three, which is, if you didn't know, when they stick another bed for a person in a room that's designed for only two people. however, none of my friends that are dorming currently have anything bad to say about their room mates.

    Academic Rigor

    they take grades very seriously here, and a c is not exactly considered average. they do, however, have a help center under the library if you're having trouble.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you live more than a town or two away, i suggest you dorm. i commute from quincy, and i take the commuter rail. it is absolute hell. if you miss the train, you have to wait another two hours for the next one, and paying it everyday is too much draining on money you'll need for books. make sure to put plenty of money aside for books, and make sure you're one of the first into the bookstore before the semester begins, because you could buy some used books, and can save up to $100 on a textbook you might only use once.

    In three sentences

    people are so kind here, but make sure to stay focused in classes. it can be hard to catch up once you're behind, but the teachers are so helpful.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    for fun i hang out with friends, go to the gym, and/or participate in my sports.

    Food and Dining

    the food is way above the expectation level. there are four dinning halls on campus so convenience is not a problem.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is what you make it. if you are a dirty person you will not have as many friends as you are hoping to have.

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers are truly here to see you succeed. help for anything is everywhere.

    Tips for prospective students

    do not come here only for sports. do not buy your books until your teachers tell you which ones you need. do not shy away from a major because someone tells you it is hard; it is better to have a hard four years that will lead to a lifetime of self appreciation and happiness, then to have an easy four years leading to a life of frustration.

    In three sentences

    i love this school. it has a lot to offer whether you are here for sports or academics. the school challenges you into becoming a better student and more well rounded adult.

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    for fun i usually just hang out with my friends on campus. we all hang out in each other's dorms and have an abundance of kinect sports tournaments.

    Food and Dining

    the food here is great! i usually only eat pastas, salad, and protein so i can stay in shape for track. whenever i feel like cheating on my diet i can always go to crimson hall or bear's den and get a nice freshly made meal, personalized just the way i like it.

    Dorm Life

    i love the dorm life here. security freshman year is really tight, but it is fun living in a dorm with all the people in your class. afterwards the dorms are very nice, especially if you get pulled into a suite. having a lot of friends on campus definitely improves your living conditions.

    Academic Rigor

    certain classes are hard, but there are still classes that are enjoyable. i strain myself with my criminal justice classes, but i can get a nice down time by taking yoga classes or fun gym classes like basketball.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are looking for a school where you want to do sports, but still manage to have a lifestyle, then bridgewater is the school to apply to.

    In three sentences

    i like being a student at bridgewater state university a lot, especially since i am a student-athlete. bridgewater does a great job at keeping their athletes in good standing. the food and housing is not too bad either.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    bridgewater has their own campus police system and they are always patrolling the campus. they have blue lights with buttons to instantly call the police if you are in danger. safety is a bus escort that will drive you to any location on campus at night to ensure safety.

    Greek Life

    there is a long list of sororities and fraternities. there are no frat houses, but it is still worth joining.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many clubs that you can join. if there isn't a club that you are interested you can fill out a paper and start a club of your choice!

    Great for these types of students

    great for all types of student. students focused on academics, athletics or students who don't know what they want

    Bang for the buck

    bridgewater is definitely a school worth you money. people are friendly. there is always something to do.

    What to do for fun

    bridgewater has many different activities you can for exercise. also they usually have things like bingo where you can win prizes like a wii! they definitely like to make sure the students are involved and entertained.

    Food and Dining

    there are many diners to choose from and each one has almost everything you can imagine. the food is amazing!

    Dorm Life

    the people in the dorms are very nice and friendly. if you like to go to bed early then it might not be the best environment for you. the students here like to stay up until 1 or 2 in the morning especially on thursday nights.

    Academic Rigor

    professors are very serious about learning. if you put effort in you will do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't be afraid to ask people for help. students and teachers are always willing to show you where your classes are.

    In three sentences

    bridgewater is an amazing university so far. i love how dedicated the professors are to the students and making sure they understand. i am a freshman and was very nervous to come here but the students and the faculty have made my stay very welcoming!

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus, police will be anywhere on campus in less than 5 minutes.

    Bang for the buck

    Relatively speaking, BSU is great as far as cost goes. College in general is still to expensive.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much on the weekends because people go home.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends what class and how much you put into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't schedule 8 a.m. classes if you can avoid it.

    In three sentences

    Bridgewater State University is a great school. They have a good faculty and teaching staff and are continually making improvement in technology and building new dorms and new facilities for classes. Many people consider it a simple state school still but it is on the path to be much more than that.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is safe and police are really nice.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many to choose from and its really easy to start your own clubs here.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a wonderful education and dorm living experience!

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do around campus there are many events every night and I was honestly never board here. Don't be afraid to get involved and go to unique events.

    Food and Dining

    Food here is not like the food you were served in high school. Each dining hall has so many options that you could not possibly be board. They have healthy choices and vegan options.

    Dorm Life

    I LOVE living on campus. I lived in woodward my freshmen year and absolutely fell in love with the people and the science and mathmatics learning community.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging here and the teachers push you to do your best, but if you put the work in you will succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you GET INVOLVED. This campus is full of new clubs and experiences where you can meet new people and really go above and beyond anything you ever thought you could be. Just make the most of your college experience here, ask teachers for help, get tutoring, and don't be afraid to try something new.

    In three sentences

    I love attending Bridgewater State University and I could not imagine going anywhere else. The students here go out of their way to help each other out and support each other. The faculty is amazing and will help you to succeed in anything you try.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never feel unsafe on the campus. Our safety vans pick us up at night if we need rides around campus and the police station is right on campus so if anything were to go wrong they would be there in a second.

    Clubs and Activities

    I play two Varsity sports at Bridgewater and it has made my college experience even better than I could imagine. I am also a peer educator which shows me a whole new side of campus. Being involved in anything on campus is great.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a state school so if you are from MA is is a very reasonably priced college that has great educational, community and other experiences to help you be the best person you can be.

    What to do for fun

    I am an athlete so going to sporting events is a great time. Also there are shopping centers not far from school and the T stops right in the middle of campus so going into Boston is a great way to spend a weekend.

    Food and Dining

    With four dinning halls there is always somewhere to eat and the food is better than just you old cafeteria food. The choices are vast and enjoyable.

    Dorm Life

    I have lived on campus for three years now and will be next year as well. The dorms are comfortable and the campus is beautiful.

    Academic Rigor

    The colleges of choice at the school are not easy but they are very strong and are very successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to new things and get as involved as possible. You college life will be filled with activities and experiences that shape the person you will become.

    In three sentences

    This school is extremely welcoming and home like. The school has a beautiful campus that is great to live on. Finally Bridgewater State University is a community not just a school, making it a great environment to learn and start ones own life.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a Safety Van that runs on campus between the hours of 7pm to 3am to assist you in getting home safely. The community is also surrounded by school and town police looking out for your best interest. There are also emergency towers located across campus that can get you help immediately with the push of a button.

    Greek Life

    A great way to form lasting friendships. Greek Life at BSU includes but is not limited to: Phi Pi Delta Local Co-Ed Fraternity Gamma Phi Beta International Sorority Phi Sigma Sigma International Sorority Delta Phi Epsilon International Sorority- Fall 2010 Kappa Delta Phi Fraternity Sigma Pi Fraternity Phi Kappa Theta fraternity- Fall 2010

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs vary from Anime, Athletic Training, Fishing, Sign Language, Equestrian Team, GLBTA to fraternities and sororities. You'll be sure to find your clique.

    Great for these types of students

    Anything you're interested in, you can bet we have it. From sports, to art, and even aviation.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Emma's Pub & Pizza has $.89 pizza on Sunday and Wednesdays, great deal for college students low on cash.

    Bang for the buck

    One tip: don't ever miss a SpingFest.. you'll never forgive yourself!

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of community service opportunities each month. Also there is a pool on campus that allows time during the day for free swim. If you have a car on campus there are bowling alleys, movie theatres, and malls only a short drive away.

    Food and Dining

    With over 4 dining halls to choose from, there is always something to keep you satisfied!

    Dorm Life

    Although check in can be a drag the dorms have everything you need from study rooms, common rooms, vending machines, and washing machines. All your friends are a short walk away.. and you can even do it in your socks;)

    Academic Rigor

    Of course, that is with using RateMyProfessor.com, if possible find out a little bit about your teachers before signing up for their classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Any education majors, don't wait.. take your MTEL tests right away!

    In three sentences

    Close knit community, within walking distance of anything you could ever need: groceries, clothing stores, restaurants, bars, etc. Always something to do, the school has hundreds of opportunities to get involved each month.

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for almost anything you might be interested in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The new science building has an astronomy observatory.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of hiking and things around campus depending on what your interests are.

    Food and Dining

    Lots to offer with a couple different dining areas.

    Dorm Life

    I commute, but I have not had any friends complain about the dorms and the suites for upperclassmen are beautiful

    Academic Rigor

    Workload is fair but doesn't seem that way with the mixed types of assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of every opportunity and use the college services, they are so helpful!

    In three sentences

    The professors help you make your experience here a success academically and socially. There are always things happenning on campus and in the surrounding area. The classroom settings are very dynamic and programs offer both in and out of classroom experiences.

  • 10/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have our own university police station, safety escort system, and blue lights throughout campus. I feel very safe at all times.

    Greek Life

    We have a growing Greek Life which consists currently of 3 sororities, 3 fraternities, 1 colonizing fraternity, and 2 co-ed fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and organizations on campus, some of the most popular being Program Committee, Student Government Association, Commuter Student Association, Resident Hall Association, and Greek Life. There are so many ways to get involved and have fun while completing your degree!

    Great for these types of students

    Excellent for students wishing to become teachers, we have a growing arts program, and excellent science programs. We also cater to aviation students, with one of the best aviation programs in New England. Our school of business is also very large. Also great for students interested in Greek Life or abroad community service opportunities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year we host a carnival for Senior week (open to all students) with actual carnival rides and activities. The quad is also a traditional spot for students to hang out throughout the year.

    Bang for the buck

    Bridgewater State University is definitely growing in its academic superiority and co-curricular excellence. The campus itself is aesthetically beautiful and the new, state of the art Mathematics and Science building is something to brag about. With all of these features it still remains one of the lowest costing state schools in MA.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of opportunities to get involved on campus. Program Committee is a group of students dedicated to bringing fun events through out the year for little or no cost to students such as Homecoming, Springfest, day trips to fun places, and events such as open mic nights, bingo nights and more. Student Government Association provides a free bi-annual lecture series bringing in excellent guest lecturers which have included Collins Tuohy, Nicholas Sparks, Lee Hirsch and Maya Angelou just to name a few! SGA also funds clubs and organizations on campus to host academic, social and cultural events throughout the year which are all free to students.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo provides excellent food options at our four dining halls on campus. They are always trying fun and tasty new options.

    Dorm Life

    While I am a commuter student, many of my friends find dorm living to be a great experience at BSU.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the programs are rigorous and challenging which truly help prepare us for the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Excel in your studies by taking advantage of the many academic help services and undergraduate research opportunities. Further your experience and learning through co-curricular involvement whether it be through leadership opportunities, clubs and organizations or internship and job opportunities right on campus.

    In three sentences

    Bridgewater State University is an innovative, growing university that provides an excellent education both through academics and co-curricular activity. BSU transforms its students into career ready professionals and global citizens. It is a jewel among state schools in MA and I would bargain the best of them all.

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus has its own police and there i security at all dorms and have bag checks. there is also safety buses for at night and many emergency pole for when you feel unsafe.

    Greek Life

    there is a Greek life on campus and it is great, they have many activities and events that they host.

    Clubs and Activities

    tons of clubs and different activities everyday

    Great for these types of students

    Students with disabilities like big campuses

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    not that i know of

    Bang for the buck

    There is lots to do on campus from sports, games, t.v. to clubs and organizations.

    What to do for fun

    I attend dance class off campus and i hang out with my friends around campus.

    Food and Dining

    Food is not awful but it does get boring.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a big campus so be prepared to walk!

    In three sentences

    Bridgewater State University is a great school, so far they work well with me and my learning disabilities. My professors are great, they work hard to teach the other students and I. Over all My school is great and is very helpful with my disabilities.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very effective and helpful. Along with feeling safe during the days, they also have a number of Safety Vans that are available from 7 :00 p.m until 3:00 a.m that is only a phone call away and will pick you up and drop you off wherever you need to go within the campus.

    Greek Life

    I am not a part of Greek Life but I have seen many fraternities and sororities around that many students take part in and really seem to enjoy being a part of.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is an extremely long list of clubs and activities that are available to anyone. There are clubs to suit anyone's interests, and even if you do not see one that suits you, if you get enough people together you can create your own, which is a wonderful opportunity for leadership.

    Great for these types of students

    This university is known for it Teaching and Criminal Justice majors, and so it is great for anyone looking into those fields. It also supplies a number of different majors that are interesting and can match what many students are looking for.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is very reasonable when it comes to tuition, which was one of the main reasons why I chose this school. it provides the same education as would a school with a tuition of $50,000. I am still struggling with financial aid and paying the tuition, since I will be paying for college on my own and so any scholarships are a huge help.

    What to do for fun

    There are many sports and clubs that you are provided that anybody can join. If you do not enjoy competitive sports there are also a number of different Intramural sports teams that anybody is welcome to be a part of. Also, the town of Bridgewater is not to far from shops and malls that you can visit.

    Food and Dining

    Personally, I really enjoy the food and dining halls. The food is very good and there are many option and variety to choose from. The dining dollars and meal swipes collectively add up to a solid and stable meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    I have been living in the dorm life for a year and a semester and I really enjoy it. I am able to learn responsibility living on my own. This campus provides a clean and friendly dorm life for the student.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe that professors are really helpful and supportive, and the classes and academics are very enjoyable.

    Tips for prospective students

    My suggestion would be to take many different types of courses to discover what your passions and interests are.

    In three sentences

    I think that Bridgewater State University is collectively a great school. It provides students with many opportunities, both in academics and extra curricular activities. Its medium sized campus allows the student to have a comfortable environment without feeling overwhelmed.

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very top notch. Blue lights are everywhere and the police station has always been full of friendly and helpful staff members. There are also safety escort buses and vans that run at night, you can call them and they will pick you up where ever you are and bring you right to your destination.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am currently involved in the English Society and Art History Society. There are so many clubs on campus that will match something you interest! There is equestrian club, anime club, there will always be something that you can find enjoyable with people who share what you like.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that are going to school for a great educational experience and to network with other students who have the same interests.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get what you are paying for. There is an academic achievement center where you can get help for any school work, a writing studio where you can get essays evaluated, and even an IT support if you are having any problems! They even have a career services office where you can go to find your major, find a career and get resume support. All of these resources are included in your fees, and are definitely worth your money!

    What to do for fun

    Program committee puts on so many fun events! They do trips to fun outings (such as Providence Place and Salem to Blue Man Group) and events on campus like Bingo!

    Food and Dining

    There are so many good food halls on campus. Flynn Dining Commons and Bears Den are where I generally eat, and the food is great!

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter, but the halls are very clean and have great staff. The RA's have always been friendly to me when I have visited.

    Academic Rigor

    Very good and challenging academics. You can find so many classes that are interesting and fulfilling to helping you achieve your goals!

    Tips for prospective students

    It is in your best interest to get in your FAFSA in on time as well as all other paperwork involving your admission and financial aid. Also, be proactive in your experience! If you keep up with your school work and get involved on campus your time at Bridgewater will be beyond what you expected.

    In three sentences

    Bridgewater State is a very top of the line school with many student opportunities available. I have met so many educators who have been helpful throughout my experience. I know that Bridgewater State is going to put me on the right path to my career!

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 26 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The Greek Life at BSU is wonderful. There are many options if someone wants to join.

    Clubs and Activities

    The number one thing everybody on campus will tell you is get involved! There are so many clubs.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, I think that BSU is a wonderful school.

    What to do for fun

    There are many local businesses. Boston is only short ride on the commuter rail.

    Food and Dining

    Crimson has the best food.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are not the best.

    Academic Rigor

    There are a lot of challenging courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Think about what environment you would like to spend the next four years living in.

    In three sentences

    BSU is a great School. The community and school spirit can be seen all over campus. It is not a large school, which I like.

  • 01/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is some of the best! there are security guards 24/7 doing bag checks and checking people in who do not live in dorms. They have a safety van that picks you up at one location on campus and bring you to another at night with one simple phone call.

    Bang for the buck

    Bridgewater is an awesome education for the money. It is a really nice university at a very low price. It is such a nice school and well worth the money!

    What to do for fun

    There are always emails sent out to students about activities around campus. There are sports events throughout the year to attend, bingo nights in the RCC, off campus trips, and the commuter rail stops on campus to easily go into Boston.

    Food and Dining

    All dining halls accept cash and dinning dollars, but only some accept the dining plan. The food varies slightly depending on the dinning hall attended but it is overall very good for college dinning hall food.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on Bridgewaters campus I am a commuter to this campus from a neighboring town. The dorms on this campus are rather nice but the people who live in the dorms are sometimes inconsiderate and loud but others can be really nice and welcoming.

    Academic Rigor

    The education at Bridgewater has some easy and some very difficult requirements towards majors. Staying focused and communicating with the professors is very important. The classes all are of various difficulties but it depends on the professors and subject maters of the course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are on top off all of your work, if you fall behind it is your responsibility to email and meet with the professors. Most of all enjoy your college career it is a once in a lifetime experience that ensures more chances of success in the future. If you are struggling in any of your classes Bridgewater provides tutors that are specialized to tutor the particular class. These services and more can be found in the ACC on the bottom floor of the library.

    In three sentences

    Bridgewater provides a wonderful education to all of its students. They ensure the academic success of the students with professors that provide convenient office hours and welcoming classroom environments. This campus is beautiful and ever expanding and right next to the commuter rail to make going into Boston much easier!

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 28 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many clubs and organizations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved.

    In three sentences

    A public university with as many options as a private institution.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safety vans.

    Clubs and Activities

    lots to choose from

    Bang for the buck

    Lower than a private college

    What to do for fun

    lots of events on campus

    Food and Dining

    Good.

    Dorm Life

    It's fun and convenient, but don't get too caught up in the party life!

    Academic Rigor

    It's easy to get A's if you manage your time well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not fail or get D's in classes. You need a good GPA to get into grad school! Freshman and sophomore year do count!

    In three sentences

    I love Bridgewater. They have many research oppurtunities and helpful programs for students.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities for many interests from chess to anime to anthropology to philosophy and to many more to name. They also give you a chance to start your own club if they don't have one that you think fits your interests.

    Great for these types of students

    Because of the new science building, science oriented students might have great opportunities here from now on. There are many night classes and distance classes so older students don't have to feel like it's only for younger, straight out of high school kids.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are reasonably priced for what you get out of them. Some of the professors try to get cheaper books for their classes. I'd say it's not a bad deal compared to a lot of schools in the Boston area.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities around campus that are fun for residents and commuters. They have movie nights for free. There are bake sales, sports days, BBQ's, lunches, even field trips like whale watches and museums at discounted prices. Tons of other things are posted to your emails on a daily basis.

    Food and Dining

    There are dining spots located all over campus, in or near every building you take classes in. The food is good and reasonably priced. The vending machines and most dining areas take cash or your dining card.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't actually live on campus, but had friends who did. They had a lot of extra curricular activities for residents that were a lot of fun.

    Academic Rigor

    I suggest to ask around about professors because some expect much more out of you for lower level classes than some of the professors that teach higher level classes. Expect to study hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely talk to your adviser about taking classes in order to graduate on time in 4 semesters. There are quite a few prerequisites for many classes that could hold you back a semester or two.

    In three sentences

    Bridgewater State University is pretty liberal. They offer a variety of classes. The school also has a variety of clubs for all sorts of different types of interests.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I don't know! I'm a commuter, and a mom!

    Food and Dining

    Some very good options. Athletes need to choose dining dollar/food plan options very carefully.

    Dorm Life

    Commuter!

    Academic Rigor

    Some very rigorous, others less so...

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the layout of this campus and where everything is!

    In three sentences

    Right size campus for me, a part time commuter. Tunnel for foot traffic from East Campus to West Campus is closed for construction during Summer 2012. Some crime concerns on campus.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school has a safety bus that runs everyday from 7pm-3am that takes you anywhere on campus that you want to go, that way you do not have to walk in the dark.

    Greek Life

    There are a good about of sororities and frats on campus. However, there are no historically black sororities or fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Its hard, nearly impossible, to come to this school and not get involved on campus. If I had to guess I would say there are over 100 clubs and organizations on campus.

    What to do for fun

    There's always various events going on during the week. The weekends are pretty dead, a lot of people go home BUT its a good time to catch up on homework.

    Food and Dining

    Its not bad...but you WILL get tired of it after about the first 2 weeks. There are a total of 4 dining halls. One of them stays open until midnight and comes in handy if you are a late eater.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is what you make it. I would recommend living on campus, it is an easy way to meet knew people.

    Academic Rigor

    Personally I believe you get the same academic experience, if not better, as you would if you attended a big name school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus before making a decision. If you decide to attend make sure you get involved on campus!

    In three sentences

    Though BSU was not my first choice when applying to colleges I am glad that I made the decision to attend this school. The students and faculty on campus are very welcoming. This school will allow give you a chance to step outside of your comfort zone.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 33 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The time I was no campus, which was in the evening, I did not experience any unsafe moments.

    Greek Life

    Did not experience a Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Did not experience and clubs or activities.

    Great for these types of students

    The Social Work Graduate program is small. If you are looking for a small program to be enrolled in, this is the school for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Did not experience any unusual traditions on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Did not experience anything exceptional.

    What to do for fun

    I did not have the opportunity for fun!

    Food and Dining

    I did not eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The class I enrolled in required the average amount of work needed for a graduate level course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research the school thoroughly to decide if this is the school for you. Investigate the classes offered, the cost, and the other activities available to college students.

    In three sentences

    Thus far, I have completed one graduate social work course to decide if I wanted to attend BSU. The course was very well taught and full useful information to take into the social work profession. I highly recommend BSU for graduate students of social work.

  • 01/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs that Bridgewater State offers on-campus as well as off-campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is awesome! I tend to get something to eat at the Bear's Den. The Bear's Den is a lounge area that has a Dunkin Donut's and other food options.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter so I do not dorm. I have heard from my friends that the dorming is alright.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't had many challenges with my classes and when I do have a question, Professors tend to go above and beyond expectations.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a commuter and the parking lot that you choose to park in is full, make sure that you try every other possible place to park. The campus police make sure to always check the parking lot, and finding a ticket on your windshield is not great. If you do commute and wish to avoid this, I recommend that you enroll in 8 A.M. classes to ensure that you do get a parking space.

    In three sentences

    Bridgewater State University is a great school! The Professors are extremely nice and are willing to give you extra help if you need it. I am a commuter and it takes me about a half hour to get to the campus but it is an easy drive!

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Clubs, events, HVZ (which is a game of tag involving zombies and nerf blasters), places near campus.

    Dorm Life

    Not a resident, but I hear it's nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work, many teachers have a large course load, although it's usually easy work Make friends, life is short and they can help you with your work Get involved!

    In three sentences

    Coming here has been one of the best decisions I've ever made. Nearly all the students are friendly, and I've made some of the best friends ever here. The campus looks nice too.

  • 02/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is quite safe. I used to wait for the train at night and I did not feel endangered at all.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that I am getting what I paid for.

    What to do for fun

    There are different businesses and restaurants to go to around the campus. There is a commuter rail that is also on campus so if your feeling like a night on the town you can head straight to Boston.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of dining halls and the food is good.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm. I do hear that it is good from my friends.

    Academic Rigor

    It is what you make it. Some courses are more difficult than others. However if you put in the work then you learn a lot and you grow.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to people on campus, and request information and take the tour.

    In three sentences

    My school is more amazing than what I was expecting. There are great Professors. The price of attending school here is just right for the person who is doing it on their own.

  • 02/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 53

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This school spends too much time and money on things that aren't important instead of putting effort into things that do matter such as professors. Their aviation program is a disaster.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I have loved going to games to support the athletes and enjoy playing intramural sports. There are many activities offered, some including: sports, trips, theater, music, shows, etc.

    Food and Dining

    There are many dining halls to choose from with a variety of foods.

    Dorm Life

    LOVE IT!! Woodward has been great for my Freshman year.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many choices regarding what academic courses you take. Although the courses are tough, there is tutoring available for all courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    The staff at BSU are helpful in working with you to figure out what direction you want to go in regarding your major. All of my professors have been approachable and willing to work with me.

    In three sentences

    Bridgewater offers the best programs to the students. Everyone there is very friendly and helpful. It is a college everyone should check out!

  • 03/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are several extracurricular activities, including clubs and even movie nights on campus, even during the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    The dining halls are wonderful and have a very modern feel, allowing everyone to feel comfortable while they eat.

    Dorm Life

    I do not currently live in the dorms, but from what I have heard the residence life is great.

    Academic Rigor

    Here at Bridgewater, the classes that can be taken challenge students academically and try to make them think.

    In three sentences

    Bridgewater State University is an excellent school. The faculty, teachers, and student body are all involved in making the school the best it can be. If anyone were to have any questions, there is always someone willing to help.

  • 05/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is top notch. There was only two serious incidents I know of. The first required quick action which was done swiftly. The campus police were there and took care of the late night problem. The second was to get information out about a possible suspect on campus. There were flyers at every check point and dorm so this person didn't dare come back on campus.

    Greek Life

    I honestly do not know anything about the Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities. if you find that there isn't a certain one offered, the school is accommodating and you can start your own!

    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for any student. It has so many options, with so many amazing teachers. I highly recommend for any major taught here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I personally love being in the Bear's Den dining hall. It's a nice place to meet friends, grab some food, and get school work done at the same time. It gives the feeling of quiet while also allowing you to remain social.

    Bang for the buck

    I chose BSU because it has a reputation for teaching mathematics and education. The money spent along with the school's reputation ends up being a great deal money wise while also getting a great education.

    What to do for fun

    There are always student body organizations having some kind of get together. Whether it's going off campus on a weekend to New York City or to a New England Revolution game. Or it's something smaller with RA's throwing a small dorm get together for each dorm specifically. Just keep in touch and read your daily emails form the campus to keep in touch.

    Food and Dining

    The dining halls are all pretty unique. Crimson is open late for those late night snacks while Tilly is a meal swipe and all you can eat. There are two on each side of campus with both dining dollar and meal swipe options so choices are available whatever campus side you find yourself on.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is so much fun! Whether you're in a freshman dorm, average dorm, or the apartments, there is a match for you! There are new dorms being built as well so that will help with being able to live on campus. Make friends with people in your dorm. It's always easier to walk a flight of stairs that across campus on cold nights.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard but can be easy with dedication and hard work. It's the perfect fit. If you try your best, you're guaranteed to succeed. The teachers are awesome and understanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can live on campus, take the opportunity. The experience is something that every college student should experience.

    In three sentences

    The campus is amazing and being renovated in areas. The gym, indoor track, and outdoor sport areas all are in great shape. There are a lot of places to stay busy but also have alone quiet time to study if needed.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I was once a part of Greek Life at Bridgewater State University but quickly realized that it was not the type of organization I was looking for. Although the school is trying to develop greek life there is not much of a presence now.

    What to do for fun

    Although Bridgewater is a college town it's patrons have not developed the town that much. Mostly people end up hanging out in their apartments and dorms or go into Boston.

    Food and Dining

    The food is just what you would expect from a college campus.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in an old dorm my freshmen year, the school has been improving their dorm life and buildings with three state of the art facilities.

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors and classes can be extremely easy, while others are very tough. There is no consistency throughout the departments.

    Tips for prospective students

    My biggest tip for prospective students is to find a professor that will help guide and mentor you along your education at Bridgewater State University. My mentor has been wonderful with helping me pursue my goals.

    In three sentences

    After going to Bridgewater State University for three years I would give the school a 6 out of 10. The professors can be hit or miss within my department, but I have gained a lot from those professors who are very knowledgeable. The school is improving their buildings and residence halls which will improve the rating throughout the next few years.

  • 06/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus police and self defense classes available but the campus is very quiet, you will never feel unsafe at Bridgewater State!

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is HUGE at Bridgewater State! You see a Greek everywhere you go and they are all extremely nice.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs, there is something for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to be incredibly involved with their campus will fit right in at Bridgewater State

    Bang for the buck

    For the price of the school, whether commuting or living in the dorms, the price is definitely good! (As long as you are in state, out-of-state tuition is not worth it.)

    What to do for fun

    There are events put on every week by the program committee and there are over 8- clubs for students to join!

    Food and Dining

    The food is not 5 stars but it is definitely delicious! A lot of options from day to day and a lot of vegetarian options for non-meat eaters!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is definitely and experience, you have to get lucky enough to have great roommates and a great RA to have a good experience.

    Academic Rigor

    There will always be a teacher that does not assign a lot of work, but they all give out great information to help you succeed in your subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your financial aid, not everything goes to your email!

    In three sentences

    Bridgewater State University has a great education program. The education department is extremely helpful and they really try their best to help out education majors. The student involvement office is also great to help students get involved on campus.

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The humans vs. zombies events when people run around campus with nerf guns and styrofoam swords.

    Food and Dining

    It can be quite expensive, however it is a nice way to meet up with friends and socialize.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, I commute.

    Academic Rigor

    Completing all assignments can be time consuming, but it is interesting and enjoyable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, get to know your advisor, manage and use your time wisely.

    In three sentences

    I am enjoying my education here so far at BSU. I am learning all that I can, as well as going the extra mile and taking a summer class. I plan on graduating with a degree in Psychology and furthering into a Master's program.

  • 07/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of different clubs and activities on campus. I have been to so many bingo nights and have even won a few prizes. The activities here are great for poor college students because every event is free. The school even hosts trips to destinations like New york city, Newport, Salem, etc.

    What to do for fun

    The campus has a lot of opportunities for entertainment that I feel people do not take advantage of. There is a really gorgeous hiking trail behind the main campus that is worth taking a walk through! There are many club sports, clubs, and organizations to fit any interest. I myself joined the on campus radio station and the Program committee. Also there is always something going on around campus whether it be a sports game, bingo night, or music night.

    Food and Dining

    Food here is very good. Of course the food varies on the dining hall but overall I have never eaten anything that was gross or disgusting. Bridgewater also has gluten free foods as well as a dining hall specifically targeted towards commuters.

    Dorm Life

    I think overall living in the dorms is definitely worth giving a try. Some of the buildings are better than others. The newer ones are very nice and are very accommodating. My one pet peeve about dorm life is that most students go home for the weekend so the campus can turn into a ghost town.

    Academic Rigor

    The amount of work I would say is probably like any other public state school like this one. I find my school work to be manageable and not too overwhelming. I also feel like the work load differs on the area of study though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't count Bridgewater State University out. This school has a lot more to offer than people may think at first glance. As a student I think the professors here are top notch. There are so many clubs and sports it would be hard not to find something to be interested in. The students are overall very nice and welcoming and the campus looks great!

    In three sentences

    A great university for the price! I love all of the opportunities available to me here at Bridgewater. The school has put a lot of money into revamping the campus and the results have turned out amazing.

  • 11/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Large police presence

    In three sentences

    Reasonable tuition . Only college that offers aviation at a reasonable rate. Not big enough and is mostly a commuter college with most residents going home on weekends.

  • 12/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety buses, that pick you at the dorm of your dorm and take you to other places in campus. For example its 11 pm and your wicked hungry, you call them and they bring you to the dinning commons. There alarms every where around campus, if you call or buzz the thing, police will locate you, and save you from trouble! Security at the door of the dorm halls!

    Greek Life

    A lot of sororities !

    Clubs and Activities

    I love it... for everyone.. for every type!!!

    Great for these types of students

    International Students! A lot of activities and support from the school to get you involved and get the most experience you can! Study Abroad opportunities to a lot of people! Carrer services anytime to help you get some financial stability

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You might catch yourself walking and a police officer pass by you side riding a horse!!!

    What to do for fun

    A lot of clubs! Events! CMA and RHA really work hard to get all the students involved. If you planning to attend the school, do not hesitate to attend the activities. They are very friendly and there is always free food!

    Food and Dining

    For international Students you will hate it until you get use to it! But is not bad, just typical U.S.A. food but the enviroment around its awesome to go out and eat with friends!

    Dorm Life

    If you are a incoming freshman, the dorms arent the best but the nicier dorm for you, having your first year experiences pick Shea And Durgin! Some students are luck and they are mixed put at Scot Hall with the sophomors but that it rare to happen. The dorm for transfers awesome! East hall. Great hill apartments! Weygand!

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are really nice but they want you do give your best, they are always disponible to help you out! Do not slack, take changes and never be shy to ask questions. Study and you might get better scholarships opportunities or even internships!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be aware of all your paper work and even the documents you submit into any office, mostly financial office. They are always late when it comes to uploading information into students online accounts and if you dont keep track of it, you might be in trouble later!

    In three sentences

    The school is very diverse! Even though It might not appear when you are in campus, there is a lot of minorities who attend college. The classes are small, what guaranties a better contact with the professors, and better neviroment when it comes to aquiring information in class.

  • 12/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are blue lines phones for assistance all over campus where you dial a number and it automatically calls the police and ambulance dept. so you are always safe. If you need a ride and you do not trust your friend who has been drinking, you can call the campus bus and they will be right over to pick you up. Watch out for the cars when you cross the street, they don't want to stop for you.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, sit in the lounges and watch T.V., go to a sporting event or watch a movie.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent, and a far improvement over the cafeteria food at high school, that food was garbage. Although it can be a little expensive (without meal plan) the portion size is perfect. There are so many options and three different places you can eat at that all serve different things.

    Dorm Life

    There is always something going on. The facilities are new so everything is clean and fresh.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics can become difficult when you have four or five classes. There are many quiet areas where you can study, although sometimes it can be hard to find a place to sit. Make sure you have a laptop, many professors have quizzes, study guides and send email notifications online.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour before you apply to any college, you will get a better understanding and feel of what it is like on campus. It is how I narrowed down my options.

    In three sentences

    The environment and the diverse opportunities allow you to explore your options endlessly. Although it is not a big name school, it provides a lot of internships and readily assistance by both students and professors when you are struggling with a subject. It is located right in the city where you have access to restaurants and big retailers nearby.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I've only had food here a few times as I compute but it was very good and lots of choices.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel challenged but supported.

    In three sentences

    Bridgwater State University was my first chose college. It has a clean and beautiful appearance but what really should out to me was how welcoming the professors are. I have a learning disability, as I toured the campus and as able to speak to a few of the professors, they encouraged me and even helped guide me to find the correct resources.

  • 01/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are more than happy to escort you to your car, never hesitate or think you're being a bother! They'd rather you be safe than sorry. Things can be creepy at night, especially since commuter lots are more in town than on campus, but it's fairly well lit and there is usually enough foot traffic for you to mix with if you feel uneasy and were too shy to request an escort.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is ALWAYS free food, SOMEWHERE. Read your emails! Clubs are always trying to get people to come out and check out what's going on, pretty much at all times! Free movies, food, games, and fundraisers are always happening!

    Great for these types of students

    I'd say BSU is great for someone who would consider themselves normal, as in, not a freak. (Neither of which are a bad thing!)

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is not outrageous.

    Food and Dining

    I am a commuter and do not eat on campus, I cannot effectively comment on the food and dining on campus. There's lots of fast food right off campus, and tons of local pizza and sub places around though.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter so I cannot effectively comment on dorm life. From some of my friends' rooms and what I have heard, even the freshmen dorms (which are considered the bad dorms) aren't really bad! I have heard some are haunted though....boo!

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here have been understanding while maintaining a professional academic schedule. I have felt challenged, but also fairly graded and critiqued. I am thankful for constructive criticism and the professors' availability for extra help when needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    People that live on campus like it because it's pretty and even the bad dorms are pretty nice. They're strict and search your bags often, but the campus is conveniently next to a train station that can bring you to Boston or Cape Cod.

    In three sentences

    As a commuter, I don't have anything nice to say about BSU. The parking lots are small and inconveniently placed, the walk ways aren't salted to and from lots, and events are always at random times, making it hard for commuters to get involved and feel like a part of the school. The teachers and education are great, everyone is down to earth and friendly, though I can't say the same for my peers.

  • 01/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent. For people who are still away from their dorms late at night and have a long walk, there are busses constantly running around campus that can pick you up from anywhere on campus to exactly where you need to be.

    Greek Life

    Very famous on campus

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of dinning halls on campus well spread out and on all sides of campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers challenge you to the best of your abilities and beyond. Small classrooms, therefore you get to know the professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a resident you will feel at home. There is tons to do and a great vibe

    In three sentences

    Bridgewater is a transfer friendly school. Everywhere I have gone with questions I have walked out of that place or office satisfied. It has a very nice campus.

  • 02/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a bus known as safety that runs from 7pm-3am that will pick you up and drop you off where ever you need to go. There is also a police station and fire station located on campus. Security is located at the front desk of the resident halls; some halls only have security at certain times.

    Greek Life

    Many sororities and fraternities available.

    Clubs and Activities

    http://www.bridgew.edu/studentlife/student-involvement

    What to do for fun

    For fun there is swimming, basketball, frisbee, football, intramural sports, parties, movie nights, open mic nights, comedy shows, zumba, and other activities held in the gym and off campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is a vast variety of food on and off campus. Some off campus places accept Flex Dollars. On campus dining have food for vegans, vegetarians, and meat lovers. The cuisine also has food from different cultures.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great. You meet new friends, learn knew ways to study, and have a nice social life. Freshman dorms are good but obviously not as nice as the senior dorms. Dorms are equipped with a bed, desk, closet space, and dresser for each student in the room. The building has a laundry room, kitchen, recreation room, quiet room, and bathrooms on each floor unless you are in a senior building the bathrooms are located in your room.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are more rigorous then others depending on the professor, level of the class, and type of class (lecture, online, or hybrid).

    Tips for prospective students

    Here are a few tips:1) even if you are a commuter I advise that you get a meal plan and/or add Flex Dollars to your student connect card. 2) Get involved with clubs, organizations, or other recreational activities. 3) Stay in contact with your professors as much as possible through email; ask them questions, let them know when you will be missing class, and ask them for any work that you had missed.

    In three sentences

    Bridgewater State University has a Friendly environment with plenty of support surrounding you. The students that you will meet are all diverse in their own way; they come from different cultures, backgrounds, and social-economical standings. It is a medium sized university where as it is big enough that you will meet someone new everyday but small enough that professors know you by name not number.

  • 03/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Five-star campus safety rating. Great endeavor to get into if you're an aspiring cop or criminal justice major/minor.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is visible in all areas of the campus and reaches out to the community in a fantastic way.

    Clubs and Activities

    The willingness of student participation in general clubs and activities isn't exceptionally diverse, however there are a lot offered. There is a great deal of room for improvement in promotional aspects of the intramural programs. Advance your ideas for new clubs or activities by petitioning to have one made, e.g. my old roommate liked the idea of a male rugby club.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone and everyone is encouraged to try it out.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unusual about BSU, I guess, is the zombie apocalypse game/club. It's popular because I see kids in the spring time running around with Nerf guns and toy weapons chasing each other.

    What to do for fun

    Campus swimming pool, concerts, indoor and outdoor tracks, train rides to Boston, club activities, socializing.

    Food and Dining

    Five cafeterias in total, all offer similar tasting food, with the exception usually of one item or set of items that the other kitchens don't make. Nutritional value is generally between subpar and adequate. The breakfast items include brand name cereals along with delicious baked bagels, breads, and a nearby yogurt bar offers a few different flavors. Milk is always ice cold. Tasty omelets are made on select days with an assortment of diced foods that you can add. While breakfast generally stays the same, lunches, dinners, and suppers continuously rotate. I recommend future students to stand up for their health by encouraging the school to include mostly organic ingredients in their meals.

    Dorm Life

    In addition to off-campus apartments, there are a total of seven different locations of on-campus housing. The selection process to live on-campus is weighted by different eligibility factors of students with a lottery system favoring older students who've been attending the university longest. I've lived in Pope Hall and Crimson Hall before, and am currently a commuter. Dorms remain generally quiet thanks to Resident Assistants who oversee entire floors. Custodial staffs work diligently to clean up any messes. Greek life on-campus keeps dorms colorful with posters and monthly or weekly themes. Overall, in my experience, residents cooperate with one another to make the dorm life manageable.

    Academic Rigor

    In pursuing a higher education, especially one that costs as much as you're willing to give, everyone wants to graduate with confidence in their field. Bridgewater State University offers a lot of extracurricular learning opportunities and experiences that is up to the individual to pursue. Academically, Bridgewater seems to be relatively above average. There are a handful of great professors that I've had in my short stay at BSU. I'd like to think all professors are willing to work with individuals so long as the student understands what's expected of them.

    Tips for prospective students

    The town of Bridgewater and Bridgewater State University have generously accommodated its residents with a safe and easy means of travel. Expect trains and 'round-the-clock shuttle-buses to transport you wherever you need to go. Whether it be to Boston aboard the train, or simply from a residence hall to one of the parking lots in a shuttle, these resources are invaluable connectors. Have fun no matter what your studying, what your interests are or who you're around. Above all else, respect every peer, teacher, and resource that helps you improve independently.

    In three sentences

    Bridgewater State is a transfer-friendly, four-year university with a lot of structural renovation on campus. Relatively affordable, classes are situated in a busy community filled with opportunities for personal growth. Immerse yourself in the culture of academics at BSU and you'll find yourself making valuable lifelong connections.

  • 08/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's a pretty consistent campus police presence and blue lights all over campus.

    Greek Life

    I'm an officer in one of the sororities on campus and I love it! BSU has a really relaxed Greek community in that there's none of the craziness you hear about from big school Greek life. But that's not to say we don't take it seriously! There are 4 fraternities, 1 co-ed fraternity, and 4 sororities to choose from and they're all so great in their own ways.

    Bang for the buck

    BSU is under $20,000 for a great education from world class teachers and experts in their field, at a school with great on campus life and a wonderful community.

    Food and Dining

    As far as college food goes BSU's is pretty standard. There are 5 places to eat on campus. Two are meal swipe buffet style, but you can use cash or dining dollars (comes on the meal plan), and two are cash/dining dollar only. Hardly any students go to the last one, it's like a restaurant style/buffet that uses dining dollars or cash. Only one is open late and its the only cash only one that is open all weekend. Sometimes it feels like the only food options are salads, healthy food, and processed/fast food, like a lot of schools I guess. There are also two Dunkins on campus and a Starbucks. The town has pizza, chinese, thai, sushi, froyo, sandwiches, diners, and two bars. There's a Roche Brothers very close by and SO many coffee places- Dunks, Honeydew, Marylou's, cafes. You don't always have to eat on campus!

    Dorm Life

    I'm actually an RA on campus and am about to start my second year in that position, so I know a bit about res life there. The res halls (what we call them) are varied and affordable. You have to buy a meal plan to live on campus but they have a few different options you can choose from. The first year res halls, and the upperclassmen student apartments, have 24 hour security officers and do bag checks and the upperclassmen halls have student security officers who do bag checks from 7pm-3am. It's a dry campus except for the apartments, and the environment is pretty penalizing if you're caught drinking or smoking in your room. But obviously living on campus has so many perks, and there are always programs to do hosted by RAs and other on campus organizations.

    Academic Rigor

    Maybe it's just because I went to a competitive and challenging high school, but I think that BSU is really manageable for most students. That's not to say it isn't challenging, because it allows students to take on a lot and get very involved so it's pretty great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to jump right in and get involved! There's something for everyone here.