Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Brigham Young University-Hawaii (BYU Hawaii) Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/03/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Men and women who love exploring new cultures (especially cultures of the Pacific and Asian communities) will love coming here. Also, students who live like Latter-Day Saints will find they are more compatible with the students and curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you wish to attend Brigham Young University- Hawaii campus, you must be willing to uphold certain standards outlined in the University's Honor Code. Before applying, become familiar with the standards and decide whether or not you're willing to abide by these rules. (They are strict enforcers of the Honor Code).

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is more affordable for members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, but (especially for a private college) it is still a very good deal.

    Am enjoying being here

    What a wonderful place to study! The location is beautiful and I am surrounded by men and women who uphold good morals and values. It is truly the ideal environment for students seeking for an uplifting educational experience.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are only the beginning; I am learning SO much from the diverse student and faculty body at this institution. There are students from over 70 countries represented here, and it leads to many wonderful intercultural learning opportunities.

  • 04/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 9 people found this review useful. 2 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated, beach-bums, hardworking, sun-bathers, and Mormon. Great if you're an international student because this school has one of the highest international student populations, with students from over 70 different countries!

    Tips for prospective students

    This is an LDS-run school (Mormon). Therefore, before every class we pray and every student is required to take religion courses. However, being that this is a church school, there is no theft, immodesty, or cheating so its a very good school if you have high morals. Make sure to have a lot of extracurricular activities and a great reccomendation.

    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap considering it's a private school. Great staff, good courses, amazing location! Air fare isn't all that cheap though..

    Am enjoying being here

    Its in HAWAII!! Whats not to like about it? The school is a 5 min walk to the beach and a grocery store for all my college needs. However, I do miss being in a city with excitment and things to do. If you don't enjoy hiking, surfing, or lounging at the beach you could get a bit bored after about a mnoth or so.

    Am learning a lot

    It's a bit like high-school classes. Easy if you understand the subject, impossible if you don't. But the teachers are always willing to help and there are tutors for nearly every subject.

  • 11/02/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 9 people found this review useful. 3 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Members of the L.D.S church

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay worthy

  • 05/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 7 people found this review useful. 4 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    LDS students as well as international students. Definitely for students that are not super competitive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are understanding and respectful of other people's cultures, as this is an international school.

    Bang for the buck

    Attending this school is a steal compared to other schools in the state of Hawaii.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere is so friendly, not to mention the five minute walk to the beach.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are all for going above and beyond to teach the students what will make them successful in the future.

  • 08/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who don't mind living LDS standards. People who don't mind living in the country. People who are seeking a diverse student body.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to check out places in person before moving in, because the place may not be what you are used to if you come from the mainland. A friend of mine once said, If you ever hear of anyone going on a hike, or swimming to an island, or anything like that, drop what you are doing and go. Just go. You won't regret it.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is incredibly cheap for LDS students, and affordable for non-LDS students. The amount you pay for the education you get is amazing.

    Am enjoying being here

    The school is located right on the coast of the North Shore of Oahu, meaning that it is in a beautiful location. There is plenty of outdoor stuff to do, and plenty of friendly people to do it with. The place does get pretty empty in the summer, so less school activities and less people around. I am LDS, so I don't mind that one can't buy alcohol at the grocery store, and there are no bars close by, and you aren't allowed to drink as a student anyway. Some would hate this. I would prefer to be closer to the city, and finding good housing can be difficult, but overall I really enjoy my time here.

    Am learning a lot

    Small class sizes allow for a lot of student-teacher interaction. Teachers are often people who have already had experience in the field in which they are teaching. International student body makes for a diverse learning experience, though it also means that some of the classes are dumbed down a bit to compensate for the lower English language comprehension of the student body.

  • 07/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    adventurous, seeking to increase their testimony, laid back

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not attend this school if you have to have air conditioning-there is none in the dorms or houses. Honestly though, more often than not we get a real nice breeze on our North Shore. Also, stay on top of everything because the administration does not.

    Bang for the buck

    Although living on the island is expensive, our tuition is cheap cheap cheap! If you're not a member of the church, it is more expensive. Housing and a food plan is decently priced too.

    Am enjoying being here

    The experiences I have had here and memories I have created will stay with me throughout my entire life. I have really branched out with attending school here by trying new things and becoming more adventurous. There is so much to do on this island that you can never get bored. So many interesting people to meet and beautiful places to explore.

    Am learning a lot

    BYU-Hawaii is an awesome school where I am not only learning a lot in the classroom, but just with meeting new people. The diversity on this campus is amazing and I have met people from islands and countries I have never heard of before. Not only is my education being enhanced, but also my spiritual knowledge as I take religion courses and as teachers bring Gospel insights into their classrooms.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is one way for cars to get in and out of campus at night and that is by passing a security guard. The surrounding community is safe and secure as well. The only problem with campus is that there is a minor theft problem, but if you are smart about shutting your door when you leave, and locking your bike up, there shouldn't be anything to worry about.

    Clubs and Activities

    Hundreds of clubs for things from culture to astronomy. The best part is that you don't have to be Tongan to join Tongan Club, or African to join African Club, or an astronomy major to join the group and go on hikes and late night beach trips to look at stars!!

    Great for these types of students

    If you are not from the united states, or are in search of a cultural experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Culture night is so fun! Clubs for every different country are created and certain groups such as Tongan, Samoan, Japanese, and African club will present dances in a type of assembly. It's always the biggest event of the school year.

    What to do for fun

    The beach is always an option! Snorkeling, body surfing, hiking, and surfing are all less than 20 minutes from campus. Going into town is fun, but unless you have a car it's 2 hours on the bus. There are campus activities nightly. Social and academic groups are always getting together!

    Food and Dining

    The food is tolerable. There are not the healthiest menu choices, but there is always a salad bar with pineapple. By the end of two semesters you are ready to be done eating at the cafeteria. Thankfully there is a shopping center 15 minutes away from campus walking.

    Dorm Life

    It can be loud, but the Hale Mom is always working towards making things better by taking surveys, and holding Hale meetings every so often.

    Academic Rigor

    GE's are about at a high school level. Upper level classes are challenging, but if you work hard they are definitely passable. Most teachers are willing to work with you personally to make it possible for you to pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open minded about learning about new cultures and ways of living. It's hard to be so far away from family, but making friends is easy because everyone is so inviting, just make sure you are accepting of all types of people. The experience is unlike any other college in the world with over 70 different countries represented in a population just over 2,500.

    In three sentences

    There is an opportunity for a close relationship between instructor and pupil. It is a positive and healthy atmosphere. It is culturally diverse and there are plenty of opportunities to familiarize yourself with the rest of the world without even leaving campus.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SAFETY IS MUCH APPLIED TO THIS SCHOOL..REMEMBER ALL PLACES HAVE IMPERFECTIONS OF SAFETY, BUT I FEEL SAFE THERE. SO ITS YOUR JUDGMENT CALL!

    Greek Life

    NO COMMENT:/

    Clubs and Activities

    ALL I CAN SAY IS FUN!

    Great for these types of students

    NO COMMENT:/

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    NO COMMENT:/

    Bang for the buck

    IDK?!

    What to do for fun

    You can go to the beach, attend singles dance, sports, events they have on campus and so much more....you have to be there to find out!(:

    Food and Dining

    The Food is INCREDIBLE! Don't worry you will be well fed. No comment lol

    Dorm Life

    It might be hard at first if you are attached to your home or parents. It will slowly drift as you attend this school. You create bonds of friendship with people you dorm with and at school functions. you learn to communicate with other nationalities rather then your own kind. Be out there but not too much where pride over rides control.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers expect much more from you than high school requirements. They hold you as an adult you are. DO NOT PROCRASTINATE on any given assignment. Be very open to the teachers for any questions or concerns. Be independent and learn to take responsibility for your own learning. Show respect to yourselves, your teachers, classmates, friends, others and the Lord.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your desire is to attend this school, you must have a good intention. Coming for the wrong reasons can be fatal spiritually, emotionally, mentally and physically. This school holds a lot of high standards that must be put in action, follow it and you will be fine. It is not a place to be forced but encouraged. Be open in heart and mind, and their you will find peace. Get good grades and strive for the best, that way you will succeed. With the Lord's help, you can achieve great things.

    In three sentences

    BYU Hawaii is a school full of great opportunities for self-identity. For LDS members who are seeking to go on their mission, this is the place to be especially when you want to stay in Hawaii. For nonmembers, this is where you can experience a multicultural community/society.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Laie Hawaii is a beautiful safe place to live while attending collage.

    Clubs and Activities

    Every country have their own club/association and you are more than welcome to join any you want!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    He have people form all over the world, so very year we have a Foodfest, a Cultural night fest, and a Songfest!

    What to do for fun

    To do for fun? Is Hawaii!!, we have tons of fun all the time, amazing place to get a lot of nice experiences and recreation activities. Everything is fun here!

    Food and Dining

    Food is a little different as usual, Asian and Polynesian dishes are the most common food at the Cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is really cool, you may have roommates from Asia or Polynesia, they are amazing people!

    Academic Rigor

    They have an amazing 9 semester plan!

    Tips for prospective students

    International students are always welcome, so study hard if you are an international student.

    In three sentences

    A school with a beautiful background An amazing place to get a degree. You can learned about other cultures and get ties with people form all over the world.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Anything! Hikes on the mountains, surfing, swimming, body surfing, boogie boarding, paddle boarding, skim boarding, any type of sports, jam sessions...

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to follow the Honor Code because the students are expected to live up to a higher standard.

    In three sentences

    BYU-H has students from over 75 different countries. The university has a wonderful atmosphere. It is located o the beautiful Hawaiian island of Oahu.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    you can join in some activities.

    Food and Dining

    the style is an all-you-can-eat restaurant, and you can go to the cafeteria whenever you want. however, the foods taste is not very good.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are old, so you can see a lot of insects every day. but you can enjoy your life with your friends!

    Academic Rigor

    we have much homework, so it is very good for people who want to learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    the school is a very nice school. you can concentrate on studies, and also you can enjoy many activities. almost students are Mormon, but if you are not a member of Mormonism, it has no problem!

    In three sentences

    the students at Brigham Young University study very hard, but they also enjoy their school lives. the teachers and the students are very close each other, so it is easy to ask the teachers questions. the students in here are from a lot of countries, so we can make friends from another countries easily.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities that were held here in BYUH have been awesme, but lately they have been cutting down on it which is not much fun for most students !

    What to do for fun

    i really do not know ! Laie is far from basically everything . With scholarships some students come in we are not allowed to own a car or even drive. So it is hard to get out and have fun ; Some student do not leave the campus at all.

    Food and Dining

    Don't get me started ; I am glad that i got married and moved out of the dorms. The cafe food was really bad ! leftovers from the night before or the meal before. Very unwell & very disappointing.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is well i really did not like it ... maybe others did just not me !

    In three sentences

    its not bad its just needs improving !. ALOT of improving !

  • 12/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    laid back, open minded, and someone who enjoys different kids of food!

    Tips for prospective students

    Embrace the culture. Learn ebey thing you can to seem local and you will feel more at home.

  • 12/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Easy going, loves the water, loves learning, loves diversity, etc...

    Tips for prospective students

    BYU-Hawaii is the best BYU out of all of them!!! It's a super diverse school and has many friendly, nice, and cool people to get to know. So....come to BYUH!!! U won't regret it!! =D

  • 12/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to learn not only from your professors but also from the students you live with and go to class with. The cultural differences will build you to be better so be prepared to accept different cultures. BYU-H is a wonderful school right on the beach so if you love the beach then there are things to do.

    Academic Rigor

    I am learnign alot here at BYU-H. The classrooms arent so big that you cant have personal one on one learning from your professor. When it is difficult to understand something i am able to simply ask for clarification from the professor and he/she can help me one-on-one in class or after. tutors are available all around also. the course loads arent too challenging but they arent that easy also. overall learning is fun here at BYU-H

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who are just starting to learn the English and far away from home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the sites take you away from what is improtant

    Bang for the buck

    work hard

    Am enjoying being here

    They have workshop to help and even religions classes

    Am learning a lot

    The instructors are willing to help

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be out going and excited to meet new people. Also, be proactive in everything like signing up for classes, housing, scholarship, etc.

  • 02/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel completely safe on this campus.

    Greek Life

    we do not have greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs available here on campus because of the diversity of the student body.

    Great for these types of students

    wanting to have a campus with religious beliefs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have devotionals every tuesday at 11am. they are usually motivational speakers. i enjoy them.

    What to do for fun

    i hang out with friends for fun. i go and visit the tourist sights. i go to the beach.

    Food and Dining

    i am on the food plan, the food they offer is good. i would say that people on campus eat healthier than those who live off campus.

    Dorm Life

    i like my dorm. it is hawaiian style, we don't have air conditioning but that is because we are in hawaii, we don't need ac.

    Academic Rigor

    i wish they had more classes offered.

    In three sentences

    i love the diversity on our campus. we so many different students from all over the world. more than 78 different languages are spoken on campus.

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    you know you're safe.

    Greek Life

    there's not greek history here but the polynesian influence is huge.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a club for any interest here.

    Great for these types of students

    any and all. you will get all the help you need here and can also grow as a person.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    you can tell what time of day it is by listening to the pcc

    Bang for the buck

    it's a great price for all you are afforded.

    What to do for fun

    the beach is always a great option. you can explore honolulu and waikiki as well as do all sorts of hikes and adventures.

    Food and Dining

    variety and flavor are wonderful

    Dorm Life

    you are able to meet new people from all over the world.

    Academic Rigor

    academic success is a key factor to your time here. teachers challenge you but they also aid you.

    Tips for prospective students

    be here because you want to grow; not just party.

    In three sentences

    byuh does exactly what it claims to do. it's mission to promote peace and cultural understand while at the same time edifying students into leaders. it is a refiners fire of a school.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus seems to be pretty safe to me though i would not advise leaving campus grounds by yourself. i've heard of stories of the laie boys beating up innocent college students on their way home from school for fun. i have also heard a rumor of a rape last year on-campus but i am not sure if it was true or not but overall campus is pretty safe.

    Greek Life

    none that i really know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    this university is known for it's cultural diversity and the clubs here definitely display that. there are so many clubs you can join and if you don't find one you like, you can start one of your own.

    Great for these types of students

    laid-back, lds students who enjoy the sun and don't mind living a strict honor code.

    Bang for the buck

    i think byu -hawaii has pretty quality education for how much we pay. it is a cheap school to attend compared to other universities and is definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    go hiking, play in the ocean, on-campus activities, bonfires, off-campus parties (mormon parties), and enjoying the weather by walking.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria has really flexible hours which is great for a college students life and the food has a pretty good variety. i prefer the cafeteria over buying my own groceries because of the access to daily fruits, veggies, and refreshments. they do serve some interesting foods from many different cultures that can be frightening but it's never bad to try new things.

    Dorm Life

    living in the dorms gives you a great opportunity to socialize and make friends. you can find out activities on-campus more easily through living in the dorms than anywhere else. downsides to the dorms are the gender separation and wait lists because of not enough housing.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic rigor mostly depends on the major. i've heard that social work professors give less of a workload than most of the other departments. of course you will have your easy classes and your hard classes but it is honestly according to your major and more importantly the professors you take.

    Tips for prospective students

    be open to new experiences and new people. there is a lot of diversity on this campus so you will come across differing opinions and if you are not willing to open up to the cultural differences you may not have a very pleasant time. i encourage you to live on campus because in my personal experience, living off-campus will hinder your spectrum of social activities.

    In three sentences

    it is a wonderful school with lots of diversity, the most beautiful campus, and people who share common beliefs and values. downsides are that it is a small college, it's not very organized, and the honor code is getting ridiculously strict on things that aren't very trivial. out of ten i would give this school a seven.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    pretty safe to be alone at night

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot of clubs

    Great for these types of students

    If you need a small class its perfect

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is culture night where you get to see dances from countries all over the world! Food fest you get to try foods from all over also.

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty cheap for a Hawaii school

    What to do for fun

    The beach, take the bus into town, to eat at Kahuku Grill!

    Food and Dining

    the caf food is horrible!!!!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are very small and have strict rules

    Academic Rigor

    It is a hard school to get into and has many hard classes

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a bike if you don't have a car

    In three sentences

    Small classes make it easier to learn. Opinons are not really heard. Fun campus meeting loads of new people

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    dance parties with the world! see all the dances danced in all over the world. go to the beach.

    Food and Dining

    Food is all you can eat. It's not so bad. Lots of people go there because it is the best place to mingle and make new friends too.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is not so good. the 1st 2 semesters you are required to stay in the dorms. not so clean. Bugs every where. the only thing good about it is being really close to school.

    Academic Rigor

    people who aren't eager enough will graduate with out anything useful in society. make sure you fit all the classes with in the 9 terms they provide you. Or else the school will spit you out and provide opportunities to future students.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are speaking English as a 2nd language, speak it well. That is the only key that holds students down. No matter how skilled you are, if you cannot express it to the professors here, you will lose your future potential. Don't be shy. work hard. enjoy the environment. be a leader of something.

    In three sentences

    It is a very divers environment here. Approximately 70 different nationalities attend here. Great place to be for students who want to do any international business such as myself.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a security office in the campus. They work 24 hrs. But there are thief occasionally .

    Greek Life

    People are nice and easy to get along with.

    Clubs and Activities

    Everything you can think of.

    Great for these types of students

    LDS members or clean students.

    What to do for fun

    Go to beach. Or you can go to town. There are a lot natural park you can go too.

    Food and Dining

    Food is expensive and pretty bad. Its cheaper and better taste if you live off campus. But it takes more time.

    Dorm Life

    Its pretty boring if you are form the city. But you can go to beach all whenever you want. Its only five minutes walking.

    Academic Rigor

    The school has the honer code that every students must read and accepted before they came.

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to be ready for no drinks and drugs, and be a good student in the next few years.

    In three sentences

    This is a church school and we have students from different parts of the world. The school has healthy study environment and good teachers that teach us.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the beach

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard

    In three sentences

    The school is very diverse with a wide variety of students from everywhere around the world.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is some of the cheapest in the nation! Yet the education and living in Hawaii is phenomenal!

    What to do for fun

    its hawaii!

    Food and Dining

    Food fest! A festival which happens at least 2 times a year offers food from over 100 different countries.

    Dorm Life

    so fun!

    Academic Rigor

    This school is mildly challenging with the x factor that it can be harder if you chose to make it so.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to make time for study and the beach

    In three sentences

    An awesome university with the most diverse student body in the United States. Great teachers with great experiences in all majors of work in the world.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The beach is only a 10 minute walk from here!

    Food and Dining

    The food is average. Very convenient though.

    Dorm Life

    They are really old. People are really loud, and because we have louvers and not windows it is more apparent.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are too easy. Other major oriented classes are challenging.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    They have clubs out the wazoo. Tahitian, psychology, cook island (basically tons of polynesian clubs, asian clubs, and educational or fun clubs like scuba diving, teaching peace through music etc.) There's also lots of dances, ball games, concerts, devotionals, firesides and other events that go on through the year.

    Great for these types of students

    Willing to obey the honour code. Willing to be warm and happy. Willing to experience over 70 different cultures.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well Polynesian culture is a spectacle in itself. Anything that would otherwise be normal, they make unique. Basketball games, concerts, dances, devotionals etc. They are hilarious.

    What to do for fun

    What not to do for fun! There's a beach 3 minutes away, and mountains to hike 3 minutes the other way. You can go sky diving, salt water kayaking, swimming with dolphins and sharks, snorkeling, scuba diving, horseback riding, and all the campus dances, activities, and of course food.

    Food and Dining

    If you're a freshman and live on campus you have a food plan. The cafeteria has good food the majority of the time. And when the food isn't your favourite they always have cereal, sandwich stuff, and waffle makers. Your bound to find something you like.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life while your a freshman is the perfect opportunity to meet people since everything is so close. You share hallways and washrooms, and a room with one other person (usually).

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging sometimes and slow paced others. Keep in mind there are a lot of international students who are just learning English. I find it's harder for them but still educational for everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get out at the beginning. Go to the new student firesides and activities and you'll find friends. It's so easy to just stay inside and be homesick and miserable. Just remember that everyone else is thinking the same thing and hoping to find friends.

    In three sentences

    It has a very unique history and spirit about it. The cultural diversity is amazing as well-I have friends from almost every country I can think of. It is small which is what I wanted since I'm a small town girl myself.

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Super safe campus. But things do get stolen from dorm rooms sometimes.

    Greek Life

    I don't think there is one.

    Great for these types of students

    laid back

    What to do for fun

    surf, go to the beach, hike.

    Tips for prospective students

    The university is an hours drive from town. It's in a very country setting. There are many students who are international students, so there are a lot accents to get used to. Hawaii is also a very expensive place to live.

    In three sentences

    BYU-Hawaii is very culturally diverse, with student from all over the world. There are many professors who are extremely successful in their trade of work. Attending here can be a spiritual experience.

  • 11/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus here is smaller and a more tight fit community.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for nearly any hobby and geographic region available here.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who desire to develop international ties and are immune to cultural shock.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It has the most international diversity out of ALL the Universities of the United States. The traditions here are endless.

    Bang for the buck

    BYU's from Hawaii to the mainland United States have a renown name in the academic world and for one of the most inexpensive prices available.

    What to do for fun

    University Club Activities, fine beaches, and plenty of opportunity to explore the island.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria here is a fine place to dine and easily accessible too.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life here is an inexpensive opportunity to make new friends and maintain a decent standard of living.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your classes and the amount of credit hours you will be taking, you can experience a a casual student life or a rigorous life of day and night study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Due to the exotic location of the university be sure that you are wanting to attend here to receive a education and not a vacation.

    In three sentences

    BYUH is a religious university dedicated to educating students physically, mentally, and spiritually. Attendance here requires a higher standard of moral living. Students who attend BYUH enter to learn and go forth to serve.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's a 3 dollar movie theater really close by, or the beach which is like 5-10 min walk away from the campus. Then there is a very nice Library with plenty of things to do inside.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of good food. Looking for a place where it is all you can eat, go to the cafeteria, and if you just want something small there is a little restaurant next to it with ice-cream.

    Dorm Life

    Can be a tight squeeze sometimes, but after much thought and rearranging, the room is great. Well maintained and everybody else is nice, just don't break rules.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a lot more focus on getting students to finish their degrees faster and moving on. So with this push to get you out as soon as they can, there is not much time to relaxing.

    Tips for prospective students

    One thing you should know is that the beach is just a block down and is a easy walk. Great beaches but also can be a great distraction if your not careful. It is not a bad thing to hang out at the beach.

    In three sentences

    Very diverse school. Not very big but that's the positive thing about it. You get to know fellow students and teachers a lot more better.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel completely safe on campus. Even the areas around campus are really safe.

    Greek Life

    There are no Fraternities or Sororities here.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not really involved in any clubs, but I've gone to some club events, and they were pretty fun. There are also dances all the time.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for mormons. If you don't want to drink or do drugs, this is great place.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is overall a good school, and it is really low cost. I'm glad that i got accepted here and i wouldn't choose anywhere else.

    What to do for fun

    The most common thing to do here is to go to a beach. Pounders is one of the best beaches on the island for body-surfing, and North Shore is right next door. It's pretty cool to go see all the big surfing competitions.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria could be better. It isn't too expensive though, so expectations really aren't that high anyways. Sometimes you feel like you absolutely have to make a trip to Kahuku just to get a good bite to eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really controlling, with lots of rules. No girls allowed in boys dorms and no boys in girls dorms. The classes and all school-sponsored are really close, so that is nice.

    Academic Rigor

    I have never gone to a different college so i have nothing to compare it to. It's pretty hard though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Student life is kind of lacking at times.

    In three sentences

    Being in Hawaii is beautiful. Going here is inexpensive, and working opportunities are good. The facilities could be better.

  • 12/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe and clean.

    Clubs and Activities

    Has a lot of clubs and a social activity every night.

    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap for the quality of education.

    What to do for fun

    surfing, beach, hiking, basketball games

    Tips for prospective students

    Time management helps students control their classes and other duties. Perspective students be ready to work hardest in your life. Balance school and social activities by using a agenda book.

    In three sentences

    BYUH is a college institution of secular and religious learning. The campus is great because students at BYUH agree to live with the school's honor code where they abide by high moral standards. The campus and community is friendly and make you feel welcomed and not homesick.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is always safe and secure. You can trust me on that one, after all I work in the security office.

    Clubs and Activities

    Several culture clubs for all the different countries, there are sports clubs, service clubs etc. You name it chances are we have a club for it, if not make one!

    Great for these types of students

    It is a church college so a majority of the students are members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. It is an awesome place if you are a member or investigating the church. It is also a great school if you prefer smaller class sizes.

    What to do for fun

    It's a ten minute walk to the beach, need I say more.

    Food and Dining

    I've had better food. On the plus side though it is an all you can eat buffet style. They have two entrees to choose from every meal and rice and a salad bar all day everyday.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms or hales as they are know are great. They make going to class a short commute and you get to know a lot of awesome people.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are easy as long as you show up to class. Attendance and participation are a large portion of your grade in all of the classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to the new experience and have fun.

    In three sentences

    Very accommodating, the smaller class size allows for a better experience. You will get to meet people from all over the world and create friendships that will last a lifetime. It is a wonderful place to come study and grow.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Join different country/culture clubs! You will gain so many friends and connections that will assist your future career!

    What to do for fun

    We go to beaches, surfing, snorkeling, and body surfing. We go hiking in different mountains and play in the waterfalls.

    Food and Dining

    Food is expensive in Hawaii in general. Having a meal plan on campus will help you cutting down times to cook and money for grocery!

    Dorm Life

    There are strict rules in the dorms, but I like them because they secure us and make us to be more responsible (in cleanliness and such).

    Academic Rigor

    I love the classes here. It's nice and small. Students and teachers interact in classrooms. And learning environment is excellent!

    Tips for prospective students

    Open your heart and your mind to experience new things and incredibly wonderful people in Hawaii!

    In three sentences

    Unique multi-cultural campus. Spiritual as well as academic learning is encouraged among the most international student body in the U.S.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe and secure campus.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and activities going on here.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking to go in to sciences, political science, or computers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Polynesian culture center nearby offers look at life in the islands. Its entertaining and instructive.

    Bang for the buck

    Not too expensive, lots of services offered on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Beaches, local movie theater, cultural and school events. Beaches.

    Food and Dining

    Food is offered on campus in the cafeteria and at the Seasider grill.

    Dorm Life

    Lots of fun on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but not too bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    A lot of students here are surprised that they got in. Don't not apply just because its BYU Hawaii, go ahead and give it a try!

    In three sentences

    Excellent school, plenty of great education environment. Small school means better attention from teachers and faculty. Beaches.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities here are great. A lot of different students make up the campus so you meet tons of new people.

    What to do for fun

    Well.. you are in Hawaii! There are tons of things to do!!! BYUH is lucky to have a beach that is 5 minutes off campus. There is also a lot of hikes you could do, waterfalls to see, surfing. Anything. You will never be bored here.

    Food and Dining

    There isn't much of a variety when it comes to food and dining if you are on the meal plan. There is only one dining facility and sometimes the food isn't that great. Off campus, there are a lot of great places to eat though. The nearest shopping center has some pretty good places including a grocery store for those off campus housing students.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms are extremely small and there are no coed dorms. Normally, that wouldn't be a problem but the girls and boys aren't even allowed in each other's buildings. The lounges are ok and they give students a chill place to hang out for a couple of hours... until curfew.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are pretty hard but the plus side is that the work load is managable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get yourself out there as much as possible. The more you get involved, and the more events you go to, the more memorable your experience will be.

    In three sentences

    This school is very diverse. The atmosphere and people here are great! I love this school.

  • 03/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is highly safe for the most part. There are guards on duty at night, and on campus security 24/7

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs to support the extremely multi-cultural students. Just about a club for every culture/ ethnicity, also art clubs, music clubs, photography clubs, etc..

    Great for these types of students

    If you are Mormon you will find the majority of fellow members here, I think that any type of student could find a liking to this school if they can abide the honor code system.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Most classes open with a prayer. Also every Tuesday they have Devotional where a speaker will come in and give an uplifting sort of talk for about an hour, many students attend this.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is great if you are seeking for a good education along with tapping into spiritual endeavors.

    What to do for fun

    If you are an outdoors type of person you will be excited about the ocean and beaches that surround the island. There are numerous hikes, and bike paths that are free. If you want to pay for things they have tours and rentals for various things. There is a shopping mall about 35 mins away and night life in town if you're up for it.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining on campus consists of a sandwich deli, icecream/ smoothies, snacks, gluten-free snacks, and a kitchen where they make food in front of you. They also have a cafe. Right off campus, a few streets down is a shopping center with more choices to eat such as Subway, Chinese Restaurant, A Burger Place Etc..

    Dorm Life

    I live at home so I don't apply to this. But I have heard that it isn't too bad, complaints I have heard is that they have a curfew time but they just need to sign in and out with the R.A. and they will be fine.

    Academic Rigor

    The school has great teachers that challenge students to achieve. Hawaii can feel pretty laid back so to speak, so it's really up to you as the student to make an effort on your part.

    Tips for prospective students

    As great as this school is, be sure to read about the schools honor code when considering to apply here just to be sure you are willing to apply with the stipulations.

    In three sentences

    BYU-H is a mormon affiliated school. It is surrounded by beautiful scenery and places. The students come from all over the world, making it a multi-cultural learning environment.

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In our small community of Laie we are pretty safe, but girls should still not go off campus alone.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many culture clubs around campus, join one and go through the best experience. I recommend Samoan Club.

    Great for these types of students

    Students open to different cultures, if you are racist in any way then I wouldn't come here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a culture night every semester where each culture on campus is displayed in an amazing show.

    Bang for the buck

    This university gives every single student the cheapest experience compared to any other college. The church pays for most of every ones education, and you will leave with the best experience and academic achievement.

    What to do for fun

    SO MUCH! You're in Hawaii! You can go to the beach for free everyday if you like! There are gorgeous hikes everywhere! If you're feeling adventurous you can go to town and do countless activities. In the winter make sure and experience the big surf competitions on the north shore!

    Food and Dining

    You are required by the university as a freshman to have a meal plan at the cafe. The cafe food is alright, you just have to understand they have to cater to all the diverse cultures at the school.

    Dorm Life

    They are currently in the process of building all new dorms, the people that live around you will become your new family. It's a great experience.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is not a community college, you can't not go to class and expect to pass. It takes work to get good grades but it isn't the hardest school ever. So you will have time to go and have fun with friends and still be a great student.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you get home sick easily this will be hard for you. You're an ocean away from your family, and for international students even more.

    In three sentences

    The best experience of my life, the people are so friendly, and it's nice to know I'm not pressured by my friends or anyone on campus to do things against my standards. This school is culturally diverse and it's so much fun making friends with people around the world. LOVE THIS SCHOOL!

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe

    Clubs and Activities

    Several different cultural clubs

    Great for these types of students

    outdoor, like warm weather

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Gathering fish at the Hukilau

    Bang for the buck

    We like to eat at Kahuku Grill because it is good quality burgers for an affordable price.

    What to do for fun

    Surf, hike, spend time with wife.

    Food and Dining

    Its good, but not the best.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what major you want

    In three sentences

    Lots of opportunity for growing, good social work program, small class sizes.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One night out of the year, our school puts on a night were the many cultures come together and perform their traditional dances for everyone. It is a very interesting event that many school don't get to do since our school is very diverse.

    What to do for fun

    I normally would go to the many beaches that are nearby or watch movies at the cinema nearby with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Although the cafeteria food can be a bore at times, I cannot complain. It's better than what my high school served and we are blessed to receive much amount of food that is well prepared.

    Dorm Life

    I stay in the dorms and many people don't like it, but I do. Although it is more expensive than staying off-campus, it is very convenient to stay on campus. Plus, you get to know more people and learn to live with others from around the world.

    Academic Rigor

    The workload that is given here is challenging, but not to a point where you cannot do it. It is possible tasks.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should know not to get caught up in the island-life that this place has to offer, since it can distract us from the real reason why we are here, which is to gain a degree.

    In three sentences

    BYUH is a very diverse school. Many come from all around the world to experience and great opportunity and take part of the knowledge that is offered here. It is a blessing to become a student at BYUH.

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe.

    Greek Life

    None that I am aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't think they have a Latin club, it would be fun to learn how to dance like a Latino.

    Great for these types of students

    International students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I am aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is more affordable in BYUH than any other Italian institution. However, everyone comes from different backgrounds, so you would rather talk to a financial aid assistant to consider affordable options to get you here.

    What to do for fun

    Swimming, beach volleyball, jogging by the beach, surfing, scuba diving, skydiving, hiking, soccer, tennis, American football, hanging out downtown...there are countless activities going on in a daily basis around campus. You'd better join a club in order to meet more people and get introduced to a different culture. There is no reason to get homesickness ever!

    Food and Dining

    'All you can eat food', is there anything else better than that?

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms has been an uplifting living experience. Everyone is so friendly and eager to meet new people. Despite having a small-sized bedroom, living in the dorms helps you to meet new people and to be informed of ongoing activities.

    Academic Rigor

    You always have ongoing assignments, which it shouldn't be abnormal if you are accustomed to study. Avoid procrastination. You will succeed if you always turn all your assignments on time, regardless your English proficiency. As long as you are determined and keep a good attitude towards studying, you won't ever struggle with your courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be mindful of being exposed to a multicultural student campus. Although having fun and meeting new friends come along with proactivity, never forget to keep it up with your grades. It's so easy to get distracted around here.

    In three sentences

    The best decision that I have ever made in my life. BYUH has become my home. I've met many outstanding friends and people who always look after me. Academically speaking, very competitive; teachers are well-prepared.

  • 10/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is everywhere, this campus is very safe. I'm never worried about my safety on campus.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life at BYUH.

    Clubs and Activities

    Get involved in as much as you can. There are so many clubs and chapters, all of them do a lot of fun activities. Also, they are a great way to meet new people and network!

    Great for these types of students

    BYUH is great for students who are looking for an adventure while getting the best education available. BYUH is also better for students who like to get involved and be apart of group activities. The social life here is awesome, so if you're a wallflower, I wouldn't recommend it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Tuesday in the Cannon Activity Center, there is an hour devotional. They are always really good! Also, behind the new Heber Grant Building is a quiet place to study, I love it! No one knows about the benches back there.

    Bang for the buck

    For being a private college in Hawaii, this school is so cheap! Always look for scholarships from the University and even the teachers. The only expensive aspect of BYUH is Hawaii. The prices in stores are much higher compared to the mainland. Also, traveling (flying) is expensive too.

    What to do for fun

    The beach is just a 10 minute walk but if you want to stay on campus, then go to the Game Center! If you want to get off of campus, go to the movies by Foodland, snorkeling at sharks cove, or just catch a bus for only $2.50 for Honolulu.

    Food and Dining

    The food at BYUH is pretty good, especially for cafeteria food. There is always a cereal bar, waffle makers, and salad bar available which is nice! The food is diverse too because of the cultural diversity. Flex dollars are so nice! I didn't think I would ever spend mine, but it's really hard not too! The Seasider has great snacks and the best milkshakes ever!

    Dorm Life

    If you are in the new Hales, then life is great! If you're in the old Hales then it's not quite as nice. Dorm renovations are in the process, though! So soon all of the dorms will be nice! The only downfall is no AC in the rooms, but with the windows cracked, it's not bad at all!

    Academic Rigor

    This college is very competitive and has a lot to offer. Get with an academic advisor to make sure you're taking the right classes though. But I love my classes!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that BYUH has your major that you want to get. Also, make sure that your previous credits will transfer.

    In three sentences

    I love this campus and school! The teachers are engaging and my classes are enjoyable. There's no better place to be than at BYUH.

  • 10/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sleepy town. Mostly good people. Sometimes stuff happens but it's real rare and almost always because someone does something stupid and spontaneous.

    Clubs and Activities

    You need to make your own fun for the most part.

    Great for these types of students

    Not interested in partying. Prefer a more clean lifestyle. Out in the Hawaiian countryside. Prefers relatively empty and pristine beaches.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Culture night happens once a year. Each regional/georgraphical/ethnic club with students mostly from that part of the world put on a show. It's a unique authentic cultural celebration that is amazing. It spans two nights. Must see.

    What to do for fun

    Beach. Temple. Hike. Bike. Chill on the point. Seven Eleven. Great food places all over really. There's always someone jamming somewhere and they're up for another person to join in with a Ukulele, guitar, sing along whatever. Surf. PCC a couple times. Dive (fishing or just look around). etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be mindful and respectful of the huge cultural melting pot and you'll love it here. The Honor code can get on your nerves, but overall is helpful and is not as strictly enforced as other BYUs.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful Campus with great location. Classes and professors often fairly laid back, but not always. Overall great, administration is the largest annoyance, probably not unlike most campuses in that way.

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Polynesian Cultural Center is right next to the school and is a major tourist attraction. Students who work here are very privileged to be there. It is a wonderful place and all the activities there are great.

    What to do for fun

    The beaches are literally walking distance. We can always go to the beach and enjoy , also there is a shopping center and a theater where they show the latest films.

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay. There are those times where you just don't want to eat the food in the cafe, but that is why there is the snack bar and other nearby fast food restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great! We get to meet really nice people and make friends with them. Though some of the dorms are old, we still have a nice place to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is challenging and stressful, as we have many assignments but it really does help you in learning something.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not procrastinate. It will affect you and your grades.

    In three sentences

    BYU-Hawaii is an amazing school. It not only provides you with secular knowledge but also spiritual knowledge and as a student, I get to learn so much and appreciate the opportunity to be here. The people here are very welcoming and the diversity of students is a great way to meet new people.