Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Brookhaven College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for motivated students, especially those wanting to transfer to any four-year Texas university that cannot afford undergraduate credits at a four-year.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to avoid traffic, arrive early and leave late. There's computer labs and a Subway cafe in the student building to eat at. Don't forget to keep your eyes open for interesting forums or auditions for performing arts. By far the most rewarding experience was acting in a theatre production on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to tuition prices at four year universities and the quality of the class taken personally, this school is worth the tuition and books (when textbooks are not rented from the library).

    Am enjoying being here

    Aside from the occasional fellow student that takes the college for granted and fouls community spirit on campus, the school itself and its academics are worth the experience. Many days outside of class have been spent enjoying the upkeep and aesthetics of the campus, and inside of class have been some great moments for critical thinking (in an enjoyable sense).

    Am learning a lot

    Never underestimate the quality of learning found in community colleges. Brookhaven College has passionate professors that, in personal experience, have been inspiring and eccentric, something that catches attention. Government and World Literature professors challenged students with critical thinking on current events that was unexpected and delightful to take part in.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Find another college - no joke. Collin is not that far away and they are fantastic. Brookhaven is a mess. No organization between departments, wrong information given by financial aid which resulted in serious problems every term, went through 3 different financial aid director's in one year, horrible, HORRIBLE for financial aid. I am a 34 year old student with experience at other colleges, none of them were like Brookhaven. Don't waste your time if you need financial aid. I would go so far as to advise students to move to Collin county to attend a school that knows what they're doing. Worst experience EVER at Brookhaven.

    In three sentences

    Worst community college experience EVER. Professors were great, but financial aid was a mess. Attended for 2 years, they NEVER got it right.

  • 10/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    My family is a single parent household and we aren't rich. this is the perfect place for me and the website is perfect for my mom cause she can check on stuff too. That gives her some peace of mind and i like that...

    Tips for prospective students

    Jump in with both feet!!!! This is a great college !!! Traffic can be a challenge but take your time leave early and enjoy the ride!!!

    Bang for the buck

    The experience weighed against the cost of tuition... Wow! i am so glad I chose this school instead of the more expensive one. this is truely the right choice.

    Am enjoying being here

    This is a great campus and I love going to class.

    Am learning a lot

    I am so enjoying my experiences at Brookhaven! I am in the Ford Asset Program and my instructors are just amazing! I am learning so much!!

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Full time campus police work closely with Farmers Branch Police Department. Frequent safety drills for storms and even lock down drills in the event of an emergency. Well lit and we are kept informed through an electronic text/email system of any issues.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    Baseball, International Club, Student Government, African Cultures Club, World Languages, Art Club, Asian Culture Club, , Believers’ Love World, Brookhaven Active Adult Students, Brookhaven Choral Society, Brookhaven Flute Club, Brookhaven Greenies, Brookhaven Latino Dance Club, Brookhaven Players, Criminal Justice Club, Christian Collegiate Ministry, Dancers' Theatre, Gay-Straight Alliance Hispanic Heritage Club, IMPP - International Movement For Peace Among People, Institute for Political Studies, International Club, Korean Culture Club, Math/Science Club (STEM), Meeting of the Minds, Music Club, Pathways, Phi Theta Kappa, PTK, Radiology Science Club, Rising Star Club, SERVE - the Club, Student Veterans Organization, Urban Dance Club, Visual Communications Club, Windmill Writers Club, Yoga and Meditation Club

    Great for these types of students

    This is great for any student. There is such a diverse group of people on campus creating a spectacular learning environment.

    Bang for the buck

    Community college is a great bargain. By completing your core curriculum, you can transfer to another Texas state school with your core classes in tact. By completing your associates degree at Brookhaven you can save hundreds and sometimes thousand of dollars when transferring to a 4 years university.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something happening on campus. There are multiple student groups including Student government, Phi Theta Kappa, International Group, to name a few.

    Food and Dining

    School Bookstore offers variety of snacks. Subway in Student Services building. Vending machines everywhere.

    Academic Rigor

    Offers basic core curriculum and a variety of degrees. Science degrees require hard work and dedication. Nursing program has multiple accreditations and bridge programs with Texas Tech and The University of Texas at Arlington.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll early, classes fill quickly due to the high demand for this college. Get involved in one of the many student groups on campus. Complete your associates degree and your block curriculum before you leave Brookhaven.

    In three sentences

    A diverse campus with many degree options. New science and health facilities offering accredited nursing program, EMS, radiology and a variety of other allied health careers. Faculty is stable and extremely dedicated to the success of their students.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are available 24/7 to keep the campus safe. They are very helpful.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs and sororities to join

    Great for these types of students

    Diverse, first time college students

    Bang for the buck

    You do get your moneys worth at Brookhaven college.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria with a subway inside where you can by your lunch and next to it is the Book store where they also sell food and drinks as well

    Dorm Life

    No dorms. But there are appointment's near by the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    This campus is good for students of any field of study. You can get your basics out of the way here or get an Associates degree. They even have technical training program allowing you to get training in a career path of your choice. They also offer dual credit for high school students who are interested in getting ahead.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you are having a problem with a subject, help is always around the corner. There is a math lab, a writing lab where tutoring is held to to help students. If you have trouble buying books there is a program to help students check out books from the library for the whole semester. Just remember to return the books when your class is over.

    In three sentences

    The campus is lively with many activities for students. It is diverse, with students of many nationalities and background. The teachers and administration are helpful and understanding.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It is in Dallas, which has anything and everything.

    Food and Dining

    They have a subway on campus, which is better than Mcdonalds.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The students and teachers are both ready to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get all your information together before going. I would apply in person rather than online because you get to find out more about the teachers and classes. Do not be scared to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    It has a peaceful feeling. The teachers are concerned and care. It is a great atmosphere for learning.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Busy students.

    What to do for fun

    Run around the track, music classes, and dance classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a fairly decent school and teachers are great!

    In three sentences

    It's close to where I reside. The professors are great. It's affordable and clean campus.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe at Brookhaven. The student body is nice and welcoming. And there are always campus Police patrolling the grounds.

    Clubs and Activities

    Even though I am not apart of any clubs, there are tons of club opportunities and activities at Brookhaven.

    Great for these types of students

    Brookhaven is great for all types of students! I have met so many wonderful, lifetime friends here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You can always find people playing instruments in the courtyard, singing, what have you. There are job fairs and art exhibitions, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    Brookhaven is affordable. The text books are what get you. I would suggest renting your books instead of buying them.

    What to do for fun

    Brookhaven grounds are beautiful! Tons of trees, many courtyards to sit and chat, and the College always has event going on for the students.

    Food and Dining

    There is only one place to get food at Brookhaven: Subway in S-Building. If you love Subway then you should have no problem. There is the bookstore that has snacks and various meals that can be heated up in the microwaves in the lunch area.

    Dorm Life

    There is no living in campus here at Brookhaven.

    Academic Rigor

    All the professors expect hard work, diligence, effort, and creative minds.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with an Academic Advisor to plan out your career at Brookhaven so you know what classes to take. This will save you money and time as you work on your credits.

    In three sentences

    Brookhaven College is a great school to obtain your Core Credits before transferring to a University. You can get your Associates and then use your credits to transfer to the University of your choosing. Brookhaven is a great way to learn how to swim without sinking.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police ride segway's everywhere. Which is kind of entertaining except that wheeled transportation (bikes, skateboards etc...) is banned for everyone else.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to transfer to a university. Also has one of the best Geographic Information Systems degrees around.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Keep an eye out for some of the various art pieces around campus, some of them can be pretty interesting.

    Bang for the buck

    Super cheap, I can get a full years worth of courses for under $2000

    What to do for fun

    There's plenty of groups and clubs to join if you'd like to but I've noticed a lot less social interaction since they banned smoking on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Subway on campus, what more could you need?

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms but plenty of apartments near by

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the best science teachers I've had the pleasure of learning from.

    Tips for prospective students

    There's no smoking on campus anymore.

    In three sentences

    Brookhaven is a great community college. It's cheap and the teachers are generally knowledgeable about the subjects they teach. Defiantly the best of the DCCCD colleges.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's pretty safe, they have campus cops walking around all the time, you literally spot them everywhere.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life at Brookhaven.

    Clubs and Activities

    Theres ALL kinds of clubs and activities for every single type of student out there!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year we have a cultural festival and all these clubs and different language classes come together as well and put on a fun event for the students to enjoy and have fun. They have food, dancing, singing, mascots, antiques from around the world. Its a great festival.

    Bang for the buck

    You really get your moneys worth at this college, like i said, you get just as much as you would get at a four year university.

    What to do for fun

    They have A LOT of club activities and I believe three or four art galleries that are open all the time, its fun to watch students art work shown. They have nice gardens you can walk/sit by and chat. They have free wifi (very fast wifi) and the dance department is always having fun shows for the public. As well as the theater department! Theres always something going on at the campus.

    Food and Dining

    They only have subway at Brookhaven, but the college is close by a mall and a few other restaurants so it isn't bad.

    Dorm Life

    Theres no dorms at Brookhaven, but its near by and they do have dart bus stop there. Theres always like three dart buses stoping by almost every hour.

    Academic Rigor

    Brookhaven has really good professors, theres a website called rate my professor and you can find what professor fits you best, I use it all the time and it never fails me. I always pass my classes and never once failed a single one. The teachers there really do care for you and are willing to help you pass if you show effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    The parking lot can be a little of a hassle but I mean what parking lot isn't. When it comes to registration and signing up for classes can be a pain in the butt, but then again when is it never. So when it comes to it, it has the same problems as other universities. So your getting the same experience as you would at any other college/university.

    In three sentences

    Its awesome! Brookhaven is one of the most know community college in Dallas Texas. It gives you just as much as you would get from a four year university, the professors and advisors are awesome they care for your future and well being! I highly recommend this college and they do help a lot with finical aid for those who need it.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have Subway.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers expect a lot from you, but they give you everything you need to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, study, study. Make sure you can pay for everything out of pocket or upfront because the financial aide department is so unorganized.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are great. Most of the faculty is extremely friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, their financial aid department is the worst.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have a Subway, as well as vending machines throughout thw campus,

    Dorm Life

    Since this is a community college, the dorm life is just your own home life.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a good idea to research the potential instructors you may be considering taking. ratemyprofessor.com is a fantastic resource to do just that.

    In three sentences

    Brookhaven is an exceptional college. The teaching staff take great strides to help you succeed in your academic career. The learning environment here coupled with the inexpensive costs of an education here are second to none!

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    great for students that like sports they have alots of fun activities.

    Food and Dining

    they have a small are were to eat but still really nice, great are to study is usaully quiet.

    Dorm Life

    i dont live in campus

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor i will say the teachers are really patient and they make sure you understand the subject hes teaching really helpful

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip i will give future students they gonna love the school nice area and people are super nice. also i will say really concentrate in there work and also do your homework.

    In three sentences

    Brookhaven college has really help me improve my education, the teachers are great they help you alot but not only that they really care about your education. if i would rate brookhaven i will give them a 8 out of 10.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus it's safety,i have never heard any problems.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports,dance,orchestra and theater.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for international students since Brookhaven has ESOL classes.

    What to do for fun

    Extracurricular activities are really fun such as sports and dance,also if you just want to hang out with friends you can do that on camoust patios.

    Food and Dining

    As a commun ity college,Brookhaven doesnt have a dining room but it does has a subway restaurant in campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Staff have high expectations from the students but they are also willing to help them whenever they need the help.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are undecided on your major,make up your mind and decide what do you want to do,even when the tuition is affordable,is better to know what classes do you really need.

    In three sentences

    Brookhaven is an affordable college. The education is as good as a four year university. Staff is very helpful and it has plenty of resources for the students.

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very well protected campus as its located next to a Police Department.

    What to do for fun

    There's a beautiful quiet library as well as a cafe with Subway and free computer use.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for the rising star program, and make sure you get financial aid its easy free money.

    In three sentences

    Very great experience for those seeking to find out what they want to do with their lives. Great two year institution. What you put into this school you get out.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Have your transcripts or sat information prepared. Show up to registration early. Dont procrastonate.

    In three sentences

    I have not yet started attending this school. However, it is well diversed. The staff are friendly. The school has a good criminal justice program.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap, especially if you are a Dallas County resident

    What to do for fun

    They have a variety of physical education courses which seem interesting but I have never taken any of them.

    Food and Dining

    Subway on campus

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but nothing too hard

    Tips for prospective students

    Better get there early for parking, and if you park anywhere other than designated you will get ticketed!

    In three sentences

    Brookhaven is a really good college, especially for a community college. They offer tons of courses for a great price. Also, it has a really beautiful campus.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    We have the basic sports as in soccer, basketball, and volleyball for the girls (who are actually ranked 2nd place I believe in the State of Texas for community colleges). Sadly, no football though. I'm sure there are other clubs besides sports, but I have no interest in them. Sorry for that.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who aren't quite ready to move on to a university style campus. Very friendly.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get bang for your buck here at Brookhaven. I believe classes are the cheapest in the area and the teachers are highly educated and know what they're doing.

    What to do for fun

    Brookhaven has many events throughout the school year for students to attend. Events include everything from musicals, sports, and even cultural recognition events.

    Food and Dining

    Although I have never been, there is a Subway on the second floor and you can smell the delicious subs as you enter/leave the building during lunch time.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on registering, make sure you do it early and not wait last minute because the lines do get quite long. You are also able to register online if you'd like, wish I would've known that before I stood in line for 2 hours.

    In three sentences

    Brookhaven College is a wonderful community college that allows students to chase after their dreams no matter what age they may be. I have been attending here for almost two semester now, and I have to say that registering was very simple. If you are in the DFW area and want to continue your education for a low cost, Brookhaven is the place to be!

  • 05/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    not enough choices

    Tips for prospective students

    be friend with teachers

    In three sentences

    do not have enough science teachers

  • 06/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police officers who stroll around the campus often and active duty officers watching around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    They are fun and engaging, they don't stray off into space. It is meaningful and purposed filled activities for any cause you join.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student who is looking for a cheaper way to go to college, to come back to college, and to start off a college career.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a trail that is connected all over the campus which is great for any time exercise.

    Bang for the buck

    It is pretty cheap when it comes to saving money for college.

    What to do for fun

    There are fun cultivating events that go on time to time in the main court yard of the school. There are book seminars, work shops, and more.

    Food and Dining

    The Subway restaurant on the 2nd floor of the S-building provides morning, afternoon, mid-snack, and dinner dining.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers here are serious which motivates serious students who come to Brook haven College.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise to get to know your teachers because they are not just awesome educators but also awesome people who understand.

    In three sentences

    They have outstanding resources, teachers, and facilities to accommodate your learning environment. I couldn't have made a better choice in attending a community college.

  • 06/24/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is great! Great environment, great spirit and great personalities. You'll feel safe like home.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't really try the food and dining but there's really good choices of restaurants down the street. Whenever your hungry, you can always run the street and catch something to eat.

    Academic Rigor

    Brookhaven College is a great school to start your career. You have terrific staff and outstanding students who can help you. You also build skill, leadership and experience. Especially with the people who surround you. This could be a perfect way start your next sparkle.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students leaving high school, my suggestion is to keep calm and stay positive. Leaving high school is a big step into your life, choosing what career you want to study is an excited part of your life. Doing something you love for living but just remember you are one person for can make a big difference. You can do it! Just remember keep calm and stay positive.

  • 07/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have their own police force and patrol the campus regularly. They also have an emergency alert system that will email all of the students any updates on storms, criminal activity or safety issues.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs, sports teams for credit and fun

    Great for these types of students

    All areas of the arts are covered, music is predominate students have traveled the world performing. Brookhaven has a great medical sciences department so it's great for nurses, radiologists, emt's etc... They even have reciprocals with several university nursing programs that you can transfer to without having to apply, you're automatically accepted provided you maintain a B avg.

    Bang for the buck

    Brookhaven has university level courses for only $52 a semester hour take as much as you can here then transfer to your 4 year that charges $300+.

    What to do for fun

    This school is renowned for their arts program and they have plays & concerts all the time many for free. The school is close to many movie theaters, restaurants & night clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Not much to say here, there is a subway/cafe in the student services building. The campus is close to hundreds of other dining options.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are willing to work with you and want you to succeed. However they are all professionals and expect the work to be done no excuses. The school is accredited and you can feel comfortable the knowledge you gain will translate to a four year school if you transfer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll early even though this is a relatively small school there are quite a few students. So it takes time to go through orientation, take an assessment test, see an advisor and register. Some classes fill quickly but there are usually other options including online courses. If you plan on taking any summer courses make sure your schedule is clear to allow for study time the courses are fast and intense but the trade off is you're done in 4 weeks or less per course.

    In three sentences

    Brookhaven is a small school with a university feel. The have arts, sports and academics for students of all ages. The professors are very approachable and make every effort to see you succeed.

  • 07/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Brookhaven is actually in very good area. There is still some theft and petty crime, as is typical of all college campuses, but I do not feel threatened when I'm in class or walking around the campus on my own. The parking lot is also regularly patrolled by the police, and there are security cameras for added crime-deterring.

    What to do for fun

    North Dallas has plenty to do. The school is actually in Farmer's Branch, but it's right on the border of Addison, which has plenty of restaurants, shopping districts (the galleria mall is just a couple exits up the highway), and parks to visit. Hiking and biking trails are plentiful too, and there are several dog parks. And if you can hop in the car and drive, Six Flags over Texas is only about twenty-five minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    The dining options could be better, but it's a school cafeteria. The food is adequate, but I usually end up bringing a lunch or snack with me and dining off of campus later. The good news is that there's plenty of restaurants just outside of campus, and it is on the border of an asian district. A few awesome sushi bars and korean bbqs are only five minutes away.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in a dorm on-campus, so I cannot comment on this.

    Academic Rigor

    Like most community colleges, some of the classes are easy and some require more dedication. But even the science and math classes (which are my weak-point) are relatively straight-forward and not too complicated. As long as students pay attention and do their homework, they should not have problems getting good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to get to arrive at the school at least fifteen minutes before your class starts, as parking can be difficult during morning classes. Tuesday and Thursday classes seem to be the most packed, and are the first to be filled up during registration. I have also saved money purchasing my books off of Amazon.com rather than buying them at the book store.

    In three sentences

    For a community college, Brookhaven is the best I've found in the immediate Dallas area. It offers a wide range of classes, has (for the most part) an involved staff and a great athletics department. My one criticism is that the student advisers can be hit and miss as to whether you get a good or not so good one helping you with your schedule.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They need more options.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms.

    In three sentences

    Brookhaven college is a great school. They help you look for jobs in the area that you're going to school for. Also, they give you so many classes to choose from that you're not stuck taking the same ones.

  • 08/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    officers on campus

    Greek Life

    phi theta kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    student government student leadership institute student ambassadors

    Bang for the buck

    due to the community college, financially classes are extremely affordable

    What to do for fun

    workout facility, theater, music, arts, ceramics, library, intramural sports, clubs and organizations, many opportunities to get involved.

    Food and Dining

    offer subway upstairs in the student services building. great food.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms on campus

    Academic Rigor

    great academic scale, the ability to transfer from this school is high, students are very well prepared for the transition.

    Tips for prospective students

    attend registration early, due to a lot of prospective students looking to apply. class availability is slim.

    In three sentences

    Brookhaven is a great community college to attend, the resources available allow the diverse population of students to benefit and succeed each semester. Teachers are very helpful and committed to creating a great learning environment.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I honestly don't know. I go to my classes and then go home.

    Food and Dining

    Subway!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough like just like at any other college. You have to apply yourself to do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great school to complete your first 2 years of college. It's cheaper than a 4 year school & you are still getting a good education.

    In three sentences

    1. Kind staff 2.Great flexibility with my schedule 3. Affordable

  • 01/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cops are always on patrol and there are a lot of emergency call boxes around the jogging trail. If anything does or is happening on campus we are well informed. Technology is used to keep students aware and feeling safe.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa is a great club. There are a lot of meetings to keep you up to date. The sponser is so nice and involved.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are so open and willing to take in new comers. Very organized and are up to date on everything. Don't be afraid to join or ask questions.

    What to do for fun

    Hanging out with friends in the courtyard by the fountain is always a good time. Plenty of social events around the whole year. There are also a lot of clubs and organizations to join and enjoy

    Food and Dining

    There are snack machines everywhere you turn and coffe machines are also available. There is a store inside the student building that offers lots of extra goodies that might not be available in vending machines. There is also a Subway in the student building and a large seating are not only for eating but also for watching t.v and studying.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus apartments. Plenty of neighborhoods near the campus with great apartments. Easy to drive to.

    Academic Rigor

    Don't think that because it is a community college that you can slack off and pass. The classes are no less challenging than a four year university. Tutoring is avaliable and EXTREMLY helpful!

    Tips for prospective students

    Student building always smells like subway. Be patient with student services. There are a multitude of resources you can use so no excuses!

    In three sentences

    Great teachers who are very helpful. Questions are always answered from all departments. Tuition and financial aid is easily accessible.

  • 01/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    we only have one food option at brookhaven which is subway. its not that bad but a lot of students are growing tired of the same thing everyday

    Dorm Life

    we don't have dorms which is kind of unfortunate but there are a lot of affordable apartments in the area

    Academic Rigor

    excellent

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not procrastinate and show up to class.

    In three sentences

    Brookhaven is a great school. Teachers are incredibly helpful and available most hours of the day. Best community college out there.