Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Brooks Institute Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -Those into any area of film-making. (Directing, Cinematography, Screenwriting, Editing,etc) -Ones who don't procrastinate! (Although the campus is full of procrastinators) -Open minded individuals who aren't afraid to be different; unique. -Outgoing people who aren't afraid to stand in front of a crowd or showcase their work for constructive criticism. -Anyone who wants to travel and photograph the world and what goes on around it. -Those curious to how things work on a real film set. Hands-on!

    Tips for prospective students

    Like I said, the only thing that really made my time at this school unsatisfying would have to be going through the housing which was previously RnR Real Estate. Now they changed it to Collegiate Housing, but I still wouldn't advise doing it!!

    Bang for the buck

    It's rough coming here because I am in so much debt and I keep spending money I don't have for these classes and the materials they require to complete assignments and get a good grade. It's kind of like we're not students, but more like interns.We've had to buy hard drives, film, and pay for all sorts of other expendables. We're paying tons of money to come here and a lot of the equipment at the prop house and school's checkout are either falling apart, broken, or need to be up to date. I'm 80 grand deep, come on! I also got sucked into a scam by the school. I decided to do their housing which is through a separate provider, but I still lost a lot of money due to it. My landlord would constantly harass me and charge me for whatever I can. I didn't even get my full deposit back.

    Am enjoying being here

    When I first moved here it was like venturing out into the real world. I moved away from all my high school friends and my family to a new city where I didn't know anyone, but it all worked out fine in the end. The campus is quite small and in the middle of nowhere so sometimes I wish I were at a bigger school like UCSB, but most of the staff are friendly and there are some nice spots around the campus to chill out when you need to. For example: the Zoom Cafe, the fountain/pool, or the bike path behind the school which is by a creek. We are close to a sewage waste facility so there's often a foul smell in the air that roams around the campus and everyone notices. During the fall and winter there's a pretty bad bug problem in the classrooms which gets aggravating and distracting. The beach is nearby though which is definitely a good thing and the weather usually isn't too harsh out here, but it can get a bit cold. Sometimes it's hard being a film student cause we're broke, overworked, and starving! At times my friends and I don't get too much sleep, but that's how this business is. The school is very diverse and I've met some pretty interesting people here, even from around the world! There's young students to way older ones which makes for fun classes. Overall I guess there's been the good times and the bad ones here.

    Am learning a lot

    I am in the film program here and ever since attending my outlook on movies, television, and screenwriting has been changed drastically. Some of the teachers here may be a bit wacky, but a lot of them come from backgrounds in the industry so most know what they're talking about. I also have some friends in the Photojournalism program who have learned a lot about photo composition and have produced some fantastic work! Back to the film program, I really enjoyed some of the classes I've taken here like (Digital Audio/Video,Lighting, and Screenwriting), but for some I wish I would've had different instructors. There's some teachers you'd want to get over others here for an enriching experience. If you want to create your own world and characters and bring them to life then film is right for you. This school has it's pros and cons, but it definitely changed my life that's for sure. In a sense of the people I've met and some valuable things I've learned and the technical experience we've gotten. It's also nice to be able to checkout expensive equipment and camera, although not all of it is in top shape. Another cool thing about coming here is that there's all sorts of opportunities for working on film sets to get the real hands-on experience. You have to start at the bottom and slowly make your way up. There's always upper-division students shooting who need more hands on set. It's great experience and breaks you into the industry. I've developed a fond passion for photgraphy here as well. The General Education classes here are unfortunately a joke to the students. My Humanities and Public Speaking teacher on the other hand took his job seriously, while others make it difficult to follow along or learn anything. Math class was such a drag when it turned into a discussion of the art behind it and how it came to being. You come out of the classes and completely forget what you learned. I had an English class here which made me feel like I was in 7th grade again.

  • 08/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Artistic Passionate Driven Serious

    Tips for prospective students

    If your intreasted in Brooks, I'd makes sure you are seriously passionate about your goals. Brooks will push you, and sometime is can be extremely stressful. One semester I was shooting almost every other day for assignments, plus I had to find the events, work, and manage to write a business plan. The work load can be seriously tough so if this isn't what you love, you in the wrong place. Don't think it will be easy, be prepared to work you butts off.

    Bang for the buck

    Brooks is expensive, but there truly isn't any place like it. If you want you can go to a community college and take basic general education class up to level 200 to save on cost. But as for the core class this is truly the place to be, it hands on, intensive and you learn a lot.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here. To be honest the school is quite small but on the flip side it mean we all get to know each other. Plus it provides us with resources for projects.

    Am learning a lot

    I have been attending Brooks for little over a year now. This place is unlike any other college. Everything we do is completely hands on. The first 8 month I spent here, were in the Wedding Certificate Program. It was a fast and intense class, we were constantly shooting and being critiqued. Now I'm enrolled in the Bachelors Program and it more of the same. We have any where from 1 to 3 in field assignment per week along with our general education course. It not easy to keep up with the work load but if your truly passionate this is the best place to be. It very nontraditional here, and I think that's why I like it so much. It a small school which is great because it mean we are all able to help each on our projects and it enable us to work together to futher our education and to give us an opportunity to know what it's like working in the field. . I love it here and if your someone who is truly passionate this is the place to be.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are 2 campus' in Santa Barbara and one in Ventura. Both have good places to eat near by.

    Dorm Life

    The school has no on-campus housing. All housing is done off-campus either privately or through a relating agency that helps students find apartments and roommates close to campus, with all roommates being students at the school.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a very tough school. Everyone expects a lot of of the students. But because of this, every student is extremely dedicated and passionate about what they are pursuing at the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be proactive with your education, make every assignment work to help further you towards your goals. Most class assignments will get disregarded by students because it might not be what they want to shoo. Take the opportunity to practice your skills.

    In three sentences

    The education I have gotten so far has greatly improved my skills as a photographer. I am well on my way to a successful career because of the amazing teachers in the visual journalism program.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The area has tons of great restaurants they can be expensive but the campus doesn't have a cafeteria or anything.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms. They did recomend a company that houses their students in apartments around town. That was a good way to meet fellow students. Some of the apartments were nice enough but most had some serious issues (I had no hot water for a long time, an electrical outlet was smoking, and it was very dirty). Also at the time the apartments were much more expensive that what you would pay for something outside the program (I paid 650 to share a bedroom after I moved out of the program I paid 400 to share a bedroom).

    Academic Rigor

    The photography classes are challenging. The general education classes leave a little bit to be desired. Most of the teachers who teach those classes are from other schools in the area and have focuses outside what they teach at Brooks.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you go there make sure to communicate with your teachers as much as possible. That's the best way to minimize the number of reshoots you're doing. It's also a great way to find work in and out of school.

    In three sentences

    The photography classes are intense, your skills will improve for sure. The staff at least when I was there was a little hit and miss, I had a couple teachers who were very good and several that were very bad.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Since I primarily go to school on the Ventura Campus, there is a fair amount of outdoor and indoor activity to do in Ventura. Some of the big activities include surfing, hiking, camping, cycling or bike riding, etc. Ventura is also home to a pretty big art community with theatre shows in the Rubicon Theatre, various Art Walks, galleries, or poetry readings for the art enthusiast. As far as nightlife; Ventura has a couple of sports bars, bars, restaurants, live music at The Majestic Ventura Theatre and Zoey's Cafe. All and all there is much to do not only in the city of Ventura but Ventura County as well, you just have to look to see what the buzz is around the area.

    Food and Dining

    Unfortunately, because Brooks Institute is a small school, they do not have a dining facility on either of their campuses (Ventura and Santa Barbara). Not to worry because the Ventura Campus is minutes away from Downtown Ventura where you can't help but stumble upon great food. The small downtown strip has a variety of restaurants and hangouts to grab some good grub. The Santa Barbara Campus (Cota Street) is literally steps away from Downtown Santa Barbara where there is also a multitude of dining options ranging from the student budget to fine dining. :)

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is non-existent at Brooks Institute. This is due to the fact that there are no Dorms for students to live in. Brooks does offer a housing program for incoming students, however I would strongly advise incoming students to utilize craigslist to find a less expensive living situation. This isn't entirely a bad thing. I personally enjoy not living in a dorm and searching for living in the surrounding cities. It gives you the opportunity to live more independently.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your chosen field of study (ie Film, Visual Journalism, Professional Photography, or Graphic Design) the academic workload varies. I am currently enrolled in the Visual Journalism program and the workload is intensive. As a visual journalist you spend most of your time and energy out on the streets meeting new and interesting people to interact with and tell their stories through various multimedia forms (photography, video, and audio).

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for future students: -Understand that this school is expensive. If you plan on attending, my biggest suggestion would be to set your graduation goal earlier than what is projected by the school. That is to say, try to graduate early to save on cash and make the time spent here worthwhile towards your education and career. -No matter what program you decide to enroll in (Visual Journalism, Film, Graphic Design, Professional Photography) know that the instructors have been out there in the Industry. Pick their brain as much as possible. The great thing about Brooks is that you are taught by working professionals. -Don't bother with the Housing Program. Search on Craigslist, there are tons of other suitable living situations offered by the locals and other Brooks students. This could save you a fair amount of money and spare you a headache later.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    You're on your own. Unless you can live off food at the vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    It's great to dorm with Brooks students but it's not worth the price you pay.

    Academic Rigor

    Brooks may be the hardest I've ever had to work in my life. Anything from your General Ed to your basic photography projects, you'd be stressing. But, as I have learned from one of my teachers, fail and fail often. Just be on the look out, it's a lot of work but it's definitely worth it.

    In three sentences

    Brooks is the place to be to learn about everything having to do with photography, film, and design. Not only do I learn so much from the experienced and knowledgeable teachers, I learn from my peers. All the people at Brooks Institute of Photography are my family.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our security guards are top notch, friendly, and more than willing to go the extra mile to be sure you're safe.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a student council that runs a number of events. We also have a softball league that many of the teachers participate in.

    Bang for the buck

    Being able to personally get to know one's instructor is huge. Each teacher has their own skill set and network of people they know and trust, and when they see and know a student has earned the privilege to be paired with their people in the industry, they are more than happy to do so. With the photography industry as saturated as it is, it is a very tight knit community that is all about who you know in order to get one's foot in the door.

    What to do for fun

    With the beautiful coastline on one side and mountains on the other, there are a wide array of activities to choose from. Sailing, paddle boarding, or enjoying the beach is one (and subsequently underwater photography/videography), or hiking, running, and exploring in the mountains. If of age, there are also a plethora of locations to go wine tasting, as well, but if not, there are many restaurants to explore and enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    There is no real cafeteria, however we have well stocked vending machines and Santa Barbara has a wide array of restaurants to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus housing, unfortunately.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on how many classes and the types of classes one takes, the rigor can be tough, but it also depends on the time management of the individual. If one schedules and plans accordingly, it is manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not give up, continue to push forward, and keep your attitude positive, for you never know what you might learn from one particular assignment. Procrastinating never helps, and it is not necessarily the most qualified that gets the job, but the most prepared.

    In three sentences

    Brooks Institute is a driven, accelerated program that has experienced professors mentoring students to pursue their passions and dreams. Whether the ideas are big, far fetched dreams that they help bring into a reality, or small, personal projects that become larger portfolios, the teachers are there, willing and excited to help students with their ideas and happy to give their knowledge and skills into helping a student succeed. Relationships and experience within the industry is what you make it, and the potential to become successful is great if one takes advantage of it.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are cameras everywhere and we also have body guards.

    Greek Life

    We don't have sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't believe we have many clubs, I know we have a softball team and a few other things.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is definitely not easy, you can't slack off and think you'll just pass by doing one or two assignment. You have to be very dedicated and want to learn hard because the work load is just that.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Most first Thursdays of the month, the school puts up a new gallery to show to the public and it's very cool. They sometimes have very famous people's work as well as the undergraduates work displayed.

    Bang for the buck

    I definitely think this school is worth the money. The teachers you get here are amazing and they are there for you whenever you need them. They are the most helpful people you could ever ask for and they teach you the most they can to prepare us for the real world.

    What to do for fun

    The campuses are right by the beach and one of them is in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara. They are in such great locations, there's always something to do around here.

    Food and Dining

    Brooks doesn't have a cafeteria but does have vending machines. Like I had mentioned before, it's a small school but it's not a issue to not have a cafeteria considering the fact we have about a 30 - an hour gap in between class to get food.

    Dorm Life

    Because Brooks in such a small school, they don't do dorms. Most students that go here team up and get an apartment or house together, which I really love.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes we take here are great. Not only do you have to take photography classes, but they also do general ed classes, such as English, math, and science. The photography classes are spectacular and are taught by the most well known photographers in the city/state.

    Tips for prospective students

    Everything and anything the teachers teach us is for a reason, so make sure to pay attention to everything they tell us and to try and use it in the real world.

    In three sentences

    Brooks Institute is an amazing school that is filled with professional and well known photographers as teachers. The teachers and faculty in this school are absolutely helpful and they do their best to teach us everything we need to know to be successful in the photography industry. This school may be expensive, but it's worth every penny you spend.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 21

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Personalized teaching style is big here. There is access to many different items used in the film world. Detailed lesson plans help students learn.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Artists including: Photographers Graphic Designers, Visual Journalists and Film Makers

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition may be on the expensive side but if you are looking for a true investment for your future this is definitely a place worth attending!

    Food and Dining

    There is no cafeteria, but the campuses are within reach of great food spots.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms! I find this a plus but if you want a dorm experience the next best thing is sharing an apartment with classmates.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a clear standard of integrity here but nothing to harsh to handle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Either plan to commute to class or find roomates! I would not recommend the housing plan, its cheaper the latter way. Plan on a hands-on and visual learning experience!

    In three sentences

    Brooks has an outstanding curriculum. Not only do you learn aesthetics but the business side as well. The atmosphere and classes are just what an artist would want!

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    good

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    none

    Great for these types of students

    Mature students with a good sense of time management

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    unknown. location of campus's are downtown Santa Barbara

    Bang for the buck

    very expensive school but once you are finished you will know literally anything and everything pertaining to your degree by extremely well known professionals.

    What to do for fun

    beach. bike riding. rock climbing. sailing. fishing. anything you can think of, santa Barbara has it to offer.

    Food and Dining

    no food or dining establishments. local food in Santa Barbara is excellent and a wide variety

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    its not easy. its very expensive. Develop a sense of time management and know what your photographic style might be.

    In three sentences

    I think The Brooks institute is an excellent school. It is not only challenging but also prepares you in every way to become the photographer you were meant to be. It is very intense but well worth the effort.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hang out, explore, take photographs, work on art projects

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to spend alot of money.

    In three sentences

    It is very expensive. The curriculum is tough. The staff is very perpetuated towards helping the students.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security always at each campus location, and the schools are located in the safest areas of Santa Barbara.

    Clubs and Activities

    No clubs, sports, or activities because all you have time for is photography, not even time for yourself.

    Great for these types of students

    Commercial Photographers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Santa Barbara Film Festival Tons of famous photographers come to our school to do demonstrations and high in magazines are always looking at students work.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is very expensive and you aren't even guaranteed to graduate. It is a money machine, but then again so is photography.

    What to do for fun

    Santa Barbara is full of college students, which means the whole town is ready to party. There are parties all over Santa Barbara neighborhoods. Downtown, there are apartment complexes everywhere full of college students yelling and shouting having a good time. There are also 18+ clubs and casinos downtown for freshman and younger college students. Let's not forget about Isla Vista, the residential area for the UCSB students. It is its own little resovoir full of students attending UCSB. Crazy parties every day of the week, people walking in the streets under the influence and huge worldly known festivals held there every year. This area is known to be one of the biggest party areas in the world.

    Food and Dining

    The school itself is so small that there is no provided food court, only vending machines. However, with the school being located right in the middle of Downtown Santa Barbara, the students have access to all the food they could think of and some of the best restaurants in the entire county for not that bad of a price.

    Dorm Life

    The housing leaders tell you that they don't want to know anything that goes on. The housing is in apartments right next to the Santa Barbara Community College, the area is full of college students wanting to party. Therefor, the housing leaders are very cool and not strict. However, it is very expensive for the amenities provided (there are none).

    Academic Rigor

    All I ever do is homework, and I'm not even talking about photo assignments. I hardly have time to do my photo shoots because I am doing so much general ed work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have at least $10,000 saved up to spend on equipment and supplies for just the first semester before you come to this school. This school is a money machine, but then again so is photography. Also, prepare to have no time for yourself for the four years you attend this school. You must be extremely passionate and motivated about photography or else you will have no chance.

    In three sentences

    All of the current students I am surrounded with greatly look up to their famous and professional instructors. All of these successful instructors tell the students that the hardest thing they ever did in their life was attend and graduate Brooks Institute of Photography. But, they also say that all the hard work and possibly not even graduating will pay off if you are one of the few that do graduate; huge benefits.

  • 05/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    beach life

    Great for these types of students

    there is lots of things to get into in Santa Barbara

    Bang for the buck

    the school is very expensive

    What to do for fun

    beach life

    Food and Dining

    great environment, lots of shops and great food

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun for younger students but if your coming in a little older, I would suggest off campus housing

    Academic Rigor

    your general studies are taken very seriously along with your photo classes

    Tips for prospective students

    stay on top of your homework and photo shoots..and school is will great for you

    In three sentences

    Great program if you coming to learn about photography and all the technical aspects. It has a lot to offer for students from all over the world.

  • 10/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Sadly, there aren't much if any club activities. The school does offer the opportunity for clubs to be formed, and as for activities alone there are events in which either could be films done by film students themselves, or guest speakers by alumni/ professionals that come once a month to speak and visit the students and faculties.

    What to do for fun

    In Ventura there's tons to do! The beach for one is approximately 10 minutes away by car. The town is averagely small, so the shopping areas are all close by.

    Food and Dining

    Unforunately, the school doesn't offer meal plans alike other colleges. I'm not sure about the campus in Santa Barbara, but the one in Ventura does have a cafe that can be visited for coffee and a bit of treats around. Alongside, a couple vending machines that contain beverages and food (snack) items that are doable.

    Dorm Life

    The school doesn't have dorms, but are in association with a real estate. The one located in Ventura have a few apartment complexes that are right by each other, so basically it's really fun at times to be able to have everyone and your friends close by.

    Academic Rigor

    I wouldn't say it's hard, yet mostly time consuming. If you're not being wise about time management, there might be a bit difficulties at first. The teachers are amazing and love being of assistance to the students. Remember, they were in your shoes at one point in their lives, so don't fear to simply go up and ask for help. The only way to get better, is to step up and get help for yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    For one it's college now, completely different than anything you've endured in high school. If you truly and honestly have the passion to pursue a degree in professional photography, film, visual journalism, or even graphic design, I definitely advise first to get information about the school. Make sure most of all visit the campus! Nothing's worse than going to college and supposedly having to have one of the best experiences in life, NOT enjoying being there. Fortunately, it really does have an atmosphere of relaxation and the people are really welcoming. Be very serious and know this is the real world now, the actual business and professional world behind the true creativity of the degrees, so having a mentality around that will only help you further to achieving what is wanted.

    In three sentences

    I would have to say it's worth- for the most part- everything that you end up having to pay for. The faculty aren't simply amateurs, but actual people who've worked in their professional field outside the world of teaching and mentoring the students, so their experiences are the real deal. The school really makes sure the students get a head start into their dream career the best they could, then again the rest is up to the student themselves.

  • 10/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    At Brooks institute in Ventura, Ca there is a very popular street name is Main st where they have very variety of hipster retail stores and at night time there's a lot bars open late.

    Food and Dining

    There are a couple good places...which is literally down the street. Burgers, Tacos, Pasta, and Thai Cuisine. Starbucks and Barnes And Nobles too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to learn and have fun with all your projects that await for you. Keep consistent with homework and attendance. Always ask questions if you don't understand the work.

    In three sentences

    Brooks Institute is a great Art school. Specially if your into photography or Graphic Designer, They get all new software every year, so your always up to date.

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Brooks does not having a dining hall but they do have vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    Brooks does not offer on campus dorms however, they do have off campus student housing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you're getting yourself into before you make the commitment. It is an extremely difficult but rewarding school.

    In three sentences

    Brooks Institute is a great school. The faculty and learning environments are outstanding. I would recommend it to everyone.

  • 12/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Only an hour from L.A. and 30 minutes to Santa Barbara. Fun is to be found in Ventura too. Just depends on what you're in to. The local Ventura music scene is amazing!!

    Food and Dining

    School doesn't offer such amenities. There is a coffee stand and snack area on campus but the entire Ventura area is full of wonderful restaurants to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    They offer student living but I have never live in such environment.

    Academic Rigor

    Extremely intense and hands on. Deadlines must be met.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you dream of becoming a visual artist in any of the fields taught at Brooks, than I would suggest Brooks is the place for. Not only do you learn in a small environment that is hands on, the school also allows students the opportunity to use industry quality equipment (included with attending Brooks) that is usually unaffordable by students.

    In three sentences

    Brooks provides highly intensive hands on programs that are designed to prepare you for real world' work. In the three years I have attended the Brooks Institute I have grown not only as an artist/visual journalist but also as a human being. Brooks supplies the best learning environment for those who are possess a passion for the visual arts.

  • 01/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great. The security is good and very nice.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking and hopeful for the future.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Each student must endure LS in their third semester.

    Bang for the buck

    It is an investment due to the high tuition but I have learned more than I thought I would.

    What to do for fun

    Travel across California to do photo shoots. Hang out on the beach. Just relax in a park.

    Food and Dining

    No food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It is very challenging. You will be pushed to your limit. And you will love it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your study habits in top shape. Don't be afraid to ask for help. Learn as much as you can always.

    In three sentences

    Brooks is an awesome place. I don't feel like I am in school. I feel that I am in the right place to learn.

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The small classrooms are great and allow for one on one time with teachers and students.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot around. The school is located 30 min away from Santa Barbara and only an hour away from LA.

    Food and Dining

    no food and dining

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is very intricate. You have to set aside great amounts of time to fully be able to focus on your studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Save a lot of money before coming to this school so you can focus on school as much as possible. I have to have two jobs and it greatly cuts into my schooling. This school will allow you to have one on one time with the teachers and other faculty.

    In three sentences

    This has been my dream school since sixth grade. This school is small and allows for a large amount of teacher student time. I have learned more in two classes of professional photography than i have ever imagined.

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard working students who are serious about their futures and know exactly what they want to do.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive, but worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Photography! Bar hop downtown, sight see, go to the beach, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your general education classes at a 2 year college, and if you need to party do it somewhere else; this school is hardcore and for hard working students only.

    In three sentences

    Brooks Institute is a superb school that treats their students like professionals. They equip students with the right tools needed to survive in the professional photography industry. They have an amazing faculty and wonderful access to beneficial opportunities.