Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Broome Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/21/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you're looking for a place to get started on your college education, and would like to do so in a convenient and less expensive way, Broome is a great place to do that! If you are someone who's been out of school for a while and looking to finish up a degree or even begin obtaining one, Broome would be a great place for you as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes early! And believe it or not, 8am classes are not as bad as they sound, dont be afraid to take those. As much of a pain as it may be, try not to overload your schedule with credit hours, and try not to schedule too many classes in one day. Also, if you're going to take Human Bio, get Professor Hollister!

    Am enjoying being here

    Broome is great. It's very convenient for me, and I enjoy spending time on campus. There are plenty of things to do to pass the time inbetween classes and plenty of places to be by myself and study if I need to. The atheletics are all fun to go to watch, and students get in for free which is awesome.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning so much here at Broome. It is alot different from highschool in the sense that I am focusing my academic skills on things that I desire to know more about, which is something I enjoy and something Broome is accomodating wonderfully. I am especially enjoying my Human Biology class, as the things I am learning in there are all so fasicinating. All of my professors are wonderful teachers, all of them explain things in very understandable terms and have always been patient with me and all my classmates.

  • 02/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everybody

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to an academic adviser. They do what they can to make sure that your academics are all in order and they can recommend teachers that are what you are looking for better that websites like ratemyprofessor.com

    Bang for the buck

    I am not sure how well my tuition is spread out but I try hard to get everything I can for my Student Activities fee. It is required, but it contributes to many different activities on campus. I try to attend all of them :)

    Am enjoying being here

    Here there are many things to do that are not directly related to a degree - every Thursday at eleven there are no classes so even if you have no classes with your friends you can still hang out with them or join a club together.

    Am learning a lot

    There are so many options here. I do not know what I want to do after college and here I am having the opportunity to try different things that I never would have thought of - such as Native American History.

  • 02/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anybody!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you live far away try to find somewhere closer. The drive does get very repetitive if you live far away.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the cost. You wont see another college as cheap as this and the education is very well for the price.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everybody at BCC is very nice and the classes are great. It's a really nice school and everything is pretty easy to find.

    Am learning a lot

    I must say that I have learned a lot from BCC, even after being in a Visual Communications class for two years at DCMO BOCES, I am still learning more and more about my major which is basically the same thing.

  • 02/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    business club, honor society, chess club, theater, athletics like lacrosse, baseball, soccer, hockey, and ton of more clubs

    Great for these types of students

    students who want to save, students who are unsure about majors, careers or a college to attend.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are several restaurants nearby like subway, coldstone, and regal cinemas is right across the street!

    Bang for the buck

    the tuition is around $2,000/ semester, and the education is just as good as any four-year school!!!

    What to do for fun

    there are tons of extra-curricular activities and clubs, and broome has very successful athletics. in recent years, several athletes and teams have been champions or recognized as all-americans.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is a great hang-out place and there is a lot to eat including binghamton's nirchi's pizza!

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms since it is a community college but the city of binghamton offers very cheap housing and apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    it is easy for people want it to be and challenging for those who want it to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    at a community college there is no pressure to maintain gpa for scholarships. you can study what you want without as much financial pressure. it has a great atmosphere to find what you want to do for your career.

    In three sentences

    broome is a great low-cost institution for students to explore their interests and prepare for their careers. i have been to a four-year institution on scholarship and i can say that broome's quality of education is comparable at a much cheaper cost!

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there's lots of clubs to join, a movie theater right next door, a mall only a short drive away and several restaurant scattered about.

    Food and Dining

    they've got a subway, nirchi's pizza and their own generic meals.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms, it's a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    one problem i hear about is the advisement. a lot of people say they get screwed over. i personally have never had this issue because the adviser i go to is one of the heads of the department i'm in. so, tip would be if the head of your department is also an adviser, always go to them. if you do have to go to the advisement center, research what classes you need carefully!

    In three sentences

    broome community college i think is a pretty good school. they have many programs to choose from and nice facilities. all the buildings are relatively close to one another.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've been in BCC for almost 2 years, I have never heard of any violence case occurred. I have also taken late classes which ended at 9, walking on campus by myself was not a problem.

    Greek Life

    I'm not familiar with Greek Life because I'm not part of them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs and activities on campus. I am currently in the BCC tutor program, helping students with their homework and preparing for exams. There are also Business Club, International Student Organization, lingoNet club, and so on.

    Great for these types of students

    BCC is great for people who have kids, there is a day care on campus for students. BCC is great for transferring students especially to SUNY schools. BCC is great for people who have financial difficulties due to its low tuition.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In business building, there is a small dining area. During lunch time, there will always be people speaking Spanish gathering around. It could be a good opportunity to learn a new language.

    Bang for the buck

    BCC tuition is relatively low, compare to its high quality education, I think it's very worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of sports teams and clubs to join. When spring hits, students play games on the grass.

    Food and Dining

    BCC QUAD has a small dining area for students, there are pizza, subway, and hot foods. There are other choices on upper front street as well.

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    The education in BCC is pretty solid, you really have to work hard to earn a good grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you take your ID pictures early. Also you need to know where your advisor's office is.

    In three sentences

    BCC is a great school for transferring. It is a small sized quiet community college. It holds a good education and diversity people.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety, currently they are constructing new Technology Building, and everything is blocked off, but the safety on campus is really nothing I seem to worry about.. just be aware of your surroundings Campus is Safe, it is now a non-smoking campus.. which means no smoking on campus grounds for those who smoke.. there are a few areas that you can...

    Greek Life

    I'm an older student, so you can guess here ?????????

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs and activities around campus, campus planner is the best way to check the clubs out,,,

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are unsure of what they want to do, after high school, to be independent from parents, again time manangement skills At Broome there are also International Students for other countries, usually they keep to themselves because of there schedules, but it would be nice to get them involved with other student on campus

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is open, make sure you dress for the weather, usually have a camp out in tents or boxes for the Homeless each spring.

    Bang for the buck

    BCC is a great start for those students are unsure of what they plan to do, just remember that grades do count, and until you determine the course of study, Broomes tuition is nothing compared to other 2 year colleges,

    What to do for fun

    Ther is plenty of shopping , we have a ballon rally in August, carousels all over the area, small museum, Baseball team., Hockey team, everyone is into GOLF...... WE are in a central location to major cities, any where form 1 1/2 hr to 3 - 3 1/2 hrs away... Many 4 year colleges are around the area also...

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of dinning and fast food places in the area... just be careful of all the fast food... BCC also have a small food court on campus, however it closes around 4-4.30pm weekdays, and not open on weekends.... .

    Dorm Life

    Well, BCC does not have dorms at present, it's all off campus living, make sure you know the area your will be in.. Safety is the most important thing here.... Visit the area and locate an area in which you feel comfortable in ... that will be the best place... along with ease to getting around the city...

    Academic Rigor

    High School this is not, you must learn to budget your time, with studying, working, and hanging out with friends... most students going to Broome have a hard time organizing there time.. If anyone is planning on transferring to a 4-yr college, you sure keep a GPA above or around 3.2 min to even being considered to the other college.... this take dedication and effort depending on courses

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead and make sure you have all of the financial aid information, meet with a counselor about classes, learn as much as possible about the College as you can. It's the small things that everyone forgets, where are things located, bus schedules, events, Clubs to join...

    In three sentences

    Broome is the best value going for anyone planning to go College, or in my case go back to College, to develop skills for a New Career.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police around daily and emergency phones around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are organizations such as Drama Club, music, art club, sports, and more

    Great for these types of students

    Motivated, hardworking students will do well here

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    BCC is very modern- professors aren't boring anymore- class is interesting

    Bang for the buck

    BCC has a very well-known and high quality education for a very affordable price.

    What to do for fun

    There is open gym and weightroom, a game room, tennis fields, and opportunities to join clubs like the Drama club, intramurals, and much more.

    Food and Dining

    BCC has a dining hall with Subway, pizza, burgers, fries, onion rings, chicken, tacos, soup, drinks, and breakfast items.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus

    Academic Rigor

    You are expected to work hard to succeed, but their expectations prepare you very well for transferring to a 4 year college or a job.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get in early and get your financial aid done.

    In three sentences

    The teachers care about their students. There is a lot of help available from counseling to free tutoring. The resources are great- computer labs, a library, weight rooms and gym, a bookstore.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Various clubs and sports.

    Food and Dining

    Food was good and cheap.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms currently.

    Academic Rigor

    There are a lot of easy intro classes there. The math and science are quite difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get paperwork done in person. Go to Whales building for scholarships.(absolutely no one talks about any of the scholarships available but they are there.) Try to find other teachers or tutors that will help you if yours will not. At the very least make friends in that class and help each other.

    In three sentences

    Had a mix of genuinely caring professors and ones strictly there for a paycheck. I believe I got a better quality education at high school than here. Non-teacher faculty was especially hard to deal with.

  • 01/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is outstanding.

    Greek Life

    There's no Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's clubs of all types for any and everybody.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students of all kinds. I view broome as a preparatory school. It's great because its inexpensive, the atmosphere is down to earth. The staff is hands on and helpful. It's a small diverse school .

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During Halloween there's cool costume contest and parties. The costume contest come with cash prizes.

    Bang for the buck

    Due to public transportation and the location of the school students don't have too much difficulty commuting to campus.

    What to do for fun

    If you have down time in between classes there's restaurants such as Applebee's , Cracker Barrel, Nirchi's Pizza, Cold Stone etc across the street from the school. There's also a movie theater which is a huge plus.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the quad is pretty good. My only complaint would be that it's somewhat over priced.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't dorms yet. This is something the college is currently looking into. I think it's a great idea and will attract more students.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are amazing. They realize that students aren't only students. Some are parents, employees, grandparents etc.. The courses are intriguing and usually fit the criteria of your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait until last minute to do you financial aid or to register for classes. The earlier you get things done the smoother it will be.

    In three sentences

    Overall I rate the school at 4 stars. Most of the professors are great and the school is an awesome stepping stone for college goers of all ages.

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Accelerated high school students who don't want to deal with the everyday ridiculousness of high school.

    What to do for fun

    B-Sens Hockey

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to office hours. Utilize the Learning/Writing Centre as needed.

    In three sentences

    Broome Community College is a great alternative for me to regular high school classes. I enjoy my classes here. The professors are very approachable and willing to help.

  • 10/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is an awesome arcade with a pool table and even an ice rink! There are many restaurants in the area and the campus has a big sports field and tennis/bad mitten court. Binghamton has many fun activities in the area!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be tenacious in what you do, and never give up in your dreams. This is where your life truly starts, so make it count!

    In three sentences

    This is a wonderful school. The campus is simple, yet elegant and easy to navigate. The staff here are truly compassionate in helping the students learn and they love what they do.

  • 11/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Is always on the watch, making sure students are safe.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a variety, pick what's best fit you.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes and Math Students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Student Center, where to be and not to be.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is a great school because its small and gives you that one on one with the professor

    What to do for fun

    well I'm a working student, but join a club and get involve in the community.

    Food and Dining

    food is great but students need more option.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are coming soon.

    Academic Rigor

    Make sure you know your major before hand, don't waste time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Waste no time, Get in and Get out. make sure you build a relationship with your professors.

    In three sentences

    Small interesting cheap

  • 11/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria actually has good food

    Dorm Life

    They are currently building dorms for the fall 2014 semester

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers push you and the curriculum is very high standard

    In three sentences

    A great school. Teachers are amazing and with affordable tuition

  • 01/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In my opinion the campus is relatively safe. There are campus police that patrol throughout the day. I have never had any safety issues.

    Bang for the buck

    Depending on the degree path you choose I believe Broome Community College is a pretty good bang for your buck. Many of the Health Science programs starting wages are relatively high for a two year degree at a decently priced college. This was one of the major reasons I decided to attend.

    What to do for fun

    There are a variety of different campus groups and sports teams to keep entertained. There is an ice rink and arcade that is available for student use as well as a gym that is open to students at certain times of the day.

    Food and Dining

    They recently reconstructed the cafeteria for this academic year. The food and prices are decent however they took out popular booths including Subway and Nirchi's (a local pizza favorite).

    Dorm Life

    Broome Community college does not currently have dorms however they are in the process of building them.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your course of study the academic rigor changes. Basic liberal arts courses were relatively easy as long as you attend class and put forth your best efforts. The heath science programs are rather rigorous and require much more time and effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay organized and have you plans set yourself. The advisers don't always lead you in the right direction. You have to be aware of the classes you have, the classes you need and the classes that aren't necessary. If entering a specific program I suggest going to that program director rather than an adviser to get more accurate information more efficiently.

    In three sentences

    Broome Community College is a small affordable college with various health science programs. They have recently added a new building. The campus is relatively small and there is no student housing.

  • 01/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    BCC rarely has conflicts, but when anything may arise, the safety officers have always been on top of things.

    Clubs and Activities

    BCC offers a plethora of clubs and activities, from gardening club to student government to history club. There's really something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are shy, who don't feel comfortable going away to school, who aren't financially able to go elsewhere, as well as students who are outgoing, willing to go away, and those who are financially stable who are interested in lessening their future student debt.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Thursday, there is a common hour where no classes are scheduled. BCC sponsors anything from a jazz concert to game shows to costume contests during this time. You meet a lot of new people and have a lot of laughs.

    Bang for the buck

    BCC costs much less than you would pay at any other school, and it's not as though you're receiving a worse education with the price. By living at home as well, you're saving thousands off room and board.

    What to do for fun

    There are many sporting events such as ice hockey (Go Hornets!) that students have free admission to.

    Food and Dining

    The student workers put a lot of pride into their food - their food in the snackateria, as it's been known to be called - can be overpriced however. If you're in a pinch then it's convenient. Fortunately, there are many places within walking distance and/or a short drive away if you're looking for something different and have a break.

    Dorm Life

    BCC is just now building resident halls, so I lived at home. Free food and free rent! Doesn't get better than this.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of my classes were average in terms of rigor, but one of my classes had very few written assignments due to the fact the class was much more discussion based and Socratic. We were graded on our ability to THINK which most professors don't necessarily do, which made the class difficult after being brainwashed by the public education system.

    Tips for prospective students

    There's nothing wrong with starting at a 2 year school, especially one like BCC. I'm receiving a quality education while developing connections with people in my community rather than just being a name on an attendance sheet. But don't slack off just because you think it's going to be smooth sailing, just like with everything else in life, you're going to have to put in the work to get the results you want.

    In three sentences

    BCC is a great school for first time students who don't feel ready to go away to school just yet. The small class sizes and campus size make you feel at home and you develop a relationship with your peers and the faculty. By going to BCC for your first few semesters, you not only save money by staying close to home, but you also receive a quality, personal education.

  • 01/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety police are on campus almost always.

    Clubs and Activities

    Good amount of clubs with a wide variety of genre's

    Great for these types of students

    People who want to get a decent education while saving a few bucks can start here, then be transferred to a four year school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Magic the Gathering/Yu-Gi-Oh/Pokemon/Cards against Humanity/Pathfinder/D&D/etc games are always played in the Ice center during days and usually migrate to the Applied Technology building when the student lobby closes.

    Bang for the buck

    Good price if you are in-state. WARNING: NO CONGRUENT COUNTY PRICING! Susquehanna students beware, even if you are three miles over the PA/NY border, your tuition will be doubles for out-of-state.

    What to do for fun

    Open skating/Lunch time skate is held most every day in the ice center. A small arcade and pool table are also there. A lot of card games/video games in the student lobby in the ice center also. Applied technology building usually has people playing chess/checkers/puzzles/etc.

    Food and Dining

    American Food & Vending has vending machines all around campus, and has a cafe which serves decent food for a little more money than other places, but it's all convenience your paying for. There is a starbucks across the street, and a pizza place with a generous deal for the students. McDonalds, Nirchi's Pizza, Subway, sonic, and a few other places are within a mile from the campus on Front Street.

    Dorm Life

    Student housing is being build on site and will be open for fall '14. As a community college, most students commute to college. There is a few bus stops on campus, and our campus passes give unlimited access to the city buses for free. If you drive, there is a $90 parking pass fee, and it can be crowded on occasion, so plan to be a little early to find a decent spot.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes offer some challenge while not generally overloading the work load. Check your professors before finalizing any registration to make sure you will enjoy their teaching styles.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't joke around with your classes and you'll do fine. You don't want to have a bad GPA from a community college and have a hard time finding good colleges to transfer to.

    In three sentences

    It's a decent place to start your career while saving on expenses. The professors are mostly willing to work with you if you ask them, and the classes are decent quality. The transfer opportunities make it worth starting at a small community college.

  • 01/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    For the time I have spent at BCC it has been more than well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Broome has many sports and activities that anyone can join. I personally never have but I do have 2 brothers that loved their teams.

    Food and Dining

    Broome does have a cafeteria that is inside the gym, they have many options at all times to keep me healthy.

    Dorm Life

    I know that Broome is expecting to have a dorm soon, and I'm sure they will be great.

    Academic Rigor

    At Broome the teachers will to push the students goes beyond what I ever expected, all the teachers I have been in contact with have helped me to strive to reach my goals of keeping above a 3.5 GPA at all times.

    Tips for prospective students

    When attending this school always make sure to stop by the library on campus, they have many tutoring times offered and are able to help with almost all problems.

    In three sentences

    A clean college with interesting teachers. I've found this college to be an amazing start to my future. The teachers here on campus have been amazing and extremely helpful in all situations.

  • 03/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Their are many security officers who patrol the campus, and respond quite quickly whenever they are in need! Not too much goes on that shouldn't be going on.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life!

    Clubs and Activities

    I have personally never been in a club at SUNY Broome, but all the people I know in groups seem to be pretty dedicated, so I think that they must be great!

    Great for these types of students

    SUNY Broome is great for the student that wants to save money on 2 years of their education, and still receive a pretty good education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is the Ice Rink that a bunch of people from the area come to on Friday nights

    What to do for fun

    There really isn't too much to do for actual fun here. There are a lot of places to hangout in the different buildings on campus. BUT there is an arcade I have never been to, an ice rink, two gymnasiums, a weight room, and a nice workout area!

    Food and Dining

    They really need to upgrade in this area.. You can either get fried food, a sub, soup, or a salad. There aren't many options, and even the options aren't even that good!

    Dorm Life

    They are just starting to build their dorms now, and I still doubt that they're going to be that good. There's nothing to do near the college, unless you want Starbucks or crappy pizza!

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes and teachers are pretty easy, but there are still those extremely difficult teachers and classes!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research on what teachers you take, and the degree you wish to pursue. Try not to take too heavy of a course load if you don't have to, you don't want to burn yourself out too early!

    In three sentences

    SUNY Broome Community College is a great school to attend, when you are looking to get a cheap degree, and a pretty solid education. Depending on the teacher, you may be challenged, or just wonder what you're even doing in the class. They have great services setup for those who may need help while attending!

  • 05/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety is all over the place. They do a good job. An obnoxious job, but they do it and do it well.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have 64+ clubs on campus and they are always doing something like a movie night or bake sales.

    Great for these types of students

    Studious, serious, focused and great for students with personality.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None, we're a pretty traditional and boring school.

    Bang for the buck

    Like I said, its great for what it is. The professors(most of them) actually care and will help you. There are many resources available to students such as the math lab and the writing center and tutoring services, all free for matriculated students. It's not super intense, and they could use some improvements in several places, but it starts to grow on you after a little bit.

    What to do for fun

    Uhh...yeah, fun. Hm. I suppose the movie theater is right across the street, so if you have 3 hours to kill in between classes, there's that. Other than that, nothing much. Common hour events on Tuesdays and Thursdays can be interesting, but it all depends.

    Food and Dining

    Food is not very good and it's outrageously expensive. We've been trying to get things changed and this company just can't handle it. They've been there since Fall 2013 and they still don't have it together. Cafeteria is basic seating, not too loud and not too small.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not sure how the residence halls are yet, but I've seen them and given tours of them, and everyone is always impressed. Each suite can house 4 students and there's a kitchen and living room when you first walk in, bedrooms and two bathrooms on either end of the hallways. Very spacious and modern and definitely something to check out. I'm honestly jealous I won't be staying in them next semester.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are a breeze, but there are a few that you may need to pull a few all-nighters for. Don't be fooled by professors that tell you 12 hours of homework for 12 credit hours you take. That's crap; I would say maybe, if you're smart and can manage your studies well enough, maybe 5-8. But then again, this also depends on the major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Seriously consider going to Broome. It's really a good school, but it's like an onion. You have to pull back some yucky layers before you can get to the heart and the goodness of SUNY Broome. It's cheap, we have residence halls now, so I would honestly consider it.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Broome, as it is now officially entitled, is a great two-year institution for students who are unsure of their college or career path. SUNY Broome is in the top schools of NY and has many great faculty and staff who encourage and support their students tremendously. The enrollment is a greater number than one might expect for a small community college, and yet, it still feels nice to walk through campus and recognize faces and to have professors address you by name and ask you how your part time job is going or how transfer is going.