Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Brown University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/12/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    81 out of 82 people found this review useful. 1 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    - Politically aware - Globally and socially conscious - Activists - Passionate about learning - Independently driven - Interested in numerous academic pursuits but have yet to decide on one area of study

    Tips for prospective students

    Because of Brown's open curriculum, Brown students tend to be more self-motivated and independently driven as a whole than other undergrads. Showing admissions officers that you have a multitude of interests and a strong sense of personal drive, in addition to a strong academic background, could help show admissions officers you will succeed at Brown and increase the chances that this selective university will select you.

    Bang for the buck

    A Brown education is one of the most costly in the nation. While financial assistance is generous, financing their education seems to be a burden for many students. Students seem to feel the unique campus environment (and the opportunities an Ivy League education can provide for students post-graduation) is indeed worth the hefty price tag, however, and many would agree that Brown does indeed give you bang for your buck.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere at Brown is very warm and welcoming. My peers are fun-loving, hard working and conscious about the goings on around campus and around the world. I have felt a genuine effort from the administration, professors, safety, maintenance and dining staff to maximize my experience at Brown and to connect my interests through numerous outlets on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    Brown truly emphasizes learning in its purest sense. There are no general ed requirements and students are encouraged to take courses outside of their concentration on a pass/fail basis—students are free to explore all of their academic interests without feeling trapped in one area of study. Professors are largely passionate about their fields and LOVE spending time with undergrads. Whether you're arranging time outside of class for help on a paper, showing up to office hours to learn more about your professor's personal research or meeting them on Thayer street for a coffee, you're guaranteed great conversation.

  • 01/02/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 out of 35 people found this review useful. 2 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I feel Brown is an awesome school for students who don't want to be constricted by a core curriculum, but would rather shape their own curricular path. There are requirements for each concentration, but the amount of freedom to really add a specific focus to a concentration is tremendous here. While there are so many people ready to lend a helping hand, this is definitely a school for those who can find their own direction without being told exactly what to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Brown is a great school but can be a little intimidating if you don't have an idea of what you want to concentrate in. While freshman year is an excellent chance to explore classes and organizations to find out what you are really passionate about, make sure to consult your advisors and peers and professors for some direction. If you're planning on coming to Brown, be prepared to work hard but also have a lot of fun. Any ivy league can be extremely stressful, but take advantage of the resources available, and Brown can be an amazing experience for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Undoubtedly the experience Brown can give you is well worth it, and it only takes a mere glance at what alums are currently doing to see that Brown gives people opportunities unlike many other colleges. However, financial aid is a very real concern for a lot of students. The office of Financial Aid is willing to work with you to get the most amount of aid possible, and they are willing to hear you out if you feel that something needs changing. However, as the school relies on federal regulations, some might find that the amount of institutional aid given is not enough.

    Am enjoying being here

    The great thing about Brown is the amount of support provided by faculty, staff and fellow students. Your experience at Brown is only as competitive as you choose to make it, and the resources here for academics, social and personal life are really great. Additionally, there is a lot of fun stuff to do at Brown - there are great clubs, and some of the most amazing a capella and theatre. There's even an organization designed specifically for fun events. The Special Events Committee (SPEC) puts on shows, get-togethers, even a carnival on the main green for people to just sit back and relax. Additionally, Spring Weekend brings some pretty big name artists to campus for an exclusive two day concert just for Brown Students.

    Am learning a lot

    Brown University really emphasizes the learning experience for undergraduate students. With no core curriculum, students have the opportunity to explore courses in fields they would not have the opportunity to at other colleges. As a result, a student can obtain as specific or as broad an education as he or she chooses. Additionally, with the option to take courses for a grade, or pass/fail, Brown takes off the competitive pressure and simply encourages its students to try different things and put themselves out of their comfort zone without running the risk of damaging one's transcript and resume for graduate school education. But learning at Brown goes well beyond the classroom - almost all of which are taught directly by professors as opposed to teaching assistants, and which vary in size to accommodate all modes of learning. The extracurricular opportunities at Brown are incredible. There are a lot of service programs through the Swearer Center or other organizations, as well as many opportunities to learn about new subjects - whether that be through attending a guest lecture or debate, or just walking through the main green to see the displays.

  • 08/30/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 out of 21 people found this review useful. 3 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -Liberal -Eager -Politically Aware and Active -Ambitious -Outgoing

    Tips for prospective students

    The best things that a prospective student can do is come to Brown with an open mind and get involved around campus. If you come to Brown eager for new experiences, there is no telling where the institution may take you in life. The opportunities here at Brown are truly boundless, but they only present themselves to those who are ready to seek them out and accept them.

    Bang for the buck

    Brown is definitely very expensive with the overall cost hovering just over 50k per year. However, as a member of the Ivy League, Brown is also one of the most respected institutions in both the United States as well as the World. Brown students are guaranteed a world class education and social atmosphere that will undoubtedly elicit personal growth.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere at Brown is unique of its diverse and enthusiastic student. Most all students are happy to be on campus and eager meet a wide range of people. The Brown campus is always active; whether there is a famous guest speaker to listen to or an impromptu campus party thrown together by friends, there is always something happening at Brown. Brown is an extremely liberal place - both politically and socially. In fact, so much so that the liberalism of the school can sometimes seem a bit overwhelming to conservatives or moderates. Nevertheless, nearly everyone enjoys living at Brown as evidenced by the many smiling and laughing faces you see walking throughout the campus.

    Am learning a lot

    With a lack of a core curriculum and no general education classes, Brown emphasizes a sense of independent and diverse learning opportunities that it are unparalleled. The large variety of classes and departments available allow students to take classes spanning several different subject areas. Brown is truly unique in its educational character. If you want to learn about something, the chances are very good that there is a place at Brown to do it. Classes, as well as their professors, are meant to challenge students while evoking a deeper understanding of material and concepts. Professors are almost always available and enthusiastic. Overall, Brown University is a place of immense intellectual growth.

  • 01/18/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 out of 20 people found this review useful. 4 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This may be biased, but I’ve met a lot of closet dorks here at Brown. There are also, as I mentioned, many activists, in every category: politics, the environment, educational reform, homosexual rights, animal rights.. everything! Brown students are people who want to learn and want to change something about the world.

    Tips for prospective students

    College applications are unpredictable. I honestly do not understand how the whole system works, and probably never will. Show your enthusiasm for learning, cross your fingers, and take a deep breath: good luck!

    Bang for the buck

    Brown is really, really expensive. But it is a great education, and you meet fantastic people and are given unbelievable opportunities. The housing’s not too bad and the food isn’t either... Brown probably isn’t worth what they’re charging, but then, what school is?

    Am enjoying being here

    As a freshman, it’s hard to differentiate between enjoying the college experience and enjoying the Brown college experience, but I really am enjoying school. I’ve made amazing friends, and it’s a liberating experience (especially at Brown.) You choose when and what you want to eat, whether or not to sleep, how long you should shower, and what, when, where, and how you want to study. And you’d think that would be an issue, everyone studying at their own leisure, but in reality Brown students all want to learn, so they make time. The only problem with school is that you always miss someone: at school, you miss your family, and at home, you miss your friends. Aside from that inescapable factor, I’d give this category a million stars if I could.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot not only about math and science and history, but about the world around me. Brown has introduced me to people from so many different places; it's interesting to hear about high school experiences that differed so much from my own. Brown students are incredibly aware of the world around them, and there is always some sort of awareness-raising activity on campus. I’m also learning a lot about myself: my work ethic, my personal beliefs, my political opinions.

  • 08/27/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 out of 19 people found this review useful. 5 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Brown is the school for you if you are interested in learning. Brown doesn't have professional schools. It's more about the experience than about the future, though the career center is fantastic. The Brown experience is definitely worth having if you don't know what you want to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do well. Be passionate about something. The underlying commonality at Brown is passion. Everyone really cares about something, however varied those somethings may be.

    Bang for the buck

    Brown is a very expensive school. The fact that it's an Ivy League school has a lot to do with this. The school is, however, amazing, and definitely worth it. Since the need-blind admission has been put into effect, the diversity of students in all ways has greatly increased.

  • 12/19/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 12 people found this review useful. 6 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -independent -cooperative -ready to take control -lots of initiative -open-minded -love to discuss ideas -not afraid to take risks

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to let go a little of who you are now in order to become someone even better. The future is always a bit scary, but it should be more exciting than anything else. Brown is one of the best places in the world to explore any and all walks of life.

    Bang for the buck

    The financial aid policy at Brown is fantastic in my opinion. Not only that, but what we get for the money is phenomenal too. World-class professors, a community of students who have spent their lives enriching others and themselves, a great campus to hang out at, numerous grants for student-created initiatives (ie, they give you money to pursue a project of your own creation), an office to deal with your every need, etc.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's a bit overwhelming, as is to be expected of my first semester, but it is definitely fun as well as challenging. The best part, outside of academics, is my extracurriculars. Brown has something for everyone. This year I am on the Japanese drumming (Taiko) team, I tutor a refugee from East Africa, I am on the steering committee for a political group for Taiwan-China relations, and I am in the black women's club on campus. As I mentioned earlier, I especially enjoy the control I have over my experience. That freedom is what creates the happy atmosphere here on campus. Everyone is wondering where their lives will take them and are trying as many paths as possible.

    Am learning a lot

    I am actually learning a lot more than I expected to, and not just about classes. I came to Brown thinking I knew what I wanted to do (anthro and East Asian Studies) and the classes I have taken here have introduced so much more to me. I am shopping departments right now and would major in 4 majors if I could, haha. The absolute best part of Brown is the control you have over your experience. For example, I only just finished my first semester and I've already collaborated with about 7 other people in creating a class that we'll take next semester. There are hundreds of ways to get involved in activities of your own creation here. I am learning how to live in a community of people more diverse (in every sense, whether it be about politics or place of origin) than any I have ever lived in, I am learning how to see myself in relation to others (as they say, you go from above average to amongst incredibly achieved people), I am learning how to negotiate what I want and still compromise, and I am learning the good 'ole book knowledge I came here for. My first semester just ended and I took a class on graphic novels (comic books, essentially), introduction to modern culture and media, intermediate Chinese, and United States culture. The best part is, the skills I'm learning in each class (how to write to the standards of different professors, how to manage my time, how read efficiently, how to communicate ideas within a particular discipline) in addition to the material proves useful in all my other classes as well.

  • 12/31/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 7 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    - Open-minded - Curious - Independent - Self-motivated - Friendly and social - Flexible - Interested in the learning experience, not career preparation

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to get in to Brown, don’t worry about having perfect grades and a long list of accomplishments and accolades. While a good academic record is pretty much a prerequisite, the qualities that most often distinguish Brown students are their depth of character and passionate interest in some pursuit, even a non-academic one. Focusing on your unique personal qualities and experiences, and the commitment you show to one or two of your interests, may be the best way to write a successful application.

    Bang for the buck

    On paper, Brown is incredibly expensive, like any other Ivy League school. Also like any other Ivy League school, many students end up paying less than the “sticker price” because Brown’s financial aid meets most of a student’s demonstrated need with scholarships and grants, not loans. However, I feel that in comparison to the other Ivy Leagues (and to other elite colleges that have need-based-only financial aid), Brown’s Financial Aid Office is on the stingy side, and has a reputation for expecting students to pay more than they can really afford. Most Brown students, myself included, put up with the high cost because they know they’re getting a world-class education and love the community too much to live anywhere else. And it’s true that even with a traditionally “unmarketable” concentration like History or English, any Brown graduate has good career options simply because they have a Brown degree. Nevertheless, I feel it’s worth noting that Brown can end up being quite expensive even for a student who gets financial aid.

    Am enjoying being here

    I don’t usually put much stock in college rankings, but there's a reason Brown is consistently rated #1 for “happiest students.” The best part about Brown is how friendly and accepting the people are. No matter what your interests, you can find a group of friends that shares them, and no matter how lost you are as a freshman, you can find someone to help you out. There is a wide variety of extracurricular and social activities, so that even if you don’t like the traditional wild frat party you can find something fun to do with your free time. Other students in my classes are helpful and cooperative, and since there is little pressure to have perfect grades no one is very competitive. I find a similarly easygoing attitude in social activities, where there is very little pressure to conform because there is so much diversity (both cultural and personality). Although it’s true that (despite the ranking) not everyone at Brown is happy all the time, I find that even when I’m not all that happy I still feel glad that I’m going to Brown because the people around me are so nice.

    Am learning a lot

    Brown’s educational experience is excellent and lives up to its Ivy League reputation. With about 6000 undergraduates, Brown’s size strikes the perfect balance between a small college with informal classes and professors who know your name and a large school with a wide variety of options and opportunities. The famed Open Curriculum allows for a good deal of exploration and vastly reduces the number of classes that you must suffer through just because they are required. It is not a perfect system, as there are some concentrations (majors) that have a lot of requirements or have mandatory intro-level classes that nobody likes, but compared to the restrictive distribution requirements at other colleges it is quite flexible. The lack of grade modifiers (+/-) and D’s means that I can usually focus on learning from my classes instead of making sure I get enough percentage points to have a good GPA. Finally, I’ve found that even courses that have a reputation for being easy still end up teaching me new and interesting things, simply because the average quality of Brown classes is so high.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 8 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Friday the 13th, students receive an email that imaginary Professor Josiah Carberry, professor of Psychoceramics, the study of cracked pots, has cancelled his lecture scheduled for the day but there are cracked pots stationed throughout the school where money can be donated that will be given to the library to buy new books.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the Open Curriculum and shopping period to explore a wide variety of classes. You very well may find something interesting that wouldn't have discovered otherwise!

    In three sentences

    Brown is a place of critically thinking, unique individuals dedicated to learning. There is a fantastic student body which makes for a great atmosphere for both academics and social life. This is truly a fantastic place to spend the best four years of your life.

  • 02/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 9 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i haven't heard of any incidents that happened on campus (although things definitely happen right outside of the campus). i feel safe.

    Greek Life

    it definitely exists but it isn't an enormous focus at brown.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are soo many to choose from. your problem will definitely be that you want to do more clubs then you have time for.

    Great for these types of students

    unique, passionate, self motivated, like flexibity/choice

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there's a naked doughnut run around finals time where a mob of naked people run around the different libraries and academic buildings at midnight and give out free doughnuts.

    Bang for the buck

    its pretty expensive, but they cover 100% of your financial need (which is nice but sometimes isn't quite as good as it seems). you do get a lot of opportunities from the money you pay. the professors are awesome and care, and you will have support in doing basically anything you want.

    What to do for fun

    all kinds of performances by the many acting/singning/dancing/comedy groups on campus. and, of course, there are all kinds of parties. providence also has some cool stuff to do as well (concerts, food places, etc)

    Food and Dining

    wow do i hate the dining halls and the meal plan is way overpriced, but if you go off meal plan you can eat out for almost all of your meals on thayer street (in the middle of campus) and pay the same amount as you would for a meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms aren't that great. there's nothing really wrong with them but i expected better from an ivy league. the people in the dorms are awesome though!

    Academic Rigor

    if you take the opportunities available then brown is a very academically rigorous place where you can learn an incredible amount both from classes and from outside activities. however, if you go out of your way to avoid work you could probably graduate without having learned much, which would be quite a waste of time and money.

    Tips for prospective students

    definitely visit and see what you think. the main thing that i don't like is the weather, but its way outweighed by everything else about the school. think a lot about what type of social and academic environment you want to spend the next 4 years in and if you feel like you are not very self motivated, brown is not the place for you.

    In three sentences

    brown is awesome because it is very challenging and definitely a rigorous education, but students generally work together as opposed to competing against each other. the spirit on campus is one of acceptance of everything and everyone and anyone can find a place where they feel like they belong. people are very down to earth and care a lot about helping others and improving the world!

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 10 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Brown provides all the resources to make sure students are safe at every hour of the day.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is present but not a main attraction on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities are great in Brown. There is something for every student in Brown, and you can make your own club at any time.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for the humanities, computer science, engineering, and sciences. Brown excels in every academic field, and hosts a large array of students with unique qualities and capabilities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During finals week, there is the naked donut run. People literally walk naked around the two main libraries on campus and hand out free donuts to students. It is a good, funny stress-reliever for many students during finals.

    Bang for the buck

    Brown is a great investment that will pay off. The students have the best quality education money can buy.

    What to do for fun

    Brown hosts numerous clubs and organizations that meets the needs and tastes of any student. The beauty of it is that if you do not find something you like, you can make your own club or organization. I am part of some clubs, play intramural sports, and longboard around campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but it could improve a little.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are well kept and clean. Everyone on campus is friendly, everyone has a healthy social life.

    Academic Rigor

    A strong education and work load but if you plan everything right, it should not kill you. Top notch professors and forms of learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    I strongly advise students to do their best to enter into this school. Be active in your school (be part of al the clubs, organizations, etc.) and do things that ont only separate you from the rest of the applicants but also mean something.

    In three sentences

    Brown University is by far one of the best experiences of my life so far. I stand strongly behind the school and its mission to educate and open students' minds to new opportunities. The environment in Brown is friendly and fosters students to strive to do the best they can do.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 11 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Between the Brown Police, Providence Police, and various other security companies hired by the school, students almost never need to feel unsafe.

    Greek Life

    Greek life participation is much higher among men than women. Although, much of the nightlife is dictated by fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is just about any club you can imagine from sports, to theater, to arts, and anything else in between. There are talks, performances, and social events every night.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who love to explore their own curiosities as opposed to typical school subjects. Brown is very conducive to independent study.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Even though dining services is not excellent, that does not keep the main dining hall The Ratty from being full of students from open to close.

    Bang for the buck

    Worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    Whatever you want. If you like something, chances are someone else at Brown does too.

    Food and Dining

    While Brown may be in the top 10 for vegan friendly dining services, the food overall is lackluster, and the meal plan is a pain.

    Dorm Life

    The open atmosphere at Brown carries into dorms as well. Most everyone is friendly and greets each other with a smile. The facilities themselves, however, leave a bit to be desired.

    Academic Rigor

    With some of the most respected names in academia, Brown offers brilliant teaching with a highly interesting and challenging courses. Depending on concentration, students may spend between 3-8 a day on homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should be looking for a liberal education and a high level of academic rigor. Brown students' only required classes are those within their major (or concentration), so prospective students should want a large degree of freedom with their education.

    In three sentences

    Brown fosters an open environment where all ideas are heard and respected. The university encourages students to find their own answers, while learning from top professors in the field. And with the open curriculum, students choose their own academic path.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    this is not a closed campus area so we cannot prevent people from coming in or out.

    Greek Life

    not many people do it. it's perfectly fine to participate but most of the school does not.

    Great for these types of students

    students who like science and math but still have a passion for the arts and humanities will love it here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    our band has some very unusual and possibly offensive formations during football games.

    Bang for the buck

    i did not receive a lot of financial aid, as brown isn't as rich as its ivy league peers, but i love it here. however, i know a lot of students that have received ample amounts of financial aid; it honestly depends on your economic status.

    What to do for fun

    exploring providence is fun, but being on the east coast gives you so many possibilities on the weekend. we are a train-ride away from boston and a bus-ride away from new york city. however, it is just as fun to hang out with your friends within city limits.

    Food and Dining

    try to get off the meal plan as soon as possible. it is great for socializing with your friends, but you are much better off cooking for yourself. however, they have a lot of food options for vegetarians and vegans here.

    Dorm Life

    depending on the dorm you get, you can be living in paradise or living in a beer-strewn hallway. i particularly like where i live since even though it is far from most of the campus, i have made a lot of close friends within my hall and building.

    Academic Rigor

    i am currently an engineering student at brown, and the classes are certainly a wake-up call. brown is extremely difficult when one is as a science, computer science, or engineering major. the humanities seem to have a much lighter work load, but this is to be expected.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you're looking for a school that is strong in humanities and you still have an interest in other subjects, this school is for you. apply early and express your interest in the school through attending college events in your city or state. brown particularly likes strong writers with well-written essays.

    In three sentences

    brown has amazing and kind students. the open curriculum allows you to explore inside and outside your major (unless you're an engineer or biochem major). the faculty is fantastic with office hours.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Brown is relatively safe, but there have been a string of robberies this past year.

    Greek Life

    I don't partake in this, but it comprises less than 10% of the student body (which I think is wonderful in my opinion).

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities to get involved with, but there aren't as many intramural sports available as in some other ivy leagues. However, that doesn't mean that you couldn't start your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    Self-driven students will thrive in this type of school. If you're the kind of kid that takes classes just for the sake of learning and that would try just as hard in a class whether or not grades existed, then this university is for you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is this shop on Thayer st that gives every freshman a peacock feather at the start of each school year (for free).

    Bang for the buck

    Brown is kind of expensive (though not as expensive as some of the other ivy leagues) but the cost is definitely worth it. Most classes I have taken are taught by leading world experts in their field and there are ample opportunities to get involved in research and even get published.

    What to do for fun

    There are always movie festivals going on. Dance classes, orchestra, clubs, martial arts, the mall within walking distance, and ice skating available during the winter months are things easily accessible. Boston is about a 50min bus or train ride away and of course if you really want to, New York City is only about a 4hr drive from Providence.

    Food and Dining

    The campus food for me is great. I am a vegetarian and Brown is one of the top 10 vegetarian-friendly campuses in the country.

    Dorm Life

    I've had good experiences in the dorms so far. I live in quiet housing (a type of specialty dorm). Some dorm rooms are quite small and I have heard that the housing lottery is a nightmare and causes more stress than midterms, but I cannot confirm this because I have not partaken in the housing lottery.

    Academic Rigor

    Brown offers some of the hardest classes in the nation, in my opinion. What is wonderful to know is that when I've heard alums speak, they have said on multiple occasions that, for example, if you were to get a B in a class and you were going up for the same grad school as someone who went to a state school and got an A in that same class, because you went to Brown and got a B in that class you would be more likely to be accepted than the person who went to a state school and got an A. Essentially, the Brown name counts for a lot when it comes to graduate school and career applications.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because Brown is labeled as a liberal college does not mean everyone there is a hipster and goes crazy partying. On the contrary, the Greek life comprises less than 10% of the student body and there are rules. Take advantage of the open curriculum - if you know what you want to do with your life, start taking classes for your intended concentration your freshman year (but also take advantage of the plethora of other classes offered).

    In three sentences

    The professors at Brown are very student involved. With a relatively small campus (only about 7,000 undergrads) the professors here want to get to know you by first name. You learn so much here and are taught by some of the leading experts in their fields.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 14 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have SafeWalk (where you can call someone to walk you home at night if you're scared) and we have SafeRide (where someone will drive you home if you're willing to wait at the stop).

    Greek Life

    There is very little Greek life but the Greek life that is available throw great parties. But you don't feel hassled to join a frat or sorority. Most parties are thrown by dorms, not houses.

    What to do for fun

    We have Thayer Street which is a long street with restaurants, stores, and eateries. And it's a 20 minute walk (or 5 minute bus ride â?? buses are free for Brown students) to the mall (the largest carpeted mall in the nation). We have an ice skating rink on campus (just need to bring your own skates) and a new aquatics center with an urg, swimming pool, and more. You'll never get bored here at Brown.

    Food and Dining

    We have buffet style, fast food, deli's, and Asian food. The more expensive, the better the food. The cheaper it is, the worse it is. There's nothing special about our food and dining but we have Thayer Street right on campus which is a long street with many different (and cheap!) restaurants, stores, and eateries.

    Dorm Life

    Our dorms aren't as great as Harvard's or Yale's, but they're still better than your State university dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm a computer science major and we have one of the most rigorous computer science programsâ??more intense than Yale's, more intense than Harvard's.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely show them that you're different from your run-of-the-mill hopeful ivy applicant. Show them that you have extra curriculars and that you're filled with passion, either for a hobby or your field of study. Brown University is looking for someone who's creative and not afraid of breaking the mold.

    In three sentences

    Freedom, openness, and understanding is everything Brown University values. Brown University strives to offer you opportunities in every single field, from Egyptology to Computer Science, from Biology to Playwriting. Brown University is the home to not only brilliant minds, but creative and expressive minds.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Just like any other city, Providence has its issues. Brown recently increased the number of officers around campus. Still, you have to stay alert. Don't walk around alone after dark. There is a shuttle after dark that can take students around campus.

    Greek Life

    Minimal - 2 Sororities, 6 fraternities, 1 co-ed fraternity, 1 literary house

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to list

    Great for these types of students

    Independent thinkers, creative souls, vegetarians, environmentally concerned advocates, hipsters, gays, artists, those interested in medical school or engineering.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You only pass through the Van Wickle gates twice: once as a freshman Brown, and again after graduation. Other traditions: Midnight Organ concerts, Spring Weekend (when we invite artists to perform and everyone goes a little crazy before Finals), SPEC Carnival (with things like bull-riding), Naked-donut run (naked people run around inside the library and hand out donuts to starving students), etc.

    Bang for the buck

    Great financial aid. Brown has a little of everything.

    What to do for fun

    Providence Place Mall is not that far away. You can shop, dine, or watch movies there. There are two smaller movie theaters around campus that play independent films. Brown has Thayer Street, which has many restaurants and shops such as Urban Outfitter. We have free bus transportation anywhere in RI, so you can always visit Newport and see the mansions. There's also the Peter Pan bus for trips to NYC and the train to Boston. Some people like to go to clubs.

    Food and Dining

    There are two dining halls nicknamed the Ratty and the Vdub. Vdub is smaller, but has better tasting food. Ratty is the main huge dining hall that has recently been redecorated. There are numerous eateries around campus, such as the Blue Room, which serves delicious pastries and ice coffee, and the Ivy Room, which serves protein shakes, energy shakes, falafel, etc. There are two late night eateries called Jo's and The Gate.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life varies depending on the dorm and where on campus you're located. Some people prefer the more quiet dorms on Pembroke Campus while others prefer the more wild typical freshman dorms on the other side. Room size and quality also varies greatly depending the building.

    Academic Rigor

    It's an Ivy League and the 6th best undergraduate school in the nation, so yes, it's going to be hard. Just having good grades isn't enough. The good thing is that Brown offers the pass/fail grade option, which comes in handy when you just want to take a class for fun and not worry about the grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Brown looks for uniqueness. Find a way to stand out on your application. Your SAT and/or ACT score matters little if you have other things that define you more. Plenty of perfect students are turned down, because they don't show enough passion. If you want to go to Brown, be ready to take control of your own future. Brown is a school that won't tell you what you can or can't do.

    In three sentences

    Perfect place for independent people looking to change the world. Majority of students are liberal and actively involved in numerous clubs. All classes are taught by professors.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 16 of 53

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Campus is beautiful. Loved the 'shopping days' program to choose courses.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 17 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -Activists -Hipsters -Liberal -Intellectual -Accepting -Enthusiastic

    Bang for the buck

    Brown, like essentially all private universities in the country, is extremely expensive. While it certainly does equip you with a litany of skills and an unparalleled experience, the sticker price is sky high.

    Food and Dining

    There are several phenomenal options for food on campus-with great hours and a variety that is sure to provide something for everyone! However, at times the food can be a little less than delicious.

    Dorm Life

    While the dorms are certainly nicer than several of the ones I've seen, many of them are relatively outdated and could use sprucing up. Compared to most schools they are spacious and nice accomodations, though there are a few schools (Harvard, Yale, UChicago) at which the dorm facilities are much nicer. That being said, dorm life at Brown is wonderful in the freedom that you are given and the people that you get to meet and live with.

    Academic Rigor

    While classes can get quite difficult, there also is a great deal of support for you as a student. Also, the New Curriculum allows for you to have an immense amount of flexibility in your schedule and the classes that you take. That being said, you will work hard in your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard on your essays, make sure to stand out and show your enthusiasm for the school. The admissions process is very holistic, so don't be deterred by a low grade you may have. Make sure to convey in your essay what unique thing you can bring to Brown.

    In three sentences

    A place where anyone can fit in. One of the most amazing learning experiences available. A wonderfully diverse and accepting world class university.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Not too big here on campus, actually. Definitely tons of other ways to get involved and meet people.

    Great for these types of students

    Smart, free thinking, activists, environmentally conscience, talented, fun

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Naked Doughnut Run, Slip and Slide during Spring Weekend, Van Wickle Gates, and so many more!

    What to do for fun

    Make friends! Hang out on Thayer Street, head downtown or hop on the train to Boston.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to think for your self. No one will tell you what to think, but everyone will share their own opinion.

    In three sentences

    Brown University is one of the most unique and liberal schools in the the country. The students are bright, thoughtful, driven and talented. It's an incredible institution and I wouldn't trade my experience here for anything.

  • 07/01/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 19 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for people who like to try out things before they commit! Brown has a couple weeks where you get to sit in on classes.

    Bang for the buck

    I guess you get a lot of great things, but it's still really expensive.

    Will enjoy being here

    I think I'd like it a lot here, but everyone is different.

    Will learn a lot

    The classes seem to be top quality, and the professors are terrific.

  • 08/04/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 20 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Its a very honorable school and well worth the cost.

    Will enjoy being here

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE this campus. Its beautiful and open and very relaxing (from what Ive seen in pictures and heard from family) Seems like it would be close knit.

    Will learn a lot

    Since this school is one of the oldest in the country, Im sure they have plenty of practice in properly teaching their students.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SafeRide and SafeWalk make everything a little better, even when it can seem sketchy.

    Greek Life

    Not very present

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of good ones in just about anything you can think of.

    Great for these types of students

    People who aren't looking to be constantly compared to each other and value their individuality, people with typically liberal views and non-competitive. Laid back, wanting to be happy.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    NDR and SPG are pretty out there.

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive, but in the end I think the degree is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Browsing through stores on Thayer Street, walking to the mall, even just hanging out in the dorms.

    Food and Dining

    Not too shabby! There's a lot of variety so you don't get bored with food.

    Dorm Life

    A great community everywhere- supportive and not overly serious or competitive.

    Academic Rigor

    Very difficult classes, but always worth it in the end. Requires a lot of work to do well, which is very satisfying if you are one of the people doing hard work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your applications show the little nuances about you, quirky little details about yourself. Don't be afraid to show what's really important to you. And finally, have an open mind to all of Brown's differences to other schools because if you get in, you'll see why it's so great.

    In three sentences

    Brown is the absolute best college environment for fostering a sense of learning for the sake of learning. The academics are tough, but with work are very rewarding. Everyone does what they love, and they do it well because they love it.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have a great 24hour telephone and transportation service all across the campus!

    Greek Life

    I plan to pledge Kappa Alpha Psi!

    Clubs and Activities

    Like any great university, there are endless opportunities and an overwhelming amount of clubs to join. And, if you don't find one you connect with--virtually impossible--then you can begin to start your own!!

    Great for these types of students

    Those who are eager to learn, open to diversity, ready to time-manage and work on being a balanced student, prepared to work in both an individuality, and especially team-work oriented setting!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of YET!!

    Bang for the buck

    Brown's tuition is super high, which is probably subject to increase as a parallel of our current economic state. However, they do give scholarship money and provide an excellent curriculum, state-of-the-art facilities, world-class staff and friendly campus worthy of those hard-earned dollars!

    What to do for fun

    Other than explore the awesome east-coast culture of the diverse city of Providence, one can find much enjoyment in visiting nearby cities, like Boston or New York.

    Food and Dining

    According to my friends!

    Dorm Life

    According to my friends!

    Academic Rigor

    According to my friends!

    Tips for prospective students

    Avoid the notion of having PERFECT ACT/SAT scores; instead, focus on being active in the community, maintaining a high GPA and balanced set of extra-curriculars that reflect your respective passion!

    In three sentences

    Brown is an awesome and super-friendly, liberal institution! It has been my dream school for years based on it happiness ratio, unique curriculum and awesome student/staff relationship status and tenure!

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Providence has gotten a lot safer over the past few decades. Brown does a great job of keeping everyone as safe as possible. Not only does the Providence Police patrol, but so do the Brown Department of Public Safety and the security guards. We also have the oldest blue light system in the nation.

    Greek Life

    Present but a very small presence .

    Clubs and Activities

    If it doesn't exist, create it! Everyone is doing everything, so there's plenty of groups and activities on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Motivated, risk takers Creative Open-minded

    Bang for the buck

    It's definitely expensive, but the experience is great. The new president is trying to expand financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    There should be something for everyone. Providence is a small city. The statewide bus system is free for students and can get you to anywhere from the beach to a hike. If you want a bigger city, Boston is less than an hour away. On campus, there are always a multitude of things going on, as long as it isn't Reading Period!

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall food could be improved, but the campus cafes often get food from outside vendors and the best on-campus food. Off-campus, there are lots of close (relatively inexpensive) restaurants. In addition, there are food trucks that appear every day!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nicely sized and generally well located on campus. Brown does a great job of mixing up the type of housing for freshmen and an even better job at matching roommates. After that, everyone gets to choose their own room. Summer assignment can be dreaded though.

    Academic Rigor

    There are tons of classes, and if it doesn't exist, Brown provides the option to create it. Classes aren't easy, but the community (from professors to fellow students) tries really hard to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider if you need a small push to explore or if you are willing to take risks (particularly academic) on your own. If you are a risk-taker, show your enthusiasm on the application! Good luck!

    In three sentences

    Brown is a fantastic school for out-of-the-box thinkers who are creative and motivated. Its open mind and Open Curriculum allows students to take charge of their lives and pursue what they are really interested in while exploring. Brown's can-do attitude make the sky the limit!

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are options available for escort service, and there are emergency booths on most streets on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not had much time for clubs as a graduate student.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard-working, dedicated, and ambitious.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is affordable if you are diligent in monitoring your finances.

    What to do for fun

    Explore Thayer street! Explore Providence! You're in a city, there is always something to do. There is also the gymnasium on north campus.

    Food and Dining

    I currently live off-campus, so I do not know what the food and dining is like.

    Dorm Life

    I currently live off-campus, so I do not know what dorm life is like.

    Academic Rigor

    This school has challenging programs that require extensive preparation and study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard! This is a challenging school to attend. You should be up for the challenge, ready to spend hours on your academic work and devote most of your time to learning.

    In three sentences

    The community at Brown has been very accommodating for my interests. I have found the program I am in to be intensive and challenging, but very rewarding. I would highly recommend Brown University to any applicant.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Shuttles available at any time, guards ready 24/7, no worries, but always be vigilant

    Clubs and Activities

    So many, so little time

    Great for these types of students

    Brown is great for everyone. For the outgoing, it will drive them to even greater heights. For the introverted, it will nurture and bring them out of their shell. College years are about growing and a Brown education is about bring out the best in everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Farmers' market every fall. Local farmers and organic dairy farms bring their products to the campus every Thursday. We help sustain a charmed way of life and get yummy homemade pies.

    Bang for the buck

    Brown University has so much history attached to it, many don't realize how much. Visiting the John Carter Library and other historical structures are a must.

    Food and Dining

    The Ratty is a great place to eat. However, the main campus is located near many awesome restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms, but friends have not complained and enjoy their dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Each class that I have taken, has required a great deal of work and time to be given in assigned work. However, it has been very rewarding and never felt overwhelmed. Each professor being very approachable helps a great deal.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is an awesome school and the experience of attending here will stay with you always.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel very safe!

    Bang for the buck

    As an Ivy League university, Brown is very pricey but it also has a very high return on investment. I'm pre-med so I'm certainly hoping this education will be worth my while!

    What to do for fun

    Whatever you want! There's a lot of freedom.

    Dorm Life

    The only thing that I don't like about the dorm situation is that you are required to be on campus until you are a senior. I think that's a little excessive.

    Academic Rigor

    I dig the open curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be very academic, self-driven and motivated.

    In three sentences

    Brown is academically challenging, socially diverse and full of opportunity. I feel very blessed to be here.

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have special emergency phones all over campus that you just hit a button if you feel threatened and the campus police come to take care of you.

    Food and Dining

    They have a pretty big selection on campus and plenty of off campus options within walking distance.

    Academic Rigor

    One of the toughest schools.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Brown Dining Services really tries to make dining fun! It all isn't gourmet but there are a lot of great options as well.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is really great! Most of the rooms are average size. But, a lot of the freshman dorms are going to be renovated so if you are an incoming freshman, that's definitely a plus.

    Academic Rigor

    One of the great things about Brown is that professors and just the whole university itself want you to succeed. The academic rigor is challenging but definitely not impossible. The fact that you can take classes pass/fail really helps take the stress off your workload and the fact that you can drop a class at any time (even if it's the day before the final) is really great as well. There is a lot of flexibility and makes learning at Brown that much better!

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Generally safe environment, but make sure not to walk alone at night, especially when further from the main campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Everything from Disney acappella to rock climbing and camping gear rental. Many activist groups on campus, too - great if you want to meet students with similar interests and a thirst for innovation and change. Don't miss the Better World by Design conference held jointly by Brown and RISD each fall!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The naked donut run is pretty hilarious (free library donuts from friendly nude students during finals week)

    Bang for the buck

    The people I've met at Brown are worth everything, let alone the amazing opportunities available everywhere. It's hard not to get excited about the possibilities.

    What to do for fun

    Beaches and hiking are just a bus ride away, and there's plenty of food trucks and interesting dining opportunities, such as AS220 (community laser-cut shop, music venue, and sustainable food) or Duck and Bunny (late-night cupcakes and tea).

    Food and Dining

    There's quite a few dining areas with differing levels of convenience and variety, depending on your needs.

    Dorm Life

    Some freshman dorms (Andrews) are newly renovated, but others have less lounge space and no air conditioning. You get to know your hallmates pretty quickly, and there are frequent social activities in and around dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes here are challenging without being tedious, and professors try to inspire learning with creative assignments, student interaction, and sometimes even field trips.

    Tips for prospective students

    Write from your heart, and don't be afraid to follow your interests - they sometimes lead you to unexpected places.

    In three sentences

    Caring professors. Motivated students. Great environment.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are loads of things to do at Brown. There are so many a cappella groups and other silly groups that are completely funded.

    In three sentences

    Brown has a great atmosphere, especially in the summer! It is a beautiful campus and the students are very serious about their academics. Providence offers a huge range of fun activities.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Not the best

    Great for these types of students

    Easy going and experimental

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Brown has events like the Naked Donut Run and Sex Power God, which are very...interesting and a lot of fun! Again, google them..

    What to do for fun

    If there is one place to find fun, its at Brown! Most of the students are a bit eccentric in their own ways, but in a good way, so there is a lot you can try. Just this semester, I learned to juggle, play tennis and soccer, and tried slack-lining. (Google it!)

    Food and Dining

    The food here at Brown is pretty good overall, but can get old really quickly. I suggest get a smaller meal plan so that you can eat off campus more often, like on Thayer Street.

    Dorm Life

    Brown's dorm life is pretty great. I especially love my dorm, New Pembroke 4, because we are all really good friends and we spend most of our time together.

    Academic Rigor

    Brown is a very rigorous school like any other ivy league, but you will get out what you put in. Expect to study a lot. I studied for 17 hours for my math final!

    Tips for prospective students

    Truly be interested in taking advantage of Brown's open curriculum. If you have no idea what I am talking about then you need to do a lot more research, but essentially, Brown has no GE requirements and you only have to complete your major requirements and pass a certain number of classes to graduate.

    In three sentences

    Brown is an awesome school, surrounded by a great suburban/urban city, filled with great people. It is known for its emphasis on undergraduate education, which is very attractive to many. I also love the fact that the classes are relatively small and Brown combines a liberal arts education with a major research institution feel.

  • 03/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Brown tuition may be through the roof, but the opportunities Brown will give you is worth the price.

    What to do for fun

    There are many performances put on by student groups, as well as socials. Parties are (obviously) fun places to go as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, not outstanding.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms vary significantly...just hope you're put in a newer dorm because the older dorms could definitely use some renovations.

    Academic Rigor

    This school has very difficult yet rewarding classes. Be prepared to work hard, but it will be fun!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to go to a school where you can be yourself and get an amazing education, this is the place for you. In your application, just stress what makes you unique, and hope for the best!

    In three sentences

    Brown is a great community that is incredibly diverse. From top Divison 1 student-athletes, to amazing musicians, this school has every type of person. Uniqueness is celebrated here.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 33 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    How was the transition from high school to college? How did Brown make it easier?

    In three sentences

    What did you have that you think got you into this particular school?

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Plenty of options for food.

    Dorm Life

    My best friends were the people I lived in the dorm with.

    Academic Rigor

    Brown has no academic requirements, which means you can take exactly the classes you want to take and challenge yourself in all the right ways.

    In three sentences

    Brown is a liberal loving community. Fellow students are inspirational and always friendly. Faculty really cares for the students.

  • 06/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go out, you are bound to find something that interests you. You will not be bored.

    Food and Dining

    Thayer street has some of the best restaurants around, especially if you like falafel.

    Dorm Life

    never lived in them so can't respond, but I hear good things.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a challenging experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Explore everything, talk to everyone, and enjoy yourself. This is a wonderful experience, never waste a minute of it.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere is wonderful and supportive for the students. Campus is beautiful especially the main campus green. So many opportunities are available, only need the initiative to pursue.

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    DPS is great. Minor thefts have occurred, but response and notification is quick and helpful. Lots of steps available for staying safe!

    Greek Life

    Not much.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to list. Find one! Don't overwhelm yourself though (it's too easy to do that).

    Great for these types of students

    Adventurous academics Undecided majors Looking for era-defining experiences

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Van Winkle Gates: Only go through them when you enter Brown (as a first-year) and when you leave Brown (as a graduate). There are superstitions about passing through more than twice in your life, and that's why they're locked year round. Same with the Pembroke Campus Seal on the steps outside Alumni Hall.

    Bang for the buck

    Culture around campus is great. Get involved!

    What to do for fun

    Join a club/organization Watch a show (there are plenty of talented people here) Walk around campus (beautiful) Go Downtown (it's nearby)

    Food and Dining

    Your money goes a long way in dining halls and campus eateries.

    Dorm Life

    Hard for a student to find privacy and quiet in a dorm; other students have disrespectfully damaged property and yet these problems have not been aptly handled by Residential Life (ie the problems continue, rules don't change and keep getting broken, university is slow to respond). Decent environment if you enjoy partying and socializing in dorms. Difficult environment if you intend to study (or sleep) in dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Though Brown takes certain steps to ensure students are not intimidated by difficult classes (no GPA calculation, no failures on transcripts, etc), classes certainly are not to be toyed with. Teachers are involved and have high expectations of students, yet are not above meeting students where they are. Resources are available in plenty, but only available to those who take advantage. It's a very grown up experience, making students accountable for the high level of education they are receiving. With the rigor, Brown earns its merit among Harvard, Yale and Princeton of the Ivies.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a fun/relaxed Ivy League, not an easy one.

    In three sentences

    Engaged and reliable professors. Exuberant student body (to say the least). Quality education.

  • 07/19/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    37 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Not the best, but it definitely exists

    Clubs and Activities

    You can find a club for anything under the sun

    Great for these types of students

    Hipsters

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Naked Donut Run

    Bang for the buck

    Ivy League school, but you can't really expect much with a Liberal Arts degree

    What to do for fun

    Frat parties, trips to Boston, intramural sports, join various clubs

    Food and Dining

    It is always improving. The food has gotten a lot better in the 2 years since I graduated.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enter the school with an open mind and prepare to leave a totally different person.

    In three sentences

    Brown University is a place where students are encouraged to find themselves and engage in open dialogue. It is a small school where you will have opportunities to interact with people from various backgrounds. Students are encouraged to take action is civil issues.

  • 08/03/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    38 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    present but not overwhelming

    Great for these types of students

    liberal-minded

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Naked Donut Run: the week before finals, a group of unclothed students will wander the libraries, offering free donuts.

    What to do for fun

    Free student theater, comedy groups, a cappella, orchestra concerts, dance shows, senior instrumental shows...

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind! Don't assert your opinions over others'. Listen.

    In three sentences

    Brown is an open, welcoming place. Students are free to build their own schedules, and open-mindedness encourages them to be who they are. Brown trusts its undergraduates.

  • 08/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Brown Public Safety is an exemplary staff. There are a million different resources for students to stay safe and alert. I am proud of Brown DPS beyond explanation. I really feel safe anywhere on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Brown sporting events are an energetic and exciting way to relieve stress and have fun. Bruno, the bear mascot, does an excellent job of hyping up the fans and making the games memorable! Brown is a short distance away from downtown Providence. Exploring the city and all it has to offer is one of the most fun things to do. Visit the other state school campuses and stop in to different shops and cafes all over town.

    Food and Dining

    Brown has two main dining halls that have a variety of meal options for all different diets and restrictions. There are also a few a la carte food services that are popular and have delicious selections.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Brown is awesome. Students build great connections with neighbors and hallways. Unit Wars is a big event that all dorms participate in where they team up and take on other dorms in challenges and sports. Living space is not too generous, however there is more than enough room for essentials and more.

    Academic Rigor

    With the open curriculum, Brown outshines all other colleges with student satisfaction. the variety of classes are pleasing. With a limited number of graduate schools, Brown undergraduate students get the luxury of having more opportunities for one-on-one time with professors, research, and internships. Being an Ivy League school, Brown fulfills the expectation of being challenging and top quality. The difference between Brown and other Ivy's is that Brown students are TRULY happy to be at Brown and the stress of a class or course-load never outweighs the joy of being a part of Bruno.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to step out of your comfort zone and meet new and exciting people and challenges. Do not be intimidated by Brown's reputation; instead, hold yourself to personal standards and let Brown enable you to achieve your goals. Go out there and meet as many people as you can. Bruno students never cease to amaze.

    In three sentences

    Brown culture is a beautiful balance between beauty, brains, and love. One is able to succeed in any academic field while still being happy to be on campus and a part of Brown life. Brown students exceed standards and expectations as a result of the amazing learning environment of the college.

  • 10/20/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    40 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    As an ivy league it has some of the most rigorous courses in the country.

    In three sentences

    I love Brown, it is my number one school. If I get accepted, this is more than likely where I'll be attending.

  • 10/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are occasional robberies in the streets at night. But the University continuously works on improving the safety in campus and are doing a pretty good job.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs!!! Except for archery club, the absence of which really hurt me.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Ann Mary Brown Memorial is dedicated to a nice ghost called Ann Mary Brown. University Hall is supposedly haunted.

    What to do for fun

    There is ALWAYS something going on!

    Food and Dining

    The meal plans are kind of expensive. The food is usually not good either. However, there are a lot of great restaurants here featuring food from many places around the world.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are awesome and many are being renovated even now to improve dorm life more.

    Academic Rigor

    Be prepared for many sleepless nights doing homework and studying for midterms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to Brown even if you think you might not get in. Because you truly never know.

    In three sentences

    Brown University is really an amazing school. There are a lot of resources here to help you out other than the usually great professors.The diversity of people makes you feel right at home.

  • 12/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    what you heard about brown is true. It is the best school to attend.

    Academic Rigor

    very high standard

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard

    In three sentences

    best school to attend

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's the blue light system that's common with most campuses and there are shuttles and on-call Brown vehicles to come drive us around. There is also a program called safe-walk where you can have other students walk with you so that you aren't alone and the Brown Police (the Bro-Po) and the Emergency services are both good. That being said, there have been several small muggings in the past semester. However, I personally have never felt threatened while at Brown.

    Greek Life

    Small but existent. The frats party. The sororities throw events. It's more of another set of clubs though instead of a group that run the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to keep up with.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who know exactly what they want to do with their lives or ones who have no clue. Students who are good at motivating them selves. Oh- and you must be open to meeting people. Brown is so social!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Naked Donut Run- During finals, a group of naked people visits the most popular study spots and hands out donuts. Spring Weekend- A weekend in the spring where BCA brings awesome performers to Brown and we all partake in--uhm- some mild debauchery.

    Bang for the buck

    Worth every penny,

    What to do for fun

    So much. Clubs, concerts (both on and off campus), sports, movies, socializing, partying, shopping, pretty much whatever you want.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but it gets repetitive in the dining halls. The key is to use meal credits at other places like Joe's or the Blue Room. But you'll learn more about that when you arrive in September ;).

    Dorm Life

    Freshman housing just got redone as part of a massive multi-million dollar renovation project. The dorms are much larger than most and extremely nice, with awesome kitchens and lounges.

    Academic Rigor

    That depends. Brown's open curriculum leaves a lot of responsibility up to the students. You can take three classes per semester all pass-fail or you can take five per semester all for a grade in subjects with which you are not familiar. It's up to you, but that's the beauty of it. You really do design your own college experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself. Brown cares more about the student holistically than the other Ivies. They really evaluate you as the student, applicant, and then what numbers you bring to the school. Mention that funny experience you had when you first tried to bake a cake or the most embarrassing thing that's ever happened to you in a supplement. They've received thousands of the self-inflating essays that students have stretched to make themselves seem like the best insert-quality-that-they-think-the-colleges-are-looking-for student. In the end though, through personal experience and much comparing of essays, I've found the kids at Brown wrote about things as mundane as breaking bones, trying foreign foods, and taking math tests. Also, be confident. Don't try to change yourself for a school . Chances are you won't like it there if you have to pretend to be someone else.

    In three sentences

    The perfect word for Brown is nonpareil, as in it is completely unmatched in the world of colleges. I honestly feel that there is such a collection of classes, students, opportunities, and experiences unique to only Brown that makes it special beyond belief. The freedom and diversity here allow for self discovery, world-class education, and a sense of belonging.

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are fraternities and sororities but they don't dominate campus social life. The majority of people don't pledge.

    What to do for fun

    There are of course the classic college parties every weekend, as well as many nearby clubs and bars that hold 18+ nights almost every week. Brown is also fairly lenient about drugs/alcohol policies, so you wont find yourself very paranoid on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok. Some days are better than others, but you do have a lot of options. They accommodate vegetarian and gluten-free diets.

    Dorm Life

    Obviously this depends on where you stay and who you live with, but many of the dorms are newly renovated with everything a young college student needs to embark comfortably on his college journey.

    Academic Rigor

    This place is as hard as you want it to be. There's a transition period in which you might find the school overwhelming, but for the most part what you put in to it is what you get out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try new things. Take weird classes (especially in your first couple years). Don't be afraid to ask for help with anything. Despite what they say almost nothing has an absolutely final deadline, all it takes is talking to someone directly.

    In three sentences

    Brown University is its own little incredible world that offers itself up to you. You have access to a ridiculous variety of resources and activities; but even from your first semester its up to you to decide what you want to take part in, and ultimately, who you want to be here. There is no one making you do anything, but this freedom is a large responsibility.

  • 01/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    DPS is always there for you and loves you very much.

    Greek Life

    Superb. They have social events almost weekly and are very friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are too many to count.

    Great for these types of students

    Creative thinkers!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't step on the Pembroke seal. Use the libraries and participate in the Naked Donut Run. Get tickets to the SPG party early!

    Bang for the buck

    It's worth it. 10/10.

    What to do for fun

    There is many things to do for fun. My roommate likes to juggle and go to club events. I joined the sailing team and the lacrosse club team. On some days, I would go to events hosted by the fraternities on campus or the athletic houses.

    Food and Dining

    The food is wonderful.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is easy and convenient. There is a small gym nearby and restrooms on every floor. The freshman dorms are close to the main green, which holds many activities and events.

    Academic Rigor

    There is work every day for you to do. The lessons are complex, but if you motivate yourself to ask for help and truly want to understand the lessons, then you will be able to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should continue to study hard, take advantage of professor's office hours, and practice time management skills.

    In three sentences

    A school where learning is valued by both students and professors, where the creation of experience is embraced over the final destination, and where education is formed by your passions and ambitions. The buildings, the green, and the food are all harmoniously beautiful. The student body is a mixture of genders, backgrounds, ethnicities, and personalities that not only respect these differences, but embrace them.

  • 02/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lots of robberies lately, but the school stepped up security big time.

    Greek Life

    Doesn't really exist. F

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not involved in much, but there's lots of opportunities. Membership in everything is competitive though.

    Great for these types of students

    Quirky, don't follow the rules, extremely passionate, liberal, thoughtful. Good to be aware of ideas like white privilege and cultural appropriation. Heteronormativity is another buzzword on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Naked donut run. SciLi Challenge (there's two of them).

    Bang for the buck

    Financial aid is a godsend, but I'd pay anything to go here. I can't imagine being anywhere else.

    What to do for fun

    Drink. Or explore Providence. There's lots of lovely and interesting restaurants within walking distance. There's always events and talks to go to on campus. The mall is a short walk away, and the RISD museum is definitely worth a trip.

    Food and Dining

    Meal plan is kinda a rip-off. The eateries have good food, but the large dining halls fall short. Good vegetarian options, but harder to be vegan.

    Dorm Life

    Drugs, alcohol and sex. But actually. Dorms are crazy on the weekends. During the week they're a great place to chill with some of the best friends you'll ever have. They're valuable communities.

    Academic Rigor

    It's intense, but worth it. Even the intro classes are interesting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be unique. It's cliche, but true. Brown loves students who eschew the system. Here, I've been able to take courses without having prereqs, something I wrote about doing on my application. You will be reading a book a week--for one class. That could mean you're reading 4 or 5 books a week, depending on how many classes you're taking.

    In three sentences

    Brown has been described as a wonderfully odd journey to adulthood. The classes are engaging, and while many will claim the school is laid back, everyone is ambitious. Everyone wants to do everything, so it's hard to get spots in great classes, but when you land them, the experience is unparalleled.

  • 03/17/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    47 of 53

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    All of the students I ran into while visiting seemed really happy, nice, and funny- at one point my mom made a comment about a guy in a car who couldn't seem to get out of his driveway, and a group of Brown students stopped and joked about it with us for a good minute before continuing on. The school is obviously very prestigious, but it seems to have a very flexible course plan that allows the students to determine their path. The atmosphere at the school is fantastic- you can tell that everyone likes to learn, but that they also like to have fun.

  • 03/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel super safe at Brown; we have shuttles that run during the day and night to get students where they need to be. There are the occasional robberies, but I've seen them handled well by our campus public safety. All students are given free alarm whistles during freshman year orientation, and for the most part, I feel comfortable walking around main campus at night.

    Greek Life

    Not a major part of campus life, but it does exist! There are a few fraternities, sororities, and a co-ed literary society. Greek life is typically concentrated in a specific area on campus--Wriston Quad--and for those not involved in the frats, they are known for throwing great themed parties from time to time. I know some of them are more known for community service and providing networking opportunities for their members, while others seem to be huge partying houses all the time. It really varies, like anything else at Brown.

    Great for these types of students

    Independent students, free-thinkers, social justice activists, feminists, students who are not afraid to challenge each other and authority, students who are very hands-on about their education, students who care deeply about anything. You will find that you are encouraged to be original rather than fall in with any particular crowd; people are truly prized for their individual quirks and contributions.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Brown traditions have their own Wikipedia page and include the Naked Donut Run and Sex Power God.

    Bang for the buck

    Brown is pricy; the Ivy League degree and the amount of fun you'll have are almost worth it, but you'll still be left wondering sometimes why you chose to shell out all that money.

    What to do for fun

    Go into downtown Providence! The city has a great arts and culture scene, complete with poets and artist friends at the neighboring Rhode Island School of Design. You can also catch a lot of free and fun events at the parks downtown. There are always events on the weekends on and off campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty decent, no matter what everyone complains about. There is a variety available in the dining halls, and the more fast-food type places on campus have tastier dishes.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms are gorgeous and full of amenities. Others could use some touching up.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of classes are incredibly hard; nearly every class you take will challenge you, but there are always those classes that feel more like play than work at times.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find your niche and take it easy; let yourself fumble and figure things out.

    In three sentences

    Brown is an amazing place with bright students, great courses and tons of freedom. The campus has the most accepting atmosphere I've ever experienced. The people here will inspire and amaze you on a daily basis.

  • 04/27/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    49 of 53

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I spent last summer at Brown University at I must say it was the best summer of my life. I fell in love with Brown, its peaceful main green, the quiet green and the Rock. Highly recommend everyone who can to apply to Brown University for either a summer program or for college.

  • 04/29/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    50 of 53

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I went to this college last year, and what struck me was just how integrated it was with the neighborhood. You could easily traipse through part of the campus and never even realize that you were in a college. Definitely shortlisted.

  • 05/02/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    51 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Thayer Street.

    Food and Dining

    Known to be quite good.

    Dorm Life

    Have not been to campus but I guess dorms are nice though the architecture is not impressive

    Academic Rigor

    The Open Curriculum is probably the most attractive attribute of Brown. Even you can take whatever classes, choose them wisely so that you can graduate in 4 years.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do great at high school! Even if you have a low GPA/SAT, just feel free to apply. You just have to show yourself and be honest! At least that's what the people on CC say :)

    In three sentences

    This is my dream school. Will definitely apply next year though chances are slim. Love the open curriculum!

  • 06/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Brown campus safety has a noticeable presence on campus. Blue lights, campus shuttles, and patrolling officers and security guards provide the students with a safe atmosphere.

    Greek Life

    Greek life at Brown is quite small. With a handful of fraternities, co-eds, and sororities, it makes up a minority of the school's population. As a member of greek life on campus, I have found that it has only enhanced my experience. Hazing (from my experience in sorority life) is nonexistent, and the community engendered from being a part of such a group and the greek community at large just provides more opportunity for close-knit relationships, social experiences, networking, and philanthropy on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are too many clubs and activities to count. The hockey rink hosts all of the clubs and activities at a fair twice a year.

    Great for these types of students

    Liberal, diverse, and open-minded students. (But the university as a whole is very accepting of anyone.)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Students, upon their first week at school, walk through the Van Wickle Gates. It is tradition that upon graduation, students walk back out of the gates, signifying their entrance into the world as fully-fledged Brown Alums. Another bizarre tradition includes Brown's Naked Donut Run. During finals, a secret society of nude students will go around the libraries at an undisclosed time to deliver donuts to the studying students.

    Bang for the buck

    Brown University's Financial Aid is very fair in relation to a family's financial status.

    What to do for fun

    Living in at Brown means being stationed safely atop College Hill and yet being in close enough proximity to all of the fun available in a charming city like Providence. Also, Thayer St. is a renowned stretch of restaurants, shopping, and fun right on campus. Students can be found going to clubs, restaurants, or even the Providence Place Mall that is a 15 minute walk from campus. Several movie theaters are nearby and even a sky-diving company. Usually students have more than enough entertainment on campus, but there are quite a few options beyond that if one so desires.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Brown is sub-par. The Ratty (the main dining hall) usually contains unfortunately overcooked, dry, or awkwardly-seasoned materials. Sadly, the fault lies in the fact that the dining services try to achieve fancy dishes that end up being, frankly, very off. If there was one tip I would give Brown's dining services it would be try for simplicity. People like just plain mashed potatoes, plain steam vegetables, and well-cooked, unadulterated meat options.

    Dorm Life

    Usually students feel that the dorm experience is very welcoming their freshman year, and many form tight and lasting bonds with their hall-mates. For those who never particularly found closeness within their dorm, many great opportunities exist for a better social atmosphere, including clubs, groups, program housing, and greek life.

    Academic Rigor

    Attending Brown University means being challenged academically, but it also means that there are ample resources available to succeed. Taking advantage of these resources is necessary to do well in rigorous courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare to expand your mind. Openness to new ideas and to a new approach on learning are key to succeeding.

    In three sentences

    Brown University is a great place to expand not only your knowledge in academia but also your personal context in the world. This university is a place of diversity and freedom. The students, faculty, staff, and courses are all wonderful attributes to the Brown community.

  • 07/27/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    53 of 53

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It seems to be an intellectually riveting and achieving school. I wonder how long the athletes practice, as I have heard many rumors. I look forward to learning more in the future.