Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Bryan College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/20/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 1 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for someone who is looking for a small, private Christian college in which you will learn the idea of a true community with the students and the professors. This college is also perfect fro those who are Christian and want to have a Christian world view taught to them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply as early as you can because Bryan only accepts 51% of their applicants. People from all over the world come to this college so you will not be alone if your come from a long distance away from the college.

    Am enjoying being here

    This college is a very fun place. The relationships that you build with the students and the professors are truly priceless. In every class you get a Christian view of the subject and learn great ways to apply the knowledge of that particular subject to your walk with God.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors and teachers have great teaching styles and are also very easy to learn from. The material is relevant for today's society.

  • 09/12/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for those who want to be able to know everyone on campus and for people who don't mind rules.

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to decide you are willing to follow the rules before you come here, because there are a lot of them. They tend to be for your own good, but it is still hard sometimes.

    Bang for the buck

    For a small Christian school, it's not overly expensive, but it's more than a state school. Good education, though. They were not overly helpful when it came to finding money for me to go here, maybe because I'm from out of state.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy it most of the time. Some of the people are a little too legalistic, which drives me crazy. Look past them and you'll find good people.

    Am learning a lot

    I think some of the professors don't like athletes and that makes it hard, because I am one. Some of the profs are easy to talk to, but others are downright impossible.

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Curfews are at 12am on weekdays and 2am on weekends. Rules are you have to be in the dorm by that time. Everyone watches out for each other too. I felt really safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lot of activities to do on campus. They also have many ministries to take part in

    Bang for the buck

    At $26,100 a year for the 2012-2013 school year. It's a little pricey. But getting their scholarships will help. $14,00 a year for the Presidential merit, $10,000 a year for the Presidential, and $6,000 a year for the Dean. But I brought mine down considerably. Apply to outside scholarships as well

    What to do for fun

    Not much to do in Dayton. But when you get the chance go to Pocket Wilderness. Waterfalls, hiking, and beautiful scenery. There are shops on Main St. But not much.

    Food and Dining

    Good food, lot of options to choose from

    Dorm Life

    There is a great sense of community around the dorms. It's like an extended family.

    Academic Rigor

    If you plan on being a science major, be prepared for a rigorous program. Bryan has a really tough program, but it will prepare you for Medical school or where ever you want to go with it. Science isn;t their only strong point!! Bryan has some awesome majors. The professors will prepare you for where ever you are headed!

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan a trip to visit the campus. The Elevate program is a good way to see what is in store for you there. Apply so that an admissions counselor can contact you and answer any question you have.

    In three sentences

    So far so good! Sat in on some classes earlier last year and really learned alot!! I am excited about going in the fall!!

  • 12/27/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Inquisitive, self-directed, community-minded, team-players

    Tips for prospective students

    Our Professors love students to ask questions. Don't be afraid! Interacting with the professors will produce a more memorable and quality education for you. Get out of your dorm room! There's so much fun stuff to do at Bryan, from attending sports games (yes, even non-athletes like me go!), to just hanging out with friends at the local Bimbo's diner. And if you happen to be free on a Sunday night - you can join me and others for swing dancing down in the park! Spend some time in the community, either through a Bryan ministry group, or job, or whatever. The people of Dayton are very friendly to Bryan College Students.

    Bang for the buck

    I am probably among the poorest of the students at Bryan, yet they have worked very hard to keep me at school, even during financial difficulty. If you are trying your hardest to get enough money for tuition, you can be pretty confident that they'll help you the rest of the way. Their scholarship programs are great, especially if you are from TN.

    Am enjoying being here

    Bryan is a great community. The RD's and RA's have a real love for the students, often sacrificing sleep and their own time to be with a student who needs them. Bryan also has great things to get involved with, from clubs like Rugby, to activities like drama and visiting nursing homes.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned so much during my years at Bryan. Students who come with questions find a lot of answers... and more questions! The professors are probably what make the experience in the classroom so great. Their willingness to answer questions and get us digging for answers makes education at Bryan very interactive. And for a visual and kinesthetic learner, that's important! By the way, here's a small fact I learned this year at Bryan in one of my Psychology major classes: the reason psychiatric drugs are so dangerous is because they cross the blood-brain barrier into your Central Nervous System.

  • 06/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christians, former home schoolers, people who want a challenging academic program, people who want a small private school

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for financial aid early and often. Other than that, just get ready for an atmosphere of challenging academics and Christian fellowship with the community of students and professors.

    Bang for the buck

    Bryan is an expensive school. There's no getting around that. However, the financial aid office is happy to help you find the scholarships and loans that you need to attend the school.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being at Bryan College. Most of the students are friendly and caring. The dorm rooms may be small and a little old, but there's nothing like living on campus with all of your friends close by. All of the staff is friendly, and while the food is still cafeteria food, it's pretty good by comparison with other schools' food.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here are great. They really care about their students on a personal level as well as their classroom performance. The classes are tough but the professors make sure you understand the material and make it interesting for you to learn.

  • 01/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety on Bryan College campus is very important. A local police officer is on campus during the day and night there are guys keeping an eye on the grounds. I have never felt unsafe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Bryan College has many clubs that vary from year to year. Some popular ones include: Advanced Stage Movement, Anime Club, Chess Club, Coffee Club, College Republicans, Cycling Club, Dodgeball Club, Fellowship of Christian Athletes, Fencing, French Club, Imagebearers, International Students' Association, Martial Arts Club, Psychology Club, Rugby Football Club (makes up for the fact that we don't have a football team), and my personal favorite...the Debate Team. There are also lots of opportunities to get involved in intramural sports. Ministry opportunities are one Bryan's biggest strengths, though, with everything from working with the homeless to helping the elderly.

    What to do for fun

    To be honest, Dayton is kind of a boring town. Bryan College almost always has something going on, though! Whether it is the library hosting local authors, student government throwing a karaoke party, or basketball game down at the gym, it is not hard to find fun. If all else fails, there is a cool hang-out room full of pool, foosball, and ping-pong to hang out with other students.

    Food and Dining

    While cafeteria food is not what I would call fine dining, Bryan College's cafeteria has lots of options. There is a sub bar, pizza bar, salad bar, soup, as well as an area to make your own food (eggs, stir fry, etc. depending on what is provided) and the hot-bars for the main course being served. If you don't like what is being provided, or missed a meal, the sub-zone offers meal-exchange where you can get pizza, a sub, chips, cookies, salad, or soup and a soft-drink instead. There are lots of options.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can be lots of fun! Your roomate and neighbors are your first friends if you don't know anyone on campus, and each dorm has its unique history and style.

    Academic Rigor

    Like most schools, Bryan's level of difficulty depends on your professor and major. Bryan College has solid academics but how rigorous it is depends on your strengths. Some professors are all about lecturing, others prefer class participation. Some are right in between.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a chance to talk to a professor. One on one time with your future teachers is a great way to learn about what motivates the school. Don't be afraid to ask questions to students at the school, from favorite classes to least favorite food in the cafeteria. If finances are an issue, make an appointment with financial aid. Their goal is to make paying for school possible!

    In three sentences

    Bryan College is a non-denominational Christian school that strives to live up to its motto, Christ Above All. With 800 on-campus students, it is not a very big school, but it fosters a unique community. One of its biggest strengths is its emphasis in learning about worldviews and cultures while preparing students to make a difference in the world.

  • 01/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The dorms are all locked to everyone without a student key card, and we have campus security that checks all the dorms at night. We have a Dayton police officer on campus at all times. We have a night watch lady who drives around campus all night to ensure that nothing suspicious happens. We have fire drills to ensure that our alarms work, and protocols that we follow if there are campus emergencies.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities at Bryan College.

    Clubs and Activities

    Bryan College offers standard clubs like student government and newspaper staff, along with athletic teams and intramural teams. Students can start clubs on their own as long as they are approved by the school.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like personal help and support from professors and other students. Students who like small schools and do not mind authority and rules. Students of the Christian faith. Students who like soccer because that is the most popular and most supported sport at Bryan.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a large area known as The Grassy Bowl where Bryan College holds activities such as Barbarian wars (where students meet and battle in a medieval manner with handmade cardboard swords and shields and armor and eggs) and orientation games. It is also a place where students hang out or go to be alone. We have chapel three times a week: Monday, Wednesday, Friday.

    Bang for the buck

    Bryan College offers challenging thorough classes, community support, fun activities, and active campus life. Tuition is high, but students receive a lot here that is not offered at other schools.

    What to do for fun

    Bryan College is located in Dayton, Tennessee which is very small. There is not much to do in the city itself. Bryan College provides several intramural opportunities, and occasional movie nights or campus parties, but these only occur every now and then. Other than that, there is a student center where students can watch television, play ping pong, Poole, or foosball. There are also televisions in the lobbies of all the dorms.

    Food and Dining

    There is a wide variety of hot food in the cafeteria every day. We have a specialty line, a self-cook station, a salad bar, pizza line, along with a sub line where people make your personal food for you individually. Coffee, tea, juices, and sodas are available to drink. We also have an ice cream bar and a dessert and fruit table. The cafeteria serves three meals per day and is open from 7am to 7pm. We also have a restaurant in our student center that serves your choice of pizza or sub meals and stays open until 11pm.

    Dorm Life

    Our dorms are very nice and clean with decently spacious rooms. We have an excellent staff that cleans the dorms every day, though not our personal rooms. Each student has a bed, desk, set of five drawers, a nightstand, and a wardrobe. There are also sinks in every room which you share with your roommate. We have quiet hours every night starting at 11 pm to ensure that students have quiet places to study, sleep, or hang out. Each hall has one or two resident assistants assigned to it who administer room checks every now and then. Resident assistants also plan fun events for their halls like movie nights and parties. We also have a 12:30am curfew on weekdays and a 2am curfew on weekends. Though curfews in general for college students seems unsavory, these times are reasonable, and students can sign themselves out if they want to spend the night off campus. Extended curfew is also available for students who plan to be out later than curfew.

    Academic Rigor

    Bryan College is one of the top academic schools in the nation, and we hold our students to high standards. Many of the classes are harder here than they are at other schools, but we offer a lot of academic support and our professors are very flexible, reasonable, and understanding. Often, I hear rumors that a particular class is tough only to realize for myself that it is not that bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure that Bryan has your major. If you are looking for a large school, you should not consider Bryan because we are very small. If you like to have contact and personal help from professors, you should consider Bryan; we offer a very good support system. Bryan offers several intramural sport opportunities so if you are not on an academic team, you can still be active. Be sure that Bryan is in your price range; though we offer many scholarship opportunities, tuition is very high here because we are private. We are a Non-Denominational college and Christian influences are everywhere, so be sure that you agree with our beliefs. Be sure to read the student handbook and observe all of the rules and decide if you will be able to follow them if you choose to attend.

    In three sentences

    Bryan is an excellent source for personal and academic support through administration, faculty and other students. Bryan offers events like movie nights and school parties sometimes, but not on a weekly basis and often there is not much to do. Bryan has a lot of strict rules that I do not think should be applied to college students, such as curfew.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 21

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    i officially begin the bryan college aspire program in a few days. every persons i have been in contact with from bryan college has made me feel valued and is eager to assist me in my personal growth as an adult learner. the information bryan college has provided has been complete and concise to ensure my success.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Christians Academically rigorous students (especially in science)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    What to do for fun

    Not much to do in-town aside from Pocket (a trail system near the college), but Bryan is 45 minutes from Chattanooga, and a couple hours from Knoxville.

    Food and Dining

    No fast food on campus, but the cafeteria is one of the best for all types. Whether you're trying to eat healthy or just want something that tastes good, there's something for everyone.

    Dorm Life

    It can get crazy at times, but isn't completely weird; some halls have a really great social scene.

    Academic Rigor

    For those who think Christian colleges are pushover institutions, this is a very rigorous academic environment; don't expect graduating to be unusually easy, but know that professors and other students are there to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are of a more conservative background, be prepared for things that may challenge your perspective and (if you have an open mind) will broaden your understanding of what it means to be a Christian. Those on the opposite end of the spectrum, don't freak out at some of the rules, even if they seem completely ridiculous.

    In three sentences

    This is an amazing campus! Great community, thorough academic requirements, and great teacher-student interaction. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a Christian college.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    NA Not looking for the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Working with the online Campus. Its fun and not as bad as i expected.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is very secured there are security on the job making sure nothing out of the ordinary happens

    Clubs and Activities

    There are no clubs at Bryan and that is an issue.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One tradition is that you get your own pink crown when you pass the big test the Q.R.E that means you are ready for the state test and you are licenced to work in California. I know I'm going to get to that point.

    What to do for fun

    Bryan college has a small campus and for fun we like to explore the building and trying new foods out in the street. So i guess that's not much compared to the typical student going to big campus.

    Food and Dining

    Since my school is located in a comercial area, there are numerous places to choose from. The school has various vending machines so if you want a quick snack during a ten minute break that would b the time to hit the lounge!

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunatley, Bryan College is a small school and campus is in a skyscraper with only one floor dedicated to this profession. So there are not any dorms. I am living with my parents

    Academic Rigor

    My only challenge may be that I have a habit of not having my fingers on the correct keys on my steno-machine, that is what a court reporter uses to write.

    Tips for prospective students

    School twice a week is not enough, so in order to prosper you must do your onliine lessons to keep up in your studies and take an hour out of your day, each day to complete your RTC (real time coach). Because in this career perfect practice makes perfect.

    In three sentences

    At Bryan College, teachers are very helpful, I think court reporting suits me and i rate this school a 10 or even past that. court reporting is not for everyone, and i have learned so much English in only 5-6 short weeks. The teachers take the time to sit with you until you have a clear understaning of the concept

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 21

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Beautiful Campus, friendly faculty

  • 11/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Ultimate Frisbee, stroll around Dayton, Chattanooga is 30 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good on certain days, fdood is served from 7am to 7pm through the week, and specific times on the weekends,

    Dorm Life

    Girls and boys are seperated. You have the option between community bathrooms bigger dorms. Or suitemate style with conjoining bathroom, rooms are smaller.

    Academic Rigor

    IT is a very phenomenal school, in that the classes are small, all the class rooms are in one building, and most proffesors live on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you come prepared for an excellent learning program. BC challenges you and wants you to suceed in you academics and your Christian walk.

    In three sentences

    Bryan College is a small Christian College up on a beautiful hill in Dayton,TN, our motto is Christ Above All, and here you will encounter people from all over the world.

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do in Dayton, but Chattanooga isn't too far. Cleveland also has some stuff to do. There is also something called Pocket Wilderness a few miles down from the campus for those who like to hike and bike ride. The students at Bryan are really good at coming up with fun games and things to do. I have yet to meet someone who is bored at Bryan!

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious! I've been on campus a couple of times and I've eaten on campus 4 times. Definitely the best food I've had at any college. They have multiple flavors of Mayfield ice cream, a cappuccino and hot chocolate machine, fabulous pizza and sub bars, and the best part: sweet tea. Food is definitely a deal-breaker for me, and so far, Bryan's is the best.

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You have to make your own fun or go somewhere else to find it.

    Food and Dining

    It is hit or miss depending on the day. However, there is always a sub or salad option if you don't like what is being served.

    Dorm Life

    The RA's are friendly and helpful, and they plan lots of fun activities to do throughout the semester.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but you learn a lot, and you receive a very good education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay overnight to get the full impression of the college. If you don't like small towns or small places, then you may not like Bryan.

    In three sentences

    Bryan is a very small school compared to others. It has fairly decent food. There are lots of opportunities to get involved.

  • 05/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    bryan only offers one greek life item...which is a english honors one

    Clubs and Activities

    Bryan offers a large variety of student led clubs which range anywhere from french club to nutella club

    Bang for the buck

    the cost is a tad unreasonable and financial aid preference seems to be given to missionary students.

    What to do for fun

    Chattanooga and Cleveland are close by and there are many different activies. On campus there are concerts and sporting events to attend

    Food and Dining

    the food is the same each week, there are always some sort of pasta dishes

    Dorm Life

    the dorms need some minor repairs

    Academic Rigor

    excellent, my writing has improved and my grammar has too

    Tips for prospective students

    If the school were to improve for more students to attend and for continuing students to stay the school needs to offer more scholarships for students of non missionary relation

    In three sentences

    Bryan college is a excellent small college. It has a small close knit community feel and offers a high quality education

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a hospital located on campus as well as proper safety procedures.

    Great for these types of students

    Ones who are seriously pursuing their faith and education, who would like to travel (missions trips) and who are ready to get involved in the community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There really is nothing out of the ordinary that I can think of.

    Bang for the buck

    Wonderful educational program, especially for a Christian school.

    What to do for fun

    Talent shows (I attended one! What a blast!) bible studies, formal dances, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Great options, variety, and cleanliness.

    Dorm Life

    Excellent! The dorm rules are reasonable and the dorms are all in great condition.

    Academic Rigor

    My cousin has attended here and says that the workload is exactly what she needed to keep her grades up and still put a lot of effort into her education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus! It's an amazing experience!!!!

    In three sentences

    Bryan College is a fantastic school. Not only is their faculty and staff uplifting and helpful, but also, they pursue positive goals with each and every student they come in contact with. Also, their campus opportunities are numerous and invite all students to pursue their passions to the hilt.

  • 01/28/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    18 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    there are plenty of events and student-run groups

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have something called the night time kissing crew who drive around campus and shine strobe lights at people who may be out walking or God forbid, showing physical contact. A cool tradition is the swing dancing club that hangs out in downtown Dayton.

    Bang for the buck

    I left Bryan because I wasn't getting the academics I needed for the amount of money I was paying. They raised tuition and weren't offering too many scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    Dayton is a small country town in the mountains. Unless you participate in groups, sports, or events on campus, the options for fun are either hiking, volunteering, exploring the tiny town of Dayton, or driving 45 minutes to Hixon or Chattanooga. Being on top of a mountain, Dayton is a very scenic place with lots of options for outdoor recreation. The gym on campus is pretty good but if you want outdoor walking, you'll just have to walk the campus.

    Food and Dining

    Pioneer Food does the cafeteria for Bryan. The positives of this cafeteria were the options available all day: salad bar, do-it-yourself station, drinks, pizza and sub station. However, there entree meals tended to be similar and involved a lot of starchy sauces. Asian night was great!

    Dorm Life

    Small campus=small dorms. There are lots of dorm activities and events that go on. The free use of the laundry machines is a HUGE plus. The security is pretty good for the dorms. The restrictions for opposite genders in the dorms can be frustrating especially on the weekends.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses offered have an academic rigor that varies with professor. Some professors don't care how many classes you attend and others only give you one skip. As with any college, if you study and actually do assignments, the academic aspect of your college life will be easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a small, religious campus, Bryan is the place for you. Make sure you apply for scholarships if you plan on attending here. Register for your classes as early as possible. Be prepared to have to find things to do on campus because Dayton, TN doesn't offer much.

    In three sentences

    With a small student body, the professor to student ratio is great. The campus is well-kept and has a great layout. This college is pricey and tends to give their money to their athletes.

  • 02/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Whether you're an outdoor person, a gamer, a philosophical type, a musician, or anything else. Bryan College and Dayton, TN offer great things to do for fun. Dayton is also located within reasonable distance of Chattanooga, TN which ever widens the possibilities for extracurricular activities.

    Food and Dining

    As college cafes go, Bryan scores really high, offering good food and adequate dinning space to accommodate the student body. Because freshman students are required to partake in the unlimited meal plan, new students will never need to worry about having food available to them.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Bryan is about average. Though Bryan college is no party school, there are activities that take place student will likely get to know their hall well throughout their time at Bryan.

    Academic Rigor

    To an extent, college is only as hard as the student makes it. If you work hard and stay organized, you do well and stay on schedule. If you become lax, you will struggle and fall behind. While the average academic rigor at Bryan might vary from department to department, the end result is always the same. Students come out prepared to be the best in their fields.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bryan is a great place for new students. The Bryan Journey is a new program for freshman that has been introduced quickly, yet effectively, introduce new freshman to all aspects of college life. Prospective students will be happy to know that Bryan seriously values preparing new students to succeed. Some might wonder if Bryan lives up to their expectations. I would say it does. Whether you're looking for a career in Business, Music, Science, Ministry, Education, EHS, and many others, Bryan will set you on a path to achieve your dreams.

    In three sentences

    Bryan is an amazing place to get an exceptional college education. The smaller sized student body means that individual students will be able to enjoy more one-on-one time with professors. As a business student at Bryan, I can say that this college is the way to go for both a great college experience as well as a useful degree.

  • 03/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I attend online.

    Dorm Life

    I attend online.

    Academic Rigor

    Enjoy the schedule and the instructors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know exactly what you want to do. Follow your passion! It will make attending college more fun. Your passion is your career!

    In three sentences

    I attend Bryan University (not listed) and I am a proud student to attend such a wonderful school. My program is tailored to my career as a personal trainer. I've attended schools in the past that did not have such a program and I had to settle for something that I did not want. Finally, I feel that I can get my degree and begin doing exactly what it is that I love.

  • 05/30/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. There are no campus police, but because the campus is so small they are not needed. Bryan is the type of place where everyone knows everyone. Bryan is also located in a good town where the crime rate is very low.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs to join. Bryan also has intramural sports along with Division Two athletics, such as softball, baseball, soccer, basketball, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Bryan is great for students who want to get away from home, but not too far away. It is also a small campus with a little over one thousand students. Bryan is located in a small town, but it is not too small. Bryan also teaches their students from a Christian perspective, which is something that was a major factor in my college search. There is also no alcohol or drugs allowed whatsoever, so you will not have to worry about partying.

    What to do for fun

    When you first enter the campus there is a big pond with a bait and tackle shop right beside it, so you can go fishing without even leaving campus. There are also hiking trails around town being that there are mountains all around Bryan. If you get bored in Dayton, however, there are many things to do in Chattanooga; which, is about thirty minutes south.

    Food and Dining

    Bryan only offers one meal plan, which is unlimited. I ate in the cafeteria when I went and it was actually good food, with a variety of options. If you do get tired of the cafeteria food, however, they have places to eat at in Dayton.

    Dorm Life

    When I toured Bryan's campus, every dorm I went into the students were studying for some kind of class. The dorms were kept very clean, and the campus does dorm checks every so often. You also have the option of living in a dorm with more than one other person and sharing bathrooms, or living with one other person and sharing bathrooms with the whole hall. The latter is cheaper and the bathrooms looked very clean, and had brand new tile.

    Academic Rigor

    I am an incoming freshman, so I have not began my classes. However, I have been told by many people that Bryan gives a great education that is challenging. Also, they are linked with Vanderbilt; so, if you are planning to go into the medical field you are almost guaranteed a job. Bryan's job placement for other fields is also very high.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bryan is in a great location. It is not in the low-income part of town like most colleges. The campus is very small, most of your classes will be in one building. Dayton is a small town, but it is not so small that there is nothing to do. Bryan is also located thirty minutes north of Chattanooga, so if you do get bored of Dayton you can take a short trip to Chattanooga! Bryan also has small classes containing about ten to fifteen students per class. The professor then has time to focus on all of the students and has time to give you extra help if needed.

    In three sentences

    I would give Bryan a four and a half star rating. It has a beautiful campus, is in a good location, but there are no T.V.'s. There is also no football, as of right now.