Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Bryant University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/22/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students interested in gaining a global perspective, those that desire approachable and concerned faculty, students looking for small class sizes, those who like to be involved in campus activities and students who want to be a part of a close-knit community in a beautiful suburban setting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up with current events and assignments, bring an umbrella and boots (for rain and snow), join at least one club freshman year, and make the most of your experience.

    Bang for the buck

    Bryant has a lot to offer students. The school provides you with your own laptop which gives students access to great deal of valuable technology. Classrooms are also well-equipped with technology that makes learning more interesting and relevant. There is something for everyone on campus regarding student clubs and activities and there are many opportunities to become involved in things that interest you. The athletic center, which provides free gym membership, is also a great part of campus that provides access to work-out equipment and a variety of exercise classes that are taught by students. Bryant most importantly provides students with the opportunity to become well-rounded people with its strong focus on developing “The Character of Success”. The knowledge needed to become more aware of current issues, the business world, and life after college is received at Bryant, which can ultimately help students to be successful in their future endeavors.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere on Bryant’s campus is great. Both faculty and students are welcoming, there are many activities to take part in, and the campus is beautiful. Living in the residence halls provides students with a great experience in which many close friendships are formed. It is also exciting to meet students from different parts of the country and world and being able to learn about their diverse experiences and perspectives. There are also many clubs and organizations on campus of which students are guaranteed to find a few that will appeal to their interests. Such clubs also provide a great atmosphere for making friends that share similar backgrounds and interests. Bryant’s Campus Ministry is also wonderful in keeping students close to their faith while also providing opportunities to explore different faiths. There is always something taking place on campus. Whether there is a well-known figure coming to speak, a musical performance or comedian, or craft activity for students to take part in, students can always find ways to get out and have a good time.

    Am learning a lot

    Professors at Bryant are extremely accommodating and present a great deal of real world experience to pass onto their students. The small class size is also helpful in allowing for students to get the attention they require. The blended curriculum of business and liberal arts that is designed for all students furthermore allows for the development of marketable skills and knowledge in a variety of valuable subject matters. Bryant’s facilities such as the library, financial markets center, and TV studio, are also particularly helpful for learning and preparing for various aspects of potential careers.

  • 08/09/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Very studios. very involved, love to do community service and learn about others, the world, and our global environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a warm winter coat and rain boots!!!!

    Bang for the buck

    You get a good education, decent housing, free gym access, sports, and plenty of student activities.

    Am enjoying being here

    Student life is great! We have over 80 clubs, organizations, and Greek organizations. Students can even create their own club/organization if they feel that what they want/need is not available (you just need some friends and a write up!). Our Center for Student Involvement is very involved with the students and works very hard to provide the kinds of activities that we enjoy. Students have a voice on this campus - something that cannot (and is not) taken for granted.

    Am learning a lot

    Our classes are very globally oriented and focus on different aspects of the subject areas. The professors are all about their students and teaching them what they know. Our professors are very qualified in their fields and are very knowledgeable.

  • 02/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Bryant is great for many types of students. I would recommend those interested in sports, community service, greek life, business, or anything really. Bryant is best for people who have many interests.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend applying even if you think it's too expensive; almost everyone I know has an academic scholarship. I'm on academic scholarship even though I had less than perfect grades in high school. I would also recommend coming to visit the school. The campus is beautiful and the buildings are all updated and new.

    Bang for the buck

    Bryant may be fairly expensive, but I received a $15,000 academic scholarship, which has assisted in defraying the costs of attending. Bryant is definitely worth the cost because of the great classes and the name in business. I have already begun networking with alumni and meeting potential employers.

    Am enjoying being here

    Bryant is an amazing school and I couldn't imagine going anywhere else. There's also an event hosted by an organization on campus, such as the Student Programming Board or Bryant at Night. I really enjoy bingo, the game nights, free pizza, Midnight Breakfast and Festival of Lights. I also live in a suite, so I have access to a common room and have made great friends this semester. I belong to several clubs including Students in Free Enterprise, Bryant Helps, and Colleges against Cancer.

    Am learning a lot

    Like many other students, I came to Bryant for a career in business and I already feel like I'm immersed in the business culture after only one semester. My first semester I took Business 101, Microeconomics, Math, a Literary and Cultural Studies class, History, and FFL. The mix of the business and liberal arts classes was pleasant and I did very well, earning a 3.8 GPA. The classes are small, no more than about 30 people and all of my professors knew who I was pretty quickly. Participation is important in most classes and it makes the classes much more interesting. The business plan is definitely the most memorable academic event of last semester. This project seems daunting at first, but you learn a lot and it is very satisfying.

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    really good. there is security when you get in.

    Greek Life

    there is greek life. some people are really into it. but it is not as prevalent like other schools. sports are the big thing.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are 100s of clubs and everyone is in at least one.

    Great for these types of students

    outgoing, motivated, smart,

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    not much to do in smithfield. you have to travel to providence.

    Bang for the buck

    really exspensive, make sure you really love this campus.

    What to do for fun

    effins, parentes, football games, and townhouses

    Food and Dining

    there is a subway and dunkin on campus. plus ronzios and various cafes that are really good like at the library. plus the salmo dining hall.

    Academic Rigor

    really tough school.

    Tips for prospective students

    live on campus or you will feel like an outsider. bring lots of sweatshirts and rainboots.

    In three sentences

    a really great atmosphere. people are extremely helpful and want you to succeed. the science department is up and growing.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    DPS or department of public safety is available 24/7. Campus is very small so they can get to you in the matter of minutes and are always stationed at the gate. They don't allow any unwelcome visitors on campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is growing in popularity. More sororities and fraternities have come on campus since I started two years ago and there is never a shortage in pledges!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 80 clubs and organizations on campus. There is something for everybody and if not, all you need is five people to start something new!

    Great for these types of students

    Students with passion and ambition are great for this school. Although faculty push students to excel, a lot of a student's success depends on their ability to self motivate.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Never walk through the archway in the middle of campus! Legend says that those who walk through will never graduate!

    Bang for the buck

    As a current student, I work in the alumni house as a phone-a-thon caller. I talk to alumni and parents of students at the university. A recurring theme I talk about with alumni is their job search success. Many times I hear that the school has a great reputation among employers and that many obtain second interviews or get hired based on their experience and the name of the school alone. To me, having a great reputation in the work place is a great reason to continue to learn at Bryant!

    What to do for fun

    Bryant University's campus is a little bit off the beaten track but that doesn't mean there aren't plenty of things to do! The Lincoln Mall is just down the street which houses a target, some small stores, and a Stop and Shop - perfect for getting your general grocery and necessity shopping out of the way. Also, since campus is right outside of Providence, you have the entire city to explore! The public transportation bus can pick students up right on campus and drive you to Providence with just the swipe of your student ID card for free!

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining opportunities are limited due to the fact that the campus is small. There is one dining hall as well as a Subway, Dunkin Donuts, Ronzio's, and another dining option through the school that is a sort of take out grille. Meal plans are overrated, you really don't need the largest plan because the options tend to tire out in the main dining hall. The food isn't bad but definitely takes some getting used to. Ronzio's is the place to go when you have late night hunger pains. The only real downside to the dining options is that they tend to have weird hours and not much is open after 7pm.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is average. Freshman year there are several options including 8 person suites, 4 person quads, and traditional style 2 person rooms. Sophomore and Junior year is suite style living and Senior year there is the option to live in a townhouse with a full working kitchen. The variability of living options is a major plus and when looking at various schools I noticed Bryant always had the largest rooms. I've never had a problem as far as space of sharing a bathroom. Every living space is less than a 10 minute walk from anywhere on campus. This is a great plus during the cold winter! The school tends to be a little bit of a wind tunnel but it's also the most beautiful campus around!

    Academic Rigor

    There are varying levels of academic rigor on campus. Some students are more committed than others, but faculty help to remind students to remain on track. The school allows a grace period to get your grades together if you do poorly during one semester. Overall, the majority of students have a passion for working towards a major goal of theirs.

    Tips for prospective students

    When choosing a college, don't just focus on the typical categories. Make sure you take a look at aspects of the college that are not really talked about during interviews and campus tours. Some things I wish I knew beforehand was outside transportation availability, health center hours, and the range of food options. It's hard to see everything at once. Spending an over night before committing to a school really helps to get a well-rounded perspective of all the school has to offer. Don't be afraid to spend the night with strangers! It's great practice for when you start college with brand new people!

    In three sentences

    There is a great sense of leadership and excellence on campus. Faculty are always pushing students to partake in opportunities to become leaders and perform to the best of their abilities. There are also many great resources for both current and past students

  • 08/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All of the business classes are great and really give you real world experience. The international business program is excellent and really structured to give you experience to succeed in a growingly international world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Once on campus, definitely sign up and get involved in different organizations. It's a great way to meet new people and make the most of your time in school.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Bryant is a more expensive school, you definitely will get what you pay for. Classes are small, one of my classes only had 5 people in it. The teachers are also so helpful. They have so many office hours and even if that time doesn't work for you, they will accomodate your schedule and work with you.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely loved my first year at Bryant University. I met so many new people and friends that I know I will have for a life time.

    Am learning a lot

    I've learned so much in just one year. I actually looked forward to going to class. All of the teachers are so helpful and make class interesting. Class sizes are small and you really get that one-on-one attention that will help you succeed.

  • 01/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    so far i beleive it will be worth the money spent, only a sophmore and already am getting help with finding a job for me.

    What to do for fun

    there are many groups to join, sports teams to play on and club sports also that are really well run and make it feel like your back playing a high school sport. greek life is on point at the school if your into that route. also, the parties are alot of fun, just great times with people, memories to be made.

    Food and Dining

    in the cafe, its college food so not much can be said about it. there is a good selection of food for everyone to choose from. the dinning places on campus are prime, dunkin, subway, ranzio's pizza are all great places.

    Dorm Life

    always a fun time, everyone gets along and never really any problems. if there is any problems they are usually fixed quickly and in a proper way.

    Academic Rigor

    just like every college the work load is a lot, but at bryant they treat you like a business man/woman, you get alot of work at certain times then light load other times.

    Tips for prospective students

    get use to working in groups, becuase every class group work is involved in. make sure you are prepared for out of class work, tons of it.

    In three sentences

    bryant prepares students very well for the real world work environment. unmatched when it comes to business schools, including the harford and standford schools. not only do they provided a great place to learn, but a great place to have fun also.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    providence is just a 30 minute bus ride away, and your bryant idea gives you free access to the ripta that we have on campus.

    Food and Dining

    there are a lot of options and i really enjoy the food here. especially the food available at the cafes.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life here has a very fun atmosphere. in the freshman halls, people leave their doors open in an effort to meet more people.

    Academic Rigor

    it's not terribly hard, at least the classes i'm taking, however you definitely need to press yourself for a good gpa, which adds difficulty.

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved.

    In three sentences

    bryant university is a home-away-from-home. people here want to see you exceed. this is a great school for both business and arts and sciences.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus.... maybe too safe depending on how you see it.

    Greek Life

    AWESOME! Could be bigger but I love my sorority and its the best decision I've made.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs and organizations, I'm a part of five and its really enjoyable to get involved.

    What to do for fun

    Go into Providence! Hang around campus, there's always something going on.

    Food and Dining

    Salmanson dining hall has its days but if you don't want to go there South dining hall is really good, but you have to spend your dining dollars there.

    Dorm Life

    Small campus and no houses so no HUGE parties but you can definitely have fun, especially if you join greek life.

    Academic Rigor

    Requires hard work to do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepares you for the real world, but focused on business.

    In three sentences

    Bryant is a great school with a small, community feel. Classes are small which is good because some teachers can be difficult. Hard work but great reputation for placement after graduating.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Nonexistent really.

    Great for these types of students

    People who love to be around their friends 24/7 and business students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Around the world- first weekend at school.

    What to do for fun

    Suggest having a car!

    Food and Dining

    Salmonson is okay, but it is always crazy packed!

    Dorm Life

    Suite-life.

    Academic Rigor

    Be ahead on your stuff!

    Tips for prospective students

    Very Cliquey, keep an open mind, do your own thing!!

    In three sentences

    Rigorous work ethic. Great opportunities for Business Majors. No space for fun classes.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is a closed community and is like its own little town. I haven't heard of anybody feeling unsafe on Bryant's campus because it's all students and the campus police officers watch out for their students. I've walked from one side of the campus to another at 2am, alone, while feeling completely safe. The campus is beautiful at night and there is absolutely nothing to be afraid of walking around on campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is growing but nobody criticizes you if you are not in a frat/sorority. There are multiple frats to choose from and a few sororities. Alpha Omicron Pi is the newest sorority that came this past year.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many great clubs to choose from. At the beginning of each semester there is an organization fair where current students in certain organizations will have tables up and will tell you what their club is about. Definitely sign up on the e-mail list for all of the clubs that you have an interest in because it might take a while to find the one that suits you, best. Go to at least one meeting for all of the clubs you sign up for.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that plan on getting involved, being open to new experiences, and that have an interest in business should definitely come to Bryant. However, the liberal arts majors of Bryant are still growing and should not be ignored because they are good majors to choose from, as well!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Around the World is a huge campus tradition that happens the first weekend that everybody is back to school. Everyone goes down to the townhouses and the seniors have huge parties that everybody is invited to. Bingo is also a big thing on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Bryant University changed my life. Since I got involved and found an organization I loved, I met so many amazing people that I cannot live without. The classes are great and I've learned so much from my professors. The business classes are the best because they really get you prepared for the real world. The food could be better but there are food places off-campus that are available!

    What to do for fun

    There are many events on campus. The student programming board puts on events at no charge for all students. This includes comedians, musicians, games/prizes, off-campus trips, and more! Other organizations put on events for the whole campus, as well. Fliers and posters are posted all around campus when there is an event coming up. Bryant @ Night also puts on events for people on Friday/Saturday nights at 10pm. It is an alternative for drinking alcohol and partying which also goes on a lot on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The main place to get food is the Salmonson dining hall. Students can choose from 7, 10, 14, or 19 meals at the Salmonson dining hall a week. However, the more meals you get at the Salmonson dining hall, the less dining dollars you will have to spend at other food places on campus. I recommend the 10 meal plan. It is just the right amount of meals at the Salmonson dining hall and just the right amount of dining dollars for any other place on campus. However, I do wish there were more options to choose from. There are only three places to spend dining dollars on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are three freshman halls. Two of them are dorm-style (two roommates in one room) but one of the halls is suite style (three rooms, six people, two in each room). First-years are better off being in the dorm-style halls because it is easier to meet people on the floor. It will definitely open you up to a new experience and it will take some getting used to. If students are feeling homesick they can talk to their RA and they should be able to help. The RAs put on some events for the floor once in awhile and most of them are very friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Bryant University have high expectations for students. The workload can be overwhelming, at first, and finals week is taken really seriously. There will be people dressed up for business presentations every few weeks. These presentations really help students get to know their major and make them feel accomplished when they are finished with their project.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in sports, organizations, and/or Greek life right away. Doing so will help you meet other people and make friends. One of the top reasons people leave a college is because they do not have a social life. Definitely be open to new experiences but make sure that your grades are up to par! Really getting involved will make a huge difference on your college experience. It is important to remember that everyone is/was in the same boat.

    In three sentences

    Bryant University has small classes of a maximum of 40 students and it helps students get to know their professors. Tutoring and help with essays is always available, and so are professors at their office hours. Classes are never taught by teacher assistants, they are always taught by professors!

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One of the safest campuses in the United States. I have never had an issue with safety.

    Greek Life

    Growing number of fraternities and sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Various clubs and activities are on campus. Events happen almost every week.

    What to do for fun

    I play tennis and hang out with friends on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The campus food is good and healthy. However the options are limited

    Dorm Life

    Campus dorms are always improving and everything is located in close proximity to the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Bryant University offers courses that challenge students allowing them to grow.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and go to the orientation in order to learn about school quickly. Might with your academic adviser early on so you can plan your major quickly and take advantage of the study abroad programs offered at Bryant University.

    In three sentences

    Bryant University truly caters to their students. The facilities and technology are great and truly enhance the learning experience. The teachers enjoy teaching and are always willing to help students.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    its a little expensive but totally worth it they do help however it still cost money

    What to do for fun

    too many things to list!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Food and Dining

    its all you can eat and allows for your options however

    Dorm Life

    you can do what you wan to do. People have fun till late or go to bed early, just find your niche

    Academic Rigor

    its hard but you know you can the do the work if you put the effort into it

    Tips for prospective students

    Just manage your time well

    In three sentences

    It is a small school that cares about your success and your well being. There is a global perspective to everything that you do because they want you to look at the big picture

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    a highly safe campus. with such small numbers its not too hard to ensure the safety of everyone.

    Greek Life

    small but existent.

    Clubs and Activities

    No clubs in near distance however providence is 15 minutes away!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    oddly enough, one year the entire campus through themselves into the very swampy and dirty pond because the Redsox won the championship.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Bryant university is very friendly and welcoming offering students nightly events every weekend like bingo and laser tag!

    Food and Dining

    Salmonson, the cafeteria, is very average. There are other options but very few and one can only eat subway so many days of the week.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm quality is pretty poor and sad looking. Housing is guarantied which is a plus. However, the room are simply nothing above average...for a college setting.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically professors expect the best of you. This is college and the work become much more involved.

    Tips for prospective students

    Set your goals early. Create a good academic history for yourself from the start. beware of the food.

    In three sentences

    Bryant university sets you for a promising future. this campus is very homely and welcoming which is perfect for newly incoming students. lastly, Bryant widens your views on the global world we live in today and has many opportunities for networking.

  • 01/18/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Ate in the cafeteria on one of my visits and I really liked the food. Two salad bars, all you can eat ice cream, lots of seating and food options.

    Dorm Life

    I do not attend this school but they looked decent.

    Academic Rigor

    I do not attend this school but I sat in on a GFOB (Global Foundations of Organizations and Business) which is a first-year gateway class and I enjoyed it and learned a lot!

    In three sentences

    What is the Bryant University experience like for someone who does not choose to study business? I am undecided but I know science was added, so I was curious. I heard these classes are smaller (which is good) but are there any other big differences?

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a guard at the entrance to the school. Also, smithfield is nice as a whole, but where Bryant is located there isn't much around it. Providence isn't too far but still a car ride away, but otherwise nothing too terrible happens in Smithfield, Rhode Island. Campus Safety is very good.

    Great for these types of students

    People who are willing to work hard while at the same time have fun. People who are interested in going into business after college. People who are easy going and willing to try and experience new things.

    Bang for the buck

    My cousin says he's honestly going to miss this school so much. He tells me that he loved his time here and wishes he could just stay.

    What to do for fun

    Well, its a drinking school with a business problem ;)

    Food and Dining

    My cousin says the food is amazing.

    Academic Rigor

    Personally I'm not sure, but my cousin goes here and he says it's very hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like a small campus with a big school feel, this would be the school for you. About 4,000 people go here, but the campus is relatively small compared to schools like Uconn or Unh, but its beautiful and fairly modern.

    In three sentences

    Bryant is an extremely beautiful school. The people here are so friendly, and you can get amazing job opportunities from having a school such as Bryant on your resume.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    DPS: Department of Public Safety is on top of safety. I never had any worries when I was at Bryant. There is one entrance that most people use to enter the campus. After a certain a time in the day, they require ID to enter. They even check the public bus for ID.

    Greek Life

    You either love it, hate it, or don't care.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs to keep you busy. But most people do it just to make it look good for their resume. Make sure you participate in things that actually interest you because then you just won't care.

    Great for these types of students

    It is too closed off. Bryant is great for close-minded people

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Around the world: the first weekend when everyone moves back in, everyone heads to the townhouses and gets a shot from each townhouse. Hence the name around the world. You go around the townhouses for shots. Archway: In the middle of the campus, there is an archway. It is a legend that if you walk under it, you will not graduate. I've never tried it.

    Bang for the buck

    Some people get really scummy on the weekends. The alcohol gets to them.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing. The parties suck and DPS shuts them down really early. I recommend Providence but it can get pricey and it is pretty far if you do not have a car.

    Food and Dining

    I enjoy salmo. but most people enjoy south. The dining hall offers a lot of variety. There is stir-fry where they cook the food right there for you. Sometimes it is hit or miss.

    Dorm Life

    If you choose the right people to live with, you will enjoy your time. The walk from your dorm to the class is sooo short. The dorms are pretty nice.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the professor. If you get a professor that is passionate about what he or she is teaching, you will enjoy the class and not think of the difficulty. But if the professor is boring and cannot teach, you will not have the time of your life. It is what you make it. International Business is the hardest major there due to the IB block.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like cliques, a place where everyone knows everyone, then Bryant is the place for you. I recommend making the best out of it and surround yourself with good people. Take advantage of connections. That is really important when at Bryant because it is not in a big city like New York, it is harder to find a job.

    In three sentences

    Unfortunately, Bryant University was not the right fit for me. The location and the culture did not meet my expectations. It was too small and it had a high-school feel.

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For me, I like the athletics of Bryant University so I am usually at the gym playing basketball or working out. If that is not your scene then there are plenty of plays/shows to attend such as Mr. Bryant, which is a male-talent show. There are also many clubs and activities to join that work around your school schedule. Yes, there are parties but nobody will pressure you if you are not into that sort of thing. Altogether, you will never get bored at Bryant with all of the extra-curricular activities and sports teams to either join or watch.

    Food and Dining

    The food, for college food, is very good. They have a wide variety of food for all types of people. They range includes a varying main meal, grill with hamburgers etc., a sandwich line, a vegan line, soups, desserts, and an international section that has a variety of food from different cultures which is prepared right in front of you. The dining area is huge and you will also find a seat. There are televisions and windows to accompany everyone as they eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are primarily new and meet all accommodations. They could be a tad bigger but they are not terribly small. They have two beds, two dressers, two desks with built-in lamps, and two spacious closets. Everyone in the dorms are very close to one another, and the Resident Assistants do a great job at pulling everyone together with activities. The freshman dorms are in the middle of the campus and have an easy access to all buildings on campus. Overall, the dorms are exquisite for residency.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are small, around 20-30 students per classroom, but this is a good thing because the professors give each and every student the attention and help that they could possibly need. The professors do a great job at explaining all of the material as well. As for the classes themselves, they are a handful and a half of work. However, the work is manageable and easy to get a grip on. Most work is challenging but not overwhelmingly difficult and uses life-like situations to help exemplify all aspects of the material to help each student after each course.

    Tips for prospective students

    For all of those students looking to attend Bryant University, be ready to work your tail off. Bryant gives most freshman (pending on the class and professor), a lot of work, but all of it is manageable and will help you. Everyone there is extremely nice and helpful, especially the professors. The classrooms are small and all of the professors give you the attention that you need, and help that you deserve to succeed in the class and afterwords. Bryant prepares each student to establish a wide network to help them in the future. The food is decent for college food and there are plenty of activities to keep everyone entertained. Yes, there are parties but if you are not a drinker then there is more than enough activities to participate in. Overall, my freshman year has been great and so will yours.

    In three sentences

    Bryant University is a close-knit school that has everything one would need to succeed. It prepares all students for the real world and helps each student establish a profound network. On a scale of 1-10 (10 being the best), I would rate Bryant University a 9, even as a freshman attending the school.

  • 06/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    2nd safest campus in the country. Only one entrance and exit. The university has their own department of public safety that is on call all hours and readily available. As a female student I have never felt unsafe anywhere on campus, even walking alone at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of organizations on campus for all interests and types of students. Advertising for clubs are frequent and each is involved heavily on campus with ample resources and opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    Parties are plentiful on campus, especially on the weekends. Bryant's unofficial slogan among students is Today's alcoholics, tomorrow's CEOs. There are a few local bars that can be fun as well as a short drive to Providence. However if partying is not for you, there are plenty of alternative programs hosted by student organizations that take place throughout the week and weekend.

    Food and Dining

    There is currently only one place to use your meal swipes - at the main dining hall. The dining hall provides a good variety of all you can eat however the quality and popularity tends to vary on the offerings. There are more options to use your dining dollars - two cafe's with snacks and beverages as well as the very popular nick's place which offers salads, deli, and traditional grill options. Other food places on campus include a Subway, Dunkin Donuts, pizza place, and ice cream/convenience store which all accept regular cash or equivalent. The pizza place Ronzio's is open till 4am on weekends and perfect for late night or drunk munchies.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are all located in close proximity to one another. The majority are nothing special, your regular dorm setup - carpet floors, bed, dresser, desk, and closet given to each student. Dorms include a common room and bathroom with the exception of freshman halls. The newest dorm is hall 17 which is very nice, has an elevator and a pizza place on the first floor. The seniors live in townhouses located down from the main campus. Townhouses include two full baths, washer and dryer, kitchen, back deck, and living room area.

    Academic Rigor

    Overall are many classes and professors that are designed well and in great preparation for the real world. However I have had a few where the professor simply regurgitates information from a textbook and tests are based on memorization. It is unfortunate when this occurs because there are many great professors who actually teach and provide students with valuable lasting education necessary for their future careers. There are many opportunities for travel, internships, and organizations that enrich the student's learning. Bryant does a good job in preparing aspiring business students for the real world with an abundance of group projects that allow students to gain experience in working with others. There are plenty of resources available for any necessary assistance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you enjoy a smaller school, be prepared to see familiar faces every day. Merit scholarships are available for those who have shown good academic achievement in high school however still be prepared for a steep tuition bill - unless you're a division 1 athlete then you don't have to worry. Almost all classes are in the same building, which is convenient but can have a high school feel to it. Small class size will enhance your education and abilities for professor help, however participation is factored into your grade in almost every class - it does not go unnoticed when you don't show up. Also be prepared for a plethora of group projects.

    In three sentences

    Outstandingly beautiful and well designed campus. Preparing students for the real-world with a balanced education in both business and liberal arts. Warm, community feel - Bulldog nation stands as one.

  • 08/22/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Byrant University is small, close knit school with a beautiful campus. It has so many opportunities to offer to its students and is filled with motivated people who are truly invested in your success.