Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Bryn Mawr College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/31/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 out of 15 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you take your education seriously and are independent or want to become an independent woman, this is the school for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take lots of AP courses, not the gut AP courses. Interview is important. Make sure you know some of the history behind the school and make sure you are well prepared for your interview.

    Bang for the buck

    It's an expensive school but it is elite and that is what you expect for a school of this caliber. Financial aid is need based and if they really want you, the money will come.

    Will learn a lot

    The campus is absolutely beautiful. The academics are rigorous.

  • 05/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a place for academically driven girls who want to become strong, independent women and spend four years with such women. There are men around, but be look forward to a predominately female presence. The women here tend to have feminist and liberal views. There are others, but it's important that you're comfortable with this sort of environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take lots of AP courses. Take the exams as well so you can place out of some prerequisite courses. Visit the campus. Stay overnight.

    Bang for the buck

    Bryn Mawr is expensive but it the education is just what you would expect for the cost and it comes with access to all kinds of opportunities, services, and facilities that are definitely worth the money. Financial aid is also need-based and negotiable.

    Am enjoying being here

    Bryn Mawr is quite small, but it still has many opportunities. The campus feels a lot bigger because of the consortium with nearby schools. Having a new experience and a change of scenery is as easy as a bus ride to an event at Haverford or Swarthmore or taking a class at UPenn. This consortium really expands the academic and social opportunities here. But I also love to just stay on Bryn Mawr's gorgeous campus! The location is perfect. Bryn Mawr is in a nice little town that's just a train ride away from Philadelphia and not far from New York either. The community on the campus and the anything-goes zaniness really feels like home to me. I was a little unsure about going to a women's college, but it makes the community stronger and I feel very comfortable and empowered in this environment. Bryn Mawr's rich traditions also strengthen the community in a way that just wouldn't be as effective in a coed environment.

    Am learning a lot

    Bryn Mawr asks that you think critically, analytically, and carefully. Rather than teaching to a test, professors want you to absorb the material and formulate your own ideas about it. Dialogue with students and professors is encouraged, so you're challenged every day with new things to consider. In addition, I have so much support from my professors, advisors and peers!

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety can be seen patrolling the campus at all hours of the day.

    Great for these types of students

    This school can meet the needs for both the introvert and extrovert. Students that want a greek life, or a co-ed atmosphere, may need to reconsider applying to Bryn Mawr.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bryn Mawr College is well-known for its four major traditions: Parade Night, Lantern Night, Hell Week, and May Day. Each tradition is full of surprises and history.

    What to do for fun

    You have endless possibilities at your fingertips. Philadelphia is only 30 minutes away and is easily accessible by SEPTA (a regional train line). Not only do you have the 'City of Brotherly Love' down the street, you have five other schools in close proximity that share many parties and events.

    Food and Dining

    BMC has two wonderful dining halls, Erdman and Haffner. They not only cater to vegans and vegetarians, these dining halls are know for their ethnic bars and events. Take-out boxes available during the week and many spellbinding 'special dinners' throughout the year.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are beautiful during any season. Each one has its own personality, and many rooms come with fireplaces and spacious closets. Up to 25 first year students can get placed in a single. First year students live in a hall group of 8-14 students and 1-3 Customspersons for their entire first year. These groups become a tight-knit family over the course of the year, celebrating Bryn Mawr traditions, and hosting teas.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a lot of work involved, that many prospective students may not be used to. However, it is the high academic rigor that does prepare Bryn Mawr women on how to think and solve problems in the world.

    Tips for prospective students

    To excel at Bryn Mawr College you are not required to be perfect. Any one can go beyond expectations if they are passionate in what they do. If you have a goal or dream that drives you to achieve, Bryn Mawr will become a tool to your success. Use it wisely. Be ambitious, partake in traditions, live, and have fun.

    In three sentences

    Bryn Mawr College has taught me the most important life lesson that many colleges fail to acknowledge. You don't come to receive, you come to take. I don't receive an education, I take my education ambitiously and passionately.

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety is on campus 24/7 to help when needed. It's amazing how safe it is here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many, many many clubs that have something for everyone. Believe me.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types--bookish, wild, adventurous, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    1. Parade Night 2. Lantern Night 3. Hell Week 4. May Day

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely get my money's worth here in terms of overall experience and academics. This place has become my home, how much more bang for my buck could I get than that???

    What to do for fun

    1. Walk to ACME or the bakery in town. 2. Go to see a movie in the movie theater in town. 3. Go to PHILLY and have fun. It's just a convenient 30 min train ride away.

    Food and Dining

    Food is of the near highest quality. Dining service workers work hard and are friendly; and they all do something specials for many holidays, which is just a nice touch.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are gorgeous, stellar, comfortable, and (due to most of them being over a hundred years old) have a lot of personality. Housekeepers clean on a more than weekly basis and keep the dorms clean and tidy.

    Academic Rigor

    While the academics may be challenging, the professors really, really care about their students' progress, and who their students are as people. So. don't fret. I loved all of the classes I took my freshman year and it was because the classes were really geared towards my academic interests and the career path I planned on choosing. The small class sizes really make a difference: in getting to know your professors, and in class discussions as well..

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Be yourself. Please. Just do that and I promise you, you'll find your friends here. I know I did and it's made all the difference in the world for me. 2. The prospect of college may seem scary, but here, our school traditions really cater towards the freshman and helping them adjust 100% to the BMC way of life. 3. The school traditions (particularly Lantern Night and May Day) are AMAZING. You won't find traditions like these anywhere else, I can promise you.

    In three sentences

    An amazing place like no other. Rigorous academics force mawrters to become serious about what they want to achieve academically. Home.

  • 10/30/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who love to learn, who have diverse interests, who think outside of the box, who love Victorian traditions, who don't mind working hard, who don't love to party, who can be geeky or passionate.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the Best Value Colleges!

    Will learn a lot

    Bryn Mawr is known to be an amazing school for those who really work and love to learn. The environment stimulates academia and pushes students into their work and class material.

  • 06/24/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for the intellectual student who yearns to learn more and more. Any woman willing to apply what she has learned in the real world in a meaningful way will thoroughly enjoy BMC :).

    Tips for prospective students

    An all women's college is definitely NOT for everyone, so visit. The campus is beautiful, but quite suburban. If one is a city dweller like I am, it will be a shock, but that also does not mean that one cannot become adjusted to suburban life--the city is a 15 minute train ride away on SEPTA's regional rail. Definitely visit, however, to get a feel for the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Though pretty tough on the wallet, a Bryn Mawr education is absolutely worth it.

    Will enjoy being here

    Sisterhood environment due to its all womens atmosphere. Forget Greek life!

    Will learn a lot

    From what I know, the curriculum is quite challenging. However, there's been a change in the curriculum for my freshman year. Will re-evaluate in the fall.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    i am not sure yet, but i am required to put something, so this would be my guess. i hope i'm right!

    Tips for prospective students

    if at all possible, visit the campus. it makes a huge difference and can completely change your mind about whether you want to attend a certain college or not.

    In three sentences

    i am so excited to attend next year. i cannot wait for the many opportunities to explore different fields and learn about what i want to do with my life.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are shows/activities organized by the college and you can also visit Philadelphia

    Food and Dining

    Good food is always what we have

    Dorm Life

    Fun dorm life with friends

    Academic Rigor

    Mostly hard but doable

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be prepared

    In three sentences

    It's a home away from home and a school that helps you develop your brain ability and character

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is good. There are two different dining halls, one that serves a variety of food from different cultures (switches each day), and one that serves hot dogs and pizza and stuff.

    Dorm Life

    Not bad. Yet, there are some dorms that are better than others.

    Academic Rigor

    It's hard since it's private and so small.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and get an interview early. Deadlines sneak up on you! It's important to visit too because it's where you would be staying for a while. Also, taking AP exams is not completely necessary. If you want to skip the basic courses during freshman year, you can test out of them through placement tests. You just have to make sure you'll do well on the placement tests.

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety works with students, not against students - they're really the best.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We've got four main traditions on campus and... you've gotta be here to really appreciate them.

    What to do for fun

    I usually just hang out with my friends, catch a movie, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The special dinners really stand out here and the food day-to-day's really good too!

    Dorm Life

    Our housekeepers are awesome and keep our dorms clean and shiny!

    Academic Rigor

    There's no getting around the work here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your head down, and be active and passionate about what you do.

    In three sentences

    It's a great community academically, as long as you're willing to work hard, you'll get plenty out of your time here.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is nothing much to do unless you go to parties at the nearby schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with an open mind.

  • 10/21/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I loved the campus. The architecture is amazing and I love their traditions.

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Explore Philadelphia!

    Tips for prospective students

    As for help if you need it. Anyone and everyone on campus will help you.

    In three sentences

    Bryn Mawr has a nice, well-rounded, and diverse campus. It is academically challenging but there are a lot of ways to get help if you need it. It is one of the best colleges in the US.