Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Bucknell University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 out of 20 people found this review useful. 1 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -Hardworking -Determined -Resilient

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a work in the park, Bucknell is not for you. This small private university is very selective and is considered a Baby Ivy. If accepted, don't toss it away because it's not actually an Ivy. Depending on your course of study, Bucknell may suit your tastes even more. It truly is an excellent school. You will work hard and play hard.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are going for an engineering degree, every engineering student I've spoken with has gotten a job offer right out of senior year. Bucknell prepares their students for the work force. They teach you how to solve problems and use your own resources to come up with solutions. That's not to say that engineers are the only ones who succeed. The College of Engineering is only a small portion of the student population. The other Liberal Arts majors can excel in many aspects, from business, to art, to drama, to education.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have never felt so at home when I'm not at home. Bucknell is beautiful, open, and welcoming in every sense of the word. There is excellent food, nice dorms and great faculty who will come and eat lunch with you if you invite them. The social scene is mostly Greek dominated, so over 50% of the student population is involved in Greek Life. There are also great concerts and speakers which come to the campus frequently. The university makes sure that the student body gets a chance to experience things outside the bubble as it's not close to any major cities.

    Am learning a lot

    As a small private school, Bucknell pays attention to their students. I have never had a hard time talking or staying after with professors. They truly care that you learn the material and know your name. Taking on average five courses a semester, unlike high school where you glide over eight of nine courses, the smaller course load allows you to dig deeper into subjects and truly appreciate what you're learning.

  • 12/22/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Bucknell is great for the hardworking student who is looking to work closely with faculty members. Bucknell is great for students who enjoy living in a rural, small town environment (the nearest big name city is about three hours away!) and don't mind the seclusion this brings.

    Tips for prospective students

    My biggest tip for prospective students is to visit as many schools as you can. Before I visited schools I had an idea of which schools I thought I liked and which ones I wasn't so sure about, but I was very wrong. I never thought that I would love Bucknell the way I did, but visiting campus skyrocketed Bucknell to my top choice in one day. When you visit campus go to the info session, take a tour, but also give yourself time to explore. Go to the office of the major you're interested in and ask questions! Talk to students, professors, and staff members. Truly get to know the schools you want to apply to!

    Bang for the buck

    Bucknell is up there with some of the most expensive schools in the country and I believe that the price they ask is a bit much to ask a family to pay for the education of their child. However, I also know that I wouldn't be at Bucknell if my family and I didn't think that Bucknell was worth the money. The key to Bucknell's education is the opportunities that it provides for it's students. As a student, I believe it is my responsibility to take advantage of these opportunities and make my education worth the high cost.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love Bucknell. I love the campus, I love the students, I love my professors, I love my classes...EVERYTHING. Bucknell is a truly welcoming community that makes you feel right at home. I've made a lot of great friends at Bucknell, especially on my hall (freshman orientation at Bucknell is AMAZING). There are many ways for students to get involved on campus which can make the experience even more enjoyable. Bucknell is a lot of work, but it's also a lot of fun!

    Am learning a lot

    I feel like I've been able to learn so much in just one short semester! So far, my learning experience at Bucknell has been incredible. The professors at Bucknell are extremely dedicated to teaching and they are always happy to help students. My professor's office hours proved to be very valuable. Not only did going to office hours reinforce my understanding of class material, but it also helped me to create better relationships with my professors. I'm even making plans to do research with one of my professors in the spring semester! Doing research as a freshman is an opportunity I doubt I would have had at most of the other schools I was considering.

  • 07/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    As for any difficult college, Bucknell looks for students that are hardworking and particularly ambitious. My freshman year this past spring, I took the initiative to start up a new chapter of Engineers Without Borders at Bucknell. Thus, if you are bright, motivated, and looking for a campus with welcoming professors and students you can be close with whether it be academically, through clubs, or through Greek life, you will love Bucknell!

    Tips for prospective students

    From experience, I would definitely recommend applying early decision. So many students you meet on campus applied early decision simply because Bucknell wants students that want them. For a small school we have a great deal of spirit, and if you are questioning if Bucknell is the right fit, a quick visit on a pretty day will seal the deal for most anyone.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a small, private college, Bucknell is certainly pricey. Thus, students get a lot of cool perks for going here. We have free concerts, great food, an awesome gym, various cafes around campus there to cater to our daily need for a latte, and the beautiful campus we live in. However, the pricey part is difficult for many families, and each student must weigh their own pros and cons. For me, Bucknell is worth it simply for the professors. My freshman year I had classes averaging at 20 students, often less than, and professors that were there every day, particularly noticing when we were not. I spent many nights before a homework assignment was due at my teachers house going through a problem set, or afternoons in their office simply to talk about how I was doing. The attention and caring that Bucknell professors have for their students is worth the money.

    Am enjoying being here

    Many often refer to the Bucknell Bubble, suggesting that we live in our own little world here. In many ways, this is true. Students and faculty at Bucknell are so happily intrigued and involved in their passionate studies that we often tune out the rest of the world and simply enjoy what we are doing. The happiness at Bucknell is contagious year round, maybe except for those early morning walks to class in a blizzard.

    Am learning a lot

    I came to Bucknell for an Engineering degree, not fully realizing how much I would begin to get out of it. My classes are interesting and involved, taught by professors who care about how you are doing and go out of their way daily to make sure that you are not left behind. Bucknell attracts very smart people from all over, taking the learning experience beyond just the classroom every day.

  • 01/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Academically driven, those who want an INCREDIBLE greek system, those who want to KNOW their professors, those who want to be really close friends with their freshman hall, those who want a small community, those who want a liberal arts education, those who want to have fun, those who want to be around people who will challenge their skills in the best way possible, Engineers especially, (great program) there are a lot of english and psychology majors, international politics, economics, and a lot more! Check out the website for list of offered disciplines.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply Early Decision if you definitely want to go here. It increases your chances of acceptance and of course it's great to know a head of time, and get it out of the way! Furthermore, don't be scared off by the tuition. They are more than willing to help you or your parents with Financial Aid. Visit, do an overnight stay, do whatever you can to really get a feel for the campus. I knew I loved it when I arrived.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a freshman, I can't fully attest to this just yet, however my classes are great, I have no complaints about the quality of my room or the food because, of course, it is a dorm, and it is a cafeteria. I think in the end, my degree will be quite valuable. Also, by going to Bucknell, you are guaranteed a great liberal arts education that many employers appreciate. The career development center is incredible and hooks students up with interviews with prior Bucknellians in many professions and financial aid is great.

    Am enjoying being here

    Being a freshman is difficult at any school, that's for sure, but the orientation process is impeccable at Bucknell. You become SO close with your hall and many other freshman immediately, even the orientation assistants. I, myself, have become very close with both of mine. Furthermore, Bucknell is BEAUTIFUL, the cafeteria is great and the Bison (the order your food place) is great too. I've heard that it's much better than other college cafeterias. There are a million clubs to get involved in and the people are genuinely nice and caring. There is something for everyone. I'm proof.

    Am learning a lot

    Classes are definitely challenging, but the Professors are great! All of them offer office hours and are more than willing to help you if you ask. The library is a great place to study if your dorm room isn't quiet and the downhill dorms that are away from the library often have study rooms that are just as comfortable. It's a great learning environment and I don't know many students who aren't happy with the educational aspects.

  • 01/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you decide Bucknell is the place for you, I would say you should be ready to be worked, but have a lot of fun too! You may find that course work takes up a good deal of your time, but it is so worth it because this is where you can really explore your interests. Socially speaking, get ready to feel right at home here. If you truly want to get to know the professors on campus and the students on your hall, in your classes, and in the activities you join then Bucknell is for you. There is something for everyone at Bucknell!

    Tips for prospective students

    What really did it for me was the visit. On paper Bucknell University seems like a nice place with a great academic program, but once you visit it will be clear that it is much, much more. While Bucknell is a very tough school to get into, don’t let that discourage you from applying if you really believe that’s where you want to go. The Admissions team looks at the applicant as a whole and decides based on more than just your scores. I still wonder to this day how I made it in, but the point is that it is not impossible. Attend Bucknell and you will not be disappointed!

    Bang for the buck

    Although I haven’t been at Bucknell for more than one semester, I would say I am definitely getting what I pay for. Looking at the overall cost, Bucknell is quite expensive. It’s overwhelming at first, but they do give out a good amount of financial aid in the end. I will have quite a few loans by the time I get out, but I think it is definitely worth it to continue going to Bucknell.

    Am enjoying being here

    College is a scary thought for someone who hasn’t been away from home for a long time. I remember it was for me, but Bucknell does such a good job at settling first years in. Their orientation program is exceptional at getting everyone comfortable with one another. You make tons of friendships with your hall and really get to know those living around you. The cafeteria has a wide variety to choose from and I can always find something good to eat. Whenever I walk around campus I often find myself in awe that there could be such a place as amazing as Bucknell.

    Am learning a lot

    The number one thing I was looking at during my college search was the school's academics. I knew of Bucknell's great scholastic reputation going in, and it was easily why I chose Bucknell over all the other schools I applied to, but I can't begin express how much I have already learned after just my first semester! My courses were so academically stimulating that I found myself at times going to the library to do extra research. I was always excited to go to my professors’ office hours to ask questions because they were always excited to help their students. I was told students at small schools have one-on-one relationships with their professors and at Bucknell this really is true. I cannot wait to start the next semester!

  • 01/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Saftey officers truly have the students' needs in mind. Despite the fact that they have full jurisdiction over campus (they are a legitimate police force as defined by the laws of PA), they are not out to bust students. Students know that the officers care about students and have no problem calling the department if things get out of hand.

    Greek Life

    Most fraternities are great. Some provide a greater degree of brotherhood than others. Sometimes students become overwhelmed with the social scene as it is dominated by Greek Life. Unfortunately, some Greek organizations make poor decisions and have been removed from campus in recent years. Sororities are questionable, but incredibly popular. Girls are friends with many of their sisters, but not the majority of their sisters because sororities are so large.

    Clubs and Activities

    You will not find a school of this size with more activities. On top of that, you can set up new organizations with relative ease and receive funding from Bucknell Student Government. That being said, students are sometimes spread too thin because Bucknellians tend to be involved in multiple activities including Greek organizations.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a balance between academics and social life. The guy you see out imbibing on a weekend night might have a 4.0 in chemical engineering.

    Food and Dining

    Tasty, but a little pricey. If you ever abandon your cafeteria plan after first year (all first years are required to have an unlimited meals plan), you will dearly miss the desserts.

    Dorm Life

    Almost every dorm is air conditioned and have more than enough room for students. There are a few older dorms that are still being updated, but the vast majority of students have few if any complaints. Additionally, the custodial staff is incredibly friendly!

    Academic Rigor

    Engineers will find that they spend more time in class than their liberal arts counterparts (this should really be a 5 star review for engineering). The engineering programs are among the top in the country, and the ability of the professors to teach undergraduates is unsurpassed by any institution that I have encountered. Most liberal arts students could complete a double major with decent planning. Regardless of one's major, students benefit from the undergraduate focus at Bucknell and often have the opportunity to do research with their professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to spend a lot of time on campus! Bucknell is not in a major metropolitan area and students tend to spend most of their time on campus or in the downtown area that borders campus. Despite the rural area, Bucknell brings good

  • 07/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Personality is key. Make sure admissions can see how well you can thrive in your personal statement.

    In three sentences

    Bucknell is an ideal school for students who want to work hard and play hard.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard-working, wanting to be engaged, able to think critically and hypothetically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Form good study habits BEFORE attending

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    you'll always feel safe. lewisburg is a very safe town but public safety is always there in case.

    Greek Life

    the crux of social life depends on greek life. parties, weekend events, and house party weekend are all made responsible by greek organizations. most would argue that greek life has a positive influence on the school and community. although one can certainly get by without being greek, most do rush. first years can not rush.

    Clubs and Activities

    if you want it, we have it. it seems there is a club for everything here and if you can't find it, there is definitely the funding to start your own.

    What to do for fun

    bucknellians know how to party. if you are looking for an active social scene heavily influenced by greek life then this is the school for you. there are tons of other, non greek, options available on the weeks that can be hit or miss.

    Food and Dining

    food is not bad but you can quickly run out of options. small town so not too many new places to go eat. on campus food is not bad but starts to all taste the same after a while.

    Dorm Life

    for first years dorm life can be hit or miss. if you are lucky to end up in a dorm such as mcdonnell hall you are set for the year. if you end up in larrison you may not have as much of a great experience. of course, it was what you make it.

    Academic Rigor

    this is why students, and professors, come here. they want to learn from the best and of the best. bucknell puts education and students first in ways that most schools don't. coming here you can count on quality education and a challenge waiting to be met.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very committed public safety. also the school is in a small town. so its very safe. i don't have to lock my room

    Greek Life

    very dominant. 50% of campus

    Clubs and Activities

    over 150 clubs and organizations

    Great for these types of students

    greek life driven students business students social justice

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    reunion weekend has many traditions that are observed, such the then and now skit that shows how life was say, 50 years ago. we all have fireworks on reunion weekend

    Bang for the buck

    its worth the money you pay for it.

    What to do for fun

    hang out with friends got to the bar go to frat parties

    Food and Dining

    the food is not too bad. many options but it does get monotonous

    Dorm Life

    residential college experience is awesome especially for freshmen. i am still close o my freshman hall.

    Academic Rigor

    great academic programs that challenge students

    Tips for prospective students

    you must be willing to integrate and be open-minded to different views and personalities.

    In three sentences

    bucknell is a wonderful institution with a great network of alumni, staff and faculty that invest heavily in your education and career development. small class sizes that enable student-teacher connections and student development. great school of management

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many activities scheduled every weekend by the ACE program on campus from chess matches to raves. There are also other activities to do in the surrounding like bounce funplex, bowling, roller skating, and many restaurants to eat at.

    Food and Dining

    There is only one dining hall Bostwick Cafeteria where freshman will mainly go to. This is because they have the unlimited plan whichmeans they can get into the caf however many times a day they want. It is a buffet style place for all three meals, and from 9-11 every night is breakfast sandwich night. one floor below is the Bison which is usually where upperclassmen go because they live off campus and its kind of like a restaurant

    Dorm Life

    Freshman year you get assigned to a co-ed hall with other freshman. After that you get a lottery number and can block with up to 3 other people for the next year. Dorms are lots of fun with many different people to hang out with .

    Academic Rigor

    Definitely have to study for all classes quite a bit, but of course it depends on the major and class. Overall classes are pretty hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    College of Engineering is very hard to get into as well as the Management major.

    In three sentences

    It is a great small university with great professors. It is in the middle of PA and is about 2.5 hours away from the nearest big city. Sports are pretty big here especially soccer.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I definitely feel safe. People leave out their laptops/text books in the library and I feel comfortable walking home from any building late at night even when I'm alone.

    Greek Life

    AMAZING. You rush as a sophomore so you have plenty of time to relax freshman year and know a lot of people going into the system.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Check out the Freeze! Everything is close by and easy to get to. Downtown Lewisburg is so cute.

    Bang for the buck

    Super pricey, but definitely worth it for undergrad. I can't imagine myself at any other school.

    What to do for fun

    BU after dark (an all night carnival), trips to New York and D.C., Fall Fest (an outdoor concert), a larger fall and spring concert, Greek life, Uptown (the free night club), and so much more!

    Food and Dining

    Two main food options (an all you can eat cafe and an a-la-cart venue) seem limited on the small campus, but there's always something new to try as well as repeating favorites and be sure to check out the terrace room for lunch!

    Dorm Life

    Rooms are spacious, comfortable (as long as they have air conditioning, some don't) and easy to make your own.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel challenged and excited by my major. People like to talk about what they're doing. We work hard and play hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to be in a Residential College (they get the best dorms), take advantage of the huge gym and campus life, and don't be afraid to try something new, like greek life or a club.

    In three sentences

    I have fallen I love with Bucknell. I never expected to find such a perfect mix of academics, social life, and campus activities. Students are proud to be here, and it shows in the culture and energetic atmosphere around the beautiful campus.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun: Bounce Funplex, Bowling, Roller Skating, Ice Cream, Good Restaurants Downtown, and many other things.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good. For freshman you have the unlimited plan and can go to the Bostwick cafeteria as many times as you want throughout the day. Starting at 9pm late night dining starts where you can get made-to-order breakfast sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    You get assigned a room on freshmen halls for your first year but after that you can get rooms with friends you have made over the years. You can get rooms on normal halls like your freshman year or apartments called Gateways.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you come to the school to check it out first, the small school isnt for everyone. The academics is also fairly tough as well. Students are very friendly and food is pretty good as well.

    In three sentences

    Great university. It is in rural PA which is very nice because it is a small college as well. There are still many things to do there and academics is very intense.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Bucknell is a very safe campus. The campus police, Public Safety, is ready to help students and are generally friendly. They are present on weekends but do not take unnecessary action.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is extremely prominent at Bucknell. While joining a fraternity or sorority is not something you have to do to have fun, it does open a lot of doors and give you a lot of opportunities. It is a great way to meet people, and because you cannot rush until your sophomore year you are still able to meet people outside of your organization.

    Clubs and Activities

    Bucknell has a huge variety of clubs and activities. Music groups, clubs for the different academic departments, and casual sports are some of the options. They are strongly supported by the University and the faculty and staff, and if there is not a club for something you are interested in you can create one.

    What to do for fun

    Bucknell is located in the small town of Lewisburg, PA. While the town is small it does have several bars and restaurants and boutiques students can visit. There are many options on campus as well. Greek life is very prominent, but student associations put on several events each weekend. Some examples are $1 showings of current movies, events at an on campus nightclub (Uptown), and comedians and musicians. Many options are available for students.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Bucknell is much better than the usual college food. There is one dining hall, Bostwick Marketplace, where all freshman as well as many upperclassmen eat. The food is often made from local ingredients and there is a lot of variety as well as options such as vegan and vegetarian. The Bison is an a la carte option with many prepackaged options, and there is a small cafe in the Library (great for a quick snack or drink). The 7th Street Cafe is also a great place to grab a sandwich or salad and a drink.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Bucknell are generally nice. Some of the older ones don't have air conditioning and are a little more run-down but are not in any way unreasonable to live in. The dorms are spread around campus and there are a variety of small houses (some with specific focuses, like theatre) that give different experiences. Many seniors also choose to live in the Gateways, which are on-campus apartments or suite-type housing. Some students also live off campus. The variety is very nice and all of the options are good.

    Academic Rigor

    Bucknell has a very challenging workload for students, regardless of major. Professors push students to succeed and if you work hard you will gain a great deal from your education. The workload is heavy but generally appropriate and most students put a great deal of effort into their studies.

    In three sentences

    A picturesque university located in a fairly small town, Bucknell University gives students a rigorous liberal arts education. The university is relatively small and is a close-knit community. The professors and students are passionate about the college.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is not much chance to go off campus, so socially we mainly go to athletic events, hang out with fellow students or enjoy parties and get togethers.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like the smaller type of colleges, then Bucknell is right for you.

    In three sentences

    It is a small school in a rural part of Pennsylvania. The campus community is very close and tight night. The students are very friendly.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have our own Campus police, or p-safe as we like to call them. They are on call 24 hours a day, for anything from emergencies to something as simple as getting your car jumped. There are blue light emergency phone booths that are visible from any point on campus, so if you should be in an emergency outside at any time, safety is near. However, the crime on Bucknell's campus is virtually non-existent; the biggest things we have had to deal with are drugs and alcohol problems and sexual assault among the students. No outside trouble makers have ever found their way onto our campus as far as I can recall. Lewisburg is a quiet, very safe area.

    Greek Life

    About 70-75% of the students at Bucknell are in a fraternity or sorority. It goes without saying, then, that Greek life here is HUGE. The fraternities have their own houses, while the sororities live in one sorority mansion as we like to call it. All of the frats and sororities are extremely close to one another, and often host parties and campus events together. If you want to join an organization that does good things for others and also provides you with a support system and family here, then Greek life is for you.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs on campus, from intramural sports, to student activities, to comedy and performing arts troupes. Anything you want to do, we have it here at Bucknell. Sports are huge, too--whether you are on a varsity team or just like to go watch, almost everyone here is into sports in some way.

    Great for these types of students

    Academically driven, athletic, and outgoing students. With not much to do here, making friends is imperative! You also really need to know how to balance your priorities. Partying is a huge distraction, but as long as you know how to get your work done and done right, you should have no problem having a good time and still get good grades.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During freshmen orientation, all the first-years walk through the Christy Mathewson memorial gates during convocation, and only walk through them once more, at graduation. It marks the beginning and end of your time at Bucknell. Legend has it that if you kiss your sweetheart on the Academic Quad above Freas Hall at sunset, you'll get married! Hunt Hall, our sorority house, is said to be haunted by a past sorority girl, who likes to steal clothes and misplace items of the current residents. If you're a sports fanatic, the Sojka Psychos are the student group on campus dedicated to dressing up and being as loud and rowdy as possible at our men's basketball games--which almost always are packed with students and fans. On the Wednesday before finals start, we have Reading Day, which is a day with no classes in which you can relax and reset your mind to get ready for finals, or spend all day in quiet studying for your first test. During Finals week, the caf offers free food every single night, starting with Breakfast with the Deans in which Deans and Professors are behind the grills, making all your favorite breakfast foods.

    Bang for the buck

    Although it is expensive, the education you'll get at Bucknell is invaluable. It is one of the top liberal arts institutions in the nation for a reason; you'll be pushed to your academic limits, but you'll come out a better person in the end. And you will make the best friends of your life here, which is something you might not find anywhere else.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club or sports team!!! There are tons of clubs to join, and at freshman orientation there is a HUGE club fair where you can walk around and see what everyone has to offer, and sign up for them there. The Susquehanna Valley Mall is only 15 minutes away, so if you have a friend with a car, you can hang out there. At least once a month, ACE, the student activities club, puts on trips to nearby cities like Washington DC, Philadelphia, and New York. They are only about 3 hours away and you get to spend all day there. We also always have comedians or student performances going on that always draw big crowds. Being as Bucknell is in a rural area, fun things to do can be hard to find, and we do have a reputation as a big party school. Fraternities host huge dance parties every weekend, and things get hot and crazy there. But if that's not your thing, there is plenty of shopping to do in downtown Lewisburg or the surrounding areas; you can float down the Susquehanna River; you can go for a hike or bike ride along one of the many nature trails around here; or go to the corn maze at Ard's Farm. There is a lot to do if you want to explore.

    Food and Dining

    My friends and I have had visitors who have told us that our dining hall is thousands of times better than theirs at other public and private universities. In Bostwick Dining Hall, or The Caf as we call it, the food is buffet style and you always have a choice of friend foods and burgers, pasta, salad bar, cooked-to-order stir fry, a cereal wall with every type of cereal you can imagine, an egg bar, an awesome dessert table, and everyone's favorite, an ice cream bar with both hard and soft serve. Freshmen are required to get the unlimited caf plan for their full first year, so the caf is often full with other first-years. For the upperclassmen, The Bison, which is located on the floor below the caf, serves as their main source of food and hanging out. The Bison has Mexican, Pasta, Pizza, an all-day breakfast bar and grill, deli sandwiches and subs station, and hundreds of other choices of candy, chips, salads, fruits and veggies, and drinks. The only complaint that many have is that the food here is very overpriced, and oftentimes we have to add money to our dining dollars at the end of the semester so we can eat. It costs a fortune to attend Bucknell as it is, and we shouldn't have to worry about whether or not we can afford meals for two weeks at the end of the semester.

    Dorm Life

    Almost all of the dorms have AC. They are all pretty spacious, and everything on campus is in easy walking distance--it only takes about 8 minutes to walk from the farthest edge of campus to the other. Your freshman hall oftentimes becomes your family and closest friends throughout your four years here. Some of the dorms are a little older, but have gone under extensive renovations in the past few years. And by 2014, we will have brand new dorms for upperclassmen, which are rumored to be apartment-style.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are for the best of the best. Professors are always available to help you as much as they can, but ultimately your fate is in your own hands. I can't begin to tell you how many all-nighters I've pulled during finals week. The stress can be a lot sometimes, but the light at the end of the tunnel pushing all of us forward is the fact that we earned the degree that says Bucknell University on it--one of the bets institutions in the nation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be intimidated by all the beautiful people- everyone is extremely friendly. Almost everyone here is or was at one point an athlete, so fitness is huge here. We live in the middle of nowhere! So if you're looking for a big city with lots of stuff to do, this isn't the school for you. But we do know how to have TONS of fun with what we've got here, so don't worry--if you come to Bucknell, you're guaranteed to have a good time and make the best friends of your life.

    In three sentences

    Bucknell is where the students work hard and play hard. Greek life and athletics are huge. It is a beautiful place to live and get your degree.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's in Lewisburg, Pennsylvania--rural, very, very low crime rate, great place to raise children...it's safe.

    Greek Life

    The frats make partying fun! Plus, the fraternity and sorority houses are pretty nice....they kinda look like mansions!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs and activities! It is great to be involved--you won't get bored at Bucknell.

    Great for these types of students

    Smart, Friendly, Preppy, Engaged and Interested, Open to learn new ideas/things

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Bison statue--ride it! First Night--a ceremony for first-year students Bucknell has a deep history, so there are a lot of cool traditions. Ray' Bucknell!

    Bang for the buck

    Bucknell is expensive ($56,190) a year but I would say that it is definitely worth the money. The education at Bucknell is great, the campus is beautiful, the dorms are nice, the people are friendly, the food is great, the sports teams are pretty good...I really can't complain. You get what you pay for!

    What to do for fun

    The town of Lewisburg is quaint and offers tons of cute shops. A lot of Bucknell students are involved locally through volunteering and other activities. The presence of Greek life also makes Bucknell a fun place to party, and the school itself offers plenty of social events and options, such as concerts and trips.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is great! Seriously, it is gourmet. Fish, good meat, tons of fresh fruit and vegetables (grown locally!), great breads, vegetarian options, and the oh-so-wonderful dessert table.

    Dorm Life

    Hotel Bucknell is the nickname of the dorms--all of them are very nice and clean. Out of all of the colleges that I visited, Bucknell had by far the best dorms. Plus, they are always updating the dorms every couple of years.

    Academic Rigor

    Bucknell is almost Ivy League--it is most certainly a tough school, but the professors/staff are very helpful, and you feel like you are truly learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Whether it be a sport, club, or sorority/fraternity, it is great to be involved at Bucknell because there is a great sense of community and togetherness. Also, do not be afraid to ask questions! The staff at Bucknell is great at answering any questions or concerns you may have.

    In three sentences

    All of the students and faculty members are friendly and super approachable. Bucknell offers a wide variety of different courses, and is known for its academic prestige. The campus is absolutely beautiful, the dorms are very nice (aka Hotel Bucknell) and the cafeteria food is more like restaurant food--it is delicious!

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have these blue lights located all around campus that are hooked up to Public Safety Offices. The campus is very safe and I have never felt unsafe walking home alone at night. Bucknell is not located in an urban, high-crime area.

    Greek Life

    Greek life, as I have said, is a staple to Bucknell's social scene. Be prepared to join a fraternity or sorority. If not, clubs and sports team will provide you with a social outlet.

    Clubs and Activities

    Bucknell has a range of clubs and activities that represent all diverse groups and demographics from newspaper clubs, to politically oriented clubs, to clubs about gender equality, and so on. There are so many clubs that any incoming student is bound to find one they will fit into.

    Great for these types of students

    Smart kids who like to party and be a part of a group within a small campus. Be aware that the campus is located in a rural area, so heavy drinking in frat basements is something an incoming student should expect.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Zelda's cafe is known for their great caffineated drinks and is a great study environment. Unusual traditions include going to the 7th Street Cafe late night and eating a forth meal.

    Bang for the buck

    You get the education you pay for. I know I did not waste my money at Bucknell University.

    What to do for fun

    The town is quaint and small, but can be a lot of fun if you're with an intimate group of people. Greek life dominates the social scene and downtown parties are a key staple to a lot of the partying life at Bucknell. If you are a freshman boy, be prepared to play video games those first few semesters.

    Food and Dining

    Dining Services is actually remarkably on point with cleanliness and quality. You can get anything from burgers to sandwiches to sushi at Bucknell's diverse dining hall. Check out off campus eateries like Zelda's or Maya's for a small cafe and great study environment.

    Dorm Life

    There is a clear difference in quality of dorming for freshman as opposed to upperclassmen, but I think this is the case at many other schools as well. I love my dorming situation and lucked out with a wonderful roommate my freshman year in 2009.

    Academic Rigor

    Bucknell is very much a work hard, play hard school. The academics are rigorous in that most students average 5-10 hours of homework per week. This excludes studying for exams and actual classroom time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to be immersed in Greek Life. Be prepared to pay a high tutition (50K+/year). Be prepared for a small environment with attentive teachers and small classes.

    In three sentences

    Bucknell is a great place to work hard and play hard. With small intimate classrooms and professors who strive to provide individual attention, you are certain to gain the valuled education that you're paying for. Greek life has an extraordinary presence on Bucknell's campus.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety officers are constantly patrolling campus to make sure all students are safe.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life makes up 60% of upperclassmen. It is huge at Bucknell.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs it is almost ridiculous. There are so many opportunities to try new things or continue current hobbies and to reach out to the community.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want the whole college experience. You'll see great academic achievements during the week and you are able to blow off steam at parties and social gatherings on the weekends.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The 7th street cafe is a favorite place of mine. It is a cute little cafe that is a great place to hang out with friends or to get some studying done.

    Bang for the buck

    Bucknell offers financial aid in generous amounts depending on your financial situations at home. They really work to provide each student with the amount of money that they need in order to make their academic dreams come true.

    What to do for fun

    A lot of the campus is Greek so parties are a deal pastime on weekends, but there are other activities that accommodate those who are not into the party scene.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is wonderful! It is all you can eat whenever you want. As a freshman you are assigned an unlimited cafe plan. Fresh food and many choices are available all the time!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great, especially for the incoming freshmen. Many universities have tiny rooms and dorms set up for the freshmen, but Bucknell offers many great dorms that house mainly freshmen.

    Academic Rigor

    Every class has many aspects that are meant to challenge the way that you think and act. The classes are meant to exercise critical thinking and application.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember why you are coming to college. Do not get caught up in the party scene too quickly. Studying is much harder and longer than anything high school threw at me so I would say that you need to adjust to the rigor of the courses and the pace at which material is covered.

    In three sentences

    Bucknell is a beautiful place that is thriving with every club or activity you can think of. The classes are intellectually challenging and the people are welcoming. I am lucky to call this campus my home.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You never really hear about any big problems or safety issues on campus so I think the campus is pretty safe to begin with but just in case we have emergency buttons posted throughout campus that can be seen from wherever you are. Also public safety drives around 24/7 as a way of patrol.

    Greek Life

    This is huge at Bucknell. You are most likely the minority if you are not involved in Greek life. I am not in Greek life but I am an athlete. Not being involved with the Greek life has not really had any effect on me. You can still have a great time, but if you do want to go greek, Bucknell is the right place!

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for anything and everything you could possibly be interested in. Get involved!!!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Homecoming is always a fun and exciting weekend to go out and enjoy being a part of the Bucknell community. There is also

    What to do for fun

    There are always several events going on every weekend and sometimes during the week. We have concerts, speakers, comedians, and other fun events such as arcade and fair-like nights.

    Food and Dining

    The caf is always good food with a pretty decent variety. The Bison is mostly where upperclassmen eat and it is also great food and great service.

    Dorm Life

    Certain dorm buildings are better or worse than others but none of them are terrible. They are currently building some new dorms/ on campus apartments which should make dorm life a little nicer.

    Academic Rigor

    Bucknell is one of the top liberal universities in the country and it is for good reason. The professors here expect a lot out of you but they are also willing to help you if you put in the effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. Not only does it make your college experience more fun and interesting, but it helps you learn a lot about time managemet and other important life skills.

    In three sentences

    Bucknell has a beautiful and comfortable campus that makes it easy to enjoy attending class here. The university supports and caters to a diverse number of students and groups. They push each student to strive for academic and extracurricular excellence.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Bucknell is great for students who prefer individualized attention from professors in challenging classes. Lectures are larger than normal classes but still not overwhelmingly large, your professors will know your name.

    Bang for the buck

    Bucknell is extremely expensive but there are a lot of scholarship options available.

    What to do for fun

    For fun there is always movie watching in common rooms or simply hanging out with friends. There is delayed rush at Bucknell so many Freshman, especially Freshman boys stay away from Fraternity parties.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Bucknell is fine. I personally enjoy the salad bar and make elaborate salads to add variety to my meals. I try and shy away from the pizza and heavy pastas on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a large part of the college experience. Living with other students is exposure to other parts of the world, traditions, and cultures. People are friendly and are looking to make friends especially during orientation. If any student has a problem on the hall, RA's are there to talk to and solve any conflicts.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor I find depends on how much each student is willing to push his or herself. This also seems to depend on intended major. For students in the College of Engineering for example, academics are much more focused on Math, Physics, and ENGR general edu. courses. These, from what I see, require a lot of determination and dedication to be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and take as many AP classes as you can; these will better prepare you for college rigor.

    In three sentences

    Bucknell is a great place to challenge yourself academically in any field you so choose. Professors are dedicated to their students and are open to questions and very flexible with office hours. There is plenty to get involved with on campus such as intramural sports club or varsity along with a myriad of clubs and organizations.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. Bucknell is very community oriented so there isn't really any interstudent dangers present on campus, and public safety takes care of any outside threats, assuming there even is any. Lewisburg is a very quaint town and everyone is generally nice, but there isn't really much reason to go off campus so college life at Bucknell is generally low risk.

    Greek Life

    Greek life definitely exists in Bucknell, but I don't think that detracts at all from the social scene. I suppose guys feel more pressure to join a frat or athletic team if they want to be part of the party scene, but girls can flit in and out of the party scene regardless of whether or not they are in a sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not too familiar with many of the clubs around campus, although be assured they do exist. There are activites hosted by the university all the time and they are all generally fun.

    Great for these types of students

    Bucknell is great for hardworking, dedicated students although it also accomodates rich party animals, but there will be party animals at any college. Regardless of one's extracurricular life, Bucknell is definitely for the academic.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    All the meters around Lewisburg are shut down and there's free parking everywhere around the holidays-Thanksgiving and Christmas.

    Bang for the buck

    Bucknell is outrageously expensive. I have to remind myself that the degree my degree will be worth it, but seriously, it's expensive. Depending on your major, you'll have to decide whether or not your specific degree will be worth the expense and hard work Bucknell entails

    What to do for fun

    There are parties seriously everywhere. Non-alcoholic events are also held at Uptown, located in Swarts Hall and it usually involves food, so thumbs up. Also there are cool events every Friday night, which also involves food and Fun so suffice to say, Bucknellians are happy.

    Food and Dining

    I've been told that Bucknell provides one of the best food services. It can't compare to eating at home, but as far as college fare goes, it's tops. It's open 24/7 though so beware of the Freshman 15+. Plus the milkshakes at 7th Street are a must.

    Dorm Life

    I am in CHOICE housing, which is substance-free, meaning no alcohol or drugs allowed. I am very happy with this program and would definitely recommend it. In CHOICE, you don't have to deal with drunk idiots or stoners on your floor. It's great even if you want to party since you can go party somewhere else, but come back to a nice, clean, sober dorm when you're done.

    Academic Rigor

    Bucknell is a very good academic school and the courses are very demanding. I speak mainly of the Engineering program since I know that the Arts and Sciences college is generally less rigorous and overall easier than the College of Engineering

    Tips for prospective students

    Be smart with partying. Parties are there for those who want them, but just remember that you have to work hard in school if you want to party hard.

    In three sentences

    Bucknell is aesthetically pleasing yet a little isolated. It is located in small town America, better known as the middle of nowhere. However Bucknell's academics are great and the campus is very accomodating.

  • 01/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    It is very academically challenging so be prepared to work.

    In three sentences

    An outstanding institution. Very challenging courses and the professors care about your future. Beautiful campus.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 24 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, sports teams, volunteer, Greek life is popular.

    Food and Dining

    The caf has a huge variety of food, but it's the same stuff everyday.

    Dorm Life

    It really depends on where you live. Underclassmen dorms like Larison cottage, Vedder, Smith, and McDonnell are decent. Others like Swartz and Harris are disgusting.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are either a hit or miss. Some work hard and genuinely care about your learning, and others are just there because of their tenure.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come here if you don't like drinking or partying because there WILL be peer pressure to drink.

    In three sentences

    There is a lot of drinking and partying on campus. The school is not diverse at all and everyone is white. Everyone dresses the same - really preppy.

  • 08/11/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    This school has a huge Greek life with a delayed rush--you can't participate until you're a Sophomore, which is nice because it gives you a chance to adjust to college life and to discover what Greek life is all about for those of us who aren't so sure.

    Food and Dining

    It's okay, the town is small so there aren't many options. I didn't get a chance to eat in the cafeteria, but I've heard good things, just that it gets old after a while.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are standard size and according to my guide are very good at coordinating roommates--so long as your honest on your questionnaire.

    Academic Rigor

    This is definitely a rigorous school--especially the school of engineering which is highly competitive. The school being a mostly undergrad university, undergrads get to participate in many research projects with professors that would otherwise be reserved for graduates.

    Tips for prospective students

    VISIT CAMPUS! I didn't really think much of Bucknell before I visited--it was just another school on my college road trip--but, wow, did they leave an impression! It may seem like just another school, but you really don't know until you visit. It was probably my most influential college visit.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's school clubs and parties most weekends. Besides that, there aren't many things to do on campus or in town.

    Food and Dining

    It gets fairly monotonous quickly. It's better if you're not a picky eater.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms vary greatly. The newer ones are much better than the older ones located downhill.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on your major. Any science or engineering major is going to be working constantly. Some people will take five classes in one semester and others will only take two.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely have a drivers licence before going to campus. Also, be ready to be overwhelmed be Greek presence on campus.

    In three sentences

    A school located in a small town where students have a work hard, play hard mentality. There isn't much to do outside of campus, so things can become monotonous after a while. Besides that, the professors range from great to plain crazy.

  • 04/16/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    27 of 27

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Seems very academically prestigous. I like the area. Social aspects of the campus seem interesting.