Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Buena Vista University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/09/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is an awesome school for those who are used to small schools and want to make great grades, there is always a place to study besides the library and your room.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you want to go to this school before coming here, cause it does get cold, very cold. And some people transfer cause of the weather. Also make sure you have loans, scholarship, whatever to come here, they may give you money, but you need to make sure you have enough to pay for it all.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though it an expensive school, its worth it. You don't just get an academic education you also get a life lessons. There are so many things I have learned and those are kept in my head in a folder. :)

    Am enjoying being here

    It is very different for me. It is a big transition from an all African-American school to prodominatley white university. But it is amazing here, there are very nice people on campus and off.

    Am learning a lot

    Everyday I learn something new from the teachers and students on campus. I learned that smaller schools are great schools to go to if you are really worried bout your education; they want you to pass higher than a C (you can only pass classes if you have a C or higher)

  • 04/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    In my opinion this school is great for any student wishing to find a small campus size. Majority of the classes are small and even my largest lecture class was not as big as I would have pictured and it was definitely a lot smaller than I was told at other universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Give this school a try. Come for a visit and check what the school offers you. During your visit check how comfortable you feel on the campus, can you see yourself attending classes at the different buildings? can you see yourself eating in the Ballroom or Cent room talking with your friends? Only you can figure this all out for yourself.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have really enjoyed my first year at BV. The students are very friendly, as you walk past you are almost always guaranteed to get a friendly smile or a Hi, how's it going? even if you don't know many people on campus. The professors have also helped me enjoy my time at BV thus far, they are always there to help. Professors give all their students their office hours and email should any student ever have a question, so feel free to stop by their office when you have doubts or worries in the class.

    Am learning a lot

    I am really learning a lot at BV. This school is really challenging me academically along with helping me achieve my dreams. The professors challenge the students in order to make them better, for me that means my science professors are helping me learn more about science and what I might later see in the MCAT as my dream is to later apply to medical school and become a doctor.

  • 05/07/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for people who don't want to get 'lost' in a giant sea of people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your admissions counselor. They rock! They also like to check in to make sure you are meeting your deadlines and are always willing to help you.

    Bang for the buck

    Although this school may be quite expensive (what private university isn't?), they are very generous with financial aid and are willing to work with your situation.

    Will enjoy being here

    Seeing as I am not in college, I cannot give an accurate rating on this, but every time I visited campus, everyone seems friendly.

    Will learn a lot

    I am planning on majoring in biology. If science or the medical field is what you are looking at, BVU is the place to go. It has one of the best science departments in Iowa and has a very cool medical internship program at the local hospital.

  • 06/13/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I am a C6-7 quadriplegic and the admissions employees were very accommodating and helpful when I registered for fall classes at the Ottumwa campus. They were genuinely interested in me as a person in addition to my goals as a student.

    Will enjoy being here

    The Storm Lake campus is beautiful, and Buena Vista has several other remote campuses throughout Iowa, making it convenient for students living off-campus as well as on.

    Will learn a lot

    There is a wide array of programs to choose from, and the instructors have real world experience in the subjects they are teaching.

  • 04/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Call Campus Security with any problem and they come to help.

    Greek Life

    Not Existent

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and activities for a variety of interests.

    Great for these types of students

    Science students

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent preparation for science students, allowing practical research experience that many do not get.

    What to do for fun

    It's pretty much up to you to make your own fun or track down people who are interested in the same things as you are.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexho runs the entire food area and the food is bland, but filling.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life has ups and downs. I can't count the number of people who complained about allergies or other various problems. That aside, the dorms are quiet comfortable living.

    Academic Rigor

    Curriculum itself is not the most strenuous (with some exceptions like calculus) but the research will push your brain to work hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead. You'll be leagues ahead of your peers if you plan out what classes and things you want/need to take.

    In three sentences

    Buena Vista University is expensive if you don't know what you're doing. But for the student who knows what they want to study, it is very easy to find your course and lay down all the right foundations while at BVU.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our safety is top notch. We have campus security at all hours that make sure the campus is safe. We also have an alert system that keeps us notified at all times for all situations.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 30 clubs and activities offered at BVU. If a club isn't on campus that a student wants to be on campus BVU will help them start the club themselves.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want small classes and like the family feeling of a school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Walking through the arch is a big tradition on campus and you can only walk under it twice or you won't graduation. We also have a victory bell that we ring 4 times a year. We also have a tradition of taking a whole day off from classes and the whole school volunteers.

    Bang for the buck

    BVU definitely gives you your bang for the buck through campus activities and travels opportunities alone. Then they help you with internships and help set you for a job after graduation. As an alumni they treat you like a king and queen as well.

    What to do for fun

    SAB is a student activity board at Buena Vista that brings in many different activities for the school. There is a outdoor adventure club as well that allows you to ice skate, paddle boat and etc.

    Food and Dining

    Buena Vista's food is catered by Sodexo. There are a lot of varieties and they give you lots of healthy and different options. BVU uses student input to better their food and keep the students happy.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at BV are very clean and are a fun yet studious environment. The size of the dorms are really great and really easy to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    Buena Vista offers many different majors and minors. The professors are very knowledgeable in their fields and are very resourceful. Also, BVU has the latest technology and keeps all of the students very updated.

    Tips for prospective students

    Buena Vista is a very friendly university and is very easy to become a member of. The professor care about you and the environment is very calm, yet fun. Learning and fitting in is very easy to do at Buena Vista University.

    In three sentences

    The family feel and excellent education at Buena Vista University makes BVU 9 out of 10 in my book. It is by far a top of the line university.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Parents, working adults, furthering education for a career change.

    Bang for the buck

    While online classes cost more, the ability to learn and graduate in a timely manner are wonderful.

    What to do for fun

    I work full time, so school is my fun time!

    Food and Dining

    I'm online, I do not use the dining area.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Order books two weeks prior to class if you can, classes are fast paced. Do all your assignments, be involved in class discussions and ask questions. Online program is great and partners with other local schools to help you get through an AA, BA, MBA.

    In three sentences

    Great for someone with determination and drive. Allows you to speak to professors who work in the field. Amazing insight and learning happen at BVU.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I do not live in dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Fairly easy and it is a small school so there is a lot of one on one attention.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to start with general classes to decide your late future career path.

    In three sentences

    Great school with hours and location that are perfectly convenient for a single parent. I love the teachers and they are always there for support.

  • 09/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on. With tons of clubs to join and constant organized events, you will never be bored. Plus, there are many beaches and parks close to campus. Downtown is only a 10 minute walk away and for those who enjoy the night life there is Malarky's Bar.

    Food and Dining

    The food is generally good, there is always a lot of variety. They provide both coke AND pepsi.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms themselves are amazing, especially if you get into Pierce or White. There are the normal issues in dorms, mostly noisy neighbors and the like. Plenty of study places and social areas.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are well organized and the professors are extremely helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask a lot of questions during the visits and make connections with everyone you meet. You really want to make a lasting relationship with the professors because they will always be there for you!

    In three sentences

    Amazing in every way! A small friendly and helpful community with many opportunities around every corner. There is something here for everyone and no one will ever feel left out or looked over.

  • 03/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It better be!

    Greek Life

    Call me old, but was is Greek Life?

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm assuming they have great clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Buena Vista University is great for stay-at-home moms and head of households that are providing for their families that would like to continue their education!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have not visited a campus yet.

    Bang for the buck

    The online program at Buena Vista University is a HUGE BANG for your buck! They take complete care of you!

    What to do for fun

    EAT!

    Food and Dining

    Many places to eat!

    Dorm Life

    I am assuming it is a great dorm life at Buena Vista Universtiy.

    Academic Rigor

    I know that they have a high rate of graduation. I will find out Monday when I take my first trimester of classes. Yeah me!

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Be proactive in your education from the beginning! 2) Ask PLENTY of questions until you KNOW how things work at the college. 3) Treat your classes and professors with utmost respect and things will go well for you! 4) Pay attention to details! : )

    In three sentences

    In 2010, the online program at Buena Vista University was a great find when we were attempting a move to Iowa. I give them a ***10*** for their meticulous care and patience with me. They did not allow me to fall through the cracks, so that I may start on Monday for my first term!

  • 04/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe even if I'm walking around at midnight. Campus security is always around and helpful.

    Greek Life

    There isn't really any frats or sororities

    Clubs and Activities

    So many groups to be a part of, all of them welcoming and fun.

    Great for these types of students

    BVU is a place for everyone to simply put it, as long as they are willing to work for it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is the arch from Old Main, the original college building that burned down. On the first day freshman walk under it one way and then the other at graduation. Superstition is that if you walk under the arch any other time during your college career you will be a five year student

    Bang for the buck

    While the original price seems terrifying, if your GPA is good and FASFA helps you, the cost isn't really that much.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many activities and groups on campus, not mention the theater, bowling alley and other places off campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is usually good, but reminiscent of high school.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice. Each building has a kitchen, lounges with tv's and free laundry use. Making friends in your building is easy.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers make you work for your grade, and academics are taken very seriously here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for as many BVU scholarships they offer because you would be surprised with the number they have.

    In three sentences

    It's a great campus full of wonderful people. The atmosphere is friendly and the buildings are within reasonable distance for classes. Overall a good place to be.

  • 07/05/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    99.9% safe. there are hardly ever incidents i hear. and campus police are always circulating and floating around. theres no reason for alarm

    Greek Life

    havent seen much greek life, but i will once the semester begins.

    Great for these types of students

    great for anybody. students on this campus are very friendly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Arch. theres a huge arch in the middle of the campus. they say you're supposed to walk through as a freshman, and the very next time you walk through should only be when youre a graduating senior.

    Bang for the buck

    its a private school, so its costly, but they offer a lot of grants and merit based scholarship, knocking the cost off almost completely.

    What to do for fun

    there are so many clubs to choose from. or if you'd like, create one.

    Food and Dining

    eat whenever you want, the food is pretty good. just dont over do it

    Tips for prospective students

    its a long drive, and you might want to check your phone service before you come out. verizon is about the only company that works out there.

    In three sentences

    Buena vista university is a great college. i would recommend this school to almost anyone. truly befitting for an institution for higher learning.

  • 08/14/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Working parents or adults who have social anxiety and just want to learn online.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a fairly expensive school to attend, but it is worth it because of the flexibility of the times you can attend and do your work.

    What to do for fun

    Not much of a school if you are looking for fun activities. It is mostly meant for people who are going strictly for academic reasons.

    Food and Dining

    You can dine anywhere in town, but their is only a cafeteria at the school itself.

    Academic Rigor

    They are very adamant that you have academic honesty and integrity.

    Tips for prospective students

    Classes are only 8 weeks long so make sure to have your books on the first day of class because you will start work right away.

    In three sentences

    Buena Vista is a flexible school for adult working students. It is great if you are returning to school but work full time during the day because the classes are all at night or online. Very easy to get accepted into the school.

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety of our campus is very important. Each student is given the Campus Security phone number at the beginning of the year and there these blue light emergency buttons spread out through the parking lots in case something happens.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is more on the expensive side but totally worth. I have had so many fun experiences and i's only my second semester!

    What to do for fun

    I am in the Graphic Design Club which i fun for me because that is what I am into. Also, here at BVU, there is a student led organization called SAB. They host many awesome events here including comedians, slam poetry nights, grocery bingo, midnight movies at the local theater, etc. The best part however is that it is all free.

    Food and Dining

    Each month we have a Marquise Brunch. It's one of our favorite parts of BVU because the food is outstanding and there is a ton of variety. The typical food served is good as well but like all school food, by the second semester you wish there was more variety.

    Dorm Life

    I live in a small dorm but I am applying for a suite with a couple of friends next semester. The dorm I currently live in is small like i said but me and my roommate have found ways to make it spacious but cozy. The residence hall I dorm in is newly remolded and is an easy access to one of the main buildings of the University.

    Academic Rigor

    I may be a bit biased, but I believe Buena Vista challenges me to think in new ways and tests my previous knowledge while introducing new knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    In order to experience BVU (or whatever college you decide) in a positive way, I strongly believe in keeping up with your financial aid and applying for scholarships. School can get expensive, so make sure you don't let that affect your college experience negatively.

    In three sentences

    I rate Buena Vista University 8/10. Because Buena Vista is a smaller University, the teachers and faculty have always been able to help me, making my first semester a fantastic one. Buena Vista University is also a place where I can express my creativity in their 24 hour art studios and experience different opportunities.

  • 03/10/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On the campus visits I have taken the security seemed very good. They also seemed approachable with any questions you may have.

    Greek Life

    Non-existent.

    Great for these types of students

    People interested in the Sciences.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive, but merit scholarships can knock down the price to near or equivalent to a state university

    What to do for fun

    You can play a varsity or intermural sport. King's Pointe, is a waterpark in walking distance from which is fun in the late spring. You can also hang out at the lake or go to a bar. There are plenty of events that the SAB hosts on campus like movie night.

    Food and Dining

    I thought the food was great with lots of options. There is lots of tables and space to eat and people watch or study. My favorite time to study is while I eat anyway.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms looked clean. Pierce and White Hall were just renovated a couple years ago and give a nice view of the scenery. There were lots of social and study areas.

    Academic Rigor

    For what I have seen the academics there are very good for the sciences and social sciences. BVU has an awesome computer science program with professors that really know their subject well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Figure out your major quickly, it makes life less stressful if you know what you want going into college.

    In three sentences

    BVU is a small university nestled in the quaint town of Storm Lake. It is a university known for its science department. Overall, many students find it to be a school and home for them.