Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Butler Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/23/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You pay a high price for what you get

    Am enjoying being here

    The School has a exceptional learning environment

    Am learning a lot

    Yes! I am learning a ton. Especially with the Computer classes and the General Eds

  • 12/19/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    definately worth it

    Am enjoying being here

    the environment was very nice

    Am learning a lot

    i learned exactly what i needed

  • 10/26/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Just get involved and dont be afraid to make friends. Be social

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be afraid to leave your comfort zone. Everyone is friendly and out of their comfort zones so it is a fun time for all!

    Bang for the buck

    Its very cheap, its very reliable and the only time someone would feel threaten is if they have absolutely no money but then there is financial aid and the financial aid office works well with everyone!

    Am enjoying being here

    Being at Butler or BUCO is a great fit for me. Its cheap but teaches me the lesson of saving my money for things rather than just randomly spending it all. Its given me the lesson of we can always have fun on campus for very little cost. i feel more at home somedays on camp than at my own home!

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning so much here! i'm learning that college is more than just reading a lot, writing papers, and sleeping a little as possible! I've gained so many more friends and i will never forget the ones i have made since i've been here. Everywhere i go on campus i learn more about the college's history and i've never felt more at home. i learn that the education is very good! My instructors are very calm, cool, and organized! i will never forget the things they have taught me!

  • 07/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -Students looking for fill General Ed Requirements -Students who like smaller class size and one-on-one attention -Online students

    Tips for prospective students

    -If you are transferring, know where you are transferring too, and ask an adviser to help you plan out what courses you need to take. -Ask around about teachers. -Attend class; most teachers have an attendance policy, and not being there may really affect your grade.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a great place to start. I have got all of my General Education Requirements and have saved some much money. I love the small class sizes and have yet to deal with a teacher that I cannot stand. I have also taken an online class and like it a lot. I was able to save lots on gas and had more flexibility with my homework.

    Am enjoying being here

    All the professors are very friendly and try to get to know each student. I take all of my classes at the Andover campus. The student area is very nice and is great for doing homework in between classes or just chilling. The cafe in the student area is pretty good and reasonably priced.

    Am learning a lot

    This fall is going to be my second year here. I love the small class sizes which allow teachers to help students one on one. Almost all my teachers I have had are willing to sit down and work on something.

  • 11/01/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    It seems like I will be learning a lot here! Also, they make things like applying here and getting started a simple process for me!

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 6 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    about three campus cops total. that sit in there office all day and you never see them leave.

    Greek Life

    no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    no clubs on the andover campus where i attend.

    Great for these types of students

    older students in the range of 40 and up, or very

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    one of the buildings is attached to a high school. also, you may go to class with people 40 and older. stay away from butler.

    Bang for the buck

    not worth the money. the school is run down and overpriced for the lack of quality.

    What to do for fun

    there is nothing to do for fun. the most fun you will have is leaving the building after your done with classes.

    Food and Dining

    haven't eaten there food.

    Dorm Life

    don't live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    very bad teaching. i feel like i'm in high school all over again. assigned seating in classes, roll is taken everyday, and the teachers get off topic every class for about two hours straight.

    Tips for prospective students

    do not go to this school. explore every last option before willingly choosing this college. it's not worth the money you will spend.

    In three sentences

    it's a very run down school that isn't worth your money. the teachers our very bad at staying on topic. also, you never meet anybody throughout your time at this college.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    in the buildings there are computers, television, and game rooms. however, the games are also fun to attend and many times there will be exterior things to attend such as thunder hockey. by showing your butler id, there is free admition.

    Food and Dining

    the butler of el dorado and butler of andover (5000 building) have a spectacular student union. the food is delicious and there is a lot of room to spread out an work on your studies. the dining areas are great!

    Dorm Life

    this does not apply.

    Academic Rigor

    there have been very few times that a complaint was needed in regards to a teacher. some professors are harder than others, but that is to be expected with any educational company.

    Tips for prospective students

    the financial advisers are extremely nice and interested in your particular goals. i would recommend discussing needs and goals prior to enrolling in the next semester.

    In three sentences

    butler community college is an excelent school that offers students fantastic academic opprotunities. the teachers are very flexible and willing to stay after class to help students in need. butler has many different campus locations making access to class time much easier to obtain.

  • 03/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    study and be responsible with your time.

    In three sentences

    it's a great learning environment. small class sizes. great teachers.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's plently of groups or clubs that you can participate in. Just really have fun and take full advantage of the college experience.

    Food and Dining

    From what i have heard so far, the food and dining is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    I personally am choicing to live in my own home while attending this college.

    Academic Rigor

    You will succeed if you are dedicated.

    Tips for prospective students

    A few tips would be to stay focused. You really have to want something to have the motivation to achieve it. College can be fun but you have to know when to work and when to play. Focus on your studies, and socialize and make friends wherever you can.

    In three sentences

    Butler Community College is my school of choice because of three main reasons. The first being the convenience of location, the second would be because of the courses it offers that meet the career path im taking. The third would be that it's in a familiar location making it easier for me.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a food court inside of Butler's building where students can eat from a variety of meals.

    Dorm Life

    I honestly do that live on campus and have never visited them.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes at Butler Community College are challenging, but are also interactive. The professors will sometime involve themselves in their student's education in their class. However, it is important for students to do their part and work toward their grade because the class work, requires full attention and participation.

    Tips for prospective students

    As in any post-secondary school; it is important to enroll, look for scholarships and meet with a counselor well ahead of time. If there are student with procrastination problems, they will have to fight against it because unlike high school, there are repercussions for unwise actions. Note taking is also a big part of classes, as professors will sometimes take information from the class lectures and use them in tests. As the days progress, that information might start to fade, that is why it is crucial to take notes in class.

    In three sentences

    Butler Community College is a great experience for any student planning on furthering their education. The staff is friendly with professors that work for your success in their classes. If a person is planning on transitioning from High School to college, this is a great option because they work with you to give you the tools that you need.

  • 09/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is very affordable and you can still have the college experience!

    What to do for fun

    Attending athletic events! The football stadium is brand new, so the games are really fun!

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get as many scholarships as you can. It's very easy to attend Butler and get the price to be very cheap or even free! Everyone is very nice and make you feel welcome!

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere of the college is great! The teachers know your name and try to help as much as they can! The price is very affordable and inexpensive.

  • 10/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Butler offers many clubs and activities that allow students to get involved in the school and community.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for new freshman and returning students!

    Bang for the buck

    Butler is very reasonable with their cost. I feel very comfortable in all my classes to ask questions and talk to the teacher because of the class size.

    What to do for fun

    There's always new and fun events going at Butler of Andover.

    Food and Dining

    You can order practically anything in the Student Union.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at butler are great and challenging. They help you to prepare if you are considering transferring to another college.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you feel more comfortable at a smaller college, Butler is the place to go.

    In three sentences

    Butler Community is a great place to attend college not only for new freshman students who just graduated high school, but also returning students. Butler Community College's classroom size makes everyone feel comfortable. The teachers help to make the transition from high school to college very easy.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Haven't heard of or seen any type of violence on the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There numerous clubs and activities to partake in.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who are willing to learn, and those who wish to learn and still be close to their loved ones without being CLOSE to their loved ones ha-ha.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't really know of any unusual locations, but the scenery is pretty darn nice!

    Bang for the buck

    Great school overall!

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous things you can do to have fun. Try going to a game or two! Trust me it's a ball.

    Food and Dining

    While taking a class on campus, the smell of the foods there would catch my attention every time I walked through the building!

    Dorm Life

    I hear both good things and bad things about the dorms, though I live in my own apartment so i cannot give you an accurate opinion on this.

    Academic Rigor

    Great quality of teaching! The classes are fun and productive even the online classes are great! You will learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep yours eyes on the price, its hard not to excel at the school. The teachers are great, trust me in my opinion it is by far better than high school.

    In three sentences

    The online classes are great. The campus buildings are amazing and the teachers are determined. I enjoy the teaching/learning process of the classes of the school.

  • 11/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never felt in danger anywhere.

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa and Vocal Music. Loved both!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Just the vocal music.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a good school to start out with.

    What to do for fun

    I was an active member of the vocal program and loved every second! Any of the fine arts events are a thrill to attend!

    Food and Dining

    I didn't ever dine there.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    With some classes I felt like they were a repeat of high school but that wasn't so bad!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with something! There are so many clubs and campus activities. Make sure you are making amazing memories because there are definitely many opportunities to do so.

    In three sentences

    Butler Community College is has an easy going, relaxed, comfortable feeling about it's campus. Every one is nice and willing to help with anything. I have enjoyed my time there.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never experienced the feeling of being unsafe.

    Greek Life

    No greek life for this small school

    What to do for fun

    Butler football is amazing to watch

    Food and Dining

    I have never had the food here but I've heard its less that good.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in dorms but EVERYONE that I know that does live in the dorms, loves it.

    Academic Rigor

    If a student is really really smart, I would go ahead to a more challenging school. But if you get the good teachers, they really push you to do great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you don't fall behind on assignments.

    In three sentences

    This is a great college for students afraid of the big-college intimidation. Butler offers a lot of scholarships too and saves a lot of money on your first too years of college. Faculty is extremely friendly

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    don't have time

    Food and Dining

    they have a descent student union cafe

    Dorm Life

    don't leave in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    lots of homework

    Tips for prospective students

    enroll early classes fill fast

    In three sentences

    small classroom size good educators friendly caring staff

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe, or even uncomfortable.

    Clubs and Activities

    Kind of hard to get into groups or clubs, would be better if there were opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    The Student Union offers a wide range of food choices, even for those who need healthy choices.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms, however, as part of the Phi Theta Kappa activities we have painted in the dorms, and it looks and feels like any 4 year university.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would go in knowing what classes you need and what classes you would be interested in. The electives have allowed me to find new interests.

    In three sentences

    Butler has been a saving grace for me. I am not a traditional student, and yet I have felt like I fit right in the whole time. I have known all along that getting my education would improve my life, and at Butler I am finally able to work towards that goal.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always campus police walking around campus! As mentioned before, we built new dorms, and they have their own security just for that dorm!

    Greek Life

    There isn't greek life here at Butler!

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activites here are great! Athletics are outstanding, even to watch! The other activities like music and plays are great to get into too!

    Great for these types of students

    Athletic, outgoing, artsy, and fun!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no unusual traditions, really. One amazing new addition is our football field! It's brand new this year (2012) and our football team went undefeated on it! They also made it to the national championship!

    Bang for the buck

    Everything you pay for here is worth it. The student pass to get in to every event, stuff in the gift store, and even books. Yes, books. They are cheap! It's worth your money!

    What to do for fun

    Athletic events, musicals, and plays are fun here! For our 2012 sports season we went undeafeted in every sport at home. So each game at home, no matter what sport, we won! The plays and musicals are great too!

    Food and Dining

    I dont have a meal plan here but I hear the food isn't the best. What do you expect though? Until you get to a four year school, the food won't always be what you want.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are like any other community college. They always have room for improvement. However, new dorms were just built and we have new security just for them so it's starting to look more professional and comforting!

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here a great. The teachers will help if they notice you arent doing too well. Sometimes you do have to ask for it, but that about anywhere you go! Academcis arent so much strict, but encouraging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always keep a positive mind. People will help you if you just ask. If you're not feeling good about something, there is always hope!

    In three sentences

    Butler is a great place for all students. We have an outstanding athletic team, and great tutors everywhere! Butler will help any student achieve any goal they have!

  • 01/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Adults returning to school Anyone wanting to earn a degree in nursing.

    Bang for the buck

    I can't say enough about the affordability of this school.

    What to do for fun

    BCC has one of the best football teams in the country. Football games are always fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your FAFSA to make the financial aid process easier. Make an appointment to see an adviser, so you can take your time making decisions.

    In three sentences

    BCC has affordable tuition. BCC is great for nontraditional students. BCC has terrific choices for degrees.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Butler has a system to warn all students by mail. The warning may be about safety or about new associated with the school.

    Greek Life

    Can't specify that criteria.

    Clubs and Activities

    Can't specify that criteria.

    Great for these types of students

    Can't specify that criteria.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Can't specify that criteria.

    Bang for the buck

    At Butler the Cost per credit hour is only $89 while at other local universities it is three times that amount.

    What to do for fun

    well i guess to be engaged is the answer to have fun in any place.

    Food and Dining

    can't specify this criteria.

    Dorm Life

    can't specify this criteria.

    Academic Rigor

    cannot specify this criteria for i am still a high school student and i am only taking 2 classes at butler.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students who are seeking to join a college to transfer out of but still acquire an associates degree or credits toward a bachelors.

    In three sentences

    Butler has opened my eyes to the possibilities that a school can offer. Butler has also opened my eyes to seek a higher education for the benefit of my family. Butler is a fantastic regional community college which has a reputation for student who transfer to other institutions.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    National Championship caliber football team every year.

    What to do for fun

    El Dorado is located only 20 minutes from Wichita which has any type of entertainment you may wish.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class every day and all your professors will be up to assist you with any problem you may have!

    In three sentences

    Butler is a close knit community college that I have thoroughly enjoyed. The people are all pleasant and the community is very supportive of the school. I have also never had any problem with any faculty member.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very good security on campus and also to regulate parking for students.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    Butler is good for students who like to get involved on how their college is ran for activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Looking to continue education and also to students that are focused on having fun at junior college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not anything I can think of.

    Bang for the buck

    Butler is very well priced for college credits and the atmosphere for a junior college.

    What to do for fun

    There are many co-ed opportunities through the college and there are some places to go for fun in the evenings. If you can't find anything in town we are very close to Wichita.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is decent. the food is fairly priced and the food is usually pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes aren't very hard at Butler, but most classes are focused on learning the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for cheap classes to fufill needed credits and for a lot of one on one attention, Butler is for you.

    In three sentences

    Butler is a great school for commuting students and student-athletes looking to excell. Many classes are smaller than 20 students. Very degree oriented and most classes transfer to larger 4-year schools.

  • 05/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sometimes I go to Wichita to have fun because it is very close.

    Food and Dining

    The food is buffet style but is not really good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a good size for girls, bu not the boys.

    Tips for prospective students

    It;s easy to get along with people and make friends. The campus is small enough to make it to class on time. The students and teachers are helpful.

    In three sentences

    I think Butler is a good school. Butler has just enough people but, it is too small. I plan to transfer after my sophomore year.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Judging from the current student review, safety is premier.

    Greek Life

    No information yet.

    Clubs and Activities

    No information yet. The handbook shows lots to do.

    Great for these types of students

    Great or all types of students--so much to do on campus judging from the student catalog and handbook.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'll let you know after I've been there a while.

    Bang for the buck

    I qualified for a scholarship to help defray the cost, but compared to the other colleges I applied to this school costs ar very low and affordable.

    What to do for fun

    I suppose I will go home to Wichita as often as I can.

    Food and Dining

    I like to eat and the menus on campus look edible.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms look nice and I can't wait to be on my own.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't started yet, but judging from my schedule, it will be intense and worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school was number six on my list of colleges. So don't give up, you can go to college if you keep trying and apply yourself. Thanks Mom!

    In three sentences

    Yeah, I got accepted and qualified for a scholarship also!! Both my parents are alumni of this school. I can't wait to live on campus.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Occasionally the SGA (Student Government Association) will have some fun activities, other wise there isn't much in town or the area unless you drive to Wichita which is a 30 or more minute drive.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat in our cafeteria, but I have been told I'm not missing anything, I take that as the food isn't very good.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms but I have heard they are pretty good.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are great! Very enjoyable

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure the classes you are enrolled is are the classes you want, there are problems sometimes with the class description. Sadly, wait until the first day to get your textbooks for your classes, I have had way too many problems with the book store getting the wrong books.

    In three sentences

    Butler is a nice jumping off school. I'm specifically using it for transfer credits to get to my real dream school. Reasonable tuition, different atmosphere than high school, but a good transition as it is very similar to a high school setting.

  • 08/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus security is awesome, as well as keeping our campus safe they can also unlock your car if you've locked your keys in it.

    Greek Life

    Because it is a community college, Butler does not have any sororities or fraternities.

    Great for these types of students

    Football, basketball, track, almost any kind of student athlete. Also great for any music or dance student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know about any unusual traditions, but I do know that even though out mascot is the Grizzly Bear. We have a black campus cat who the maintenance staff feeds and takes care of.

    Bang for the buck

    If you live in El Dorado, unless you need to go to Walmart or something, take the back roads everywhere. There's no lights and the speed limit is faster. Also, if you don't have to, just walk around. The town is small enough that almost everything is a 10 to 15 minute walk from the campus.

    What to do for fun

    Most people go to Wichita for the weekend and hit up the local clubs there, also there's little coffee shops everywhere, and there's a ton of fun events on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The secret is in the ranch, I don't know what they do to it but its AMAZING lol. But its all pretty standard food in the cafeteria, also there's a little diner called Bare Necessities with the best cheesy bread you will ever eat!

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't know about the dorm life. I commuted from home, so I've never stayed in them. They're pretty fun from what I hear though.

    Academic Rigor

    It's just like a couple of steps up from high school, if you just took you average standard classes. But if you took more rigorous classes, then it'll be just like if not a little harder than high school work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go for as many scholarships you can, you can get a scholarship incredibly easy if you just go and find them, such as the foundation scholarship and a number of activity scholarships. Also, don't forget to have fun, and get to know your teachers! It'll help out in the long run.

    In three sentences

    A fun place with friendly people. Set in a cute little oil town of El Dorado. One of the greatest music programs.

  • 10/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    El Dorado has lots to offer!

    Food and Dining

    The Bear Necessity cafe has excellent food!

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorm. Some of my fellow students do and they seem to be getting along just fine. I have heard that dorm students are well taken care of.

    Academic Rigor

    Some curriculum is difficult, but it is because most teachers really want you to know the material. As long as you stay on task and keep up, it really isn't that hard. I always take my books with me, so I can study when I have a few extra minutes.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should be prepared to study. Come to class ready to learn. The curriculum can sometimes be tough, but the instructors want you to really know the material.

    In three sentences

    Butler Community College is a close, convenient college with satellite locations and online classes to make it easy to attend. I have had great success with every teacher I have had so far, they have our best interest in mind. I appreciate that Butler is an affordable choice for continuing education.

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There isn't much of a variety of clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    I just tend to get snacks here, with the occasional lunch. The food is basic, nothing fancy. There are plenty of options for eating in El Dorado.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, therefore I can't really give any information about them.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a good selection of core classes to choose from, from English to Chemistry, Literature, Algebra, Biology, and many more.

    In three sentences

    It's great to get the necessary core classes completed here more cheaply than a four year university or college. The classes are small enough that you feel comfortable with your classmates and instructors. The college feels like it's own little community where to instructors care about your learning.

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security around the clock.

    Bang for the buck

    It's affordable and well worth the pay.

    What to do for fun

    On campus activities and social clubs

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay Focus Don't be afraid to ask for help Engage in the community of the school

    In three sentences

    Butler Community college is great. It's a close knit environment where no one feels left out. You are not just a number because the students/teachers take time to get to know one another. Help and encouragement is giving freely so all can succeed.

  • 03/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    adfa

    In three sentences

    dadf

  • 03/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus in El Dorado, as well as, the campus in Andover seem to be in tip-top shape with posted safety tips and rules. There are always officers on campus willing to lend a hand if needed.

    Greek Life

    Greek life?? What on earth does this mean? Are you asking what the Greek culture and religious practices pertained? Do you want to know in depth how they feel the world works and which gods they thank and pray to on a daily? Perhaps... you'd like to hear some of the most vital tails of their Greek Mythology? Once the question's validity is known to me... I will write a 4,000+ word essay on the subject for you. :)

    Clubs and Activities

    There are, as you could've guessed, a wide variety of clubs and activities to keep the students pre-occupied with more sparks of interest and distraction from some of the manual labors involved in class.. such as studying, reading, writing.. etc. Any individual would be capable of finding and extracurricular activity that would be worth their time, effort, and concentration.

    Great for these types of students

    Students know which fields they will most likely succeed in based on their own individuality. I don't believe there should have to be an instruction manual for something as simple as this... unless of course I had know idea WHY I was trying to attend college in the first place. Obsurdity

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that are known to me, besides not being able to smoke cigarettes on campus anymore as of 2014.

    Bang for the buck

    Hmmm... here we go... more talents and hobbies. :) -Flag Spinning -Swing/tap/line-dancing -Bodywork/airbrushing for common/rare automobiles -English Major with Honors -CNA (Certified Nurse Aide) for 7 years now -Single mom with one beautiful daughter -Professional (Licensed) Tattoo Artist -Professional Lifeguard Certifications with AED training and Bloodborne Pathogens knowledge

    What to do for fun

    What do I like to do for fun? Well, there is a large list of hobbies and talents that I enjoy on almost an everyday basis. To name a few of them: Play women's volleyball, ballet, enter art shows with MANY different art mediums, write essays/poems/lyrics/plays and reading. I am a firm believer that books still pertain the ultimate guide to knowledge over internet sources and most new technology. I really enjoy working in the medical field and I am anxious to continue to my own road of never-ending learning of the human body and interactions with it.

    Food and Dining

    I keep a disciplined and persistent healthy diet. Therefore, most of the intake I have while in between classes does not usually involve what they serve in the cafeterias or snack machines. However, I must say, there are still a variety of options for healthy protein snacks that are always made available.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, being a single mother, I did not get to experience the life of a college student residing in a dorm room. I reside in my own home that is 15-30 miles from BOTH campus locations. Though, I would've really liked to understand this particular experience that college-life offers.

    Academic Rigor

    As noted in the first category of this questionnaire, the air of the college hallways had a strong impulsive feeling of destiny, accomplishments, and new beginnings. The classrooms are highly competitive boxes of knowledge with pupils ready to absorb whatever the professor gives that day.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research at least eight different colleges in your surrounding areas. Make sure to separate each college from the other and make a list of pros & cons for each college you're looking into for your career choice. Most importantly, remember that the quicker you turn in the paperwork... the quicker your applications, scholarship/grant/student loan money is processed and accepted or denied to you. Making sure everything meets their deadlines is critical.

    In three sentences

    Butler Community College has the best psychology professors and lecture classes. Their students are spontaneous and sociable in the hallways that seem to greet every day in class with a positive sense of self-confidence and endurance. The staff made it a personable experience when first starting the beginning steps to the endless signatures, schedules and stressful deadlines.

  • 04/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    High School graduates, returning adults

    Bang for the buck

    Butler Community College is a great school to get some of your pre-requisite classes completed. While the tuition is less expensive the education is still up to par. It is a great place to get your feet wet without draining your wallet.

    Food and Dining

    Don't get in a habit of eating vending machine food! The Andover campus has a great snack bar in the student union with a variety of foods that will keep your stomach full and your mind sharp. In ElDorado there is a great cafeteria that has a good selection and great cafeteria to take a break and chow.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Standard

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the tools that the college has to offer. Go to events sponsored by the college or organizations and meet people. Even if you are shy just go grab a cup of coffee/hot cocoa and see what is going on at the school. The more you go, the more you will see familiar faces and that will open up a world of conversation and relationships that can greatly benefit you and your education in so many ways. Just stay involved and stay focused.

    In three sentences

    I think that Butler Community College is a great starting point for a variety of students looking to further their education. Students who have just graduated high school and are entering college for the first time are able to see what it takes to make the grade and experience the real world of navigating your education and a college campus without the intimidation of a large university. Returning students, like myself, are able to merge back into the flow of student life while balancing work and a family.

  • 04/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is great. If anything happen an immediate mass text goes up so students know not to come to campus etc.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of things to do for fun. Of course there is the sporting events and sometimes they put together little fun activities for the campus to engage in. Very fun!

    Food and Dining

    The school has good for to eat. it's fresh and hot.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in a dorm, but the students seem to love it. I always see them roaming around talking to friend etc. It's fun and sociable.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are very tough, but with dedication you can get through it. College is not meant to be easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study and do what your instructors advise you to do.

    In three sentences

    It is affordable. It is very diverse. They love their students.