Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

CUNY Bronx Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/18/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The nursing program is amazing and top rated city-wide, Business degrees are also popular here.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a beautiful campus and a great start but most definitely not for the long term.

    Bang for the buck

    Not only is it a community college which many people look down on. (wrongly in my opinion.) It's BRONX community college, and peoples overall perception of the Bronx isn't a good one.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people are sometimes great and sometimes frustrating but everything is a learning experience.

    Am learning a lot

    Some people learn a lot here, and I'm not saying you can't but it's a little like high school all over again, basically remember and repeat, you learn how to be a human copy and paste button, but not too much of anything new.

  • 03/22/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    Hi Andi from Bronx,NY can you tell me more about the nursing program i applied and want to study nursing. if you could reply i would appreciate it. Thanks.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    all types of clubs exist here such as nursing, gardening, math, science, anime, theater and art.

    Great for these types of students

    this college is great for any student who wishes to succeed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    bronx community college is located at the old nyu campus. one of my favorite places to visit is the architecturally beautiful hall of fame for great americans that was completed in 1900. it is an outdoor space where you will find along it's walkway bronze sculptures of great historical figures.

    What to do for fun

    if you want to experience a little art and culture then check out a play that the drama department puts together every semester. also, there's always a music event. if your the athletic type try out for a sports team or sign up for the yearly 5k run. you will always find flyers and emails regarding upcoming events where speakers, authors, poets and even artists will share their work. in addition you can always join a club, offered and open to all. sometimes the college has a movie night or a dance where you can do a little mingling.

    Food and Dining

    we currently (spring 2012) have a limited selection in the dining area because the cafeteria has been temporarily shut down to construction. i'm excited to see what the newly designed cafeteria will have to offer. hopefully the range in selection as well as the cost will be better and friendlier to our wallets.

    Dorm Life

    dorms are non-existent here. if you want to consider renting there are plenty of options in the surrounding washington heights neighborhood. the campus is close to bus and train transportation.

    Tips for prospective students

    my tip to you is only this; get to know your campus, resources and professors. if you can accomplish that then your college experience will be so much more enriching.

    In three sentences

    a wonderful place to learn and grow. i have only had positive experiences ranging from insightful professors, making new friends from many different cultures and taking advantage of lively campus events. i love the fact that the campus is self-contained within 50 acres which means that all of your classes and resources which the college offers are within close proximity.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very save, to enter the college the college ID is required making the environment college oriented.

    Clubs and Activities

    Poetry club, newspaper club, baseball and others fighting for a better a fare education for all.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who need a flexible schedule. Great for students who have other greater responsibility outside school and want a fast education.

    Bang for the buck

    The professors are committed to help every student to succeed.

    What to do for fun

    Watch a baseball game or run on the campus track.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria offers good healthy food however it lacks variety.

    Academic Rigor

    The strictness of the rules are moderate and acceptable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure you keep a map of the college with you because the campus lack of guide signs. Also visit our amazing new and renovated library.

    In three sentences

    Bronx Community College is a great option for a two year college, wide variety of mayors, mix ethnicity and very flexible hours schedule.

  • 12/06/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 5 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    artsy,medical, and writers

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students who are dedicated and don't require constant monitoring from school personnel such as a guidance counselor.

    Food and Dining

    campus food is honestly way too costly.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you get a map of campus, the buildings can be confusing to navigate.

    In three sentences

    it is a school that allows flexibility in accommodating your personal schedule. there is also a early development childcare center for students with children which is nice. the instructors are knowledgeable and if effort is applied students can succeed in the provided environment.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus has a bus where it picks up all the students from the train and takes them straight to the campus. It is totally free, the tuition covers it.

    What to do for fun

    Bcc has class rooms where students can lounge around, and chill out if they do not want to go home right away. Also the cafeteria can be a hang out spot.

    Food and Dining

    Bcc currently remodeled the cafeteria, the food is great and you can just relax in the cafeteria until your next class starts.

    Dorm Life

    unfortunately Bcc does not have dorms

    In three sentences

    Cuny Bronx Community College is a great school with different programs. The counselors are great at what they do , they make sure they find the right classes for students according to major.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is a 4 out of 5. The classes and the class curriculums are thought-provoking and encourage students to use their organizational skills as well as critical-thinking to complete the coursework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet your staff from the Office of Student Life and become involved in campus activities and workshops.

    In three sentences

    I rate Bronx Community College a 9 out of 10 because of the outstanding educational resources the campus provides, if not more than other two-year colleges. The professors are extremely knowledgeable and give students the confidence to reach out to them for assistance. Bronx Community College has an excellent social campus life.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is an art exhibit in Bliss Hall, as well as various musical performances throughout campus. The computer labs are open to students and the alumni gym is available to use.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria needs more options, the food truck outside the campus has more variety. The vending machines for drinks need to be cheaper and prices need to be consistent on the whole campus. I paid $1.50 for a drink in one building and $1.75 for the same drink in a building next door.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I find the academic cirriculum challenging and flexible with the schedule of classes.

    In three sentences

    It is diverse. The campus is clean. The faculty are nice and efficent.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus Police is always available. They check school ids upon entering the campus to ensure there are only BCC students and staff on campus. BCC also offers on site surveillance and an emergency number to security to report any incidents.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Office of Student Life in Meister Hall offers a wide variety of clubs and activities. There are also many sports clubs on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A walk through the Hall of Fame is inspirational and quite beautiful. The campus, which was formally NYU, has amazing structures, statues and view of New York City. BCC is a large campus with many buildings, which they're still adding to. Also, a look in the Gould Memorial Library is something everyone needs to see when visiting or attending BCC.

    Bang for the buck

    We now have the technology to download books on an E-reader or a tablet. Many of our books are available to download, which are more affordable compared to many new books. Go with used books or check around many of the post boards on campus to see if any students are selling any from the past semester. Check with professors to see if it's legible to use previous editions in class because those might be more affordable. If possible, go to websites like amazon.com or ebay.com to see if they have any for a good price. Just be sure to check reviews of the seller before going through with the payments to avoid being disappointed by the results. I've found books that would cost me nearly $200 for $50 online with minor wear and tear.

    What to do for fun

    Enjoy the beautiful structure on BCC. There are over 20 computer labs and wifi throughout the campus to hook up your own devices for leisure. Enjoy a good meal in the cafeteria. Play sports, ride bike through the campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is a newly designed Au Bon Pain where the food is always fresh and delicious. There are also vending machines throughout the campus where some even accept credit cards. A benefit about it also being in the Bronx is that there are also available food vendors in the area. BCC also provides an on campus microwave where you can bring your lunch and save some money.

    Academic Rigor

    The stress on college to obtain good grades. Continue to use effective time management to schedule time for school, work, studying and leisure activities. Make sure to not overwork yourself by taking on too many tasks. Plan as early as possible and avoid procrastination. Staying on top of tasks and lessons will make the next step easier and avoids having to cram the night before an exam.

    Tips for prospective students

    Continue to ask questions and take advantage of the assistance on campus. There aren't many other campuses with as many helpful departments. BCC is a campus that wants to see their students moving forward. Continue to study and start networking because what you know and who you know can can make the college experience, as well as future endeavors a breeze. Also, don't forget to use effective time management to avoid stress and burning out.

    In three sentences

    Bronx Community College has been very helpful in working towards my future through a good education. There are many departments and respected staff members to turn to when there is need for clarity. I would personally recommended BCC to those who are looking to start up their educational path and need assistance to move forward.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe, with security at every corner, so there's nothing to worry about while your there.

    Greek Life

    I'm not sure on whether or not that the college has any history on Greek life, but I would say so just by looking at it

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm 100% sure on what kinds of clubs there are, but I would say there are plenty for everyone to join.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're going in a program for nursing or other major then you should come to Bcc. It's cheap than University schools.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I enjoy the library and the computer lab because it feels like home. So comfortable and relaxing, especially when you have your friends with you.

    Bang for the buck

    Usually your fiancial aid covers your tuition, or if you apply for scholarships they might even help pay for your stuff, including books.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do at Bcc like, joining clubs, participating in a sport activity and so much more.

    Food and Dining

    There happens to be a lunch room that is big, clean and you are able to plug your electronic devices in the outlets.

    Dorm Life

    It's a Community College, so there are no dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a schedule that you would follow that will help you master your talents based upon your major. Some of the classes are fun and simple and some are little confusing, but they are not as hard if you ask for help and dedicate your time to do better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students who attend at Bronx Community College come out with new knowledge and great skills that will get you into a University or a job that you had always wanted.

    In three sentences

    The Campus is big and nice. The college has new buildings that look so beautiful and easy to navigate to. Most of all they have technology usage whenever you need it.

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus is very safe.

    Greek Life

    i do not know if there are any sororities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot of different clubs and activities to do on campus everyday.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the new library is fantastic.

    Bang for the buck

    very good school, worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    I am a part of the anime club and co president of the ceramics club.

    Food and Dining

    There is an Au ban pain on campus, but if you do not like that kind of food, there are a lot of different places to buy food outside the campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    awesome.

    Tips for prospective students

    come prepared to learn.

    In three sentences

    Bronx community college is a great school to come get an education in a hurry. The people are friendly and very helpful. The professors are also very helpful and understand that students have lives outside of college.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is a closed campus with safety officers EVERYWHERE! Whenever you enter this campus, you are asked to show your ID. The safety staff is very friendly and will gladly help you with anything.

    Clubs and Activities

    Their are more than 20 different clubs and organizations ranging from criminal justice to the STEM program.

    Great for these types of students

    this campus will fit students who are not eligable for financial aid and still want to persue higher education.

    Bang for the buck

    It's totally worth it if you can't afford to spend a lot of money to attend many of the prestigious colleges. The tuition is fairly cheap compared to other colleges if no financial aid is given and their are many opportunities and scholarships available in the campus itself to help with tuition if students need it.

    What to do for fun

    Their are many different clubs and organizations such at the criminal justice club, handball club, STEM Club. The campus offers many free concerts throughout the year. Ever semester students from the school creates a Broadway play and is open for the public. Their showings are usually two or three week during the end of the semester.

    Food and Dining

    In the cafeteria, their is an Au Bon Pain. However if this isn't your favorite, out of campus you can find Mc Donalds, Burger King, a few Chinese restaurants and many other places to eat within 10 minutes away from campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are challenging but tutoring is offered for every class and the most of the tutors are very helpful.

    In three sentences

    Bronx Community College offer various degrees for many different majors. Their campus is warmly welcoming and the professors are friendly and thorough when teaching.

  • 05/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of clubs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot of clubs to get involved with however, I have two jobs to support myself and have NO time for those.

    Food and Dining

    Only ONE cafeteria with ONE restaurant; Au Bu Pain. I stick to my own breakfast and lunch.

    Dorm Life

    Absolutely NO dorm life. I'm grateful to live in the Bronx, however it's on the complete total opposite side. The $30 weekly metro card really digs a whole in my pocket. It sucks when other students get qualified for free ones.

    Academic Rigor

    Quite honestly, the professors do what they can to help. The office hours are really great to have that time to ask academically based questions in order to pass that class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go in positive and do what you have to do to graduate and excel in life. Keep learning and asking questions. Although the majority of students have Financial Aid, there will be some, like myself, who pay out of pocket or get loans to pay for classes. Please be considerate to those who go through great lengths in taking classes seriously.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus with greenery everywhere you see; you'll forget you're in the Bronx! The professors I've had so far are patient and understanding however, the majority of day-time students still think it's high school. The classroom chairs and bathrooms could be more cleaner.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very secure.

    Clubs and Activities

    Biology club, Social science club

    Great for these types of students

    Minorities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not really

    Bang for the buck

    It's reasonably priced compared to the other schools.

    What to do for fun

    I like to read books, hang out, and have a few drinks.

    Food and Dining

    I never really eat there.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, and be respectful to the professors.

    In three sentences

    I would give them an A.

  • 02/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    in the last 4 months i heard that a few people around 10 have been rob around the area. however the college increase its security inside and surrounding in order to increase the students security.

    Great for these types of students

    athletic, health students, students with kids.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    if you qualified for full financial aid package you shouldn't have to worry about it.

    What to do for fun

    like i mentioned before, bcc it's a championship in many sports, if you want to have fun join in a sport team or get involve in campus clubs. there are plenty stuff to do in them.

    Food and Dining

    believe it or not... bring your food from your home or stop by your favorite store because the cafeteria doesn't offer nothing to the students at all except ( 3 kind of sandwiches, regular coffee and the vending machine).

    Dorm Life

    we don't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    in overall 9 out of 10 students are accepted and you could pass the class with a d grade which i don't recommend it. sat, act and math placement are considered for your placement only not admission factor.

    Tips for prospective students

    for prospective students i will say work hard and do your things on time because many of the professor staff might rip you off if you fall apart but its professor are excellent as well the school. get involve in many clubs as you can, at this point bcc doesn't count with many fellow students involve in campus clubs, but hopefully this will change soon. bcc has basketball, baseball and volleyball championships among cuny colleges so if you like sport activity will be a good idea to join in one of them.

    In three sentences

    bronx community college is one of the greatest community college to attend in nyc. why? because its offer plenty of majors and also it's one of the best community school for health major such as nursing and radiology. it's location is amazing is easy to get there and the neighborhood its ok.

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 17 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i have safety gard check on mii to if i okay

    Greek Life

    i learn litle about greek

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i like to have roommate

    Bang for the buck

    ,i like to have money in my pocket

    What to do for fun

    i like to have fun

    Food and Dining

    i like to stay on diet

    Dorm Life

    i will like to have nice drom please!!!!!!!

    Academic Rigor

    i a five student okay

    Tips for prospective students

    i do my work and handed on time

    In three sentences

    i nice person i was go to the class. never cut class.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a campus police near, and cameras all around the campus.

    Greek Life

    None

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some movies have been filmed in the Gould Memorial Library

    What to do for fun

    Sports, clubs, also there are a lot of different activities always going in the campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is not well equipped, but there are a lot of restaurants in the area.

    Dorm Life

    There is not dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Many people complaint that community colleges have a lower standard than private colleges, Well, I do not think so.

    Tips for prospective students

    After all the stress that classes will give you, I recommend to get into one of the clubs in the community, this will make friend easier and also your college years more easy to handle.

    In three sentences

    At enjoyable places. The building are in good condition; and the professors are very friendly.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safe

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    game show and video game tournaments

    What to do for fun

    handball courts fitness centers track field

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    good

    Tips for prospective students

    do well choose what what u want to major in and stick to it best way u can

    In three sentences

    a good school has best programs good tuition rates

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    several clubs to choose from like theater, anime club, the Muslim club, Christian club and others.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    African-American Parade every year

    What to do for fun

    Join a club or try to participate on one of the several activities that are always going on in campus

    In three sentences

    I think Bronx Community College like the name states it, is a great community. No matter what kind of student you are, you will always find a bunch of people willing to give a helping hand or simply try to befriend you. The alumni is very welcoming and the more one gets involved the better the experience one gets which is really helpful for the college life.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is pretty open and safe.

    Food and Dining

    The soups in the cafeteria are amazing! And so are the pastries! Everything else on the other hand, may have you running to get your money back.

    Dorm Life

    There's no dorming on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The teacher I had for my summer class wasn't all that bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise that all students bring it upon themselves to meet new people. Engage yourselves in study groups because it puts the process of learning into a better prospective.

    In three sentences

    Considering that Bronx Community College is a CUNY school, the campus itself is pretty decent. Unfortunately, the staff can be very unprofessional more than half the time. Overall, the way the school works isn't really worth while.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never heard of any incidents

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not apart of any. The student government seems very active

    Great for these types of students

    Students trying to start over this is a great school for. Also if sutdents need a transitional school then this school is perfect for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    I am 32 year old single father of two and I dont want to pay for school. I have worked most of my life in order to obtain my only dream of entering the medical field. Since I was a child I knew my life would be incomplete if I was not in science and helping others. It was a difficult dream to hold on to in the heart of Hunts Point. I was one of the few of my friends to ever enroll in school and finish. I did it all while raising my son, no financial aide and working one to two jobs. I have battled depression, ailments and fatigue on a daily basis. And At last I saw my dream die a few years ago I wasn�t able to keep up with the others students due to my work load. A person should never outlive their dreams; it feels worse than death itself. I would eventually graduate with a degree in toxicology. A few years ago when my father passed I saw that he died before he ever accomplished any of his dreams. I then re-enrolled myself back in college and started my pre- requisites for nursing. Unfortunately I may lose my dreams again. I am having trouble getting money to stay in my school, and I will especially need money when I transfer to Saint Vincents. I don't want to pay because I need to keep my kids in school.

    What to do for fun

    Sleep, game and read

    Food and Dining

    Never ate on campus

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    The school seems easy to me but I have matured and learned what it takes to get good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do everything as early as possible because they seem to always have a way of changing the rules or counterintuitiveness. And be ready to work hard because the teachers have given up on you before you even take a test.

    In three sentences

    The school teaching staff is hardened by the students but they are still good if you do your work. The registering process is very poor and almost designed for the students failure. There are some good opportunities despite all the hurdles that bursar and registrar will throw at you.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I see peace officers everywhere on campus & they always ask you for ID whenever you enter the grounds.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is minimal for in-state students.

    What to do for fun

    They served food and had a nice musical presentation and memorial service on 9/11/12.

    Food and Dining

    There's a sandwich shop in the cafeteria but the selection is limited.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not that hard if you show up & pay attention.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start applying early. Don't wait until the last minute.

    In three sentences

    The campus is spacious and well maintained. The staff-members are friendly and helpful. The initial registration process can be overwhelming.

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I read, go out to parks, listen to music and take pictures.

    Food and Dining

    I prefer to bring outside food, because the cafeteria is expensive and is not that good.

    Dorm Life

    I live with a friend, never had the experience to live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Good pofessors

    Tips for prospective students

    Seek for help and never stop trying, one door close, keep walking that ahead 3 more will open.

    In three sentences

    Excellent College that has helped me and provide with a lot of effort in order to help me continue my education, regardless of my hardship at the moment.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the cafe is really clean and always full of life

    Dorm Life

    we don not have dorms

    Academic Rigor

    They are very strict about their campus policies

    In three sentences

    1. professors are interactive with the students 2. very clean campus 3. classes provided are excellent

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    President of the Business Club and Co-Founder of the Finance & Investment Club

    Food and Dining

    Au Bon Pain recently has opened up on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically the courses are not that difficult as long as you study, do your homework, and read.

    Tips for prospective students

    For future incoming students, just make sure you have some sort of plan of attack to set in motion because you do not want to get stuck in a community college for longer than you should.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Bronx Community College with a rating of average. As a Business major, most of my professors have been very helpful and also very knowledgeable of topics discussed or classes taught.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many parties thrown on campus. Not to mention the over 20 social clubs. Thursday's from 12-2pm this campus is a happening place with all kinds of events. Go to the office of student life for all the social activity a student needs.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is very nice. We are catered by Au bon pain. They are know for their fresh soup and sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Its not hard to pass teachers are typically understanding to undue circumstances. They want you to do well. If you show teachers their respected they tend to respect you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want. Do your own research for what classes you need. Academic advisers typically make mistakes that can cost you a lot. So make sure you have looked for the courses you want to or need to take before you meet them. Come ready with exact questions you want written down before hand.

    In three sentences

    Decent is the best way to describe Bronx Community College. There have been some recent improvements that wonderful like the new North Hall Library. That said, the there's still many problems.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus feels pretty safe. There are security guards at the entrance of the building, in the library and in most of the halls. Also if you have any complains or anything you need to confidently say to officers, there is an office to report any type of problem.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a lot of clubs you can get advantage of and use them as a channel to make new friend and people that are interested in study groups.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Halls being under construction.

    Bang for the buck

    It's really worth it. Classes are not expensive and there is a lot to do on campus.

    What to do for fun

    When I'm done with my classes and I don't feel like going home and feel like having fun, I go to the baseball field they have in front of Meister hall and run a couple of miles. Also sometimes I go to the library with friend and we gather together and we borrow a room they have in the library that you can study there without hearing any outside noise nor bothering anybody.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the brand new library and brand new books. Also get involved in the activities and clubs they have around campus.

    In three sentences

    Friendly staff and professors. Brand new library opened this year. Student are diverse, but really friendly.

  • 11/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    100% safe

    Clubs and Activities

    we have many distinct clubs anyone can make a new one.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    each student has a student mentor.

    Bang for the buck

    BCC is a very bautiful campus it used to be NYU a long time ago

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the amazing new libary or join a club or vist the art gallery.

    Food and Dining

    Food is very expensive not really good. Their is a subways a few blocks away where you can get sandwiches from for cheap.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are very friendly and understanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you did not do well in high school BCC is a provieds a second chance to get your life back on track.

    In three sentences

    Organized,helpful,opportunity

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Do not have a dorm.

    In three sentences

    I started Bronx community college Fall 2012. So far I'm really enjoying my experience there. My professor were very great and profession.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    athletes

    Tips for prospective students

    just apply and you will be glad you did

    In three sentences

    the best school ever

  • 05/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    THEY HAVE SOCCER, BASEBALL, TENNIS, VOLLEY BALL, AND MORE.

    In three sentences

    GUYS, YOU KNOW THE STEPS YOU TAKE TODAY DETERMINDS YOUR FUTUER? BRONX COMMUNITY COLLEGE IS ONE THE BEST SCHOOLS IN NY, IT HAS ANY RESOURCE FOR YOUR SUCCESS , THAT'S WHY I CHOSE IT. THE SCHOOL IS GREAT.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. I've never seen or heard of any violent incident occurring on campus.

    What to do for fun

    The school has many clubs, parties and different activities throughout the school year.

    Food and Dining

    There is some variety with the food but it's not as much as students would want.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life experience is good. The school is very safe.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically the school has great teachers and a lot of variety in the classes. Also, there is tutoring for students that need help.

    In three sentences

    Bronx Community College is a great school to start your educational path. They have plenty of options and many counselors and other staff that are willing to help you at all times. You never feel alone in your educational path at Bronx Community College.

  • 05/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None, but it could be added with enough support.

    Clubs and Activities

    Various.

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, ambitious and hard working.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Technical difficulties happen a lot, but they don't get in the way of most activity.

    Bang for the buck

    This school may be the best community college I know of for it's numerous resources, large size and fair student-teacher ratio.

    What to do for fun

    A whole bunch of clubs that get well-funded, a handball court, a tennis court, and a large amount of grassy space for baseball and soccer.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pricey here, but there are cheaper spots close by.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have good study habits and use as many resources as you need.

    In three sentences

    The best school I've ever been in. There is room to grow and many resources to help students. Classes are designed to not only make sure students pass, but to also better them at the subject.

  • 05/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If you are a poem writer like me their is a Creative Writing group that you can join.

    Food and Dining

    Their is a Cafeteria in school that serves good food.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms at this School.

    Academic Rigor

    It's really good if you know what your major is you will be able to take the core requirements you need to graduate.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would highly recommend you going to Bronx Community College because their are some Professors who really care about the students passing.

    In three sentences

    Bronx Community College is a wonderful school. Bronx Community College have some of the best Professors. Bronx Community College allows me to see my potential when I try.

  • 05/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Library, computer labs, clubs, spring BBQ's, holiday events, sports.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good, Au bon pain is the cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    No on campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    Have had an academic issue and went to one office then was sent to another, and another and another. Faculty really did not seem to know where my academic issue needed to be resolved. It was frustrating.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find out for your self what classes you need to take for your curriculum. DO NOT depend on an adviser to assign your classes, I made that mistake. Research on your own before seeing an adviser. Ask all the questions you need to!

    In three sentences

    Professors are very encouraging in helping students learn the material. The school find ways to extend help for student, ex: free tutoring. workshops.

  • 05/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are plenty of things to do from athletic events to movie night with the family.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms in this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend students to use all the help they can get from this school and not to let the opportunities pass by.

    In three sentences

    this is a very good school despite what people might say. this school helps students in various ways from transportation to the train to financial help and tutoring. This school even has a daycare center for student parents that also teaches the children.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    study hard

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there's nothing unusual on campus

    What to do for fun

    sports, socialization

    Tips for prospective students

    handsome reward

    In three sentences

    Among the best

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are always late when something happens.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of Clubs and actives , Most of them are just hidden unless someone tells you about them in passing.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms for students

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When enter the campus, security make sure everyone has their ID'S. Security walk through the campus all the time. You do feel safe.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At BCC, we have a new library which is HUGE. I love to go there in between classes to finish homework or meet up with friends. We have free wifi as well on campus but not every building has wifi.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good but very expensive. I usually buy food off campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Ask questions about what class you need to take. Sometimes, you aren't told that you need certain class until the last min. For example, a lot of students don't know that they need two writing intensive classes to graduate or they need to take a pre Chemistry, pre Biology, pre Math class. You cant easily end up doing a extra semester for not asking that simple question. They also can be very unorganized.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask PLENTY of questions. The school is very confusing on your own.

    In three sentences

    Bronx Community College is a decent school. They have great Science and English programs and most professors are helpful. It's pretty for getting your foot through the doctor so you can transfer to another school.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    41 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security when you enter the campus on both entrance and there is also security walking the campus along with the security that drives around.

    What to do for fun

    The campus does not have an arcade room or anything, but there is a track where you can run and get some exercise so you can work on your cardio.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is okay, the usual food in any cafeteria. The spacing is good and people are able to eat and study at the same time, because it isn't so loud or out of control just because it's a cafeteria. There is a food cart right on Univeristy Ave. in front of the stairs, the breakfast is good as well as the afternoon lunch.

    Dorm Life

    This is the best part, why live in a dorm when you can easily go to school, save some money and live with your parents.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes depends on the teacher. I had some of the hardest class, but learned so much and achieve an A in them.

    Tips for prospective students

    BCC is affordable and graduating with an AA in your area of study will fly by in no time.

    In three sentences

    BCC is a nice little campus for those who do not want to move away from their parents. The buildings are very easy to locate. They have a GREAT Nursing and Allied health program.

  • 08/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Before entering campus you must show valid BCC ID or a valid ID in order to enter a facility.

    Clubs and Activities

    There could be a little more, but it's pretty decent and a nice range.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are also parents or have jobs, lots of programs and things on campus that help with aiding a student lead their lives, and also get a college education.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a campus feel or life even without dorms because of the college layout, and the tuition is great if you are a New York City resident going to this community college.

    What to do for fun

    Tons of clubs and activities and spaces all over campus where you can enjoy time with your friends or make new ones!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is Au Bon Pain, so you only have the option to either eat from there or from the vending machines. You'd have to walk off campus to a nearby grocery store of some sort.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors ensure that you are learning and try to incorporate that while in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to walk on campus from class to class! Some facilities and buildings do not provide air conditioning.

    In three sentences

    Has a nice campus and many diverse students. Great programs available for those who qualify. Great professors and faculty that promotes your well-being and success through college.

  • 11/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Cheap only if u eat outside the school. Inside is way too expensive. We have a grocery store one block away and a truck and halal food in front of the school. Some Chinese restaurant and spanish food restaurant deliver.

    Dorm Life

    Hsjsoensjsn shbwjsns bajabsjs. Habsbsbsjsnbsbshs. Habsbsbsbjss. Hsjnsnsjsnsns

    Academic Rigor

    Sucks!

    Tips for prospective students

    Go someplace else!

    In three sentences

    If i have to rate out of a ten. I will give this school a 3. They really make everything seem so impossible.

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They can be a little annoying but they're always around when needed most.

    Greek Life

    We have three different honor societies.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a large diversity of clubs on campus

    Great for these types of students

    Great for anyone on a budget and for those who graduated from high school with a less then spectacular GPA, like myself.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are these creepy abandoned rooms underneath the Hall of Fame that would be perfect for a horror movie. The library couches are the go to place for naps.

    Bang for the buck

    Provides classes for nearly ever major imaginable. You have to ability to seek an associates degree comfortable for an economical tuition price but the math and science departments need serious upgrades.

    What to do for fun

    Student Life host parties on campus at least twice a semester.

    Food and Dining

    On campus we have an Au Bon Pain. There food is great but a little pricey.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The amount of work given is standard. Professors can be understanding if you have an issue or need help. Except for in the math department. Instructors seem put out by questions and tutors can be very rude.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try not to overload yourself with classes in the first semester. Test the waters first, then go full speed ahead. Also, Always speak to an adviser before doing anything that may affect your, grade, GPA, or financial aide.

    In three sentences

    The BCC campus is a little piece of up state in the city. Most instructors are kind and helpful in preparing students for life outside of a 2-year college. To succeed at this school you need to be attentive and willing to put in the extra mile.

  • 11/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it great and safe always

    Greek Life

    No idea

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and health activity.

    Great for these types of students

    Career start

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    no idea

    What to do for fun

    I STILL HAVE TO FIGURE THAT OUT ITS MY FIRST SEMESTER

    Food and Dining

    THEY ARE EXPENSIVE AND WE DO NOT HAVE MUCH CHOICES

    Dorm Life

    Have no idea

    Academic Rigor

    great

    Tips for prospective students

    If u want to be a nurse i will advice u to go to a four years college.

    In three sentences

    I love the school because my teachers are very good in what they teach and threat each person with a lot of respec tand encourage me to do the best that i can.There library is also a great place too study.

  • 12/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    join a club

    Tips for prospective students

    Strong grades Good atlethics

    In three sentences

    Bronx Community college is the best community colleges I have ever known since I added. Very good in academics Facilities are well furnished and our library is second to known

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe!

    Great for these types of students

    A great School with a lot to offer MAKE IT YOURS!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    With friends we gather at the Automotive shop to eat and study or sometimes we get a room on the library to study for exams or discuss homework's as a team

    What to do for fun

    We have teams to join there is a great variety of clubs and a huge variety of tables and chairs to sit around campus to chat with friends and enjoy the day, followed with handball and tennis courts, an open gym on Thursdays from 12pm - 2pm and a big Field to jog around

    Food and Dining

    Very tasty

    Dorm Life

    we don't have dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Never give up there are many caring teachers that are willing to help

    In three sentences

    Bronx community college is very helpful. Bronx Community college offers many opportunities. Bronx Community college is very understanding.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No incidents on campus. The surrounding neighborhood is questionable though.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not many club options. It is, however, easy to start clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    non-traditional, international, students looking to save money on their education.

    Bang for the buck

    The saying you get what you pay for is especially true about BCC on the surface. But, if you dig deeper and utilize everything BCC has to offer. From tutoring and mentoring to great professors and research opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    Joined the honor society, great group of people there.

    Food and Dining

    Au Bon Pan and a Mexican grill in the cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    Commuter school

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on your area of study. As a Biology major my course load is more difficult than most others. It is, however, still very manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get paperwork in early! Can be very rewarding if you take advantage of everything the school has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Great place to start your college career. Professors are passionate about what they do. Very similar, if not a bit worse, when it comes to the typical CUNY administrative woes.

  • 02/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and sports

    Food and Dining

    The food is great but is a little expensive

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms

    Academic Rigor

    They do not tolerate students that just want to waste time

    Tips for prospective students

    Carry a campus map with you

    In three sentences

    I think that it is a great college. Has helpful tutoring sessions. Also has a very nice campus

  • 03/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe and secure on campus and around the campus area as far as security goes.

    Greek Life

    BCC doesn't have Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    BCC has many socials clubs and activities year round as far as ethnic clubs, dance clubs, hobbies, and sports clubs as well.

    Great for these types of students

    BCC is good for anyone thinking of the long term 4 year degree but is also a good place for those individuals trying to better themselves with at least a promising career as far as an associates degree is concerned.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    BCC doesn't really practice any awkward traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    economically, the cost to study here is about half that of other institutions.

    What to do for fun

    BCC has an on campus gymnasium, weight room, cardio room, and several sports teams you can join.

    Food and Dining

    They have plenty of vending machines student lounges, a student cafeteria, and a few locations of the Au Ban Pain coffee shop/bakery in different buildings across campus.

    Dorm Life

    BCC doesnt have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    BCC regimen is very challenging but yet manageablelp make you more well rounded, you can definitely challenge yourself and learn new things if you seek the helping hand of a professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Give it your all. Spend time in the library and read up on important subjects, use up all your resources such as the writing center, the math lab to seek out tutoring when struggling, and the online databases when in need of scholarly, and reputable sources of information for those research papers.

    In three sentences

    Attending Bronx Community College, for economic reasons would be a very good place to start. You can obtain a two year degree for half the cost of any other private and many institutions. There are plenty of help and resources for those who truly want to excel in their field of study.

  • 06/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who live in the neighborhood.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you attend this college you should network because it becomes very helpful in the long run.

    In three sentences

    Bronx Community College has a convenient location. The professors are helpful if you are willing to listen and learn. The advisors give you knowledgable advice on when to take classes.

  • 08/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They're everywhere; ready to annoy you at every second of every day.

    Greek Life

    Non-existent. At least not in the traditional sense. It's a 2 year.

    Clubs and Activities

    variety of extracurricular, however the selection is minimal for night students.

    Great for these types of students

    non-traditional; financial need, dedicated

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hall of fame....busts of famous and awesome people throughout time. Pretty dope place to get away from it all between classes or before a test.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a community and it does it job.

    What to do for fun

    SWAT and chill on the lawn when you get the chance too. Awesome view also if you know where to look.

    Food and Dining

    Love the caf!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends with your adviser- they know EVERYTHING you'll need to be aware of in order to get in and get out.

    In three sentences

    Historical grounds that are ever changing to keep up with the times. Distinguished professors and administrators that go the extra mile to make sure you succeed. Great cafeteria!