Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

CUNY Brooklyn College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Maybe even a little too much security.

    Great for these types of students

    Serious about your education, enjoy a beautiful campus with a lot of greenery, and also looking for a social environment that offers many clubs and organizations.

    Bang for the buck

    Very low cost of admission compared to other schools, well recognized university and a great education with awesome professors.

    What to do for fun

    There are many students events organized by the many clubs at Brooklyn College.

    Food and Dining

    Brooklyn College is located in a great place surrounded by many popular food chains as well as small dining locations. There are also many options on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    With Brooklyn College you will receive a great education at an affordable cost. The professors I've had were all very good, but be prepared to find your own way around outside of the classroom with little help from student services.

    In three sentences

    Brooklyn college has great professors and provides an incredible learning experience. The tuition is very affordable and the quality of education I have received so far is very good. Sometimes there are issues with finding help, mostly because most of the staff (aside from professors) is made up of students.

  • 08/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    outgoing, likes to meet people

    Tips for prospective students

    sometimes it got difficult for me but if you make friends with other kids in your class, you can make study groups which is VERY helpful

    Am enjoying being here

    as long as you choose your professors wisely and take advantage of academic advisement to set u your class schedule, you'll enjoy the environment and diversity

    Am learning a lot

    i have absorbed more information than i have ever absorbed in my entire life

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always some group on the lawn playing hakki sack, jamming to music or hanging out. Just walk over to one of the groups and join in. It's really fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining are great at Brooklyn College. We even have an on campus starbucks which is pretty awesome.

    Dorm Life

    As a commuter, dorm life is something I don't experience. I live in my apartment in Manhattan. I hear the dorms are awesome though!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are extremely fun, but tough. The courses are very academically intense but the professors make it interesting. There is also a lot of work that you have to do on your own, without them assigning it. Like looking up background information on what you're learning, so you can better answer questions in class or on tests.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't know where something is, just ask - someone will tell you where it is. If you are a commuter, always leave 15 minutes early since the MTA likes to be surprising sometimes. Study on the lawn on beautiful days, it makes the work less intimidating :)

    In three sentences

    Brooklyn College is one of the most beautiful colleges I've ever seen. The campus is easy to navigate to people who are new, and the people are so nice. There is such school spirit that you can't miss.

  • 01/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards around the campus and you have to show them your student I.D. card to enter campus. There are also security personnel to escort you to the train station or car if you don't feel safe walking around alone after dark.

    Greek Life

    This college is not really big on greek life but there are a number of fraternities/sororities on campus. Even if the one you want isn't there, you can bring a chapter onto campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus ranging from ethnic and community service clubs to academic and sports clubs. There's something for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    Even with the tuition rising for public colleges, brooklyn college is still cheaper than private schools and offers the equal rigorous education.

    What to do for fun

    As a Brooklyn College student, you can use your student I.D. to get into the brooklyn museum and botanical gardens for free and many other museums and theaters at a discounted price.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is really good. They have a variety of food from spanish food to asian cuisine and vegetarian options. The only thing about the food on campus is that it's slightly expensive. I usually buy food from outside. Outside campus there's Mcdonalds, Burger King, a deli, fisherman's cove, subway, quiznos, starbucks, popeyes, halal carts, and much more, which might be cheeper than on campus food.

    Dorm Life

    Brooklyn College is a commuter school and doesn't have on campus housing. They do have a residence hall a couple blocks aways from the school for people who need housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Sciences in Brooklyn College are especially hard because the professors challenge you and are a pain but its because they want you to really understand the material and succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the Magner Center, which is basically the career guide and different opportunities on campus. The people there will help you pick a major based on your personality and interests. They will also help you get internships.

    In three sentences

    Brooklyn College has a beautiful campus in which a student can be in the city but not feel like they are in the city while on campus. There are many opportunities and resources that are available to the students to help them get internships and academic help.

  • 05/30/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 6 people found this review useful. 5 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who love diversity.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Brooklyn College is one of the most diverse CUNYs. People come in all shapes and sizes over here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join a learning community! It makes being a incoming freshman easier and helps you make friends.

    Bang for the buck

    People are suprised at the amount I pay for such a great education. What people are paying 40,000 dollars a year for, I'm getting for 5,000 dollars.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Brooklyn College, it is nothing like high school. It is a beatiful campus and provides so many opportunities. Theres a cafeteria, a gym, and a student center (plus much more) and it makes it feel less like a commuter school.

    Am learning a lot

    Brooklyn College provides an array of classes and some are writing intensive, so it is hard to miss a beat.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Always find out about the professor before registering for a class and wait to see if your going to use the class textbook before purchasing it.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students- pay attention in class, try to get involve in activities at the school, get to know your professors and enjoy your time in school.

    Bang for the buck

    The library is great place to go and find resources as well as to study. Great college overall.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy being there because I meet a lot of people from different walks of life and the campus is beautiful and relaxing especially in the summer.

    Am learning a lot

    The school pushes you to achieve more as it pertains to education. No mediocre work is accepted and you are able to take what you learned in the classroom and apply it to everyday life situations.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security at every entrance and you are supposed to show brooklyn id to gain access.. does that happen all the time? No.

    Greek Life

    They have greek life, but i am not involved. They only have 2 nationally recognized sororities and 2 only recognized at brooklyn.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a lot of clubs to chose from

    Great for these types of students

    Diverse, international.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is good, but it is increasing $300 every semester. The housing is way over priced. you can find an apartment for more than half the rent there, and in a better neighborhood then the residence hall.

    What to do for fun

    Head into manhatten, or other parts of brooklyn.

    Food and Dining

    There is none.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is decent. People are loud and do not respect quiet hours. Has 24hr security.. which is a plus? even if there was a problem I don't really think they would be able to do much. WAY OVER PRICED!

    Academic Rigor

    My department has very strict attendance policy that I do not agree with!

    In three sentences

    Brooklyn has a Beautiful campus. There administration system is not organized, my prior 2 year community college had such a higher standard. It's an ok school, but wished the administration was better!

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The pond; slightly hidden by the library is a peaceful place to be all year round

    What to do for fun

    We have a student lounge that is available where you could shoot pool, play Xbox, Ps3 and Wii. This is a rather social place so make some friends here. During the warmer months you could just chill on the Quad(giant lawn) play hacky sack or dance. You are free to be creative.

    Food and Dining

    Ive eaten at the cafe only a few times, but the times that I did, it was pretty good. Hamburgers, soup, fries, you name it. And for those tho like 'name-brand' food, there is a MCD, Quiznos, STARBUCKS, BurgerKing, and a few niche spots to eat right off campus. I recommend OVI's Place and Nostrand Express(Great Deli)

    Dorm Life

    I cannot give an opinion on this, but dorms are available(Off campus) Less than 2 blocks away.

    Academic Rigor

    Well it definitely isn't high school in terms of work load and difficulty. The rigor is subjective but i did not find every class to be dreadfully difficult and overwhelming, nor were they easy. Just pick your classes WISELY.

    Tips for prospective students

    ASK ASK ASK questions. Please, I cannot stress that enough. There is no lack in campus resources. Dont be afraid to get you monies worth.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful all year round and does not disappoint ascetically, especially with the lush grass on the quad. Its location is ideal for those who do not want to go away to collage, you have numerous connections to mass transit and if your from out of town there are people that WILL help you get around.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security guards will hassle students for ID cards, but while they're hassling you, they won't notice the homeless person wandering in. Once you're on campus, you're pretty secure, but wander too far out and there are a lot of beggars and people waiting to steal your iphones. People also get shot quite a bit in flatbush. Just don't wander and you'll be fine.

    Greek Life

    We have it, but I'm not into it... so I don't know very much about it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a lot of diversity in the clubs and they are always accepting of new members. I don't know of all (or even many) of them, but I have heard people promoting them and are always excited to talk about their clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Creative types.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you drop a class, the school charges you now. It's not an open campus and if you forget your ID the security guards will hassle you in the most impolite ways. Fun fact, however, the school gets some film crews there to film Television pilots or film B-roll. Though the campus is in the middle of flatbush, it resembles many north eastern colleges.

    Bang for the buck

    Depending on your major, the school is a less expensive way to get the same education you would anywhere else. Film, TV/Radio, and a few other majors can really teach you a lot without putting you in too much debt.

    What to do for fun

    There's not much in the neighborhood to do. Luckily, a few stops on the subway and you're in a better neighborhood with lots of things to do. Manhattan is only 45 minutes away and there are always free festivals or suggested donation museums out there. -- Find friends on campus, however, can make the campus more fun, but most times you'll have to take a subway to find something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is beyond processed food. For someone with a food allergy (like me) it is nearly impossible to find anything to eat. The salad bar is always wilted and smells off. The surrounding neighborhood is all fast food. Bring your own lunch.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are expensive and in the bad part of the neighborhood. It's much safer and cheaper to find an apartment in a nicer area near by.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the professor. Some professors give you more freedom to learn by exploring, others bury you in work. If your major is more creative like the Television and Radio or Film departments, it's more learning by doing than by lectures and papers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring your own lunch. Know that the Corc. classes that you are required to take aren't going to be life changing courses. The more effort you put in, the more life lessons you will take with you.

    In three sentences

    Great looking campus. Can find interested and driven professors who love to teach. Horrible cafeteria.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The college, has many clubs, dances, fundraisers, sororities, fraternities, and sports to participate. They even have a gym on campus where you pay $10 plus a valid Brooklyn College ID.

    Food and Dining

    Outside the campus, there's a choice of fast food , Starbucks, target, and local delis. The campus has a lunchroom with a great menu. sushi, roast beef, stew, coffee, smoothies, sandwiches, pizza and hamburgers. Everyday the menu is changed according to the special of the day at a reasonable price.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are newly addition to our campus. I haven't tested them but they are a good distance from the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor in Brooklyn college is vast and very specific. The core classes required to take by the college are too many. They make will keep you busy with those classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attending Brooklyn College for two years I have learned to plan around school. scheduling classes for least amount of days will leave you with a schedule with 2-3 hour gaps and long classes. Always meet with your department adviser. Brooklyn College has advisers for every department, and they are not well rounded with knowledge about degrees outside their department, which can be frustrating trying to find the right adviser to help you with your situation.

    In three sentences

    Brooklyn College has an amazingly beautiful campus in Brooklyn. Outside the perimeter, you have a vast amount of restaurants during your long hours of school. Brooklyn College has professors willing to help you and a variety of good and bad but mostly great professor that are knowledgeable.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school has guards posted all over the campus.

    Greek Life

    I'm not Greek but they offer greek as a class, as well as greek heritage.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have all kinds of clubs for all types of races, colors, religions,and creeds, as well as clubs where everyone co-exists.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is meant for students who are serious about succeeding in life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The library is the most extensive, and beautiful is the city.

    Bang for the buck

    The chicken sandwich is the best, and cheapest you can purchase in the cafe.

    What to do for fun

    The school has a variety of recreational rooms, and activities, including Basketball, Soccer, Swimming, and a well Known luxurious library.

    Food and Dining

    The school provides a variety of freshly made foods in their cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I have yet to witness the dorms, due the the lack of money i have, however, i've been told they are rather comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculum is rather extensive, each topic, and classes bring their own problems, with the tools to overcome them. you wont be looking at free nights, but you will get a phenomenal education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Brooklyn College, is the upmost high class university for students with a community college budget. They provide outstanding service, and their main goal is to see you succeed.

    In three sentences

    Brooklyn College employes the most phenomenal teachers, whose main focus is to help the students succeed. The administration process in the school is fast, and simple. The school advisors helped me register for the proper classes for my degree.

  • 03/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    My ID rarely gets checked unless I go to the library.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is nonexistent on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Almost no one participates in the clubs or activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Not focused on making any friends or having a fun college life. Wants good grades and a degree.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a cheap school to get a degree from a university.

    What to do for fun

    There is really nothing to do here, honestly.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty average cafeteria. There is a lot of food off campus, but it's mostly fast food.

    Dorm Life

    It is extremely expensive. I would rather live home.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a very easy school, but you can still learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you just want a degree for cheap, then go here. If you want a social life, do not go here.

    In three sentences

    Easy school for undergraduate degree seekers. Do not expect people to be social. Do not expect to have fun here.

  • 08/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has tight security

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs you just have to find which is right for you

    What to do for fun

    You can hang out with your friends on campus, join a club, go to the gym.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food. The campus food is great the pricing is also not bad.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great it is costly but I would recommend if you are an out of state student

    Academic Rigor

    There are many majors to choose from. Brooklyn College has a wide variety of majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard to get to your goal. Do not procrastinate and enjoy what Brooklyn College has to offer you.

    In three sentences

    I love Brooklyn college. The campus is beautiful and it is a great environment. The professors are great just work hard.

  • 08/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The college has many clubs you can join they also have like a game spot at the student center.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always talk to staff and get as much information as you can, whatever you are unclear of ask.

    In three sentences

    It's a great school. They are very organized and you always have different areas to go find out information you need, but you must also stay on top of your stuff. They have a beautiful campus and you'll love the environment. Great professors of course some better than others but you find that at every college.

  • 09/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Inside campus, there are no complaints :) !

    Greek Life

    I am not part of it! (yet) I really have no info regarding this- but ask around if you're interested!

    Clubs and Activities

    I just enrolled in the Hispanic Society Club! And it's really great and fun. I really like our seminars and meetings- there's always food and good atmosphere! I also want to see if I can join a sports club or Student Government (Body/Leadership). There's a million other activities/organizations as well- such as a number of Music programs (conservatories/orchestra) and athletic teams/clubs, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who lives in NYC, really OR students outside the City that want to go to NY for college. CUNY schools are serious, excellent colleges- ESP. CUNY Brooklyn College (where I go) because the professors here have so much outside educational and cultural experience. I mean this one professor I have has taught in private colleges, and worked with Broadway people- and he's my theater teacher! And honestly, I have not yet had a bad professor- someone I don't like or can't understand what I'm learning- it's truly awesome. Even for students who want to go to Hunter, or Baruch for science or law- BC has a vast, excellent curriculum and programs specifically for both fields. It also really depends where you guys live/ able to travel to and from- if BC is right near by or like just one bus/train away- then seriously consider it. Because I have friends who go all the way to the city (other CUNYs) when they could've just cut the traveling hours in half and still receive the same, if not better education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's this amazing, beautiful Lily Pond in Brooklyn College- it's really one of our favorite hang out spots, just to chill, maybe read our lectures, and hang out with friends. There's a quite bit of a wildlife going on there (sea turtles, goldfish & squirrels haha)

    Bang for the buck

    ***Textbooks? If you don't want spend all of your money- just either get them online (slugbooks.com and fetchbooks.com are AWESOME websites! and cheapest ones I know) OR you can also either rent/borrow textbooks from the BC Bookstore and the Library. ***Food ? There's seriously SO many different food options, within AND outside Campus! There's the Cafeteria inside the college- that's a great place to go if your next class is in like 15 min. The bookshop is also in the same building. Outside: just go out of school and there's everything (Starbucks, Quizzinos, McDonalds, Rite Aid, ETC.) !

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, attend movie nights and fun workshops! Honestly, just find out more about our school's clubs and if you are interested in being in let's say- Hip Hop Dance, Key Club, Table Tennis Club, Honor Society, and Student Government- just find out more info and these are just 5 of hundreds of student organizations in the school! Also Hispanic Society Club is SO FUNNN haha like they also have interesting things to do, talk about and always, ALWAYS have yummy food and drinks! :D

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good variety of food and affordable ! Also there MANY places in Flatbush you guys can go (Like this amazing authentic Fisherman's Cove) to get food. Just explore!

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm, but I hear the Residence Hall is very good!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are coming in to Brooklyn College as a freshman/transfer and have no idea where to go/what to do: Just ask someone in the Admissions/Registrar office. There are also many flyers available- and GO to the Student Center! Honestly, like everyone who works there will be happy to help you with anything AND got to the school's website: brooklyncollege.com and really just do your research and read about the programs, etc. OH and take a Walk Tour! The dates should be up on the BC website- so check that out! You can also probably call someone at the school to find out. Best of luck :)

    In three sentences

    Brooklyn College is honestly an amazing school and I'm very glad that I chose it over other CUNY's. Not only is the campus really beautiful (we were ranked #1 Urban College in America! few years back), but also the professors and the staff are truly gifted and wonderful people. Like some say, it really is the Poor Man's Harvard in a sense that the education is excellent but also is quite affordable. I'm glad I go here ! :)

  • 08/01/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 17 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I was accepted into the Macaulay Honors College.

    Will learn a lot

    I certainly hope so, haha!

  • 12/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of students. Brooklyn College is currently adding a business school to their repertoire so now it can be a second business school in addition to Baruch.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want to do in life and if you don't take your time and gather as much information as you can before you make a decision.

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is a guard at every entrance/exits on the campus, each one near hearing distance and majority of the buildings have a guard in them.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is something for everybody. asl club, ballroom dancing club, poker club, you name it we probably got it.

    Great for these types of students

    if you want diversity then this is perfect school for you.

    What to do for fun

    there is always something going on, whether it a play, a party, or game. you wont be bored there.

    Food and Dining

    the food is alright , you have two star bucks on campus and a smoothie station and some well known fast food restaurants walking distance from the campus.

    Dorm Life

    no idea, i don't live in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    everything is well rounded and the programs are very thorough.

    Tips for prospective students

    try to get all the corc curriculum out of the way first, it helps.

    In three sentences

    one through ten, ten being the highest i would give the college a 7.5. simply because its a 2 hour commute for me.

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    never seen any problems on campus

    Greek Life

    sororities and fraternities everywhere.

    Clubs and Activities

    hundreds of different clubs with various topics and themes

    Great for these types of students

    those who love to read or find a quiet place, use the library! it's hhuge, lots of books and space.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    each building has different fun departments, check them out

    What to do for fun

    join the clubs, go to meeting!

    Food and Dining

    cafeteria food is not bad, but there are also a lot of different places to dine around the campus, so you will be fed.

    Dorm Life

    i cannot advise anything about the dorm life, due to my lack of knowledge.

    Academic Rigor

    the way professor teach is very enjoyable.

    Tips for prospective students

    join the clubs!!! this campus has hundreds of those and you will always have fun!

    In three sentences

    even though the inside of the classrooms are not brand new, they are comfortable and the courses are enjoyable. i always get great professors who love what they do. the classes never boring or the same.

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security guards everywhere

    Greek Life

    big greek life, but don't let it get in the way of your school

    What to do for fun

    electronic game consoles, pool table, clubs, swimming, sport courts, computer labs, and wifi all available when you have down time

    Food and Dining

    better off brown bagging your lunch or eating in the neighborhood.

    Academic Rigor

    depending on your professor, you'll have a good experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    recommended if intended to enter liberal arts, english, history, or business based majors. not recommended if planning on perusing pre-medical studies.

    In three sentences

    this school is diverse in population and very populated. the teachers vary, do your research. there are a lot of people that provide opportunities for you.

  • 02/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    never fealt afraid on campus as security is pretty thorough

    What to do for fun

    lunch on the lawn!

    Food and Dining

    a great selection including kosher, but not to worry there is many many resteraunts nearby from chinese to japenese, mexican, israeli, fast food!

    Dorm Life

    very affordable, but not necessary as there is pretty cheap rent for apartments in the area

    Academic Rigor

    professors are very helpful and attentive

    Tips for prospective students

    get all your core cirriculum out ofthe way first, this way you can focus on your major.

    In three sentences

    brooklyn college is a beautiful campus. it is very easy to get around. they offer many classes to fit your schedule. it is easy to get to as most subway lines come here.

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    aside from rowdy high school kids from across the block, the school is very safe.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    brooklyn college's west quad building has a very beautiful pool along with a great campus.

    Bang for the buck

    in terms of a college education, you can't beat brooklyn college.

    What to do for fun

    since brooklyn college is a local school, there isn't many opportunities to socialize with people and make new friends. everyone basically goes home after they attend class. however, brooklyn college's west quad building has a big pool that's great for swimming.

    Tips for prospective students

    since brooklyn college is a local school, there isn't many opportunities to socialize with people and make new friends. this actually makes networking very hard.

    In three sentences

    brooklyn college is a great school. it has a beautiful campus, a variety of interesting courses and a very big resource-filled library. however, one thing lack in brooklyn college is the lack of a thriving social culture and atmosphere.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe

    What to do for fun

    join extracurricular activities, make new friends

    Food and Dining

    expensive

    Academic Rigor

    It is tough, no doubt about it, but if you work hard, you are sure to earn high grades, there are great professors to help you so seek their advise during office hours with any questions. don't be shy, that's what they are there for. don't wait until the end of the semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the library's resources, its a good quiet study place. you will think its your second home, it comfortable and has a lot of space to find the right area that fits you.

    In three sentences

    This school is worth attending for the tuition that it costs to attend. Definitely a clean, safe school with a wonderful library, many resources, top professors and a beautiful campus close to home.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 52

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Brooklyn College has a nice campus and many people attending. The professors are not good because some give you a good grade if they want to, its by favorite. You pay for college and purchase expensive materials and you don't get the grade you deserve no matter how hard you t.ry

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe with round-a-clock security guards and very quiet campus life in general. Thus far, we never had an outrageous outbreak of any sort.

    Greek Life

    We do have sororities and fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many fun clubs to join like the Global Medical Brigade that visit health-needy countries like Panama and Honduras.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are more work-focused either going into the arts or medical field.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Parking is very difficult to find and can often take up to 10-20 minutes. However, there is a parking lot with a monthly fee.

    What to do for fun

    Brooklyn College's library is exquisite and very comfy. The West Quad of Brooklyn College has a gym, basketball court, and tennis court. The SUBO on the other side of Brooklyn College has a recreational room with ping-pong tables, karaoke, and Xbox.

    Food and Dining

    Although across the street Brooklyn College has Junction Blvd, it is nicknamed Heart-Attack Blvd for their fast-food places like Popeye's, Luigi's Pizza, McDonald's, Burger King, Starbucks, along with halal vendors and private delis. Cheap but cholesterol-filled food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are two blocks away from college and pretty expensive: $12,000 to $20,000 per year. Usually students who do not need to pay college tuition tend to live in dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Very tough classes in ALL departments, mandatory CORE Curriculum, and opt-in Honor classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school for the arts: Film and Theatre. Challenging yet beneficial school for those who wish to go into Medical.

    In three sentences

    Not much for social life but academically rigorous. Beautiful campus. Engaging and thrilling professors.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very strick and i feel safe there no problems since i have been going to school there

    Great for these types of students

    people who dont mind the commute its the last stop on the 2 train

    What to do for fun

    I go to the campus events that are every entertaining some times

    Food and Dining

    There are restaurants all over the area so you should have no problem finding something to eat

    Dorm Life

    i live at home. FREE RENT FREE FOOD at home

    Tips for prospective students

    STUDY STUDY STUDY. All ways hand in all of your assiments no matter what it counts.

    In three sentences

    The school is great and very hard and somes times i think its hard for now reason on a scale from 10 to 1 i give it a 7. The environment is a 10 .

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had a problem anywhere on this campus and there are a lot of security guards in the vicinity.

    Great for these types of students

    People who are ambitious and want to make something of themselves.

    Bang for the buck

    I truly believe the education that you are receiving is worth the cost of tuition.

    What to do for fun

    I pretty much just come to class and leave because I work a lot.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't bad and there is a large variety to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I gave one star because I don't live in the dorms and I honestly know nothing about them.

    Academic Rigor

    It is pretty fast paced and challenging for a local four year college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the campus well and try to attend every class as the majority of the professors I have had here base their exams on lecture material.

    In three sentences

    Brooklyn College is a very modest business oriented school and has a good reputation. Two very enthusiastic thumbs up!

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    29 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You cant get into any of the off campus buildings without ID

    Food and Dining

    You have got every thing close by, in terms of food, I suggest going to Nostrand Express for your heros, rolls etc.

    Dorm Life

    There are no on campus dorms, there is a 3rd party dormitory available close by

    Academic Rigor

    For sure some of the courses are definitely difficult, but there is a student learning center with tutors in all/most the courses they offer.

    Tips for prospective students

    The West Quad Building is the place you will want to go in regards to admissions (Just ask). Dont be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus all year round, who ever is planning on attending here would definitely feel comfortable. As for the professors they are pretty swell and knowledgeable.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even though Brooklyn College is right by the rough parts of Brooklyn. Our Safety is highly surveillance.

    Greek Life

    Life is fun. It comes and goes on hot days and it's fun to hang around after class.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 100 student clubs around campus. Anything you want to do we have.

    Bang for the buck

    If your worried about taking out huge loans on private-name brand schools to pay for tuition. Come to a public (CUNY) school. Tuition is less than $6000 and with FAFSA and TAP, I don't have to worry about being debt and graduate debt-less.

    What to do for fun

    The school just built a brand new gym facility so I spend much of my spare time there and at the computer lab.

    Food and Dining

    There's plenty of dining around the campus from Applebee's to Starbucks on Flatbush Ave.

    Dorm Life

    The school just build the residence dorm last fall but unfortunately, I commute. However, my friends say there decent.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics is overall great. The core curriculum can be a drag but some core classes are worth it. I'm a film major and the film department is one of the best.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you drive there, drive early to get a free parking spot or else you'll spend your money throughout the entire semester through parking meters and make a lot of friends.

    In three sentences

    at Brooklyn College and it is absolutely outstanding. Going to this school, CUNY especially, is a good investment to get a best value education. I don't regret coming here.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 31 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    College Administrators are always very concerned for the students safety which is why on every end of the campus one can locate a friendly staff of the security team. If you should ever encounter any problems they are there for you.

    Great for these types of students

    I cannot say with confidence that there is one specific group of students who would benefit from attending the college since the university is so rich and diverse. There are multiply student organizations and alliances, such as the Jewish Students Alliances, LGBT, Caribbean Students, Hispanics, etc. which makes the university a whole. All students from all walks of life are welcomed to Brooklyn College.

    Food and Dining

    There is a wide-variety of choices when seeking to dine. The college itself comes with its own cafeteria and their are multiple restaurants and food options just outside the campus.

    Dorm Life

    Though I do not dorm at the college because I live so close by, Brooklyn College does have a Resident Hall within close proximity to the university. The Hall comes with security, wi-fi and all the comfort a student needs.

    Academic Rigor

    The goal of each professor is to have you, the student, walk out of the course feeling motivated and more confident in your studies. They do so by not only allowing you to challenge and applaud conventional thinking but also by having you express your ideas/ opinions through (non-) conventional means. The workload, though difficult at times, is not at all overbearing and students will see throughout the semester the benefits of what is given to them. (Worth-noting: educators are very straight-forward with their expectations from students, so you will know immediately if a particular is one/not for you).

    Tips for prospective students

    Naturally with any new establishment it takes time to adjust. At Brooklyn College the faculty and staff, socials clubs, etc. are all quite welcoming which makes the process of adjusting quite easy. You'll find that you are at home just after a few weeks of being on the campus.

    In three sentences

    Brooklyn College is a great, inexpensive university to further your education. The college is known for its excellent faculty and courses. It is merited with being one of the better universities for higher education.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Make sure you have your ID, even if already on campus you will not be able to get into some buildings without it.

    Greek Life

    Check it out and see if you like any houses, if not petition to make your own sorority/fraternity by having potential members sign your proposal.

    Great for these types of students

    All types

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Underground passage connecting different buildings. There is an atomic absorption spectroscopy underneath the science building and sometimes you can feel its vibrations if you are in the first floor in New Ingersoll.

    What to do for fun

    Walk around campus, hang out on the quad (lawn), play tennis, go to library cafe, visit the Greek life tables.

    Food and Dining

    Some of it is ok. Over priced. Go off campus.

    Dorm Life

    You get more time to sleep or do course work since the walk to campus is under 5 minutes. If you have gapes in between classes you may rest or hang out in dorms. Yearly parties.

    Academic Rigor

    Join study groups, don't put off work, and read material ahead of time. Continuously review course material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take free campus tours from upper class-man any day of the week. Join one of the many groups on campus and/or make friends.

    In three sentences

    Strongly promotes students to network. Beautiful and well kept green campus lawns and ponds. Offers helpful free tutoring.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The officers take their jobs seriously so always have your ID ready.

    Great for these types of students

    EVERYONE! There are all types of people on campus. It's so versatile.

    Bang for the buck

    Well worth taking out fin aid or loans. The education that you can receive there will last a life time and the relationships you will create are well worth more than you'd ever have to pay.

    What to do for fun

    The clubs are exceptional. There is literally a club for anything and everything you could think of or would like to do. I personally enjoy belly dancing, poetry, and anime!

    Food and Dining

    Love the cafe, and all the options that are in the campus area too!

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, but I have heard it's pretty awesome, however it is pricey.

    Academic Rigor

    Every student I have had the pleasure of coming into contact with at Brooklyn College has a passion for their major or just learning in general that is exceptional. The professors are excellent at engaging this as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to someone in admission as much as possible. Let it be known that you are really interested in being a student there. Dedication is key.

    In three sentences

    The absolute best school for a variety of education and advancement in the real world. The people staff and students alike are open minded, passionate, and excited about gaining and giving knowledge!

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The guards are very friendly and will even escort you to the bus/train if you finish class really late.

    Greek Life

    There are national and local frats and sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a club for everything! If not, you can start one.

    Great for these types of students

    Driven and hard working.

    What to do for fun

    There are shopping areas near by, you can go to the student center and play a round of pool or video games with your friends. If you want to do something more relaxing, you can always meet new people while sitting on the quad.

    Food and Dining

    There are endless varieties of food around campus. Not only fast food but healthy choices as well.

    Dorm Life

    There are dorms available

    Academic Rigor

    Professors here don't coddle you. They expect a certain quality of work and will push you to reach you academic potential. It is important to be self-sufficient, also.

    Tips for prospective students

    Brooklyn College is often referred to as the Poor man's Harvard and that shouldn't be taken lightly. The work is vigorous, you will be challenged like you never have been before but in the end it makes you a stronger student. If you intend to work hard and want to be among the best, this school is for you.

    In three sentences

    The CUNY system is usually frowned upon by private and state school students but Brooklyn College is truly one of the best CUNY schools around, in every way. There are world renowned professors, state of the art facilities in the library, even dorms; everything you need to do your best.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nontraditional. I waited until I was 22 to begin college--I just wasn't ready at 18. And Brooklyn college has actually been a great fit for me. If you want the traditional dorm room/ hazing / whatever else college experience, then BC probably isn't the best fit. But if you're starting a few years after everyone else, it actually works out really nicely.

    Bang for the buck

    The financial aid here is good--especially if you are independent from your parents (otherwise I'm not really sure how it works out). You'll definitely find yourself paying less than you would at most colleges.

    What to do for fun

    Um, will other people respond positively if I just recommend the library here? I could sit in those stacks for days on end. The student gym is also great--never very crowded, and there is pool access too.

    Food and Dining

    Absolutely terrible. I've finally learned my lesson and always bring lunch to campus. The cafeteria is terrible. And off campus isn't much better. My only recommendation in the area is Lord's Bakery just across the junction. But red velvet cake isn't very good brain food. There are a few starbucks on campus to get your caffeine fix, but other than that--STAY AWAY.

    Dorm Life

    Honestly--no idea. Our residence hall is new, and I've never been there. Note: this should not be a required question, CAPPEX. Commuter schools exist.

    Academic Rigor

    For the core curriculum: 3 stars. Brooklyn College is what you make of it. If you want an easy-A class, I have no doubt that you can find them. But honestly, the rigor varies by department.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in mind that this is a commuter school. Unless you are living in the residence hall (which I've never seen, and cannot attest to) you will be in and out of class. It isn't a school with a booming community, but it does offer a lot in the way of diversity. Any club you can imagine is available, and if not--its yours to make. The library is amazing, and the campus is beautiful. Its worth a trip.

    In three sentences

    Brooklyn College is one of those schools where the ball is constantly in your court. You can get a great education, or a middling one. It depends on how much you are willing to put in. The campus is beautiful, the cafeteria is awful, the classes are varying, as are professors.

  • 09/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 36 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If you are looking for something fun to do you can go to Prospect park, that is pretty close. You can also go to Coney Island which is great!

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, there is a decent selection of restaurants on campus in the dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are close to campus, but there are not very many of them.

    Academic Rigor

    The college is a little bit less expensive and therefore I feel that the professors that are here a little bit less stringent than maybe some at a larger university.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're planning on attending Brooklyn College it would be most beneficial to live in Brooklyn. I would recommend a degree in school psychology, my program, the staff is very friendly and supportive. If you are planning on taking out loans, plan ahead the process is very complicated.

    In three sentences

    The college is very conveniently located in Brooklyn, near a subway. I like the feel of the campus, it is small and easy to walk from building to building. The campus has a nice 24 hour study spot, and a great gym as well.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 37 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great deal of security on campus and all around

    Great for these types of students

    very diverse

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    many clubs to choose from depending on your interest

    What to do for fun

    Hanging out in the library

    Food and Dining

    great cafereria and many variety of brand names to choose from

    Academic Rigor

    It is a bit of a challenge

    Tips for prospective students

    First semester students should not load on classes, because this is the time to adjust and you don't want to exhaust yourself.

    In three sentences

    Brooklyn College is a University for the dedicated and determined student. It feels like Harvard University, respectable name and good reputation. Students learn and understand, not by memorizing; but by experience.

  • 02/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although the school is located in Flatbush, Brooklyn, the campus is heavily guarded with security officers guarding all entrance/ext posts around the college. The campus security provides a safe atmosphere for all members of the Brooklyn College community.

    Food and Dining

    To be quite honest, the campus food is OK, but not the best food money can buy. Also, the food is a bit pricey, so I would recommend bringing your own lunch to school from elsewhere. On the bright side, there are a slew of dining options around campus for students to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Although mainly a commuter school, Brooklyn College offers all of their students (whether a commuter student, out-of state, or international student) the opportunity to live in a brand new dormitory two blocks away from campus. From recreational facilities to study rooms (along with a vast array of dorm-room accommodations), the dormitory will give you the feeling of a home away from home.

    Academic Rigor

    Brooklyn College will make you think. Noted for its strong liberal arts core curriculum, Brooklyn College offers its students the opportunity to explore and educate themselves in areas that will help them become well-rounded individuals in whatever academic route (and future profession) they choose. Offering over 120 bachelors and masters programs, Brooklyn College has something to offer anyone and everyone who comes though its doors looking for a sound education.

    In three sentences

    If you are looking for a high-quality, well-rounded, and affordable liberal arts education, then look no further than Brooklyn College. With strong academics, affordable tuition rates, a slew of academic clubs and athletic teams all tied into a beautiful campus scenery, Brooklyn College will aid you in reaching your academic goals.

  • 04/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Okay school but only for general topics. Bad professors force you to retake classes.

    Dorm Life

    Commuter school but has a Dorm, I wouldn't know because I commute.

    Academic Rigor

    Most professors are adjunct. Depending on major some are more helpful than others. If they know how to teach you will like the class. Most don't care and you will have to repeat the class multiple times.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check what majors the schools are known for. It is likely that if you dont take 5 classes a semester or intersession classes that you will stay longer than 4 years at the school. You need to take core classes that take up about a year or two and might not interest you. Associates Degree is good to have before entering.

    In three sentences

    It has a nice campus. Not a good science school. Have problems with billing and registering for classes.

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The guards are excellent and always on duty. Always be prepared to show your ID upon entering campus. If not, you have some questions to answer before entering!

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of different clubs, from music to dance to taekwondo.

    What to do for fun

    Sit outside and watch the birds and squirrels play around campus, it is actually quite entertaining. Look for a club that might be practicing on the lawn. Take a walk around the area and see what the neighborhood has to offer. Usually the music department is putting on some type of free show somewhere on campus. You just have to walk around and see what the day has to offer! You can also check the website for upcoming events!

    Food and Dining

    Cost is a bit high, but there is a large variety and the food is tasty.

    Dorm Life

    I dont know, I dont live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Taking the courses seriously will bring on the rigor. The professors teach their courses appropriately, but the amount of studying and work one decides to put into it really makes the course a lazy one or a rigorous one. The professor can only meet you half way. Studying and hard work will get you that A.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that all of your academic documents, ranging from ALL of your AP class syllabus', diplomas, awards, transcrips, etc up to your high school graduation are in order. You will definitely need them when dealing with transfer credit offices, or in any instances where something needs to be proven (rare, but it is better to have things in order). Be confident in yourself and take the summer after HS graduation to research your college and learn what your goals in education are!

    In three sentences

    Brooklyn College has an outstanding Security system with Guards who perform their duties professionally and effectively. The academic system at Brooklyn College is full of variety and opportunities. All of the staff here are helpful and the professors are truly willing to help students in any way that they can.

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    41 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On call 24/7. NYC isn't any joke.

    Greek Life

    Does not happen.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of student clubs associated with major!

    Great for these types of students

    Technical, video geeks and urbanites.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They filmed mean girls here.

    Bang for the buck

    The best tuition for NY state folks.

    What to do for fun

    See local punk rock shows and attend political events and rallies.

    Food and Dining

    NYC food is the best. Their own dining area leaves much to be desired though.

    Academic Rigor

    Very competitive assessments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be a self starter. Don't expect to be told what you need to do to get started with the academic year. You'll need to find and file and check that the forms are filed for student status.

    In three sentences

    Highly valuable for its social justice mission. The administrative staff of student services is very poor. They are remodeling their online system currently.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you're a determined, hard working, and eager student, BC is for you. The road through college surely isn't smooth, but with these characteristics, you're sure to go far if you're willing to make the effort.

    Bang for the buck

    Are there days where I love my school? Absolutely. Are there days where I want to pull my hair out? Sure there are. Like any college, BC isn't perfect. The Bursar is slow, we have those few annoying professors, the usual. But at the same time, I have really enjoyed my experience thus far. I love the department of my major, I've made some lifelong friends, and most importantly, I have learned a lot.

    What to do for fun

    Like I mentioned earlier, BC has a beautiful campus. When the weather is nice, you'll often find a lot of students chilling on the front lawn either studying, socializing, or even napping. Considering where the college is located, you'll often find students in the Junction, an area filled with fast food places and shopping such as Target and Home Goods. Also on campus is the huge library, when students have access to computers, various references, and even have the option to grab a study room with a friend.

    Food and Dining

    In terms of location, Brooklyn College doesn't have a lot to offer when it comes to food. The cafeteria is your average space with your average food; rice, pizza, sandwiches, etc. Nothing to brag about here.

    Academic Rigor

    BC has its tough professors, its easy ones, and the ones in between. Depending on the class you take, you'll either end up in love, or just hating it. Sometimes the Core Curriculum is made to be a bit more challenging than it needs to be, so definitely research your professors before hand to ensure a good experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be aware that sometimes this college can be a bit slow in terms of processing. The Bursar is still fairly new, so simple things such a a grade change may take some time. If you're coming into Brooklyn College as undecided, make sure you get a good look at all it has to offer before just making a declaration.

    In three sentences

    Brooklyn College is great for a student who is just starting their academic career. With a wide variety of majors, you can definitely get your feet wet in all sorts of different subjects, ranging from Education, Health, English, and a lot more. Not only is the campus beautiful, but its also a great space to get all of your work done in a timely manner.

  • 07/01/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    43 of 52

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Brooklyn College is an amazing school. The campus is gorgeous and the staff at Brooklyn College are very helpful when u don' know how to get to a specific place. Brooklyn College is just amazing, top off all CUNY's in New York.

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a ton of sports and other on-campus activities. Great library and clubs.

    Food and Dining

    There are many small food stations at each of the buildings. However, I wish the cafeteria had a better choice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your time to come and see the campus and talk to the advisers before registering. Use the resources and join the clubs and activities. And you will enjoy your study at Brooklyn College.

    In three sentences

    The campus is very highly organized. The teaching staff is well-educated and interested supporting and teaching. I had a very good experience with the advisers, too.

  • 07/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of clubs that i've seen and with the new quad building there are many ways to stay active

    Food and Dining

    the food is pretty good for the most part, it's a little pricey but that's expected.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live in a dorm but i have seen the residential building which is cool.

    Academic Rigor

    the work given was ok with me, it is given to you in a timed out manner so that you may be able to work on it

    Tips for prospective students

    take the work given to you very seriously, and organize your time to study

    In three sentences

    i started attended spring 2013 and i loved it. although i have to say i did struggle with one class the rest was pretty much a good experience. i cant wait to continue and do better

  • 10/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security level is very high.

    Greek Life

    There are also few sororities and fraternities in BC.

    Clubs and Activities

    As aforementioned, there are students clubs for every possible taste and interest. Sports (yoga, dancing, tennis court, basketball, pool, soccer field, or just taking sun bathes on the green just-cut loan.

    Great for these types of students

    outgoing, friendly, open-mined, as well as introverted or shy, ambitious, kindhearted, honest; young students, who came after high-school or second-degree, or adult students who decided to continue their education; undergraduate and graduate students; students of all possible ethnicities; transfer students, ESL students, international students. EVERYONE wants to study!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    alfresco movies, cup-cake and other bakery and sweets sales (world-wide cuisines ), interesting seminars with famous speakers, and a lot more...

    Bang for the buck

    definitely it's worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Students clubs for every possible taste and interest. Sports (yoga, dancing, tennis court, basketball, pool, soccer field, or just taking sun bathes on the green just-cut loan.

    Food and Dining

    BC has a big cafeteria with a various hot and cold food offerings. There is kosher food as well. Plus there's two starbucks kiosks at the campus.

    Dorm Life

    there is a very nice modern dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to study here to succeed. Nothing really is a peace of cake.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go right away to the academic advisers and learning center, as well as surrounding students - you can get a lot of valuable advises.

    In three sentences

    CUNY Brooklyn College gives a high-quality pre-med education with plenty of research options. Besides one can get help there in all different areas from finding career goal and mastering students' various non-academical skills, Brooklyn college has pretty big recreational area (with a huge pool). As well as it also has one of the most beautiful campuses in NY.

  • 11/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do on campus. Students can be a part of the campus radio station, or they can hang out in the student center and enjoy the many pool tables available. Students also tend to go into Manhattan and enjoy all the wonderful endeavors that the city has to offer.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus isn't the greatest, however Brooklyn College is in the center of Flatbush, which is a cultural melting pot. Everything from Egyptian to Jamaican food: the surrounding area has it all.

    Dorm Life

    Brooklyn College has dorms, but it is mainly a commuter school, so the dorm life in Brooklyn College is very obscure to many who go here.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging, yet doable. The professors do not hesitate to challenge students from day 1, but they are willing to work with students who are struggling in certain areas. Students should expect to be challenged and also intrigued by the work here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Out-of-city students should be prepared for a huge culture shock. There are various unique and interesting people who attend this school. The work is rigorous, but doable. Incoming students should be prepared for an unique cultural experience, as well as a rigorous academic experience.

    In three sentences

    Brooklyn College is amazing. This school is very diverse, and is a clear representation of New York City as a whole. Anybody who wants a true New York scholarly experience should come to this school.

  • 11/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel like at home in the campus. Everywhere I go there are security guards who are very friendly and make me feel safe.

    What to do for fun

    I like to talk to students from class or make friends with people I meet in the library, cafeteria, etc. I also go the the Student Center once in a while to play games or attend valuable presentations.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, there is variety and great quality. You have the choice of dining in the cafeteria or other stores steps away from campus.

    Dorm Life

    Word from colleagues that Brooklyn College offers state of the art dorms for a decent price. They do everything in their power to help the student feel at home.

    Academic Rigor

    In Brooklyn College you are constantly to push your self in order to grow intellectually and as a person. It is up to the student to dedicate the time and understand the unique benefits college offers them in general.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is a necessary and meaningful change post high school education. Be ready to take the challenge with much passion and will. Choose the major you very much like and one that will pay off in the end.

    In three sentences

    Brooklyn college has one of the most amiable staff in the CUNY system. It has opened up an array of opportunities for my future. It is convenient in terms of accessibility, affordable and great quality education.

  • 12/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs to join as well as sororities and fraternities. But like I said, these type of things you need to look for and get yourself involved in.

    Food and Dining

    The food in Brooklyn College and around it is not healthy, it is low in quality. I suggest you bring food from your home.

    Dorm Life

    I do not know because as I have stated, this is mostly a commuter college. Although, dorms are available for students coming from out of state or just want to experience dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    I would not say Brooklyn College has hard classes - at least not the ones I have taken. The workload is not that much depending on your classes and the difficulty level is not high (in my opinion)

    Tips for prospective students

    Go into this college with a lot of motivation because you will need it to be able to find the tools you need in order to graduate.

    In three sentences

    It is a commuter college in an urban city (New York). Excellent programs and professors, especially in the Sociology department. My issues with the college is the lack of guidance and information given to the students - you have to find the information on your own.

  • 12/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Overall the campus is very safe considering its proximity to Flatbush. Guards are always at their posts and the student body is a calm one. Just don't walk around in the dark alone because there are very occasional burglaries.

    Bang for the buck

    Brooklyn college gives its students a decent education for its price. Like in any organization, there are always problems so I don't expect things to run perfectly but in my opinion things run decently enough for a public education.

    What to do for fun

    Fun is a very relative term. Often students can be found sleeping in the library after a stressful day or participating in college organizations or sororities. The college offers a gym for students, which includes a pool if you prefer swimming.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria in Brooklyn college does have its benefits. It's extremely convenient and the food isn't half bad. Overpriced, no doubt, but it's really the only place on or around campus to get a healthy sandwich. (Trust me I've looked) There is a small deli nearby off campus but the staff is snooty and it's turned me off from shopping there. Their prices aren't very welcoming either. The other alternatives are Quiznos, Subway, Dunkin Donuts, Popeyes and a few others. Depends on your preference but students aren't disappointed with the variety.

    Dorm Life

    I personally wouldn't know but my friends tell me it's terrible. The rooms are cramped and overpriced.

    Academic Rigor

    There's a lot of leeway in some classes and almost none in others. It depends on the professor but the overall feel is that you do have to work for your grades. Almost every class gives students a fair chance at an A. Just make sure to reserve adequate time for studying at home because it just isn't possible to get high grades without putting in the effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Spend a lot of time in the library, study ahead, and get to know your professors outside of class. The library is full of so many different resources that aren't available for the public such as special editions of books and archives. By speaking to your professors ouside of class, they will learn your name so that when it comes time for grades they'll be able to match your personality to your name on their roster, effectively giving them a positive impression of you and potentially raising your overall grade. By studying ahead you can strengthen your knowledge whilensitting in class rather than learning it for the first time. It'll make a great difference in the long run.

    In three sentences

    Students share a prospective campus and are generally oriented towards achieving. It does have a bit of the high school feel because students typically commute from home rather than dorm. The teachers are helpful, the new CunyFirst system is never fully functional and the secretaries are often snooty.

  • 01/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Must present an I.D. to enter the campus

    Bang for the buck

    For a physical education program, they are highly respected throughout the city and rather affordable.

    What to do for fun

    work out. There is a new fitness facility that has a bit of everything from team sports to swimming to weight lifting.

    Food and Dining

    There are some name brand restaurants on campus and many others very close by off of Flatbush.

    Dorm Life

    I viewed the dorms. I guess they looked nice, but I never dormed there, because I was already engaged to be married.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes the work is more demanding than others, but for me, I enjoy a class that makes me work for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    whether here or in any school, if you believe a grade that you received was unfair, question it. Try not to need to drive to school.

    In three sentences

    The school has a very knowledgeable physical education department and some of the teachers are open to your suggestions. I think it is probably like most other colleges. There are teachers that work with you, and then there are some that believe it is their way or the highway.

  • 02/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Ha, always have your ID out. You may never know. We have multiple entrances but most of the time have your ID out. Guards are always on the look out. Nothing bad ever happens but, you know you can never be too safe.

    Greek Life

    We have sororities, so I've heard..and seen with everyone wearing sorority sweaters and jackets. Maybe I'll join one soon, but they all seem, well put together and all of that good stuff.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a variety to choose from, sometimes you'll even see them set up a table on campus; ESPECIALLY during transfer student and first year Thursdays. Our club hours usually run from 12-2 so you should have time to do plenty of things.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a psychology person or an artsy type, this school is perfect for you. It is also great for science prospects as well. They have a Green house and a Planetarium. It lights up my eyes in glee, and all of that good stuff.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well there is a huge grass plain in the middle of campus, sometimes there is a random guy doing funny stuff. Last time I passed by he was making Tarzan impressions. I was staring at him like, well that seems normal.

    Bang for the buck

    Once you gain friends and such, it is really fun there. The campus is also beautiful, along with the Library caf�© where you can hang out and get a cup of coffee or tea. It is like an adorable little Starbucks. (It is an adorable little Starbucks). There is also a gym, a huge pool and it is worth the money if you explore.

    What to do for fun

    Well there's a whole bunch of clubt to join. One of my personal favorites is the BC slam team. It is a slam team of 5 people that goes out and perform poetry in a competition called C.U.P.S.I it is a national poetry slam where you get to compete with other poets across the nation. (We were 2nd in the nation in 2013). If you don't make the team you can always compete in Thursday night slam, hosted by the team members themselves.

    Food and Dining

    Well, welcome to college where everything is so darn expensive. Don't worry, there is a whole bunch of places where you can get food near by off campus if you don't want anything. The food is not bad, it is just pocket challenging. There are near by food trucks, near by almost all the time so no need to worry!

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm, but I heard everything seems fine. Before the academic year started they had a sweepstakes where you could enter to win gift cards and electronic devices such as ipads etc. It was an awesome BBQ.

    Academic Rigor

    It more depends on your major to be honest. The science professors (exceptpsychology) are pretty, eh. I am a prospective English major and my professors so far are pretty awesome. Stay in your books and you'll get pretty far. It is NOT that easy to get an A but it is not toohard either.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what major you want. Don't come in knowing straight off the bat, but keep an open mind. Generally the professors here have different teaching styles so you have to learn how to assimilate; but they are pretty awesome (so ive seen so far).

    In three sentences

    Brooklyn College is a great school once you get used to it. Generally my Professors are friendly, they'll keep you updated on grades and send you constant emails. Just make sure you do the work and stay on their good side (like what you would sort of aim for).