Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

CUNY College of Staten Island Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I recommend this College to anyone who is want to raise their GPA to transfer to another College.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Always read your professor's rating at ratemyprofessor.com. You do not want to be stuck with a horrible or lousy professor. - If you live in Brooklyn be prepared to commute 2 hours (4 hours total).

    Bang for the buck

    CUNY- College of Staten Island will try everything just to get some money out of you. Charging you some many tedious fees. ie: Making custom edition of the textbook, that you HAVE to buy it from the college bookstore.

    Am enjoying being here

    - I have to wake up at 5am just to go to a 8am class on a Saturday. Then I had night class, which ended at 7pm and I got home around 10pm. - You will find it much faster if you walk instead of taking the loop bus. - The library is semi nosy. - The cafe food is disgusting.

    Am learning a lot

    You will be lucky if you actually have a professor that you will learn from. Most of the professors here are lousy and they cannot teach.

  • 01/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always present, they make regular rounds, do escorts to your car at night if you call them etc. Great overall.

    Greek Life

    Friend of mine is in a sorority and she's loving it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Currently not in any.

    Great for these types of students

    Working students, older students, those that are budget minded, students who want to stay close to home yet complete a 4 year degree, driving students, though a lot of buses stop at the main entrance

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sitting on the grass is actually encouraged but most people don't do it, it's a shame, the main lawns are great. There is a small wooded pathway between building 1P & it's parking lot that is nice to walk through during the summer & fall.

    Bang for the buck

    Great value considering the tuition costs of my previous school beinge $36,000+ I definately feel more comfortable with tuition being in the $2500-$3000 range.

    What to do for fun

    Ummm... I usually drive off campus, the mall is nearby, so are a lot of stores, banks, restaurants since the campus is located near some of the biggest intersections on the island.

    Food and Dining

    Never ate on campus, but I hear the food in the Cafe and Dining Hall is pretty decent.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    So far science and math classes have had the hardest challenge for me, just make sure to mix up your schedule with at least one fun class every semester if possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look up your professors on a rating website before you take their classes. They are usually accurate as to what you can expect in the course. Also, make sure you always register for new classes the moment your registration date unlocks your account, or you'll get stuck taking leftover classes at odd times if you can even get into them.

    In three sentences

    Great campus, though it's a lot of walking from the buildings to the parking lots(which are always crowded). Professors are hit and miss but that's at any college, and most administration and employees have to problems giving you the run around though. You have to be persistent in the even that you have a problem on campus.

  • 03/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -low income students -students who also just want to save money and not end up in ridiculous amounts of debt -students who want to raise their gpa

    Bang for the buck

    very affordable, and if under circumstances with financial aid you can get aid that covers the tuition cost where you don't have to pay a penny out of your pocket.

    Food and Dining

    i've never personally ate at the school cafeteria nor do i plan to, but i've heard mixed reviews from people liking certain things to being disgusted with the quality of food served. not far from campus are a bunch of restaurants, such as a sushi place called mitoushi that i highly recommend which are all in walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    it all comes down to the professor you choose to take. some make it very challenging and make you work for your grade while others don't really care and make it easy as possible to get the class over with.

    Tips for prospective students

    -for people who take classes at around 6pm, always get there much more earlier be it by car or bus; the traffic is horrendous getting around campus. -always look up your professor, it makes your life so much easier and you actually learn something.

    In three sentences

    very affordable and an easy way to up one's gpa. your classroom experience all depends on if you not only only register for your classes early as possible but also if you research and look up professors on rateyourprofessor.com. it makes your time spent here more bearable.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are both outdoor and indoor recreational spaces, and plenty of clubs and extra-curricular activities to get involved with.

    Food and Dining

    There is something for everyone's tastes. For example, there is a deli, a pizza shop, a health food store, and even a cafe. In terms of taste, the food is satisfactory.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't any dorm space, but they are building residence halls that will be finished by Fall 2013.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a mix of professors who will challenge their students, and others whose courses are easily passed. You never know which kind you'll get!

    In three sentences

    The College of Staten Island is a great place to go to school. Those who want a great education at an affordable rate will be happy. It is just as good in terms of faculty and resources as any private school.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety does a great job keeping the school safe. If you take night classes, you can call campus safety and they will escort you from your building to your car.

    Greek Life

    The college does not recognize sororities and fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs at this school. There are cultural clubs, gender clubs, major clubs, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing students! Our nursing program is one of the greatest on the East coast and it is very competitive. The MA in Mental Health Counseling program is also amazing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The College of Staten Island has a rich history in the Mental Health field. The school was originally the Willowbrook State School, which was a state institute for individuals with mental disabilties. The school was made famous in 1972 when Geraldo Rivera reported that the patients were being treated unfairly. The story, though very sad, brought about a lot of changes in the way our nation cares for mentally disabled patients.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is part of the City University of New York so you are getting a great education at a cheaper price. Although, I suggest purchasing textbooks on Amazon; avoid the bookstore prices.

    What to do for fun

    Hangout by the fountain at 1P; it's very relaxing. There are a lot of events all year long hosted by the various clubs. Also, join a club! Support campus clubs, they look great on your resume and are a lot of fun.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is really good. There is also a cafe in the library with a Starbucks; perfect for test cramming days! The cafeteria also caters campus events and the food is usually really good.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this campus but the plans have been approved and dorms are being built shortly.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest networking and making friends; professionally and casually. It is always good to know someone; it can help you out in the long run.

    In three sentences

    CUNY College of Staten Island is a great place to learn for lower tuition prices than other schools. The professors are top notch and apply high standards in grading. If students apply themselves, they will succeed at this school.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Social and intelligent

    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you come prepared and ready to be an indpendant learner, you'll do great!

    Bang for the buck

    Two thumbs up

    Am enjoying being here

    Great Teachers and Great Learning Environment

    Am learning a lot

    Just finished my first semester and I am ready for the next one

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    i am now finding out about the greek life in csi.

    In three sentences

    the campus is very big. they need dorms. they need to be more patient

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    be ready to take control of your life, csi is a very independent school your make your future happen here

    In three sentences

    csi is very flexible as far as class schedules, i have never had a problem with any professor and help is always available

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I like the fact that the are patrol cars that are all over the campus to make sure we are ok and safe.

    What to do for fun

    I like to swim or play some type of sport. I also enjoy listen to music and reading.

    Dorm Life

    Not dorming.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not officially started in the college. My new schedule is a full.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you do your research and visit other schools before you make a final decision. You need to be happy where ever you go to finish your education.

    In three sentences

    It is a very big college that is on a beautiful piece of property. From what I have been able to see of the college I think it is exactly what I'm looking for in a college. I know I will have much sucess here.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 38

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It is nice

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a large student body that there is always activities going on campus. There are tons of groups and this school does have a ton of teams that do compete against other schools. GO DOLPHINS !

    Food and Dining

    Great Cafe ! The seating in the cafe and cafeteria is limited the food they serve does have weird but creative names such as twitter etc... but they all taste amazing. Great plus that they also serve Starbucks coffee.

    Dorm Life

    This school has no dorms but are in the process of building them. When they are completed I personally think it would make the school 10 times better.

    Academic Rigor

    Even though the school academic is tough and stressful at times but it is a rewarding feeling when you finally understand the topic being taught by the amazing professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make this school your top choice It has great list of majors. It has a beautiful campus and friendly staff and students.

    In three sentences

    CUNY of staten island is a commuter school. Although many people are commuters there is always school spirit around the campus. The campus is amazing i personally think best in NY.

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very poor horrible safety. they don't have enough lights on campus to even see at night.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you live nearby or they have room in a specific program for you then it's not too bad to attend. other then that don't even waste time researching this school.

    In three sentences

    this school isn't as good as they make it seem. there's never any parking and the bathrooms are filthy. i'm a current student but i regret it.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i read a book

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    JOIN A GROUP

    In three sentences

    GREAT ENVIROMENT , NICE PEOPLE DECIDED TO HELP YOU AND VERY ATTENTIVE PERSONAL

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security has never given me a problem. I lost my keys once and campus security was very nice they told me to go to the lost and found office and I got them back. If you ever need any help or if you have a problem with anyone I'm sure they'd do a good job.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some events throught each semester for college students. This year I'm looking to join the A.L.P.H.A. club which lets group members volunteer at soup kitchens a couple times per month. There are a few clubs but a lot of students miss out and need to join and interact with other students.

    Bang for the buck

    CSI is affordable and very reasonable during each semester students receive valuable offferings. These include free counseling, free tutoring, free library access, free wifi and computers to use throughout the campus and many other types of things. For me I live on Staten Island so it was close to home and within my budget so its been a great fit for me.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is ok there food could be better but you can get wht you want. There are many types of food items that are sold on campus. I do think that the hours should be changed because some students get out in the evening and they are closed. CSI also has a salad bar which offers good healthy options. They also sell coffee and pastries which are pretty good and reasonably priced.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm at this college but they are building dorms on campus which should be completed by sometime next year. I don't plan to dorm on campus because I still live at home with my parents on Staten Island.

    Academic Rigor

    If you study hard and try hard and do well at CSI you can accomplish anything. The work is alittle hard but you can do well in each subject if you push yourself to do more. You can also receive scholarships and higher education tips if you get high grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your looking for a campus that is close to home and is reasonably priced CSI is the way to go even if your from nyc. CSI provides a free ferry shuttle that picks up students bt the St. George Ferry Terminal and drops them off at the campus and also drops students off at the St. George Ferry terminal. Also if your looking to do well in a college and fulfill your degree and accomplish your goal this a great college to attend.

    In three sentences

    The College of Staten Island is a reasonably priced college that is affordable. CSI's professors are helpful and they each student with any problem that they might need. CSI is great for me because the campus offers a wide range of free semester offerings such as tutoring, gym use, the library, student clubs,etc.

  • 10/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Everything! Join clubs, events, charities, intermships, apply for them. Meet people.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't bad but not great. They need chefs that knows to cook.

    Dorm Life

    They haven't yet build the dorms yet . They are in construction now. But the college will change when the dorms are build.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic has many faults in the system but I will focus on one for now, academic advisement. These people aren't able to help. But they are smart in some parts of it like certain majors like accounting, phy,math

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't follow the academic advisement's advice on what classes to take in any semester. Follow the system on Esims and go to student audit.

    In three sentences

    The College of Staten Island has a reputation of high prices books and text books. This school is not to back in the food area. This school has a low crime rate.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is mostly safe. A few fights (over parking spots), the occasional mugging. Public safety is unresponsive. They're more concerned with giving out tickets for parking and smoking. Get that revenue, right?

    Greek Life

    I have no idea if there are any frats.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a reasonably nice gym, but it's always crowded.

    Great for these types of students

    Low SES students in Staten Island and Brooklyn, because it is probably the only accredited college you can afford within commuting distance (besides CUNY- Brooklyn).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Fighting over parking spaces

    Bang for the buck

    CUNY CSI is affordably priced. It's one of the cheapest Middle States accredited colleges in NYC (and the US) and most of its professional programs are also accredited. For people like me, with limited means, that's a godsend. Unfortunately, you get what you pay for. Red tape borders on ridiculous, many professors don't care or are incompetent and many students seem to border on cognitively disabled.

    What to do for fun

    Go off-campus or home. The gym on-campus is OK

    Food and Dining

    The food is good.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    There are several very good professors. If you find one, take him or her for as many courses as possible. The problem is not so much a lack of good professors so much as that incompetent professors are never fired. I have had professors who are senile, professors who fall asleep, professors who read out of the textbook, a professor who would put on a powerpoint then read the paper, a professor who was clearly on drugs, and several professors who bring young, loud children to class. Class is not a priority for many professors, yet these professors are never fired. Several chair departments. No one will ever respond to your e-mails. I've never seen a professor show up for office hours. The students are similarly lackluster. They're rude, rarely do coursework, occasionally intoxicated, and are often quite stupid. Many are more suited for a correctional setting than an academic one. There are exceptions for both students and teachers, but having degrees from other schools, I was perenially appalled by the lack of professionalism amongst teachers and low expectations set for students at CSI. I can't believe that dep't chairs are so lax enforcing mandatory office hours. God forbid you're one of the half-dozen students per class who wants to learn, good luck finding your prof outside class.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's OK (much better than any for-profits and several other CUNY's), but go someplace else if you can afford it.

    In three sentences

    CSI is affordably priced and easy to commute to for many Staten Island residents. While academics are passable and accredited in most major professions (nursing, business, computer science, education), professors and students are generally lackluster. You essentially get what you pay for.

  • 12/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Movie and game room as well as clubs and sports

    Food and Dining

    Very good food is mad there

    Dorm Life

    New dorms coming 2013

    Academic Rigor

    This school has good teachers that help you learn the subject well

    Tips for prospective students

    Its a good school to help you transition from high school to college

    In three sentences

    A good school that teaches you a lot and helps you get accustomed to the change from high school to college

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I still have not seen a fist fight yet and I've been here 5 semesters now.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs for all majors.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard workers, anyone looking to go into nursing or a science field.

    What to do for fun

    There are many on campus activities and clubs to take part in during your spare time. There is also a gym and a swimming pool that are almost always available to the public.

    Food and Dining

    It's school food what do you expect?

    Dorm Life

    The new dorms are just now being built and should be ready by the Fall of 2013.

    Tips for prospective students

    Everyone assumes that the College of Staten Island is an easy college simply because of it's high acceptance rate. If you are attending this school do not come with that attitude. The high acceptance rate is a way for the college to make money. They allow almost any student to attend and most of the students didn't even care about high school and don't take college seriously. These are the students who drop out and bring class sizes from 35 students down to 9 students. If you attend this school, be ready for a challenge, be ready to work hard, and be ready to study.

    In three sentences

    The College of Staten Island is a good school with many professors that range from very helpful to extreme nightmares. Choose wisely from the start and you will be a lot happier. Students are mostly very friendly.

  • 12/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is pretty secure, you often see security doing different patrols around the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Washington Monthly listed csi has one of the best bank for the buck college so you can see how that is.

    What to do for fun

    there are various clubs and activities, also every now and again the college offers various events.

    Food and Dining

    The food choices in the cafeteria isn't much of a broad variety. the biggest problem with the food option there is pricing. you are paying a good amount of money for average tasting food plus the cafeteria building doesn't accept cards to purchase your meals with.

    Dorm Life

    currently there is no dorming wait till fall 2013 to when it opens.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors there are pretty understanding and are willing to work with students as long as they put a decent effort in school work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Give yourself travel time if traveling from different boroughs. Also bring cash with you because certain places like the cafeteria building or various bake sales only accept cash .

    In three sentences

    It is a pretty decent school it has a huge campus and various clubs and organizations. The travel can be a pain as the commute can be sometimes difficult when traveling form different boroughs. The school also offers various events they host .

  • 01/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe, athough it could do with some more campus safety officials during the night.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and activities.

    Bang for the buck

    The college is a city school and as such it is much cheaper than other schools. Although cheaper its academic standards are great.

    What to do for fun

    I'm a weekend and night student which means I rarely have a chance to participate in college activities as I work full-time. There is little fun to be had on campus for me. But doesn't have to be the case for other students. They have a wide range of clubs and on-campus activities accessible to all students.

    Food and Dining

    Food is very accessibe; especially on week days. There is a main cafeteria which carries a variety of food and there is a small cafeteria attached to the library. Each building have vending machines which is great.

    Dorm Life

    The school only recently constructed dorms on campus. Students will be moving in for spring 2013. They look great. I'm sure it will provide a wonderful experience for its future occupance.

    Academic Rigor

    It's college, ofcourse it's not easy but like anything that is challenging; work hard, committ and you will do great. The teachers have high expectations and I wouldn't have it any other way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early for classes. Ensure that you speak to an academic advisor before each semester. They make the registering process so much easier and they are really informative.

    In three sentences

    The College of Staten Island is a wonderful school. The teachers are student oriented and accessible. The campus is beautiful.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Now the campus is tobacco free.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is the psychology club, robotics club,dance club different kinds of club you can attend

    Great for these types of students

    social and focused

    What to do for fun

    Usually for fun, i go to the movie room. there are always playing new movies just out on DVD and it's free!

    Food and Dining

    Good food, a wide variety to choose from. Very clean cafeteria. you are never bored because there is a television everywhere which keeps you entertained with MTV. There is a restaurant in the cafeteria. and there is also a Starbucks cafe i the library where you can hangout.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms yet, but dorms will be opened fall 2013

    Tips for prospective students

    Be careful. choose the right friends and the right activities and clubs. do not over stress yourself. Do not wait till last min with your homework because you don't want to be stressed out. do all your homework, attend your classes frequently, always check your school email, and study everyday because on the test/exam/mid-term day, you do not want to be overwhelmed!.

    In three sentences

    This school is very clean. it's really big compared to other Cuny school. it has a wide variety of activities, volunteering and clubs to join. And the campus is also starting to build dorms for this year fall students.

  • 01/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Stay open minded!

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs on campus but other than that, I'm not sure.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. They have decent options but it could be better.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms yet but supposedly they will have dorms this year.

    Academic Rigor

    It's challenging depending on what class you take and the professor but not really too challenging for the most part.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused, stay happy, and be passionate with everything that you do!

    In three sentences

    It is a really good school. It's kind of hard to meet new people because everyone has to commute, especially if you aren't from Staten Island. The commute also sucks for those who can't or don't drive.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They're like cops, but down to earth cops, but don't take advantage they are the real deal!

    Greek Life

    Very social, productive and huge on community service (and great parties!)

    Great for these types of students

    There is fun for everyone! The College of Staten Island makes everyone feel comfortable, they do not discriminate!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing unusual unless you make it unusual!

    Bang for the buck

    There are decent prices for everything, and most students throw events through the Student Activities Board Budget.

    What to do for fun

    Everything, LITERALLY!!!!! And plus there is a live radio station on campus!

    Food and Dining

    There are food spots EVERYWHERE!!!!!! Even down to vending machines in every building on campus. There are food spots off-campus as well. The campus is also 10-15 minutes away from a HUGE MALL!!!!

    Dorm Life

    Residence Halls are currently in construction for the opening in the Fall 2013 semester. The school has had tours through the Student housing office and the are literally full sized apartments with full sized bedrooms, bathrooms, living rooms, and kitchens with personal closet spaces and there are different options for rooms. 4 bedroom(private and 2 bathrooms, 3 bedroom(1 shared, 2 private) and 2 bathrooms, and 2 bedroom(private) and 1 bathroom(shared).

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculum is awesome. There are so many different majors and minors to choose from whilst most of the majors have degree programs all the way up to Master's Degree. Also finding Financial Aid, whether it is federal funding/loans/grants or money out of pocket. they even help you with payment plans if you are a dependent or independent student. There is always help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that when you apply for classes, research who your future professors are first. Get to know the upper class men and the community in which the campus is based in (not being biased but it really is a great school). And most importantly, get involved. getting involved is the most important since it helps you build networks both in socialism and the professional world.

    In three sentences

    So far I love the curriculum here. All the professors/the SEEK program is very helpful with academics and dealing with college life. The College of Staten Island is like home away from home to me.

  • 03/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very high presence around campus. Always willing to help

    Greek Life

    There are sororities and fraternities on campus, but I do not know too much about them.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of activities to do all semester long. You'll never find a dull day at CSI

    Great for these types of students

    CSI is great for those interested in student life and building networks. Also, great for the academics-first mind.

    Bang for the buck

    The most economically-friendly school in the nation. Half the tuition (at least) of surrounding private institutions. In the most prime location.

    What to do for fun

    Participating in the many student life events and clubs, working out or playing some ball at the Sports and Recreation Center. Even taking the Staten Island Ferry shuttle and hopping over to Manhattan (the city)

    Food and Dining

    It is no 5 star dining experience, but it definitely satisfies the hunger in between classes

    Dorm Life

    We have dorms opening up this fall semester. Personally, as most of the student body, I live at home and commute with no plans to dorm. We expect the dorms to become a large attraction on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    We are not any Ivy League school...yet. We are up and coming in technology with pivotal research as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember no matter what school you attend, you get out of your education what you put into it. If you are strongly considering an institution, go see it before you commit.

    In three sentences

    One of the smartest decisions you can make as a student.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are great, if they don't have a club you want, they'll give you the funding to start it.

    What to do for fun

    Club Life is great on campus. I'm a part of A Reason To Write, love this club.

    Food and Dining

    It's alright, Love my ice coffees, that's all I seemed to drink or ever have.

    Dorm Life

    Doesn't exist at the moment

    Tips for prospective students

    I changed my majors three times, I recommend taking Math 030 right away. Unless you have high math scores on regents, the SAT or ACT. I neglected saying I wasn't going to need and then I changed my major and I'm shaking my head at myself now.

    In three sentences

    Surprisingly helpful if you have a major.

  • 04/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 38

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Excellent college with excellent professors and counselors. They helped me to continue schooling.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    school safety is good

    Clubs and Activities

    Flag football and there basket ball team

    What to do for fun

    lay on the grass and play football or work out in there gym

    Food and Dining

    it's good I love there pizza

    Dorm Life

    It is cool and fun, you are with your friends and you can study in your own place

    Academic Rigor

    The professor are very help fun when you need there help they are there for you

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on campus and u be fine it fun and you will be right there next to all your classes

    In three sentences

    CSI college is a well net college. everyone is nice and helpful and its a peaceful place to learn

  • 07/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safee

    Clubs and Activities

    clubs are great. But it's not anything you haven't herd of, they are very similar to high school clubs

    Great for these types of students

    great school, if you want to get your GPA and transfer, it's also great if you like big campuses

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    one thing i find cool is, the fountain waters are pink on breast cancer awareness day

    Bang for the buck

    if you are not dorming. you're really not paying for anything but the books. my books this semester were 250 and that's all that i took out of my pockets since the school year started if you are dorming, most likely you're gonna have to take out a loan because financial does not cover even 300 of your dorm rent

    What to do for fun

    there is a pool, a recreation center, a tennis house, and a mall a couple of minutes away from of the campus. there is a shuttle bus that takes you to the ferry free of charge, so you can go shop in Manhattan. and you can also visit your friends in there dorms and stay for the whole day if that's what you want to do

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, although there is not a lot of food options,the food that they do have is great. you have options of sandwiches of all sorts, ice cream, pizza, Starbucks coffee,and etc.. the dining hall does get crowed almost everyday. if you don't like to eat inside with a lot of people, you can sit outside where, it is much more quiet.

    Dorm Life

    I personally don't dorm, because its too pricey, the dorms were built this year, and its ranged anywhere from $1000-$1200 a month. that's about 12,000.00 for 10 months. i have visited the dorms, and they're very nice. they almost look like a regular apartment, with a big kitchen, 2 bathrooms and 3 bedrooms. 2 personal bedrooms. and one that is shared.

    Academic Rigor

    i am a biology major, but as of right now, i am only taking general classes. classes can get hard if you are not focus. you learn about 3 topics in one class for about 2 hours, so if you're not focus it is very easy to get lost. i have a friend who is sophomore taking her first year of bio, and she is struggling right now to keep up with the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. always sit in the front of all classes, get to know your teachers 2. DO YOUR WORK ! these professors have no sympathy at all 3.try your best to have a 3.0 GPA. GPA in CSI is everything, you can get a great job on campus, depending on how good your GPA is 4.take advantage of writing centers, and tutoring that is offered

    In three sentences

    If I had to rate College Of Staten Island on a scale of one to five. I would give it a three. The school look amazing, But the housings are not affordable, although the admissions office and the financial aid office is very helpful. They don't go the extra mile to help you.

  • 10/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Regardless if your poor or stinking rich. Dont buy food on campus. Not worth your buck. Food at home is healthier anyway.And if you cant cook, Find someone who can.

    Dorm Life

    Looks like an actual apartment. Room sizes are decent. Well their bigger than my room, and my room is prettyyyy big.

    Academic Rigor

    Join a club. No.... correction. Join a lot of clubs. It looks better when your looking for a job. And the more people you know the better.. That fact helps in the future. Just dont be that guy no one likes. Its pretty hard to acomplish... but i should warn you regardless. Security guards are tight in there. If one security guard dislikes you its over for you. lol jk

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Go to the gym. No, seriously. Go to the gym. I dont care if your active or rediculiously lazy, your going to gain 15 lbs from just EXISTING in there. Go the very first week of class.Dont stop 2) Talk to random people. You'd be suprise what conversations you start and the people you meet. If your introverted, take your introverted butt to the cafe and library and talk to random people there (first floor only). 3) Harrass professors if u need help with even the stupidest of questions. On campus, off campus, with their cell phones and even at home (P.s. they secretly like it.) 4) I can not stress the whole meet new people enough. Trust me when I say those people will remember you. And they'll help you in the future

    In three sentences

    If you want what is called the full college experience, C.S.I. is the best place to get it at an affordable rate. The dorms, the campus THE CAMPUS! the professors and expecially the students. Everyones pretty friendly, its practically a whole new world in there. Are classes stressful? hell yes, but will you love it...?Well, when you meet those professor that actually love their jobs, and you meet the campus students who leave the high school drama behind them and you meet that life long friend youd never thought youd meet because you never believed you would never meet someone as weird & laid back as you? Yea... you'll love it.

  • 10/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    It's ok.. there isn't like a buffet or anything. There is just about 4-5 little shops on campus and lots of vending machines for on the go snacks

    Dorm Life

    i don't dorm

    Academic Rigor

    If you do every single homework and actually study at home then you'll be fine

    Tips for prospective students

    If you live close great it's perfect for you..if you live in the Bronx or queens or Brooklyn it's going to be a pain to travel an hour and a half or 2 hours every day coming and going..so whatch out for that

    In three sentences

    The school is great but it's way too far for me too get there and it doesnt have a bachelors for my major

  • 11/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is not greek life as long as I have been a part at this school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are not much clubs and activities offered. There are many sports teams and the basketball program is division 3 and good.

    Food and Dining

    I choose to not eat the food offered at the school. It is expensive

    Dorm Life

    I answer average because the school recently built dorms so I have not yet experienced dorm life. The dorms are new and clean.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is not that hard, although some professors are challenging and very knowledgable. I recommend to take the tough professors to challenge yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make a career and business choice while in high school. Decide what career you want to pursue while in high school because this school is a true bang for your buck. If you decide to continue with graduate school then this school is a good choice if it offers your intended majors.

    In three sentences

    The school has stepped up in academics and campus housing over the past years. The school recently added the School of Business as well as addition of new teachers. Campus housing is now offered to those who wish to attend.

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Easy A in CSI.

    In three sentences

    CSI is the biggest college in New York City. The professors are nice in CSI and the students are also great to everyone. I recommend CSI to everyone who interest live in beatuiful college.

  • 01/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    nothing

    Tips for prospective students

    seek out the bursars office early

    In three sentences

    A well organized school for people who look for an environment without distractions. Moderate Professors and work load. Large campus with nice scenary and plenty of transportation options

  • 02/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Attend club events, check out some events or seminars going on. The mall is 10 minutes away. The city is about 45 mins away by bus and ferry.

    Food and Dining

    Food looks fresh and appetizing. Prices are reasonable. Starbucks on campus!

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm, but students seem to be comfortable coming to class in their flip flops. I haven't heard complaints from classmates.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors remind you that your courses are weighed either as a 3- or 4- credit course. Even if the course is 3 credits, they remind you that you will need to show up to class to pass. You cannot pass courses if you don't show up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get the loop-bus schedule, Limited bus schedule and ferry bus schedule. Make friends with a friend that drives. Morning classes are not that bad.

    In three sentences

    An amazing campus filled with professors and faculty that care. Having been two 4 other CUNY schools, CSI is on top when it comes to professors and faculty. Students are friendly and very study-oriented, it's a great place for someone who wants to pick up good study habits and still have a social life.

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Secure

    Greek Life

    Excellent

    Clubs and Activities

    All clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Freshmen

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The tennis indoor

    Bang for the buck

    Nice campus

    What to do for fun

    Join the sport teams

    Food and Dining

    Not that good

    Dorm Life

    Beautiful

    Academic Rigor

    Work hard

    Tips for prospective students

    College is easy

    In three sentences

    Excellent Academic standard

  • 04/27/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    37 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Theres a lot to do here, like theres the sport section, where you can swim, play tennis, basket ball, handball, soccer. theres also a game room. and club rooms.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good, no complaints.

    Dorm Life

    I want to dorm here, it would be so much easier for me.

    Academic Rigor

    I have no problems with the rules. Just make sure not to brake them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for help. Make sure you take what you need for your major and speak to someone for advice on what courses to take.

    In three sentences

    This college is one of the best colleges i have gone too. The staffs are very helpful and will be by you till you finished getting the help you need. I Give them a 10 out of a 10

  • 05/17/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    38 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I had a pizza from there and it was fine

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are so pretty but expensive

    Academic Rigor

    I'm hoping classes will be challenging when I finally start in the fall