Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 out of 39 people found this review useful. 1 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for Lawyers, forensic scientists, Investigators, and those others in the criminal field.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students if you know for sure that you want to have a major in the criminal field, or of that sort, this school is perfect for you because it concentrates on that. Also read your emails from school, they tell you things you may actually want to get involved in, such like come and join the choir, or news which can be very vital. Check out what is around you, if you see a fair, check it out! don't be afraid, it may be something for free! It's John Jay giving back. Sometimes the school assistants may carry you around to different buildings, just be stern and polite so they can assist you in the proper manner.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is the bang for the buck because it is one of the cheapest school, why pay more for a school if it is not necessary?The name alone has a good reputation, and what better way than to graduate with a good name on your resume.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being here because it is right in the city, also the programs that are provided here for such an affordable price are excellent such like the Pre-law program in which I am involved in where they have a pre-law boot camp for freshmans and sophmores this summer to help prepare me and my peers for law school. I also enjoy being here because John Jay have a variety of students from different backgrounds who attend here. There are also a variety of clubs and activities to get involved in. Th school size is just right, not too big to get lost in, or too small. There are lounges which one may watch t.v., mingle, and use the computers provided.

    Am learning a lot

    I learn a lot from this school because the professors are willing to help if you ask. We also are given a lot of readings and if that is not done, the professors provide class discussions to encourage me and my fellow classmates to learn.

  • 07/18/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 out of 16 people found this review useful. 2 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    John Jay is an amazing school fro students interested in Criminal Justice, i love being there and i learned alot from teachers with real criminal justice experience.

  • 01/26/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 out of 13 people found this review useful. 3 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who have alot going on. There are alot of people willing to help but you have to ask. they dont come looking for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always register early, and stay in contact with all your professors many of them teach several different classes and a good relationship can really help your grades.

    Bang for the buck

    Easy to get money help

    Am enjoying being here

    Great people, but there are some lazy people who just want their edu handed to them.stay away.

    Am learning a lot

    You get out what you put in. So many great teachers go to ratemyprofessors.com

  • 01/25/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 4 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for anybody. I saw so many students with so many different majors. The school is mainly for anybody pursuing anything to do with Law Enforcement.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending, a great tip to know is that your classes will be spread out between the T,W, and N buildings. T and N are right next to each other but W is a few streets down, don't get lost. Also, your ID is your life support in that school. You need it for entry to the school and especially the library. There is a cafeteria in the W and N building. the food is amazing and CATERED and not too expensive. You also get a library card that is good for ANY CUNY school, which is amazing. Lastly, make sure to focus on class work, this school has so much to offer you can get lost in the excitement. GOOD LUCK

    Bang for the buck

    If you live in New York, paying for the school is pretty easy. Not too expensive. If you are out-of-state though, it's a little bit harder. If money is no issue for you then you are just fine, but if money is tight, then you may need to do a student loan on top of financial aid. I only needed to take out a 3500 loan that can be paid back easily. They offer a tuition payment plan though that allows you to pay the tuition while attending which is very helpful. I liked that plan, they give you up to 5 months to pay monthly.

    Did enjoy being here

    I enjoyed being there a lot. The office of Student Activities always had something fun planned. From Broadway shows to theme park trips, they offered everything, and it was all FREE. It was first come first serve, but they tell you in advance about the activity. They also had a great theatre program. Their talent shows were amazing.

    Did learn a lot

    I learned so much in this college. I was only attending for a semester and I feel so much more educated than before I attended. The classes are not too big and the teachers focus on their students rather than getting paid. They have a lot of computer areas and the library is quite huge. It's right in the middle of the city and steps away from Central Park. It's well-respected by the city. I wish I could go back.

  • 01/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 5 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    A tip for upcoming student is work hard for what you want and you will get what you deserve. Don't stress yourself with anything just take things one step at a time and you will have everything completed before you know it. If you ever need help or have any questions there is always a Professor that is willing to help. so just ask!

    Bang for the buck

    A great school that gets you into the criminal justice world for cheap cant get any better then that.

    Am enjoying being here

    John Jay has many exciting activities for students and Professors enjoy taking students to get hands on experience with the subjects they are teaching.

    Am learning a lot

    While studying at John Jay i have learned many new things that i have not known before. It is a great school for criminal justice and many Professors want the students to learn and will help every student achieve their goal.

  • 06/19/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 11 people found this review useful. 3 people found this inaccurate. 6 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    it not what you imagine college to be. It more of a business kind of aura. Feel nothing like college, people there are nice but don't really give you important information. There way of processing is poor

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 7 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are many security guards around campus and students have to use their student id cards to get into the building. crime rates are low.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs at john jay, and if there isn't a club you want to join, john jay makes it a simple process for you to start your own club. john jay has a variety of clubs to unite students with the same interest, such as pre-law society, debate club, mock-trial, and buddhism for justice,

    Great for these types of students

    middle class students who work and go to school. professors understand where you are coming from and are willing to work with you. the counseling center is extremely support. john jay college and new york city is extremely diverse. you won't have to worry about not fitting in. as a school, it is extremely cultured and open to new traditions.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    john jay college just opened their new building! it is beautiful, massive, and a great way to integrate student life and professors. with the new campus, one can finally have a sense of community within the school.

    Bang for the buck

    john jay college offers many scholarship opportunities that include college-wide, cuny-wide, and national scholarships. their faculty and staff are dedicated to your success. with the urban male initiative, women's center, honor program, counseling center, and ronald h. brown law school prep program, just to name a few.

    What to do for fun

    john jay is very involved with their community. student council provides many different events on campus through-out the year. events include, broadway shows, tickets to see sports games, museum visits, fashion shows, and many academic panel discussions on criminal policy issues. john jay has a swimming pool, basketball court, and a tennis court.

    Food and Dining

    there are cafeterias at john jay that is standard dining. since john jay is in new york city, one can find chinese, thai, greek, and italian food, all in one block!

    Dorm Life

    john jay college is in new york city! it is located in the heart of the city. the dorms they have are also in the city and is shared with other cuny students. it doesn't have a huge campus, but the city-life is worth it.

    Academic Rigor

    your college career is really what you make of it. you can be on the top of your class with their tutoring and friendly professors. one must take initiative and want to succeed. i have a challenging interdisciplinary major and three minors. john jay college allows you to pursue your goals without the limitations.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you have a problem, seek help! there are so many resources at john jay college, you just need to find them. the clubs, scholarship opportunities, and faculty are all there to help you succeed. they also have a great ba/ma program!

    In three sentences

    amazing. john jay college has a great program for students considering law school. they have a dedicated faculty and a supportive staff. they understand the struggles that their students are facing and provide as much help as possible.

  • 06/12/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    BEST SCHOOL EVER!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your schedule your self. If a class is full, you can still be put in. Ask admissions to do it fo you!

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 9 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there aren't many security guards at john jay, but fortunately, the students there are very civilized. one will be expelled for any physical altercations at john jay, which adds to the safety at the school. one doesn't want to risk getting expelled.

    Clubs and Activities

    finding out about clubs at john jay isn't as easy. the information at the schools web page, as far as clubs go, is often out-dated, and hard to reach the club's organizer.

    Great for these types of students

    the school is great for someone who doesn't mind commuting. john jay is conveniently located by many train lines. anyone with a passion in the criminal justice system will enjoy john jay. you'll find the diversity in professors to be refreshing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the school doesn't have your typical college campus. each john jay building is about 2 or 3 blocks away from each other, which means you'll have to walk to classes under various weather conditions, from rain to snow.

    Bang for the buck

    although tuition is rising, john jay remains an affordable educational choice. one can get a very good education here at much less than a university.

    What to do for fun

    the school offers many different clubs one can join. they also have many theater show performances every so often. the school has student lounges with many computers where students can gather and enjoy their free time during class breaks.

    Food and Dining

    the school has multiple cafeterias where you could buy your own meals. the prices are reasonable, although some items could be bought at your nearest deli for much cheaper. the cafeterias are also kept very clean and have plenty of room.

    Dorm Life

    john jay college does not offer any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic challenge of the courses really depend on the professor. some professors make it more difficult than others, even if the course is the same. all courses are passable, some professors just make it a more challenging task.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you have no interest in criminal justice at all, i don't recommend john jay. their psychology, computer science, and all their other programs, all have something to do with criminal justice.

    In three sentences

    john jay college is a good school if your sole interest has anything to do with the criminal justice system. all majors have something to do with the law, in one way or another. john jay is a great choice if you're unsure of what you want to major in, but know that you want to do something with the law.

  • 07/05/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is still very expensive for out-of-state students, so it might be easier for them to stay closer to home for a similar education.

    Will enjoy being here

    I see it as a place that I would fit in well and therefore enjoy it there.

    Will learn a lot

    For the classes that I see offered, I believe that I would learn a lot for the major I intend.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 11 of 69

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    one of the best universities in nyc

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they are all around !

    Greek Life

    it is still developing, but it will be awesome!

    Clubs and Activities

    dominican student association haitian student association desi club also alot of other clubs & sports.

    Great for these types of students

    commuter students.

    What to do for fun

    go to the student life & chill out!

    Food and Dining

    the food is awesome, keeps me coming, and if you don't like it, its located right in the city , there are stores all around!

    Tips for prospective students

    be ready to take a bunch of walks!

    In three sentences

    very up to date with most technology. you can almost go anywhere for anything & beautiful scenery.

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    john jay always have something new to offer. this semester, spring 2012, they have free yoga, a team to get in shape, workshops are being offered, and there are clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    good food. there is a mexican restaurant, and many cafeterias around campus. also, there are restaurant near campus.

    Dorm Life

    john jay does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    some professors are very strict.

    Tips for prospective students

    john jay has a lot to offer. this college have programs that help students to get involved with the community and with the college itself. students should take advantage of all the benefits, and try to get inform of what is going on at college.

    In three sentences

    i have chosen john jay college of criminal justice because have one of the best pre-law programs within cuny. in addition is an awesome school for criminal justice major. this college is definitely the best option for students that pursuit a law or a criminal justice career.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very secure, campus security can be found at every corner of the campus.

    Greek Life

    Minimal, the sororities and frats just began, hosting about 8 currently.

    Clubs and Activities

    A wide variety. You name a club you have it, if it's not there you can easily create it.

    Great for these types of students

    International, out of state students, New Yorkers.

    What to do for fun

    Central location to restaurants and pubs and a stone throw from Lincoln Center in one direction, and the theatre capital in the next. The pier is very close and the park is right on the avenue. 42nd Street is a short train ride or easy walk.

    Food and Dining

    Restaurant central only a 5 minute walk away. Various cuisines from all over the world. Ressonable prices.

    Dorm Life

    Nearby locations available for rent. No dormitories available. There is a plan provided by the school to get outer-state students reasonably priced housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Very rigorous programs. From freshman to senior, there is a lot to do. The workload is dependent on your pace, so you can tailor your courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get informed on the opportunities available at the college, for example, the research and BAMA Programs. Come prepared mentally to tackle studies rigorously. Anticipate a diverse classroom.

    In three sentences

    Well-rounded school with a growing curriculum. Improved research facilities. Committed professors who are willing to assist students with further study.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are many programs and sports teams to join. Everyone is welcomed.

    What to do for fun

    1. Read or do homework in the library. 2. Hang out with friends. 3. Join programs. 4. Walk around Columbus Square Park (which is near).

    Dorm Life

    There really isn't much of a dorm life, since this is a CUNY school.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Stay focused on your academics. 2. Don't be late for class or miss class. 3. Always try your best.

    In three sentences

    1. John Jay has a fun atmosphere. 2. John Jay is a great college to not only learn, but meet different groups of individuals. 3. John Jay is a great criminal justice school, with many opportunities available.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Community hour - social hour for entire campus

    Bang for the buck

    The city is full of things to do

    What to do for fun

    Stroll in Central Park while eating frozen yogurt.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research there are great clubs,research etc.

    In three sentences

    This is my dream commuter campus. The best diverse students and professors. I just completed my BA in Forensic and will begin my MA in Forensic Mental Health Counseling August 2012.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not only are there school safety, students of John Jay, but there are also NYC police officers and outside school safety services around. The school all in all is a very safe environment and promotes school safety as well as acceptance and understanding of others.

    Greek Life

    Several years ago, moderately recent, Greek life was introduced in John Jay. If you look around the school you can see people of sororities and fraternities hanging out and participating in the college community. The Greek life at John Jay is not particularly emphasized as much as other schools but is an available source of campus life.

    Clubs and Activities

    A wide variety of clubs are offered from a variety of cultural clubs to multiple clubs aiming to involve John Jay in the community of New York. There are debate teams, a women's center, clubs for armed forces, a center for professional development, a children's center, and various other clubs and activities in order to help current students, their families, and the community.

    Great for these types of students

    John Jay is great for many different types of students. Anyone looking for a combination of city and campus life with a mentally stimulating education would enjoy this school. If you want promising opportunities and education inside and outside of the classroom, this is the school for you,

    Bang for the buck

    The college itself has a relatively inexpensive tuition rate which is pretty amazing when considering the amount of free services available. John Jay offers free tutoring, plenty of student events, discounted sales for movies and other entertainment, free classes (ex: Yoga, Defense, kick boxing), a writing center, lounge areas, computer and wifi access, and much more.

    What to do for fun

    Since John Jay offers a community hour, a little over an hour that everyone has off for lunch, clubs, workshops, and other activities, there are plenty of activities offered in that time. There are also college get-togethers like movies, concerts, dances, etc. Outside of the academic aspects, there is a great deal more fun activities. Located on 59th street Columbus Circle John Jay is considered to be almost in the heart of the city. With available transportation all over Manhattan and stretching into every borough the possibilities seem endless.

    Food and Dining

    Not only are there a large and smaller cafeteria, a cafe, and small coffee stands available but there is also the city. Outside of John Jay and in each direction there is and abundance of restaurants, cafes, bars, and other dining areas.

    Dorm Life

    This section is not exactly applicable as there is only dorm room available outside of the school in a different borough. The Campus life however is great in that the City is basically your campus, with Central Park and Times Square in walking distance, as well as large lounge areas in the new building.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic difficulties at John Jay stem from an expected level of work. There is a great deal of writing and reading but perhaps the most interesting and sometimes difficult is the thought aspect. The course work here and the professors themselves will strive to challenge you mentally. All in all, the difficulty depends on how well someone can balance their schedule, time, and efforts

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are thinking about attending John Jay I advise you to join clubs and take advantage of the opportunities available to you. John Jay college, though a CUNY school is internationally known in the Criminal Justice area of academics and offers BA/MA programs as well as PhD Programs. Factoring in the clubs, internships, and available research experience as well, shows a great deal of opportunities to further advance your career and I recommend you take them.

    In three sentences

    John Jay college is a diverse and promising school with a renowned background. John Jay has grown with the modern times with it's edition of the more campus like new building, new logo, and wide variety of new classes offered. However, the same critical thinking, International fame, and prestige still remain as well as flourish.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's really safe here. I'm there sometimes until close to 11 pm and I've never had problems.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want real world working experience.

    Bang for the buck

    You can't beat the price and what you'll take out of it if you work for it.

    What to do for fun

    It's NYC, there's always something to do!

    Food and Dining

    Food is a little expensive here. Luckily, the school is right in Hell's Kitchen so you have a lot of alternatives.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    You'll learn a lot if you put the time in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get in good with the professors. You can get some real experience working in research and that looks great on graduate school applications!

    In three sentences

    Excellent academics with some amazing professors doing quality research. Wonderful opportunities for undergraduates to do real research in the field. You can't beat the cost either.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities offered within the schools, too many to be listed

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any student trying to achieve a career in the justice system, as well as others

    Bang for the buck

    Can be expensive but well worth it

    What to do for fun

    The school offers a number of sports as well as education studies abroad that can also be a fun and great experience, also small plays are given during the semester

    Food and Dining

    Can be expensive especially for students who are under a budget

    Dorm Life

    No comments

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but a great experience

    Tips for prospective students

    Can be challenging but is an experience that you will never forget. This school is filled with great professors who are always willing to give a helping hand and teach their students to be the best. Take your college career seriously and you will do great.

    In three sentences

    A school that offers many different fields and in which the staff do their best work at preparing the students to become the best professionals of the future.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Since CUNY John Jay is a criminal justice school there are the finest secuirty system along with police walking in and out of the school everyday.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and activities for all types of students and their majors.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are motivated and well rounded are perfect for CUNY John Jay.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a freshman orientation and welcome week that we have every year for the new students of CUNY John Jay.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a degree and plenty of opprotunities for internships and future careers.

    What to do for fun

    CUNY John Jay has a swimming pool along with a gym. Also, there is a outside park area on the roof for leisure.

    Food and Dining

    CUNY John Jay has a cafeteria and cafes on campus which is very affordable and efficient when students are on the run.

    Dorm Life

    Since CUNY John Jay is in Manhattan, NY the campus and the dorms are in the heart of New York. This gives a student something not a lot of students in different campuses have, that is reality. Dorms are scattered around Manhattan, NY which gives a grown up feel to all the students who do dorm. CUNY John Jay is also a commuter school, so there is plenty of transportation around to get to your destination.

    Academic Rigor

    CUNY John Jay has several tutors on campus that can help in all different types of classes. From Chemistry to writing skills, John Jay has several staff and peers to help you with anything you might have difficulties with. Academics are very important to CUNY John Jay, and if they see students who see it that way too, they will reward them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students who are looking to go to CUNY John Jay and any other college remember that you are not in high school and that nothing is given to you. One must strive for greatness and become independent. There are so many people there to help you, but you must help yourself first.

    In three sentences

    CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice is a college that allows students of many backgrounds and diversities to learn a broaden their horizons. The professors, campus, and opportunities are just a few of the things that make the college feel like the right college for everyone. No one is turned down or overlooked. Everyone is family.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of clubs you can join.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining is very comforting. Sometimes they bring in Live Bands to the cafeteria.

    Academic Rigor

    Very well informed, educated professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not take education for granted. THis is the key to your success.

    In three sentences

    The Professors are very well educated and well verse. I always felt at home when it comes to learning and the atmosphere. I cannot wait to graduate. This place makes me feel intelligent and important.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I absolutely love that an identification badge is needed to get onto campus.If you do not have one,all vistiors will need to sign in.

    Greek Life

    Not apart of a sorority

    Clubs and Activities

    Not a part of any as of yet

    Great for these types of students

    Any student who is willing or looking for a career in Criminal Justice or just want to have a clear understanding of their selected career choice.

    What to do for fun

    Swim

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria or outside of campus,there are a variety of places to go.

    Dorm Life

    Lives off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Will know when I get there

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to have all of your documentation in order for admissions to be process in a timely manner. Familiarize your self with the buildings(depending on your schedule) once you are familiar with the building you wouldn't be delayed in getting to your destination/class.Find out the head of the department for your major and always ask questions on what may seem unclear,always speak with an admissions advisor.

    In three sentences

    John Jay provides assistance in every area where needed.A safe and refreshing campus for anyone who wants to try a new learning experience.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    John Jay is a very safe school; I never felt that I was in danger.

    Greek Life

    I did not participate in any Greek Life, but the Greek Life Community is there. You just going to have to do your research and joined.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all types of clubs and activities for the students. If you see something you're interested - join. You will not be turned away.

    Bang for the buck

    If you want your money to go a long way, rent and/or purchase used books, especially if you're not going to keep them.

    What to do for fun

    Every now and then, John Jay will give students free and/or discount tickets to Broadway plays. So make sure you take advantage of that.

    Food and Dining

    Great. There's a variety of food; so just take your pick. But if you do not like what is served, you can always to the nearby restaurants or street vendors.

    Dorm Life

    I commuted; I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Read ahead of the assigned readings and homework. Doing this you will definitely be ahead of the class - you do not want to fall behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you go to student orientation. Take advantage of all the free activities for the students. Take pride in the college that you plan to attend; it's your college.

    In three sentences

    1. John Jay College of Criminal Justice has a beautifully campus. 2. A student who is dedicated will learn a lot from John Jay College of Criminal Justice. 3. The professors as well as the students are very helpful.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety on Campus is one of the best I've seen thus far in my college experience. John Jay College has been able to keep up to date with new technologies in order to maintain the safety of its students and applicants.

    Great for these types of students

    John Jay is great for any type of student.

    What to do for fun

    Around campus there are many activities for fun. Depending on your age and mindset of course.

    Food and Dining

    John Jay is located at the center of Manhattan isle, so you will be subject to many cultural cuisines. Also enjoy the view of our beautiful city of New York.

    Dorm Life

    We currently don't have a dorm, but if we did I am sure it would be one of the best.

    Academic Rigor

    The faculty at John Jay College are always more than willing to help students ensure their success throughout their college career. Although success requires much dedication from the student, the faculty is always there each step of the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    For entering students, I would suggest that you take advantage of all John Jay College has to offer. There are social clubs, academic advisement, counseling, extracurricular activities etc.. The point is to take advantage of everything so that you may have a successful career here at John Jay College.

    In three sentences

    John Jay College, by far, has been one of the greatest experiences I have had since I decided to pursue my career goals through further education. The faculty and students are down to earth being that they themselves come from various ethnic and economic backgrounds. One can say that John Jay College is an educational conglomerate of adverse and distinct ideologies.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hang around the jay walk and study

    Tips for prospective students

    just read your work

    In three sentences

    This is a great college where you get a lot of help from the centers that are offered such as the seek tutoring lab.The professors are great and they know they topic well.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 26 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs and sports teams. I love the pool located in the building. I do love the theater club it gives me a chance to express myself.

    What to do for fun

    The school holds special events almost weekly, a couple of weeks ago there was a this comedian that came to the school.

    Food and Dining

    There are so many different places to eat around the school my favorite is the ramen shop a couple of blocks away. The school itself has a cafeteria that serves really good food even cheese fries.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms but there are plenty of apartment buildings in close range.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging enough to keep you interested but not hard enough that you can't pass if you study and do all the required work.

    In three sentences

    This school is amazing so much different than high school. The teachers are willing to help you and provide you will extra help if needed. There is such a friendly atmosphere, and there are so many opportunities for you.

  • 06/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Tip #1 : Stay on top of all assignments in order to maintain an excellent GPA Tip #2 : Dont take on a workload that you can not manage Tip #3: Consider attending school twice a week for those who do commute you may like it and saves you money .

    In three sentences

    John Jay College is the perfect school for students who want to concentrate on different aspects of criminal justice field. With a great reputation,low tutition costs and a great view of midtown Manhattan all in one makes John Jay college a great option for a perspective students. John Jay college has alot to offer in order to prepare you for life inside of the criminal justice field.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 28 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They are always filming tv shows and commercials such as White Collar, Law and Order, New Girl so its always interesting to see them filming you might even see some celebrities too.

    Bang for the buck

    You get the same education that you would at a state school for less than half the price.

    What to do for fun

    Go out on the Jay Walk which is like your own green house on the roof of the building.

    Food and Dining

    There arnt that many options to choose but the food that they do have is okay

    Dorm Life

    Im a commuter student so I do not know much about the dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    Study. Study. Study that is one of the main keys to succeeding at John Jay

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to an academic adviser before deciding on a major, take classes that you like and then decide

    In three sentences

    John jay is a great and affordable college with a range of different majors to choose from.

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is campus safety every where and duh it's a criminal justice school! having poor safety would be an insult.

    Clubs and Activities

    clubs and activities are open to everyone just as long as you ask around and show up to say hello to everyone. they are really friendly and welcoming.

    Great for these types of students

    great for social students and students who like to get involved.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the traditional location is in the new building. everyone hangs out there! it's just a very social atmosphere.

    What to do for fun

    there ask parties at the school, different family events, there are plays, sports, and many different clubs that you can join.

    Food and Dining

    well there are different cafés in different buildings. they are a little expensive.

    Dorm Life

    the school doesn't have dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    just go to all your classes do all your work and get involved in the school and everything will run smoothly.

    In three sentences

    john jay is a school with many different opprotunities. there are friendly people, events, and teams that keep you wanting to come back. the professors really look out for their students to help them get the grades they deserve.

  • 05/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 30 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out, plenty of events all the time, fun people.

    Food and Dining

    Food isn't so bad and staff in the Cafe are pretty cool.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends, things will be a lot easier.

    In three sentences

    This is a great college. They currently opened a new building. I highly recommend going here.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 31 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have not tried any of the food, but it looks good.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the class be prepared to put on lond hours of study time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you are ready to work hard and do not give up.

    In three sentences

    The college has a good location close to Columbus Circle. It has been recently renovated and expanded. The staff is very helpful.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety keeps it safe

    Greek Life

    John Jay actually not big on Frats but i have seen a couple frats recruiting people, but most requirements i do not know of

    Clubs and Activities

    Club Row is great in john jay over 40 clubs of all kinds, appeals to all

    Great for these types of students

    Motivated Students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not much goes on campus, everyone comes and goes home

    Bang for the buck

    For 2.8 g a semester, education is worth it

    Food and Dining

    Food is great, its pretty cheap for Manhattan prices

    Dorm Life

    No Dorming on campus

    Academic Rigor

    Its a bit strict but if you listen you will be ok

    Tips for prospective students

    Just stay focus, many great professors, great atmosphere

    In three sentences

    Its a great, peaceful and safe college environment, with the expansion of the new building john jay is huge now making it a much more worthy college experience

  • 08/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety office on every floor

    Clubs and Activities

    Every club imaginable or you can create your own.

    What to do for fun

    Basketball court, club hall, swimming pool, seriously a bunch of things to do on your free time.

    Food and Dining

    Good food, made fresh always a plus in every college.

    Dorm Life

    Commuter college

    Academic Rigor

    Met people that are in my degree program and all they did was give you great advice on how to go about the program. Extraordinarily helpful it was truly unbelievable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely, 100% would recommend this school to everyone because of the amazing atmosphere.

    In three sentences

    I just got accepted as a Transfer Student and I start Monday 8/27. The Orientation itself made me very excited to start school here because they were so helpful it was insane. Everyone seemed so nice and helpful that you could not stop asking questions just to see if they would answer everything.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    34 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    reading, eating, and going out with friends

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent

    Tips for prospective students

    Cheap, close to home, and accessible by public transport

    In three sentences

    College is safe. College atmosphere is conducice to learning. Faculty is approachable

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have a brand new cafeteria. They have EVERYTHING to eat from salad, to pizza, hamburgers, sandwiches, snacks, paninis, nathans, and so much more.

    Dorm Life

    I commute. It is not that bad.

    Academic Rigor

    I study Law and i love it. my teachers are great.

    In three sentences

    John Jay college has the most friendly, warmhearted teachers and staff. The school helps students feel welcomed and a part of their community. I rate them a 10 out of 10!

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    What to do for fun

    join a club or hang out on the Jay Walk ( which is a hang out spot at john jay).

    Food and Dining

    They serve the same food each day

    Dorm Life

    Since this is a commuter school there are no dorms on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to declare a major when you apply.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are amazing and really care about how you do. As a Freshman you get assigned a peer mentor who guides you through your first year. There are many clubs you can join that can be based on your interest or career goals.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's plenty of options such as join the teams and play for the honor and also to be proud of being part of the John jay family. Also Central Park isn't to far from John jay, actually is only three blocks away which makes it very accessible for us, most of the times students go to Central Park to relax or either have some fun playing on the grass.

    Food and Dining

    The food at John jay is the best, I mean you don't even have to go out to have a healthy lunch at the cafeteria locate on the second floor of the new building. But also if you like to have dinner not inside John jay college there's many options such as restaurant or fast food restaurants which are located near the campus .

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately John jay college has no dorm life, maybe not yet since this year they opened the new building which I have to say its pretty awesome. Who knows if in the future they would have dorms for transferred students or anyone who wants to live college life all day long . I'm really looking forward to see dorms because I'd love to spend my 4 years in living and studying inside John jay college.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at John jay is high so like most of our professor said to us in the freshman year better study for at least 12 hours and that's just for a test. Keep in mind if you guys are trying to get your bachelors degree in forensic science I have to say isn't easy at all, if you really want to get good grades you really have to put effort on your classes .

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students would be to join the John jay college family as soon as possible to get the education you guys deserve. Another tip would be to not be afraid to ask question or ask for help because if you are part of a family, we are here for you .

    In three sentences

    I personally think that John jay college of criminal justice is one of the best colleges if you intend to graduate in criminal justice. I fell so comfortable with the environment since there's always someone there to help you. Also I consider John jay as my home for 4 years because you actually fell like you are home .

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Where else can you go and afford school and still feel like your getting a quality education?

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and extra activities to get involved in at John Jay. This college pride itself on the ability to keep its student in the know on social and intellectual activities.

    Food and Dining

    Coffee! and healthy snacks are available throughout the day!

    Dorm Life

    Non applicable

    Academic Rigor

    weather your and in coming freshmen or adult part time students who works full time john jay can be an amazing place. quality professor who share there passion will influence to stay on task and rise in academic standards.

    Tips for prospective students

    visit the CUNY John Jay college website and read the articles about events, and the success of students and professors affiliated with the school. Review the majors and minors and visit the school to make sure John Jay school for criminal justice is the right fit for you. There are many Great professors in the History Department!

    In three sentences

    CUNY John Jay college of criminal Justice is a multi cultural school filled with students from many walks of life. The professor are real people who are knowledgeable in their field of study and are ready and willing to aid students. surprisingly they also have an amazing Art program!

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its a criminal justice school so cops are always on site . Also ex police officers make up the majority of the professors .

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    John Jay always have events on campus . Its hard to get to everyone

    What to do for fun

    There's computer labs that you can go to to pass the time .

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on topic . Strive to accomplish everything you came there for . Do not get caught up in the social aspect of college life .

    In three sentences

    John Jay is a great college . I like it but there's to many students so sometimes they can be a little unorganized. They try their best to accommodate everyone's needs .

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    About 3 NYPD officers on every floor of every building and CUNY security guards(*Hint* Hint* Student jobs available!)

    Greek Life

    No Greek life for now.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a lot of clubs and activities...the list goes on and on. I'm pretty sure that no one has actually made a list of activities and clubs because there is so many of them; however they recruit people every semester, and there is an office where one can get information on these-it is called Student Life.

    Great for these types of students

    Pre Law majors, future forensic scientists, future police officers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    John Jay is in the middle of Manhattan, surrounded by amazing restaurants,only an avenue away from a train station, and only about 30 minutes away from Times Square!

    Bang for the buck

    John Jay is not an expensive college considering it's location!

    What to do for fun

    John Jay students are not that social. John Jay consist of regular students and adult students. Most students at John Jay have a part time job, and not much time to hang out-but when they do they go to the 8th floor of the New Building where there is a diversity of students and a lot to learn from each and single one of them.

    Food and Dining

    Amazing! John Jay just opened up New Building this semester! They have a new cafeteria and a new coffee place. Their food is amazing!

    Dorm Life

    John Jay is in the city, and it does not really have dorms. There are places where one can get a discount for being a CUNY student; however they are still expensive. If one is a transfer student, they should get a room in Queens or Brooklyn and travel to avoid the cost of living in Manhattan.

    Academic Rigor

    John Jay is a serious college with tough classes, but it is worth it. Professors are very helpful and have experience. Although classes are tough, everything a student learns at John Jay will be useful for classes next semester

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit student advisement every semester! Especially if you are a transfer student. Degree audit might be stating that you need some classes that you don't actually have to take.

    In three sentences

    Amazing! Strict academics! Fun!

  • 12/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never encountered any problems.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't participate in any of the clubs on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The sixth and eighth floor have couches.

    Bang for the buck

    The semester cost isn't too bad, even though it could be better. I wish the school did more for commuting students like helping out with subway fares and LIRR fares. It is extremely expensive to commute every month.

    What to do for fun

    I commute everyday so once classes are over I am usually rushing to go catch the next train.

    Food and Dining

    The new cafeteria that has just been finished being built is beautiful. There is also a wide variety of food to chose from.

    Dorm Life

    I commute from long Island.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a strong competition to excel over your classmates. It is very important to study in order to do well in the classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early because there are many applicants each year.

    In three sentences

    John Jay college of Criminal Justice has been a great transfer choice for me in this first semester. The teachers have been incredible for the most part. I am very enthusiastic that they have included a Fire Science major into their curriculum.

  • 01/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    NYPD and CUNY PD everywhere, the whole school is filled with Police Officers, Detectives, and Federal Agents. Do not do anything stupid.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable tuition for the great campus

    What to do for fun

    Enjoy NYC, there are tons of groups and sororities and frats to join, sports such as basketball, soccer, baseball, competitive rifle shooting, and a full Olympic size swimming pool, gym/cardio facility and track.

    Food and Dining

    Good food, not 5 start restaurant obviously.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms but a beautiful campus with NYC as your backyard.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a low key college lifestyle without the dorm experience in the best city in the world then this school is for you. Great people and great teachers but no partying, drinking, drugs and all of the other fun stuff that the traditional college lifestyle is known for having.

    In three sentences

    Great newly updated school with much opportunity for success in a criminal justice and law enforcement career. Great teachers who have plenty of experience in multiple fields of study and enjoy teaching.

  • 01/21/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    43 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have been to the school a couple of time and it seems remotely safe. There are many security guards at the from desk, and people have to sign in and show ID before they are allow in. The city itself can be unsafe, if you have lived here all your life like myself then you may be use to it. For students coming from out of state or even up state New York, it may feel unsafe at first, if you think you can not handle living in a big city like New York then John Jay is not for you.

    Great for these types of students

    I think John Jay is for students interested in anything to do to with law and criminal justice.

    Bang for the buck

    New York is not a cheap city but if you look there are many places to get good quality things for a small fee. Also I have a Groupon account so that always helps.

    What to do for fun

    ITS NEW YORK CITY!!! there are plenty of things to do for fun. The school is located close to Lincoln Center and there are many museums, theaters and concerts to attend.

    Food and Dining

    Although the school does not have a meal plan there are many places in the city people can get good quality food for a small price.

    Dorm Life

    The school does not provide dorm rooms, but I believe they will help you find an apartment if you are interested.

    Academic Rigor

    John Jay is a very good school with with plenty of majors to choose from.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students wanting to come to John jay should first schedule a campus visit, to see if it is a place you would want to be. Also Make sure you have good grades and SAT scores, although it is not a hard school to get into but you always should be cautious.

    In three sentences

    John Jay College is a very good school. Even though its not a traditional college with a campus, there are a lot of opportunities here. There are plenty of majors students can choose from, and best of all its in New York City.

  • 02/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is a little expensive, but they have good deals sometimes.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I was in a SUNY school before John Jay, so this is considerably easier than that, but I still need to study a lot to do well in classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, study, study! Also, try to meet a lot of new people especially students that have been there. They can help you with the college because sometimes the campus can be confusing. Most big lectures require the texts, but in reality, they use a homework system online that already has an e-text version.

    In three sentences

    John Jay is a very good college for majors in criminal justice. They have many resources for the students. John Jay is surrounded by a pretty good neighborhood.

  • 02/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe!

    Greek Life

    A couple of sororities exist within the campus, but do, in fact, take a LOT of students time.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who enjoy working under a diverse classroom and actually want to gain knowledge of different work-ethic and cultures.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The female students dress like they are going to a night-club or date, so it's a nice sight to see, besides the dense literary pages on a textbook.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, many students become involved in some club, whether its debate or music. In addition, John Jay has a gym for students to workout.

    Food and Dining

    Although the food within the college itself is not good and over-priced, luckily, there is high variety in food-selection close to the college.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, John Jay does NOT provide dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    If you take five classes, the hardships you'll face will be far from minimal! The work-load gets intense after the first month, so it's advisable to stay organized and on track!

    Tips for prospective students

    If your interests revolve around the criminal justice reform, education reform, law and policy, and humanitarian concerns for underrepresented youths, I contend, you should apply to John Jay. In addition, the forensic science and forensic psychology department are recognized through-out the city for its competitiveness!

  • 02/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I have always said CUNY schools are the best bang for your buck. Low tuition cost for a great education with great professors.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs and groups to get involved in here at John Jay, there are also a lot of restaurants and shopping near by. Central Park is also only three blocks away.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is actually really good, a little pricey (it is Manhattan after all), but really good.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorm options for CUNY schools.

    Academic Rigor

    Always do extra credit work and work just a little harder on your assignments. Professors love enthusiasm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved, take classes seriously and do all of your assigned work. Most importantly have fun and get to know your professors, You never know when you might need a favor or a letter of recommendation!

    In three sentences

    John Jay is a great college for those ingesting in anything to do with criminal justice, law or forensics. The professors are extremely knowledgeable and can relate well to the students. I have had nothing but a good experience here so far.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You have an ID and it is needed to scan into the building. There are also security guards at the entrances and around the building. It is very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a lot of variety.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like the CSI and mystery stuff, this school is good for you. They connect everything to criminal justice which I love.

    Bang for the buck

    The teachers are very considerate about the books. They know it's expensive and they try to get it for you cheap to buy.

    What to do for fun

    They have so many things to do! They have a lot of activities and a beautiful Jay walk, which is a park right in the middle of the school that is on the roof.

    Food and Dining

    They have a variety of stuff and tasty. It has a very big cafeteria.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have troubles with something... ANYTHING! John Jay will help you. Don't be scared because they really do help. I failed a really important test and they let me take free classes and retake it again. Super nice!

    In three sentences

    This college is really helpful but too big and consists of a lot of people. They have many things to help students have a smooth transition. I love this John Jay for helping me and it even has a nice location.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    48 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Beautiful Cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Amazing professors

    In three sentences

    A terrific atmosphere to work in. Surrounded by busy beautiful NY.

  • 04/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The new building is awesome! filled with tons of technology and great space to hang with friends and study before class.

    What to do for fun

    Sports, after class activities, clubs, parties, community work all are fun great activities that give you pride and joy in what you do.

    Food and Dining

    Great food with food choices from different cultures, makes you feel like your eating at home.

    Dorm Life

    Never lived or seen the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Great degree of academic rigor and great professors that push you to work harder and become part of the john jay community.

    Tips for prospective students

    never be afraid to ask questions and go to the student advisement center in order for you to pick the correct classes and also make sure you have classes that fit well with your schedule so that you will have time for other activities.

    In three sentences

    A great college with professors that have first hand experience in what their teaching. Four years have flew by already and my interest in the criminal justice field has continued to increase over these years.

  • 05/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The best place to study, not counting the library, because you cannot drink coffee and eat in there, is the coaches on the 6th floor. The view from the huge windows inspires me to study, I will relaxed. And the main thing - it is quiet!!!!

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of different activities going around, movies, mock trials, plays, sports games and so on.

    Food and Dining

    Dining is quite expensive although sometimes delicious.

    Academic Rigor

    If you study hard everything is possible. But people go to school for a reason, so...

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan your class schedule years before. Ask other students about the professor you are taking. And start attending advisement early in the semester. Research programs are also very interesting and helpful in your career.

    In three sentences

    It is a very good school offering diverse majors and a lot of opportunities. Most of the professor are very effective and understanding. Unfortunately, the overall CUNY system can be tough to understand and you need to keep track of everything yourself, because no one there will do it for you.

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    51 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Thinking outside the classroom, there are many clubs and social activities to be involved in here at John Jay. You can also help mentor or tutor (or even both) a fellow student or just help out in Student Activities. You can even run for Student Government - be a Senator !

    Food and Dining

    I have never dined at John Jay.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dormitories located at John Jay. There are, however many residential structures not too far from the main campus. There are apartments, penthouses or even houses.

    Academic Rigor

    The acceptance rate is fairly low which shows that there are certain standards to be met and maintained when attending this great school. It is essentially important to excel here at John Jay.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the school website at any point in time. There are lots of links and other resources readily available and just a click away!

    In three sentences

    John Jay College of Criminal Justice is a reputable learning institution located conveniently in Manhattan at 59th Street and 11th Avenue. There are many different academic programs available for different folks from different strokes. The student body is generally friendly and usually able to offer assistance.

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Safe

    Greek Life

    Don't have one

    Clubs and Activities

    Feel free to make a club of your own.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone

    Bang for the buck

    It is all worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, and take advantage of the student activity fee.

    Food and Dining

    Because there is such a large cultural mixture at John Jay, each day there is something new at the Grill. We do have the basics, such as pizza, fries, etc.

    Dorm Life

    I believe we just started dorm life, so not sure how it is.

    Academic Rigor

    Students do work hard, and it doesn't matter your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please when you are allowed to register for classes don't procrastinate. Join clubs and be a part of John Jay!

    In three sentences

    Great student body, that is rich in many cultures. Amazing staffs that are there to help you achieve your goals. Wonderful environment, that doesn't overwhelm a student.

  • 07/21/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    53 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I enjoy going to the gym but have learned the gym on campus closes at 5p.m. I wish it was opened later as it would fit into my schedule better. I am sure there is plenty to do for fun, the college is in New York City!

    Food and Dining

    I have had a few meals at the campus while visiting. So far so good.

    Dorm Life

    I will not be living on campus. I will be commuting by train into New York City. However again I will Judge on the basis of what I have researched.

    Academic Rigor

    As I am new to the school I will be able to have more of an opinion when I actually begin my junior year. However, I will judge the academics on the basis of what I have researched.

    In three sentences

    I am a transfer student that will be attending John Jay in the fall of 2013 and John Jay professionals have been very welcoming. I have attended several events the college has offered transfer students. They have been very helpful as the events provided specific answers to many questions I may have had.

  • 07/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many eateries around, so take advantage of grabbing a bite to eat. However, the school itself has a great cafeteria with the best food !!! John Jay also has the most beautiful rooftop scenery, where you can enjoy the stars, even hang out with your friends or even study your heart out for future exams

    Food and Dining

    John Jay has remodeled their building and has an outstanding caf�©/eatery, where you can find pizza, salads, sandwiches, pastas, desserts and anything else you can possibly think of.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home with my parents, so I would not be able to discuss the dorm life with any prospective students. However, there are off campus apartments for students.

    Academic Rigor

    The school has a variety of majors/minors suitable for anyone. The classes are made to challenge you and the teachers make sure you understand the material. It may be challenging at times but trust me, it will all be worth it in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    As an outgoing senior, always remember to stay focused and try to do your very best. There may be times where the subject matter may become overwhelming or difficult, but do indeed take advantage of the tutors and/or counselors.

    In three sentences

    It has a large campus with a diversity of students and staff. Many of the teachers generally care about the well being of their students and want them to achieve their goals. Overall it is an okay school to attend, more so for criminal justice majors.

  • 08/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety Agents within Earshot everywhere on campus.

    Greek Life

    Only one Fraternity/Sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    Club Row is packed, and has a microwave!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    8th floor lounge that looks out on the hudson is the most peaceful place in the school to read and study.

    Bang for the buck

    College is expensive, here you get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    So many clubs and tons of places to be social . including the new Jay Walk , an outdoor sitting area that's massive and beautiful.

    Food and Dining

    Freshly cooked , and fairly priced meals ready from 8am to 8pm.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are off campus and far away.

    Academic Rigor

    After only 2 semesters ,I've had a mixture of easy and difficult classes, it's all up to the professor really.

    Tips for prospective students

    be social, students are here to help you. Seriously, don't be shy because even teachers are willing to help someone who is willing to learn. Be willing to accept every great opportunity they offer and expect to spend extra hours in the school .

    In three sentences

    John Jay is a great school with great student life, especially for a commuter school. The facilities are state of the art and staff are generally nice and welcoming. I could not have picked a better school.

  • 08/24/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    56 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Overall the campus seems to be well secured. There are officers all around the buildings at all times. They are well trained to assist people as well.

    What to do for fun

    Look for the clubs that interest you inside the school. The amount of activities to do outside the school is very vast, since you are near Columbus Circle, an area in which there are a lot of stores, places to eat, and the so well known Central Park.

    Food and Dining

    The just recently added a program for students who want to live near. Since it is in Manhattan, I assume is a bit expensive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always keep yourself in touch with your advisors and professors.

    In three sentences

    John Jay is an well renamed Criminal Justice school in New York City. Overall it's a good school to attend if you are planning to go for a Criminal Justice related program. The life inside it is pretty comfortable, and the environment is splendid.

  • 08/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The school has a variety of food choices. They've got everything from pizza to burgers and fries. There are many little areas through out the buildings where you could easily grab a bite to eat. The food is a little on the pricey side but hey, thats Manhattan for ya.

    Dorm Life

    Commuter student so I wouldn't know.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at John Jay do not tolerate games. If something is due at a certain time and date, make sure you hand it in BEFORE to avoid any potential problems. What you got away with in high school will not fly at John Jay.

    Tips for prospective students

    Surround yourself with other students who are willing to work with you and help you succeed. As they say, you are the company you keep. MAKE FRIENDS! They'll make your college experience so much more worth it.

    In three sentences

    John Jay is filled with professors and students who are willing to help you get ahead. If you need help, look for it. The help is definitely there.. you just have to ask.

  • 09/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Being located in the city, for the safety of yourself and others, John Jay College has a sufficient amount of security. Not only is each student given an identification card but there are security guards at every entrance as well as public locations such as the library and computer lab. They are there not because it is generally unsafe, but instead there to create an impeccably safe environment.

    Clubs and Activities

    The great thing about a culturally, racially, environmentally, religiously, politically, economically, philosophically, gender safe, morally and socially inclined school is that here there is a place for everyone. At John Jay, clubs or groups such as: Dance, Improv, African Students Association, Bleeding Hearts for Animals, Artists United, Boxing Club, Creative Writing Club, Dominican Students Association, Double Dutch Club, Economic Club, Forensic Science Society and so much more. http://jstop.jjay.cuny.edu/clubs.php You think that's great? Well here's some even better news; If there isn't a club here that already exist that you would like to see develop, YOU can make it happen. All you need to do is gather a group of people who would like to do it and start to spread the word.

    What to do for fun

    The Campus Life is filled with so many fun activities for students and friends to attend. Here's a list of just a few things that occur throughout the year: Temp Tattoos & Green Screen Pictures Club Election Week Sign Shop & Lucky Bamboo Making Stand-Up Comedian: Ben Hague Menâ??s Soccer v. York College Womenâ??s Volleyball v. St. Joseph's of Brooklyn and so much more! Here's our proof; Come and visit the calendar of events! http://jstop.jjay.cuny.edu/flyers/Fall%202012%20Weeks%20of%20Welcome%20Calendar.pdf

    Dorm Life

    Unlike many colleges today, John Jay is a commuting college. That means there are no dorms on campus. Crazy right? Well guess what, for those who would like to near close to school with possible classmates amongst you, there are dorms off campus. thankfully, John Jay has been hooked up to a residence home for college students through EHS. http://www.jjay.cuny.edu/313.php

    Academic Rigor

    John Jay has one of the best Criminal Justice educational programs in the United States of America right here in Manhattan. Luckily, the school is now adding more majors to the curriculum so that more students who choose John Jay as their college of choice, can leave here proudly with the degree they wanted.

    Tips for prospective students

    Here are the tips I was provided with coming into John Jay College of Criminal justice as a freshman. MEETING YOUR MILESTONES 1. Complete 30 credits and maintain a good GPA (3.2). 2. Clarify your goals and create a plan that interrogates you academic and career goals. 3. Participate in campus events and learn about opportunities/resources available to you. 4. Build relationships with faculty, peers, and staff to develop your network. sasp@jjay.cuny.edu www.jjay.cuny.edu/sasp

    In three sentences

    John Jay College of Criminal Justice is socially, culturally, and morally enhanced. Their mission is to help every student develop in every beneficial way inside and outside the classroom. John Jay may be the College of Criminal Justice, but the fun activities, groups, clubs, trips, convocations and sports teams, make John Jay College the best college for a transfer, new or returning student to attend.

  • 10/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Safe school to be. There are many graduates that become officers and come back to work for the school. They have them stationed around the schools for events. On a normal basis they are often by the entrances as security.

    Clubs and Activities

    John Jay has many clubs and activities constantly going on. It also has many important visitors such as judges, poets, mayoral candidates, representatives, and other famous figures. John Jay also is known for the many commercial and film shots taken on the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    John Jay is a CUNY school and a bachelors degree is very reasonably priced and one of the most affordable college educations. If criminal justice is the field your looking into then this is the place for you to be.

    What to do for fun

    Since John Jay is located in Manhattan; there is lots of fun things to do. There is Central Park that is not too far away. There is also a diverse culture of restaurants and fast food that begs to be tried. Not to mention the Columbus circle shops located two blocks away that houses many stores.

    Food and Dining

    The food is expensive within the school cafeteria, however just outside the school or a few blocks down is reasonably priced food with good taste.

    Dorm Life

    I have never been to a John Jay dorm and i don't believe there is any.

    Academic Rigor

    As with any college, don't let assignments get piled up on you. It can really ruin your grade to miss them as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Since this school is located in manhattan, be prepared for a long commute via subway or car. There are various places to eat in and around the school, just look out for the high city prices! Be prepared for some walking in between classes; John Jay has three separate 4 separate buildings within a 4 city block radius.

    In three sentences

    John Jay College of Criminal Justice is diverse and modern. It is the ideal place to study criminal justice. The atmosphere is very strong and very focused.

  • 12/01/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    60 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    study!!!!!!!!

    Food and Dining

    i heard the food was great

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are through CUNY

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on task!

    In three sentences

    My aunts went to this school and they said it was great! I'm planning to apply here for Fall 2014. I hope it's great.

  • 12/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    61 of 69

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This is an excellent and affordable college that is giving the opportunity to make my dreams come true. Professors are helpful and classes are interesting. A lot of homework and reading required but is okay overall.

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    62 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    John Jay's Cafeteria offers high quality, healthy foods. However, I feel, the prices don't reflect upon the economic situation of many students in NYC.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know about dorm life as I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    John Jay is very competitive in terms of academics. Students come from many different backgrounds making each and every student and their experiences valuable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Since today's economy and job market are highly competitive finding an affordable university that is also qualified to equip you with a quality education is extremely important. John Jay College of Criminal Justice offers a variety of degree programs that are in demand for today's job market!

    In three sentences

    John Jay College of Criminal Justice is a highly competitive and diverse institution. The faculty is highly educated, enthusiastic, and qualified in various areas. John Jay also has a variety of undergraduate and graduate programs.

  • 01/30/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    63 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never once felt unsafe on campus. We have security guards at every entrance, and to get into the building, you have to scan you ID card in. Also, since we are a school of Criminal Justice, there are constantly police officers walking around. How much safer could it get?

    Clubs and Activities

    There is such a variety of clubs and activities, you are bound to find one you'll like!

    Great for these types of students

    John Jay is a school for EVERYONE! You'll find something here that you'll like to do. But, it is particularly great for those interested in Criminal Justice! Probably the best school in the country for Criminal Justice.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During finals week, if you walk onto the platform between the first and second floor, you will find tons of students all sleeping on the lounge chairs. It's hilarious! Also, during finals week, the school gives free breakfast and free massages! How much better could it get?

    Bang for the buck

    This school is so low priced that it's crazy. It's unbelievable what you get for so little!

    What to do for fun

    YOU ARE IN NEW YORK CITY! Go site-seeing; go see a broadway show; go shopping on fashion avenue. But if you want to stay in the school, join one of the clubs or sports teams we have!

    Food and Dining

    We have Starbucks and hundreds of other varieties of food. If you don't like the food inside the building, you can walk down the street and get a slice of pizza; or you can walk down the steps of the building and get a gyro; you can ever get a deli sandwich from across the street!

    Dorm Life

    Although I didn't dorm, several of my friends did, and let me tell you this: as a city school, John Jay has the absolute best dorm location. Right on seventh avenue! AMAZING

    Academic Rigor

    Yes, John Jay is absolutely challenging, but the professors help you along the way. If you need support, they will give it to. There were so many assignments I thought were so difficult but my professors helped me through them and never once made me feel of a lesser value.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have fun! Sometimes, you get caught up in the stresses of college and you forget to stop and smell the roses. John Jay has so many amazing clubs and activities to join and I am suggesting you join them. You will make friends who will last a lifetime and memories that will be unforgettable!

    In three sentences

    John Jay was honestly the absolute best school I have ever seen. The professors are extremely understanding and take the time to get to know you. The school also has tons of amazing opportunities for us students.

  • 02/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    64 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I Suggest you go in, and make the best of John Jay College. The professors there are really interested in learning.

    In three sentences

    John Jay College is amazing for students would want to study in Law and Criminal Justice. I find I am not interested into any of those things. I would rate John Jay College a 7.5.

  • 03/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    65 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    As for fun, I have not ventured into the school deep enough to discover what fun things there are too do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is expensive here but that's to be expected coming from the city. The restaurants and the fast food joints around the city are a lot more expensive, but they do offer a diversity of food and their easily walkable.

    Dorm Life

    I don't do dorm, so I cannot vouch for those who do.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is hard but that's to be expected from a four year university. Most of a student's life is spent studying in the library. Teacher's give hard work and expect a lot from students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember to always study and make sure you're on class on time. The professors here are very good at their job and will make sure you do your job as a student well. Most importantly, remember to have breaks in between.

    In three sentences

    John Jay is a great school. The equal balance of hard work and fun makes going to school here enjoyable. Expect a lot of work and for most of your attention to be concentrated on studying here, though.

  • 04/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    66 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to deal with the not so great administration.

    In three sentences

    John Jay has great programs and professors; however, their administration leaves something to be desired.

  • 06/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    67 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If you want to have an awesome college experience at John Jay, be sure to join a few student clubs. Some student clubs I recommend are the Graphic Novel Club, LGBT & Allies Club, ISA Club, Dominican Club, and the Democrat and Republic Clubs. Politicians and celebrities visit the college time from time and may even visit a few of the college's student clubs.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria in the New Building at John Jay is great. It is small though and sometimes it can be overcrowded. The staff is very generous and the college offers jobs at the cafeteria for students. During the morning, the cafeteria is great for meeting friends and hanging out. Sometimes student activities and filming for T.V shows take place in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    John Jay College has no dorms. This is a commuter college. Students should avoid renting apartments in Manhattan. They cost too much money for a easily accessible college that has three nearby subway stations and about five bus lines that stop a few blocks away from the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at John Jay are generally not too difficult. Professors generally are willing to talk to students after class or during their office hours.Students typically are stressed out from their coursework during midterms and finals though. New students at John Jay should definitely make friends with their classmates. And Forensic Science majors should highly consider joining the Forensic Science Club as Forensic Science is considered to be the most difficult major at the college.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest that new students start looking into scholarships in their first semester. There are a variety of scholarships that students can apply to. And new students should also ask their professors for advice on scholarships to apply to and career options they may have in their major. Additionally, I advise new students to make friends with upperclassmen as freshmen year can prove to be overwhelming for many.

    In three sentences

    John Jay College offers a terrific experience for students. The campus is comprised of three buildings that are in close proximity from one another. And a few subway and bus lines are located near the campus.

  • 08/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    68 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Events during Community Hour. There are games and you can win prizes. Go to Student Council in room L2.69 to find out about the events.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus. However, there is that housing program for colleges in the area, it's not near the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make a schedule that you can stick to. Make sure you bond with your professors. Meet with an advisor to learn about the resources available for students in your field.

    In three sentences

    John Jay is full of opportunities. Through the many panels you can meet people in your future field and score many prestigious internships. The faculty is very knowledgeable and pro student engagement.

  • 08/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    69 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very immature students, but otherwise safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Don't bother. Clubs here are just hangout sessions with other students. Nothing crazy.

    Great for these types of students

    Nothing in this school is great for any student. They should close this institution down.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Read my Yelp review.

    Bang for the buck

    Do not waste your money here. If you do plan on spending your precious money here, however, make sure to never pay online, or else they will rip you a new a-hole. You will find yourself losing money for no reason. Bring a BANK CHECK. Nothing else.

    Food and Dining

    Again, read my Yelp review. The food here is greasy, disgusting, and over-priced.

    Academic Rigor

    Very few professors here are considered good. The rest speak nonsense and collect a paycheck. You will learn nothing, and work on lots of unnecessary papers and projects in the meantime.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in Criminal Justice, Forensics, etc., please look at other schools before fully committing to John Jay. Pace University, for example, has a great criminal justice program. Whatever you do, make this school your LAST RESORT. This is a horrible school. Don't find out the hard way.

    In three sentences

    Terrible school! The only reason why I signed up for this site is to warn potential students to steer clear of this institution. Their system and its workers are absolute slime. Read my Yelp review (Kenneth). DO NOT GO TO THIS SCHOOL!!!!