Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

CUNY LaGuardia Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel safe at laguardia community college. i have had to take evening classes and i've felt really safe. i see security guards everywhere and they always ask to see your college identification.

    Greek Life

    i know for a fact that laguardia community college has these types of activities. i have not had a chance to investigate further about them.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot of clubs at laguardia community college. the one that comes to mind is the math club. for every major, i believe, there is a club. i did not see a club for my major, paralegal studies, so that's an incentive for me to consider starting one.

    Great for these types of students

    laguardia community college is very diverse. we have students for all walks of life. we even have international students. i feel very comfortable at laguardia although i'm a non-traditional student, not a fresh-out-of high school one.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i'm not aware of any unusual traditions or locations that are part of laguardia community college. i have completed a semester and a half. i hope that the more i get to know my surroundings the more i'll learn about the history of this college.

    Bang for the buck

    laguardia community college's unique semesters system save you money. they have a mini-session that lasts six weeks. if you have registered for the previous 12-week semester, then this mini-session is free. if stretches your money and helps you to graduate faster.

    What to do for fun

    i'm a non-traditional student so my opportunities for extracurricular activities are limited. laguardia community college offers lots of opportunities for fun. there is theater shows, and other activities that happens monthly on campus.

    Food and Dining

    i have visited the cafeteria on numerous occasions since it is very convenient. the prices are reasonable. the menu offers breakfast, lunch and even dinner. the food is actually very good.

    Academic Rigor

    i found the classes challenging and stimulating. you really need to apply yourself. you have to read your textbook and even do outside research.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply early and make sure you have all your papers in order. when you are given the go ahead to register, do it as soon as possible. speak often with your advisor.

    In three sentences

    laguardia community college is student-oriented. it has so many student resources for any issue or need imaginable. the professors are very knowledgeable and passionate about what they teach.

  • 12/25/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Unsure of their 4 year school, unsure of their major yet they still want an education. This place is for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't slack off!!! you'll do fine.

    Bang for the buck

    Less tution but with a lot of valuable resources for your future.

  • 02/07/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Seeking a (worthless) diploma, not an education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Seriously consider applying elsewhere.

    Bang for the buck

    Dud.

    Will enjoy being here

    If you enjoy chaos and mismanagement.

    Will learn a lot

    LaGuardia Community College of the City University of New York is a scandal waiting to explode. You are invited to visit www.Laguardiacorruption.com to see the deleterious effect of administrative corruption on education and, in particular, how cronyism, rampant grade inflation, fraudulent course material and fraudulent remedial exams have rendered the Mathematics and English Departments dysfunctional. With more than 160,000 visits to date, the website aims to inform all colleges, education associations, interested taxpayers, elected officials and news media in the New York City vicinity.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    guards at all times.

    Greek Life

    phi thetta kappa is great for a national honor society.

    Clubs and Activities

    check out the volunteer service area.

    Great for these types of students

    self-challenged, new to new york city.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    a lot of smoking in the entrance, but you get used to it.

    Bang for the buck

    definately a great school to take on your first two years of undergraduate studies for those looking to transfer.

    What to do for fun

    make new friends! or check out the patio for some fresh air.

    Food and Dining

    great coffee especially when you have trouble keeping awake.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorming at this school but if you live near campus, it's a good place to live.

    Academic Rigor

    depending on what classes you take, the homework load depends on the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    always try something or a class that you wouldn't have thought of taking before.

    In three sentences

    it had great professors with energy to help out the students. the honors program has good incentives to get the students involved. great multicultural environment.

  • 03/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security always asks for i.d to get into the building.

    Clubs and Activities

    yoga, zumba, swimming, african heritage club, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    students who don't want to spend a long time in school. or students who want to start there then transfer to a four year school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    paint ball place is like 5 minutes away from the school.

    Bang for the buck

    i dont know what this means.

    What to do for fun

    we have a gym. we also have a pool. the students there can use them for free. there are clubs at the school. we also have yoga and zumba classes. there's a paintball/laser tag place not far from the school.

    Food and Dining

    the food in the area is pretty good. we have a 711, golden crust, brick oven pizzeria, deli, mini diner, mcdonald's, etc...

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms in laguardia.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't take to many classes at once, you will be overwhelmed. take a couple each session, don't try to rush out of college because the programs are competitive and they only choose the best.

    In three sentences

    its a good school. the area isn't to bad. they have good math tutors.

  • 03/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school has a lot of security guard.

    Greek Life

    There is the phi theta kappa and they also offer honer classes.

    Clubs and Activities

    The school offers clubs. They mostly meet up on Wednesday and Friday in the afternoon. They also have a gym and a pool that the students can use for free. They also offers zumba and yoga classes for free as well. If you have children's they have a great day care center for a affordability price.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for international students and as well for students who are undecided. Who has a full or part jobs and who are coming back to school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    LaGuardia is surrounded by 3-4 high school. There's a hotel in front of the school. There is a ice skating rink, paintball/laser tag arena, and a small movie theater. You will see smokers in front of school building.

    Bang for the buck

    1-laptop loan up to 3 days. 2-locker rental $1 for a year 3-use the computer lab for free 4-free WiFi 5-if you run out of printing paper in your account $1 for 100 pages

    What to do for fun

    Well for me when I'm done for the day I'll go with my friends ice skating which is about 3 blocks from the school.

    Food and Dining

    There is a lot of places around that area. There is Korean food, Japanese food, Nepalese food, fast food, pizzeria, Chinese food, and much more.

    Dorm Life

    There's no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Laguardia and I think BMCC as well are the only one who has this unique semesters system. There are two semester, Fall and Spring semester. Within the semester there are two session, session I and session II. Session I is 12 week period and Session II is a 8 week period. If you take the first session, the second session the classes are free. The school wants this system because it gives the students the opportunity to retake classes that they fail in session I and to graduate faster.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply your classes ASAP! Especially for math and science classes they fill really quickly. Be on time to class and do your assignments and reading. Be organize!! If you don't you will get lost and you will be stress out. When you find who are your professors, go to ratemyprofessors.com, and read the reviews it help me a lot.

    In three sentences

    Well its a good school and I guess this is why I pick this school because its diversity. You will meet different background and learn new thing everyday. The professors are nice and knows there stuff.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Yes full-time campus police.

    Clubs and Activities

    A wide variety of clubs representing many of the 140 countries along with variety of cultural activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of students. As I mentioned I took remedial classes to honors classes here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our school represents students from 140 different countries!!

    Bang for the buck

    Fantastic! I am transferring to a fancy ivy league school and by attending a junior college it cuts the bill nearly in half - making somewhat possible to afford a private institution.

    What to do for fun

    Phi Theta Kappa honors society :-)

    Food and Dining

    Food is typical college fare.

    Dorm Life

    No dormitories

    Academic Rigor

    I chose to take challenging classes to knock them out in a junior college rather than at a four-year institution.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead do research on your professors and register for classes early. Ask fellow students about their experiences.

    In three sentences

    LAGCC is a wonderful school with a very supportive faculty. My experience with the math department/tutoring lab has been very successful - I began taking remedial algebra and am currently taking honors calculus. LaGuardia has brought out abilities in me that I had know idea that I have. In addition, I am working on a volunteer project making handbags in Haiti and once a few of my professors learned of this they got behind it and next month the school is sponsoring a fashion show!!

  • 03/22/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    8 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    i have applied to this school and from what i heard its not a very good school, i am a little concerned being that i applied here.. can anyone tell me what makes it not a good school and can anyone tell me how the nursing program here is? and is there a way where you can reply and contact others on this site? i am new to it..

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    rip off

    What to do for fun

    nothing

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    unorganized

    Tips for prospective students

    They will rip you off. Do not go there. They will deliberately fail many students and then offer the student the LPN program then LPN to RN program just to make more money off the students. The Dean of the college is hardly aware of how the nursing department cheats students. The professors think they are the gate keepers of the nursing world. They do not allow you to pass by honest merit. They hand pick who they want to pass, and unfairly give extra points to students that bow down to them. Learn to to stroke department heads ego or find another college.

    In three sentences

    They failed 44 students out of a graduating class of approximately 65 students in the spring of 2010. The nursing department will do whatever it takes to get government funding for their program dept, and that includes failing students. They call anyone that speaks up about their unfair practices, disgruntled.

  • 01/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like being in an age and ethnically diverse college

    What to do for fun

    I didn't stay most of the time in campus during my free time, but when I do, I go to the library to use one of the computers. I heard the gym is pretty good, too. Plus, the school has some yoga classes.

    Food and Dining

    I'm not a fan of the cafeteria. Quality of food is grade C and the prices for me are a little too much. The pizzeria across the street is pretty good. The cafes around are OK.

    Dorm Life

    LaGuardia doesn't offer on-campus housing. Off-campus housing is, well, a bit expensive. It's in NYC, what can I say?

    Academic Rigor

    From my experiences, I've had pretty good professors and classes were taught really well. You're sure to find ones that you wouldn't like, but it isn't always possible to change sections once the semester starts as classes get filled really quick.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are lots of study spots around campus such as the library, study halls, empty/vacant classrooms.

    In three sentences

    LaGuardia CC has a very diverse population. People here are nice, too. Most professors are really good, but like in every college, you'll meet some less desirable ones.

  • 02/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to the cafeteria to talk with your friends

    Academic Rigor

    everyone passes because there are tutors in every subject to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    you will love the library everything you need will be there, so don't worry!

    In three sentences

    rate it a 10 because the professors are very helpful. you can actually print out your stuff without paying ten cents for it. the library will become your new best friend.

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    probably gym or swimming pool

    Food and Dining

    its all right

    Tips for prospective students

    don't get discourage when dealing with administration. be organized and ask questions multiple times at different sources. seems that everyone have different information.

    In three sentences

    overall its a good school with wide diversity. however i have difficulty to register for certain classes sometimes. school in a process of development, however unorganized and difficult when dealing with administration.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are so many security people so i dont think something bad can happen. never happened to me

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    when i have time i go to gym or to swimming pool

    What to do for fun

    there is a gym and swimming pool, i think there are other activities there but im not sure.

    Food and Dining

    i dont know how is the food there because i dont eat there, i always have my own food

    Dorm Life

    students are nice to each other. they dont bother.

    Academic Rigor

    im very happy with their rigor because when i fell the pressure then i try more and thanks to than i really study. they need to keep up that way

    Tips for prospective students

    if you plan to go to lagcc be prepared because in here they gonna take all juices from you. they are thogh.

    In three sentences

    since im in usa i always wanted to go here. it was my big dream. the school is just awesome. professors are very nice and they know how to teach,at least the ones i had.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students with little money and a job.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    they have a computer lab with hundreds of commuter accessible at the b building.

    What to do for fun

    they offer free swimming pools and gym access if you are currently a student at laguardia.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you are on time with your deadlines. this is a big school and lots of people attending and when you want to register for a certain class better be on time. the classes fill up fast so don't be late...other than that they offer great courses especially if you are studying health and science majors.

    In three sentences

    laguardia has many opportunities for students that want to continue their education with little money. they have great small classes for focused learning and also the tuition prices are great. they also offer child day care services for mothers and fathers who wants to attend college and they have a place for their children to be while getting their educations.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are many security on campus and a security office located in every building. Safety is a very important factor at this school and is also very effective.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs that are provides at this college. There are religious clubs, clubs for majors offered at the school, and many others.

    Great for these types of students

    The types of students that you would find at this college are very diverse. You will meet many different people that come from many different backgrounds.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs that students at LaGuardia community college may attend for fun. There are also many different workshops that are help at the college for fun and that you can gain knowledge from.

    Food and Dining

    The food that is provided at this college are very healthy choices to choose from. The food is very delicious and tastes like it is homemade.

    Dorm Life

    This college does not have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at college is structured very well, and from my experience have many great professors that are very helpful.

    In three sentences

    LaGuardia Community College is very diverse. This college has very caring and helpful professors. I would rate this college a nine.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    fine

    Clubs and Activities

    I joined the united nations club and creative writing club as well as psychology.

    Great for these types of students

    international students

    What to do for fun

    i read books and joined yoga class.

    Food and Dining

    I go to seven eleven across the street form my school i really love it.

    Dorm Life

    I don't have a dorm life and reason being i live at home with my parents.

    Academic Rigor

    Business administration

    Tips for prospective students

    the one tip i would give students is know what yo are getting into. therefore do your research about the college of your choosing or you will be lost.

    In three sentences

    In the years i been in this school . i would honestly give this college a 2 because their priorities to the students are not good at all whatsoever. they need more strategy planning .

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus have their own security and police officers.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs to choose from

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school has different building depending on what department you are looking.

    Bang for the buck

    This CUNY College good prices for the classes you choose.

    What to do for fun

    They have plenty after school activities such as modeling, theatre, and sports.

    Food and Dining

    They have many choices of food around the campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are easy going.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be positive and aim high

    In three sentences

    This school is great because it has so much academic choices for your major. I has easy going students, drama free and the teachers are great for extra help. LaGuardia is a great choice to a great future.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    Over 100 clubs and organizations

    What to do for fun

    Gym always has a game of handball and or basketball going. The pool. some fo the cafees offer video games.

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria food and outside options to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    none available

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want to do before coming here.

    In three sentences

    LaGuardia is a wonderful college. It has a lot of diversity. Lots of mojors and minors to choose from.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards, they always ask to see I.D to get into the building.

    Clubs and Activities

    I've heard of a few clubs and activities on campus however, there does not seem to be very many.

    Great for these types of students

    Its great for students who are used to diversity.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes don't cost very much.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the area is pretty good. There are 2 pizza shops and a 7-11 right across the street a McDonalds a few blocks down, a deli etc.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are pretty easy as long as you go and keep up with your work. Again the professors are pretty helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on your work and study. Try to avoid going to the offices unless its really necessary, be prepared to have to get outside help.

    In three sentences

    The classes aren't bad and the professors are pretty helpful. The area is not that great, its kind of dull. The administrative staff (the people who answer the phones and work in the offices) aren't very helpful and some times give u the run-around or do not fully answer your questions.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    20 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We have a lot of activities that I am sure prospective students would want to join. There are also clubs that would help students be acquainted with other students. I know they will enjoy all these.

    Food and Dining

    The food that they serve here is plain delicious and healthy. I usually eat in the cafeteria during my breaks. There is an acceptable variety of food choices too.

    Dorm Life

    This school does not offer dorms. That's why I cannot judge it. However, SUNY does offer dorm living.

    Academic Rigor

    The school has a very good standing in terms of academic excellence. Its passing grade for licensure is really high. The minimum GPA for entering a program is also high.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are considering this school, you are making the right choice. This school has a lot to offer. What are you waiting for? Go to www.cuny.edu and apply now.

    In three sentences

    My stay here in the school, especially during I was doing my internship, was great. This is the best school to be in if you want to be exposed to different cultures because it is very diverse here. I am very happy that this school molded be in preparation for my four year school.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 51

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    LaGuardia Community College provides reasonable tuition and great value of education. If you want to start your first step of education, this school would be a nice start of your journey.

  • 09/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's clubs, a huge pool ! I'm just starting so I don't know much right now.

    Food and Dining

    The main building cafe is probably the best place to eat because I'm told the food is fresher. Plus they make the food right in front of you.

    Dorm Life

    There's no dorms sadly. But transportation is very accessible as mentioned before. The longest time I know that someone has taken to get to school was maybe a little over an hour. The closest train is the 7 train and it runs very often. It never disappoints.

    Academic Rigor

    I would give the rigor a 4. The work you undergo here is very challenging but in the end who cares because all the hard work I going towards your future career.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on applying to CUNY LaGuardia expect to be a commuter student. Although Transportation is very accessible, you won't have the dream of dorming. Furthermore, you'll be happy with your choice here. Like myself, your getting use to being more independent and are now getting ready to take charge of your future. Here, there is always someone around to help you with any situation you need such as financial, personal or educational.

    In three sentences

    LaGuardia Community College is very diverse. The people all over kind of give you the sense that your learning a whole bunch of new things everyday because there's a wide range of different ethnicities and cultures. You're not just learning inside the classroom but outside as you get to network and socialize.

  • 10/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They offer free Yoga classes on Wednesday!

    Food and Dining

    Not too many dining choices around

    Tips for prospective students

    Check your deadlines

    In three sentences

    LaGuardia Community college is an excellent college. LaGuardia Community college has great educative level. The professors are amazing!

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has tight security that makes students feel extra safe

    What to do for fun

    study (HAHA)

    Food and Dining

    There are three cafeterias located on campus that serves hot and cold meals

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    do your financial aid months in advance. also, get familiar with the different departments and their purposes.

    In three sentences

    I think that laguardia college is a great school. There are limitless oppurtunities for students here specifically employment chances for students.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    LaGuardia has a cafeteria in every one of its four buildings, giving you a wide variety of choices. If that doesn't satisfy you, the neighborhood is filled with halal stands, breakfast stands, delis, a pizzeria, a 7-11, you name it. Food literally surrounds Laguardia.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. Since it won't let me give zero stars, imagine that one star there, well, isn't there.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're majoring in Criminology or Criminal Justice, ask about the CUNY Justice Academy, a program all the CUNY community colleges participate in. If you qualify, it guarantees you a seat in CUNY John Jay, a world leader in studies of law, Criminal justice, law enforcement and Forensics.

    In three sentences

    LaGuardia offers a rich environment where one is bound to find like-minded peers. I have enjoyed my first 2 months here and enjoy my classes. This is a college for you.

  • 10/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food choice is wide variety and fresh.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is incredible.

    Academic Rigor

    The life at this school is very comfortable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please don't hesitate, enroll today and have the best individual attention received for any other community college.

    In three sentences

    The standard of teaching at laguardia community college is far what you will ever expect. The lecturers are beyond profession in classroom. They go the extra mile to provide the best teaching.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Offers more than 15 clubs for students. Ranging from Philosophy to Chess.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Host a lot of countries events.

    What to do for fun

    I attended multiple fairs within the college. Furthermore, for fun I like to lounge, read book and visit museums.

    Tips for prospective students

    Either if its from graduating from a highs school or either transferring, students should search for LaGuardia's students free-services thats being offered.

    In three sentences

    The transferring process from High School to College was difficult because of the new-environment and the not-knowing of what i wanted to major on. However, the faculty helped my transitions offering multiple free services to students, one-on-one tutoring, and helpful professors that actually cared for their students.

  • 11/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    for immigrant people its excellent!

    In three sentences

    its very affordable school, teachers are always willing to help you if you don't understand something. It's a very international society in the College.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a guard at the door to greet you and ask for ID but other than that, the security stays on one floor and does not roam the halls at all but to be honest I don't blame them. This school is in a good neighborhood but just to be safe stay alert.

    Greek Life

    Absolutely no Greek life! Sometimes I wish an overweight man in a bed sheet would run pass me chugging a beer. This school is primarily on focused on getting you in and out of there as fast you can.

    Clubs and Activities

    Like I mentioned before there are plenty of clubs and activities for you do while you wait for your next class. Perhaps you don't see a club you like, the school gives you an opportunity to create a club if you have enough people...That's the trick!

    Great for these types of students

    If you messed up in high school for what ever reason and want to get good grades to transfer to a better school. Or if your a parent or adult who took a break from school because of your family or job and you want to start off with work that won't drive you crazy or interfere with other stuff.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As you know in most schools the seniors hold more power because of seniority, so in LaGuardia freshman and any other upper class men rather than seniors have to wait for an appointment date to register for classes.

    Bang for the buck

    The resources are available to you and are in great condition but you would never know if you didn't ask. The class sizes are small and gives the teacher a little bit more connection with individuals and are willing to help you improve in there classes. The students are really cool too when you get to know them. When it comes to finances that's another topic.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs and activities for you do while you wait for your next class. This school has a swimming pool, basketball court, and gym that's fully accessible to students with i.d and if your not interested in being active and sweating there are nice lounge areas where you can just chill.

    Food and Dining

    The food at this school is okay, the only thing around the school are halal food trucks and a 7eleven. There are a few fast food chains that require a nice walk but compared to the food the school offers it seems like it's worth it.

    Dorm Life

    THERE ARE NO DORMS!

    Academic Rigor

    Each class is different but based on my classes i took, the course work wasn't difficult or hard at all. The homework was never overwhelming and this finals were based on everything the teacher taught. You really are responsible for earning your grade in those classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is school is cheap so if you plan on coming here on financial aid make sure your finances are together. LaGuardia is know for screwing up your aid. Also if your looking for social life you definitely wont find that here, this is a community college in queens! You'll be lucky to see a Greek Letter on a poster.

    In three sentences

    This school has good potential along with great progrmas but still lacks in many ways but this school is good for those who messed up in high school or parents/adults who took a break from school and need to start off light. The students here are really to themselves so its up to you whether you make an effort to make friends, but everyone focus is getting there credits and transferring. The staff and faculty are okay, there are some good professors and some bad processors but that's common everywhere, the best advice i give you is that your experience at this school is totally up to you.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    who likes to have fun and meet new people

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the basketball gym is one of the locations you can meet a lot off people because everyone goes there

    What to do for fun

    talent shows music club art club basketball gym workout gym parties

    Tips for prospective students

    just work hard. put your mind to it and you can do anything

    In three sentences

    very international. good school. good teachers

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    From my experience LaGuardia is a very safe place and there has never been any reports of something happening to any student of staff on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    LaGuardia is a great place for students that can't afford to go away for school as soon as they graduate. It is a great place to start and build up credits and get into a study habit before deciding to go away.

    What to do for fun

    At LaGuardia there are different clubs to join or someone can start there own club.

    Food and Dining

    There are restaurants around the entire area of the school so there are different food options. There are vending machines and little cafes throughout the building.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on LaGuardia's campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what your major some classes are harder than others and some teachers are a bit more strict than others. However, working hard leads to a good great the work you put in will show in your grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prioritize your time especially if deciding to take a lot of classes, use the library as much as needed. Study hard and focus !

    In three sentences

    LaGuardia has a very diverse environment. LaGuardia offers many different programs that can really help lead to getting a job and starting a career. LaGurdia is a safe and friendly place for people to learn.

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is the gym if you like sports, varies hang out spots and Time Square is only 15mins away if you have a lot of free time.

    Food and Dining

    There are many cafeterias to get food from not to mention vending machines and the various outside food sources. For example good trucks, 7eleven, golden krust, McDonalds, Wendy's and many more places.

    Dorm Life

    There is none

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on your major and how well you can handle a lot of work being assigned at one time. Time management is everything!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask professors for help if you need it or go see a tutor. You pay for it so way not use it! The tutors are students so they are very understanding and eager to help you get to speed. Homework is very important to all professors so get it done and make a decent effort when doing assignments. Even if you aren't the brightest student in the class professors will appreciate that you're trying.

    In three sentences

    LAGCC is a great school! The professors I have had so far are so patient and willing to help you succeed in the class. It does not have the classical gated college campus though which is one thing I don't like.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    its stable i can say with security almost everywhere and being lax is ok from time to time.

    Clubs and Activities

    all the clubs are pretty cool and we all have fun together as a memeber of the web radio club i can say its fun to be in a club.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the atrium is an awesome hangout but the most unusual place i find people are in front of the M building lobby

    What to do for fun

    for me i like to just hangout with friends in the school and also as part of the web radio club i go and hangout there and just enjoy the music movies and club members

    Food and Dining

    the food here is actually pretty awesome and the cafeterias are big and some even have microwaves for students to heat their own food.

    Dorm Life

    the school as i know has no dorms so can't say much on this

    Tips for prospective students

    tips: 1) join a club that peeks your interest, you'll make alot of new firneds and connections 2) try to balance out classes when they are first available before you end up with a not so like able schedule 3) take advantage of the opportunities here the have so much that can help

    In three sentences

    this school is very diverse and you can learn a lot from everyone from cultural back round to simple class tips. Also it has many programs and classes that help students who are in a rut whether its tuition or simply getting the credit they need.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school isn't located in a good neighborhood. I wouldn't say the neighborhood is horrible, it's just not good. I suggest you don't bring anything valuable.

    Clubs and Activities

    None of them are interesting in my opinion. I was hoping this school would have a photography club or a circle k, but both are no longer in this school.

    Great for these types of students

    It's a great school if you love convenience. The 7 train is only a block and a half away, while the E is a 10-15 minute walk away from the school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The E building has a phone charging station next to the cafe.

    Bang for the buck

    I paid about $2,000 as a full time student.

    What to do for fun

    There are a variety of school clubs. You can find a list in the student life office. A lot of the clubs I was interested in is no longer available on campus, so make sure the club you are interested in is still active before going to a meeting.

    Food and Dining

    There's a cafe in every building. There's a wide selection of hot food in the M building downstairs. You can stop by for coffee, tea or grab a sandwich in the other cafes as well. Next to the school you can find Seattle Cafe, which I heard isn't very good. There's a 7 eleven across the street from the school.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends what professors you will have. Some are strict graders, while some aren't. It's all about luck.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is like high school all over again. There's a lot of immature students here. You can find the more mature ones in health related classes (such as anatomy and physiology, chemistry, etc). If you need assistance from the staff, don't be surprised if you go on a wild goose chase. The school is generally disorganized.

  • 06/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go into empty classes and study! go to the library!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria's sandwiches are so small and expensive. The only food I recommend you get here is vending machine drink/snack in between breaks.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here... the area is ok as far as I can tell. Crime is low, but there is this one crazy street that crosses into the C building, I witnessed the car crash that killed the 16 year old boy. Horrible street that needs more fixing!

    Academic Rigor

    Some lazy professors, and other really want you to learn... its just luck that you will get a great professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always make that one friend who will show you around the college. Join a program in the college!

    In three sentences

    Laguardia community college is a well rounded school, it has everything you ever need. As with every college, there is a down side and upside to every one. Offices are a hassle, as well as some professors here (ESPECIALLY MATH PROFESSORS!)

  • 07/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    In LaGuardia Community College you can do a lot of curricular activities. You can play sports such as basketball and even go for a swim in the college's pool. You will never get bored and if you just want to relax you can sit in the outdoor atrium located in the E building.

    Food and Dining

    The food served in LaGuardia's cafeterias are very good. The cooks put their all into making sure that the student's are happy with what they are consuming.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't dorms in LaGuardia Community College.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics in LaGuardia are challenging. No matter what level English or Math you select the professors will challenge you because they are making sure that you are well prepared if you decide to transfer to a four year college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should study a lot to ensure good grades. Not only will you receive good grades but it will make your college career easier than having to struggle to catch up and get a good grade.

    In three sentences

    LaGuardia Community College is a school where you can acheive the credits you need in order to obtain your degree. The professors really help the students and want them to succeed in their college career. I feel comfortable knowing that the professors will push me and that the staff is very friendly and genuine.

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I usually hit the gym on my free time and is also fun!

    Food and Dining

    Food is great but prefer to take food from home to save myself some cash.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always stay focus, there's a time and place for everything. Do not lose focus!!

    In three sentences

    I've attended LAGCC for two years now. Although, its a community college, I love it here because I am getting the education and requirements that I need to then continue my degree. I am aiming for my masters and I know that I will make it because of my ambition I have in becoming successful and making my mother proud!

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Make sure that you travel in packs during late hours (if possible) and keep your cell phone close. Make sure that someone always knows where you are abndat all times regarding

    Greek Life

    There Yogurt is the best!

    Clubs and Activities

    STAY FAR, FAR AWAY.

    Bang for the buck

    Stay on a budget and remember the important things in life.

    What to do for fun

    Whatever it is that you choose to do for fun, just make sure to use your common sense.

    Food and Dining

    Stay on a budget. A penny saved is a penny earned. Try not to buy so much outside food because you can't find time to cook. It's extremely unhealthy and before you know it, you're trying to calculate how much money you have left for the remainder of the week. Prioritize!

    Dorm Life

    Keep to yourself and remember that everyone is not your friends. The people that you should be associating with are the students who plan ahead and are concerned about their GPA instead of what party's they will be attending the upcoming weekend.

    Academic Rigor

    Keep your mind in the right state and always remain focused on your life and the goals that your are trying to accomplish for yourself. Nobody is going to open the books and study for you. Remember, your future is going to come faster than you can ever imagine and before you know it, life has passed you by and there is nothing you can do about it besides give someone else this same advise and hope that they will pay attention.

    Tips for prospective students

    If there is something specific that is going on outside of the school that is stopping you from doing what it is that you need to do in order to fulfill your dreams, don't hesitate or feel ashamed to talk to someone. You never know what kind of help is available to you. You will be surprised at the amount of attention and concern that you will receive from individuals that you don't even know. The world is bigger than a block, so don't allow yourself to fall short of your dreams because of fear. Being afraid is a choice just like continuing your education.

    In three sentences

    The professors at Lagcc care about the well being of there students as far as our education and personal life. They want to know what is going on in their students lives that may hinder us from achieving our goals. This makes a big difference in the learning experience at this school.

  • 08/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food is just standard cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms. but you could meet some good people

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are not too hard but harder than a high school course. great place to build the brides between college and high school.

    In three sentences

    LaGuardia is a stepping stone, a place where you can get your bearings on college and college life even if you have had prior experience.

  • 08/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Walk around or the gym.

    Food and Dining

    ugh I eat outside.

    Dorm Life

    I dont dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I like the classes im awake, I dislike math.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign of for your classes fast because you'll have a difficult time getting it if their full. and get your professors to learn your name so you would have a difficult transition into college.

    In three sentences

    I like Laguardia for the student People get along with each other easy here. The campus is welcoming, and in a nice safe area, but only diffcult thing is getting there the 7 train is annoying.

  • 08/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Although the school might be a little lacking in terms of campus space, Laguardia does offer some student activities like that of Basketball and table tennis. However I feel that the real fun comes from joining a club that a student feels passionate about. And there are tons of them!

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask ask ask! Ask for help there are offices and people there who are literally hired to help new students out with any troubles as long as they ask!

    In three sentences

    Although Laguardia may in fact be a 2 year school I personally believe it is one of the better community colleges out there. Coming from a student who transferred from Queensborough College I believe the professors as well as the other staff are all willing and waiting to help out any students in need. Compared to other schools I feel that it is impossible to get lost in the flow of the new found college life. Something I believe any new college students should keep in mind.

  • 08/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    i love food.

    Dorm Life

    i never been there. I don't have the experience in dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    accounting. in laguardia college.

  • 09/11/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    43 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa - Honor Society

    Bang for the buck

    Quality education from quality educators

    What to do for fun

    Lots of clubs and events hosted within the school; also community-based trips, lectures from famous speakers, exhibits within the school and talent shows and student performances to attend.

    Food and Dining

    Not a vast selection but nice spots around the campus; lots of places to sit and eat (or rest) on site

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Matched academic standards with private colleges

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not expect help when you're not willing to help yourself.

    In three sentences

    Diverse Abundant Energetic

  • 10/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Find a job as a work-study. You also have the chance to go to the gym to workout, to the pool or joining one of the clubs in school.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very healthy. I assume they could have a broader selection of food.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms at LaGuardia.

    Academic Rigor

    It is on a understanding level. I never had trouble in school. The only thing I needed is to keep up with having a good GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    If students want to succeed they need to be surrounded by scholars who are optimistic. They also need to take track of their work and how well they are doing in school. Participation is the key to make the students to prevail in school, it helps them engaging with the material given in class.

    In three sentences

    LaGuardia Community College it's a great college to attend to, it introduces you to college life and gives you a hindsight of how four year colleges would be. At LaGuardia Community College students are enriched with a variety of resources where they could lookout for help whenever they want it. The professors are totally amazing, they really help students to gradually expand their knowledge.

  • 11/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Use all the resources available!!!

    In three sentences

    LaGuardia is one of the best schools CUNY has to offer in my opinion. They have so many different types of resources for students that range from career counseling, scholarships, transfer opportunities, internships, personal issues etc. It is an actual community there to help you.

  • 11/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I'm pretty sure it is a safe campus, as far as I know

    Greek Life

    We have Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

    Clubs and Activities

    SO MUCH TO CHOOSE FROM

    Great for these types of students

    Small campus lovers that loves food and the possibility of meeting new people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since I'm relatively new to the school, I have yet to discovered any secret nooks, but when I do, I shall share.

    Bang for the buck

    There are soooo many resources to help you with what ever there is you need help with. Theres also this thing where if you enroll for 12 credits worth of classes, any classes after that in that semester is free. That's pretty awesome to me.

    What to do for fun

    Don't even get me started! Clubs galore, from Jap Culture to Sign Language. Swimming pool, Pool Side Cafe with video games, Gym, Just hanging with friends. Cross a bridge, join a club. Seriously, you have a bunch of choices.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria in every building. There is a food court across the street from the campus. There are various restaurants across from the campus as well. THERE IS HALAL TRUCKS ON EVERY BLOCK OF THE CAMPUS!! Seriously the only way you can starve here is if you have no money whatsoever. (all the foods taste good)

    Academic Rigor

    The Professors keep you on your toes, but the don't overload you with work, which is refreshing.

    Tips for prospective students

    When registering for classes, register for both first & second session at the same time to assist with financial aid. Don't be afraid to ask for help from you major's respective department, they will help you. And when you get lost, don't be afraid to ask someone where to go. Trust me, It Will Happen.

    In three sentences

    LaGuardia is a somewhat small campus with professors that recognize you, resources that are open to students, and people that are truly there to help. Though the campus holds 4-5 buildings, they are relatively close to each other with professors that are not afraid to answer questions when needed. And if you need tutoring or just a place to work out, swim, make art ect. LaGuardia got you covered.

  • 02/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security check is at every door and at the library. I once lost my smartphone and found it later in the security office.

    Great for these types of students

    This is the best place for students who haven't made up their minds on educational and career goals yet. This is the place where you can try out and experiment without paying a great tuition cost. And this is definitely a place to go for international students and immigrants who are not familiar with an american system of education. Here you will explore it and become ready for the four year college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an amazing courtyard in one of the buildings of the college. It is beautiful in every season and it's a great place to rest your mind and eyes at between classes. There is A LOT of students' art work displayed on each floor in every building. Very often you get a feeling of being at the museum of modern art walking the hallways of LaGuardia.

    What to do for fun

    Sports activities, concerts and events.

    Food and Dining

    Overall food is ok. But there are not enough options for vegans like me

    Academic Rigor

    Totally depends on professor. Many of them will push your limits and give you extra work if you are above the average in your class. I will always be grateful for that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends with Professors! There is so much you can learn from them if they see potential and willingness to learn in you.

    In three sentences

    LaGuardia community college is a great place to begin your educational journey. Here you will be prepared for the big road. You will learn all tools, grow confidence and will have a better idea of your educational and career goals.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One of my classmates walked in with a cat and wasn't stopped.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria isn't that great, but when you have a lot of work to do , and don't have time to leave , then its amazing

    Dorm Life

    I've never actually had a dorm life at Lagcc

    Academic Rigor

    There are some really good professors, and then you have others that suck. If you go to the professor rating blog you'll get a pretty good idea.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read the professor rating blog , it will be a life and grade saver

    In three sentences

    If you study well you should do well like at any other college. poor security, so so type of food

  • 03/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There's a diner, pizza place a cross the street, Burger king close by.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have a Dorm

  • 05/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a bit scary because of the packed street but there are security guards everywhere and the trains are literally right next to the school. Plus, there are always always always other students around

    Greek Life

    Not that I know of

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and very easy to start your own.

    Great for these types of students

    International students have many resources in this school. Also, people who are reentering college, this school is easy to get the hang of.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Definitely is known for the most study spaces on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely a bang for your buck situation but it depends on what you are really looking for.

    What to do for fun

    There are some clubs but the events are pretty cool. I personally enjoy the philosophy club and lots of clubs have parties and what not.

    Food and Dining

    International foods!! There is food everywhere so never worry about hunger.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are quite strict. A lot of them come from very stern schools such as NYU. So teachers keep a close tentative schedule. However, they are not there to babysit you so whatever you do not do is your responsibility. Despite that you should always keep in touch with your teacher in terms of emergencies and such.

    Tips for prospective students

    KEEP TRACK OF YOUR ADMISSIONS PAPERWORK!!! Always keep track of what is going on with financial aid and definitely keep track of requirements for your degree. This school has a good set of professors but administration kind of sucks sadly. (It's the CUNY way).

    In three sentences

    This school is a huge community. Everything is very fast paced because a lot of students do commute and there is a lot to learn. The art program is the BEST!

  • 05/20/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    51 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are guards at every entrance and they ALWAYS ask for ID. If you don't have, they inquire about your whereabouts, and it always makes you feel safe.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa is their honors society. That is as Greek as it gets.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton, but they are mostly all ethnic and culture based. There aren't many that are just for fun.

    Great for these types of students

    International, Non-native English Speaking, New Students, Older Students, Parents, Working Adults.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    LaGuardia doesn't have that kind of school spirit. You really won't find any sense of community or quirks like that. The one thing I should mention is that LAG has a day care service center, which I think is remarkable.

    Bang for the buck

    You're paying for a community college in Long Island City. It is by far not the worst school out there, but they never did anything to really stand out either. As I said earlier, it is the ideal place to earn you 60 credits and transfer to another CUNY school. And it is cheaper than going to Hunter, for example. So in that case, I would say you get a lot for your dollar.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't anything to do for fun there. Unfortunately, being that it's a city school, there aren't really any on campus activities. But that's what the 5 Boroughs are for. :) That being said, they do have a good handful of clubs to join if you're in the mood for political banter.

    Food and Dining

    It's actually not terrible for an urban city college. But don't expect 5 star meals! You'll get pizza, fries, burgers, salads, the usual!

    Dorm Life

    There is none!

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the professor. Some of them demand the most of you; too much at times! But others treat you like you crawled out from under a rock and know nothing, and thus, their academic expectations of us fall very short. Others have been the greatest people I've ever met.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use LaGuardia for what it is: a community college stepping stone school. Do NOT get caught up in good majors and what you should be taking. Go in as a Liberal Arts student, get good grades, and transfer when you can. LaGuardia isn't the end all of colleges.

    In three sentences

    LaGuardia is a great stepping stone school for International students wanting to get a decent education and make their way to their next level of schooling. It's large campus is perfect to accommodate so many potential students and somehow, they manage to keep everyone accounted for despite it! Lastly, the school is trying to constantly improve itself, which to me, is a big sign that they are making a conscious effort to remain competitive in the CUNY system.