Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

CUNY New York City College of Technology Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/21/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who love to exceed academically. They have programs specifically for your major. If you want to be surrounded by lots of things to do this is the college for you. There are stores to shop and eat. The college also has clubs for students to join.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know how to balance your school work, work schedule and social life. It's not like high school were you can put off certain things. You have to balance out everything and aim for a 3.0 GPA.

    Bang for the buck

    This college isn't expensive but it's still wise to have a job to have a little pocket change.

    Will enjoy being here

    The college is really big and it's located downtown Brooklyn. So if you are bored then you have places to shop and eat. They have lounges for you to sit down and relax until your next class starts. It's a really fun college

    Will learn a lot

    I haven't started the credit course classes but I attended the summer classes. The professors really know how to teach you. If your professor isn't the best teacher then there is a tutor who will work with you until you understand your work. You will exceed at this college

  • 06/14/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    4 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 2 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    can learn a'lot great oppertunitys

    Tips for prospective students

    very good programs to choose from

  • 06/02/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 3 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is not that expensive. There's a lot of places around where you can apply for job.

    Will enjoy being here

    OF COURSE!!!

    Will learn a lot

    I'm really looking forward to attending Citytech. I been there few times and I love it. :)

  • 01/16/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 4 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    outside of the school are lots of restaurants and food shacks all over.

    Dorm Life

    it has lots of droms that are spacious and you live close to the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    you have nothing to lose this is a great school.

    In three sentences

    really great school it is very clean and full of space. lots of friendly people to help you when you are inside. has small classes that can help out students a lot and learn more.

  • 09/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is really safe, there's security all over and they have sec cameras

    Greek Life

    No greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    they have clubs related to majors, clubs for health and outdoor activities

    Great for these types of students

    Stidents who want to be challanged and have a passion for learning

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing so far

    What to do for fun

    They have so club options for you to choose and also they do student interact activities often

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is really good

    Dorm Life

    There's no dorming options

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are challenging but also really helpul

    In three sentences

    City tech is a really helpful college, they're very understandable and give you many opportunities in your pursuing carrier

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    students are kept safe and secure, but the security guard don't always check students id. yet, they do ask you where you're headed to see if they can help. they do there best to make sure you're student, visitor or teacher on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    i was a member at seekers christian fellowship meeting. i was great and very spiritual.

    Great for these types of students

    go to bake sales, join any club

    What to do for fun

    hang out in the lounges, use the internet, do some fun classes in the auditorium

    Food and Dining

    the food was good, but ever since last march, it's been under renovation from fda- food and development administration

    Dorm Life

    i live with my parents, but someday, i'll live on campus: dorm room

    Academic Rigor

    it was great, but they didn't have the tutoring i needed. so i went to either the professors or library for guidance.

    Tips for prospective students

    be sure to check the tutoring rooms have what you need to study, not just the library. try and make time to see professors during office hours.

    In three sentences

    i had a good time at the college. the teachers were honest, down to earth and very knowledgeable about what they taught me and other classmates. they took time with me and help me as much as i could. i was able to move freely, do work and make time for me on campus.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    there is none

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    not that i know of

    What to do for fun

    there are stores all around

    Food and Dining

    cafeteria is under construction.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorm life.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you're really interested in technology, this might be a good place for you if you live close and don't mind second hand smoke.

    In three sentences

    the elevators are slow and always breaking down. there are always people smoking on campus which is extremely irritating., they're always doing construction on campus which is disturbing during classes.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is intact. We have a lot of cameras on campus so be careful and be aware of your surroundings.

    Greek Life

    We do have Greeks on campus. I don't really know too much since I'm not a member.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a lot of clubs and activities on campus. Every thursday the clubs get together for a cause and their is a lot of bake sales etc.

    Great for these types of students

    The BMI is the Black Male Initiative program, in which aids to students needs and wants in job oppurtunities, internships and even tutoring.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The counselor office is one of my favorite places on campus because you get to meet a lot of different people throughout the day.

    Bang for the buck

    You can apply for jobs in the school such as the library and they work around your class schedule. It's a win-win!

    What to do for fun

    I hang with my friends near the promenot it's an area where you can sit and enoy the view of the hudson river. Also, you can cross the brooklyn bridge and head to manhattan near the seaport.

    Food and Dining

    We currently don't have a school cafeteria, but we do have a lot of dining areas near the school. So it's easy to run out and buy a snack or two.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know about dorm life because I commute. I live with my mother and take the train to school and home.

    Academic Rigor

    As you move higher and higher towards your goals; semester after semester the classes get more rigorous. This means the classes are more intense and you need to buckle down to study. Also, you would want to have plenty of time to yourself to study as well as to relax.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focus and make sure you do what you have to do in order to pass all your classes.

    In three sentences

    This college is pretty much a great school. At this school not only it's much easier to make friends, but the teacher and student ratio is much more better compared to most colleges. This means that the teachers are able to get to know their students and build a relationship with them.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nothing!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you go to this school with good study habits because many teacher doesn't teach you everything that will be on tests.

    In three sentences

    The administration needs to spend more time picking better teachers. Many teachers can't teach students effectively.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security at our schools is terrific.

    Greek Life

    Labs and libraries are open at all times which is great for everyone.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs available for everybody! Sometimes its hard to keep up with all the clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Student lounges are great for game lovers. Most buildings have a TV and gaming console for those game lovers who have long breaks.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A tradition which I have noticed quite often is that the students and faculty are really friendly. There's always an exchange of smiles going around even if its towards strangers.

    Bang for the buck

    Take as many classes as you can, and do not be overwhelmed by the number of classes you might have because the professors are very willing and helpful plus, there are various free tutoring opportunities available

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs!! Your days will fly by!!

    Food and Dining

    Food is great at our school. Plus the school is currently working on improving our experiences in the cafeteria by renovating it into a modern, sleek cafe where the experience will be much greater.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors' are very strict with punctuality and hard work, however this is expected in college in addition, this discipline overall aids us in every means possible by further advancing us in our lives.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to succeed with your education and dreams and work hard at it while having fun at it!

    In three sentences

    City Tech is a big city family with very diverse students and very cooperative faculty. The school presently is improving its curriculum and education however, our school is very welcoming for all types of people from every walks of life. The school provides great facilities for the students, as well as accommodating with the latest technologies.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go outside and sit in the park.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't show up late for school

    In three sentences

    I believe this school has a nice environment. Also it's easy to travel to school because of the location. It also has a diverse amount of people in the school.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join as many school clubs as you can especially the ones that has to do something with your major.Looks great on your resume.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't take very old professors because you wont learn anything.

    In three sentences

    I think this school is a great school.The people in the various offices like the financial aide office,bursar and registrar office are very helpful and friendly.I usually take the same professors all the time because they are great.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is not big, but every time you come in they ask for an ID to make sure no one that is not from city tech enter without permission.

    Clubs and Activities

    It it's pretty reasonable. They have a club fair so you can explore and find what type of club you can fit into.

    Bang for the buck

    By the school there is this grocery store that is amazing. They actually sell big chips for one dollar! And the fruit is nice and fresh.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and get involved. It will help you get to know people but mainly focus on grades, you might even get a chance to join the honors program.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not that great. The cafeteria had to be shut down because it didn't pass the grading test.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at all!

    Academic Rigor

    Many professors are messy. You teach yourself. Books aren't necessary so don't worry too much about it.

    Tips for prospective students

    This shouldn't be the school where you want to be forever. Focus on your grades and transfer with a good gpa. So FOCUS in class!

    In three sentences

    The school is not great.The professors can be better but the activities are good enough to get involved.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe all the time on campus

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Citytech has a lot of connection with local area (MetroTech).

    What to do for fun

    Variety of club choice and active club performance

    Food and Dining

    New cafeteria will open soon.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm

    In three sentences

    We have various programs for each major. The programs are vivid industiral related program. We can get current trend in advance.

  • 08/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot

    Great for these types of students

    Every Student

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The express and local elevators

    Bang for the buck

    bang

    What to do for fun

    Gym,clubs etc

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria closed for last one year.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Good

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and concentrate.

    In three sentences

    It's a good school.Teachers are good.Over all good school

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We do have security gaurds at the school, we are also located next to the Supreme Court, so if anything were to happen in the school i think we would be well protected and safe

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few great clubs and activities at the college, my personal favorite is the Book Club

    Great for these types of students

    This is a good school for those who have a Fashion sense, a lot of the attending students dress very creatively to class.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The literary arts festival is one that you should attend, its jam packed with many great readings and great food, at last years festival i had the honor of meeting Junot Diaz.

    Bang for the buck

    Like i said, attending NYCCoT you would receive a great education for a reasonable price. do not let the physical appearance of the college fool you, it is over all a great school, it just has its flaws like everything else in the world.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of activities, such as a Basketball team, we have a lot of student groups that you can join, one thing i enjoy about my college the most is the Library, its peaceful and quite and clean.

    Food and Dining

    Once again, AVOID!!! the cafeteria. your better off eating your food off the ground!

    Dorm Life

    i believe NYCCoT does not have dorms, i maybe wrong.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the professors at the college are well over-qualified in my honest opinion, many of the professors which I've have the honor of meeting are very respectful of the student body and are very friendly, they send a good vibe to the students

    Tips for prospective students

    Avoid the cafeteria, as it was closed down due to 250+ health violations in the past year.

    In three sentences

    At NYCCoT, you will get a great education, for reasonable tuition. The teachers are all friendly and give off positive energy and a good vibe. In a scale from 1 to 10, i would rate my college a 7, it is because the school needs a lot of improvement.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I dont see many police around only when you enter

    Greek Life

    no greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    theres alot of proograms you just have to find what you would like to join

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the seating by the libary is nice because it has a side that is open so you are able to see the outside and when it rains the water falls down from the window. it look realy cool

    Bang for the buck

    The price is good but it dpends on your financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    Alot of people hang out with their friends but tray and join a club.

    Food and Dining

    They are fixing the cafeteria but there is a grocery store in the corner that is amazing.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    You dont always get the best proffesors. Every semester you ill get one good one and two bad ones it will dpend on you if you pass the class or not at times you will just have to work harder becasue you might not learn anythign form the proffesor.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you must come to city tech just make sure you keep your grades high. Sooner or later you will transfer or graduate so just keep you grades good and keep a very positive mind set.

    In three sentences

    Overall you dont get he college experience.The building its self makes you feel like 13th grade. It should bemore of a last resort college.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is really safe and friendly. I am not sure about during the night. I try not to go out in the streets at night just because I personally don't think it is ever safe to be on the streets at night anywhere.

    Clubs and Activities

    Math club Physics club Actuary club Christian Fellowship club The Spoons Across America club ((Nutrition and benefits of eating healthy) A Nursing club The art directors club and many more. The Physics and math club are great for those really into problem solving and for students who need help with understanding difficult topics such as series, integration, polar, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    The New York City College of Technology is great for students that are really into mathematics and physics. As well as Engineering Technicians, Architectural technology and Applied Mathematics majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a game center here on campus where people can bring there own television sets and play video games before or after class with friends. I think this is a bit odd because of all the people wanting to play video games and wondering why they are late for class most of the time.

    Bang for the buck

    There are parties that the student government organizes to get freshmen acquainted with each other. They also organize other events to get the students interacting. The parties at City Tech are fun. If you aren't really a party person then it would be great to join the student government and they will make you feel comfortable in the school.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of club and activities to do here. I personally love the math and physics club here because I am good with numbers and enjoy getting introduced to concepts I have never seen before. Just recently in math club, they had a little lesson on the history of calculators. The slide rule was introduced as a tool used by engineers, a little less than 400 years ago, to multipluy numbers that have decimals. We called it the ti-5. There is a gym on campus to lift weights and play sports such as basketball. This is a CUNY school as well so you have access to the other CUNY school gyms and activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food they offer here is decent. I personally don't mind eating in the school. It would probably be better to eat but if you are a little short on cash, the school food will definitely pass the hunger.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorming at this college; commuting only.

    Academic Rigor

    The school has some pretty tough courses, such as Physics 1.3 (Calculus-based physics). There might be other courses that are difficult, but not too tough to make it impossible to get an A.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a school for engineering technicians, not for engineers. There is a distinct difference between the two fields of study. For every one hour of class, spend two hours studying at home.

    In three sentences

    The New York City college of technology is a great school for Engineering Technicians and computer majors. The school is challenging, but with great time management, being the top student in your class won't be difficult. City Tech has a lot to offer, so use what they have to your advantage.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's located in downtown Brooklyn, close to various subways, stores to shop at, restaurants and movie theaters.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is affordable.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is easy to get to and the classes are not that difficult.

    In three sentences

    This school is a small campus and the class sizes are small. There are various clubs and organizations that students can join in. Many of the students and staff there are very friendly.

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    this school is safe-ish because it is in a busy part of Brooklyn, the only time I don't feel safe is when I take the train home at night.

    Bang for the buck

    I am getting financial aid and do not pay anything, so I can't complain

    What to do for fun

    The theater technology students do a haunted house around Halloween that is pretty fun, and pretty impressive.

    Food and Dining

    people usually eat outside of the school

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    it depends what your major is, but this school isn't too demanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would consider this school a good starting off point but you might consider trying to go to a better school for your Masters degree. Or, just work really hard and take your studies seriously and find internships or jobs outside of school to gain experience in your profession.

    In three sentences

    This school is a good resource for people who want to get their degree for little to no tuition cost. However, since the school accepts anyone you may find that your GE classes are filled with people who don't take college very seriously and professors who may not expect very much from their students. There are of course good students, professors, and resources here but sometimes the apathy of other students can be distracting.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Brooklyn Bridge Walks

    What to do for fun

    Clubs, Events On & Off Campus

    Food and Dining

    Available Menu Choices

    Academic Rigor

    Fair

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to study.

    In three sentences

    Well rounded, challenging proff's. Academic advisors are helpful & available. Quite a variety of programs available.

  • 06/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is in the middle of the Brooklyn court system in downtown Brooklyn so the immediate area and building is kept safe,

    Greek Life

    I was not a part of the Greek Life during my time at this college so I cannot speak on it. I do know that the school does have a Greek presence.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for every major and interest. If there is a club that you want that the school does not offer, you could always start one.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to live at home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I have seen.

    Bang for the buck

    CUNY schools are loads cheaper than private institutions, especially for New York residents.

    What to do for fun

    It is NYC, there is always something to do in the city. The college has events from time to time but nothing too major.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria doesn't have that many options but there are so many food places in the area that that is never a bother.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, it is a commuter college.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on your major, professor, and the class you are in. Some teachers put in the work to challenge you, some do not.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in extracurricular activities. It is a great way to meet students, staff, and get access to a lot of connections and opportunities.

    In three sentences

    A good commuter school to just learn a trade and move forward. Not too much school unity and staff can be unorganized. If you put the work in and do what you came for, you will be fine, especially with the professors that really take interest.

  • 06/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As far as I'm concerned, nothing bad has happened.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    The school has so many, I don't even know all of them. I haven't joined any because its ok to bounce around.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for anyone especially designers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a building named after Jason Vorhees from the Friday the 13th movies.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm not sure how other CUNY schools charge, but I've heard from a lot of people that transfer in that its cheaper than the schools they come from.

    What to do for fun

    Play in the park across the street

    Food and Dining

    The school is in downtown Brooklyn so you have many options to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Tough school, but you learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to the advisers to make sure everything is fine. The layout of the school is a bit confusing so understand where all the buildings are and make sure you know how to get to class fast.

    In three sentences

    Reminds me of my high school days, just tougher. The professors are great and are always willing to sit down and talk with you if you are having troubles. Every thursdays every semester is club hours and it's always fun.

  • 08/24/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well judging by it's location there should be plenty to do in the area!

    Food and Dining

    I've never eaten here.

    Dorm Life

    No clue.

    Academic Rigor

    Seems to be a good enough place to get a well-rounded education, I wouldn't know of course haven't studied there yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the website, see all that you need to see and then go visit them for more info!

    In three sentences

    This school looks really cool! I hope when I visit it lives up to it's reputation!

  • 08/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Yeah pretty safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Yeah they have pretty much all type of clubs

    Great for these types of students

    People who loves and have passionate about technologies

    Bang for the buck

    Nothing much to complain.

    What to do for fun

    They have lot of clubs and have a park to play.

    In three sentences

    Pretty good college. Have several majors. Pretty big as well. Nice surrounding. People are nice. Overall good but sometimes the elevators doesn't work hopefully they will fix thfis issue.

  • 09/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cant say much as far as security is concerned.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many options.

    Great for these types of students

    Independent type of students will do just fine.

    Bang for the buck

    2.5 I guess you get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities both sports and social.

    Food and Dining

    Food sucks and its expensive. The options are not that great either.

    Dorm Life

    There is a dorm but if you ask anybody few people know about it. Dont even ask the staff.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school has some problems information wise. Any question you, as a student, might have for the staff such as financial aid, classes, couseling services, etc., it would better to ask a student. Some of the staff are rude and others simply dont know anything. In short, do some research on school and keep your grades up.

    In three sentences

    The school is ok, if you can keep track of all the things you need to do it will be ok. The classes are not hard but if you miss something you wont be able to make it up. My real problem with the school is the lack of guidence, we might not be minors but that does not mean that we know everything.

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I like to play sports, such as basketball and football.

    Food and Dining

    Great food and great service.

    Dorm Life

    I can't answer because I don't dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a technology school so if you are interested in technology you should be fine.

    In three sentences

    Honestly this school doesn't seem to help their incoming students. I personally had a bad experience with this school so far. I'm just trying to start my college career here and transfer as soon as possible.

  • 10/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    feeel safe in there

    Clubs and Activities

    club hours are amazing

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Club hours are the best to see different traditions

    Bang for the buck

    not expensive but can be lower than it it

    What to do for fun

    Dj, dance, sports

    Food and Dining

    New food cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    No Dorm available in the school

    Academic Rigor

    They are good

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont be afraid or shy to ask questions

    In three sentences

    it is great

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everyone here is friendly there are no fights that go on, you can easily ask someone for directions, everyone is helpful.

    Greek Life

    There are no Greek life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    In New York City College of Technology we have a lot of clubs from fencing to paintball, there are math and science clubs also animie clubs, if anyone has an idea for a club he or she can be the leader.

    Great for these types of students

    New York City College of Technology is great for students that want to pursue a profession in Technology.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The corner of the cafeteria is where all the gamers go, whether its computer gaming or card games they have it all.

    Bang for the buck

    New York City College of Technology also offers a recreation center where students go to play ping-pong and pool.

    What to do for fun

    Joining the clubs New York City College of Technology has to offer, and spending time with friends out at lunch time is what I do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    There are many restaurants around New York City College of Technology, including Burger King, McDonald, Wendy's, Shake Shack, and many more.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are very happy to help students with their problems. The grading policy's are not too harsh, do all your work and pass all your tests and you should be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    New York City College of Technology don't have dorms, so don't be expecting to move away from your parents. The professors are friendly so talk to them if you need help. Consider this college for a cheaper way to educate yourself.

    In three sentences

    CUNY New York City College of Technology is an affordable college to go to if paying for college is an issue. It it located in a friendly neighborhood where everyone interacts with each other. The professors are also willing to help the students and spend time off class time to help kids with questions about the academic curriculum.

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    so many to choose from

    What to do for fun

    There are places to hangout withing the school and there are wonderful places outside the school for hangout with fellow students or even with professionals from the offices around the school. Thursday afternoon is club activity time.

    In three sentences

    Really nice school. Up to date library resources, great food in the cafeteria, small class size which fosters student participation, great computer labs, wonderful location in downtown Brooklyn. The professors are very helpful too

  • 12/12/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    31 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    cant stress the clubs are great for networking.

    Food and Dining

    average college dining

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available

    Tips for prospective students

    Like any school you have to study in order to so well. Get involved in extracurricular activities they are great for networking not to mention great experience and something to add to your resume.

    In three sentences

    This is a great college where I learned tremendously. Teachers seem to genuinely care for you and your well-being and help you succeed. Very technical school less focus on theoretical aspects of education.

  • 12/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are cops everywhere

    Greek Life

    No Greek life here!

    Clubs and Activities

    Track Basketball Ping pong Soccer

    Great for these types of students

    Students that just want to relive high school life

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unusua locations would be the staircases that nobody seem to recognize

    What to do for fun

    There's ping pong teams that seems to interest people a lot

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria has GREAT food!!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The best academic there is,is hospitality

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you don't wait for staffs to tell you how to work towards your own future

    In three sentences

    This school is fairly good. Professors are really nice. The school just needs better service

  • 04/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The school has a very shady past when it comes to food. The cafeteria has been closed down multiple times by the health department over a serious amount of violations. currently it is open for business and the food is ok. Tip- Stay away from the salads.

    Dorm Life

    Non existant.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes require moderate amount of work depending on your major.

    In three sentences

    City tech is a complicated school, and unfortunately very disorganized. The school is a melting pot of student all with different cultures and backgrounds. If you decide to come here, be ready to take charge of your own education.

  • 05/14/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    34 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Located in a safe area in downtown Brooklyn. Only category to receive 5 stars, well done Shitty-Tech, er... City-Tech.

    Greek Life

    HA!

    Clubs and Activities

    No shortage of clubs to waste time at instead of going to classes.

    Great for these types of students

    Kids who want to say that they are in college, but who will never actually go. This school is so terrible that they basically force-pass a certain amount of you, so your odds of coming out with some type of degree without ever having actually done anything are pretty good.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The tradition of having the most annoying students, incompetent teachers, and angriest staff of any college I have ever been to.

    Bang for the buck

    Go to a Community College, or ANY other CUNY school. Trust me on this one. I read the bad reviews too but decided to ignore them. After all, how bad could it be, right? It is BAD! Seriously, don't ruin your life with this place. Employers laugh at this place. You're better off ANYWHERE except here.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing. No gym, no social areas (a few benches in a hall, do not count). Let me take that back, the social area seems to be the quiet, for individual study only section of the library. If you enjoy a library that reaches temperatures of 90 degrees Fahrenheit while you're trying to study (A/C is apparently out of their budget) and enjoy studying in a club setting with other students screaming and blasting music around you, then yes, this is the place for you.

    Food and Dining

    Absolutely terrible cafeteria with overpriced and usually burned food. Luckily there is food available elsewhere in downtown Brooklyn.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms. Because again, this is not a real school. This isn't even on par with the Community Colleges in the CUNY system.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is a joke. Everyone knows it, including the teachers, current students and real world hiring managers (who won't hire you). Don't want to ever go to class? Enjoy talking loudly about the amazing sex you had last night while your teacher is soullessly going through the motions of teaching another class? Enjoy being an overall terrible student who can enjoy an absurd grading curve in the schools attempt to pass at least some of the brain dead students that attend this school - and STILL FAIL. Then by all means, this is definitely the school for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do NOT go here. I am not some disgruntled student. I went here for 2 semesters and enjoyed a perfect 4.0 GPA. I am just telling you how it is. Don't be like me, I read the reviews, ignored the warnings, and suffered through 2 long semesters before finally transferring out.

    In three sentences

    This is the WORST college in New York City. I'm not kidding. Go to a Community College, I PROMISE you, you will get a better education and enjoy it much more.