Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

CUNY York College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/17/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Keep all papers and notifications you receive from York College.

    Bang for the buck

    York's bookstore is where you will find the cheapest price for junk food. Every week there is something different and tasty to fit your junk-food liking. If you name it, there's is a 90% chance that they'll have it. Compared to York's cafe, the food is pricey but delicious. They have sandwiches, asian cuisine, breakfast rolls, pizza, hot chocolate, chicken wings, salads, and other delicious goodies. York's Starbucks prices are 50 cents cheaper than the average Starbucks you find in the city. It's still Starbucks and still delicious.

    Am enjoying being here

    York College is a beautiful open spaced campus and there are a lot of facilities and places where you can study or to take a break. Their facilities includes a recreation center, Starbucks, computer rooms, libraries with study group rooms, textbooks, and plenty of computers to use. You can use York's resources to the best of its ability.

    Am learning a lot

    At York, you will find that the professors are well educated and informative. They wish you will and want you to past. They are very serious and want you to do well. The teachings of each professor is different but you will learn a lot.

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    many security guards to aid in your safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    over thirty clubs and activities. like the international students club, music club, soccer club and dance club among others.

    Great for these types of students

    international students, social work, performing arts and occupational therapy majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    blanket day, where for fifteen minutes students are allowed to take out there blankets and take a short nap.

    What to do for fun

    hit the gym, walk on the avenue and do some shopping, join the performing arts group, play a sports and swim in our massive pool.

    Food and Dining

    excellent food and cuisine to satisfy everyone. in addition york college is in close proximity to the city therefore there a many food courts to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    unfortunately york college don't have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    its ok

    Tips for prospective students

    york college is the place for you where you can study and achieve your dreams and aspiration with the help of some great professors that really care that you do succeed in your classes. there are tutoring, counseling and mentoring among others to enhance the physical, psychological and mental growth and well being of each student.

    In three sentences

    this is a noble institution that provide students with excellent educational, social and moral opportunities to help them to become better citizens in our society. york is a home away from home for many international students and they are known for their friendly atmosphere and great teaching.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    CUNY schools are cheap, but the quality of the education is worth way more so you would be saving money and getting a good education at the same time.

    What to do for fun

    The computer lab, dance and drama clubs, the art center, the African American studies center and the many school sports are all things that can be done for fun. At Least one field will engage every student.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is pretty good, and affordable. At times the cafeteria does run low on certain products; like parfaits and salads, but it is not so often.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorming here, everyone is a commuter, unless instilled in the CUNY housing program stationed in different locations around New York City.

    Academic Rigor

    The students are determined here, with the special occupational programs such as nursing, OCT and Physicians Assistant, there is a lot of competition here. Professors teach you exactly what you need and more, and they also make themselves available when you are in need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always get your General Requirement courses out of the way because they mold you into the flow of the school slowly and communicate to your professors and peers because they are all willing to listen and understand.

    In three sentences

    CUNY York College is a very supportive, understanding and diverse school. The staff is very flexible to the different lifestyles of the current students, and very hard working in helping students pursue their dreams. You get the full college experience here without the stress.

  • 07/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    york is very good for nursing students, people who love planes and want to pursue a career in that feild, biology, pre-med and all of the sciences, education majors, and accounting.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to go to a small college with less students in each classroom, you are more than likely to learn more in the course and your College experience would be so much better. My message to prospective students who want to attend or are thinking about attending York College, you must be on your A game at all times. In college, whether its York or another college there is no time for slacking and you need to learn to study your notes everyday and not just before the exams. Be very attentive at all times in class because you are not there to have fun. The classes are not easy and unlike high school its not free to attend class, buy your books, pay for the tuition, etc. Remember you are not looking to get a 2.0 GPA we go to college to fulfill our dreams of becoming someone that can make a difference in our communities. We begin with a 4.0 GPA and no matter how hard the courses are do try and keep it close to a 4.0 without panicking yourself. Stay calm and don't be too stressed. Taking to many credits a semester may seem like nothing before you take the course but when you take the actual course be aware it will be hard to be on your A game. try to take at least 15 credits a semester and see how it goes. College is a pathway to the real world while your there please make it memorable and remember that your no longer a kid anymore so you need to get your priorities in check before going to college.

    Bang for the buck

    the College is definitely more bang for your buck because the tuition is less expensive and the bookstore gives you cheaper prices for the textbooks in every course.

    Am enjoying being here

    the people at York college are very friendly and if you have any questions, they are willing to help you.

    Am learning a lot

    the professors i had so far at York college are very nice and they work hard to ensure that each of their students understand the topics they are discussing in class. They will help you if you have any questions after class in their office and are willing to help you to the best of your abilities to help improve your grade in that course by going over topics discussed in class. They are always willing to help you with reports for class and give you the chance to go to their office and study for the final exams by appointment.

  • 11/02/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Being a cuny college the tuition for a year is more or less around $5000. With federal pell grant and the nys tap it usually covers your costs depending how much is awarded. Sometimes you might get some money back.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are a lot of activities and events that are scheduled that really keep you involved in the community

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are really helpful and do anything within their means to help you pass the class

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students whom are willing to succeed in their studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    For future students I think the best tip would be to study every day. I believe they should rent books from the book store. They should always stay on top of their readings and attend group studies. Also use the library for any papers or projects.

    Bang for the buck

    Always stay on top of financial statuses.

    Am enjoying being here

    I feel there should be more extracurricular activities. I think that if there are more extracurricular activities it would benefit incoming and current students.

    Am learning a lot

    I have gained experience and learned alot from this school.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Feels safe, visible campus security on site.

    Greek Life

    No greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    The school has over 30 clubs and organizations and they encourage students to start their own organization if they feel that there is an interest.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for theater and nursing students. Has great diversity.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing really unusual about the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition has gone up twice since I've been here, and I've only been here a year and a half.

    What to do for fun

    There are several things to do for fun, such as a game room, several student clubs, theater events, also events happening all the time in the Atrium. There's also a gym and olympic sized pool at your disposal.

    Food and Dining

    The food is expensive, there is not much variety.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    For the most part the professor's try to challenge you and prepare you for your anticipated profession.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan your financial aid early, ask specific questions, sometimes you may have to get a second opinion. If the answer does not sound right don't be afraid to ask another advisor.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's a lot of security around, however it's very easy to get inside the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a lot of activities and things to do. There's one every Thursday in the school's atrium.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    sleeping in the couches.

    Food and Dining

    The food is always the same. The best thing you could get are salads and sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is very hard and there is much demand for you to be the best. However, like I previously said; the professors aren't the best and this usually shows in your grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try going somewhere else. Check ratemyprofessor.com to see if the professor you're taking is any good. Lastly, take advantage of the tutoring rooms as well as the special programs such as; seek, SSS and others.

    In three sentences

    When I graduated High School I did not wait any time to start college. York surprised me as it is a small school with so much potential. However, students there sometimes don't respect their surroundings and tend to be disruptive which creates a not-so-ideal environment to study in.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The experiences at York are worth every penny of tuition (which is not expensive by the way), but the people you meet along the way and lessons you learn are priceless.

    What to do for fun

    In the Atrium on the main floor during club hours there are always festivals that celebrate various cultures of the world, and shows/skits from clubs like the Step Team, African Students Association, e.t.c. Great performances in the performing arts center that range from Flamenco dance to Shakespeare's Macbeth there is never a dull moment in that building. There is a game room that helps a lot to de-stress, and an art gallery with exhibits form talented students for the right-brained people (like me).

    Food and Dining

    The food at breakfast is awesome (the croissants melt in your mouth). The lunch is good also; it has the feel of a bistro in Manhattan *tasty*. One downside is that it gets kind of crowded in the student cafeteria, so if you want to have a serene conversation, it's not really the place to go.

    Academic Rigor

    The workload can be a little tedious, but depending on how quickly you adjust to a different system of learning (that is totally different from high school) it can be enriching, and you have knowledge about various subjects to keep with you for life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Along your college journey at York you have your independence, but you are not alone; there is ALWAYS someone there to answer your questions and give you advice when you need it.

    In three sentences

    A large diverse population of students and professors from all walks of life and areas of the world. They are clubs and organizations that help people build life-long friendships. The faculty are actually more helpful than I expected, and keep their cool with stressed college students.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    diverse students, students in the Jamaica area, students who don't want to attend community college and been rejected from other CUNY schools

    What to do for fun

    Like I said, I haven't attended this school.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't really eaten here, but it does look okay.

    Dorm Life

    York College is a CUNY school, so there are absolutely NO dorms. Although, if you're looking for dorm life in a CUNY school, Queens College has dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend this college, if you want to attend a diverse college with many opportunities.

    In three sentences

    I have no room to rate the college much because I'm attending it in the fall, but it's a very nice campus. The open houses have been reliable and helpful. The offices are usually open for help but the people are sometimes a little iffy.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get on the train yet again and go to the city. For me that is better than hanging around the area. This is not to say that there isn't fun things for the younger crowd. Unfortunately loud noisy, crowded locales are no longer for me.

    Food and Dining

    The campus is small so there really isn't any real food and dining to speak of, unless you go off campus. Then there is just fast food options, but if there is anything better you'd have to get back on the train for that.

    Academic Rigor

    Perhaps I would just say that if you want it you will get it. It is like going to the supermarket and deciding to get Hellman's Mayonnaise instead of the no-frills brand because you want better. If your idea of getting the best grade is going out instead of studying for your exam then you will get what you wanted, failure.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research, is this what you really want? As I have learned from having had the opportunity to go to college without responsibilities in the past, if I could go back I would have to say go hard. Now my advice to those newly going to college with no responsibilities, press on and don't get side-tracked by the fun of today look to a better tomorrow.

    In three sentences

    The campus is easily navigated, and is easily accessible by train. For me, I work close by so it is great. The campus is great for what it is...a chance to be so much more if you want to be.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards everywhere, in every building.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who love to learn and have fun at the very same time. Why? There is always something going on campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are always some type performance, presentation, shows, plays or discussions in the school. Also, there are countless number of clubs in the school. Fortunately for all students you can get permission to start your own club.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria in the school and also many stores, restaurants and markets located all around the school's location. So if you do not have time to grab something from home, eating wont be a problem. They're will be no starving.

    Dorm Life

    The school does not have dorms yet they are many apartments not to far from the school mainly for students.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at CUNY York College is outstanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is no room for procrastination. You'll be competing with determined and persistence students who wants their degree and to be acknowledge just as much as you. In other words, slacking is not option.

    In three sentences

    CUNY York College is great school to apply to if you want the feeling that you're getting your tuition's worth. The professor's are accurate in their teachings and are understandable. Overall it is great to wake up in the morning knowing you are attending classes at York College.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    relatively safe. as safe as a school in the middle of a busy area with no housing can be.

    Greek Life

    there is a couple, however it's not exactly a 'typical sorority' they are quite the nobodies and no one even really knows the name of it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Just about every club in existence, and if not you can start your own.

    Great for these types of students

    great for working students, the hours are very flexible, easy to travel to.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a good price for education in the city. if you are a focused, dedicated person it won't be hard for you.

    What to do for fun

    a couple of sports teams to join. Drama productions all the time, student government, always a cultural show going on. Many different clubs, not hard to start your own. sororities and Fraternities.

    Food and Dining

    The cold cuts and pizza's are good. they also make good breakfast. the actual meals however (Rice, chicken, pasta,) is no good. however the school is located one block away from Jamaica Center where they have options to eat.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life here.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are really not hard. Most professors love their jobs and will help you if you need it. sit up front and ask questions. Classes are crowded and the teachers don't really know each student's name. Make them know yours.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit before you commit, ask about everything, talk to the students there.

    In three sentences

    The classes are decent, although somewhat over crowded. There is no peace in the library and the ceiling fell out. Too loud and noisy, but very culturally diverse.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security everywhere and they will even walk you to the train station if you are attending night classes.

    What to do for fun

    So many activities! There is theatre and dance club called the :latin Caucus club. Theres sports like soccer, basketball,swimming,tennis, and even softball.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is improving.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorming at york.

    Academic Rigor

    In this school there are many policies and instruction as to what classes are required and what is needed each semester to continue.

    In three sentences

    York is an amazing school that focuses on academic excellence. It provides all the help and information needed whenever someone is looking for a specific major or even just looking to change a class. Overall they are goal oriented and focused on helping every individual graduate.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    15 of 42

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    its a good school i am doing research in this school

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food is great.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Track and field and writing

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is beautiful.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms...

    Academic Rigor

    Its going to be challegening to what i see but am willing to make the best of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and focus on what you want. Apply early and you will have a better chance of finishing everything early.

    In three sentences

    Its a school with high standards, a school that is dedicated to their students and a school with great programs

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never seen a fight or anything on campus, so i guess campus safety is doing their job.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who plan to boost their GPA and transfer out.

    Bang for the buck

    Simply not worth it. The tuition is too expensive for a school of this caliber.

    What to do for fun

    You can play piano in the basement, go for a swim in their pool, have a nice workout at their gym and hang out in the library.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ridiculously expensive at this school, and there is no variety.

    Dorm Life

    I have never dormed in this school, and don't plan to either.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically speaking this school is ok, it's just that the majority of students don't really care. Most of the people in this aren't friendly, and the teachers stray off topic, so its hard to actually pay attention.

    Tips for prospective students

    You shouldn't plan on majoring in anything in this school. Use this school as a stepping found to boost your GPA and transfer out.

    In three sentences

    CUNY York college is a good school, but it doesn't really have a vast number of majors and courses you can take. The staff really aren't friendly most of the time and the school can be re-decorated.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is around as long as the school is open. There isn't a time when you won't feel safe on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are hundreds of clubs at York which are both faculty and student run. Whatever our interest is you'll be sure to find a club to fit your interest, and on the off chance York doesn't have a specific club for you; you can create your own club at the school as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated, hard working, exciting, creative, independent students who know what it is they want from their college experience and are not afraid to grab it.

    What to do for fun

    There is a full gym at York, which includes a weight room, a full pool for student use, and a large track. If you don't want to spend your time in the gym alone there is also a very active theater program at York which any student can join and be a part of.

    Food and Dining

    There is a variety of food offered on a daily basis in the school cafeteria, as well as food vendors off campus in the local area so you won't ever have an issue finding food.

    Dorm Life

    Sadly there is no dorm activity on campus as York doesn't have dorms but there are still great activities located on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are priority number one at York but the professor's and students alike are there to aid you in whatever help you may need with class.

    Tips for prospective students

    For students who want to attend, be sure you are prepared to work and have professors push you to work at the best of your ability. Also when you arrive at York, don't be afraid to explore the many clubs and activities offered.

    In three sentences

    York college in three sentences. CUNY York College is a wonderful institution where creativity and independence are not only taught but encouraged. CUNY York College is the ideal place of learning.

  • 09/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Check out the library, books and computers lab

    Food and Dining

    There's variety and reasonable prices

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm there.

    Academic Rigor

    Good

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the school resources, take advantage of the programs.

    In three sentences

    Great faculty and students services. Almost all the professors I had are really helpful. The seek program helps students reach their full potential.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    During school club hours, the play room helps you relax your mind off a class.

    Food and Dining

    Food has changed and become very healthy. Snack machines also have healthy snacks.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Great resources to help academic area.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you connect with any clubs and resources you can. This can help have a simply and easy college experience.

    In three sentences

    York College is a multicultural college. It has small classes and professors give more attentions to students. This gives students opportunities to grow and have a successful career.

  • 11/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has security at every entrance and I have yet to see any form of altercation. The area is well lit, some better than others, and near trains and buses so there aren't too many incidents.

    Greek Life

    I have no idea what is meant by Greek Life....

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't joined any club, as my schedule doesn't allow for it; however, the extracurricular activities seem lively and boundless.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who needs some extra help with any college courses, anyone who wants to go into the medical field, I can't speak for any other field as all of the classes I have taken here were medical based, will benefit from the nurturing and expansionary dictum provided by professors. Many of the professors here have or have had careers in the fields that they teach. They give great and practical advice to anyone who takes the time to listen.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On the second floor near the main entrance there is an interesting piece of art in the shape of a plane. My daughter thought it was neat, and I'd have to agree.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is definitely worth the tuition! They definitely prepare for grad school if you take the time to learn. The only caution I would provide is that some schools are not as nurturing. Take the experience for what and all that it is, but do not go to another school and expect them to approach you or academics in the same manner.

    What to do for fun

    I dance and read for fun, when time permits.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the school isn't bad, but there are plenty of opportunities in the area nearby for many different palates.

    Dorm Life

    I have never stayed on dorms, so I can not speak on them.

    Academic Rigor

    If you put the work in, you will definitely be rewarded. This school isn't as elitist as some other schools and there are many resources available to ensure success.

    Tips for prospective students

    As with any academic institution, go to ratemyprofessor.com to make sure that you find the best fit possible. Otherwise, put the work in and the rest will fall into place.

    In three sentences

    This college is great! The staff is extremely helpful and will go to extremes to help students succeed.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    nothing

    In three sentences

    This college is very good, some of the professor actually work with you and help you to do better. There is certain down fall in the financial aid office because they never get back to you when they promise. The workers in the Financial aid office are rude.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    soccer and african club

    Food and Dining

    execellent

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    It is a tough school but everyone is helpful

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open minded to try new things in school.

    In three sentences

    I love the school based on its diversity.

  • 02/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You are always safe on this campus. There are security guards almost everywhere. In addition, the area the school is in is always being monitored and patrolled by NYPD officers!

    Greek Life

    Unsure whether there are any fraternities or sororities at this university. There isn't much buzz about them, if there are any that is.

    Clubs and Activities

    York College has so many different clubs! And if it doesn't have that club that you're looking for, you and 15 other students can start one (under the right supervision of course). As far as activities are concerned, there is always one taking place somewhere.

    Great for these types of students

    For those not trying to spend a lot on text books, there is a book bank that almost nobody knows about. They let you borrow books for the whole semester for prices as low as 30 bucks! Be sure to bring the books back on time though.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many might be astonished at the fact that there is a cemetery behind the school. Also, many of the students attending York are unaware of the , high school that is behind the school as well. Lastly, if they knew, many of the professors would frown at the fact that there is a game room.

    Bang for the buck

    Well, York College doesn't give you your money's worth. The internet connection is always slow. Most of the computers are old and are still running on windows XP. In addition, when trying to borrow a textbook from the library, you'll be lucky if you find the pages that you need.

    What to do for fun

    Every Tuesday and Thursday are club hours from 12pm to 2pm. There are many activities going on and different clubs to join. Also, for those interested in games, there is a game room that has all of the game consoles.

    Food and Dining

    The food here at York College is good but expensive. For those who want to save as much money as possible, I would suggest bringing food from home. If not, there are various options for cheaper food around the school.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, York College does not have any dorms. It is located on Jamaica Avenue, a very busy place. However, this facility is always open for shelter during natural disasters, for ex: hurricane sandy.

    Academic Rigor

    There may be times where you need to contact an adviser of some sort and they're not available. There may be other times where a professor can be of no help and are forced to teach yourself a particular subject. Moreover, you can't let yourself get discouraged, just keep pushing on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be mindful of the various resources offered at this university. Familiarize yourself with the different departments in the school. In addition, I would advise someone to acquaint themselves with someone that has experience in the field that they plan on entering.

    In three sentences

    York College isn't as bad as what most people make it seem. It is really up to the person to make the best out of his experience here. Overall, this school is a good school.

  • 04/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Students are required to show ID when entering any building on campus. As well as showing ID when going to the library.

    Greek Life

    I've heard of a few sororities on campus, but I really don't know too much about it.

    Clubs and Activities

    York College has an exceptional variety of clubs and activities for students who like to socialize and spend some extra time on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    I recommend it to any student who is curious about the York College experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Try to get the cubicles on the fourth floor of the Academic Core building! It's a great place to study, have a meeting, enjoy a lunch, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    If Bang for the buck is referring to tuition, York College is moderate when compared to other CUNY colleges. It is very affordable compared to private or state universities.

    What to do for fun

    The area around York College has a lot of entertaining and fun things to do. I can't really think of anything fun on campus though.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't all that great, but what college food is?

    Dorm Life

    I have heard about dormitories being constructed on campus, but I am not too sure.

    Academic Rigor

    For the most part, the students [from my courses] have been very motivated to do well academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not always trust www.ratemyprofessor.com when applying for courses.

    In three sentences

    CUNY York College has promising professors who are very determined to teach and assist students. The students in attendance are very motivated in their field of study, inside and outside of the classroom. York College provides an atmosphere for learning and building networks for future careers.

  • 04/06/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    27 of 42

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Do you have to reapply to the Physician Assistant program after you've completed prerequisites?

  • 05/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a public stafety office in school that adheres to stafety policy quite well.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life in this college.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are about more than 100 clubs in this school like Yoga club, Latin caucus and the chemistry club. Students have the opportunity to run for school president and government. Students can play sports like tennis, basketball and softball. There are talent shows all year round. One could also join a swimming team and use the weight room and pool for free.

    Great for these types of students

    More than 100 cultures of students attend York College. I see mostly people from the carribean, Africa and southeast Asia attending York College.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At Orientation my freshman year I found out that the school mascot is the cardinal. I was taught to clap and yell out Cardinal to keep school pride going.

    Bang for the buck

    There is financial aid for those who meet eligibility requirements. Aot of students need to work so they culd buy the things they need for school.

    What to do for fun

    People can hang out around campus without any problems. One can be part of a swimming team and even play around in the game room in order to take the stress out from studying.

    Food and Dining

    The school cafeteria has a wide range of food that students can pick out. There is a sandwich section and a fruit section in which students can pick healthier choices. The calories and the carbs are shown. There is also food that is not so good for someone's health like fries and pizza. Students make their own choices while picking. I recommend not buying food in school since it is a bit more expensive.

    Dorm Life

    This is a commuter college. There are no dorms in this college.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many different majors and mijors that a student can choose. Many other students motivate you to do your best in academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for opportunites and make connections with you proffesors so you can have more options to getting into graduate school and applying form jobs. Study what you like and as for help when you need it.

    In three sentences

    York College is a school of pure diversity and opportunity. There are many activities that one could get involved in. The school has a friendly and clean environment.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 42

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I lvoe this school. They are very organized. Classes are easy to register for and professors are great.

  • 07/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Plank in the center of the library.

    Food and Dining

    I hear the food is okay. I've never gone into the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Difficulty depends on the student and the course work. I don't really know what else to say. :l

    Tips for prospective students

    How much you get out of a class really depends on your professor. There have been students who retake courses with an entirely different professor because their previous prof. did not lecture well or convey information in a way that made sense. All you have to do is a little research. Purchasing the course textbook is not always necessary. The library will usually have the textbook you're looking for, because let's face the fact that textbooks are expensive. You can literally get an A in a class without having spent $200 on a textbook, so look into that.

    In three sentences

    This college is ethnically diverse. It's great for students planning to expand their cultural horizons. And even if you hate a class, you'll get something out of it.

  • 08/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Lazy.

    Food and Dining

    Food is overpriced, there's junk food and vending machines everywhere.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't too hard, but they aren't easy either.

    Tips for prospective students

    They will not always have all the classes ready for your major!

    In three sentences

    If you want a true college experience, don't go here. It feels like you're going through High School all over again. It's also very disorganized.

  • 08/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    York college offer free programs and activities that student can attend. One of my favorite activity is the stress free workshop. As we all know the amount of stress a student can build while being in college is not an easy thing to deal with but with these classes student enjoy the experience.

    Food and Dining

    The school cafeteria is something that I will not recommend! Very few options and pretty expensive. Around the area there are some food chains, if your willing to walk.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    In order to achieve success you must study study and study. Some classes has workloads of work, (depending your classes) and some are easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    My recommendation to all students is for all to stay focused and achieve their highest potential because we all have it within us. There are moments in life that we find ourselves that we want to give up however we know better than that! Education is the key to success!!

    In three sentences

    In 2012 I transferred over to Cuny-York college. I'm majoring in Spanish with bilingual education, the Spanish department along with the education department have been very helpful. The professors are excellent and make my time worthwhile.

  • 08/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Leave the establishment and never look back.

    Food and Dining

    I have yet to eat the food nor will I.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms there.

    Academic Rigor

    Even though the education there is highly valued, it's not worth it to surround yourself with ungrateful miscreants.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should try going to out-of-state or universities. New York City is a disgusting place to reside in, both the environment and the people.

    In three sentences

    To describe the establishment of York College, it would be deplorable. The student are inconsiderate and the teachers are shady. This place is horrible.

  • 09/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 42

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Cuny Colleges are very good and they are affordable.

  • 09/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms this is a commuter school.

    In three sentences

    The classes teach you a lot of useful information depending on which professor you take and please read rating. The student body is very diverse with students in a wide age range. The library has an efficient system and classes are given at a reasonable price.

  • 09/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Perhaps you can join a club, or take up martial art classes they offer. You also hit the gym, but the gym isn't too impressive..

    Food and Dining

    Food doesn't taste too shabby but it may be a little expensive. Chicken, rice and beans combo cost about roughly 7 dollars. Also a Gatorade cost 2.25. Not a very good price.

    Dorm Life

    No dorming in York but there are CUNY dorms which are available within the city.

    Tips for prospective students

    Instead of York, apply for more challenging schools such as baruch or hunter. York does have a unique major, aviation management which all cunys dont have. Again, international teachers are a big problem you don't want to face, you may even fail your class because of this.

    In three sentences

    100% commuter school. Many teachers speak English fluently, but there are international teachers with mediocre English or terrible speech skills. Campus isn't too bad but there isn't any school spirit.

  • 10/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    nothing really

    Food and Dining

    okay

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    good

    Tips for prospective students

    join it

    In three sentences

    good college to start somewhere. very nice teachers. gym is too small.

  • 01/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is amazingly overcrowded. The food itself is quite exquisite, that is of course if you enjoy overpaying for terrible food.

    Academic Rigor

    Class dependent: All higher level science classes taught straight off of power point and text book. Take courses where students label their professors are unfair or hard as those are usually the interesting ones.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to a two year college is you are unsure as to what your field of intended study is to be. If you are 100% sure that you have chosen a field of study and can commit to finishing in four years, only then come to this college.

    In three sentences

    In three words; overpriced,overcrowded,unprofessional. The tuition cost is far to high for the education and materials provided. The college is partnered with a high school in the area, and allows high school children to use facilities. Libraries are loud, classrooms are destroyed, hallways are obnoxiously loud. School security is unable to protect the student body, as multiple robberies were reported on campus.

  • 02/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    An affordable CUNY.

    What to do for fun

    A vast amount of clubs, events, and opportunities to study abroad.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria serves good food and there are vending machines conveniently located on every level.

    Dorm Life

    NO DORMITORY AT ALL

    Academic Rigor

    Very good with a variety of courses and degrees.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is not an on campus school, as here is no dormitories. Traveling by mta is pretty easy as the college is located directly next to Jamaica Center train station.

    In three sentences

    This college offers a wide variety of bachelors degree programs in many fields. There are plenty of opportunities for educational suppers as tutoring, job placement, and tuition help. The campus is average in size and nicely located around a vast shopping and food center on Jamaica Ave.

  • 02/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food is really good breakfast , lunch is good and the cafeteria is always open until about 9pm.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this school.

    Academic Rigor

    This school really is not challenging, in my perspective it's more of an extension of high school work.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for the 'T.V' style college experience , this is not the school for that. however there are a lot of great opportunities that this school can offer, such as internships, scholarships etc.

    In three sentences

    This school is fairly medium sized school. the learning environment is fairly good , but it can be improved. the students in this school are nice .They make a lot of effort to try and get students involved into student activities , such as the dance team, cheer leading , step team, Asian clubs, hi jabs club. it's a diverse school, but as a freshmen it did not really meet up to my overall expectations.

  • 03/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has it's own police force and their office is located in the Academic Core building (main building) but I have yet to see any kind of issue. The students are really professional, if you happen to leave something of yours somewhere, 75% of the time, someone took it to the school safety office where the police will hold it until you come to claim it. No fights occurred as far as I know but I highly doubt that one has occurred in a really long time. I feel very safe when I get to school.

    What to do for fun

    There's a bunch of sports and teams, like swimming, cheeerleading, basketball etc. With work and my hectic schedule, I was unable to participate in any but was definitely looking into cheerleading at one point.

    Food and Dining

    I personally didn't eat breakfast/lunch in school because I felt I couldn't afford to pay for it on a daily basis. The food was way too overpriced and being that I was already paying my own tuition/books/transportation fees etc, I chose to eat at the nearby McDonald's or Dunkin Donuts.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not really familiar on the subject of dormitory in my school. I live about an hour away within the city so I didn't need to live in dorms if there were any to begin with.

    Academic Rigor

    For the most part, all the courses I've taken thus far, have been rather interesting and fun with the exception of English and French. (Personal dislike of the subject) the writing intensive classes like philosophy and cultural diversity really helped me become a better writer because of all the long papers that were required but all in all, the courses were challenging but not impossible to pass. The school has an amazing fine arts program, I took photography 381 & 382 (photo 1 and 2 the basics) and I fell in love with photography even more. The professors themselves are great photographers so you really learn from them.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're interested in this school, don't expect a fancy campus or much of a campus at all. In my opinion it's just a bunch of buildings separated by the local streets, that just happen to be apart of one school system. Also, make sure your math, writing and/or reading scores on the placement test are really good otherwise you risk taking remedial classes and wasting money for no credit; or you risk having to miss an entire semester and take workshop classes instead, and only if you pass the tests after the workshops will you be allowed to register for classes. The system isn't great in terms of organization and people available to help, but it definitely teaches you independence and the diligence to have to do things on your own.

    In three sentences

    Upon being accepted into this school, the following semester after high school graduation, I found it to be rather scary and confusing. But once I was able to get a general understanding of where the classrooms were, the courses I took were really interesting. The students and teachers were very professional and I was able to learn a lot. It wasn't anything really hard, like mostly people's impression of college is at first. It was similar yet different from high school because there was a different level of maturity. All in all I enjoyed most of my first year.

  • 07/23/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    42 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    lots of activities and clubs to choose.

    Food and Dining

    they have a lot of choices to eat

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    its pretty difficult and challenges you.

    Tips for prospective students

    take full advantage of it during high school to attend college classes for free

    In three sentences

    York is a pretty good school for what it has to offer. Their yeca program is superb since it offers early college credits during high school for free.