Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

California College of the Arts - CCA Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 out of 13 people found this review useful. 1 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    WORK WORK WORK. This school will bring you lots of success, and you will learn more than you could imagine. but you have to be willing to put in the time and the effort. If your not supposed to be here, you wont be, the work will take over you and swallow you whole if you are not cut out for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    you get out as much as you put in. work alot and just be psyched on it. You will learn as much as you want to.

    Bang for the buck

    Yeah, the school is very expensive, but you get what you pay for. you will learn so much, and be turned on to alot of amazing resources. I have already had gallery offerings, and internships with top notch artists because of my school

    Am enjoying being here

    Oakland is an amazing place. The amount of art and music you are exposed to (which is very important to me) is tremendous. I cant even count how many gallery openings i went to in the first month of school, and how many famous artists I met. The amount of things to do in the bay area is almost overwhelming. I would be impressed if you could manage to have a boring day or night. The people are really nice and welcoming. The campus is very friendly. all of the people are willing to help you out. I have heard alot of people say that the people at art school are hard to get along with. I had 6 really good friends before the sun set on my first day.

    Am learning a lot

    I am deeply passionate about art. I have been drawing since i was a baby, and my love for creating has only grown since then. My technical skills were sub par prior to attending CCA. In my first semester i learned how to draw, how to REALLY draw. it was amazing. my drawing teacher taught me how to get proportions right, use simultanious contrast of value, render accurate shadows, and how to draw faces. I learned how to use every kind of tool known to man for drawing. I even learned how to draw with ink. In my 2d class my teacher pushed me on how to incorporate these concepts that she could tell i had into my work, therefore really pushing my credibility as an artist. Thanks to art history I can name almost any piece of widely known art work created since the cave paintings at lascaux. I had never done any photography work, but in the first hour of my photography class I fully understood how a camera worked, knew how to load film, and was shooting. By the end of the semester I knew almost everything there was to know about black and white photography. I could print fiber prints larger than 16 by 20, I could shoot medium format, and I could tone with sepia. It was incredible. I cant wait for my color film class next semester. Last but not least was english. I have never been a fan of english class. I hated writing essays, and i wasnt a huge fan of reading. My teacher had me writing essays for FUN in a week. In my class we did analysis of music, and were writing 10 page essays by the end of the semester.

  • 12/27/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 2 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Artistic, open-minded, works better in smaller environments (academically), loves to be involved with community, loves diverse culture.

    Tips for prospective students

    the more background you have in art, the better it is to do well at CCA. it is best to prepare a portfolio before your senior year in high school so you have less to worry about when you apply to schools. portfolios should contain your best works. try to show all the different types of mediums you know how to use (paints, graphite, digital media, etc) and your different artistic skills (through drawing, video editing, animation, painting). remember to let yourself show through your artworks. as for gpa/grades/sat scores/ap scores, try to do well in school and testing. the more well-rounded you are, the more appealing you will be to the school. also, it increases your chances of getting more scholarships!

    Bang for the buck

    Most students get financial aid or scholarships if they're a US citizen or permanent resident, so tuition isn't too expensive, but international students have to pay the full tuition price.

    Am enjoying being here

    although there arent many student organizations, there are lots of things to do to make friends and get involved. its easiest to make friends in your classes. i like the environment because it is very urban and san francisco and berkeley are less than an hour away by public transportation. theres a lot of good food places around, but can be a bit pricey.

    Am learning a lot

    In all the courses, you will get something out of it even if its not related to your major. Some teachers are helpful, but some don't know what they're doing... (especially in core classes). coursework/projects aren't difficult, but time consuming. you have to manage your time well. you learn more by working hard on all projects and from critiques (feedback from fellow students and professors) which give suggestions/commentary on how to improve your project. It's not too challenging and not too easy.

  • 07/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for people who love art and are willing to take artistic risks, get dirty, and have fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be confident! Prepare your best portfolio and have faith it's strong enough. Once you are excepted don't be afraid to call the school if you have questions about billing, registering for classes, etc. When I was incoming my enrollment counselor was on my speed dial. They are happy to help.

    Bang for the buck

    This school costs a lot. But you learn a lot, and it's enjoyable. So it does level out somewhat. Just stay focus so you don't fail any classes 'cuz that's money you won't be seeing again.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have met many many amazing people in and out of class. Most of my friends are out of major and they tend to be the ones that help me the most with ideas. Because they aren't animation majors they tend to think about things in a different way that offend helpful. Also don't hide away in your dorm room! work is important but you need to be social as well.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a second year now, and i have learned soooo much. I came into the school not knowing any art terms or artist names and stuff like that. I was self taught until I came to CCA, and it was a good choice! I have learned so much history and technique, with both traditional and digital medium. Also I am an animation major and the program is great. It teaches animation techniques, story telling, story boarding, concept art, special effects, etc, etc.

  • 06/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Creative + Determined

    Bang for the buck

    CCA is expensive. But I'd like to say its worth it. Students are pushed to the limit so that they become the best in the field. Its not well known, but CCA is a great school. (Its on the Forbes list of Top 60 Global Design Schools)

    What to do for fun

    When you get free time, SF has lots of different neighborhoods with different vibes, and they're fun to explore.

    Food and Dining

    CCA has cafes on each campus which are meh. I prefer to go to the restaurants around campus, which are tasty, but in SF all close too early.

    Dorm Life

    I lived at the Cal. St. dorms and for a dorm, it could be way worse. Its very expensive, but SF is expensive. However the communal kitchen (1 kitchen for 5 floors,) is always FLITHY. Also, I highly recommend getting your own mini fridge, otherwise your food will get stolen.

    Academic Rigor

    It is less rigorous for some majors, but students figure out fast if they are committed and can keep up to course demands. Classes start at 8am and get out at 10:15 pm and are either 3 or 6 hours each. This plus homework time takes some getting used to, and you quickly start scheduling everything, including showers.

    Tips for prospective students

    College will not be a frat party at CCA. Lots of sleepless nights and weekends spent working at school. The tradeoff is that you form a family with your classmates, and that you will graduate having worked your booty off doing something you love. A lot of talented passionate students that when we get the chance, party pretty well.

    In three sentences

    I Transfered to CCA after my 2nd year of another great design school on the east coast, (I changed my major and decided to go to the school that was known for the program.) I've been at CCA a year and will be finishing my degree there for sure. 25 or less core class sizes, and most teachers work in the field that they teach.

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    good security that will walk you to your car late at night.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    there are some events around campus but im not particularly involved.

    Great for these types of students

    designers, architects, printmakers, industrial design.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the school is on a hill and there is a cool lookout point that overlooks the bay area.

    Bang for the buck

    i get a lot of financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    people go to the city or there is a really good music scene around here. lots of bars cus its near berkeley. a total college town

    Food and Dining

    there is a safeway nearby and lots of little restaurants around the oakland campus.

    Dorm Life

    i never lived in the dorms but i know people make good friends there.

    Academic Rigor

    i get straight as but i've always been that student that doesn't try hard and does well anyways. people say its difficult but i think most people are lazy.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't go if you are interested in making art and not knowing what youre doing. if you like art history and want to make art about art go there. good for design but the fine arts are somewhat lacking.

    In three sentences

    attached to art history. mostly conceptually charged teachers. design over fine arts.

  • 12/17/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 5 people found this review useful. 6 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think this university would be a good choice for who want to pursue a degree in the field of arts.

    Tips for prospective students

    I am a prospective student I don't have any tips.

    Bang for the buck

    Unknown at this time.

    Will enjoy being here

    I enjoy being in California. I think I will enjoy attending this university I look forward to learning animations and earning my Bachelor's in that field.

    Will learn a lot

    I'm hoping to learn about computer and character animations.

  • 09/09/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Im researching this college and WILL apply

    Will enjoy being here

    Close to family and friends

    Will learn a lot

    Looks like it provides a great learning experience

  • 12/09/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    From what I have found, it seems like this school is great at working with students financially.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus looks very welcoming. I hope i get to make it my home for college!

    Will learn a lot

    This school looks absolutely perfect for me! I want to go into film writing and I could learn a lot at this school.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is relatively safe despite a few occurrences a few years ago. BEWARE of parking your car on the street in both Oakland and San Francisco campuses. Car break-ins are very common.

    Great for these types of students

    Artists and designers, hipsters with interest in art/design

    Bang for the buck

    It's okay to be unsure about your future when you arrive to CCA. The academic advisors know their stuff and can guide you to the right program.

    What to do for fun

    Walk around Oakland or Bart over to either SF or Berkeley. Very diverse communities.

    Food and Dining

    Appeals to vegetarians.

    Dorm Life

    Small dorms, off campus apartments across the street in the Oakland campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Can be difficult depending on your professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research your professors/courses before registering for your class--make sure you know what you're getting into. Don't be shy, be open during discussions and critiques.

    In three sentences

    Fine Arts community is great, friendly and knowledgeable faculty and staff.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Bike friendly streets and growing population of cyclists, their are outdoor activities such as parks for hiking or exploring and of course San Francisco.

    Food and Dining

    Oakland has an enormous range of food choices from burgers and fries to exotic cuisine.

    Dorm Life

    Have never lived in the dorms at the California College of Arts campus but have heard and seen reviews from past students who have lived in the dorms that they have had an amazing experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Offer an individualized major which is considered a type of honors program that lets you build and structure your own curriculum. However before anything the school must approve it and they offer a class that will help you structure what it is that you would like to pursue.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips to offer to students looking to pursue their education at California College of the Arts would be to check out their website first and foremost for more information on the programs offered, financial aid. Also to visit both campuses in person or at least take the online tours and speak with one of their friendly advisors to answer any questions you may have that the website did not answer or you are unclear about. Apply, you will never know what possibilities can open up for you unless you help yourself to find out and try.

    In three sentences

    California College of the Arts has a unique and rigorous program created for the conscious modern day artist. Their curriculum and resources prepares students to combine art with the communities both around the institution and the world. Preparing alumni to face the battles of continuing to purse a career in art outside of the school.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is Security everywhere. It's not hard to run across a security guard. the campus it pretty small. There are not any problems with safety.

    Greek Life

    Greek life does not apply to CCA.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs that you can be apart of. You can also create a club of your own you just need to have a minimum of five people. To know what clubs are available you can look it up on the CCA site.

    Great for these types of students

    I would say the great thing about being a design or art student would be that you can make you work noticeable and collaborate with others that have talented imaginations as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I cant say.

    What to do for fun

    To be honest there is not much to do unless you want to travel into the city. There are clubs to go to in SF and in Oakland it best not to venture at night time unless you stay in the Berkeley area on Telegraph Ave near Berkeley University there you will find college students everywhere. That would be for the minglers. Emeryville on Bay Street is also a cool area just to go to the movies and chill.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Cafe called A2 on both campuses. I would say that both are good for a quick snack or lunch. but over all when it comes to meals theres is not much of a variety. On the Berkeley Campus you can walk down college Ave and be sure to find a Variety of places to eat within walking distance. On the SF Campus you have wolfs and Axis cafes. Wolfs has a better price range then Axis which can be expensive. you can walk a few blocks and reach whole foods.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms can be disgusting. I do not stay in the dorms but the few times i have visited I'm glad i didn't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    A very competitive school. can be harsh on project presentation when reviewing and giving a critique. Make sure you know what it is you are presenting and present it well. Know the in and outs of a project by detail. The teachers give great feedback.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure this is the school you'd like to go to. To transferrable credits are not very organized, therefore you can waste time attending CCA. Make sure you are 100% interested. this school is for someone who plans on graduating when attending.

    In three sentences

    California College of the Arts is a great school. Very Diverse. The teachers give you a lot of attention and support to help open your mind to wider design strategies. I love working with other student when collaborating. A great school for design.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's always someone on campus that you can call if you get caught in a situation or if you're worried about walking somewhere at night. They're also really nice if you're outside late and want someone to have a chat with.

    Greek Life

    No such thing here.

    Great for these types of students

    Artists...pretty much. If you feel like you fit into that category come here.

    Bang for the buck

    To be honest, I hate paying so much to go to school. I feel like education should be a free opportunity for everyone, but since that's not the way things work, CCA is as good a school as any other, and better for artists. The campus offers a great place for art, and is like no other college campus you've ever seen. The people are nice and the teachers are working artists as well. If you love art it's a great community of people to be around to further your career.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot to do in the Bay Area. Around the Oakland campus there's College Ave. which is full of shops and dining, and only a few minutes away from the Bart station to take you to anywhere else you want to go in the Bay. Berkeley is right around the corner, which has even more shops, food, and bars if you're of age. They're are also a lot of activities that go on on the Oakland campus throughout the years. Art openings, free food days and lots of other art themed activities.

    Food and Dining

    CCA does not have the normal dining plan that other schools have. In fact, there's no meal plan at all. There's a small fridge and microwave in every room, and a full kitchen set up in the common rooms. There's is also a cafe on each campus that offers a variety of foods, however it gets a little pricey if you eat there too often (but the food is great). The best option is really just to get a costco sized pack of cup o' noodles.

    Dorm Life

    CCA only asks that you live in the dorms for your first year of schooling. Dorm living can really suck, especially if you get stuck with someone that you don't want to live with. But they do let you switch rooms with a good reason. And it's great for meeting people and making friends, and ultimately it'll make your college experience better.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is very intensive for your major. The core classes are given way less emphasis than classes intended for your major, but those classes can be pretty difficult but ultimately rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try your best to get as much financial aid as possible before attending. A number of people find the price to steep and end up leaving before they are able to finish their degree. If you can figure out a way to get your money in order, this school will be great for you.

    In three sentences

    CCA is a great school for all types of artistic majors. It's especially great for those interested in writing and very receptive for writers of all sorts. Though the price is steep I recommend attending if you can afford it.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security guards, but nothing ever happens around our school. our campuses are located in good areas where there isn't much to worry about.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life in an Art school

    Clubs and Activities

    I have no time for clubs, I have a job and I'm a full time student doing a double major.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I got to an art school, so most of these kids have unusual traditions, but after a few years you get use to it.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe I am getting a good education at CCA, and will have a great portfolio when school is done.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I tend to arrange soccer games or any other sport that my friends might be interested in playing. brings us together apart from school and gives us some time to be out doors and relaxing.

    Food and Dining

    We have a caffe in both our campuses that sell delicious food at reasonable prices.

    Dorm Life

    Never lived in the dorms, so i cant rate it.

    Academic Rigor

    Most Classes that I have taken are moderate in how rigorous they are.

    Tips for prospective students

    Time management, as an Artist you don't have the luxury to sit around and wait for last minute to start your project, not always will you be able to come up with something on the spot.

    In three sentences

    In a scale from 1 to 10, I give California College of the Arts an seven. In my 3 years at CCA I have come across teachers that are not adequate to be teaching, some have no experience and some have the experience but are just poor teachers. As far as the curriculum I believe that for my major, a lot could be added to improve it.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24/7 Public Safety. They even escort you to and from the studios, apartments, and bus stops when it gets dark.

    Bang for the buck

    You get almost 24/7 access to the studios and library. You even get free entry to some of San Francisco's best museums.

    Food and Dining

    CCA doesn't have a meal plan, but the on-campus cafe and the nearby restaurants and grocery stores are perfect for a student's budget.

    Dorm Life

    Never lived in the dorms, but I've heard that it's lively. And the best part is that you get to live near people who share your interests in art.

    Academic Rigor

    Instructors push you the limit, pulling every ounce of artistic talent, even if you didn't know you had any, out and into your art. Every instructor encourages individuality.

    In three sentences

    A place where every art interacts and mixes together. CCA encourages students to interact with other majors and strengthen connections for the future. With teachers who are currently working in the art world, students get a taste of what their lives will be like after graduation.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security all around campus keeping us safe from the typical city life conditions i.e.: homeless, pickpockets.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    There are countless clubs and community activists at CCA. If you are interested in something, there is bound to be a club about it.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who loves Art, Design, Culture, or something new...should attend CCA

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a wonderful park located on the SF campus where all students meet, eat, or greet.

    What to do for fun

    Both campuses are located in the heart of design districts. There are many places to see as far as art, food, and culture. There many bars, venues, and street culture at every corner.

    Food and Dining

    There is different types of food everywhere for everyone.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is young and exciting!

    Academic Rigor

    Just enough of a push to know you are working hard but flexible enough to enjoy yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    All prospective students should come prepared to work with all mediums and experience new ways of art and design.

    In three sentences

    CCA is one of the most mixed environments I have ever been. It is an innovative and exciting school filled with so many disciplines. Students are constantly engaging with one another.

  • 09/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are on call, whenever and wherever.

    Great for these types of students

    Artist.

    What to do for fun

    Visit Berkley, San Francisco, all of California.

    Food and Dining

    CCA doesn't provide a meal plan but cooking with different cultures is a great way to meet new people.

    Dorm Life

    It's a community, everyone knows your name and you aren't just someone who lives in 214

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are professionals who have worked in the business and can help you reach your goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try your hardest not to procrastinate. Also, make sure your work is the best work you submit and even if it's not, believe that it is because once you attend CCA, they can help you.

    In three sentences

    California College of the Arts is amazing,they let their students strive and want the best for them not only as students but as people as well. Also, they have an incredible diversity population, every corner you turn, you meet someone with a different background. To put it shortly, everyone should attend to CCA.

  • 10/25/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is one of the most important things at CCA. We have what is called Public Safety officers and they make sure that the school is safe during the day and night. They are also located at the dorms and can escort you to Bart or from Bart whenever you call them. Not only are they there for your protection but are also very friendly and helpful. I befriended many of the public safety officers and whenever I called them they were always very attentive toward my safety.

    Greek Life

    There are no Sororities or Fraternities at CCA, and I like it that way. I feel this way people can focus more on including everyone and becoming a closer community of artist citizens. If you want to get involved with the school you could try applying as a Chimera leader which is a student body representative or an R.A. which is a Resident Advisor with similar task but more specifically to the dorms. I had the privilege of working both positions and really enjoyed the students I met, and the person it helped shape me into. There are so many different way to get involved with the school, and making the most out of your college experience.

    Clubs and Activities

    One of the things I really loved about CCA is that if we did not have a club you wanted you could always make one as long as you went through the right channels and made the arrangements. I was in the Animation club, which was very helpful because it was used to go over Animation topics or for us Animators to get together and hang out outside of class. Regardless of which club you join it is a great way to get together and know your fellow peers. If you involve yourself in school activities you will find your self waving to everyone. CCA does not have a Fraternity or Sorority and I like that. This way I feel people feel more equal and less segregated. CCA does have plenty of ways to get involved with the school such as being a Chimera Leader which is a student body representative and an R.A. which is very similar but more specific tot he dorms. I had the privilege of working at both those jobs and really enjoyed the people I met and the person it helped shape me into.

    Great for these types of students

    Simply put the school is great for anyone who is looking taking away a memorable experience, to be challenged, to grow, and to most importantly have fun and meet amazing people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As far as unusual traditions go the animators had plenty. Every year for the Animation show the animators would make an intro for the show, which consisted of a different theme each year. Last year was a Rocky theme that had several remade Rocky moments starring the Animation students and other art students as extras. Along with that tradition is showing Animations on a large movie theatre sized projector but not before you eat lots of gourmet pizza and drink. The Animation show was my favorite event of the year, not only because of the food but also the Animations shown which demonstrated everyoneâ??s hard work. CCA would always have some type of food event or BBQ that would bring students together and helped cultivate a tight knit student body.

    Bang for the buck

    China Town has great affordable food and pastries that I would recommend if you were on a budget, not only for eating out but also groceries too. The best place to go for groceries if you live in Oakland would be Smart and Final, they sell in bulk but for the most part you save a lot. The great thing about the city is that there is very affordable and filling food. My favorite food chain is Pizza Man, which was right down the street from Webster Dorm. Their pizza is three dollars a slice for pepperoni and the slice is usually the size of your face. Another great eatery next to the dorm sold 10 pieces of Louisiana style fried chicken for five dollars, plus you would get fries with that, oh yea. If you are like me and like to stretch your dollar you would be happy living in downtown Oakland like I did.

    What to do for fun

    What isn't there to do for fun, it's the bay area. For starters there are so many fun places to visit like China Town, Japan Town, Union Square in San Francisco, the Wharf, museums and the list goes on. You could spend countless hours in any of the places I mentioned but my all time favorite is Art Murmur. Art Murmur is an event hosted ever first Friday of the month where artist sale their work, musicians play their music, eat great food, and stroll around telegraph enjoying all the different venues and great atmosphere. My other favorite part of the bay area is all the museums you can visit such as the SF Moma, Dey Young, Asian Art Museum, the Jewish Museum, and even the Walt Disney Museum. If you are feeling like taking in the sights you can even take the Bart Berkeley, and San Francisco and simply walk around. Taking public transportation makes it fun and affordable to move about the city.

    Food and Dining

    The A-2 food is not bad for the price you pay and you get a variety of food ranging from pizza, sandwiches, pastries, coffee, soda, and even soup. My favorite would be the breakfast treats, I would order myself a coffee with a bagel and cream cheese, or if I was feeling fancy I would purchase a mushroom bagel with egg and cheese and some fruit on the side. The best part of having your school located in the bay area is the variety of food you have at your disposal. If you are in the mood for Asian cuisine, Mexican food, Mediterranean, or some burgers all you have to do is walk and your there. I enjoyed walking around and trying different food whenever I could, I would make it into a food adventure. There is a little something for everyone and I guarantee you will not be disappointed.

    Dorm Life

    I had the pleasure of living in the dorms all four years at CCA and they were some of the best times of my life. My first year was the best because it was the first group of friends and people I met at CCA. We all instantly bonded, and became like a little family and hung out together in the lounge and had work parties late at night. The wonderful thing was it didn't feel like work with all those people in there working with you and the time would fly by. Not only do you meet great people in the dorm, but you are also get to meet people from so many different disciplines like Illustration, Fashion, Animation, Design, Architecture, Writing, and Jewelry to name a few. The best thing about the dorm is the community you build, which is really helpful when you are new. You tend to feel closer to school than those who live off campus, and already you know people on day one.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics can be very challenging at time and seem to consume a lot of your time and social life. Don't let that get in the way of exploring the city or taking some time for yourself and friends. Making a schedule for yourself is a great way to balance the challenges you will face. Art school rigor is no joke, at CCA the professors will challenge you and you will gain a lot from it if you are up for the challenge. I learned a lot from the Humanities and Science classes at CCA, which really helped shape my perspective on life and how initiate some change starting with my actions.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend going on tours, and absorbing as much information as possible. Also, getting involved with the school is a great way to meet people and learn from your fellow peers. Lastly, I would try selecting electives that you would normally never choose because you never know what you might fall in love with. To make the most of your school experience try saying no less and yes to everything, you would be surprised.

    In three sentences

    California College of the Arts is a diverse and integrated school that really cares about community and individual growth. At CCA I spent four wonderful years discovering new things, immersing myself in art culture, and meeting like-minded passionate people who care about art and their community. I would highly recommend CCA to any art student who wants to learn from industry professionals and is looking for a memorable experience.

  • 07/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This university is great for architecture, interior design, graphic design, and animation majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will enjoy being here and meet people that will have similar majors with you.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love how the environment is like in this school. I really enjoy being at the SF campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I am learning a lot of things that I've never knew about. I get a lot of help and feedback from my professors and fellow colleagues.

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 19 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Went to SF and Berkeley.

    Food and Dining

    I had to buy my own food from the nearby stores. Make sure to bring your own cooking utensils!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms in Oakland are narrow but the community rooms are spacious and have nice kitchens. I shared a room with another girl during pre-college, and our bathroom connected us to an adjacent double room. At that time the halls were co-ed.

    Academic Rigor

    It was pre-college, how serious can students be? There was some talent and scholarships were offered though.

    In three sentences

    Reasonably priced art college that is located near San Francisco. It has rich resources (alumni, environment etc.) and many different majors to choose from. Try out their pre-college program.

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We got our public safety crew! Call them and they will escort you to wherever you need to go!

    Great for these types of students

    Artistic! Creative! Outgoing!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ceramic Cemetery - where forgotten sculptures are left

    What to do for fun

    Clubs! Events! Art shows! Hang outs! Meeting artists!

    Food and Dining

    A2 Cafe has - hands down - the best food ever! There's a variety of food, ranging from Asian to Italian. There's a bunch of different drinks also, from Odwalla to coconut water. You can eat anywhere around campus, but it also depends which campus you are at. Oakland has benches and a bunch of chairs where you can eat within nature. San Francisco consists mostly inside with chairs and tables.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms, but I hear from my colleagues that it is fun! There is a kitchen included. You will be able to meet new people and have a more enjoyable college life!

    Academic Rigor

    Since I completed only my freshman year so far, I could only talk about how rigorous my freshman year was. CCA has a CORE-program for all freshmen. It is needed to take all four CORE classes - D1, 2D, 3D, and 4D. If you already have credits for one or more of these classes, you will be excused. The professors are all fun and chill yet strict. They are there to teach us techniques, information, and skills. We must follow with their instructions yet add our own 'spark' into the assignments and projects.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just a few tips for the future students attending this great school! 1. Use what is given to you for free - counseling, tutoring, resources, etc. 2. Know your campuses - there are maps for a reason 3. Understand the cost of the tuition - study hard and you will be able to receive scholarships to help pay for the expenses 4. Plan a visit - there are tours 5. Engage in the school - plenty of events and clubs for you to join 6. Believe in yourself - your art matters!

    In three sentences

    CCA is a diverse college that has two campuses located in Oakland, CA and San Francisco, CA. It educates students to shape culture and society through the practice and study of the arts of architecture, writing, and design. This college prepares the students for cultivating innovation, community engagement, and having responsibility in social and environmental issues.

  • 08/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Paint at night in the studios.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for all available scholarships, take classes with different professors they are all great.

    In three sentences

    Great School. Great professors. Great location.

  • 09/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Beautiful Lake Merritt sits in the Heart of Downtown Oakland, with lots of places for people watching, pic-nicking, and local shops. Ferry rides across the bay to different attractions, Museum of Natural Science, and tons of great local art museums.

    Food and Dining

    Eating out in San Francisco can get pretty exspensive! I reccomend local food trucks and small personally owned restaurants away from touristy downtown SF.

    Academic Rigor

    Self Motivation is huge Discipline Tenacity

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can be prepared, focused, and diligent you have all the tools you need to succeed at CCA. There are tons of arts events and organization to plug into for 'real world' art experience. Come with the intention of expanding your artistic practice and gleaning wisdom from seasoned veterans in the arts.

    In three sentences

    The Graduate program at California College of the Arts is perfect for a self-motivated artist. The campus has every tool imaginable for concepting and fabricating any art piece. the college is conveniently located in California's Bay area rich in culture and the support of visual and performing arts.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety are your friends, especially when you are getting home at 11:00pm from a class.

    Greek Life

    One architecture frat. I'm not positive as to what they do.

    What to do for fun

    Art Murmur which is every first friday is fun but most of the fun comes from going to the UC Berkeley frat parties. After 21 there are many bars to go to in downtown Oakland and free events in San Francisco. Hardly Strictly Blue Grass Festival is a big TO-DO in the fall semester.

    Food and Dining

    A2 cafe is our only dining but it is the best. Both the one on the San Francisco and Oakland campuses are run by the same family. They are the best and you will grow to love seeing them everyday.

    Dorm Life

    Very fun. You become very close with the people you live with, especially if you live in Irwin dorm. it is a community and everyone becomes a family.

    Academic Rigor

    everything is one after the other. It is good to have done everything on a schedule. The instructors expect a lot from the students because of how small the classes are. There is good one on one critique time as well as class critiquing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Time management is everything. It will really help you to master your time during first year.

    In three sentences

    California college of the arts is a great private art school. The classes are really small and you become a tight knit community.

  • 03/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Safe, Security guards will even escort if needed.

    Greek Life

    no, but I have heard that industrial design majors have one?

    Clubs and Activities

    Typography Club Chimera council Figure Drawing

    Great for these types of students

    Arts Design Innovative

    What to do for fun

    Go to the bay, bicycle, eat, walk to park and museums.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research your interests. Apply for scholarships. Ask many questions

    In three sentences

    Great Teachers with knowledgable staff. Friendly learning work environment. A great place to pursue the arts.

  • 05/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is good, there are always people at the front checking IDs and signing in guests to keep track of who is supposed to be on campus. If you are walking outside after dark, they will escort you to your car, bus station, or any other sort of transportation, all you need to do is ask.

    Greek Life

    There is one Fraternity on campus: Alpha Rho Chi Professional Fraternity for Architecture and the Allied Arts. While it is mostly on the San Francisco Campus, it its open to everyone and good for learning about professionalism, meeting professional Alumni, and making close friendships with those who are interested in the same things you are.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several student bodies, mentorship programs, and student clubs, the largest of which is the Chimeras, named after the school mascot, who represent the students of all fields of study for both campuses. Many clubs are major-specific, not in an exclusive way but in a directed audience sort of way.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Keep an eye out for mixers, gallery openings, and lectures. The school always provides food at these, and the school often has good catering. Take advantage of all free food.

    Bang for the buck

    Its an expensive school, and classes require more money for materials, tools, and other supplies, but the experience has been worth every penny. You learn from the best, meet all kinds of new people, experience many new cultures, and are given so many opportunities not given to students in other schools. You will work hard, and you will love it.

    What to do for fun

    See the city!!! Spend time in San Francisco, and not just at Union Square or Fishermans Warf. The Mission is a good place for food and fun and easy to BART to, and parks are good places to be during good weather.

    Food and Dining

    There are no cafeterias, so if you live in the dorms learn how to cook or you will eat a LOT of ramen. Cooking with a group of people helps pull resources, creates tastier meals, and makes it easier if you are not so good at cooking. There are lots of local places to get good food if you prefer not to cook, but they come at Bay Area prices.

    Dorm Life

    People are fun, easy going, and willing to spend time or give you space, depending on what you want.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a fast-paced school with high expectations. They give you the support you need and work with students in every way possible, but expect to put out your best work. All students are dedicated to their studies, but all the hard work makes for fantastic portfolios, and the final results are something you can be proud of.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live in the city of whichever campus you are going to. For example, if you are going to the San Francisco campus, do not live in the Oakland campus dorms. It may be more expensive, but the commute across the bridge each day is tedious and long and takes away from school time. Take advantage of the mixers and lectures, they give special opportunities to hear and speak with professionals who are important in your field, and can help with networking later on.

    In three sentences

    This school is full of great professors who are current professionals and have experience in their field. Students are dedicated and driven, and more than willing to help each other become better students and future professionals. Both campuses offer great opportunities to study both within your field and others if you are willing to put in the time and take advantage of them.

  • 06/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There's no meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a great way to meet other students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go into the school with an open mind, try out all the majors even if you already know what you want to do.

    In three sentences

    CCA is a great school for students who want to focus on their craft and get better at what they want to spend their lives doing. Not only does it connect you with artist in the outside world but it also connects you with artist in the school walls itself by the amazing teachers.