Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

California Institute of Technology Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/22/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 out of 34 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The ones who see a clever proof and find it beautiful. The ones who want to know not just how, but why things work the way they do. The ones willing to power through nights of studying knowing that they're working with best friends who happen to be the smartest in the nation. The ones willing to release their competitive nature in the name of collaboration and realize how well it actually works.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard. It isn't impossible to get in. Caltech only accepts the students who are capable of keeping up with the workload. Sometimes all it takes is a bit of enthusiasm to separate you from the nameless herd. Don't worry too much about how well prepared you are. Just come during prefrosh weekend if you get in and go to all the house events. You can tell if you belong here.

    Bang for the buck

    Caltech's financial aid for freshman year seems a bit stingy in comparison to some, but they won't raise it after your frosh year (cough MIT cough) It was cheaper than good-state-college for me. I'm leaving with a reasonable amount of debt and don't worry much about how I'll pay for it. Also, there's a hell of a lot of bang.

    Am enjoying being here

    Most people enroll at Caltech because they love the culture and everything that comes with it.

    Am learning a lot

    You will learn more than you thought was possible. Sometimes it will seem impossible. It isn't.

  • 06/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 out of 13 people found this review useful. 2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This place is great for all determined, curious, and engaging individuals who want to learn purely for the joy of it. If you want to really understand physics, chemistry, engineering, math, and enjoy great humanities classes, this is the place for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to be in an environment that will push you to your limits while living in a beautiful place, this is the right college for you. This place is not made so that anyone can glide through with a 4.0. This is truly a place where you learn that your amount of effort is reflected on your scores.

    Bang for the buck

    This place will form me into the best scientist or engineer I can be. It is just a matter of choosing the major I love.

    Am enjoying being here

    The social environment is welcoming and caring. Everyone works together on our classes, and the desire to help each other is very common amongst my peers.

    Am learning a lot

    This school has a very rigorous academic curriculum that has expanded both my understanding and my appreciation for the physical sciences.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Definitely.

    What to do for fun

    It's California, and it's pretty close to LA. Enough said?

    Food and Dining

    I heard there was pho for lunch. I'm good. Dinner was not as impressive, but with all the people and the table-banging, I hardly noticed.

    Dorm Life

    Bigger than what I've seen in the east schools, and much nicer, too. Caltech is split into eight houses, and each really does feel like a family. (: Most of them even eat dinner together every night. Each one is sort of like a fraternity/sorority, with all the good and none of the bad.

    Academic Rigor

    It's supposed to be really tough, but definitely worth it. My dad works in the computer engineering industry and says his company adores Caltech graduates. I don't remember... but I think I was told that completing the Core curriculum alone at Caltech is equivalent to the coursework of a math major at Harvard? I really don't remember. In any case, despite its difficulty, there is one faculty member for every three students, so there's plenty of people around to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Yes, this school is small, but if you want the best for your money, then what this school lacks in quantity is made up for in quality. When applying, just (what I call) brain-vomit everything you've ever cared about. I wrote my essay on liposuction because it just horrified and mesmerized me that much. Anything goes.

    In three sentences

    Even from my brief experience at Caltech for Pre-Frosh Weekend, I was impressed at how seriously my future upperclassmen work hard and play hard. Most amazing was how they respected each other and the Honor Code, which dictates the way the Caltech community operates. They're incredibly inspiring and each super passionate, and I look forward to the next four years with them.

  • 10/02/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Smart, studious, works really, REALLY hard, and has a good imagination and inquisitiveness.

    Tips for prospective students

    STUDY, STUDY, STUDY!!! Also, work hard, get good grades, and make sure to do well on tests, and also, take a good amount of tough classes.

    Bang for the buck

    It IS one of the most prestigious universities in the nation, and, being that tuition is less than forty gran a year, it does seem a better choice for some.

    Will enjoy being here

    I may be a little out-witted by the students here, at least as far as numbers go, but hopefully, this will be a good school to call home.

    Will learn a lot

    This school, being one of the top in the nation, is naturally one that is going to encourage learning, especially with its small class sizes and ability to work side-by-side the professors.

  • 02/11/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 6 people found this review useful. 5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life. The house system replaces it.

    Great for these types of students

    Caltech is perfect for students who know that they want to go into a field in science.

    Food and Dining

    I ate at their cafe while I was visiting, and the food was delicious.

    Dorm Life

    I like the house system for the students. The rooms that I saw were not cramped, and I loved that one of the houses had board games all over the place.

    Academic Rigor

    Caltech is a very challenging school, but worth the hard work.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you did a research project, make sure to get a letter of reccomendation from your mentor.

    In three sentences

    California Institute of Technology is an amazing school. Of all the colleges that I looked at, Caltech is definitely my top choice. If I get accepted, I am sure to go.

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anybody with a strong (EXTREMELY strong) passion for Science who is willing to work hard every day. Engineers of any kind will benefit from the close relationship between Caltech and JPL.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year Caltech students drop frozen pumpkins off the top of Millikan Library. Additionally, every year students participate in a ditch day where seniors will create puzzles, traps, or just interesting diversions for the other students to solve. When asked about when ditch day is, Professors will always respond tomorrow.

    Food and Dining

    The Chandler Cafe had very excellent food. Everything was cooked fresh to order and there was a variety of healthy options. The Anthenaeum had even more outstanding food! However, this restaurant is mostly for faculty and alumni so students do not dine there very often unless invited.

    Dorm Life

    From my visit I learned that the girl shortage is a very dire situation on campus. However that aside, most people get along with each other. The dorms are covered with murals and students have many freedoms to do as they wish. When it comes to planning for parties Techers take their work seriously. My host and his dorm were considering building a multi-storey building for a party. The dorms here almost resemble fraternities. The students get along with each other well and know almost everybody on campus at least by face.

    Academic Rigor

    Students spend a lot of time studying. The level of rigor here is extreme compared to many other universities, but students emerge as world leaders in their field.

    In three sentences

    The campus is very small and beautiful. Students here live in a tight knit community and get to know their peers and professors very well. The academics are probably the toughest in the world, but they transform students into leaders in their fields.

  • 10/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 people found this inaccurate. 7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    10/10. There is always a security guard.

    Bang for the buck

    A technical/vocational school often runs a little pricier than community colleges. But, FAFSA is accepted at this school if you qualify.

    Food and Dining

    The food is adequate- quick and on-the-go style.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in a dorm during my college experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically the programs are challenging, but with some dedication you are bound to succeed. That is the ultimate goal for everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Manage your time well, stay organized, and really absorb all the information that is taught to you.

    In three sentences

    Institute of Technology opens so many doors for people who need a career direction. The staff is so dedicated to your success and achievement of goals. I would rate this school 10/10.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 10 people found this review useful. 2 people found it offensive. 8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I believe if there should be safety in the world then the world have to look here at this safest institution in existence.

    Greek Life

    I cant tell for now.

    Clubs and Activities

    you name it. all the clubs and games and activities you can can imagine are here. All in one i say.

    Great for these types of students

    we are all born for greatness.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    for now am blank but i promise when i get in touch with this institution then believe me you i`ll share with you the true tradition.

    Bang for the buck

    guys just do what is right and you`ll enjoy your stay with no regrets.

    What to do for fun

    do your own scientific research or whatever you like most. join various clubs. don`t forget soccer or any other games, there is so much fun in them.

    Food and Dining

    my favorite. you have to taste the food men its yummy.

    Dorm Life

    superb.

    Academic Rigor

    here is where geniuses are made.

    Tips for prospective students

    you have to utilize the resources at hand and reach your full potential for you were made for greatness. just make every day count.

    In three sentences

    the best university that really transform people and make them realize their dreams. form me i can confidently say this is where my engineering career will be nurtured developed to the world`s standards.