Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

California Lutheran University - Thousand Oaks Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/08/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 out of 14 people found this review useful. 1 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a well-rounded education taught by professors that know who you are. Classes are small, sometimes under 20.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students accepted to UCLA or UCSB pay the UC tuition rate. Apply early and you may know before Christmas.

  • 10/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 2 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Somewhat conservative but creative! No drinking on campus by anyone, so don't come if you like to party with alcohol!! Great school for kids who like to travel abroad and who like mingling with their professors. Lots of just normal kids who are not there just to get ahead. Great school if you don't want to feel like a number! It has a very cohesive feel to it, like everyone enjoys being there.

    Tips for prospective students

    They like kids who are service-oriented (Boys Scouts, etc.) not just with high grades. Go to the interview, if you get invited, and share something great you have done to help your community.

    Bang for the buck

    I got a great scholarship and financial aid. They accommodated my parent's sudden loss of income with lots of help with finances! They go out of their way to help you afford the school.

    Am enjoying being here

    The staff and helpful upperclassmen were so helpful from day 1. They act like they want YOU on campus, not just your money!! They provide lots of support for freshman so they don't fail. You get a student and academic adviser to help you through the first year!

    Am learning a lot

    How could you NOT learn here, there are so few students per class and the professors know you!!I was taking an easy class in my major and the professor found out I was bored, so he offered me a chance to audit an upper level class in something I was interested in!

  • 11/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Ideal for students that enjoy small classes, close relationships with their professors and don't want to be solely a number! Perfect for the all around students, there are many clubs and activities to get involved in!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the cost of the school make you shy away! The school is amazing!

    Bang for the buck

    Although it is pricey, it is worth it! Would not transfer for any cost!

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is welcoming and safe. The school also puts on an event every Friday, called Club Lu, that is free to the students (includes a chuckee cheese night, black out socials, snowball fights, etc.).

    Am learning a lot

    The professors work with the students and are more than happy to to find time outside of their office hours to help.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 4 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great. They are patrolling 24/7. Also being on a small campus everyone knows who everyone is and if one person is missing or hasn't come back in a while someone will notice.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs on campus. I, for one, am part of the Rugby club and the Asian and Friends club here on campus. The clubs range from anything like Hawaiian club to an Atheist club. Whatever you want to join I guarantee we've got it.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of students! You don't need to be a particular type of student to come here, just be willing to learn and ready to party. (metaphorically of course!)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One big location is the statue of Martin Luther although it doesn't really look like Martin Luther is looks a bit more like Gumby. He is located right in front of the library and points towards the spine of the campus. You'd have to see him to believe it.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do around the Thousand Oaks area. There is bowling for very cheap in Simi. Being 30 minutes from the beach is also a plus, and since the weather is constantly 65 degrees year-round, it's always a perfect beach day. Thousand Oaks is also half an hour away from Los Angeles. Night life in L.A. is like no other. Many friends and myself have gone to see a movie, go to a comedy club, or visit a museum. There are tons of things to do around here.

    Food and Dining

    Sometimes food and dining can become monotonous. The dining company, Sodexo, offers a wide variety of different foods and meal specials throughout the year. The thing that becomes so monotonous is that the specials and varieties do not change. I know what I'm saying may be a bit confusing but once you come here you'll understand. Monotony aside, there are not many places where you can get a top notch meal on a campus. Oh yeah we also have something called the Centrum where you can get your food on-the-go if you don't have the time in between classes or you're running late to a meeting.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is really amazing. In TV shows they show dorms as cramped areas and sometimes really dirty. Cal Lu dorms are quite the opposite. Unless you choose to live in Mount Clef, all the other dorms on campus are apartment style. Of course if you're an underclassman you might have to share your room with another person, but once you become a junior or senior you get the chance to live in Trinity or Grace which is real apartment-style living. It also comes with an entire kitchen and refrigerator. When you first move in people may be a bit tentative, but as the weeks go on friends will be made and you will find a best friend. Sometimes it may not seem like the most social of places but do not fret, its just all part of the plan.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses here are a lot of fun, but very rigorous. Because you are at a small school, however, classes will not be 200-300 students per classroom. Many classes will range in size between 20-30 students and the professor will have designated office hours for you to go and meet with said professor. It is a great opportunity to get to know your professors and an even better way to learn the material. My favorite class on campus was also one of the hardest on campus but thanks to my professor I aced the course and now I'm ready for any other class that I have to take on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should try to be outgoing and cheerful. Thousand Oaks is a wonderful town full of amazing and interesting people, try and get to know them! If you're more of a shy and inward person just take sometime enjoy the scenery, you'll make tons of friend who have the same interests as you.

    In three sentences

    This school is one of the best small schools in the country. It has a killer academic program, as well as top notch D3 sports' programs. What makes this school even better, are the people that come here.

  • 03/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    California Lutheran is great choice for those looking for: A degree in Sports Medicine, Chemistry, Biology, Business, Communication, etc. Also DIII Athletics: Football, baseball, basketball, soccer, track and field, softball, etc. (many inter-mural sports teams and clubs) And this college is good for students that want a small community with a very friendly atmosphere, Lutheran background, diversity, and great education.

    Tips for prospective students

    What I would recommended for prospective students is to come out here and get a taste for yourself. Schedule a private or group tour or if you are interested in athletics you can contact the coaches and come for an overnight stay with an athlete. If Cal Lutheran is not in reach of a tour check out the website www.Callutheran.edu and find out everything you need to know.

    Bang for the buck

    California Lutheran can be expensive, but they are willing to help you. With numerous donors and out side sources I believe its over 85% of students that get some sort of financial aid. CLU already provides $19 million a year in financial aid to students, but in 2009-2010 it plans to increase the amount of scholarship money available to current students to help them meet educational expenses during the recession. source: http://www.callutheran.edu/news/news_detail.php?story_id=5453

    Am enjoying being here

    The fact that Cal Lutheran is such a tight knit community allows for you to make some really close relationships pretty quickly. The students at Cal Lu are friendly, just remember to treat people how you would like to be treated and you will do fine. Also, although Thousand Oaks is small, there is plenty to do. the school puts on many events and different programs and if that is not enough La, the beach, or even Santa Barbra is right around the corner.

    Am learning a lot

    If you put the work in, you will be pushed to learn and grow to great heights. Professors here really care about your education and will get to know you on a personal level if you are willing. I have some of my professors numbers that are in my major and allow me to contact them if need be. The size of the classes are small with a ratio of about 17:1 (17 students to 1 professor).

  • 03/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any kind of students. There are many different types of personalities on campus that just add to the learning experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a good choice for a school, especially if you are looking for a close knit atmosphere and small class sizes. Everyone here is very helpful and it is super easy to fit in and make friends.

    Bang for the buck

    We have a lot of benefits that are included in tuition.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the surrounding area. The weather is amazing down here and the people are friendly.

    Am learning a lot

    I love all of my classes. The curriculum is well organized and the professors are great. They are all very helpful.

  • 05/24/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Look into Financial Aid early! Cal Lu has a bunch of opportunities to help students out with finances and their great financial aid department was one of the deciding factors for me to come to this school!

  • 06/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you love small class sizes with very friendly professors who actually get to know you as a person.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus. Seeing where you could possibly be going in the future actually plays a big role in the decision process. Live in the dorms is you can too. It is a totally different experience and it forces you to get more involved in what is going on at school.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a beautiful campus and very well taken care of. The dorms are in good shape, the food is good, and the fitness center is absolutely gorgeous.

  • 06/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Although it is a private university, CLU does give out scholarships to make it affordable to attend. Although it can seem pricey, the school offers many ways to pay for school and offers a payment plan. Not only that but the school has on-campus events that are of no cost to the students.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy the area that California Lutheran University is located at. It is in Thousand Oaks where the weather is great. There are nice places to hike and local places to go out to eat and hang out with friends. The campus is beautiful and the people are extremely nice.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot mainly because the class sizes are small. There are about 20-30 people in a class depending on the type of classroom. The professors are there to teach and to help. You are always taught be a professor and not a teacher assistant. There is free tutoring and a writing center where you can go to receive help on papers.

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No problems so far.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs, but I am an athlete, so that's most of my free time.

    Great for these types of students

    Good students. Good students and good athletes that want to compete in college @ a high level.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive, but it is really nice & clean......and I should graduate in 4 years.

    What to do for fun

    Sporting events @ school & the beach!!

    Food and Dining

    I'm only a freshman, but I really like the food. Weekdays is better than the weekends though.

    Dorm Life

    I love my dorm. It is quite & comfortable, but I'm close to alot of activities.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to apply yourself. Unless you are really smart, there won't be must coasting here.

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to keep in mind what 4500 students feels like. This is not 30,000 like a UCLA or even 10,000 like Santa Cruz. 4500 is about the size of my high school. I thought it would be to small at first, but now I love it!

    In three sentences

    Cal Lu is a great school. Cal Lu's campus is very nice. Cal Lu's on campus food is great.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports. Running , MMA, Staying active!

    Food and Dining

    Cook on your own if you can it will help you save money!

    Dorm Life

    Enjoy it, get out and do things with the community and the students!

    Academic Rigor

    Study Study Study!

    Tips for prospective students

    Present yourself well and you will be taken that way!

    In three sentences

    a School with great expectations, that looks for the best out of everyone that attends here!

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe, dry campus, safe town.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    too many to list!

    Bang for the buck

    It was not the right fit for me, so I am a little biased that it was not.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, meet new friends, join a sports team or intramural!

    Food and Dining

    At the beginning of the year, the food is amazing, but by the end of it you are so sick of eating in the commons.

    Dorm Life

    I gave this one star because this school was not the right fit for me. Dorm life is different for everyone, and to be honest, you will never know until you try.

    Academic Rigor

    Its a difficult school when you take the right groups of classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to manage your time right- Thousand Oaks doesn't necessarily have much going on during the week, but the college offers many activities. Just remember why you are there- to get your degree.

    In three sentences

    Its a good school, but be sure to check it out before you agree to go. If you are from the area, be sure you are alright with how close it really is to your hometown, and how small the school really is. The teachers are all very pleasant and know what they are teaching, which is a great aspect of this school.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its a small, safe town.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Great for these types of students

    Lazy, introverted students would do well here because the teachers bend over backwards to appease the class. My classmates all talk extensively and waste tons of class time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Parking is difficult for commuters because it is all street parking.

    Bang for the buck

    They do not qualify for the TEACH grant. It is expensive and hard to get aid.

    What to do for fun

    Study....

    Food and Dining

    They have a cute little dining center by the bookstore. Its modern and innovative.

    Academic Rigor

    There can be a heavy workload at times, but it is not at all difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to Andrea Kendrick! She is the best admissions councilor I've ever met.

    In three sentences

    Very easy classes and extremely helpful professors. It's nice, but I do worry that I won't be properly prepared after graduation. Nonetheless, I have high hopes for this program and my future.

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is awesome. California Lutheran is located in Thousand Oaks, CA, which has been in the top 10 safest cities in America for nearly the last ten years, and even made number one, one year. There are always Campus Safety members driving around during the day and at night, and if needed they can give students a ride back to their dorms if they feel unsafe.

    Greek Life

    There isn't a Greek Life system at California Lutheran, but see Clubs, and Activities above.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are close to 100 different clubs offered at California Lutheran from Cultural and ethnic, to Adventure and sports. All students are welcome in any club, and many students are in multiple. There are so many opportunities to get involved at this school, its hard not to be.

    Great for these types of students

    Nature-loving, philosophical, curious, fun, religious, and non religious students of all personalities! There is truly something for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Three Amigos is a small Mexican restaurant just around the corner from the school. They give student discounts and nearly every student loves it! Eating there is definitely a school tradition. As well as Thursday College Nights at Draught's pizza place.

    Bang for the buck

    Set in sunny Southern California where it is close to Malibu Beach, Six Flags, and Disneyland, as well as Downtown Hollywood. The student:professor ratio is generally 20:1 so the professors can offer one on one help and get to know the students' personalities and learning styles. Has extremely competitive Chemistry, Biology, and Communications programs with opportunities for internships at local hospitals and media companies in Hollywood.

    What to do for fun

    Malibu Beach, Ventura, Disneyland, Six Flags, Hollywood, movies, and shopping. It is in the best location where all activities are between 20 to 60 minutes away when timed according to traffic.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe called the Centrum that does breakfast specialties, and provides salads, sandwiches, pizzas, and hamburgers for lunch and dinner. As of September 2014, there will be a brand new Cafeteria on campus with all kinds of food, and a coffee shop.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are dry (no alcohol) and there is a cohabitation curfew at 2:00am. Most of the students do live on campus for all four years and are fine with the rules. The RAs always put on fun and interesting programs for their residents, and are always very friendly, approachable, and responsible. For the upperclassmen, there are apartment style dorms available with full sized kitchens and single bedrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is a private school, which says something about its academics. They are rigorous, and the professors give no mercy. That said, some professors curve, but not many. Always study and do your work, and get help when you need it or you will fall behind. Having a private university on your resume can help you so much.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to all the orientation events! It is the best way to get to know people outside of your dorm. Also, you will have more fun if you let go of your ego, and just have fun. This school is all about having fun, participate in everything!

    In three sentences

    This is a great school with wonderful professors and students. The professors are genuinely interested in getting to know their students, and the students are very friendly and inclusive.

  • 07/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    The professors are amazing!

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love this school. The professors and the staff are so incredibly helpful and everyone wants you to succeed.

  • 07/25/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I hear they offer a variety of foods, to fit any diet or lifestyle. I like that they allow you to pack to go bags, to fit meals in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    Can't comment yet. Haven't moved into my dorm or met the roommates yet.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't plan on taking any cake classes, but I'm sure even the electives will be challenging in a fun way.

  • 08/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus and even in the city!

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    So many of them!

    Great for these types of students

    Is known for there great financial aid and they also have academic scholarships!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    UNDIE RUN!! It happens every year and the cloths get donated to charity! We also have two volunteer dates that are available for students that allow them to help the community and meet new people! Every activity done at the school you either get food or a free t-shirt! I have 20+ shirts!!

    What to do for fun

    CLU has many things to do for fun! Each dorm has different activities that a RA (a student in charge of the students living in the dorms) organizes to allow the students to get to know each other better within the dorm and make the dorm experience even better!! Cal Lu also has one of the best football teams in California for division III and the games are EXCITING to go to! The clubs on campus are also a fun thing to do and you get to meet other people who love the same thing you do! If your athletic and want to join a team, JOIN ONE!! All the facilities are new and you can contribute to Cal Lu spirit!!

    Food and Dining

    Food at CLU is good the cafeteria has a buffet for salad and pizza and the best part of our cafeteria is that we have a touch screen menu that allows you to pick what ever you want on the menu and it is made right on the spot! Just like any other cafeteria some foods are better than others so you just have to try it all!

    Dorm Life

    I give CLU 5 stars because the dorms are big and you get to share your own bathroom with your roommates! So it is nice that you don't have to walk down the hall in your towel to take a shower or even go to the bathroom but you have it in the convenience of your own room! Also the older you get the dorms just get nicer so you have something to look forward to when you are a senior!

    Academic Rigor

    California Lutheran University is tough because school is tough but what I love about CLU is that school can be easier because the professors are glad to answer questions and have workable office hours that will allow you to understand your class easier! Also the classes with be easier or harder depending on the professor, subject and the amount of energy put into the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be shy! go out and have fun, experience new thing, meet new people and try new things. That is the best advice I can give to any new student, if you don't want to try new things college will be less fun and you want college to be one of the best experiences in your life.

    In three sentences

    Cal Lu is proud to have a school that is all about diversity. Students are able to connect more with other students, professors and the community of Thousand Oaks. The small school size will help any student learn more about the subject they want to learn more of with smaller sized classes, and have more opportunities to have a better and brighter future!

  • 05/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for every kind of student ranging from shy, talkative, competitive, athletic, pretty much everything under the sun will fit in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be yourself and enjoy all the different types of people there. Take advantage of all the help offered because it is a very valuable source.

    Bang for the buck

    There is a lot of financial aid available, and there is always incoming information about new opportunities.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere of the school is very calm and welcoming. It seems almost impossible but everyone is always happy and willing to help out anyone. They have a wide range of activities and never leave out commuters.

    Am learning a lot

    There is a large variety of subjects at the school. While participating in discussions new and interesting viewpoint on popular topics are introduced. The classes always challenge you to do better and learn new things

  • 06/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are involved in their community and ambitious. CLU works well with students of all backgrounds.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are serious about school and also want a great colleg community, CLU is the place for you. CLU prides itself at looking at the whole individual--simple test scores and AP results don't cover the whole picture. Of course, if you did well on these, then there is a very high chance of acceptance. But be warned, do not rely heavily on these. Almost everyone I have met has performed numerous hours of community service. Take an interview. Let CLU see your true personality. Email and/or call admissions to really show your interest. To take advantage of all the opportunities CLU offers, you really need to get involved. It's not hard to do, in fact, you might even feel forced to go because of all the talk that goes around events advertised. Club Lu offers so many events and take advantage of them. They're part of the college experience, and honestly, they made me really like CLU. Even if there's something you want to start, notifiy the department and they are completely behind you--from funding to helping you organize your event. Take a campus tour and see meet the people there yourself. You won't be dissapointed. :]

    Bang for the buck

    CLU offers a lot of scholarships, but what I noticed to be very different in comparison to other colleges was that all events hosted by CLU are FREE! Club Lu hosts so many activities each month that you forgot you're at school. Trips to Chuck E. Cheese's (including all you can eat free pizza and soda), trips to Dodger Games, and Beach outings are just a few events that I can name off the top of my head. Every event that you attend literally gives out so much free food, especially multicultural events.

    Am enjoying being here

    So many different activites to particpate in or watch. From theater department shows, to football games, CLU really does take care of their students. Also, because it's a small school, you get the advantage of really knowing a lot of people from all class levels.

    Am learning a lot

    Attending CLU will teach you more than what you will be expecting to learn in a classroom environment. Teachers motivate their students to come during office hours to further discuss topics taught during class. Take Advantage of This Oppotunity!! At CLU, you learn from community service and multicultural events.

  • 07/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for partying students, or students who want an educations that midrange, not super hard and not super easy

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like the education is ordinary, I learned just as much at my community college

    Am enjoying being here

    The dorm life can be kind of silly and there is a lot of partying

  • 10/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    You may want to look at class sizes and the area of the school. Just because it is a brand name school does not make it a great school. It takes a lot more effort to know your professors at a bigger school than at a small private institution. Being a Biology major has made me look deeper into those aspects of a campus versus just how good it sounds to say I go there.

    Bang for the buck

    Being in a private institution is a bit expensive but I am paying for the class size because it is so small. Not a lot of people attend California Lutheran University therefore I have the benefit of the doubt and get to know my professors by just being in class instead of having to go to office hours constantly. In addition CLU offers the Four to Finish program which almost guarantees you finish your schooling in four years or the fifth year is on them because they want you to graduate.

    Am enjoying being here

    The community here is safe. I have never worried about walking alone to my dorm room at three in the morning. The campus is friendly and there are not that many people who are rude. We all get to know each other because the campus is small enough for everybody to know everybody. I have made the best of friends here and I did not expect any of that to happen.

    Am learning a lot

    At this campus the class sizes are just right for a student to become noticed. When you are doing bad in a class, the teacher will approach you and figure out ways to help you do better in the course. The professors actually want to be here teaching you, they make sure everybody understands instead of just going through the lecture and not realizing the blank stares that they are receiving. Besides all the hard work in the class, there is a lot of hard work to be put forth outside of classes.

  • 01/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who prefer small class sizes and a moderately quite location.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to branch out and make as many friends as possible, it will ensure that you are never bored with Thousand Oaks. Find friends who will encourage you to do well in classes, but you enjoy hanging out with! Take advantage of the many interactive opportunities that CLU provides

    Bang for the buck

    Many professors from various universities come to California Lutheran to teach. It recently raised its tuition to keep up with other schools. Very Pricey.

    Am enjoying being here

    Thousand Oaks is Boring, however California Lutheran Student Council does a lot to ensure that the students are having fun on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    Various classes offer different levels of learning, which is ultimately based on the class and professor. Different classes have different difficulties, as expected, but some classes are difficult without offering students and opportunity to learn.

  • 02/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety or personnel is around all the time, so it's really comforting, especially during the night hours.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are tons of clubs and activities to choose from!

    Great for these types of students

    social, serious, nature-loving, small settings.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are many traditions that are unusual here, but one i think is the greatest is the undie run. mid to late october, everyone strips to their undies, gives the clothes they had on to charity, and then goes on a run around campus. it's all about the charity! there's a lot of cool locations that are around the campus, you just have to find them!

    Bang for the buck

    expensive... however, they are quick to give many scholarships and help you out with anything you need, so that is a huge plus!

    What to do for fun

    a lot! you can run/hike/bike up to the cross or the clu sign at the top of the hill; you can take a trip with a couple friends to the local shave it shaved ice cream place; you can go on countless events that the school itself holds; and much much more!

    Food and Dining

    there is a large assortment of food at the cafeteria, the centrum, and jamba juice, the food is pretty good, and everything is kept really clean.

    Dorm Life

    very interactive. the ra's really try to get everyone involved, and there are many events they hold in order to bring the people in the dorms together.

    Academic Rigor

    challenging, but not too much if you put in the time and effort. every minute of studying counts.

    Tips for prospective students

    work hard and play hard. being well-rounded is something that is stressed here, and cal lu wants to find the people that are the best fit.

    In three sentences

    a small college, but that makes it all the better. everyone is so nice and the professors truly care about their students. cal lu has this alluring aspect to it that makes it easy to call this place home.

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is extremely safe. campus security is always driving around, making sure everything is ok.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    opportunities to start new clubs and get involved. definitely a lot of fun!

    Great for these types of students

    great for students who like to socialize in an academic setting.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    welcome week is amazing for all freshmen who go through it!

    Bang for the buck

    definitely worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    activities and programs put on by the school. there is always something to do. the key to avoiding boredom is seeing what events are going on.

    Food and Dining

    there is a variety of food options. we have the cafe for a more buffet style/ order through the machine. it is as much as you can eat. while on the other hand we have the centrum which is more restaurant style, very nice to turn on the fire pit and eat around it.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is very fun during the week, the dorms are full of students walking by, studying, or just hanging out. however on weekends many students go home and the campus can be a little lonely.

    Academic Rigor

    classes can be tough, make sure to take thorough notes and most importantly go to class!

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved. there are many opportunities out there that students can take advantage from. expose yourself to other students like yourself. make sure to keep the competitive mindset open.

    In three sentences

    amazing school that is full of professors and counselors who truly want you to succeed in life. beautiful campus and dorms. makes you feel very comfortable and welcome.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    big variety in clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    that like small, homework focused universities.

    Food and Dining

    ok, but not much to choose from; jamba juice, cafeteria, kiosk, cafe.

    Dorm Life

    quite, nice and clean dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    good

    In three sentences

    clu has a beautiful, but small campus. has many great academic opportunities, as well as a good support system. but it is a hands on collage that reminds me to much of a high school, then a place of higher education.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type!

    What to do for fun

    For fun I go to a lot of the events on campus, such as improve and I am involved in clubs. I also go out to eat with my friend because there is a lot of good restaurants around.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students would be to make sure that they want to be at a small school and to remember to take into consideration that at a small school a lot more one on one attention is given from the teachers. It is a great atmosphere and I would recommend to live on campus.

    In three sentences

    California Lutheran University is a great school that provides a high quality education. The community is great and treats you like a family. It is a very safe campus and helps its student achieve highly in academics.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a Jamba Juice right in the middle of all the action at CLU. There is also The Caf, where you pay a certain fee and then eat however much you want. You can also order certain things with a touch screen when you don't see anything that you really want that is already made. If you are in the mood for a little bit better food, there is always The Centrum, which has a much more limited menu, but the food is better quality. And there's this really cool drink dispenser that has a whole bunch of different flavors of drinks like Coke and Powerade. If you're in a real rush, you can always grab a quick bite at the SUB or Mogan Market, which offer premade food items, such as sandwiches and salads.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter, but I often hang out in the dorms with friends who do live in them. There are rules about when there are quiet hours and those sorts of things, but other than the basic rules, it's pretty relaxed. And it's co-ed.

    Academic Rigor

    Like any college, CLU of course has challenging courses. It all depends on how much time and effort you as a student put into your education. Hard work and studying really does pay off, and the professors can tell who works hard. They take this into consideration when giving final grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus isn't very big, but there is a lot going on. Be sure to look around everywhere- where the flagpole is, lots of events take place and there are also lots of posters taped to the ground showing upcoming events as well.

    In three sentences

    The student population is very diverse, and everyone is very accepting of one another. Class sizes are small, and for the most part the teachers are very kind and caring. Each student also is aided by a mentor that they are assigned their freshman year.

  • 04/07/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    28 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cal Lutheran is located in a safe community and there is also an on-campus security team. Even though there are security guards passing by, it does not feel like a prison. I always felt safe walking from class to my dorm in the evenings, however, anyone can call campus security if they would prefer that security walks with him.

    Greek Life

    Cal Lu is too small to have a Greek Life but the clubs and organizations make up for that.

    Clubs and Activities

    Every semester, every club and organization sets up a booth and advertises promotes their activities. There are plenty of clubs to join, including Poetry Slam, Black Students United, Gay/Straight Alliance. There is definitely something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Cal Lutheran is great for serious student seeking a higher level of education but also wants to make connections with others. Since it is such a small school, the students definitely have a better chance in becoming close to one another.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The freshman orientation is unlike anything I've ever experienced. Without spoiling too much, there are plenty of fun activities where you meet new people that may just become new friends. One of my favorite activities was climbing up Mount Clef, and painting the rocks that spell out CLU. This painting task always turns into a playful paint fight.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is a little pricey, but the money is definitely worth the experience.

    Food and Dining

    Although there is nothing like a home-cooked meal, Cal Lutheran definitely provides a wide range of foods. The cafeteria has three computers that students can order food from during breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is also little restaurant, The Centrum, that provides even more varieties of food. Also exciting, is the newly opened Jamba Juice on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I was skeptical at the thought of living with three other girls whom I had never met, however I quickly learned that there was no reason to worry. Not everyone will like their roommates, but the best part about the dorms is that it is easy to go to other rooms and meet new people. I also noticed that there seem to more of a connection between students who lived on campus, rather than those who commuted.

    Academic Rigor

    While the classes are intensive and do require participation, the teachers are well-qualified and provide a top-notch curriculum. Should a student fall behind, there are tutoring programs available. The course work is challenging, but is not impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are so many opportunities to take part in the student activities; I suggest any new students to join in them. Not only is there a Student Leadership which plans fun and educational events, there are also plenty of clubs to join as well. The best way to meet others is to become more involved in the school.

    In three sentences

    California Lutheran is an exceptional school! The clean, and safe campus provides for a wonderful learning experience. I would definitely recommend this school for others who are seeking a top education and plenty of student involvement activities.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    29 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    offer a lot of sports and activities for their students, including oversea programs.

    Food and Dining

    i have not tried their food yet

    Dorm Life

    i have not lived here before

    Tips for prospective students

    Have the money to attend the school. Apply to other UC schools, because they will give you a lower cost of attendance when they see that you are accepted into other schools.

    In three sentences

    It's a beautiful campus. I like that it is not as impacted, so I feel confident that I can be done with school in a timely manner. They seem to offer lots of different activities and events and research information for their students.

  • 06/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Thousand Oaks is very safe; theft is rare. Violent crime is nonexistent.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs. Campus events are frequent.

    Great for these types of students

    Division III athletes. Exercise Science/science majors. People who want a small school with good academics and good weather. People who want a college that doesn't shove religion in your face.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Scandinavian Festival (aka Scan Fest) during the spring is awesome. Apparently it's one of the biggest festivals of its kind in California; the weather and food is always great.

    Bang for the buck

    CLU is pretty expensive. We have great athletic facilities minus a track. Academic buildings are adequate.

    What to do for fun

    Borderline (line dancing) is fun. People go on Wednesday for college night. Decent amount of bars in Thousand Oaks. House parties. Tons of good hiking trails nearby. Beach is about 30 minutes away. Hundreds of places to eat in town. LA is about 45 minutes to an hour away.

    Food and Dining

    Two locations on campus: the Caf and the Centrum. Caf has a bigger menu, but you'll have to be careful what you order - some food can be bad. Centrum has a limited menu. Breakfast is always good at both places. Weekend food at the Caf is terrible. You'll probably want to eat out on the weekends.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are great, but generally have tough RAs. Sophomore and upperclassmen dorms are a lot more private - not everyone keeps their door open. Upperclassmen dorms can be very expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    College is really what you make it. We have tons of incredibly intelligent faculty, but how much of that intelligence is passed on to the student is debatable. If you make the effort, you will learn a lot. Very few classes and professors are completely hopeless. Political Science, Sociology, English, and Religion departments are excellent (in my experience). Exercise science is huge at CLU, and other science departments are big as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you want to go to small, D-III school before you commit.

    In three sentences

    CLU is a good option for people who want to go to small school. Generally great faculty - students who are active in their major department will get the most out of a Cal Lu education. Sports team seem to take social precedence at CLU, so you'll find yourself going to off-campus sports houses for parties.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The dining options the school has now aren't horrible, but it does get redundant throughout the year. Cal Lu offers a traditional dining hall, Centrum (cafe style), Jamba Juice, Mogen Market (open 5pm-12am), and a small kiosk. Cal Lu is currently starting to rebuild a new two floor dining hall that is scheduled to be finished after summer 2014.

    Dorm Life

    These are the best dorms you will have in college. The set up of the dorms, especially freshman, allows for people to open up. Two freshmen dorms have outside hallways, and during the first few weeks everyone leaves their doors open for new friends to drop by. A negative aspect is a 3 year contract to stay in dorms that is very hard to break with the school.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some VERY challenging courses at Cal Lu, but the Exercise Science program is very rewarding. I think it would easily prepare someone for graduate school if they are willing to put in the work. Business, Communications, Exercise Science are some of the most popular majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a good idea to bring a car to campus, since there are fun places to go within 10-30 minutes from campus. The size of the campus is easy to walk and get to classes on time. Cal Lu has an involved student government that is always planning new events and ways to get to know your classmates. Cal Lu is definitely very big on community.

    In three sentences

    Cal Lu offers an intimate classroom and learning environment where I feel I get to know my fellow classmates as well as my professors. For a small school, it is everything I could have wanted. Yes there aren't as many people as a traditional college, but the experiences and friends you meet will be deeper than anything you could achieve at a larger campus.

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see campus safety cars patrolling during the day and night

    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Nice people who are friendly and want to work hard.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are small, and allow a better connection with the professor. Also, there are so many free activities on campus such as Club Lu. Within the first two weeks, I had learned more than I did in a month of High School.

    What to do for fun

    There are always a ton of fun activities going on! Every other Friday the student body puts on these things called Club Lu's where there is a FREE activity for all of the students! These are so much fun! There was a carnival, casino night, outdoor movie, and more! Every week you get an email with a list of all of the activities that are going on during the week.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright... the cafeteria right now is not that great. But there is a new dining hall in the process of being built. Also, there is a cafe called the Centrum which has decent food, better than the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I am a Freshman who had the opportunity to live in an upperclassman dorm. Compared to the freshmen dorms, ours have way more room, and do not feel overcrowded. One thing that we do sacrifice though is making more freshmen friends, a lot of socializing goes on over on that side of campus. If you are not into socializing, apply for housing early and try to get into south hall! It's pretty awesome.

    Academic Rigor

    So far all I have taken are the Core 21 classes, a set of different classes that undergraduates are required to complete before graduation. So far, these are keeping pretty busy, but I am use to the work load because I took AP classes in High school which actually do prepare you somewhat.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even though it is a Lutheran school, students are not required to practice the religion, and are free to attend Chapel on Thursday's if they choose to. I am not from a religious background, and am enjoying the school.

    In three sentences

    A great school, with friendly students and environment. Cal Lutheran helps students decide what they want from their future, and nourish students who already know their plans.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    4 stars

    Dorm Life

    5 stars

    Academic Rigor

    5 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    Do great on your SAT's

    In three sentences

    California Lutheran University is a wonderful place to fulfill your academic dreams and goals of obtaining a higher education. This school faculty are amazing at helping an individual succeed in their education. The school also offers great study abroad programs for those looking to go over seas.

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will always see Campus Safety driving around to make sure students and staff are safe. There are also sections around the campus that have telephone boxes so that you can call in case of an emergency.

    Greek Life

    There are none.

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't that many clubs, but the clubs at Cal Lutheran include ones that most students are interested in like Poetry Slam, Hip Hop Organization, Circle K, College Democrats, etc. You are also able to create your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    International Students and students who don't want many distractions.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a small park near the upperclassman dorms that has swings. It is a great place to relax and feel like a kid again after being stressed about finals and midterms.

    What to do for fun

    Going on Beach Retreats, exercising at the gym, and going to school clubs are fun things to do. There are Club Lu's, which are events hosted by the school's student government, and students basically get to attend concerts, casino nights, and dances.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is amazing. There is Jamba Juice, a cafe, and a cafeteria. You won't be disappointed.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun. You meet many people and make lasting friendships.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are hard, but the teachers have office hours where you are able to go to them, and they will help you without hesitation.

    Tips for prospective students

    You are able to study abroad, but make sure to plan the rest of your college years with the office so that you receive the opportunity to learn in other countries. Also, live on campus, because you will be able to make more friends and attend more campus events.

    In three sentences

    California Lutheran University is a small and friendly campus. The staff and students here treat each other like family, and Cal Lutheran provides a lot of scholarships and opportunities to gain internships. Classes are never crowded so every student gets an opportunity to finish their graduation requirements.

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every student on campus feels extremely secure as CLU has an awesome campus security department who are all well trained, caring individuals.

    Greek Life

    I don't know much about the Greek Life on campus. Sorry.

    Clubs and Activities

    CLU clubs and activities are bountiful, and there is a club for almost every single student's hobbies and interests.

    Great for these types of students

    CLU is great for the SERIOUS students who want to be able to put CLU on their resume' as a well known school that has a high graduation rate and high rate of placement into successful jobs upon graduation.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's awesome to climb the mountain in from of Cal Lutheran University in order to participate in the painting of the rocks on the mountain. New freshman do this every year.

    Bang for the buck

    CLU tuition is what one would expect at a private university. However, I will again mention that the Professor to student ratio is low (about 17 to 1) and the curriculum is solid in order to prepare us for our future.

    What to do for fun

    There are MANY things to do on campus. There are literally dozens of clubs one can join, shopping is within walking distance, and all amenities are accessible.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the campus dining hall is made to order and pretty tasty.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at CLU is great! It is quiet when it needs to be, and fun when there's time for fun. Students are friendly and respect one another.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at CLU are rigorous, but manageable. You don't want to attend a college where academics are not rigorous because then you won't have a solid foundation for your future career goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're thinking about attending CLU, definitely take a campus tour during recruitment week. Once you visit, you won't want to leave. This visit will help you decide this is exactly where you want to be.

    In three sentences

    Cal Lutheran University is a terrific college with a low student to professor ratio, which is one of major reasons why I chose to attend CLU. My brother also graduated from CLU, which gave him a very strong foundation that allowed him to complete a Masters degree and led him into his current PhD program. I know that attending CLU will lead me in the same direction, which is why I love CLU!

  • 01/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Since the campus is so small, it is relatively save to begin with. CLU also has security that is driving around almost constantly.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are countless clubs at CLU. Anyone who is looking for something to get involved in will have no problem finding their niche.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like lots of individual help in the classroom and small campus communities would like CLU.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a statue of Martin Luther by the library, but everyone just calls it Gumby. Students dress up Gumby for each holiday throughout the school year.

    Bang for the buck

    Since CLU is a private school it is expensive, but CLU is good about giving a lot of scholarships which can help a lot.

    What to do for fun

    A lot of people actually go off campus on the weekends. For those who are over 21, there are a couple nice bars downtown.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of food options in Thousand Oaks. There are places like Claim Jumper, The Cheesecake Factory, and Bucca Di Beppo, along with almost countless other places as well. If you want to stay on campus there is the centrum as well as the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty nice. There is apartment style housing in Kramer Court which is near the classrooms. These apartments are really nice (considering they were built in the sixties); they have a lot of space and a full kitchen. Almost all other housing is on the other side of campus. This housing is newer, but there is less space.

    Academic Rigor

    Again, since the classes are so small, the professors are more invested in each individual student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class and pay attention! Since the class sizes are so small, the professors will notice!

    In three sentences

    CLU is a small campus with everything in a convenient location. The class sizes are small, which makes the professors more invested in your education. Almost everyone is friendly and willing to help out students.

  • 01/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many events going on around campus and there are always people hanging out in the dorms. Most people can find places to eat off campus and can go to the mall if they want to.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is all-you-can-eat style. The food is prepared well and the options are delicious.

    Dorm Life

    The suites are really nice and comfortable. The 2 person dorms are spacious with a lot of people to meet around you.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others, but if you keep on top of your work and go to class, they will be easy to finish and pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise all incoming freshman to get out of your dorm on the first night. Be friendly with people and they will be friendly back. Everyone is looking to be someones friend. Also, pay attention in classes and do you work as well as you can so that you can have fun and join clubs after you have finished.

    In three sentences

    California Lutheran University is a great private university that offers a lot of help and advice for students looking to graduate in four years with a undergraduate degree. It is in the nice, quiet community of Thousand Oaks and is a short drive away from the beach or Los Angeles. I would recommend California Lutheran University to anyone who wants a great education in a quiet, private school.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent, on call 24/7 and will even walk you to your car. Also on alert is the Resident Assistants who are always vigilant.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life, however, there are many organizations to join and plenty of other opportunities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Gumby is the statue on the north side of campus, it is a giant bronze statue of Martian Luther.

    Bang for the buck

    With the scholarships that I earn solely on my grades it is cheaper for me to attend CLU than any CSU or UC. Also, I get small classes, the classes that I need, and the teachers know who I am.

    What to do for fun

    There is many activities on campus, personally I like socializing with friends and going on hikes. We are not too far from the Santa Monica Mountain range which provides trails from 1 mile to 16 miles round trip.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is okay right now, however, in 2014 a new dinning commons is coming and it will all be updates and better.

    Dorm Life

    Residence halls foster a great living environment. These halls are not your typical halls, most have a private bathroom to four roommate so you have control over how clean it can be. Residence Assistants help build community and help break the ice.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes for first year students are not overwhelming but do provide an eye opener to what college is like. In your successive years the classes will become exponentially harder, however, it is your majors courses so they are interesting and come naturally.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit the campus, just because we are a Lutheran school does not mean you have to come to chapel. You can be of any faith, demographic, race, or sexual orientation... Everybody is welcome! Furthermore, there is much financial aid to help pay for college, just look at your acceptance letter.

    In three sentences

    California Lutheran University fosters a peaceful setting with numerous resources and small class sizes. Professors know most students by name, and come class registration you are able to get your classes. Over all CLU is an outstanding school academically.

  • 04/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    If you can afford it it is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    The beach is local, hang out with friends ect.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to pay.

    In three sentences

    Very expensive. Very good. I Love it.

  • 04/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is rare that theft or any other crimes take place on our campus. There is a lot of campus security, and you can always see them driving around.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life at CLU.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a plethora of clubs on campus, and you can start almost any kind of club you want if it doesn't already exist. We also have a ton intramural sports, which a lot of people are involved in. Our regular sports teams are all very good as well!

    Great for these types of students

    CLU is great for students that love to be involved. There are lots of volunteer opportunities, and there are a ton of clubs and teams that you can join as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During finals weeks there are free massages offered in the library, puppies brought to campus, and breakfast at midnight served in the cafeteria. They definitely make finals week a little less stressful!

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, this school is expensive. But is it worth it? YES. It is worth the money because you can talk one-on-one with professors easily, and they even know your name! Class sizes are small, perfect for class discussions and getting to know your classmates. The dorms are luxurious compared to most schools. Also, Thousand Oaks is a very nice place, and very beautiful all year!

    What to do for fun

    Every other week our student government puts on free events, most of which are extremely fun! Some of the events take place on campus, while others are around town. They range from bowling, to going to Sky High, to bringing real snow on campus and sledding!!

    Food and Dining

    As of right now, our cafeteria is very sub-par. However, we do have a cafe called the Centrum, which is very convenient because you can get all kinds of food to go. We are in the process of building a new dining commons which is going to be VERY nice! It will be finished in 2015.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are very nice! In comparison to state schools, we live like royalty here. Our bedrooms are spacious, four people share one bathroom, and everyone has their own closet space, desk, and dresser.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here range from very easy to very hard and involving a lot of work. It really depends on the class level and professor, but you can always find out these details by asking around and checking ratemyprofessor.com.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending CLU, you should come visit campus and see the accommodations first. You will be impressed! Also, if you have a car you should plan to take it to school with you because CLU is close to the beach and the city!

    In three sentences

    CLU is such a great school! From the staff to the students, everyone is so nice. Not to mention, CLU is close to Malibu AND Los Angeles--prime location!

  • 04/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus saftey is great here. There have never been any incidents on campus. All the dorms are accessed through ID badges.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of different kinds of clubs. Seems to be one for every interest. And if there isn't you can always start your own!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a garden by the baseball fields. There are different types of plants and even vegetables that students can pick if they want. We also do painting of the rocks which is a CLU tradition.

    Bang for the buck

    Students definitely get their money's worth. The campus is in a beautiful location and everyone that works there are really helpful and nice.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activites going on on campus. But clubs are great to join, meet new people and participate in something that you like to do. In general, the school always has activites for the students to participate in, like the color dash. Running while getting paint thrown on you with your friends, what could be better?

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. There is a Jamba Juice on campus. It will be better when the new caferteria is finished. It will have a lot more amenities. And overall it will just be a cool place to hang out.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great! It really makes making friends a whole lot easier. It is an experience in it self just to be living on your own and with other people. It's fun!

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculum is challenging but it is fun at the same time. It really engages students in different ways, individually and together.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to stay in the dorms if you can, it really helps to build relationships with classmates. Go to office hours for help, professors like to see students who are engaged and willing to learn. It also helps you stick out to the professor which can lead to help for potential job opportunities. Take advantage of all the workshops, they'll help in the long run. Attend the discussions pertaining to your major, also a help in deciding if you are on the right track or not.

    In three sentences

    California Lutheran University is an excellent school. The sense of community among the professors and students really enhances the college experience. Even though it is a smaller campus, it is a benefit to have professors readily available to help.

  • 05/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always patrolling. It is a very safe campus

    Greek Life

    No Greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs are offered

    Bang for the buck

    CLU is an expensive private institution but many scholarships are offered to help.

    What to do for fun

    The beach is about half an hour away, a few clubs in the area. Los Angeles is just a couple of hours down the road.

    Food and Dining

    Provided by Sodexo, but the school is currently building a new dining hall that should be completed in the following year

    Dorm Life

    CLU is a dry campus, but many students live on-campus

    Academic Rigor

    Lots of classes to take. You have your easy classes and your hard classes. Many core classes to take

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and keep your options open

    In three sentences

    CLU is a small liberal arts college in a very nice and clean city. The classes are small so students are able to build relationships with professors which are willing to provide extra help if needed. There is a large range of majors with many classes to take.

  • 07/05/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    43 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    excellent food !

    In three sentences

    Excellent school, with a amazing positive atmospheres. The professors I have had the pleasure to meet are very hopefully. i am sure they will be pleasant to work with during the school year.

  • 06/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are on campus 24/7 and really make sure everybody is safe.

    Greek Life

    CLU has no greek life, unfortunately.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs that a student can join at CLU. They range from religious clubs to Hispanic associations. There is always a club that one can join in at CLU and if not the process to create one is simple.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who would like to build long lasting relationships with their peers and really care about challenging themselves academically.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During orientation, freshmen usually go up to the CLU rocks and paint them!

    Bang for the buck

    Although CLU is a bit expensive, the teacher to student time that you get cannot be compared to any other campus. Teachers actually take the time to know your name and make time to meet with you, sometimes without an appointment!

    What to do for fun

    There is always something happening at CLU! Students can lounge by the pool or enjoy a game of basketball or beach volleyball. Students can go to the state of the art gym or enjoy lounging in the dorm lounge while watching a movie on the flatscreen TV.

    Food and Dining

    With the new Ullman commons coming soon, the quality of the food should increase ten fold. Before, students could order from the Cafeteria or the Centrum. CLU is pretty healthy and also offers a wide variety of vegetarian and vegan food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty slow at CLU. There are no wild parties' but there are many events which students can go to. The RA's put on little get togethers such as a pancake night or a just dance game night. Students rally around playing games and sport rather than going out to party.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes at CLU are very fast paced, depending on when you have your classes some will be for 50 minutes or some for 2 hours. The professor usually gives you an overview of what they expect from you, so follow their advice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the fact that this is a Lutheran school scare you. Everyone is super open to many religions and sexual preferences. Even though tuition here is a bit expensive, the scholarship office gives out many scholarships for you to apply to, so take advantage of that.

    In three sentences

    CLU is the friendliest campus you will ever step foot on. All of the students make you feel welcome and want you to be a part of their group. The professors get to know you on a one-on-one basis, you are not just an ID number to them.

  • 09/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life.

    Food and Dining

    The Thousand Oaks campus always has food.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in the Dorms but all my friends loved it.

    Academic Rigor

    It can be intense but not impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Understand it is a private Lutheran University so if you are interviewing they want to know your values line up with theirs. Also, it is a pleasant and happy campus, make sure you smile. If you want this to be where you go to school, let them know it.

    In three sentences

    A nice small school who is interested in helping their students succeed. They are always willing to help a student in need and professors are always available. It is a great school.

  • 10/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are malibu beaches not too far from campus, there's usually a good amount of activities on campus that usually go on throughout the whole year. It's not as easy to find a ton of stuff to do in Thousand Oaks but look hard enough and you'll find something.

    Food and Dining

    For college food, the food at cal lutheran is actually really good. It can get annoying because you eat it everyday but theres such a good variety that you won't be like sickened over it like some other colleges.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life isn't bad, its just some circumstances that make it not 5 stars worthy. It's very safe and people generally don't go and steal other people's stuff. You get your own bathroom, no communal showers with the whole hall so thats good. But they don't really match a lot of people up that are similar, some people got super lucky with their roommates while others are miserable. Also they are very strict with partying and noise.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here are a good size and you get more one on one with the teacher if you have any questions. The classes do teach you and get you prepared for harder courses once you reach that level. The classes aren't too hard here but obviously it depends on your major and class you're taking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do all of your work on time, they don't usually take late assignments. If you're looking for a party school, this isn't it. If you want to have fun and meet people, you need to go get involved because thats the best way to do it here, nothing is going to just come to you.

    In three sentences

    Cal Lutheran is a very small & more of a quiet school. This school has some great classes you can take and the teachers are generally really well at answering your questions. The campus life is somewhat dry but they still have many things you can do to make it a little more exciting!

  • 10/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the beach, shopping, bars, restaurants, hiking, clubs, and relaxing with friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships because there is a lot of money to give away!

    In three sentences

    Great atmosphere and community feel. Caring and helpful professors. Fun and exciting events on campus.

  • 10/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Super safe campus.

    Greek Life

    No such thing.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are probably a hundred different clubs on campus. No exaggeration. You like something? You can find people gathering to talk about it.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for people who aren't looking to party but want plenty of research and interning opportunities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Gumby. It's this huge millions-dollar statue that everyone mocks. It's supposed to be Martin Luther but looks like a giant gold gumby.

    Bang for the buck

    A little expensive for what you get but the class sizes are small and the professors passionate.

    What to do for fun

    Too much to list here! There are tons and tons of clubs. Occasional off-campus parties. Huge mall right down the road with tons of great food and shopping.

    Food and Dining

    Great food but inaccessible under current management.

    Dorm Life

    Not much goes on inside the dorms (though I did love the lord of the rings nights...)- it's all about the clubs on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Varies a lot depending on the professor. Core classes are par for the course but major classes are rigorous and challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider joining music, theater, or religious studies-there are a lot of scholarship opportunities in those areas.

    In three sentences

    Awesome school with great people. It prepares you for your future career and teachers are really passionate. Not a party school and not huge on athletics.