Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

California Lutheran University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always Campus Safety Officers around and, on the off chance that there is an issue, there are safety call boxes located around campus where you can call for help.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life at CLU and we're proud of that. By not having a Greek Life, students at CLU are more united and have friendships that form with people that they might never expect.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something to do at CLU. There are plenty of clubs and activities to join. You will never be bored.

    Great for these types of students

    CLU is great for students who are willing to work. Classes aren't always incredibly difficult, but you do need to show up to class and do your assigned work. It's a place for students who want a friendly campus, and a personal relationship with their professors. CLU is a place where students can become their best

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Freshman go through a ritual during orientation where they hike up a hill and paint the rocks that spell out CLU. By the end, there's more paint on your body than there is on the rocks.

    Bang for the buck

    CLU is a bit pricey, but they do provide good financial aid. The teachers here go out of their way to try to help you and if you need extra help, there always Departmental Assistants and tutors ready to help you. It's definitely worth the price.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something that you can do on Campus at CLU. There are sports games at least 2/5 days of the work week and there are different clubs that meet every single day. From College Republicans and Democrats, to the Philosophy Club, to the Gospel Ensemble, there's always a way to keep yourself entertained when you need a break from studying. Student Life also organizes tons of outings to local places for CLU students to relax on Friday nights.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria here is pretty good. The Centrum, however, has such a variety of delicious food that you could try a new food every day for a month! There's also a place to grab snacks called the Purple People Eater, which is located in the middle of the classroom area. Oh, and did I mention there's a Jamba Juice on campus, as well?

    Dorm Life

    The residence halls (aka dorms) at CLU are wonderful! Each suite has it's own bathroom area so you're sharing a bathroom with about six people instead of the 100 people that live on your floor. If you're super social, there's always someone that you can talk to, but if you need to get work done, there are study rooms set aside in each residence hall so that you can study in peace.

    Academic Rigor

    CLU has many different levels of classes. There are some classes that are fairly easy, but there are some that are very intense and require lots of work. However, the classes that are are the most work are the most rewarding and those are the classes that you'll not only learn the most in , but like the most as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get involved with something on campus. I know that you hear that all of the time, but being part of a sports team or club really helps to make your experience at CLU more rewarding.

    In three sentences

    CLU has such a friendly atmosphere! It's really easy to feel like you're at home here. The food is pretty good too!

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Thousand Oaks is one of the safest communities in California. I have never seen or heard of ANY crime in my nearly 2 years of living here. Parking on campus is free and though parking spots can be difficult to find at prime times, walking to and from your car is very safe. The campus is well lit and patrolled 24 hours a day. All buildings require a pass card that students carry with them at all times. You cannot enter a building without one so there are no strangers roaming the halls!

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a two year member of the Varsity Women's soccer team and the Track and Field team. I am also a referee for the on campus intramural sports. I attend most of the sporting activities - football, basketball, volleyball, and water polo games - as well as the weekly improv concerts.

    Great for these types of students

    CLU is great for students that want to have very active social lives. It is a small school so you meet others easily. Most of my friends participate in a majority of the on-campus activities. I know a lot of the other people in my classes so I usually have someone with whom to study. I have also found that I really like my teachers and spending time talking with them. They are there because they like the small school setting and are always available to offer extra help when needed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During your first year at CLU, all freshman paint the CLU rocks that are on Mt. Clef. The mountain overlooks our campus and our CLU gets a makeover. You also have Freshman orientation which lasts 4 days - you definitely get to know your campus during that time. Big weekends are also Homecoming, Grandparents Day, Parents Weekend, and of course, graduation. Our campus is very active on during these events and it is a lot of fun.

    Bang for the buck

    CLU is expensive. Bottom line. So come prepared to finish your degree in four years. And because it is such a small school, your ability to get all the classes you need in that time is quite easy. Many of my friends enrolled in the State school system will need to go an extra semester or two due to impaction and budget constraints. I will be able to finish on time, if not earlier. Living on campus is about the same cost as living off campus. Thousand Oaks is an upscale community and rents can be high. Living on campus offers safe, clean apartments, kitchens, meal options, and convenience. Entrance fees to on-campus activities is usually free so there is almost always something to do that is in your budget.

    What to do for fun

    We usually do things on campus on the weekends. Most of the time though, we go to CLU sponsered events such as sports, concerts, and other free activities that are offered. We shop quite a bit. The malls are great and there are outlet stores that make it affordable. There are many great spots to go out to eat, too.

    Food and Dining

    At the beginning of each semester, you are able to choose a meal plan that best fits your needs - three meals a day or even just one. There are a couple of different options on campus that allows you to use your meal plan and bonus points. We have a regular cafeteria that we can get hot meals three times a day. The hours are OK, but the weekends are fairly limited. We also have The Centrum. It is sort of a cafe that you order your meal from a menu. They have specials as well, but the nice thing about this that your food is prepared when you order it...and to your specifications and you can also get it to go, which is helpful in between classes. At the Student Union Building (SUB) you can purchase pre-made sandwiches and fast easy meals if you are in a hurry. There is a new Jamba Juice that makes awesome smoothies and Mogan Mart where you can use your points to buy snacks and limited groceries. Once you are an upperclassman, your dorm room will have a kitchen so you can prepare your own meals and keep your meal plan at a minimum, if you so choose.

    Dorm Life

    I love living on campus. While it is required to live on campus for the first two years, it is not uncommon for students to remain in the dorms for all four years. There are different dorms for each grade, with larger rooms, private bedrooms, and kitchens in the upperclassmen dorms. Since CLU is a private Lutheran school, there are no overnight guests of the opposite sex. If you choose to break that rule and the Resident Assistant catches you, you are subject to disciplinary action. Same goes for alcohol. CLU is a dry campus and no matter how old you are, it is prohibited. Be aware that if you are even in a room where someone has alcohol, you are considered in violation of the rule and will be disciplined. Continued infractions can result in being asked to leave and not being able to live on campus during the rest of your time at CLU. During my Freshman year, I roomed with three other girls I didn't know before school started. We had to make adjustments, but in the end, we had a really fun year. I chose to live with other athletes this year since we have similar schedules and waking up early didn't bother other people. It got old dressing in the dark for early morning workouts!

    Academic Rigor

    Your teachers are going to KNOW you. Your class size is small and you WILL be noticed if you aren't in class. This is not the school to come to and think you can skip classes. You will be expected to participate in class and actually learn the material. Additional assistance is very accessible. Your instructors want you to succeed and go out of their way to make sure you do so! There are a lot of bright students here so if your teacher grades on a curve, you will have to study to maintain good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study a lot, learn a lot, and have a lot of FUN. The small setting is ideal for the student that wants to know their teachers, their fellow students, and even the administration. Getting assistance from the business department at most schools can be frustrating. At CLU, you have a person that you go to each time for personal assistance when necessary. We have wonderful school spirit. I am an athlete and love when students come to my games so I like to reciprocate and go to other sporting events, too. We have excellent teams and having enthusiasm is easy! Be prepared to have a great education. The faculty advisers really get to know you. They truly care about you and even know you by name. They take the time to help you plan your classes and what works for you so that you graduate on time.

    In three sentences

    1. A very supportive environment and success is the priority. 2. CLU is a small school and its students are very loyal. 3. A bit pricey, but it is a first class education in every way.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No problems so far at all.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs if you wish to be a a club member. Activities that I generally do are listed above.

    Great for these types of students

    Any.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The cafe is great. The new football stadium is awesome!! Actually all the sports facilities are pretty awesome.

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive, but my classes are small, my instructors have been great & I'm on track to graduate in 4 years.

    What to do for fun

    For fun we go to the beach, attend sporting events & just hang out.

    Food and Dining

    I really like the food, especially at the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    My freshman dorm was very cool. It was close to food services. I had a n end unit so it was quite when I needed to study.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm a physics major. The classes have been great, but you have to put the effort in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study hard. Remember this is a Div 3 University.

    In three sentences

    Cal Lu is fun. Cal Lu is in an awesome area. Cal Lu has cool people.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I attend the Oxnard location sattlelite site and they offer a variety of vending machines with drinks, snacks, candy, food and ice cream. They provide a large dining area and couch area along with a small kitchen with a refrigerator and microwave.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus with my husband.

    Academic Rigor

    I have problems studying for tests. Sometimes I feel as much as I read the book and view power point presentations, I'm not absorbing the information like I should. That's usually a sign to take a break. Taking a break does help. The teachers here are well educated and have a lot of experience so they expect more from you, but they help you every step of the way. It is hard work, but I know I am getting a great education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read! Read!Read! Reading the book plays a huge role in absorbing the information and keeping its stored in your mind. Ask many question because the instructors encourage it. Get to know your classmates. Everyone in the classes are there to learn and in my experience they are nice and willing to help any time.

    In three sentences

    California Lutheran University is a wonderful school. The instructors there are very well educated and helpful. The administration is very helpful, kind and patient.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I havent had a chance yet.

    Food and Dining

    Everything looks clean and delicious.

    Dorm Life

    I can not wait to move in.

    Academic Rigor

    All the classes will help me in the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    I am one.

    In three sentences

    Once a person walks onto the campus you feel at home. I love how everyone is so friendly and welcoming. I already feel about of a family once I talk to someone.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    People respect other people's belongings. Valuables are out in the open and when the owner returns, their belongings are still where they were left.

    Clubs and Activities

    various. its stange if there is no free food at club meetings

    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated, driven, small environment campus for smaller class size for easier to focus and 1 on 1 attention and extra help

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    CLU rocks, its a climb.

    Bang for the buck

    Most likely to get class of your choice, financial availability is provided for most students. Much of tuition is invested in student benefits such as updated wifi, free events for students, and school supplies.

    What to do for fun

    Club Lu events

    Food and Dining

    Good stuff. Try the centrum

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate!

    In three sentences

    Great School. Friendly and willing to help staff. Great teachers.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    THERE IS PLENTY TO DO! The campus is always booming with student activities. Outside of campus, we are close enough to Los Angeles for al ot of fun too.

    Food and Dining

    During the school year, Campus Dining is great. Our caf is all you can eat, with many different stations that you can stop by. For example, we have My Meal My Way. These are simple little kiosks all around the Caf (for short) with options for you to choose and customize. Then it prints up a number and the plate is made specifically for you and your number is called. We also have a fresh stirfry station, sushi bar, soup, salad and deli bar, and dessert bar. We also have homemade waffle bar and pancake bar, along with many other themed days that the Caf comes up with.

    Dorm Life

    I LOVED LIVING ON CAMPUS. Yes, our campus does prohibit alcohol- but with all the activities and aweome things going on, there is always something to do. It doesn't mean that you cannot drink. You just cannot do it on campus. Trust me when I say there are still many people who indulge in alcohol OUTSIDE of campus. CLU will even teach you how to do it responsibly. The dorms themselves are large and comfortable suite-style apartments. Even for Freshmen, you are given such nice living arrangements. Every suite has their own bathroom so no community shower area at the end of the hallway. It is literally like living in an apartment with some roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    As a communication major, I will admit that the level of work was not necessarily the most rigorous. BUT what I will say- is that during my time at Cal Lutheran, I was taught to think the more critically than I ever have in my life. With the CORE 21 experience, you dip a little bit into every department, and get a feel for the introductory courses. For example, my Philosophy course was one of the most interesting and pivotal classes of my college career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to step out of your comfort zone. Because of this campus' small culture, you will be recognized, and you will not be able to hide. This (even though you may not see it now) is a HUGE advantage as you begin to network in the field you are interested in. Professors usually always have experience or know people in the field, and because you will already have a one-on-one mentorship relationship with them, it makes it that much easier for them to help you.

    In three sentences

    Cal Lutheran for me was an amazing decision. Because of the small campus culture and the ability to get to know the majority of people on campus, it makes it very easy to get involved and build your network. The involvement experiences, experiences abroad and networking experiences I have had- they have made my experience here one to remember.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Compared to a traditional 4 year college, tuition is a little more at Cal Lu, but I will finish my degree program faster and they have a job placement program for all students.

    What to do for fun

    Doesn't apply to my situation.

    Food and Dining

    Doesn't apply to my situation.

    Dorm Life

    Doesn't apply to my situation.

    Academic Rigor

    They have online classes in addition to classroom ones. I have been able to keep up with the homework and assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend the information session and find out if this is the program for you. I had went to two other schools and after comparing them, Cal Lu was the perfect one for my needs and goals.

    In three sentences

    The ADEP program is a perfect fit for me. I am a single mom who works full time so this program is wonderful for anyone looking to complete their degree.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am apart of the Programs Board here and it is our job to put on as many free, fun events as possible to enhance the student life. It is not difficult to get involved here!

    Food and Dining

    The new latest and greatest feature of the Cafe is the kiosk. You can order whatever you want and have it ready in minutes!

    Dorm Life

    Cal Lu does an exceptional job creating a positive atmosphere in the dorms with plenty of free events and an open-door policy with each staff member.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes challenge you, but do not expect too much. Everything is attainable with a good work ethic.

    Tips for prospective students

    Cal Lu has plenty of financial aid opportunities within the school so make sure to apply for those scholarships and grants as early as possible. Once arriving to campus, reach out to as many people as possible and get to know your professors on a first-name basis because they are more than willing to help.

    In three sentences

    It is the most helpful college you could ever imagine. Each member of this community is here to serve the needs of students to the fullest extend. The open-minded atmosphere is welcoming to students of all backgrounds and beliefs.

  • 11/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Cal Lu Security staff are awesome, friendly, helpful, trustworthy, and care about those that they serve (you and me, and everyone else on or near campus!). They rock!

    Clubs and Activities

    Once again, visit for more info.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like blending into the background, and moving along anonymously within a large crowd, than Cal Lu may not be the school for you. Here, there's no such thing as the anonymous student. There's a feeling of family at Cal Lu, and healthy families thrive when everyone is involved. Cal Lu is for the type of student that wants to engage with other students, professors, and anyone else they might encounter on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Every penny is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There's too much to list, and it would be best to visit this link (http://www.callutheran.edu/student_life/) to learn more.

    Food and Dining

    Even though the food at Cal Lu is good, not all of it is healthy. I have very high standards for what I eat, because we truly are what we eat, and the last thing that I want to be is a walking chemical preservative. I would like to see more of the unhealthy food replaced, but, for the most part, there are many healthy choices that are just as delicious as the unhealthy choices.

    Dorm Life

    This doesn't apply to me, since I live in Ventura, CA, and I commute to Cal Lu each day. However, many of my friends live on campus, and they rarely have bad things to say about their dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Truthfully, I want to rank the academic rigor of Cal Lu at 3 stars, because I don't think the workload is too intense. But, I am not your typical college student, and my definition of a heavy workload is probably different from the average 18-22 year-old. I am older than 25, and I actually like all of the work involved in school. Some see course work as arduous, but I see it as an ongoing opportunity to improve, regardless of the importance-value that one might assign to the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get rid of expectations: There will be many challenges thrown your way (unruly roommates, difficult assignments, professors that get under your skin), but the fewer your expectations of the way that you think things should be, the easier you will find it to be to deal with those challenges. Get involved: There are tons of clubs and activities to enjoy at Cal Lu, and it's not healthy to be a hermit, spending all of your free time on homework, or surfing the net. Be approachable and friendly: Don't be afraid to talk to anyone and everyone about all sorts of topics, and we can all agree that life is so much more enjoyable when we treat everyone else like a friend.

    In three sentences

    Cal Lu is rad. It is a place where students can not only grow by leaps and bounds as free-thinking individuals, but also a place that constantly reminds you of how dependent we are on each other to improve as individuals. No one is lost in the crowd at Cal Lu, thanks to smaller class sizes and a genuinely caring faculty/staff, and we are challenged to be global citizens that have a positive impact locally and globally.

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always on patrol plus there are emergency phones placed around campus. It's also in one of the safest rated cities in the country, Thousand Oaks.

    Greek Life

    Non-existant, the school doesn't have one or plan to, but here it feels unnecessary.

    Clubs and Activities

    The school has a WIDE rang of clubs and activities open to everyone, and it even gives you the opportunity and resources to start something yourself.

    Great for these types of students

    This school honestly fits just about any type of student, from serious to slightly less so, but in a way that both are happy and doing what they are doing.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is expensive, it is a private university, but at the same time it's worth it for the opportunities that this small private school throws at you.

    What to do for fun

    There are many intermurals and activities around campus to keep you busy, as well as different types of activities to find off.

    Food and Dining

    I love the caf on the CLU campus, you get to know the polite staff very quickly and the food options are great!

    Dorm Life

    I've been best friends with my roommates since freshman year, I know that doesn't happen for everyone, but first years are really given the opportunity to branch out with the location and layouts of the freshman dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major the difficulties will very, I am a Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, and Philosophy major, so from my perspective there is the right amount of challenge but there is also the right amount of resources for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the professors in your major, you will see them and get to know them through out your time at CLU.

    In three sentences

    California Lutheran University is a small private liberal arts university consisting of about 5000 students. It's a very good school to really get to know your professors, and get many opportunities for both research and internships. One of the key beauties of this school is the closeness you develop with the staff, here you are not just a number.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Serious about their education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that come to mind.

    What to do for fun

    It's 30-60 minutes outside of Los Angeles, so there is a bunch to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find scholarships!

    In three sentences

    Great professors. Nice campus. Small, intimate class size.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Thousand oaks is one of the safest cities in the US. I feel safe walking around the campus by myself at all times of the day. Shoot I even feel comfortable walking around the local areas by myself. But our campus safety is always there to help and they're very thorough with their jobs. We even have little call/help boxes around campus in case of a (very unlikely) emergency

    Greek Life

    NONE HERE! It's so much more of an open and accepting environment. I have never in my time here heard anyone say man I wish we had sororities and fraternities here. We decide who our friends are and we're all open to adding to our friends groups!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are too many clubs for me to list them all, I guess you'll just have to come to school here and come to the fair that we put on to show off all of the clubs and organizations that the students have going on around campus!

    Great for these types of students

    Committed to their future, friendly and open to new experiences, open to asking questions and sharing their opinion.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have 2 mascots. Kingsmen for the guys and Regals for the women. We have a huge cross planted on the top of a hill that some people like to go on a run to.

    Bang for the buck

    It's all worth it. The experience you get from the sensational campus, the teachers, the groundskeepers, the cooks, the cashiers, the staff... Everyone is so friendly and always willing to help or answer questions. This is one of the best places to start a life!

    What to do for fun

    It's impossible to be bored around here. With how many club possibilities there are to be in and how many student life programs are put on, you're always busy doing something fun with your friends. Going to sports events is fun, swimming in the pool is a great time, and just hanging out in the dorms or lounges is always a great time.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is nothing to complain about. We have a cafeteria with touch screen kiosks that you order food from, and it comes out a little bit later. There's also a salad bar, desert bar, drinks area, bread area, and gluten free area. We also have a cafe on campus called the Centrum where its a little more like a restaurant. They have a great menu and you get to watch them make your food! Oh yeah and there's also a JAMBA JUICE ON CAMPUS.

    Dorm Life

    As long as you don't lie on the roommate dorm survey, then you'll end up with people a lot like you! Then sophomore year you can choose who you want to live with if you want to change. The dorms themselves are absolutely awesome though! They're almost like apartments and they get better and better every year you stay on campus!

    Academic Rigor

    Keep up your GPA, and don't let your academic guard down. Perception is key when it seems like you're working and your friends aren't. Grind away and it'll pay off when you graduate on time and end up with an amazing life-setting career! Keep focused but remember that you don't have to know what you want to do with your life right this instant. Keep up talking with your faculty advisers and make sure to sign up with the program 4 To Finish!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships, join clubs, talk to current students, talk to staff. Everyone here goes out of their way to help! Also, pack light when you come for your freshman year. Don't end up with too much stuff and not enough places to put it! Plus, when you move back out for the summer, you've accumulated even MORE stuff! So prioritize your material items.

    In three sentences

    This school is life changing in the aspects that I have met the people that are going to be a big part of the rest of my like. The teachers are for the most part the best part about this school, because they remember you for all the years you are here, and even after that. The campus is beautiful because of our outstanding groundskeepers and the atmosphere is so relaxed and friendly, that it's impossible not to strive for the future.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. Security is easy to get a hold of, and overall is a very safe campus. do not feel nervous at all walking around the campus past midnight alone.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately, there are no frats or sororities.

    What to do for fun

    If you have a car (or friends with a car) go out exploring! Thousand Oaks is an amazing city with tons to do. L.A, Beverly Hills, Hollywood, and Magic Mountain are also decently close by with tons of sights, museums, clubs, etc. There's also a few 18+ clubs in Thousand Oaks, like the Arena. On campus there are millions of clubs for just about everything and there's always free events going on. You will never be bored at Cal Lu!!

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria food is not that great. It's really easy to get sick of it. However, at the Centrum Cafe, the food is absolutely AMAZING!! Only downside is that its closed on the weekends. There is also a Jamba Juice on campus that your meal plan will work on.

    Dorm Life

    People keep their doors open, and you can just walk in if you choose. Everyone is friendly and its easy to meet tons of people in your hall. I'd recommend Pederson or Thompson Halls over Mount Clef as year after year those two tend to be more social due to the living room set up and opposed to Mount Clef's bedroom set up.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard and challenging, but not unmanageable. Put in a few hours studying and you will be fine. Work hard and then play hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and visit the campus and try to do an overnight trip! It's the best way to see what life is like at Cal Lu.

    In three sentences

    I like the smaller school environment. It's way easier to make friends here than at bigger colleges and everyone is nice and friendly. The freshmen dorms are really nice and close together, so you can visit other halls and make friends with people regardless of what dorm they live in.

  • 02/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is an amazing mall, The Oaks, just down the road, close access to the beaches of Malibu and there are endless possibilities as LA is just a short drive away.

    Food and Dining

    There is a great variety of food, from American to Japanese to Italian!

    Dorm Life

    Each dorm unit is it's own community really, but inter-dorm relationships are completely friendly. The RAs put together dorm events to bring everyone together and have fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Not going to lie--college academic work is difficult. However, the professors truly want you to learn and grow, creating an enthusiastic learning environment that makes the work seem worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus during the week and eat lunch in the cafeteria or sit in on a class to experience what CLU has to offer.

    In three sentences

    CLU offers a one of a kind educational experience. With smaller classroom sizes, you feel like an individual, not just a number lost in a sea of students. It really possesses a sense of family and community here.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    one thing we never worry about is getting broken into we are safe.

    Greek Life

    I learned a bit of greek

    Great for these types of students

    for everyone even though the majority of the kids on campus are white

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have a tradition on the football team to get a brick everytime we knock someone on their but, offcourse only on the football field, and they must have the ball unfortunately

    Bang for the buck

    this school is deffinetly worth the price!!!!!

    What to do for fun

    I play N.C.A.A football here I love it

    Food and Dining

    the food here is great they have touch screen dining options, and we have the centrum. Again its very pricym but if you have money you will eat good.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus way to exspensive to live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    teachers here are very tough, this university by far is academically tuff.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to meet with the teacher before the middle of the semester, and always sit in front, and ask questions teachers here see that as a motive to be succesfull.

    In three sentences

    very fun and educational, but it is very exspensive I advise anyone that is planning on attending there to get excellent grades. They are a great school the teachers their really care about the students.

  • 03/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    A new dining center is being built that will expand food selection!

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, but they look nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging classes.

    In three sentences

    The campus is small enough that you will never miss a class. The staff is wonderful in helping will all academic needs. The teachers actually care that you are understanding and learning the material.