Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

California State University-Bakersfield Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/19/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who perform best in smaller classes. Students who need extra help from professors. Student who appreciate the pros of a smaller campus. Students who may not know what their major is yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak to advisors early, and get applications in on time. Visit the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    With recent state budget cuts some classes have had to be cut from the curriculum. Fees have also gone up in the past year due to budget cuts. However, this university still has the great classes needed to complete a degree.

    Am enjoying being here

    Because this university is so small, you will share many classes with the same people. I have made many friendships in a very short time while being here. This is a beautiful campus, and I love coming here. The wide array of clubs and extracurricular activities are also things I enjoy immensely

    Am learning a lot

    This university is very small which is extremely beneficial, because it allows the professors to be able to work very closely, and often on a one-on-one basis, with their students. All of the professors that I've had know me by name, and this has helped me tremendously because it is easier to get help when I need it. The professors at this university truly care about their students, and it shows in the attention and detail they put into their classes.

  • 07/11/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student majoring in nursing, business, and teaching.

    Tips for prospective students

    Because college teachers do not collect homework each student needs to find there own motivation for getting their homework done on time.

    Bang for the buck

    1513 is the average tuition cost for each quarter

    Am enjoying being here

    The school has everything a student might be looking for. The school has a recreation center, a health center, a counselling center, a library, and a career development center. What more could you ask for?

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers at CSU Bakersfield strive to provide an atmosphere that both teaches as well as entertains, for that reason I feel like I am constantly learning.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus saftey is top notch. there are fiealarms and emergency towers all over campus so you can feel safe whereever you are. the police are on campus and no more then a couple minutes walk aay. they usually make rounds thoughout the school and sometimes the dorms . the ra on duty is also around the clock so if you need something just call the number and they come and help you.

    Clubs and Activities

    if you want to join a club there is no shortege of them anywhere. there is an entire week dedicated to them and the park is filled with booths and people. you can even create your own club if youd like which is always fun.

    Bang for the buck

    i honestly thnk its worth it. the amount you need to pay compared to the education you get is fair. however if there is one negative side its that tuition is going up very soon and thats not a good thing.

    What to do for fun

    well for starters the gym is always a great place to go because you can get in shape and there are tons of people. the commons are a good place to go because they have a ping-pong table and recently they added a pool and foosball table. on top of that you can go to sporting events and cheer with the rest of csub. though be sure to bring your a-game because we get serious when we cheer. if you live in the dorms there is always something fun going on wheather it be video games or kareoke in the halls funs just around the corner. the weekend is definitly the best time to have fun because there are parties everywhere so if you like to have at parties you can sure to find one somewhere.

    Food and Dining

    to be completly honest the commons don't have the best food and they should really work on that. last quarter they had very greasy oily pizza but, they have been improving it this quarter. the commons will always have burgers, pizza , salad bar and fruit. depending on who's making the burger sometimes they will make it a double or maybe even a triple so be sure to make friends with the staff. somdays the food will be really good and on other the very opposite it all depends. but, fret not because there is togo's (a sandwitch shop) oncampus that always makes great sandwitches. also the commons do sell other food to which is always good but it is a little pricy at times.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life i think just might be the best part of the campus. there are tons of people to make friends in and the ra's don't waste any time in making parties or get togethers for the residents. the buildings are not the biggest building but they are nice and new. during the week the dorms will tend t bet quiet but towards the night it does get a little loud. thats because there will tend to be people playing their gamecude, xbox, or nintendo 64(i being one of them). for the people at the dorms the weekend starts on friday because thats the day some don't have class or its the day of the video game championships to determine who's name will be put up on the wall of championsee but, mostly thats when the parties start. oh and if you find yourself low on cup of noodles don't fret because theres always someone willing to help you out.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes vary quite a bit. some class you will find extremely easy and fly right through them. however there are some classes that are very challenging and will push your llearning skills to the max. because the school is on a quarter system meaning ten weeks the classes go by incredibly fast so be sure to manage your time wisely or else run the risk f falling behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    the sun does get hot in bakersfield so definitely have some sunscreen or a hat. wear confortable shoes if your going to walk to class because the ground is mostly pavement so it can hurt your feet after a couple hours of walking. use the gym they have there its great. there are tons of people there so you csan workout with a friend or find some new friends too.

    In three sentences

    csub is really a university where the people make the college. it's not the most glamorous school in california but the friendships you make with the other students and staff really make the university worth while. overall i belive that csub is a great school where there is great potential to learn.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is definitely 5 stars because there is security everywhere. there are a number of security poles that you can activate if you feel unsafe at any point by pressing a button.

    Great for these types of students

    this college is great for students that maintained at least a 2.0 gpa in high school. it is great for a student who wants to experience the college life but not get overwhelmed in a ginormous institution.

    What to do for fun

    there are a few things to do for fun. you can join clubs and get acclimated more with the school. also, you can participate in events that are thrown by the university. the most fun thing to do though is to go to the student rec center. it is amazing!

    Food and Dining

    the food at the commons is mediocre at best. i label this 3 stars because i have not been to other universities to compare csub's food to. the food is nothing great just average food as if you were back in your high school cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    i give the dorm life 3 stars because they are pretty average. there is nothing exceptional or out of the ordinary about the dorms. what the dorm life does give you is a well rounded social college experience.

    Academic Rigor

    i give this 5 stars because it is excellent. i feel that my professors actually want me to succeed in their classes. they give me all of the tools i need to better my education.

    Tips for prospective students

    a tip for prospective students would be to come to this college ready to learn. if you have a positive mind set, you will understand the subject in which you are taking. another tip would to be make the writing lab resource your friend because it helps out a lot.

    In three sentences

    california state university bakersfield is a very good college to attend. the tuition is the lowest of all cal state schools. the professors are good and actually care about their students.

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus at night and at day have police officers looking after the campus. also if you ever need an emergency or anyone to walk you to your car there is a specific number to call and an officer will be sent to look after you and walk you to the car.

    Greek Life

    there is a variety of booth stands to choose from to get into a sorority of fraternity. they work with you and your schedule. they have plenty of events and fun activities.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a variety of clubs but if for some reason there is not a club you want, you can start the club youself.

    What to do for fun

    there are sororities in campus in case if one does not have anything to do. there is also free access to the school gym it is one of the best gyms from the cal states. also there are plenty of groups to get involved with. there are also events and sports to join on ones spare time.

    Food and Dining

    the food and dinning at the commons is great because they cook a variety of meals. if there is a meal one does not like there are dinning dollars to be able o go buy at other food place in campus.

    Dorm Life

    the residential area has been great we all get to meet new people and see different faces all the time. its an unforgettable experience not only to one but to everyone in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    in every educational department the teachers and staff will do their best to work with you and will even extend their office hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    tips i would recommend to other students will be to apply to as many scholarships as they can because tuition has increased.

    In three sentences

    a ten out of ten rate is what cal state bakersfield deserves to receive due to the fact that it has taught me how to value our environment. also because it has had plenty of educational opportunities not only for my intended major but also for my personality. i have had a great residential and educational experience that i would recommend for other students to apply to this school.

  • 01/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 6 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    csub has lots of athletic games to attend. we have workshops, sororities/frats, and even a homecoming! the market place is right next to the school where you can find the movie theater, some places to eat and also shop.

    Food and Dining

    we have quite a few places to buy food. lots of options are always nice!

    Dorm Life

    i don't live in the dorms, but i've heard they aren't that bad.

    Academic Rigor

    not as hard as a uc, but has it's challenging courses. it is a university level, so you definitely need time to focus on the workload.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't stress about knowing your major right away. within your first two years of ged, you have time to take all majors into consideration.

    In three sentences

    this university is pretty small. if you prefer a smaller campus, you will like this school. people are friendly, and its a nice campus.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always around when you need them. They patrol the dorms,the parking lot and the field ground. If you feel unsafe from walking from your classes you can call them to walk you wherever you need to go.

    Greek Life

    I don't know much about the Fraternities or Sororities, but I see them on campus. Some are very picky on whom they let in while other are very open to new people. Some solely do rely on looks then personality.

    Clubs and Activities

    All the clubs are unique and active on campus and in the community. Being a part of these makes college more fun and you won't be in your dorm or apartment all day plus you meet a lot more people.

    Great for these types of students

    Its a good school for kids who want to go to college but not to a huge college like CSULB or UCLA. Its very small and quiet.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The ponds next to the dorms are always interesting because they usually have ducks and if you get up early in the morning you can see a beautiful white Heron near the far pond.

    Bang for the buck

    The school price is not bad and its good for those who want to transfer out later on.

    What to do for fun

    The gym,the pool and even video games in your dorm lobby are always fun. There is a marketplace in a 5 minute walk from the school that has a movie theater with 2dollar moves on Tuesday.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good,well cooked and has a different variety everyday. A lot of people complain about the food in the dining commons because they don't give it a chance. Other places to eat are the Runner Cafe, Peet's Coffee and The Roost.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very helpful and fun. Most of the RA's are there when you need them,the eating times and extra food availability could be better but it saves you money and time on finding a parking space.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers always seem to give you that extra push to do better and see your advisory to make sure your on the right path to graduate and not be on academic probation within your first year.

    Tips for prospective students

    For anyone wanting to attend, its a very nice well rounded small school for those who want to make a small transition.

    In three sentences

    I love my school very much,the students and faculty are very understanding and friendly. Parking isn't bad and neither is life in the dorm. The only issue they have is the math program.

  • 12/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who care solely about education and not about experience. A legitimate, unique experience does not exist here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research and reflect. If you really want to come here because it is cheap, just remember the triple-bottom line. It may be inexpensive to live here, but you have to realize why it is so inexpensive. There is hardly any entertainment in Bakersfield, the town is urban sprawl at its finest, and there is hardly any culture here. If you do not pursue these virtuous aspects of life, then go for it.

    Bang for the buck

    The educational experience is pretty good for the public university price, however, tuition keeps increasing and the staff is decreasing. The number of unique classes is dwindling and I realize that the university is probably in a state of decline. Again, there is hardly a unique university experience at CSU Bakersfield, so use cautious decision-making.

    Am enjoying being here

    The university and the town aren't necessarily enjoyable. I think that a lot can be improved around here. I do not think the town is easy to get around and the traffic can be horrible for those who wish to drive. The campus is still a commuter campus, so there are not many activities going on. I do not feel connected with my peers and it is hard to connect with staff because they are familiar with the types of students at commuter schools. Even though the campus is mediocre in size and population, it still feels dysfunctional and disconnected.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a great amount about psychology through my undergraduate experience. I feel that the university has taught me to think critically and become engaged in civil issues.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 9 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus police and security are always on patrol.

    Greek Life

    It is not big but it is present

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs from video games to pre med .

    Great for these types of students

    The frat houses always host several events throughout campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a few sorrorities and fraternities on campus that have traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are getting a little expensive and there is not much extra curricular activities to participate in.

    What to do for fun

    There is a movie theatre near campus. Basketball games and soccer games are fun as well.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is small and does not have a lot of options. There are not many restaurants on or near campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay in the dorms, therefore i do not know much about dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are tough and teachers are demanding but they make sure that you leave that class with complete knowledge on the subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your counselors in order for them to help you out in the right path.

    In three sentences

    Great small campus and small classrooms. The professors get to know you by name and are willing to help out when possible. School spirit can use some help though.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 10 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is expensive!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are crappy, small, etc...

    Academic Rigor

    **Some teachers are unclear as to what they want for their writing project. CSUB is not much different from high school. If you do what you're told, you're probably going to do good.

    In three sentences

    The campus size is small. They have a great gym! They also lack parking spaces...

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 11 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I don't really eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics aren't hard, but you must stay on top of things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on track and don't fall behind. It takes some getting used to, but get to used to it quickly.

    In three sentences

    The energy is great, the professors are welcoming and the campus is clean. The campus and enviorment is very welcoming.

  • 10/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always around, and so is the security. These guys are not the Paul Blart Mall Cops, they are actual police officers who can handle pretty much any situation.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things you can do for fun on or outside the campus. The swimming pool is open daily to anyone who wants to do a quick dip, the student recreation area is open to all the current students, rock wall, weight lifting, jogging, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food on the campus is fantastic. Not the typical high school food that you would expect. It is very delicious and somewhat healthy. If you don't like the food on campus, the marketplace is right next to the university. It is a five minute walk or a two minute drive. Very easy to get to.

    Dorm Life

    Not the typical big dorms you would want to see at a university. Apply really early if you want to get into them.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not very hard, but I recommend that you don't procrastinate because you will fail the easiest of classes if you do.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to attend CSUB, I recommend that you don't have a part time job. Some of the professors give you a lot of homework, thinking that they are the only thing that you have to do.

    In three sentences

    CSU Bakersfield is a fantastic university, but only to specific majors. If you are looking to get your general education classes out of the way and then transfer this is a cheap university to attend. It is a very small community of students and a great experience being here.

  • 03/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i've heard too many stories of homeless and other people roaming around at night. it is scary at night and even heard about student's cars being broken into. worst of all, during my freshmen year a young girl was shot and killed in one of the parking lots. this was truly a tragic event.

    Greek Life

    never personally been a member of a fraternity, but my friends enjoy the fraternities/sororities that they're in

    Clubs and Activities

    there's a variety of clubs offered just like any university. there is bound to be one that will interest you.

    Great for these types of students

    student government and greek life, if you like to stay active in the community. the student recreation center, if you like to stay fit.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    not any that i could think of. although, there is plenty of fields around the campus and not enough parking.

    Bang for the buck

    csu bakersfield is one of the most expensive in state tuition colleges. compared to what other universities has to offer, i would say go to the other ones.

    What to do for fun

    there's not a lot to do at csu bakersfield, but there is the gym, a pool, and plenty of soccer fields. also if you want to stay involved, become a member of an organization or club.

    Food and Dining

    food i've had here wasn't all that to brag about and it was expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    the professors that are actually good challenge you intellectually in the course. other professors seem to design test to fail several students.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you look into all the details that the campus has to offer. if you even consider changing your mind about something, go to a college that has more to offer.

    In three sentences

    not entirely enjoying the school, does not offer what i want to take. there's not a lot of student life and the professors are not great. parking and other services such as tuition do not measure up to other schools.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can meet new people at ASI functions. Also there are concerts and games. The local community is enriched in the arts and there are quite a few things going on every quarter.

    Food and Dining

    The commons are a fantastic place to eat! There are other places that have delicious food. Whether you're vegetarian or an omnivore, there is something for you.

    Dorm Life

    I would imagine it's like any hostel or hotel that you're staying in for an extended period of time. Everyone is quite nice and open minded. The staff is very welcoming and will answer any questions you might have.

    Academic Rigor

    It could be a bit challenging at times if you're not 100% committed. The teachers ask a lot of you. The quarter system challenges you with the course work load.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know that this is the right choice for you. Also, go to orientation and meet with your adviser as soon as possible. Don't forget to smile and make new friends!

    In three sentences

    The campus is very diverse and has multiple things to offer. It's a great campus for those who live in town as it's conveniently placed. It may be a small campus, but the talent and potential there is quite large.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always cops on campus to make sure everyone here at CSUB is safe and sound.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous amounts of clubs one can get in to.

    What to do for fun

    There are many different kinds of activities always going on around campus. There is also a nice recreation center here on campus that is free to the students.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay in the dorms, but what I have heard, they are nice to live in.

    Tips for prospective students

    The nursing program here, I heard, is one of the best out of all the CSU's.

    In three sentences

    CSUB is a wonderful school to attend. The campus is very well kept and the people here are very friendly. I want to be a future graduate from here.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is the Recreational Center for physical activities. The runner cafe where you can have your favorite meal. There are clubs including ballet folklorico, MECHA, and cheerleading.

    Food and Dining

    The runner cafe is a great place to eat. Peet's cafe serves the the best coffee. My favorite The Roost serves delicous chicken wings.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. You get to meet new and interesting people. Plus, you learn to be independent living away from home.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging, but the instructors teach in strategic ways where you will understand. Tutoring is available for free if you need extra help. I highly recommend going. Overall you will learn new material.

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to go to class every day. Take notes and study hard. Don't forget to join clubs to make your college experience the best.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek Life is the best social network on campus. Great way to meet new people, staff, teacher, or alumni. It also makes you college years better.

    Clubs and Activities

    Greek life is what you make it. This campus is not as active as others but when you know the right people it is fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Roost or the Runner Cafe!

    What to do for fun

    Join Greek Life!

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is good, there are security guards that patrol the campus and poles where you can call a security guard if you feel like you need help.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for the students who want to elevate their education while also having a good time.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes you really do get your money's worth when you attend CSUB.

    What to do for fun

    What I do for fun is go to the gym/rec center. Also just hanging out with friends and walking around campus is very enjoyable as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is excellent. There are numerous of places to eat and the food tastes real good.

    Dorm Life

    I can't compare CSUB's dorms to other college dorms because this is my first college but the dorm life is very fun. There are a lot of friendly people on campus and the environment is awesome!

    Academic Rigor

    I rate this 4 stars out of 5 because the teachers at CSUB teach well and they are extremely helpful when you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to learn and do not come only to party and have fun. College is serious so you must take it serious.

    In three sentences

    CSUB is an awesome school to attend. The teachers I have had so far are very friendly and helpful. Also, I honestly feel like I am learning new information in the classes I am taking and I feel like I am getting my money's worth.

  • 01/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    CSUB has excellent people who protect and help students. CSUB has a police department where the community of the university can ask questions about our safety or to report something.

    Greek Life

    A student will find other shared lives with Greek life. Each chapter allows many opportunities for appointed officers. The various chapters will increase your skills of planning, organization, and policy making. Throughout the year, members of Greek life participate in several community projects and campus activities. Look at the list below of our fabulous clubs to see which one interests you.

    Clubs and Activities

    Your involvement at CSUB will take you in many different directions. Regardless of your major, career goals, or interest, you can get involved! CSUB has a lot of clubs, and some of them are art club, biology club, political science club. antropology club, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    CSUB has excellent students and special programs for each students that want to attend there.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    CSUB has a beautiful library where you can find books for your investigation, read, use the computers, do your homework, or just to visit it.

    What to do for fun

    To not get bored: Read, Listen to music, Talk with friends, Just relax, Run, Walk, CSUB has good places to do it.

    Food and Dining

    CSUB has an excellent cafeteria and delicious food. Fast food restaurants are near to the school.

    Dorm Life

    Now, I am living with my parents . I think is better tha t live in dorms because it is expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a hard worker at school. I like to do my best to pass my classes. I like to study alone and in groups as well to understand better the class. I prefer to stay at home doing my homework that go to parties. I think every person can do the same to achieve their goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students, universities are harder than high schools, but if you want, you can do it; just never give up. Pay attention to the instructions of the professors, do your homework, ask questions, make friends, and you will be okay.

    In three sentences

    CSUB is one of the best schools that offer a lot of educational programs. CSUB has excellent teachers and staff. CSUB also has tutoring center and an accecible schedule to take the classes.

  • 07/14/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 5 people found this review useful. 20 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Business

  • 11/24/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students majoring in nursing, teaching, business, and just recently engineering. Great for students who enjoy small campuses and a one-on-one interaction with professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Manage your time wisely. In each class, read at least 1 or 2 chapters ahead, so whenever there's a lecture it'll only be a review to you. Don't be shy to ask questions on problems you don't know or else you may fail a test.

    Bang for the buck

    Considering the state budget cuts, some classes were unavailable, but other than that the school still allows a student to earn a degree.

    Am enjoying being here

    Unlike other Universities, CSUB is small and easy to get around, not to mention that its very beautiful. It's very easy to make friends and the clubs and events are very entertaining. And if anyone has a large gap between two classes, there's a student recreation center that has various exercise equipments and some dance classes.

    Am learning a lot

    Depending on the professor, a student can learn a lot by going into the office hours and asking the professor of what topic they truly don't understand. There are some classes that has a face-to-face interaction, that way the lessons can be learned easier.

  • 05/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 22 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All who are looking to go into the nursing field or who want to do criminal justice.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to check what type of class room you will have as they sometimes spring a ITV course on you.

    Am learning a lot

    good teachers in Human Resource management.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for every type of student. Students seem to find what they look for in this university.

    Tips for prospective students

    For those who are interested in going to California State University - Bakersfield: It is a great campus, the educators are great, staff and students are respectful, it is a beautiful campus, it is quite, and there are plenty of activities to participate in.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a dependent, full-time student and working a part-time job is very trialing on my education. California tuition is going up and up, but if you can keep up with college fund rates, then there are no worries.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is very joyful. It is a progressive school; the educators are open-minded, making it a goal to be productive in the community, goal to be environmentally friendly, and gives students the means to be intuitive. One of the most beautiful places to walk around in Bakersfield.

    Am learning a lot

    The California State University - Bakersfield campus is at maximum capacity with intelligent and willful educators and I personally have accumulated useful knowledge.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    there aren't very many places to eat on campus, however it is across the street from a shopping/food plaza.

    Dorm Life

    i have only seen the dorms from the outside.

    Academic Rigor

    as i previously stated, it is very fast-paced and it is definately not easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    csub runs on a quarter system, so for those that are coming from a semester system, it might be very challenging. it is extremely fast-paced, so you must keep up with all your work. all classes require you to spend several hours outside of class studying.

    In three sentences

    csub is great for people who want to focus on getting good grades. the campus is quiet and laid back. some might say that it is boring but it is better that way because it allows you to focus on your studies without any distractions.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 25 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    its ok

    Dorm Life

    sucks

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 26 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food is okay. there are not a ton of options on campus but there is the marketplace right across the street that has some other options there.

    Dorm Life

    i personally don't know what the dorm life is like. i live at home and commute to school. from what i have heard dorm life is not all that great.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes aren't too bad. it really depends on the classes, obviously if you take more advanced classes you're going to have to work harder. the professors are pretty good with helping students who need help.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you want to attend csub know that it is more of a commuter college so if you want more of a college experience you might want to go somewhere else. if you just do your work and stay on top of things it won't be bad.

    In three sentences

    it is a good school. the class sizes are good sizes so it is easier to get to know a professor. the professors i've had experiences with are nice and teach well.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I only ate on campus during special events but the food was pretty good (and that was cafeteria food). They offer a couple of different dining places throughout campus as well.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot offer any comments on the dorms since I commute; however, I do know that they are close to the classes. They are physically on campus and seem to provide sufficient parking.

    Academic Rigor

    The intensity of academics depends on your major and the choice of classes you take. If you are clear on the path you want to take, they offer courses to make sure that you understand the topic in depth. If you take courses that sound easy or incorporate many pathways, you're not going to get the same result.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep on top of your counselors. Ask questions. Spend time researching the classes that are needed for your particular major. Don't wait until your senior year to find out that you needed a minor to go along with your major or that the classes you plan on taking are not offered during the terms in which you plan to take them.

    In three sentences

    They are working hard on improving the university with the addition of different engineering programs. The Student Recreation Center is a nice place for a workout. With the current budget for the state of CA, it is becoming difficult to find needed classes.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are police everywhere and never any fights.

    Great for these types of students

    Self-motivated and Independent.

    Bang for the buck

    People of Bakersfield usually don't have a choice because moving out of town can cost a lot. CSUB has been raising its prices yearly.

    What to do for fun

    Division I sports says it all! There are usually sports games to watch along with participating in one of the many clubs.

    Food and Dining

    To-Go's sandwich shop and a food court give CSUB a decent lineup of choices. Unfortunately, these choices get old.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorm. I have seen the dorm life, and I have spoken to those that live in the dorms. It seems to be a quiet area of the campus that is well groomed.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say that the classes are challenging. The Math and Science sections of CSUB are littered with complacent teachers that are not clear during lectures. Because of this, the challenge of passing these courses are increased dramatically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should choose CSUB if they are self-motivated and can work independently. Because most of the teachers are not helpful, a lot of the learning that goes on comes straight from the book.

    In three sentences

    CSUB has a beautiful campus that is small but gives a fresh feeling towards all students. With it's Division I status on sports, new student recreation center, and easily accessible Library, the tools that are provided for students are great. Unfortunately, the teachers are oftentimes complacent in their jobs and rarely try to impact the learning outcomes for all students.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police is routinely active and closely monitor campus activity.

    Clubs and Activities

    I live out of the area.

    Great for these types of students

    Working class individuals, parents, middle and lower-class status.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a Cal State University, therefore, the cost of attendance is lower. Anyone looking to attend a well-known and prestigious college, and (like most students) are at the lower end of the financial pool, this is a great alternative for earning your Bachelors. Students can always earn their BA/BS degree, then transfer to an Ivy League school to complete their graduate/extended education. This alternative/path will be beneficial and cheaper in the long-run.

    What to do for fun

    I live out of the area.

    Food and Dining

    I live out of the area.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors require academic professionalism, and no less.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to have a clear idea of what your want to major in. In the event you don't, complete your General Education requirements first, then move on to focus on your major after interacting with the staff and other students. This will help you gain a clearer perspective of what is available and what appeals to you.

    In three sentences

    This is a great learning environment, with the added benefit of majors/class that circulate around real needs. All across the board, everyone from the staff, professors, and students are always helpful and willing to learn from each other. I would recommend this school to anyone looking for a path to move ahead, in whatever direction they choose.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't gotten to know the campus safety very well yet, so I won't give a 5/5, but the place sounds very safe. The officers on campus will escort students to their cars if they feel uncomfortable walking alone. They have a great lost and found service at the little police station. Basically, the station on-campus does just about anything and everything you'd want them to.

    Clubs and Activities

    From what I've seen, there are a lot of clubs and activities on campus. I do, however, wish they had a REAL football team and a marching band/drumline, as I myself am a percussionist.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for the types of students who want to get a lot for their money and who would like the most help getting where they want to go.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get a lot for your money here. The tuition is generally low compared to most universities and includes the free use of the gym, personal trainers, and (of course) your education. There are also free dance classes you can sign up for, etc.

    What to do for fun

    There's a shopping center with a movie theatre really close by, with an Applebee's and some pretty amazing sushi and ice cream places.

    Food and Dining

    I've heard there are lots of choices on-campus, and if you can't find something you like there, good food is right around the corner.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorm; very few do, because most students at CSUB are from the area.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not the toughest or the most prestigious college I got into, but it does get you your degree and, as I've said, the advisors are what make this university stand out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your advisors; they're your friends, and they'll help you get places.

    In three sentences

    CSUB has a lot of clubs and activities and a really active Honors Program, which I'm in. The advisors are EXTREMELY helpful and fast. I e-mailed two of them for help on a Sunday night, and both of them got back to me bright and early Monday morning!

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    amazingly cheap.

    What to do for fun

    the mall is close by.the movie theatre is behind the school!

    Food and Dining

    the food is great.there is a variety of meals to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    they are perfect size-not too big and not too small! perfect for everyone

    Academic Rigor

    ive met with the professors,they are great and very helpful.

    In three sentences

    its a close-knit school.perfect place for students especially for those panning on liberal studies!

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    32 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Four thumbs up

    Great for these types of students

    Four thumbs up

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The student Union Center on campus i where everyone goes to have a good time.

    What to do for fun

    Attend football games,hang out at the student Union Center on campus, and eat at the restaurants.

    Tips for prospective students

    I advised prospective students to attend CUB to obtain their degree.

    In three sentences

    Calstate University Of Bakersfield is a excellent school. The campus is gorgeous and the staff are hardworking and they care about our education.The staff at the school want to see everyone succeed and graduate.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police is really helpful and nice. There aren't very many crimes that I've heard of. CSUB is one of the safest campuses according to my friends.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a variety of clubs and a few greek sororities/fraternities.

    Great for these types of students

    Science, math, and nursing majors. Students that want a small campus.

    What to do for fun

    We have play days where a group of students can sign up for a game of volleyball, dodgeball, or any other sports offered. I enjoy going to the concerts, especially the jazz festival. We have a rock wall and rumba classes, so that's fun!

    Food and Dining

    We have a coffee shop, smoothie, the dining hall, and other places nearby.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    The philosophy class is slightly difficult. Just pay attention, and make sure you read the textbooks.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a small campus, so it's really easy to get around. It's college...don't be a slacker! Don't be afraid to participate in activities!

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have kit foxes running around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It is not as expensive as other schools and you get the exact same education as anywhere else.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a lot of writing and reading.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay on top of the reading. No assignment is to small, they all count. There is always hope in saving your grade, as long as you put in the work.

    In three sentences

    If class size is something you're worried about, no need here they're just perfect. Teacher's want to get to know you and help you in every way they can academically.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Tuition fees include membership for the Student recreation center (gym) on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    REGISTER AS EARLY AS POSSIBLE!

    In three sentences

    It's a pretty good campus, very diverse and most of the staff is very helpful.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always officers on patrol, as well as a 24 hour phone number you can call if you need help, including to take you to your car.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who prefer smaller class sizes.

    Bang for the buck

    About the best you're gonna get in this economy.

    Food and Dining

    The Roost is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    I have no idea; I live at home.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    work out play volleyball go swimming, lots

    Food and Dining

    it is an all you can eat buffet out there for the dorm folk.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty fun, you get to know a lot of people.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are tough here but if you study you should be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not get a car your first year unless you absolutely have to.

    In three sentences

    It is a great place to study. Everybody is nice to one another. Classes are nice and small so students get a lot of one on one with the teachers.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    38 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police offers take the student and staff safety very seriously. They have their own police station on campus. There are yellow lampposts around campus so that if students have night classes they press a button and an officer comes and escorts you to your car.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are wanting to stay near home and live in Kern County then this school is for you. If you do not want to attend a huge university filled with many students, well the population is medium/ small and the campus itself is not very big.

    What to do for fun

    What i consider fun at CSUB is going to the recreation center. Exercise is enticing to me most likely because my major is Kinesiology and health, fitness and nutrition entertain me. There is clubs to join and riverwalk park is across the street.

    Food and Dining

    CSUB offeres zesty delicacies and there is a variety of food to choose from. The recreation center offers hydrating and palatable smoothies.

    Dorm Life

    I have heard the dorm life at CSUB isn't what you usually expect when wanting to live the fun, crazy college life. The rooms are small and of concrete.

    Tips for prospective students

    You must be organized with your paperwork and turn everything on time to the admissions office because they are busy and may forget to update your web portal. The environment in different from high school in the sense that hear you do not feel left out, rather welcomed by the people you are surrounded by.

    In three sentences

    California State University has a very positive ambiance. The students and staff made it easy and welcoming for me. Their facilities, such as the library, theatre and recreation center is so organized, clean and lively.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are various festivals, sports activities, and clubs on campus that students can join! And if there isn't a club on campus that interests you (which I highly doubt) then you can always create one!

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of eating options on campus. There is an on campus grill, cafe, TOGO's, Roost, etc. Every on-campus resident is provided with a meal plan which includes a certain number of meals per week, based on preference, along with a certain amount of dining dollars that you can use outside of the University Grill!

    Dorm Life

    The residence halls are great! Living on campus is one of the easiest ways to meet new people! Each resident hall has an assisstant that helps with any and all questions you may have concerning your room.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at CSUB are challenging but beyond doable. Like I said previously, the professors make it easy to get to know you and then make it comfortable to contact them for extra assistance. Also, there are plenty of tutoring labs for various subjects so receiving help outside of the classroom is easy as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and if possible, speak with an academic advisor geared towards your major. Secondly, apply for external scholarships after or even before you apply to CSUB!

    In three sentences

    The professor to student ratio is great. I appreciate being able to get to know my professor and feeling more than comfortable to ask for help if needed. The campus is big enough to experience new life and meet new people, yet small enough to maintain a personal relationship with those new people you meet.

  • 09/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is made clear on first day. They will not tolerate anything that normal police don't.

    What to do for fun

    For fun they have the rec center and even a theater which is a 5 minute walk away that is very cheap.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great but could be more choices.

    Dorm Life

    Great to live in but, hard to get to know everyone in it.

    Academic Rigor

    Work must be completed on time no exceptions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to transition into college life because people here expect it.

    In three sentences

    The size of the campus is what really bought me its perfect for people looking for a small school. The professors are as helpful as any regular high school teacher. Its easy enough to get to know people here.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe there are always cops riding around and there are emergency call towers every where you turn.

    Greek Life

    There are only two girl sororities so there isn't much to pick from.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are only a couple sororities. They also have every sport except football.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for any one other than engineering students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    By the library there is a fish in the tree.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a lot cheaper then other schools and it runs on the quarter system so I guess I'm getting what I paid for.

    What to do for fun

    There really isn't anything to do for fun unless you like to work out. They have one of the coolest two story gyms I've ever seen.

    Food and Dining

    I have only ate at Togos and its by far the best one I have ever been to.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very old and run down. I would not recommend staying there.

    Academic Rigor

    The only reasons why I rate them so low is because they don't have my major which is civil engineering and the math teachers aren't very good.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a good school that is cheap then this would be a good choice for you. It uses the quarter system which makes school go by way faster.

    In three sentences

    I would rate CSUB lower than other schools. A lot of the students attending are in their 30s or older. I would like to go to school with my students my age and somewhere not in my hometown.

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe. No worries.

    Greek Life

    There's a few sororities and a few fraternities. They don't haze, so there's nothing to fear about them.

    What to do for fun

    Bakersfield isn't the most exciting place, but there's certainly things to do. There's clubs, bowling alleys, an ice rink... There's things to do. Don't worry.

    Food and Dining

    Tons of awesome restaurants. That is what Bakersfield does have. The local restaurants like Goose Loonies, Moo Creamery, and Frugatti's are some places to try.

    Academic Rigor

    They're strict about the average things; drugs, plagiarism, that kind of stuff.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends. Most people are originally from Bakersfield, so they already have their groups. So get involved so you can meet people.

    In three sentences

    It's a cheap and decent school. Don't slack off. It's not Harvard, but it still gets you where you need to go.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is rated #1 in California's CSU system.

    Greek Life

    Lots of sororities, only two fraternities.

    Great for these types of students

    Great place to be for students who have undeclared majors

    What to do for fun

    There is a massive, green, open space soccer field, that students or people who live around the area can play soccer and do picnics. There is also a large recreational center/gym to work out and have fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always try to stay true to the major you choose, because the earlier you get your degree, the better.

    In three sentences

    CSUB is the best place to be in Bakersfield. Many new and interesting people go here. This is a perfect place to start any profession.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    CSUB takes its student and faculty safety very seriously. Bad things rarely happen, but security officers are easy to find on campus and text messages are sent to our phones in case of an emergency. There is also an emergency number we can call and emergency towers set up around campus that will siren if the button is pushed.

    Greek Life

    There are several, very active sororities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    They can be really fun if you make the effort to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    CSUB is great for students who prefer smaller campuses and mild winters.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a pond with a huge bullfrog in it and foot long koi.

    Bang for the buck

    By choosing to attend California State University of Bakersfield you pay less in tuition, but still get some of the perks that the more expensive schools offer to their students. Most of the facilities are really clean and up to date. The campus is fairly new, so you don't have to worry about some rooms not having air conditioning. CSUB is an attractive campus with mature landscaping. Squirrels and kit foxes live on campus, so it's not uncommon to see them around.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities taking place in the Student Union. A good way to find out what's going on is to pay attention to posters on and inside Dorothy Donahoe Hall and posts on the CSUB facebook page. The Student Recreation Center is a great source for entertainment with a huge rock wall, pool, and gym. Yoga and Pilates classes are available to all students. There are some great running trails just across the street from the school with places to run on campus too. There are lots of clubs and sororities at CSUB. The best place to find out which one best fits you is to go inside Dorothy Donahoe Hall and look at the rows of long posters lining the sides. Each poster is created by the club or sorority to advertise their activities and meeting times.

    Food and Dining

    There are a variety of dining options at CSUB. Students can check the Runner Dining facebook page. CSUB has a Togo's, Peet's Coffee, a snack shack, the Runner Cafe, and plenty of vending machines on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms need to be updated and though I do not live in the dorms, I heard there are a lot of roaches. On the upside, students who live in the dorms are more connected with the campus and have a lot of fun.

    Academic Rigor

    CSUB staff is demanding, but they also want their students to succeed. Students are almost always passed.

    Tips for prospective students

    CSUB is a small commuter campus, so if you want friends you have to put yourself out there and get involved in campus activities. CSUB has a facebook page that posts events all the time. If you get hurt or sick, take advantage of the Health Center. You get free healthcare because each student has to pay a small health fee that is part of their tuition. Also, a lot of students don't know they can choose their own academic adviser. If they don't like who they were assigned, they can go to any adviser in their department without having to fill out any paperwork for the switch.

    In three sentences

    I like CSUB because the tuition is affordable and they offer many of the same things that larger more expensive schools have. Their new Recreation Center is fantastic! I've met lots of nice people at CSUB and I appreciate how much the teachers care about their students' success.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus. The CPD make rounds are are often visible, whether its driving around, riding a bike through campus, or just walking around.

    Clubs and Activities

    CSUB has over 90 clubs! You're just about guaranteed to find one that suites you.

    Bang for the buck

    $6,000 a year (roughly $2,000 a quarter) is not bad! The campus bookstore also has some good prices (though it is always a good idea to see what other companies are selling textbooks for). There are some fees you have to pay after that though, like the health fees we all have to pay.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, there are a lot of options. There's a coffee shop, a Togo's sandwich shop, the cafeteria (which has a grill, pizza, sushi, salads, and more), and the library just put in a small cafe place!

    Academic Rigor

    CSUB is currently on a quarter system, so classes are fast and the 10 weeks just blur together. The professor do expect students to preform at a university level (because it is one), but are willing to help out when need.

    In three sentences

    CSU Bakersfield is a great school! From the professors to peers to the campus and activities, it has a great atmosphere.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    its ok but cops are annoying

    Greek Life

    none to be seen

    Clubs and Activities

    very limited

    Great for these types of students

    partying

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none that i c ould find

    Bang for the buck

    the meal plans

    What to do for fun

    nothing just visit dorm mates

    Food and Dining

    ok but staff is helpful and friendkly

    Dorm Life

    depends on the dorm, but riverndale is excellent

    Academic Rigor

    hard

    Tips for prospective students

    your all on your own. take very care of yourself in college.

    In three sentences

    The school is very centered at students but teachers and staff are lazy. Workers are helpful but wish staff was like that. I expected better service from people working there.

  • 12/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a on campus police station and there is always sercurity walking around. There are also emergency stations around campus in which you can instantly be connected to the police station.

    Greek Life

    There are lots of fraternities and sororities for those who wish to partake in those.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs for every ones majors and different religions.

    Great for these types of students

    CSUB is great for working students and students that need flexible class scheduling.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    CSUB has lots of clubs you can use especually ones that tie into your major.

    Bang for the buck

    CSUB is worth the money, you get a great university education for a good price. The price you pay includes lots of stuff including use of the rec center.

    What to do for fun

    CSUB has the Student Union where a lot of people hang out between classes. CSUB also has an amazing new rec center that offers a rock wall, lots of work out machines and free weights, a suspended track and basketball courts. CSUB also has tennis courts and a lap pool.

    Food and Dining

    CSUB has a lot of options when it comes to dining. They of course has the cafeteria which has lots of seating, couches, tv's and a decent selection of food from pizza, to burgers, to asian food, a deli, and a salad bar. The campus also a grill restaurant in the Student Union, a Pete's Coffee Shop and a Togo's sandwich shop.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms but I have heard good things about living on campus and CSUB is planning on building new dorms in the near future.

    Academic Rigor

    College is of course going to have a decent amount of work to do but it all depends on the professors as well as how many classes you are going to be taking. You should not worry so much about the work but focus more on staying on top of things, using a calendar to keep track and getting stuff done early if possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its good to get your applications in early and really use the resources that the college provides such as the library hours for studying, the career center to help prepare you for getting a job and your professor's office hours who are always willing to help answer any questions you have. Its always really good to get to know your professors on a personal basis because they will help you down the road especially when you need recommendation letters.

    In three sentences

    CSUB is an awesome school to attend because it has so many opportunities to offer incoming students and a wide variety of fields that you can study. CSUB is a beautiful campus, has a lot to offer and is really affordable compared to the bigger colleges. Since my time at CSUB I have had a great experience and every one there is very helpful.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus in general is really safe. University police officers patrol the campus year-round. If you leave class late at night, or simply feel unsafe a friendly campus police officer is willing to escort you to your car. Self-defense classes are also offered a few times a year.

    Greek Life

    Students can join a sorority or a fraternity at California State Bakersfield. There are a few houses he/she may be able to join, for more information visit www.csub.edu.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs to cater to students of different causes and organizations. There are clubs of environmental, social, lifestyle, academic, and religious affiliation.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for traditional students, students who have families, or those which intend to transfer to a graduate school. First time college students can enjoy this small and friendly university.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a public school so a lot of the prices vary depending on the state's budget.

    What to do for fun

    There are sporting events, musicals , and art exhibitions in which a student may attend for fun. Cal State is located just a walk from the movie theatre and a few shopping plazas. There is also a very nice park for joggers or cyclists just across the street.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of food choices in Cal State Bakersfield, even for the health conscious eater. Sushi in brown rice, salads, yogurts, and healthy beverages are offered. On the flip side Sbarro's pizza, burgers, tex-mex, and sodas can also be purchased.

    Dorm Life

    Most students are commuter students, however there is a small percentage that do live in dorms. Activities are provided for dorm dwelling students.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of the classes depend on the subject and level of class. However, all professors expect you to study and earn your grade. Do not take lectures lightly and make sure you study, study, study!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have at least a 2.0 gpa (or better). The school will look at your ACT/SAT scores and high school transcript. If you are transferring from another school just have a 2.0 gpa minimum.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school for first time students that are obtaining their first undergraduate degree. Many of the students on campus have transferred from junior colleges. There are also a few graduate students pursuing a graduates degree.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    49 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    newspaper and greek life is a great way to get involved.

    What to do for fun

    greek like is solid

    Food and Dining

    Some nice options while others need improvement.

    Dorm Life

    Needs more options for students as far as living arrangements an activities.

    Academic Rigor

    Some majors focus on to understand why rather than a massive workload.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused on your goals but hang around with like minded people who r goal oriented.

    In three sentences

    This school does have some solid programs and has potential for prospective students. They do need more to offer students to create a full and enjoyable college experience.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is located in the nicest, and safest part of town! There's nothing to worry about.

    Bang for the buck

    It is one of the cheapest CSU's in all California. Paking permit is only $40 a quarter, while as SDSU it is around $230!

    What to do for fun

    On hot sunny days, taking advantage of CSUB's multiple pools sounds ideal! Furthermore, beautiful parks are located throughout the city. It's the perfect place to enjoy your day with friends.

    Food and Dining

    CSUB is near the best restaurants in town! From fast foods to fine dining, Bakersfield offers it all.

    Dorm Life

    Due to the fact that most students are from Bakersfield and nearby surroundings, CSUB has minimal dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are friendly, but because this school is on a quarter system, you want to attend class every single day!

    Tips for prospective students

    Building various friendships can help out in the long run. Makes college a better experience, and can sometimes be useful when working on large projects together (sometimes can be fun).

    In three sentences

    I would rate this school as an 8 out of 10. A great, safe school to avoid any distractions. The school is located in a nice area of Bakersfield, but Bakersfield is not the nicest city in stunning California.

  • 01/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many activities going on and the marketplace is very close.

    Food and Dining

    The runner cafe has really good food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really small and quite.

    Academic Rigor

    The course work is challenging, and the quarters go by really fast.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is a lot of help for you to succeed in college.

  • 02/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police station on campus

    What to do for fun

    Go to the gym and play basketball

    Food and Dining

    Not the best. Must work with it.

    Dorm Life

    Up's and downs.. Something to fit into

    Academic Rigor

    Do what needs to be done.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want to take for your major.

    In three sentences

    Price for attendance and tuition is within a fair budget. Not very active in events. Variety of academic careers.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Huge police force always patrolling.. and giving tickets. :(

    Greek Life

    Many different to choose from

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to list Many fraternities and Soroities Math Club Volleyball - All sports except football :(

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes Business Majors Engineers Oil Industry

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Spread throughout the campus are odd sculptures. Other than that hearing someone say the library basement which doesn't even seem like one at all.

    Bang for the buck

    Going to the Health Center. They are relatively inexpensive and prescriptions are usually free. Don't let your apprehensiveness of doctors offices scare you from ours. Also, parking is plentiful outside the grounds, with a little walk, save on parking passes, which have to be bought every quarter.. that's almost 200 a year!

    What to do for fun

    I like to go out to the club, dance, play volleyball, walk, explore, play video games, board games, spend time at the beach, travel, shop, and relax at home with Netflix

    Food and Dining

    I hear they have good food, even beer in the cafeteria. Only place I have eaten is the TOGO's sandwich. They are delicious.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply, but from what I have heard it isn;t fun.

    Academic Rigor

    My concentration, being business management, I have encountered 3 quarters, all full of difficult classes. Teachers seem to make them challenging, but also make the grading and class fair. Beware of Finance 300.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay up on the deadlines, also plan ahead which classes you want to take on your MYCSUB portal for the coming quarters. They go really quick, so missing a deadline is really easy. TIME MANAGEMENT!

    In three sentences

    CSUB is a very nice school on the west side of Bakersfield. They have many programs for sports, as well as a wide variety of majors to choose from.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Good food at the beginning but then you get tired of the same thing and the hours, I wish we could eat other times,extended.

    Dorm Life

    Hopefully the new dors are better, I only lived there for a year and it was okay but I'd prefer to have only stayed there that 1 year.

    Academic Rigor

    Just ask away.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know everyone, even if they are not in your same department, and stay positive.

    In three sentences

    Good environment, I feel like everyone might even know each other, it is no the biggest school so it gives everyone a chance to feel like they are home. Everyone is friendly and helpful here which I really love. Staff is not intimidating, just need to keep a positive attitude and outlook on everyone and your school life will be great.

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I love to ride my bike and fit in any physical activity I can.

    Food and Dining

    The food served on campus is good.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live the on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard for what you want to achieve at any educational institution.

    In three sentences

    I believe CSUB is a great school to attend due to the low number of students. This gives the current students more one on one interaction with the professors and the material that is taught. The price of attending this school is not as outrageous as some of the schools I intended to attend.

  • 06/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a campus police department that is really helpful and they really help students in any situatuions

    Greek Life

    there are lots of clubs that you can also join and they give good information.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a lot of great clubs on campus that will fit into your major.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are active, theres lots of gym activities. And also have lots of clubs for those students that like to join.

    What to do for fun

    I like to go to the gym on campus and study with friends.

    Food and Dining

    There is a nice cafe on campus and if you need a snack there are venti machines in every corner.

    Dorm Life

    The campus has nice dorms for students that live out of town.

    Tips for prospective students

    Nice campus and great library

    In three sentences

    The university is a peaceful learning environment. There are lots of students that enjoy the campus. CSUB gives you a good opportunity for degrees,

  • 06/30/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    57 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    haven't lived there or been there but I hope its safe!

    Greek Life

    not too informed about this so cant say much but they always party?!

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm hoping to find a nature club or a science club just for fun if anyone know of one let me know!

    Great for these types of students

    The library is a great place for those people who cant study at home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have an idea that I want to bring with me to the young life of Bakersfield! so be ready.!!

    Bang for the buck

    To make that money you need to own your own business!!

    What to do for fun

    For me I guess I'm going to hang out with the new friends I make! so as a fresh man in college I'm going to live the social life.

    Food and Dining

    from what I hear from friends already attending college the food is good at first then you get used to it! so the food can get old unless you like to cook of have a friend that does;]

    Dorm Life

    From some experience and hanging out with my brother at UCR in his dorms its fun because you get to experience a living situation where you are surrounded by a bunch of kids from all over the place and talking to them is really interesting.

    Academic Rigor

    Engineering is the hardest thing to major in as I hear from my brother and his engendering friends so I'm sure it applies to every school that majors in this. I hear it also depends on what your major is and how you set your schedule up!

    Tips for prospective students

    The tips I've learned in High school from AVID are to always apply for scholarships and to make a connection with the professor. My brother really just advised me to balance fun and work time. Bring it on Bakersfield!!

    In three sentences

    They are helpful when you call the student services phone number. I like the color blue and yellow to me is eye popping so the campus must be a site to see. The weather there is HOT so shorts and a t-shirt are always perfect and that's y style!

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    58 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have police officers everywhere and they have emergency phones throughout the campus! I definitely feel safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    They have ALOT of clubs you can join and if any arent suitable you can go ahead and create one!

    Great for these types of students

    ANY!

    Bang for the buck

    Beautiful campus!

    What to do for fun

    Id love to go to the gym and the pool!

    Food and Dining

    Great Food!

    Dorm Life

    I havent looked at the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Just so you dont get lost go in the university before attending it and look around, just so you can become familiar with it!

    In three sentences

    CSUB is a wonderful university! I am honored to be accepted to this campus. It is beautiful and well maintained!

  • 08/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing opened during the night. The police is there to issue parking and other automobile violations.

    Greek Life

    No housing for Greek. No alcohol. No party. Nothing.

    Clubs and Activities

    None. This is community oriented college. There is nothing to entertain in the city.

    Great for these types of students

    Study. Family oriented. Not afraid of being alone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't be surprised. The community is extremely conservative. Do not go to the east side of Bakersfield if you want to live.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing. Unless you have a family to entertain. Just study.

    Food and Dining

    No variety. Nothing opens on weekends. Prices are more expensive than local fastfood chains.

    Dorm Life

    Very small accommodation. The school is intended for local residents. No dining options available on weekends.

    Academic Rigor

    Nursing is the hardest major on campus. Very selective. The military style school harder than the military.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard. Arrive at school earlier than the class starts. Read textbooks.

    In three sentences

    Harder than it looks. Definitely, the public school is harder than the private institution. There is comparison of what a student must do his own for informing himself.

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Entertainment is available on CSUB regularly. Several times a month, the school hosts shows or plays; in addition, there is also other events that are posted on the school's website and around on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good depending on what one gets or decides to eat at. Some of the best places to eat on campus is Togos and Sbarro. There's also a place a Peets Coffee and they make good drinks and have snacks.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are decent. They're not the best but are reliable for those who live originally far. Although, there have been rumors about new developments of better dorms that are being built.

    Academic Rigor

    The best thing about the academics at Cal State Bakersfield is that you only need to maintain a 2.0 GPA. Though, if your GPA is lower than a 2.0 you will be placed on academic probation which can be removed that upcoming quarter. Some classes may be difficult due to your major and that it is quarter system but overall, the academics are pretty straight-forward.

    Tips for prospective students

    Advice for the new coming students is to not feel overwhelmed and to explore what they really want to do. This includes finding the right major that they want to set their goals on and become club members of whatever group fits them best. The main goal is to feel comfortable as much as possible during your higher education process.

    In three sentences

    CSUB is a small university but for the most part, the students are nice. Most classes are straight-forward and the professors want to see their students succeed. In addition, CSUB offers plenty of opportunities to get involved in programs which encourages students to interact with the school.

  • 10/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    61 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go out of town.

    Food and Dining

    They also say the food is not good but has gotten better.

    Dorm Life

    Have never lived in the dorms but no one that has lived there has said anything nice about them.

    Academic Rigor

    As an Accounting major it is quite difficult here. Lots of studying and many late nights.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to teach yourself. Most professors are not here to hold your hand and they expect you to only ask questions and not be spoon fed the information.

    In three sentences

    CSUB is a very small university with small class sizes. There is not much to do here or much school spirit but it isn't so bad. The Accounting department head, Mary Doucet, is the only bright spot that I've encountered so far.

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    62 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    2 sororities that don't have houses

    What to do for fun

    NOTHING. seriously no night life, its commuter so everyone just goes home.

    Dorm Life

    All African americans in the dorms, nobody else lives there.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are terrible which means you have to teach yourself everything so you better be on top of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus before, and talk to current students.

    In three sentences

    Commuter. No school spirit. Terrible professors.

  • 11/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    63 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Cal state with lowest crime rate. Campus police does a great job.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs and activities. They especially try to get incoming freshman involved.

    Bang for the buck

    The tution is not as much as other colleges and universities.

    What to do for fun

    Fitness Center is brandnew, along with the rock climbing wall that is available to students.

    Food and Dining

    4 stars on the food. Definitely better than the high school cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor, I'd give 3 out of 5 stars. It may get challenging at times but its manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't proscratenate on assignments, and studying for tests. Eventhough homework is not assigned, there should always be something for you to do regarding school.

    In three sentences

    Overall the campus is well sized and clean. The professors are available when you need them and class sizes are not to big compared to other colleges. CSUB is a great university to attend.

  • 11/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    64 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are constantly on patrol helping students and creating a very safe and calm environment for everyone.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of posters for clubs and activities posted throughout the entire school. It is hard to avoid them, and getting involved is super easy.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is incredibly high quality for the money you are investing. You are getting top notch education from reputable professors and some classes, such as my math class only have 15 students.

    What to do for fun

    The school offers lots of different clubs and sports to get involved in. The library has computers to use and the student recreation center offers rock climbing, basketball courts, and lots of exercise machines.

    Food and Dining

    The school offers many different choices such as a chicken and meat sandwhich grille shop, a sbarro, asian food, and many snacks.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms but I hear they are high quality.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are somewhat easy as I am only a freshman but math is a challenge. The professors give an adequate workload. The exams are challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early if you can. Join the honors program for priority registration. Attend the earlier orientation and get involved.

    In three sentences

    This school is fantastic. The teaching from professors is very high in quality. The services offered by this school are also very high quality especially the student recreation center and gym.

  • 02/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    65 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I can improve for the university grill.

    Dorm Life

    They need a upgrade the dorms , you feel like you are in prison but the pain and structure of the walls.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are smaller than a typical college/ university class. Teachers are easy to talk to and help the students.

  • 03/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    66 of 68

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    California State University Bakersfield is a peaceful environment, which allows the student to focus in their education however it also gives the student an opportunity to participate in activities and clubs. The classes are not impacted which this allows the student to sit comfortably. The library has room thatâ??s open 24/7 this gives a great opportunity to the students to study and do homework.

  • 03/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    67 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    economical education for a California State University

    What to do for fun

    many on campus activities

    Food and Dining

    plenty of good food on campus in different locations

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus with my family

    Academic Rigor

    quarter system makes classes go faster and quite a bit of information pretty fast.

    Tips for prospective students

    come to school ready to learn in a friendly classroom setting.

    In three sentences

    CSUB has a great, studious atmosphere. the class sizes are small for better instruction. the professors care about your success

  • 05/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    68 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    For a CSU, the tuition price isn't bad and Bakersfield is a pretty cheap place to live compared to schools that are located in bigger cities.

    Food and Dining

    You're way better off going to little places around the school instead of eating the food on campus.

    Dorm Life

    CSUB is in the middle of building brand-new dorms that are supposed to be extremely nice...however the old ones are pretty gross.

    Academic Rigor

    CSUB is really laid back, certain teachers are pretty intense but most of them give you a lot of time to get things done.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on top of enrollment, classes go FAST.

    In three sentences

    CSUB is a great school for people who are laid back and don't mind ridiculously hot weather that lasts just about all year.