Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

California State University-Channel Islands Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 out of 23 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like a small school and a beautiful atmosphere this school is for you. While not on an actual island the school is in the location of where Hotel California used to be. The buildings are refurbished but still in their original Spanish style. The campus is fairly private and absolutely beautiful.

    Tips for prospective students

    CSUCI is the newest Cal State and a small one but definitely worth checking out. There is a brand new business school, gorgeous library, small class sizes, new housing, and engaging teachers. You get a private school experience at a state school price. Stick out the general ed, and get engaged!

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For those students that want really small classes and go to a campus that is really calm CSUCI is the right place for you. For the guys only if you want to go college where there is more girls than boys CSUCI is the college for you. Yes i know it is downside for girls because they want more guys, but I do not want to start talking about why there is so few guys that go to CSUCI. Also I almost forgot it is really hidden but also really close to the ocean, so keep that in mind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Well there is not much to state about CSUCI other than the fact it is a new Cal State. I am joking there is many interesting things that accommodate to students curiosity. Basic things such as we have a new library, new programs for some majors, the sports are growing as the years pass, and also the classes are just small. The dorms are just wonderful, since they are bigger than usual dorms. The technology is up to date in our campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Financially many of the students do get a lot of help with the fees for the school. In my opinion most of which get most of the help are the local students.

    Am enjoying being here

    I could just say it is a dream come true and end with this statement. I mean the staff are just super friendly and the classes are small so you get this feeling that your professor are close. The campus is growing and coming along to be wonderful place.

    Am learning a lot

    Professors here tend to give you a feeling of knowing the next day will not be the same. Your learning something new everyday, and it also includes the beginning of the school. It is wonderful that it could be mixed with the material that you are trying to learn.

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    surfin, yoga, kayaking, camping, many more activities organized for students

    Tips for prospective students

    make friends ask professors questions go to office hours

    In three sentences

    private school atmosphere in a public school. proffessors are more than happy to help clarify confussions about the subject. family environment, classmates help each other, study groups are not hard to form.

  • 06/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is good for people who like a small school environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors so you can ask them questions on the material in class and make study groups with people in class you study when tests come around.

    Bang for the buck

    Well housing is kind of expensive due to budget cuts but if you want to live at home and just pay tuition, it's not that bad, it's around $5900 per year.

    Am enjoying being here

    I like living on campus because it's like a home away from home, but since the school is out in the middle of a bunch of farm fields, it can get a little boring. The beach is near by though which is nice.

    Am learning a lot

    It's a nice small school and when I say small, it's about the population of a high school, but it's nice to have attention from your professors so you can get the help you need and you get to know all of your peers pretty fast.

  • 10/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Studious, open-minded, wants to learn about different perspectives, doesn't mind living in a quiet part of town, likes smaller classes, likes the beach (15 mins away), ready to have fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can afford it, definitely try living on campus for a semester or two. This will help you stay social and gain a unique college experience. If you can't, don't worry, just make an extra effort to stay involved! Also, take advantage of the financial aid center and the health clinic! They provide great services that are covered under your tuition payment (i.e. financial information, flu shots, counseling, etc.)

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely one of the most affordable schools in Southern California. I'm shocked at how high-quality our school is technologically, yet how affordable it is too! Worth every penny!

    Am enjoying being here

    It's small and rural, which is nice for me because I'm a quiet person and I like to be in a place that's calm. The students are really nice too and those living on campus have a tight community and seem to have fun. Being a commuter, I feel a bit left out of the loop, but still have fun.

    Am learning a lot

    CSUCI has amazing professors who really care about what they teach and their students. I feel like the curriculum is well-rounded and offers multiple perspectives and lots of interesting courses to choose from. Classes are like a normal high school size: around 30 students, which is awesome because teachers learn who you are individually and can help you on a personal level!

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    perfect. the campus officers are always patrolling and is portrayed as part of the school, rather than an outside entity that is there to protect and serve.....more so they are here to make this establishment into its own entity within the community of camarillo.

    Clubs and Activities

    so many clubs that reach into religion, politics, ethnicity, etc. possibilities are endless.

    Great for these types of students

    anything is possible at this school besides rated sports by the ncaa. that will come though, and when it does, we will be leading the charge.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    my kilusan pilipino group has found its niche within the student union and is slowly expanding throughout campus.

    Bang for the buck

    i am surprised that the tuition is this low for the quality that is given. love it!

    What to do for fun

    clubs, inter mural sports, and just making friends anywhere and everywhere.

    Food and Dining

    amazing food! healthy and filling, what more can be needed?

    Dorm Life

    my friends love it but i cant afford it. hopefully, i will get enough from scholarships in order to experience it.

    Academic Rigor

    it has been pretty east so far but the most challenging aspect is the percentage weighed down on the finals. my english final was worth 70 percent of my grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    just because it is a new school doesn't mean this school is weak. it packs a punch and will make you feel like an adult the minute you drive down campus road.

    In three sentences

    just amazing. everyone is so welcoming and the atmosphere just pushes you to be better and show the world what you are made of. going to this school saved my like because without it, i would probably be in the military or working at a fast food restaurant.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is so safe. the campus has their own police, and the sheriff comes by too they have shuttles for when it gets dark to take you to your classes and they also have free self defense classes!

    Greek Life

    there is one sorority, and the girls are all generally nice. no frats.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are tons of clubs sailing, biking, newspaper, just to name a few. and the school has block parties and dodge ball games.

    Great for these types of students

    artists, nursing students, business students. people who like the outdoors, quite places, and farm land.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the school was once camarillo state mental hospital so some people think it is haunted, its fun some people like to ghost hunt!

    Bang for the buck

    i would say its completely worth the money, the college experience is worth the cash.

    What to do for fun

    hiking, sailing, go to the beach, frisbee,dances, block parties, campus events, outlet mall shopping, go to beach, ghost hunt surf ect.

    Food and Dining

    the food is excellent, and they really try to mix things around so you aren't eating the same stuff every day, while having keeping some food items the same for comfort.

    Dorm Life

    The employees are very helpful, and teh R.A.s are on top of things. There is always events and fun things to do. There are events that happen the same time every week, like craft making and cocoa and board games for example, there is also tutoring Tuesdays. there are also events hosted by R.A.s and they are different all the time, sometimes they are a sport activity or a craft. also it was alot easier to make friends. I love living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are probably the best part of the school. Like all schools there are some easy professors and some hard professors but the balance at this school is good. Every professor I have had in the last year was really helpful and pretty nice. they honestly want to help you and want you to succeed, and they work really hard for us as students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Purchase your texts books the first week of class you will find some professors don't use them.

    In three sentences

    CSU Channel Islands is nestled in mountains, and just across teh way from a beach; it has small class sizes and a great atmosphere. There is a large sense of community here. Certain programs are better than others, but all in all its a great school.

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    police station on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    they don't try that hard to share the clubs and activities avaliable

    Great for these types of students

    shy students, who don't want to go to a huge school

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the well in the move the ring is located on campus

    Bang for the buck

    not too bad

    What to do for fun

    block parties, yoga, zumba, housing events.

    Food and Dining

    it's really good.

    Dorm Life

    only good because you don't have to share bathroom with whole floor.

    Academic Rigor

    it isn't that hard

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved on campus.

    In three sentences

    csu channel islands is an alright school. it has the benefits of a private school for half the cost as of now. the administration could be way better.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent! There are always university police patroling the already small university. At night there is even a service you can call and they will meet you where ever you are and take you to your car or dorm or class etc. It assures that you never have to walk alone at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    Excellent! Nearly a club or organization for everyone and every interest. There are so many opportunities that lie within each club as well it really makes your experience on this campus 10 times better if you get involved. As for activities there are always multiple events going on every week, really awesome because you can never say you're bored with the endless variety of events held.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for students who have been involved in clubs or leadership through high school or in volunteer work. The university really thrives from the many clubs it has because students in these clubs really make the extracurricular life for the rest of the university. The great part is even if you were not involved in high school it is still a great time to get involved and if there is something you are interested in but we don't have it you can start it!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This campus used to be the old Camarillo mental hospital and much of the campus still retains those old buildings. It has a lot of history which makes it that much more unique. It's not scary or haunted it is just really interesting.

    Bang for the buck

    Attending this university you really are going to get the most for your money. You are paying a considerably minimal tuition fee but are getting those small classes with 20-30 kids max in each course, thus you are getting the one on one time with a professor that you just don't get anywhere else. You have the opportunity to meet top administrators and speak with them about just about anything on your mind and they take the time to actually listen to you. Not only that but you have to opportunity to make this university and your college experience into what you want it to be because it is a growing university and it wants your opinion.

    What to do for fun

    Without leaving campus there is not a whole lot to do, you really need to seek it out yourself. I highly suggest getting involved and opportunities for fun and activity will arise immensely. With close proximity to the beach and mountains there is always the possibility of partaking in some great outdoor activities. Using the bus system you can explore the greater camarillo area such as the outlets, movies, and such.

    Food and Dining

    There are very limited places to eat on campus outside of the cafeteria which is very pricey. There is a reasonably priced cafe with a variety of foods along with a few other eateries such as subway and a Mexican restaurant along with a new pizzeria opening up.

    Dorm Life

    Not living in the dorms I can't give an great review. However I give it a 5 star rating because it is safe, clean, and they are very nice and roomy compared to other universities. Also there are always events going on in the dorms to get you out of your room and interacting with others.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor really depends on the classes you take. You may be surprised to find some of the general education courses are actually quite challenging. You can't simply assume you will just get by in an supposedly easy course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved as much as possible. It is such a small school with not much of the typical after school campus community. If you want to make the best of your college experience here you have to seek it out, volunteer, join a club, go to an event or start your own club. Don't wait for someone to seek you out or hold your hand, you have to take the initiative or you might miss out on some of the best opportunities this school has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Amazing university with the best and most diverse opportunities both academically and interest wise. Due to its relatively young age in the CSU system there is so much room for growth and development and the best part is that you as a student get a say in that growth; you make it happen. You are more than a number here you are a voice.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent. We have officers always patrolling the campus all day and night. And there are also many emergency poles everywhere, you click on the button and the on campus police respond within 3 minutes.

    Greek Life

    We have one sorority and I do not know so much about them but I know that they do a lot of community services and host many events on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs at CSUCI, we even has a sailing club.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our campus is very open to different types of celebrations. We have many clubs that honor traditions. For example, MECHA and the art club always come together for Dia De Los Muertos and create such beautiful retablos and altars.

    Bang for the buck

    CSUCI also has a great brand new library. It is such a beautiful building, it is almost made entirely of glass. Anywhere you stand in the library you can see outside. It's amazing! We also have a great database for research, so if you need to find journal reviews or case studies, you will always find something there.

    What to do for fun

    I like having game nights with some friends and we also enjoyed going to the pool area. CSUCI also has game rooms with pool tables and all sorts of entertainment games including xbox and ps3 consoles.

    Food and Dining

    Every student who lives on campus receives a meal card and are able to purchase food at the cafeteria and other food places on campus. Our cafeteria is great. We have all kinds of foods, drinks, and desserts. And it is also an all you can eat cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in the dorms my freshman year and it was an amazing year. I always recommend to all incoming freshman to live on campus because it's such a great experience. It gives students a chance to get to know each other and the dorms at CSUCI are awesome.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are very passionate in their fields and are always willing to go an extra mile to help their students as much as they can. Of course, classes always get harder but CSUCI has all the resources a students needs in being able to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Always asks questions during lectures. -Go to office hours if you need or have any additional questions, it also doesn't hurt to get to know your professors. -Join a club, become active on campus!

    In three sentences

    CSUCI is a great University because the staff and faculty try to get to know their students. Classrooms are very small and you are able to get a lot of one-on-one time with your professors. CSUCI is also very known for its beautiful campus, it is surrounded by mountains and very close to the beach.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    So far all the clubs and activities that have been around campus have been just to motivate us. There are a lot of extremely helpful clubs for students looking for ways to commute, transfer, and even cook.

    Great for these types of students

    This place is great for students who want to make not only friends but have a really big family. The campus alone is tiny and does not have the overwhelming number of students most other Cal States have. Its also great for students who prefer one on ones with teachers who are genuinely here to help students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since the school has been open for about 10 years some parts of the school are still being built. If you don't know, CI use to be somewhat of a hospital. It get a little creep sometimes walking around at night just because you look around and some of the original buildings that are still empty are there.

    Bang for the buck

    The market in the town center (which is basically where our mini Market, Subway, and Juice It Up, aka Jamba Juice) is expensive for someone without any type of income. Flex cash that those who dorm have can be spent in the places in the town center. But if you really want milk with your cereal you're going to have to pay about 4 to 5 bucks for a half gallon.

    What to do for fun

    Heres the tricky part of coming to CI. They try to keep the student body entertained by hosting little events around campus but majority of the time, if you don't have a car its a bit of a hike into town. So what i suggest is getting active, bring some video games, or hang out in any of the cool lounges they have. I'm not going to sugar coat it. It does get pretty boring sometimes on the weekends since I don't have a car to go into the neighboring cities but I always find something to do with friends.

    Food and Dining

    We have the main cafe that has pretty much a buffet style set up that serves the yummiest breakfast lunch and dinner. Of course its nothing like home, but it really is better than the food they serve in middle and high school. Oh, and did I mention its all you can eat? Yum!

    Dorm Life

    I love my dorm. If you can afford it or if your financial aid covers it, I definitely recommend it. CI has some of the nicest dorms I have seen when I was out college hunting. Nothing like the other schools. We don't even have to go to the shower halls that in some others schools have. We have the luxury of having our showers in our suites. Lucky us.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm currently an incoming freshman myself so majority of my classes are just helping me to expand what critical thinking is and basically putting my reading and writing skills to the test. I have yet to get bombarded with the amount of work my professors have been giving me which is just another plus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to your professors office hours! They are here to help you. Seriously. I can't imagine what or even where I would have gotten someone to go over some lecture notes with me other than my professors. Don't get discouraged if you are having a hard time in a class. Take advantage of the fact that they are in here to help you and just let them know what options you have for improving.

    In three sentences

    CSUCI has a great student teacher ratio that should encourage any incoming freshman to consider CI. You get the attention you most definitely want when you are put in a new environment--especially if you're living far from home. It gives you a great sense of stability and comfort knowing that the faculty and staff are really here for you to help you in any way possible.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe by walking at nights after my night classes.

    Great for these types of students

    It welcomes disability, and any races!

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot things to do such as sailing, get involved with multicultural center, student government, and community services.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are into Liberal Studies, this campus would provide you the most update modern education learning you could get.

    In three sentences

    This University is amazing. It provides the most update, modern education you could get at the campus. This campus is full of diversity. It welcomes every one. You could feel the warmth there!

  • 05/13/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    art students it has a great program for that.

    Tips for prospective students

    they love individuality and make sure you meet their standards. even if they like you youve got to meet their standards first before they can consider you for their school.

    Bang for the buck

    not exceedingly expensive

    Will enjoy being here

    the school is spacious and big. it practically owns its own mountain! the programs offered are good and allow for exploration. the classes are small and allow you and you teacher to get to know each other.

    Will learn a lot

    the school is spacious and big. it practically owns its own mountain! the programs offered are good and allow for exploration. many of the faculty are ready to listen

  • 08/23/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Since this is a Cal State, the tuition is lower and therefore the cost is less. Also, this school was non-impacted with the budget cuts to allow more students to get into the classed and majors they are looking for.

    Will enjoy being here

    I could easily live here. The housing was modern and affordable. The campus is close to Metro-link trains to get back and forth from Los Angeles as well as home, which is in Riverside California.

    Will learn a lot

    I visited this school and took a tour here. I was very impressed that it had a small campus in a beautiful location in Ventura county

  • 09/01/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I would not recommend this college for those looking to be doctors but i would recommend this college to those who are looking for a career in education or something with social sciences.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like a small learning environment with a warm at home feel, then this college is the right one for you and take advantage of the teachers. They are there to help!!

    Bang for the buck

    This college is, like i said before but it is not right for me. It needs more health classes and more biology classes for those who want to become great doctors someday.

    Will enjoy being here

    I absolutely loved the campus. It had a homey feeling and still felt like a place I would enjoy living and learning at.

    Will learn a lot

    This school has a great atmosphere for learning and has a beautiful library with books available not only to the students, but the community as well.

  • 02/12/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    plenty of activities but i wish there were more clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    we had the sodexo food company while i was still there. it was pretty good but i wish there were more healthy choices besides salad. i think it's a new company now.

    Dorm Life

    dorms are a decent size; only have to share a bathroom with up to three other people, which is a lot better number than other colleges that i've seen. the student government plans a lot of great activities to do each month. the campus is gorgeous and great for exploring.

    Academic Rigor

    great instructors and small class sizes.

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    always buy your books, talk to your professors and dont fall behind.

    In three sentences

    i love scuci! i love the class sizes and my professors. everyone is very nice and accommodating towards students who also work while going to school.

  • 03/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Up at the Town center there is a theater or you can drive to the nearest outlets.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, you can go up to the town center and have subway, or have some mexican food at Tortilla's Grill.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm doing good in all my classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is not as big as you think, but I do advice you that parking can get a little full on certain days so learn those days.

    In three sentences

    CSUCI is a very good school. It's only been established for ten years and it's starting to grow. I love it because the classes are small and the professors are able to focus on all the students.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that want to learn.

    What to do for fun

    Play volleyball, go to the beach.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is good.

    Dorm Life

    Haven't lived in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a lot of work required, especially writing. But the grading is fair.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know that there will be a lot of writing and projects.

    In three sentences

    Channel Islands is a great school. The classes are small so you can ask the teacher questions. All of the faculty are very knowledgeable and helpful.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is probably the most secure I've ever seen.

    Clubs and Activities

    Small amount of clubs, but they are pretty cool. There's alot of school sponsored activities here which are always fun.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to learn and love to be around other students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a few haunted spots on campus so those are pretty cool to check out.

    Bang for the buck

    This place was so worth the money and risk. I didn't know what to expect (never read reviews), but I'm so glad I came here.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, most everyone goes to the beach. Wednesday nights most students head to line dancing at Borderline. There's a gym, and the school isn't too far from town.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is very good. The cafeteria is all you can eat, and they almost always have some really good food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun, while somewhat expensive, but definetly worth it. It's not a huge school like SDSU, but the smaller community makes it very fun to know most everyone in housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Sometimes it's really easy, while sometimes it's a challenge. Overall a pretty nice academic difficulty.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your teachers better; they want you to succeed. Also, look to make friends with many students. Most of the people are smart and can help you with most problems.

    In three sentences

    I would give Cal State Channel Islands a 5 out of 5. This college will for sure enhance anyone's learning experiences whether it be academically or socially. The students and faculty are very nice and are always willing to help.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Check your email for upcoming events!

    Food and Dining

    There are a couple of restaurants like Subway and Tortillas located next to the book store on campus. There are two cafeterias; one is all you can eat with a good variety of food, the other is not and has sandwiches, pizza, soup, and chips.

    Dorm Life

    I would not recommend dorm life for students who are planning to live in a party environment. The campus is extremely strict about alcohol and noise.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors tell you exactly what they expect of you, and it is fairly straight forward.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors and other students in your major. If you need assistance, get in contact with an advisor. Also, look into joining clubs or honors societies.

    In three sentences

    This campus is a close knit institution with professors that care about what they are teaching. The class sizes are small and optimal for learning. This campus is also a large advocate for diversity among students.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    22 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is really good, there are always policeman around because the Camarillo Police station is on the campus.

    Greek Life

    There is only one sorority and no fraternities. The sorority is philanthropy based.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs, not too big and not too active but there are only 2 varsity sports for the school so there are a limited amount of things to do there.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who don't like a large, loud scene. There is no partying on campus and not a loud campus. Generally it is very low key so if you like quiet and calm settings this would be a good place.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is a former mental hospital so some of the buildings are abandoned and just left there so some spots are very spooky and people go ghost hunting through some of the abandoned spots.

    Bang for the buck

    It is affordable and a good way to graduate in four years, if you're okay with the student life it would be a good place to go otherwise.

    What to do for fun

    For fun there are the outlet malls close by, the beach is close by, and you are about an hour drive from LA and hollywood and there is a lot to do there. Also Santa Barbara is about an hour and some students go there as well.

    Food and Dining

    There is one main dining hall, the set-up is good and the food isn't bad. There is a Mexican restaurant, subway, and smoothie place on campus. There is also another grill like place, and the places other than the dinning hall you use dolphin dollars that are credited to your account from your meal plan and you have 150 meals to use in the dinning hall, it is plenty.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms themselves are very nice. They were made in the last 10 years which is really new considering a lot of other schools dorms. They are suite set-up with two rooms and a common area. The student life is a little dead and most people don't stay around very much and go home.

    Academic Rigor

    It isn't too hard coming from a rigorous private high school, but it definitely isn't easy. Is it a good pace if you stay with it and can be attainable as long as you try. Also i'm sure that the classes get harder the more you get into your major courses, I only took general education requirements there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved on campus as much as you can even though it is a little difficult, try to stay on campus and make relationships with the people around you, and always go to the library for tutoring help because they have different center there that help you.

    In three sentences

    School is very pretty and a good set up. Somewhat secluded but is a good place to graduate in 4 years since it is not impacted and affordable. Dorm life is new and very modern but many student do not live on campus or go home often.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    School offers a campus securoty to walk you to your car if you would prefer one at any time. Security strolling on campus at all times. Awarnes events alwa.s

    Clubs and Activities

    Biking. Hiking. For women to be heard.

    Great for these types of students

    Multicultural club for mexican heritage specially but anyone is welcomed. Spectrum for gay, straight lesbian transgendered.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Family weekend, Saturday and Sunday families come for free food and plenty fun activities.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is always handing out additional information to you just incase you need it later on and always make sure to answer your every question.

    What to do for fun

    Many clubs for different ethnicities to express them selfs. Their is several hang out spots special behind the bell tower, the grass area.

    Food and Dining

    Food is delicious and inexpensive. The best part is they have different varieties of ethnic foods.

    Dorm Life

    I've bin spending the night and I have 7 days to go hear on campus and the dorms are very comfortable. The bunk beds are easy to get into. They supply you with enough drawers and closet space for you and roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    The school has like a 20 to 1 ratio per class. Which I think it is great because the students get more attention and get a better education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to school early to find parking space. Commuting is more convenient because arriving to school on the vista bus is $25 a semester and a parking permit per semester is more than $100. Make time to always meet up with your professors.

    In three sentences

    California State University-Channel Islands is very welcoming. The staff has created an amazing, comfortable environment that makes one feel as safe as possible. The best thing about this school is that they answer your every academic question and help you set up your schedule to fit your major.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    They have many fun outdoor clubs like sailing, hiking, camping, and fishing. These are always great if you love the outdoors!

    What to do for fun

    CSU Channel Islands has many events that take place throughout the week whether its a concert or a movie night. There is always something going on. I love Channel Islands because you can go hiking and the beach is not too far so you can go have a beach day after classes too.

    Food and Dining

    CSUCI has one of my favorite hangouts known as the Freudian Sip which is a nice, little cafe and bakery for coffee in the mornings. They have two Freudian Sips on campus and students always enjoy grabbing a bite before class. There are plenty other hangouts on campus as well.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is always a must do. It's always nice meeting new friends and having the dorm life experience. Everyone has a blast living together, learning together, eating together, and studying together.

    Academic Rigor

    Channel Islands has an extremely rigorous learning course in every major. One of the hardest courses at Channel Islands is their nursing program. The teachers are great and the student ration is phenomenal because it allows students more one on one time with their professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Incoming students should be ready to stay on top of their work and should be able to meet important deadlines. These deadlines must be met in order to participate in certain academic activities. Be prepared and ready to learn!

    In three sentences

    California State University Channel Islands is very welcoming and introduces their school to be one of the best Universities in California. I would rate it as one of the top colleges because of their brand new library and their small student ratio which helps students engage in learning. CSUCI is calm, peaceful, relaxing, and has a beautiful campus for a great experience.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Try somethig new! This school offers many activties for free. Go on the trips to the Channel Islands, learn to surf, learn to sail., explore the fun opportunities.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful here. It's located amongst mountains and farm land the scenic drive is lovely. The school is small which makes it ideal for students to get acadamic assistance.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although we are tucked far away from the rest of Camarillo, we do have campus police and they are constantly patrolling.

    Greek Life

    We don't have Greek life... yet!

    Clubs and Activities

    We have many clubs on campus!! Our associated student government is a good one to join, they are actively involved in almost everything.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like a small school atmosphere, then CSUCI is perfect for you!! There are a lot of Nursing majors and artists!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My school used to be a state mental hospital! I think this is one of the interesting things about the school. All the buildings have had a life of their own before our was made into a state university. A very interesting fact about our campus is that the library was built over the state mental hospital morgue. I heard that the basement is still in tact.

    Bang for the buck

    As cheap as a state school can get, but you're definitely getting a great education for the lower price you pay!

    What to do for fun

    The school is only a 5-8 minute drive to the beach and we also have a bunch of hiking trails nearby!

    Food and Dining

    We do have a cafeteria for everyone, meal plans are available or you can buy a plate for $8. If you dine inside of the cafeteria it's all you can eat, but if you grab a box to go that's all you get so pack it high! There is also a subway on campus and an amazing Mexican food place, Tortillas that have the best fish tacos!

    Dorm Life

    I was never living in the dorms, but I do have a few friends that live on campus. I suggest this to all freshmen! It's smart to live on campus, meet all your fellow students, get to know every part of the campus, and even get to classes on time because you are so close (which is great if you wake up 10 minutes before class starts). The meal plans are great too, you basically could get whatever you want!

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are fantastic! I transferred from a community college to this university, class sizes are small and professors are actively engaged with their students and remember their names! All my classes were not easy and kept me challenged, but when I did need to clarify classwork, my professors always had an open door and would see me before classes if I needed help.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are not too many parking spots, so either get to school early or buy a bus pass- bus passes are only $25 a semester!

    In three sentences

    Beautiful university with a lot of culture! Channel Islands has a small, yet growing student population. Quiet campus, fantastic teachers, and numerous student clubs and sports.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus you feel very safe, but if there happens to be harm you can contact the police department that's on campus or another staff.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a variety of clubs and activities to choose from but its up to you if you want to join or not. Even if they don't have the club you want to join you can easily gather 5 students and just make your own.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are some parts of the campus that were filmed for movies, and people usually like to go visit those places.

    What to do for fun

    Usually students like to play sports in the South Quad of the school, but if your not into sports they usually have a lot of fun events throughout the school year you can attend. The Camarillo outlets are also very close by, but if you don't want to go shopping you can visit the harbor for a fun day in the sun by kayaking and sailing (it's already included in your tuition).

    Food and Dining

    The food is good as well, selecting a meal plan will give to the advantage to eat at the Island's Cafe. they have a variety of foods to select from, and they believe in the all-you-can-eat method. Even if your a vegetarian they will make you a special meal.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very clean and comforting, it's definitely a place you love t live away from home. There are also lounges, game rooms, and gyms you can enjoy while staying in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers at CSUCI aren't strict at all, as I mentioned before; this campus is filled with the friendliest people. Academics do come first of course, so they do enforce everyone to do their best and try their hardest.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should just be aware that college is something serious and they need to stay focused to stay on track. They shouldn't be worried about anything because everything that is needed can be found there, and they will be happy they chose CSU Channel Islands.

    In three sentences

    Channel Islands is one of those schools that every student is looking for, it has a beautiful campus, it's very calm, the weather is great, and the staff is very friendly. This school was not my first choice, but after I attended I realized that I wanted to stay and that I was glad i chose that school.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do at CSU Channel Islands, from events and games organized in student housing to monthly block parties.

    Food and Dining

    The Island Cafe is name of the cafeteria and it is a nice place to eat and spend time with your friends.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very clean and new. The building are old mission style. It's a nice touch to the usual bland style of dorms most colleges have.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a good amount of variety of classes offered here. There is a pretty good chance every student will find a class that meets their major's requirements or interests.

    Tips for prospective students

    Participate in the many school events and activities offered at CSU Channel Islands. Join any of the many clubs to find out what are your interests. Volunteering is a great way to meet new people.

    In three sentences

    California State University Channel Islands is a relatively new school where any student can shine in their own special way and contribute new traditions of their own. This school can be rated with flying colors because the atmosphere is so welcoming and energetic. Every new student will soon find out they belong in a school like CSU Channel Islands because the staff treats everyone with respect and with a caring, helping approach to each of their needs.

  • 09/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    low key, mellow, relaxed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Used to be a mental/insane asylum..

    What to do for fun

    beach, volleyball, chalk drawing, pool, hiking, surfing, tanning, bowling.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please apply, as the school wants to accept people. Bring a positive attitude and you will bring the school great joy.

    In three sentences

    The geography and history of Channel Islands is extraordinary, it couldn't be a better place to create a CSU. The faculty and population of the school all want to see their student succeed, therefore they are always willing to assist in anything that their students ask of them. This school shows me it has the potential to do many accomplished tasks and has the ability to produce fantastic scholars.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I found campus to be extremely safe. I never feel worried walking to my car late at night. There are security guards constantly driving around and even emergency buttons in the parking lots that you can press if you do feel unsafe. The security guards will give you a ride to your car late at night if they see you walking and they are very kind. The only thing to worry about on campus is ghosts if you believe in that sort of thing. CSUCI used to be California States' Mental Facility, but don't let that scare, I haven't run into any spirits yet.

    Greek Life

    There is one sorority on campus. They do great fundraisers and club activities but again it is a small sorority and what the fun in pledging if there aren't other sororities and frats to, well, fraternize with.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many new clubs and activites on campus and CSUCI is always looking to add more being a new college and all. During my time there I started an animal advocacy club that did great volunteer work for the community. There are many other clubs based on sports, outdoor recreation, sciences, politics, GSLT, and many more. If you don't see a club that interests you, you are encouraged to start it yourself.

    Great for these types of students

    CSUCI is a great school for commuter students who want to work and go to school and eventually receive a degree from a credited university. I have enjoyed being a part of the biology department so if you are trying a achieve a degree in the sciences, CSUCI is a great place for that as well. CSUCI is a great college for students with a more low key lifestyle and who aren't looking for the typical large school college experience. It is a small school with a very peaceful vibe.

    What to do for fun

    The clubs on campus are quite small as is the CSUCI population coupled with the fact that CSUCI is a new school. There isn't much club involvement but there is room for new clubs and it is not too difficult to start your club bassed on your interest. Joining/starting clubs is a great way to meet other peers with similar interests. CSUCI is located far behind agriculture fields, it is a bit of a drive to get anywhere but there is Old Town Camarillo near by where there are many resturants. Malibu, Ventura, and Los Angeles aren't too far of drives if you have your own reliable transportation and are great places to visit during the weekend or on a sunnny day when going to class seems unbearable.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining options at CSUCI are few. There is a cafeteria geared towards on campus living but available to off campus commuters as well. There is also two student coffee shops which are nice and mid-range priced. There is a mexican restuarant, a smootie shop, and a subway. There is also the Lighthouse Cafe which is run by students and is a nice place to eat in between classes. Overall the food selections aren't great but you can always find a decent, well priced meal when you need to. There are also microwaves available on campus for commuter students who bring their own lunch to university which is very convenient.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms on campus but I had friends who lived in the dorms. The dorm area is small, as is the student life at CSUCI. The dorms are nice and new and apartments on campus are available for older students. Dorm life at CSUCI can be a bit boring at times, rules are strict, and there is not much with campus being far removed from big city.

    Academic Rigor

    The acedemic rigor at CSUCI has not been too difficult. Of course it depends on which major you are going for. The sciences, especially nursing, is very competitive and therefore difficult. Yet other majors such as communications or performing arts are not too difficult. Of course the classes will become more challenging as you advance in your degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    I urge prospective students to visit the campus, you will fall in love with the beauty and peacefulness. CSUCI is a good college but is small, and quiet and so new that it still has a few kinks to work out. Going to school here is not the typical college experience but is fitting for many students none the less.

    In three sentences

    CSUCI is a college with an absolutely beautiful campus. CSUCI is a new up and coming college with a lot of work to do. Channel Islands is a great option for those who are looking to get a degree at a credited university while still trying to balance a budget and work.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police and staff work hard to keep CSU Channel Islands safe and secure. With emergency phones stationed around campus, and police doing nightly drive bys, the campus always feels safe. An additional safety precaution is that the gates to the housing dorms lock at 7 p.m. every day of the week.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a variety of clubs and organizations on campus that offer a little something for everyone. Though Channel Islands doesn't have organized sports teams, there are many sports clubs that athletes can join.

    Great for these types of students

    CSU Channel Islands is great for students looking to graduate in four to five years, and enjoy a small college atmosphere. Students who enjoy recognizing people around campus and seeing some individuals everyday are certain to love it at CI. Also, students that want a more small class feel and closer relationship to teachers and staff will find these qualities at CSU Channel Islands.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since Channel Islands is a converted Mental Hospital, portions of the campus have yet to be renovated. The abandoned children's ward or broken down bowling ally are common locations that are explored by the curious students at CSU Channel Islands.

    Bang for the buck

    Channel Islands offers you the private school feel for the public school tuition price.

    What to do for fun

    There are many different events put on each semester that offer students the chance to let loose and mingle with fellow students. From themed floor meeting to monthly Block Parties, the opportunities to have fun with your peers are endless. Since CSU Channel Islands is smaller than other CSU universities, you see people you know everyday and events like the ones above are more intimate.

    Food and Dining

    Channel Islands Cafeteria has a delicious range of food choices ranging from a made-to-order pasta bar, to a delicious Mexican food station. The menu changes everyday while also keeping some staples like the soups and salads, offering students a different dining experience each day. The staff is both energetic and friendly, making your breakfast, lunch, and dinner meals fun and exciting.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorms at Channel Islands are spacious and new looking. Often students share a room with more than one roommate, and are usually clumped together in suites with other rooms. The interaction with suite mates and neighbors offers a unique college experience that is both comfortable and exciting. With common areas like the lounge and gym, students are able to meet and mingle with each other at all times of the day.

    Academic Rigor

    The class selection and registration process is very easy compared to other California State Universities. While other CSU students struggle to barely get their Core classes, Channel Islands students are more likely to get the classes they need to graduate on time , which is about four or five years. Professors are attentive, helpful, and genuinely care about your success as a student at Channel Islands.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some advice for all incoming students would be to get involved with the campus. You will have a much better experience if you put yourself out there and make friendships and connections with various different people around school. Luckily, CSU Channel Islands has a wonderful variety of clubs and organizations on campus for you to chose from.

    In three sentences

    California State University Channel Islands is a beautiful campus that provides the student with a small, close-knit college feel. The teachers and staff genuinely care for your personal success and are always available to assist you in any way possible. Since the campus is on the smaller end, having around 4,000 students, you really do get the private school feel at the state university price.

  • 12/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school's police department is short walk away, and there is always a patrol car strolling down the campus streets. CI is a dry campus, though that doesn't stop the odd student from trying to sneak any on campus. The fire department is located a bit further away from campus.

    Greek Life

    There are currently no sorority housing, as the campus is still young and developing.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are new clubs being created every year, whether they are religious, political, artsy, cultural, major-related, sports-orientated, or just for fun.

    Great for these types of students

    If you don't think you would feel comfortable attending a large campus with thousands of students and not enough parking spaces, CSUCI is the place to go!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unbeknownst to many, the CSUCI was formally a psychiatric ward. Currently today, there are still building that have yet to be restored to their former glory since the facility was shut down some years ago. These building are closed off to students and faculty alike. It doesn't help that there are rumors that said abandoned buildings are haunted...

    Bang for the buck

    There are many campus facilities and workshops open and available to all students.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many campus activities! We have monthly block parties near the student dorms/apartments, and we have many cultural, artsy, fun events that are open to all students that attend CI. If you don't feel up to attending, the beach is less than 10 minutes away, and the Camarillo Shopping Outlet is a short distance away.

    Food and Dining

    There's a wide variety of food available to everyone at CI. The campus cafe provides a full range of different meals to appease everyone's tastes.

    Dorm Life

    It's a small campus. If you dorm at CI, be prepared to know almost everyone (at least those that live on campus), as you will have MANY encounters with them. The dorms are adequate, and the closet spaces are split in half. If you plan to live in a triple, I wish you luck on figuring out how to divide the space up.

    Academic Rigor

    The small campus size also mean small class size. You get to know your professors more personally, and most of them are very enthusiastic of helping you further your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to live on campus and you don't have a car, I suggest making friends with someone who has one. Being on that small campus for too long might make you stir crazy, so it's a good idea to have outings with your friends.

    In three sentences

    Small and Cozy

  • 12/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to the Mexican restaurant and get a cold beverage, or drive to the beach.

    Food and Dining

    some nice restaurants on campus

    Dorm Life

    wouldn't know

    Academic Rigor

    pretty even paced

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, buy your books before class and email your teachers before class starts.

    In three sentences

    The extension program is nice. The campus is far from SB so I have only been once. Business program is cool.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have our own campus police. We have a non-emergency number and we have an RA on duty that is only a call away.

    Greek Life

    None. Sorry

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs and also since the school has only been there for 10 years you can make your own clubs. I am not in any clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    I would think that it would be great for the students that like peace and quiet. It is very peaceful and beautiful the scenery is marvelous.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus used to be a mental institution. It has been used for movies like the ring. The well is on a hill and you can see it perfectly from the library. The school library is made out of glass. I think it's amazing. Many say that the campus is haunted.

    Bang for the buck

    Honestly I highly suggest look into the financial aid or what ever kind of money source will pay for college. I didn't and I sadly regret it. I had to take out two loans and my parents still had to pay. I honestly would of chose to commute to the nearest university, but I made great friends there and i wouldn't change a thing now.

    What to do for fun

    My friends and I have not found out where to go when we are bored our of our minds. Some might say Channel Islands is a commuter school. Over the weekend a lot of kids go home and it can get a little lonely. What I suggest is to go exploring.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, there is a salad bar, a Mexican station a BBQ station, a sandwich station and a station that always changes so you get some variety. We have a student union building but you have to pay. I bought the cheapest meal plan and I found out that I get $250 on my student ID card. You can use that money on the student union, one of two coffee shops , jamba juice, subway or a small market we have there.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great, and you only have to share with four other girls. Four may sound like a lot but with other universities you have to share with the girls on your floor. Now that's a lot. For freshmen you live in a suite. You can choose to live in a double or in a triple. I am in the triple. It is actually very spacious. My roommates and I moved the beds and desks so we can have floor space. The locks on the doors do not open with a key. You get a card and you need to put in a code and you swipe the key. You only get one small refrigerator so you share with your suite. We have two sinks and a small kitchen center that you can have a microwave in.

    Academic Rigor

    One of my Suite mates stated something that I never thought of and it bugged me. Our school does not allow skateboarding. We were walking and we saw some students skateboarding. She remarked I hate skateboarding. I asked her if she liked rollerblading and she had nothing against it. The remark that astounded me was that she said that she wished our university would be more professional. Honestly that student could be the next president or the inventor of the new gadget everyone will want. I don't judge others on how they look or what transportation they use. Those I talk to on academics choose what they are going to do in life, some drop out ,others stay. I don't know how to rate the academic rigors of a school because I do not now how to rate students.

    Tips for prospective students

    I did not want to be in a huge classroom where I would feel small and useless. The classrooms are smaller than the other California State University's. If you are looking for small classroom's then California State University of Channel Islands is for you.

    In three sentences

    Csuci is a very small university. It is peaceful and quiet. The dorms have a lot of space compared to the other dorms I have seen.

  • 01/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have i think 15 cops on campus.

    Greek Life

    Theres no greek life.

    What to do for fun

    Theres honestly nothing to do in camailo.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't so great after the first 2 weeks.

    Dorm Life

    A little stresful at first but its very convienient. You meet more people and can jump out of bed and go to class.

    Academic Rigor

    Wonderful classes and professors,

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors during their office hours. Apply for financial aid in the beginning of the year and choose classes in consideration of the time.

    In three sentences

    Cal State Channel Islands has a beautiful campus with great teachers that interact with their students. The administrators like the dean are welcoming to students and are open to getting to know students on a more comfortable level. The class sizes are reasonable and have a great impact on actually learning better and getting help from the professors.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Barely anything, just be in as many clubs/organizations as possible.

    Dorm Life

    Not much to do, especially during weekends

    Academic Rigor

    Very focused on its students which the student to faculty ratio is reasonable to get help in academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be very communicative with the professors, try to get involved as much as possible.

    In three sentences

    The school is very diversed and small which pretty much almost everyone knows each other. It is isolated from city life, very rural. It is really focused on its students.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    My friends and I mostly go out to eat or sometimes watch movies in the lounges.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is good but you have to learn how to make a variety f it or else you'll get bored very quickly.

    Dorm Life

    There is hardly any parties in the dorms since the police station is right next to it. However with the right people you won't need to go to a party to have fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Everyone here is pretty studious and friendly so it will not be hard at all to make study groups.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in activities on campus and join programs such as SSS Student Support Services, you will get priority registration.

    In three sentences

    On a scale of one to ten the atmosphere of friendliness is a ten. The class sizes and teachers are great. The bad part is that it is isolated from the town so if you want to go out you would have to have a car or take the bus.

  • 01/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Yup no horror stories people bikes get stolen that's about it and drunk tools might get into fights. Oh and I think this girl running was being chased by a hobo, that might be a rumor though.

    Greek Life

    Lame as aforementioned.

    Clubs and Activities

    They are all really lame clubs, nobody helps anyone or achieves anything great. The sorority and fraternity are dry goodie-two shoes.

    Great for these types of students

    Surfers, people who don't show up to class (I once got an A in a class that I showed up to twice and didn't even stay the whole time), the smart but not genius, the people who go to college just to say they are in college, and the weirdos from all over (I once saw a guy just standing behind a bush staring at people), oh and girls a lot of girls go here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well everyone knows this used to be a mental hospital, so some of the abandoned are open and you can perouse around. You can see some cool things like; scratches on walls, weird glued on magazine clippings, writing on the walls, the Hall of Fame, and where they used to house the people on the Biggest Loser a few seasons ago. You can find a courtyard of the freshest oranges you have ever tasted. Most if the good stuff is gone though. But the courthouse still remains and that's creepy.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall you could have a fun time and walk away with a degree, it's all about knowing the right people and asking the right questions and a little motivation and dedication.

    What to do for fun

    The Channel Islands, drink, beaches, Santa Barbara, Los Angeles, national parks all around us, target(yup it's a happening place), Salzers, the bowling place in camarillo, laser tag.

    Food and Dining

    There is some good food around there: Olas, Rolling Pin Doughnuts, In N Out, Toppers Pizza( I like Pizza Man Dan better), Denny's, or the 24-hour Del Taco.

    Dorm Life

    If you know the right people you can have a lot of fun. Otherwise have fun going home every weekend or sitting in your dorm studying like you should be.

    Academic Rigor

    Pretty easy not gonna lie.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to get all the classes that you can get. They might not offer the class for another two years. Ask a bunch of questions to counselors, financial aid staff, admissions staff or even the chair of your major. They are notorious for leaving stuff out and then you have to pay the price for it later.

    In three sentences

    This school has a fair selection of professors, but terrible staff especially in Sage Hall. The campus is a smaller size, it's hard to get lost. Class offerings are a joke, they have classes listed in your major that haven't even been offered yet.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is only one sorority and it is called the ZETA PHI OMEGA

    What to do for fun

    For fun i like to go running and hiking there are some amazing places to do that. I

    Food and Dining

    The food is great there are so many places to eat.

    Dorm Life

    i do not know i dont live here

  • 03/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Really nice school and it was the perfect fit for me. It is only my first year but I absolutely love this school.

    What to do for fun

    The beach is 15 minutes away, an outlet mall probably 10 minutes away. Plenty to do if you have a car, if not, then take part in the campus life.

    Food and Dining

    Food is really good but can cause you to over eat. Just watch out for the freshmen fifteen.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small and expensive, also many people complain that it is boring. However, if you are an ocean lover like me, you will find plenty to do with the beach just 15 minutes away.

    Academic Rigor

    It is moderate and not too much to worry about. It keeps you on your toes but is nothing to stress out about. If you keep up with your work, it is quite easy to keep good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is an amazing school and there is nothing to worry about. The faculty is amazing and the small student population makes it easy to make friends.

    In three sentences

    Channel Islands is a great school for anyone looking for a small school and a good relationship with faculty. It is a great environment to learn in and even better to build experiences. It is in a perfect location for nature lovers and for those who love the outdoors.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    41 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    CSUCI has its own personal police station on campus, not just campus security.

    Clubs and Activities

    We are a new school so any club that we don't have yet will supported by our dean if you choose to start a club!

    Great for these types of students

    This school is perfect for students who are not all about the academics. CSUCI also encourages clubs and fun activities to balance out the stress of college academics. We have tons of spirit and accept every kind of person!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In front of the library is a new water fountain. Each freshman gets to touch the water at orientation which is the accepting of being a Channel Island Dolphin! You don't touch the water until you graduate! :)

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous clubs and even block parties every other week! Channel Islands also supports off campus water sports like sailing, kayaking and paddle boarding.

    Food and Dining

    The food is surprisingly delicious! Its all fresh (we are located in the middle of farmland) and made to your order!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are awesome! They have one bathroom for 5 people, not a communal bathroom. They have mini fridges in the dorm rooms but also have a full on kitchen in each dorm building. The beds are also quite comfy!

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are designed to teach you and to help you thrive, not see how much homework you can complete in one night.

    Tips for prospective students

    While applying for schools, make sure they have the major you want and fit the criteria of your ideal school. Location plays a huge part in college. Also, apply for scholarships!!!!!!! Make sure that your schedule is balanced as well.

    In three sentences

    CSU Channel Islands is absolutely amazing! The campus is beautiful and the administrators and students are extremely nice and helpful. The school is only 10 years old, so everything is new and ready for use!

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    CI has a full time campus police with the local police department. Some say we are too safe and a few officers seem like they get bored.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life in CI. ill leave that for you to make of it as you please.

    Clubs and Activities

    Being a relatively new school, you would think we would not have much to offer, but we do. We have lots of club for you to spend some free time doing what interests you, and if we don't, start one, its easy.

    Great for these types of students

    CSU Channel Islands offers a variety of studies. There Pre-nursing, and Chicano studies are what we are know for however.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This campus, despite the name, is NOT on the channel islands (you wont believe how many time i'v been asked.) However you are still rather close. The beach is only 5 minute away and there are plenty of great hiking trails around the campus. CSU Channel Island us to be a California State Mental Institution, and in certain parts of the campus, you can tell. People love to go out ghost hunting at night. No one has seen anything yet.

    What to do for fun

    Being at college is a privilege. Fun is not my first concern, however when i find the time I enjoy a good conversation with roommates and friends and love a good adventure here and there.

    Food and Dining

    Great food choice

    Dorm Life

    Perfectly average dorm life. Safe and accommodating.

    Academic Rigor

    The campus will provide a great education. However we all know you pay for your education. CSU Channel Islands is a state school. With that in mind it provides a state education, which is really good, but not rigorous or exceptionally demanding. Politics and the follies of our representatives have failed our education needs with acts like No Child Left Behind. At no fault of the campus this hinders the teaching capabilities of the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is not for everyone. Make sure that this is the right track for YOU before you commit to a serious dissension.

    In three sentences

    A fantastic school that makes you feel apart of the campus in many level. Between a top notch teaching faculty and a friendly student community, any prospective student will feel welcome. I'd recommend this campus to anyone looking or a solid education in a good location.

  • 08/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police make everyone feel safe and at ease no matter what time of day it is.

    Great for these types of students

    Any and all. Everyone is welcome

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Becoming a dolphin. It is something you wont soon forget.

    Bang for the buck

    Lowest price you will find for a university but still a wonderful school.

    What to do for fun

    I cannot name all the things there are to do for fun. Sports, beach-side activities, camping, block parties, and so much more.

    Food and Dining

    Our food is surprisingly delicious!

    Dorm Life

    All my friends say it has come to be second only to their homes, they love it.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are willing to help and give you the tools you need to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay all dues early, don't wait till the last minute. Pay close attention at IVO ALL the information will be important in the future Have fun, meet new people and enjoy this time of your life.

    In three sentences

    CSUCI is a warm inviting campus. Any student would be lucky to call CSUCI their home. I believe that CSUCI will equip me with everything I need to be successful in life.

  • 08/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, driven, friendly, open.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It used to be a State Hospital and there are some pretty crazy stories that go around but no one really knows if they're true.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs on campus! Get involved and meet people. There are alos things like block parties and stuff like that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dorms in Santa Cruz Village (Freshman dorms) are really small, so have a look at them before trying to reserve your spot. When applying for classes make sure you are there when the portal opens to get your classes

    In three sentences

    Great school with a good and friendly environment. Small and comfortable enough to lounge around where ever you would want to. Staff is very flexible.

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    45 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is not that bad. The meal plans are very flexible and some restaurants are sort of cheap. Their is a subway in campus and the sandwiches are good.

    Dorm Life

    Happy friendly people live in the dorms. Room Mates are always nice and understanding towards each other. You feel like your family.

    Academic Rigor

    They have difficulty classes that will challenge you. Studying is a big deal and always keep up with deadlines. careful about those pop quizzes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to succeed here all you must do is work hard. Be prepared to study for up to eight hours. Always ask for help from professors or classmates when needed.

    In three sentences

    This University puts its students at the center of everything. They have classrooms of less than 40 students. Their professors are always their to see you even after office hours.

  • 08/16/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    46 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is available on campus by the shopping center, i wish there was more variety but i am ok with what is available such as subway.

    Dorm Life

    During orientation I had to stay in the dorms overnight since it was a two-day event, and I am not a fan of small spaces. Apparently, freshmen and sophmores are given the smallest rooms on campus? Parents and visitos at the orientation were able to stay where the juniors and seniors reside during the school year and their rooms were bigger and more spacious ( so i was told). I think it's is kind of unfair and horrible to stay in those little rooms with only ONE shower for SIX to share..oh that includes one toilet too.

    In three sentences

    The campus is easy to navigate, although it may take a good two or three times to get familiar and comfortable. Both students and staff are very welcoming and helpful to those who attend and/or visit the university. Overall, the campus is beautiful, clean, and a very peaceful environment for students to feel safe and at ease.

  • 08/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Not much greek life here, only one sorority but you can always sign up to create more!

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a club for just about everything.

    Great for these types of students

    Focused students who still like to have fun.

    What to do for fun

    The beach is only minutes away. And if the beach isn't your scene, the Camarillo Outlets are just a few miles down the road. And if you find yourself bored, LA and Santa Barbara are only an hour away.

    Food and Dining

    When it comes to food, theres no shortage here. They have a buffet style dinning hall where they offer dozens of different entrees, salads, soups, and desserts. The choices are endless and the food is pretty darn tasty too.

    Dorm Life

    The room advisors and staff try their hardest to make dorm life as comfortable as possible. They set up so many events for the new dormers to meet and make friends. The dorms are new and they provide you with a fridge and microwave. They also have game rooms and fitness centers for you to use at your leisure.

    Academic Rigor

    They offer many intro classes to prepare you for the more advanced classes. If you choose to go straight into the more advanced classes be prepared to dedicate quite a bit of some time to studying and doing homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you dorm, pack light. Be ready to have school spirit, because its all around, dolphin pride is huge. Be ready to put in work, all colleges are rigorous so just expect to have to study a bit. Have fun! The most important thing ever, is to just remember to have fun.

    In three sentences

    Cal State Channel Islands is one of the most beautiful colleges around. Not only is the campus aesthetically pleasing, the professors are some of the best I've ever met. The entire staff team here are genuinely here to help the students have the best experience possible.

  • 09/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the beach, great nightlife in downtown Camarillo

  • 11/23/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    49 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. I will not go out on a limb and say that nothing bad ever happens here, but I can tell you that things are solved very quickly and there is no tolerance for crime on that campus. Otherwise the law enforcement is very friendly and they always stop by and say hello or wave when they see you.

    Greek Life

    They have one sorority called Zeta Pi Omega. Girls please join they are a great organization and very friendly sisterhood. The first fraternity opportunity was ended because of different reasons but they are trying to start another soon.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are great. There are too many clubs that you can join being it for fun, politics, education, dance, race, etc. Everything at CI is built for diversity and multiculturalism

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want there university to feel like a home away from home. Students who want small class sizes, a fun environment, and opportunities for growth.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On top of the hill located behind Aliso hall is a well, that is the well that was used in The Ring where the little creepy girl crawls out. In the north quad there are a few old residents hall from the Camarillo State Hospital, people from the show The Biggest Loser slept there. There have been a few other recordings on our campus as well including a TV show soon to be coming out, N'sync's music video for the song Crazy, and Underclassman starring Nick Cannon. Also, though you shouldn't do this because you could get in trouble...people always go ghost hunting :)

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely one of the most affordable schools in Southern California. Though the school is new it has made very big leaps forward and is on a continually increasing journey to greatness!

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous clubs to join, intramural sports are held everyday in the gym, CI offers free dancing classes, self-defense courses, yoga, and all types of water activities. CI is also in very close proximity to beaches considering it is right of the Pacific Coast Highway. Surfing, sunbathing, enjoying friends, and beach volleyball. We also have the Camarillo outlets where people love to come shop, hang out, walk around, eat, and catch the latest movie. There are also numerous trails to hike.

    Food and Dining

    Not going to lie the place is great until you get tired of the food. It is buffet style dining for all three meals of the day. You have a certain amount of swipes that you can use per semester and they don't roll over. Additionally, one gets $125-$250 extra to spend on snack foods depending on what package one purchases. In the cafeteria you go in and order whatever you want and they will make it if they have the ingredients. There is a grill, pasta bar, salad bar, sandwich bar, Mexican grill, and the entree section (which changes everyday for dinner only).

    Dorm Life

    Firstly, at CI the dorms are called Resident Halls and most of the administration would rather not hear a student call them dorms. Secondly, I know that if a future dolphin was to talk to some people about living in the dorms they would hear about these three problems...1. Boring, 2. Expensive, 3. Strict. I lived in the dorms my whole college career. I can say that at sometimes I was bored but that was because I wasn't going to the daily events in the dorms a lot. Expenses can be a problem at times but if one is willing to pay the administration will work with you. To be honest, it is a lot cheaper than most places anyway. Everything is free(after payment of course) excluding laundry. As for this place being strict I feel that it was most times but I can understand why. People have to do work, sleep, and want to relax so I can understand why somethings have to be shut down at 10p.m.

    Academic Rigor

    This school provides basic to advanced classes. The good thing is that you are always able to get help from the professor, the tutors, and of course your friends. The small class sizes allow for the professors to get to know you as a student. I suggest utilizing the professors office hours, whether you need help or not, it can be the difference between a C+ and a B-.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you get there please make it a point to get your name out there. get involved in the different clubs around the campus. Make friends and keep your studies up because work can come down on you hard if you are not ready. Also, I would suggest keeping your phone battery charged because you never know when a beautiful scene will show at CI.

    In three sentences

    This university is an amazing place to not only start your college career but to grow as a person through the CI culture. The people here are friendly and the university prides itself on diversity and multiculturalism. With the beautiful scenery, small class sizes, interpersonal relationships with student and staff, and the great network of this university, CSU Channel Islands is where you want to be.

  • 11/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not that great, the past 2 weeks 2 people have already been accused of rape.

    Clubs and Activities

    Filipino club, recycling club, and block parties by the Student Government.

    Great for these types of students

    For students that don't like to go out very often.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school use to be an ansulym.

    Bang for the buck

    College is very expensive, yet is worth the experience.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Union usually has a lot of options to entertain yourself with while waiting for your next class to start.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. I would eat there everyday if I had enough money.

    Dorm Life

    I communte to CSUCI.

    Academic Rigor

    The education is relevant to daily life obstacles. The professors are very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Manage your time carefully. Save money as much as you can. Don't become under the influenced.

    In three sentences

    The professors are very helpful. The weather is great. There are always people around all the time.

  • 12/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is really good, but you kinda get tired of the same things all the time no matter how good they are.

    Dorm Life

    Life in the dorms is easily one of the best experiences I've ever had in my entire life. Ive made lots of good friends and made memories I'll cherish forever.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here range from easy to extraordinarily difficult depending on your major and what G.E.'s you choose.

  • 01/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    CI Police is just a minute away. Plenty of emergency call buttons around campus. Late night pick up service is offered to students on campus trying to get elsewhere (dorms, parking lot, library) late at night and just want added safety.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is just getting started. Clubs do exist.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs to go around, one for just about every major and sport.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students coming from average sized public high schools who enjoy a feeling of community within their learning environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    First year of students to begin the tradition of dipping your hand into the fountain and not being able to touch it until we graduate.

    Bang for the buck

    It is great for the price.

    What to do for fun

    The Beach is 10 minutes away, as are the Camarillo Outlets. UCSB. the top party school is just an hour away.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is just awesome. Don't get more than the minimum 160 plan, you won't run out.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are the best. Extremely spacious and there are plenty of common rooms and game rooms or other rooms for you to spend your free time.

    Academic Rigor

    If your major is difficult, you will have a difficult workload. Class sizes are awesome so if you need help, you'll get it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely start with lower division req.'s for the first semester. Make meetings with peer counselors, they really help.

    In three sentences

    CSUCI is an amazingly beautiful school. It is a smaller school but big enough to walk around and find many places. It is remote but 10 minutes from the beach and shopping outlets.

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a priority. Campus police do a very good job at offering defense courses for students and making sure that the campus is safe.

    What to do for fun

    Located right next to the Santa Monica Mountains hiking is a huge opportunity.

    Food and Dining

    Tortillas is a must!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to study maps of the campus because finding classrooms can be hectic.

    In three sentences

    If you enjoy smaller class sizes, one on one teacher interaction and a quaint campus, Channel Islands is right for you. This school has a high student orientated way of running and there are always ways to get questions answered. Though small and fairly new, this school still has pride.

  • 04/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is never any problem at the campus, and if there is we are immediately updated via email.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities, and the sorority is for those who live on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have great ideas for club sports, but they do not publicize it enough so if you do not live on campus you will have no idea.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for nursing, art, and relaxed people. For those who do not want to do a sport in college or be close to the beach, it is a great relaxing location with a beautiful grass area and serene library.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    People like to climb up to the well that was supposedly used in the movie The Ring, and tell scary stories. There is also an old house with graffiti all over it that people like to go to and they also say it is haunted and spooky.

    Bang for the buck

    For the size of a private school, the price is of a california state school so you receive a more personalized education without spending the extra money. Also, it is very close to the ocean which many people find ideal.

    What to do for fun

    There is a bowling alley not too far from campus. There is also movies a few miles away. Most people go to the beach when the sun is out.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus isn't very great so it is recommended to eat off campus. The pizza place and mexican restaurants are decent food and offer some alcoholic beverages.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is quiet and most people know each other. There is not much to do on campus so weekends and breaks it is completely empty.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are extremely easy, while others are surprisingly hard. However, due to small class sizes most teachers will work with the students to ensure that they do as best as they can in each class.

    Tips for prospective students

    I wish I had gone to a lot of the freshman nights to meet more people that could have become my close friends.

    In three sentences

    Channel Islands is a calm, small, commuter school. The campus is beautiful and close to the beach with wonderful California weather. Classes are small and ideal for great learning.