Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Calvin College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/27/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 out of 23 people found this review useful. 1 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you have ambition, dreams and goals, then Calvin is the place for you. Whether you want to help as many people as possible or build a company from scratch, at Calvin you will learn how to be successful using the gifts that God has given you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are worried about making friends, don't worry, Calvin does a terrific job of keeping you busy the first few weeks, so just be yourself and you will soon find out who it is you want to hang out with. Professors respect when you work hard, and if they know it they will be far. Don't be afraid to ask them for help, they are looking for students that want to be successful. Professors are also great for other advice, about other classes, your major (or minors), life, your faith, or sometimes even if you have relationship problems. They are there for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Its expensive yet this is the only time in your life you will experience something like this. Also you receive some of the best possible education. The Professors want you to learn, and will meet with you anytime you have a question, would be happy to meet with you for coffee, and are constantly giving encouragement or advice.

    Am enjoying being here

    Calvin College is a personal environment. In the Dorms: You know your roommate better then your best friend in a year. Calvin works really hard to make sure that even if you never met them before, that you will be a good match, and then hand selects your roommate for the best compatibility. Your room is connected to another room through your bathroom, and you are immediately connected to 2 more friends. Your floor becomes a close knit community; a family. You know them all, and learn to trust them, because you live with them. The classrooms are also a special place to meet people, the average classroom is just over 20 people so you have the ability to get to know people really well. Especially in small classes when there are just a few of you.

    Am learning a lot

    Professors care and want you to succeed. They challenge you, tasks are easy, but they also want to give you the tools to succeed, and excel at it. Some of the professors you connect with will get to know you at a personal level. In the classroom you are taught the material in a more realistic and world setting. You are also taught spiritually and through your faith. Calvin is a Liberal Arts College so you are allowed (and required) to complete various Core classes to be more well rounded.

  • 08/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 out of 15 people found this review useful. 2 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hardworkers will thrive at Calvin. If you want to sit on your butt for four years... pick a different school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't put off homework assignments for social time. Also, try to do as much homework as you can -- especially in classes that you're struggling in. Don't be afraid to go to your prof and ask questions. Every prof I've had so far has been more than willing to help out. Going to ask questions during their office hours also shows the prof that you want to do well in the class and that you care about the class subject.

    Bang for the buck

    Calvin is pretty expensive, but financial aid helps a lot, and it really is a great campus with great profs and facilities and it's worth the money.

    Am enjoying being here

    The community is great. I got to know the girls on my floor and the guys on my brother floor really fast. It's fun living in the dorms because there's always something going on and people to go out with. It's fun to hang out on campus, too.

    Am learning a lot

    The profs are very helpful, and the classes are really challenging and make me think.

  • 04/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 7 people found this review useful. 3 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Calvin I think is great for those who want to exceed and also those who want to grow deep in their christian faith. There are bible studies that are held in the dorms and also times for worshiping God in a community setting. So if you have a desire to succeed then Calvin is one of the places for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students is not to worry whether you will be able to make friends and succeed. The professors and advisers are here for you and if you have any questions, don't hesitate to ask. Also if you don't know, Calvin is mostly a white institution, there is an increase of diversity which can seen all around campus. There are events and also organizations such as the Multi-Cultural Student development office which cater and educate to learn more about other cultures that are presented here at Calvin.

    Bang for the buck

    Calvin is worth the money although the cost to come is quite a bit, but it is worth it. Calvin supplies numerous scholarships, grants and loans for you to have and talking to people who come here is also a good way to see if Calvin is worth the bang for the buck.

    Am enjoying being here

    Calvin in general is a nice atmosphere. If you have visited or are planning to visit, you will notice a lot of trees and greenery around, granted when the snow comes, which is also good as well. There is a nature preserve here at Calvin which is great for walking or just a place for reflecting. You usually make friends pretty quickly because of the roommate and suite mates that are placed around you. Getting to know new people is a rewarding experience and the people here are friendly.

    Am learning a lot

    At Calvin, to be honest is a good place to be. The classes that you take will be rigorous depending on your major, but the professors are there to help. Some of the classes that I have taken at Calvin have been beneficial to me and the things that I learned have connected to my christian faith. There are tutors available and the professors as well who are willing to help you succeed.

  • 01/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 4 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    hard workers, creative minds, and people looking for an excellent education

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, study, study! I was one of those people that could just coast through high school and study maybe five minutes for a test. Here I had to crank it up a notch and study for at least an hour.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are hard and demanding but totally worth it. The teachers push you to succeed and truly care about how you do - they want you to leave here completely prepared to face the world. Some of the professors that are away from a computer a lot give you their cell phone number in addition to their email on the syllabus so you are able to reach them through text message if necessary.

    Am enjoying being here

    The teachers and classmates are fun and engaging. There are also many campus events to get students involved. They send out student newsletters so you always know what is going on and can join events even if you are a commuter like me.

    Am learning a lot

    The class work goes in depth into whatever subject you are studying, you definitely learn what you need to know for your major. There are also certain core classes you need to take which give you general knowledge and creates well-rounded students that can succeed at whatever they set out to do.

  • 08/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 5 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Calvin is expensive, but you are getting what you pay for. The Christian atmosphere makes learning so much more as you learn about science, but about how God relates to all of it in the mean time. This school helps you get a great job after graduation and also helps you on your walk with Christ.

    Am enjoying being here

    Being in the college life is great, but being at Calvin for the experience is even greater. You create great friendships with the people in your dorm, and because Calvin is so small you are able to know more of your class mates. This school offers many activities so you always have something to do when you are not studying, and it is also located in a city with a wide variety of hang out spots.

    Am learning a lot

    Calvin offers professors who know what they are talking about. The classes are smaller so you are able to get the help you need, and if your teacher can't help you then there are free tutors available that meet with you as much as needed. Calvin really offers great classes and they are a high ranked school because they require the most core classes around.

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Calvin is a great choice for any student who wants to discover their faith and be able to integrate it into their field of study. It is also great for students that like to go beyond the normal coursework, as there are many research opportunities. There is a mix of political attitudes at Calvin, but as a whole the school seems to lean right. The Calvin community has a conservative, small-town vibe.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at the size of the school you wish to attend. A smaller faculty-to-student-ratio means more individual attention from professors and advisers. Also, look at the political tendencies of the school as a whole. Find the right balance of conservative and liberal attitudes in your school, or you'll risk feeling out of place.

    Bang for the buck

    Calvin is totally worth the cost. All classes are taught by professors as opposed to teaching assistants. Professors are willing to help students who are struggling.

    Am enjoying being here

    The environment is very friendly. There are plenty of student organizations and they are all inviting. There many on-campus activities each week, so you'll never be bored.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot about how to integrate Christian faith into my everyday life. Professors talk openly about their faith and encourage us to do the same. I am learning about responsibility and time management through living in the dorms. Also, the classes themselves are challenging.

  • 08/04/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    all especiall for the arts and diversity

    Tips for prospective students

    visit

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive after all it is a private school but they do offer financial packages.

    Will enjoy being here

    The atmosphere seem great and I am excited to attend.

    Will learn a lot

    hoping to...know i will

  • 08/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    No way around it, Calvin is expensive. But I think it's worth it. I get quality teaching from top notch professors, I get to enjoy fantastic facilities and the staff and administrators and always friendly and helpful.

    Am enjoying being here

    Being raised Baptist, I was really unfamiliar with most of the CRC's beliefs. This made it difficult to really grasp some of the concepts, some of which are very different from what I learned in Sunday School and other Bible classes. That being said, I really appreciate how hard Calvin works to bring their beliefs into every aspect of life. It's very refreshing, especially to have an in-depth spiritual discussion with people my own age.

    Am learning a lot

    I really enjoy Calvin's academics. They're tough (especially for someone who came from a community college) but reasonable. Keep in contact with your professors. They are always available to help if you have questions or don't quite understand something.

  • 01/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Engineers looking for an ABET accredited private school. Culture or history students looking for a large number of overseas opportunities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Though not a huge choice when evaluating my options, Calvin ranks high in my experiences. The usual problems that come with a school are present: some great students are not great people, the weather can get intense (heavy rains or winds), and both the schedule and amicable attitudes break down during finals. I invite any students on the fence to visit, and any all considering students to apply.

    Bang for the buck

    I ended my college search with a blind leap. I flew 3000 miles to Calvin college, no prior experience. Similar to a dying star, I was out of my element. Calvin has been engaging, both Academically and Socially. They offer enough unique courses to make my education feel well-rounded.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am not a social butterfly. In societal-insect biology, I never passed antisocial caterpillar. I have friends at Calvin. Orientation smashed us together. Friends also come from my floor. The general atmosphere is understanding in regards to homework, and vigilant when in need to recreation. Outside of classes, there is little to no separation by field, outside of choice. The religious culture is accepting. The encouragement to “Love, not Judge” is echoed by the student body. Being run by the Dutch Christian Reformed Church, their doctrine is espoused by the professors, though not forced on the students. Emphasis on service has each floor engaging in “Service-Learning”, community service. Something is always happening on campus. The Student Activities Committee plans well ahead. I have never gotten out as much as I have in the first few weeks, and enjoyed it. Each floor has its own schedule-optional, of course.

    Am learning a lot

    The school accommodates a wide variety of majors, from interaction with friends, all of them adequately at the worst. The large number of out-of-country programs creates immersive opportunities for the language Majors, and the Engineering program is ABET accredited, rare in private colleges. An engineer, I live in the Mathematics and Sciences. My experience with Calculus was educational, reviewing the basics in a comfortable way, like learning to swim. While my required religion course (it is a Christian Reformed campus) was a school of Sharks added, the Professor did everything to answer my questions. Every professor I have had has been understanding and helpful. Tutoring is available and free for every student. The Honors program differs from the University normal. Opposed to a single “Honors” curriculum tied to a building (though there is an honors floor in the Van Reken Dorm), an “Honors Contract” can be negotiated with most professors. This allows for any student in any major to graduate with Honors, having gained additional experience in their field. The inclusion of a Month-long term in January, “Interim term”, is a welcome break, giving students the chance to take a course outside their major for fun and credit. I feel that at the end of four years I will be prepared for my career field.

  • 01/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i never worry about getting attacked or anything. plus, there are the safety phones where you can dial for campus safety to come and drive you if you feel unsafe.

    Clubs and Activities

    calvin is very good about organizing campus-wide events. there is basically whatever you are looking for; you just have to look.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    sem pond jump - a hole is created in the seminary pond, and students and staff alike jump into it in the dead of winter. if you do it four years consecutively, you can get a golden towel. chaos day - at the very beginning of the year before classes start, dorms compete against each other in different events. everyone dresses up with the theme of their dorm. lots of friendly competition and spirit.

    Bang for the buck

    if you grades are good, you can get a lot of academic scholarships. the education here is excellent; there are a lot of resources and facilities for you to use. there are many opportunities to get involved on campus.

    What to do for fun

    skating in rosa parks, climbing wall!, board games, video games, concerts - calvin has a lot of cheap ones for students, movies

    Food and Dining

    i got tired of the food fairly quickly but it is not bad. there is variety.

    Dorm Life

    you find especially close community in the living-learning communities. the campus is not very big so it is easy to visit people in other dorms. there are many activities you can participate in around the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes require work but you reap what you sow. i definitely learned a lot. it is easy to talk to the professors during their office hours and most are very approachable.

    Tips for prospective students

    definitely apply before the early deadline so you won't incur the application fee. if you are a well-rounded student, they will accept you.

    In three sentences

    a fun, small college where you can find a place to fit in.

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    no greek life at calvin

    Clubs and Activities

    join dance guild.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    sem pond jump.

    What to do for fun

    buck friday's events, knight-life events, dance clubs, downtown grand rapids, woodland mall, hanging out with friends, great athletic facilities (with a pool and rock wall)

    Food and Dining

    dining hall food isn't that bad, plus there's always the sandwich/salad bar and fresh fruit!

    Dorm Life

    everyone is super friendly and inclusive. i love the community here!

    Academic Rigor

    the professors aren't easy graders, but you learn a lot!

    Tips for prospective students

    spend the night with friday's at calvin. you get a fuller picture of campus life when you're hanging out with a college student.

    In three sentences

    everyone at calvin is friendly and the facilities are great. christian faith positively impacts both the classroom and social settings. i love it at calvin, check it out!

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Their are many places on and off campus to eat at. Johnny's is a great place for a late snack. They also have many healthier options for vegetarians.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms are suite style with a bathroom in between. They are very nice places to stay. Also, they have the themed dorm rooms for higher learning.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors there are great. The classes are smaller so they have time for more individuals. It has great academics overall.

    In three sentences

    I went to Calvin over the summer for the Entrada Scholars Program. It had a great environment along with great staff. I am excited to attend there in the fall

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They can be a bit overbearing and obnoxious, but our campus safety officers ensure that every student is safe on campus and off.

    Clubs and Activities

    Calvin has a wide variety of student led organizations and other club and intramural activities. There are plenty of ways to get involved and if you find that your passion is missing from the mix, you can simply create your own club with the help of an advising staff member.

    Great for these types of students

    Christians seeking growth and an increased understanding of our world.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Seminary Pond offers a beautiful location for pictures in the Spring with friends, napping in the sun in the Summer, a color-filled stroll in the Fall, and the annual polar bear jump in the Winter. The Ecosystem Preserve is an escape from the busyness of school and a step into the wilderness right across campus! It is a beautiful place to enjoy a peaceful walk and experience the natural world any time of the year.

    Bang for the buck

    It is not easy paying for Calvin and Financial Services are difficult to work with at times, but it is a wonderful place where you are bound to find your money put to good use. The relationships you form with professors, the variety of activities and extra learning opportunities that are offered, the gorgeous facilities, and the personal growth you will experience all make it worth the huge cost.

    What to do for fun

    There are many on-campus events every week. Sometimes it is hard to pick from the large variety! We have great bands come to Calvin, an active theater and music department, and great club activities. Plus, downtown life of Grand Rapids is vibrant and active. There are extremely good restaurants and bars in the area.

    Food and Dining

    There is something there for everyone: with a permanent salad bar, fruit bar and vegetarian options, as well as a sandwich line, in addition to the hot food lines.

    Dorm Life

    There are always planned events to participate in; so many that it is sometimes overwhelming! The dorm motto is open doors equal happy floors and the school is all about community-building. Some Residence Assistants are very involved in floor growth and activity, while others are a more distant support.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are difficult and you are bound to have much more work than the allotted credit hours. You will be challenged and pushed to your limits. However, most professors are extremely helpful and open to assisting you to achieve the grades you desire. Grad school will be a breeze if you make it through Calvin College!

    Tips for prospective students

    Go potluck your first semester. You never know who you'll meet and it's an adventure. Take full advantage of all the activities, on-campus lectures, concerts, and sports facilities while at Calvin. They are all top-notch! Visit once and it will feel like home.

    In three sentences

    Calvin is a liberal arts school that will bolster your faith and prepare you to be an active citizen of this world. You will gain a clearer vision for your life and learn what your passions are in a Christ-centered community with the support of fellow students, faculty, and staff.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 14 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Calvin's suburban campus feels insulated enough to be very safe, and campus safety is always patrolling. I trusted my dorm-mates enough to often leave my stuff out in the lobby, and I never lost a thing.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life at Calvin (unless you count the living-learning communities in van Reken dorm)

    Great for these types of students

    Come to Calvin if you want to learn about the world and its people. You'll be challenged to see how faith and academics can actually work together rather than being polar opposites, and you can meet mentors and peers who genuinely care about you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lots of traditions revolve around Calvin's seminary pond, from the annual freezing Sem Pond Jump to a candle-lit ceremony during orientation. One of the most beautiful places on campus, in my opinion, is the Covenant Fine Arts Center auditorium with its starry ceiling. I like finding the secret nooks (perfect for reading or studying) in all the different buildings.

    Bang for the buck

    Calvin's financial aid programs are pretty generous. I wouldn't be able to go here, coming from another state, if it weren't for their merit-based and multicultural scholarships. And after having been here for two years, I wouldn't choose any other school for community or academics.

    What to do for fun

    Calvin has awesome clubs for many majors, and student organizations for all interests: I especially love that guys are allowed to dance here---it's not uncool! My favorite things to do for fun are participate in Ballroom Dance Club & Dance Guild, copyedit for Chimes, and visit Artprize (in the fall) and the giant public library downtown.

    Food and Dining

    Calvin's food options are flexible and usually tasty. I love using bonus bucks at Johnny's Cafe when I miss the dining hall hours, and also getting breakfast equivalency late in the evening.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in the honors living-learning community in the newest dorm on campus, van Reken. That floor quickly became my family. Every dorm has a great resident director (someone with a master's degree who is dedicated to that dorm) and every floor has student leadership (upperclassmen resident assistants and also other positions).

    Academic Rigor

    Calvin students get pushed to think about a wide variety of topics: the liberal arts curriculum includes subjects like philosophy, science, and literature. Almost everyone you meet wants you to get a great education: I've loved getting to know the faculty and having tough discussions with other students. Calvin has top Philosophy, Engineering, and Education programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students considering Calvin should try to get to know as many of the students, faculty, and staff as they can--the people I met during my college search really made the difference for me. I also suggest looking into the van Reken living-learning communities... these are three awesome dorm floors committed to intentional community.

    In three sentences

    Calvin College is thoroughly engaging: you're expected to engage in discussion and exploration of faith, academics, and culture. The professors know you as much as you'll let them. All kinds of students attend despite the school's size.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    plenty of people around to feel safe, and campus safety at your need!

    Greek Life

    no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    too many to chose from!

    What to do for fun

    You can either stay on campus, or go other places! The city is close by, and so is a nice lake. There's plenty to do in the city, like concerts, restaurants, shops, ice skating, movies, the river, etc. Close by the college is a nice lake and nice strip of shops and restaurants and beautiful grounds.

    Food and Dining

    Plenty of fruits and vegetables, so staying healthy is easy! There is also breakfast options at every meal, so if nothing looks appetizing there's always that option! Also, there is delicious ice cream and desserts as well, just be careful to watch how much you eat!

    Dorm Life

    There is so much to do in regards to dorm life! Every dorm has a unique character, and no matter where you are placed, there are always people around you who are like you. There are so many people who love to have fun and try new things, and there is never a dull moment when living in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Calvin is very challenging, but the professors are so willing to help you out. There are tutoring sessions, a writing center, group studying, and more ways to do well in academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Calvin has so much to offer, make sure you really dive into all the opportunities Calvin offers.

    In three sentences

    Calvin is an amazing place to meet wonderful Christian people who truly love God. Calvin puts an emphasis on community, faith, and academics, and integrates them all very well. There are so many fun activities to be involved in, and i wish i had more time to meet more people and try more things!

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is always around. You can see them riding their little golf carts around campus. Feel free to track them down to ask questions about lost or stolen items, they'll be happy to help you out!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for just about anything here at Calvin! You can join the ASA(African Student Association), Calvin Cycling Club, and even a running club!

    Great for these types of students

    If you love to learn, Calvin is the place for you. The professors will make sure that you are learning and understanding the material before you leave for the day. Asking questions is totally okay! Also, if you're trying to go deeper into your faith, Calvin's environment will definitely help you do so!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Calvin Walks: Apparently, your relationship with your significant other is not considered official until you've walked around campus with them. Don't be discouraged though, the campus is not that big, but it's big enough, should take about an hour or so.

    Bang for the buck

    Calvin is expensive, yes we know. However, it will all be worth it. You will probably learn the most because of how close you will be with your professors. The class sizes are relatively small, so the bond you'll make with your teachers is inevitable. The unbreakable friendships you will make with people who have similar beliefs are amazing, and I don't believe you'll regret coming to Calvin!

    Food and Dining

    If anything, please, no matter how far the walk, go to Knollcrest! It will be worth it! The food there is AMAZING! They have a salad bar, a sandwich bar(get the Grand Traverse), and an exhibition bar, where you can watch the cooks prepare a certain dish for you! Of course they have the hot food lines, and the choices range from just about anything, from Chinese Cuisine to Mexican food! Uppercrust, which is above another dining hall called the Commons also has some pretty nice food. It's mostly a sandwich deli, however. Johnny's cafe which is below the Commons have some nice sandwiches, they also have sushi! And Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream!

    Dorm Life

    I like how in the dorms you'll end up being so close to each other by the end of the year. A month for some of us, hehe. I also like how Calvin calls them Residence Halls, not just Dorms. In the halls, you have what you call suites, which is basically 2 rooms connected in the middle by a bathroom. So instead of having to share a bathroom with like 30 other people, you only share it with 3, which is pretty nice, if you ask me. The rooms are spacious, and you can stack your beds for more room if needed. The Residence Assistants (RAs) are there to help you out if you need it, and you can even hang out with them on the weekends! WARNING: There's no central air conditioning, so if you plan on taking a summer course, I advise you to bring a couple of fans. They do have central heating for the winter, however. The only dorm with both air and heating is vanReken, which house the special Living-Learning Communities, which I advise you apply for! Grassroots is the best floor, by the way, :)

    Academic Rigor

    If you love to learn, Calvin is the place for you! The professors here at Calvin are very passionate about what they teach, and they don't mind it when you ask questions! You'll always come out of class learning at least one new thing everyday. Sure, some classes may have you doing a lot of work in such little time, but there are people around to help you succeed!

    Tips for prospective students

    Please, don't feel like you're not going to fit in or make friends. I feel Calvin is keen on making sure your stay will be awesome! They take everything you send them in your applications seriously, so make sure you're telling them the truth! Also, get involved, once you've gotten your footing, of course. There's so much to do here at Calvin, like Dance Guild, Sem Pond Jump, and ArtPrize just to name a few. With doing these events, you're bound to make new friends! Another tip: Make time to study! Yes, studying can be annoying, but trust me, it'll be worth the A you receive on a Biology test.

    In three sentences

    Calvin College is a Christian Reformed College who strives in making sure its students become the best they can be through academics, social networks and their faith in God.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    the student activities office puts on a ton of different events throughout the year (movie nights, concerts, fall carnival). in the fall, we have buck fridays, so almost every friday there's something going on that only costs a dollar. in the spring, the group that puts on buck fridays does nite-life, which is a free event (usually some sort of tournament) in the fieldhouse.

    Food and Dining

    it's a college dining hall, so don't expect anything super great. my personal favorites: both canadian and american thanksgiving, wednesday night pasta bar at commons, wednesday night french toast at uppercrust, and the m&m cookies.

    Dorm Life

    i absolutely love living in the dorms. i have the option of moving out of them for my sophomore year, but i definitely won't. the community in the dorms is wonderful and the dorm leadership teams offer a lot of ways to get involved.

    Academic Rigor

    calvin's tough, but not impossible, as long as you make an effort to do your work. the profs are very willing to help you in any way that they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    check out calvin! i never planned on going here... then i came for a fridays at calvin visit and i fell in love. the atmosphere and community you find at calvin is unique and nothing like any of the other colleges i considered.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Calvin is in Grand Rapids, and there is a lot do do! It is very culturally diverse.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, get all the scholarships you can!

    In three sentences

    Calvin is a supportive, friendly school. There is plenty of help to grow spiritually and make lasting friendships. Calvin has an excellent academic track record

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Committed and academically strong

    What to do for fun

    Campus and community activities

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're not committed to college or your faith this school may not be right for you

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they treat you like royalty!

    Greek Life

    No Greek life. which is rather refreshing. You find that community in the dorms.

    Clubs and Activities

    The activities are what I love most about Calvin. There is so much going on. The Student Activities Board has awesome taste! There is Dance Guild, Air Band, The Sem Pond Jump, Chaos Day. The music that has come to Calvin is incredible. Switchfoot, The Head and the Heart, Noah and the Whale, Dawes, Blitzen Trapper, Death Cab For Cutie, Gungor just to name a few.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are open to new ideas and don't take themselves too seriously. Also most students are very independent and highly organized.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Chaos Day, Beets Boxer Run, Serenading, Hope/Calvin Rivalry, Johnny's Cafe, the Fish House (our coffee shop).

    Bang for the buck

    It can be Pretty spendy to attend Calvin but there is a lot of financial aid available. But I think that you truly get what you pay for. The education and people you meet is a life changing experience.

    What to do for fun

    Most people go to campus events, play ultimate frisbee, or attend Dorm Dates with their floor. Most dorm dates include going to Aerial's, Jersey Junction. My friends and I started night games like Fugitive or Capture the Flag. There is also an awesome rock climbing wall and a beach volleyball court. There is always something to do because most students are very active and can't sit still.

    Food and Dining

    The dorm food is ok..but eating on the weekends is awful. But that is what you get for eating in the dining halls day in and day out. But there are awesome salad bars and you can order custom sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    You get out what you put into it. I love my dorm and the majority of the people that I end up hanging out with are from my dorm. At the beginning of the school year, there is Chaos day which resembles a Track and Field day from elementary school but so much better. Each dorm has a theme and orders matching T-shirts. Last year mine was Wizard of Oz and our rival dorm was Brave Heart. At Chaos day everyone participates in an event like tug of war or Crochet/Hockey. Major Dorm Bonding.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors expect a lot out of their students and Calvin is a tough school but it cultivates great students more than receives good students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be friendly and open to new experiences. At first, everything is very overwhelming but after time you fall in love with this place. There is so much to do and there is this energy on campus that never dies out. Be warned this school has a dutch heritage but Calvin emphasizes the importance of diversity.

    In three sentences

    This school thrives with energy and spirit. Takes the Christian faith seriously, but stresses the importance of participating in the world and staying exposed. This school truly grows on you.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    21 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety will drive you anywhere on campus after dark. It's a really good alternative if you are walking alone or have a late class. They are always on call and really quick responders. The neighborhoods that surround calvin are safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs. During the first month of classes we have a club orientation on the lawn. Each club sets up a table explaining who they are and the students are able to go around and check out every single club. It makes it easier to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like to get their work done and have fun on the weekends! Great for students who really like to learn and want a job in the future that they are good at and love doing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Calvin has really great traditions. On the last day of orientation, we write down a goal for the school year, light a candle and send it out on the pond. It's a great way for us to get together and realize that we all have goals.

    Bang for the buck

    The teachers here really know what they are talking about, and are amazing at teaching. The dorm life is superb and definitely worth the money. Calvin will pretty much oblige to any need that you have.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown grand rapids is just a short ride away by car or bus. Art prize is in september where on the weekends there is always something to do. The concerts at calvin are great, they always have big bands coming into town and the discounted ticket prices are the bomb!

    Food and Dining

    The food is good in general, there are always lots of choices, healthy choices too. The snack bar is great for class breaks and the fish house coffee place has the best coffee I have ever had.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing. There are always things to do and people to hang out with. The dorm lobbies are great for late night studying and the rooms are usually quiet. The dorm floors get very close and we are all on ebig family.

    Academic Rigor

    You will have homework every night. Calvin is very true to their majors. A great place to learn if you like learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on a non-friday visit, it will help you see the campus more and eat real food. Spend a lot of time with future professors, asking about what major you would like to go into.

    In three sentences

    Calvin was a learning experience. Calvin helped me realize what I want in life. Calvin showed me that not all colleges are the same when you only visit.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very good and very flexible to help out a student in need as soon as possible. If it were just a ride to certain dorm late at night or rushing in for an emergency they are great. They help jump cars and do investigations if needed. They are friendly, and if you cannot reach them by phone which is impossible, the college has booths all over the campus to ring.

    Clubs and Activities

    Activities are never ending and clubs are just amazing and give so much opportunity if it is just for fun or towards your major. Every year at the beginning Calvin has a festival devoted just to clubs and fun stuff to do at Calvin that you can sign up for.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student will fit in! Introvert, extrovert, minority or not you will find a great group of people because everyone here is so friendly and so interested in your life and getting to know you.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things to do for fun. Calvin always has events going on, such as Buck Fridays which is Calvin getting involved with off-campus places so that all you have to do is pay $1 to go see a movie, go bowling or go downtown. Calvin also has movies they host for students that are not even out on dvd yet! There are dances and shows all year long as well.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good here but probably not like home made food. However the two cafeterias have different varieties of food so you won't get tired of the food but again the colleges location is perfect for dining out.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great and there is always something happening in the dorms and every week they have organized events not just to get to know your individual dorm but with others dorms as well.

    Academic Rigor

    It is very academically challenging school and calls for the best you can give. Is very good at making a well-rounded student and is ready to come alongside and help any student out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for the cold weather and lots of snow. Get used to the idea that Grand Rapids is a dutch based area and therefore you will be surrounded by very tall people. Extracurricular activities are amazing and you will never be bored.

    In three sentences

    A college with a strong emphasis on Christian inside and outside the classroom. A great location next to a very artsy and beautiful city of Grand Rapids. One of the few colleges to encourage and bring in students from all over the world.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play a sport. Calvin-Hope sporting events.

    Food and Dining

    They have a catering service in aside from dining halls, so the food is usually good with plenty of variety. Their desserts are excellent. Sunday night dinners in commons are the worst.

    Dorm Life

    Open House hours is a hot topic.

    Academic Rigor

    I've heard that Calvin accepts many but doesn't retain well after the first year.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is make you make it.

    In three sentences

    They won't beat you over the head with the spiritual aspects. The new Spoelhof Fieldhouse Complex is outstanding.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They do a great job!

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for everyone. There is no way you could be bored at Calvin if you get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Intelligent, Christians, Fun, Involved, Active.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    - the Moses statue which freshman will see at the beginning of the year. - Calvin Walks - a couple at Calvin is considered official if they walk around campus and visits certain locations. - Calvin has acronyms for everything! - Jumping in the Seminary pond in February - Chaos Day - Airband - Dance Guild

    Bang for the buck

    Calvin is expensive, but it's worth every penny!

    What to do for fun

    - Go for a Calvin walk with your boyfriend/girlfriend - Play pool or ping pong in a dorm basement - Go to one of the may Night Life activities on campus - Go to East Town Grand Rapids - plenty of fun shops and delicious dining options. - Go on floor dates with other floors - Participate in dorm activities (there's one almost every day)

    Food and Dining

    There is a great salad bar and sandwich place you can go to every day. There's always lots of options

    Dorm Life

    There's tons to do with your floor from Floor Dates with floors of the opposite gender, to weekly dorm activities, to serenading other floors, to much more! All dorms are set up suite style and there's lots of room

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but they are very meaningful and the professors are excellent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early to receive the most scholarships possible. Be ready to work hard, as the classes are very challenging. However, also be ready for lots of fun and amazing opportunities.

    In three sentences

    Calvin is an excellent school that provides a fantastic education, a vibrant community, and plenty of valuable opportunities. It is a small, Christian Reformed school whose emphasis is on preparing students for life - not just a future job. Calvin is the place to go if you want an excellent, holistic education that will prepare you for the future.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see campus safety around, but never any conflicts

    Greek Life

    does not exist

    Great for these types of students

    Hipsters and those interested in christianity/ liberal arts education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our school has the second largest free rock wall in all Michigan. It is fantastic.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like I am getting a great liberal arts education with a focus on christianity. That is not common and I am very pleased with my choice in college.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities constantly happening on campus, but steak and shake is always a fun alternative.

    Food and Dining

    It can sometimes get repetative, but I like to mix and match and create.

    Dorm Life

    I was on the dorm life leadership board this past year, and we are constantly striving to think of new fun activities for students on campus and in the dorms to do throughout the year. I have never had so much fun!

    Academic Rigor

    It is challeging but definitely do able.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do ALL the readings on time. Once you get behind, you never get caught back up.

    In three sentences

    Calvin is a conservative Christian School with a focus on community building within and outside of the school. The student relaitonships with professors is excellent becuase there are onyl 20 students per class. The campus is beautiful and very safe; there is even a nature preserve on campus for taking long strolls.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Slow.....

    Greek Life

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap movie theater, close mall, cheap bus, downtown is close. Screaming Needle 2/$30 Tuesday <-- enough said.

    Food and Dining

    I ate at UpperCrust 6 days a week.... only because it's closed on Saturdays.

    Dorm Life

    Depends which dorm....

    Academic Rigor

    Hard, but not impossible. Definitely good quality... great quality. You learn a lot if you want to. Helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind. Apply for scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Calvin is a great place to make life-long friends, obtain a solid, Christian education, and get a good college experience. From it's students to it's faculty and staff, Calvin truly is a home away from home - although the cooking is not as good as Mom's! Calvin is great!

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Calvin has multiple stations across campus where you can press a button and a safety guard will come escort you. Security is high and I feel completely safe when I visit.

    Clubs and Activities

    As aforementioned, there are over 70 different clubs ensuring that there is a club for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Calvin is great for students who are serious about their faith and their academic standing.

    Bang for the buck

    While the tuition is extremely high, it is completely worth it! There's so much to do and the academic programs are wonderful!

    What to do for fun

    As this campus is settled near downtown Grand Rapids, there is always fun things to do. The campus has buck Fridays where they offer food and other things to do for a buck. They have over 70 clubs you can join as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food is splendid! They could have a few more options however.

    Dorm Life

    Though I have not yet attended a dorm, I have spent a few nights in them staying over with my sister or visiting the college. The RA's do not enforce noise restriction and quite often there are teenage girls loudly singing or being rambunctious in the halls. While there are multiple efforts made to get everyone to talk to each other, there is nothing required and the shyer kids often get left behind in the wake of new friendships.

    Academic Rigor

    My sister attended this college last year and she was always one of those smart without trying kids. Once she got to college, she realized she actually had to study and that everything was much more difficult than high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    The tips I would give would be not to apply here unless 1. You come from a wealthy family. 2. You are exceptional in the fields of academics, music, or athletics, and 3. You are prepared to accept that you will graduate heavily in debt.

    In three sentences

    From what I have seen, Calvin is absolutely wonderful so far. The campus is great, the people are sincere, and the programs are world renowned. Calvin appears to genuinely care about its incoming students and strives to make them feel comfortable.

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I know that they have campus security. I know one person personally who signed up to work there, but have not actually dealt with them, other than to sign -up for their campus alert system.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life at present that I am aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    More than 60 clubs and organizations available. Many activities from badminton to Yoga. Also plenty of sporting events and cultural activities as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone concerned with themselves as a whole person.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The first thing that comes to mind is: taking a polar dip in the Seminary pond in February. (Winter in Michigan)

    Bang for the buck

    Buck Friday's are many events student can partake in for only one dollar. The money spent for tuition is money invested in my future. This college is not only concerned about my mind and academics, but also my soul, and my health or my physical body.

    What to do for fun

    Buck Fridays, Young Life, Plays, Bowling or take in a game. You may choose to work out at their fitness facility, go swimming in their pool, or just hang out at Johnny's with friends.

    Food and Dining

    There are many places to eat on and near campus. The campus food is actually quite good. Lunch is available online, to be ordered ahead of time and taken with you, if you work and can't make it to that meal. If you don't like to get up early, you can get a breakfast equivalent at Johnny's at night to make up for that missed meal.

    Dorm Life

    My dorm life will be fabulous, I am rooming with a friend from high school, and we have the RA next door.

    Academic Rigor

    Calvin is extremely rigorous, but that will more than adequately prepare me for my profession. The Professors are helpful, accessible and concerned that I am successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come for a visit, it will be like no other college community. Then sleep over with the Friday's at Calvin program.

    In three sentences

    Calvin College is a Christian community first and foremost. It is a small community set conveniently near to metropolitan area. It offers many international study programs, and plenty of opportunities to do community service.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school is very safe and is located in a good part of Grand Rapids which happens to be one of the best and most exciting cities in Michigan.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many they are too numerous to list!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year around February they have a polar bear plug type event in the pond on campus. Students who do it all four years get a golden towel.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private school so the cost is a little steep, but you definitely get your moneys worth. They not only give you a good education but also make it possible to participate in other things you like to do, such as music or sports.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of groups and clubs at Calvin and they are all easy to get involved in. Calvin also puts on many concerts; this year includes artists like Regina Specktor and Fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing. There is always fresh fruit and vegetables, baked goods, and on holidays they always do something special. Plus the hours are very flexible. They even have their own sandwich line, kind of like subway.

    Dorm Life

    Calvin College is a Christian Reform school so it is very centered around faith, even in the dorm community. Everyone is there to support and help each other and their is no pressure to become more religious, but if it is something your looking for, Calvin is your place for spiritual growth.

    Academic Rigor

    When it comes to academics, Calvin is no joke. You need to focus on your studies, but because everyone else around you has the same mindset of succeed at their studies, being successful is not difficult and can actually be fun. You get a real personalized education and you get to enjoy it. Nothing better than having your cake and eating it too!

    Tips for prospective students

    Enrolling in Calvin is incredibly easy and they have one of the best orientation programs out their. Most other schools give you boring lectures to sit through about campus regulations and such. Calvin gives you concerts, games, activities to meet new students, and personal advising.

    In three sentences

    It's a great place to get an education, especially in engineering. The classes are very personalized, technologically advanced, and enjoyable and the teachers are amazing. There are many opportunities for growth in education and preparation for the next steps towards a career.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good, though Sunday food is not as good as the other days. On the plus side, there are many restaurants just a bus ride away and there's a campus store called Johnny's where you can buy food.

    Dorm Life

    There are many wonderful dorms. I live in van Reken which has three floors (recreation, GrassRoots (diversity), and Honors) focused on creating an intentional community. You become close to your dorms and having many fun outings including dorm retreat, floor dates, and more.

    Academic Rigor

    Calvin is a challenging school. It involves a lot of work to obtain the grades you desire.

    In three sentences

    Calvin College is an amazing college. It offers a variety of majors/minors and allows the flexibility to combine them together to create the ideal study program. The caring and encouraging environment-- from teachers to advisers to the other students-- make Calvin truly feel like a second home.

  • 11/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You are safe walking around the campus during the wee hours in the night, by wee hours, I mean around 2-4 am in the morning. That is because the campus safety is constantly patrolling the area. They also provides ride to women during the night from one building to another.

    Greek Life

    I do not think there is any Greek life here...

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities available to choose from. The good thing is that you are not obligated to attend all the clubs that you had signed up during the first few weeks of school. This helps you balance your school work and interests during the first year of school.

    Great for these types of students

    This place is great for students who desires to grow academically, spiritually and globally. It is also great for students that desires to learn from a loving and supportive community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During winter, there is a tradition of jumping into a pool with a t-shirt and shorts. Those who can brave the cold for 4 years will receive a golden towel....or so I have heard.

    Bang for the buck

    Calvin is pretty expensive but you do learn a lot in this school. The academics here is rigorous but there are many programs here that will help you to grow mentally, physically and individually. All in all, it is worth it!

    What to do for fun

    There are quite a lot of cool things to do for fun. The dorms will often arrange floor dates with other dorms to go to different activities such as skating and fireworks. Not only that, there is a shopping complex just down the road which is only 20 minutes walk away.

    Food and Dining

    They try really hard to appease everyone, both from the States and Internationals. Also, they try to liven things up throughout the week by having chickens wings lunch on Tuesday, pasta night on Wednesday and etc.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm is designed in which two rooms are connected through a shared bathroom. This is nice in that only four people are sharing one bathroom instead of a whole floor (there is still a community bathroom available). Besides that, the school provides furniture that are stack-able, so you can have more choices in the layout of your room.

    Academic Rigor

    Calvin is rigorous but at the same time it is not impossible. It really depends on how well you manage your time and how much effort you put into your studies. However, getting an A here is not easy, thus getting an A shows how much effort and time you put into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not let their ranking of 102 thrown you off into believing that this school is not rigorous in its studies, it is completely the opposite. On that note, you really need to put in the effort to do well in this school and in life. At the same time, the professors are really understanding and will help you when you are struggling academically and personally.

    In three sentences

    Calvin College is not only strong in academics but it also makes you feel like you are part of the community on the very first day you stepped unto the campus. The professors are not only willing to help you with any struggles that you may have but they also genuinely desire to see you excel. Not only that, Calvin is full of opportunities in areas of service, work, helping out in the hospitals, study abroad, clubs and activities happening on the campus.

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club fair every year. The biggest club is Dance Guild, and it is just plain awesome. I am part of dance guild and choreographing this year so I am very excited.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every winter when it is absolutely freezing, there is a pond on our campus where if you jump in all four years at Calvin college, you get a golden towel. Pretty funny

    What to do for fun

    There is so many things to do for fun. For me, there's intramural. It's awesome for those who aren't competitive in sports but want to play sports for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is edible. Some days, there's fantastic food and sometimes, there's just not very good food. There's good days and off days so it's not necessarily consistent but it's bearable.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fantastic. The school does not have fraternities or sororities. But instead, the dorm life helps compensate for that. There is a lot of dorm activities that you don't necessarily have to participate but if community and bonding is something you're looking for, dorm life will definitely not let you down at Calvin.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics is definitely tough. The school is not to be taken lightly for. However, one positive aspect for the academics is that you can get in touch with your professors and really become close.

    Tips for prospective students

    If one is looking for a school where you really want to find your identity while test your freedom, Calvin College is the place. You have the freedom to do what you want, however, as a Christian college, it enforces rules but does not bind you.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school to attend. The school's community is fantastic and it has such a friendly environment. The academics is also not easy and challenging.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Calvin is a safe campus providing great campus safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of clubs and other activities available on campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities and opportunities for volunteer work on campus and around Grand Rapids.

    Food and Dining

    The food is better than I expected at a college.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't too much dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Calvin is very rigorous academically. Expect to work hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register your car in August to get a $25 discount.

    In three sentences

    Calvin college is a challenging academic school.

  • 01/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security monitors campus always. Quick to respond if someone calls.

    Clubs and Activities

    A plethora of clubs to choose from, social justice, improv, intramurals.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard-working, CRC, Dutch.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everything is very Dutch, especially the names of dorms and such.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheaper than most colleges.

    What to do for fun

    Practice the piano in the music rooms, use the beautiful athletic facility, attend a concert, play pool in the basement. There are many options.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of options for food, and it is pretty high quality. However, it gets old.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are very close, in there is usually something going on. Can be difficult to meet people from other dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a lot of work assigned for each class, accompanied with challenging thinking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn about the Christian Reformed Church. Its influence is everywhere. Be ready to work hard.

    In three sentences

    Close community of bright students who are dedicated to pursuing a high quality education. While Christianity is ingrained in the studies, strong Christians are difficult to find. The campus is increasing its diversity though many international students, but there is a lot to still be done.

  • 01/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Annoying as usual

    Greek Life

    No Greek life

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Singing to girls in just underwear

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is pretty high but it is well worth it. However, I believe room and board isn't worth the 8,000 ish.

    What to do for fun

    Meet new people, workout, intramural sports, and Nite Life.

    Food and Dining

    I do not like the food.

    Dorm Life

    Just depends on your roommate. And also people like to go home on weekends so life on campus gets pretty quiet.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, this is a nice school. It has it's hard courses, and it also have easy courses. But if the courses are too hard, there is tutoring available, and they work around your schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are into partying, you might want to re think going to Calvin. There is not that many parties, but there are activities to do on Saturdays that Calvin College host.

    In three sentences

    Calvin College is a great college for academics. This school has many challenging courses for student who need the challenge. And the people around you are very nice.

  • 02/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are movies hosted by the Student Activities Organization. There are some concerts, lots of organizations, intramural sports, service-learning, there is something to do if you look for it.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good in the beginning, but you start to realize the repetitiveness of it a few weeks in and then it becomes hard to find anything good to eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is good, it just occasionally becomes kind of cliquey. If you do not know anyone going in, it may be hard if your roommate does. Overall, if you are good at meeting new people and establishing yourself you should do fine.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a hard school and it is hard to manage your time and maintain your GPA. Just be prepared this is not a party school, but is one that will prepare you for the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to other students about the classes you should take for your first semester. Your advisers may trip you up by making you take classes that you don't need or that are too hard for first semester.

    In three sentences

    It is a easy school to get into. It is a hard school to stay in. It is a close-knit community of students.

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think Calvin is a safe place and the campus safety people are great. They respond to emergencies quickly and are there to help.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Sem Pond Cold Knight Jump! Every winter they cut a hole in the pond on campus and people jump into the freezing water!

    What to do for fun

    Attend dorm events, go shopping at the nearby mall, hang out in the basement, or go to one of the many awesome campus events!

    Food and Dining

    Some people aren't a fan of Calvin's food but I personally love it. There is a huge variety of choices so it's hard to get bored! They are also very accommodating for allergies and dietary restrictions.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. The leadership is wonderful, and there is a great community of supportive people. There are also fun dorm activities which are great for meeting people!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but the Professors are always willing to work with you and help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to get involved and meet people. Calvin is a great school but you will have to put forth effort to succeed. You can find pretty much anything you're interested in at Calvin.

    In three sentences

    Calvin is a great school. The environment is welcoming, classes are interesting, and the people are great. I love Calvin!

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who seek a Christian-centered education.

    What to do for fun

    People play Frisbee, ride their long boards, or stay in their rooms and play League of Legends.

    Food and Dining

    They serve a variety of food. They might not come in the best quality in the world, but they sure are decent.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms aren't the biggest and most spacious, but they are decent.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic challenge is enforced.

    Tips for prospective students

    Calvin College is definitely a college to consider; you won't regret.

    In three sentences

    This peaceful college has an ambience of Christian community setting. The campus is beautiful and show the full advantages nature of the seasons. Professors are very nice and teach well.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    39 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When you need them Campus Safety is there. It is great to get an escort when you are by yourself at night. However, they are slow to turn the fire alarms off at night when it is a false alarm and you just want to go back to sleep.

    Greek Life

    None. (I found this to be a plus)

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs and activities are available on campus. Go to Cokes & Clubs to learn about them all

    Great for these types of students

    Just like any other college, students who go to Calvin should be ready to learn and work hard. It only lasts 4 years.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Chaos day on the first Saturday after the start of classes is fun to attend. Every dorm has their own set of traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    I definitely think that the education I received at Calvin was worth the cost of tuition.

    What to do for fun

    There are endless amount of thins you could do for fun. Go to into downtown for a night. Grand Rapids has just about everything you could want. Except for a Chick-fil-A.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Calvin is not bad. You will get sick of it by the end of the year, and it's definitely not home-cookin, but it is tolerable for 4 years.

    Dorm Life

    Except for the occasional fire alarm because someone can't cook and the occasional noisy floor, my experience was great. It is only required for students to spend 2 years living in the dorms, but I liked it so much and found it so convenient being an athlete that I stayed in the dorms all 4 years.

    Academic Rigor

    Calvin is academically challenging, but it is not impossible. If you are having trouble in a class GO TO THE PROFESSOR! They can really help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Be it in your dorm, on a sports team, in your major's department. There is always something to do.

    In three sentences

    Calvin College is one of my favorite places in the world. The professors helped me a great deal and I felt that they truly cared about me and wanted to see me succeed no matter if their class was in my major or not. Being on a sports team also gave me an opportunity to make some really good friends and now I have some fantastic memories and stories that I will never forget.

  • 07/05/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    40 of 50

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus, not too small, not too big. The chapel was amazing, and the entire campus seems home-y. Definitely at the top of my list.

  • 12/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Pingpong, pool, movies, plays, talking, music, and sports.

    Food and Dining

    Three places to eat, great choices

    Dorm Life

    Awesome community that loves and supports you.

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging, but has great professors and resources that can help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, expect a great education! Work hard to get those scholarships!

    In three sentences

    Calvin has a fantastic community that draws you in. It is academically challenging while providing many avenues for fun and relaxation. Overall, it gives me a sense of belonging.

  • 12/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety has cars riding around and blue safety phone poles placed around campus. The dorms require swipe cards to gain entry, and there are desk attendants that watch out for unfamiliar faces.

    Greek Life

    none; which is nicer than you'd think. There's no pressure to be perfect all the time and to have recommendations and find new sorority sisters. There's no drinking or hazing, and no comparing people to others. It's wonderful.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Sem Pond Jump: every February, students jump into the seminary pond to earn bragging rights and a golden washcloth. If a student jumps all four years, s/he earns a golden towel! Chaos Day: In September, dorm students battle for bragging rights and compete in contests; the dorm with the most points wins and has bragging rights for the next year.

    What to do for fun

    Calvin's a 10 minute run away from the Woodland Mall in Grand Rapids. ArtPrize goes on during September, and the Post Family Farm is close by for floor dates during October that include hay rides and apple cider. In the winter students can have snow fights or visit the nearby museums, and the Grand Rapids Symphony plays and students can get cheaper student passes ($5).

    Food and Dining

    There are some nights that the food is a little sketchy (meat loaf night) but the deli is open for lunch and dinner so there's always a sandwich option. There are two main dining halls open for breakfast/lunch/dinner, and then an upstairs deli open all day if your class schedule doesn't let you eat at normal times. They also offer vegetarian and gluten free food for those who require it.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is wonderful! The RAs really take time to get to know you and encourage unity on the floors. The social events team (SET) works to help you meet new people from other dorms, and there is dorm bible study and dorm worship and dorm dates so you get to know the people on your own dorm as well.

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors are harder than others; use ratemyprofessor.com when scheduling to get the more helpful and easier professors. However, the professors all care about their subjects, and classes are not taught by teacher assistants or graduate students. The required core classes allow you to expand your areas of interest as you realize that there are more classes you might like than what you'd previously thought.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships and financial aid; there will be scholarships in your subject area! However you have to apply early.

    In three sentences

    Calvin College is a liberal arts college for students with multiple interests and talents. The professors care about you as more than just a number, and the community on campus is welcoming. Calvin College is owned by the Christian Reformed Church, so students grow in their faith and learn more about the world around them from a Christian worldview.

  • 01/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are very diligent in keeping things under control. Also there's more than likely one or two of them that life right in you dorm. Plus in the beginning you are made to have the campus number in your phone's contact list so you don't ever have to lose or remember it if there's no emergency call stand near you.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    After a while when you learn time management you should join one or two without trying to join everything that interests you. However if you do sign up for everything that interests you you'll never make it to the end of that semester with any of them.

    Great for these types of students

    People who don't want to be in a large number of students in a class. People who want to be part of a community, with that community being in he Christian faith. And also for people who need a start on life instead of just diving in and being swept away before you know you're going under.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One tradition I like is the canoe race where your team builds a canoe out of cardboard and race other teams around the Sem Pond by the presidents house. Although the best tradition I've heard of at Calvin is the Sem Pond jump. Which is when people who are planning on graduating from Calvin in four years jump into the frozen pond every January they are here and after the fourth year jump you win the Golden Knight Towel.

    Bang for the buck

    You get your money's worth in your education here, same as you would for any college. But here you get you Christian faith inserted in your line of thinking with professors who more than likely have the time to help answer your questions, as long as you know their email address and office hours.

    What to do for fun

    There are sports that you can join and even intramural s which are sports you join for fun instead of the competition. Not to mention the variety of clubs; there's even a anime club, which I am in, for people whop love Japanese cartoons. Although usually you have to pay attention the the student news or any and all poster boards to find anything extra that isn't always fully advertised. Or you can even chill and talk with friends at Johnny's or listen to live performances in the Fish House under Johnny's. There's even Buck Fridays for things that only cost a dollar if you don't wanna leave campus; also movies are shown every Friday or Saturday in the auditorium.

    Food and Dining

    It's almost the same as food that you get in high school as far as weekly variety; some things you can expect without looking at the menu before your go eat for the day. But as far as the quality I would say it is better than most but won't say it's the best in the world because sometimes it's good to order in and go off campus to eat. Although here there are variety of options for people with special diets like glutton free, vegetarian, vegan, and people who just wanna eat healthier.

    Dorm Life

    It's expensive since it's not included in the tuition but for what they do to bond you is more than what I can say about any colleges I have seen back in my home state. You actually start out not knowing anyone almost and by the end of the semester you say hi, wave, talk, and cook food together, and study together. You actually then have life and a type of atmosphere to your dorm floor life.

    Academic Rigor

    Don't let your high school coddle you anymore. It's as simple as simple as that because a lot of what they do in high school that they say you will desperately need you probably won't need as seriously as they put it. And the class work you will be doing will be worlds away from writing an essay on your most embarrassing moment ever in your life. Not to mention the fact that you will actually have to do work because your teacher isn't going to pass you based off of nothing turned in.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Even if you don't want or need a job, get one anyway because it'll help you in how you interact with different people. 2) Study and find a tutor because as much as some people think they are grown and can handle the world, small things still trip you up. 3) Never say never. Whether it's trying something new that you think you would never do or if you think you will never fail a class.

    In three sentences

    This is an amazing school to be at if you don't want to just be thrown into a largely populated college. You meet people in diversity, because you never know what types of links you friends have that'll introduce you to more people. And if you want you prefer to have your Christian faith incorporated into your education then you'll come to Calvin.

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You call and they will come to your aid. If you have their number great! If you don't then you just have to find a blue pole!

    Clubs and Activities

    A club and activity for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    -Christians looking to immerse themselves in a Christian education for the next four years.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    -Calvin Walks are a thing amongst Calvin students in which you walk around campus with a girl/guy of your interest. -The Sem Pond Jump is done annually in February and if you do it for all four years, you get a golden towel.

    What to do for fun

    -Buck Friday's -Concerts -Explore Grand Rapids -Bowling -Midnight Steak n Shake Runs -Parties (off campus! So you have to know some upperclassmen!) -floor dates

    Food and Dining

    It is hard to find good Vegan and Vegetarian food for those who lead these lifestyles, but they have a large array of food for Non-Veg.

    Dorm Life

    If you have an amazing floor, then your dorm life will be amazing. It is possible that you will hang out with the girls/guys on your floor quite a lot because of how often you see them, but do not fear you can still make friends outside of your floor! Every floor is like a sorority/fraternity because that is how close everyone gets to be. DO NOT BE AFRAID TO TELL PEOPLE TO QUIET DOWN! Especially if they are standing right in front of your door and screaming on the top of their lungs!

    Academic Rigor

    Calvin classes can be hard, but Calvin provides some amazing tutors that can really help you if you need it. I suggest getting a tutor right away in any course because they really are helpful. Because of small class sizes, you and your professor will get to know each other. How much that is depends upon how much you want to get to know your professors. Your professors really want to get to know you. If you're a minority in America, from a differernt coutry or not CRC, be prepared to answer questions, especially if you're Catholic. Catholics will always have people questioning your faith, so be prepared, and if you don't know the answer to a question, just look it up on Google. It's what all the smart kids do these days.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Join Clubs! They are a lot of fun, but not too many clubs or else your grades might suffer! -Be prepared to have vocation stuffed down your throat everyday, because it is very important to the Calvin faculty. Your first Interim semester will be called Developing the Christian Mind. (tons of fun!) -Participate in Dorm Activities such as Floor Dates, Bible Study and Dorm Worship. -Girls, be prepared to dress well, because you will have classmates who will try for as long as they can to come to class in heels! -Calvin has this thing called, Ring before Spring and, Freshman Frenzie. Be prepared to possibly find your future husband/wife at Calvin. It may not be during Freshman Frenzie, but it will happen later on and if you don't find your future partner, and get engaged before the Spring of your Senior Year, it's okay. You'll be an old maiden or bachelor for sometime along side many of the other Calvin students who realize that getting married at 22 is a bit young.

    In three sentences

    Calvin is an amazing and close, tight knit community. Being that it is a small private school of 4,000 students and faculty, it does have it's moments where it feels like you are back in high school due to drama and what not, but that is because Calvin students can be a bit clique-y, but outliers such as myself manage to still make friends. Calvin is a feeder school, so 40% of their student population will be Dutch and will come from Grand Rapids Christian and another school I cannot think of, but there are still a lot of students from different parts of the world and from different states of the US.

  • 02/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very responsive, easily accessible, well practiced and well prepared. There are safety phones all over campus and if you even feel a little uncomfortable walking back to your dorm, you can call Campus Safety for a ride and they will gladly pick you up. I have only good things to say about Calvin's Campus Safety. The location is very safe as it is, but there was a situation last year when some ROTC members were doing rifle drills preparing for a Flag Ceremony. Some people thought the rifles were real and called Campus Safety, and they had the place locked down fairly quickly. I was very impressed and can say I trust Campus Safety to do the right thing if anything ever happened. That being said, in this part of Grand Rapids, nothing scary really ever happens. It's a very safe neighborhood.

    Greek Life

    Non existent (sorry)

    Clubs and Activities

    Calvin is not amazing on the sports front, but they do offer a large variety of clubs and campus activities that will never leave you with a dull night. As long as you have the energy to step out of your room, that is. Don't get the wrong idea, Calvin is rigorous in regards to academics and you will have to say no some nights because you have to study or finish papers.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who come from Christian homes but aren't sure whether they want to keep being Christian will find a safe place to question their faith at Calvin. There are many faculty and students that are willing to and even enjoy discussing difficult life questions that influence the way you look at the world. While the school is decidedly Christian, they encourage discussion and want students to challenge their beliefs and ultimately grow their own convictions. This school is also a great place for Christians who want to grow in their faith period. Between Bible studies, prayer groups and mentors, Calvin College is a great place to nurture your own beliefs. If you aren't Christian, you will still find a place you belong at Calvin, but you may feel awkward or isolated at times. Though you won't ever receive direct criticism from faculty, there are students who are just plain disrespectful. But then again, that's the way the world is, and no matter where you go you'll find people you disagree with. I wouldn't necessarily recommend Calvin to a non-Christian, but I am friends with many who consider themselves atheist or undecided here. They do like Calvin, and they don't complain too much. You will find places where you won't feel safe from judgement, but you'll also find places where people accept you and love you for who you are, not just who you believe. Ultimately it comes down to finding the right place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a tea/coffee house in the center of campus that is great for dates and hangouts. There is a non-required chapel every day Mon-Fri, and a separate service Sunday night. Traditionally most students join for the chapel on Friday since it's a worship service that gets everyone pumped. If you're looking to grow your Christian faith, Calvin provides many opportunities every day for you to do this.

    Bang for the buck

    Great education and great campus life. Calvin invests a lot in their students, and it shows.

    What to do for fun

    Grand Rapids is a beautiful town that offers so many opportunities for fun! Great places to take dates, great places to hang as groups, Art Prize is an entire month of awesome activities all over the town. On top of that Calvin provides dorm activities every day, as well as campus wide activities every Friday and Saturday. There's never a dull moment and I guarantee you'll find SOMETHING to do every night if you step out of your room for ten minutes. Also, people here are very friendly and welcoming. If you are feeling like you have no one to hang with or eat with, all you have to do is pick a table, find someone you think is cute, say hello and you'll be welcomed to join their group nine times out of ten. That's the beauty of Calvin in a nutshell!

    Food and Dining

    Average food. Much better than you would get in high school, but nowhere near the most exquisite dining. That being said, I'm gluten intolerant, and they are very good at providing me with food I can eat, and they work personally with any student who has a dietary need.

    Dorm Life

    Good dorms that all have a unique identity. The dorms are smaller but more tightly knit than many colleges you'll visit. Calvin invests a lot in the dorm life, and it shows.

    Academic Rigor

    Very tough school that will challenge most students, but encourages students to broaden their college experience to way beyond the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school with a great community at its foundation. You will meet people you disagree with and will learn to serve and learn alongside them. You will make lifelong friends that will change your life in more ways that you can imagine.

    In three sentences

    Challenging school that welcomes students from many walks of life. The school itself is immersed in Christianity, but not oppressive and welcoming to dialogue. Calvin challenges you to think about why you believe what you believe rather than telling you what to believe.

  • 03/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Explore downtown. There are a bunch of places to hang out and shop or eat.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. Some days it is really good and some days it isn't. When in doubt go for a sandwich.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is actually really great! The people in my dorm are very friendly and easy to get along with.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused and it is possible to have a social life and being focused on classes.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful. Most of the people are nice. The curriculum isn't hard.

  • 05/20/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    47 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Chaos day. It's when all of the dorms get together and compete over who the best dorm is. It's pretty wild.

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty expensive, but so are a lot of other schools. They offer some financial aid which is useful and there are a lot of outside scholarships available too. Finances is kind of a sore spot for me, but I think it's worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There're lot's to do for fun. There are a bunch of student organizations, you can play sports, ride bikes, the community offers a lot, movies, cafes, art places. There's a lot.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food!!!

    Dorm Life

    Pretty neat. The dorms are suite styled, in this case it just means that every two rooms share one bathroom; freshmen rooms are paired with sophomore rooms. There is a real community on each floor, I'm not there yet but it was pretty cool to see it. And there is also a kitchen for each floor and each side of the floor (girls/boys are on separate sides of a floor.)

    Academic Rigor

    I can't really say because I haven't started yet, but from what I hear the classes are pretty challenging. They're not impossible but they will push you to become an academically polished student.

    Tips for prospective students

    When waiting on God to make a decision don't close yourself to all options, He isn't always straight forward and sometimes it's really hard to know what He wants. Consider the values of each school and the experience you might have there and then go with your gut.

    In three sentences

    Big, beautiful campus and surrounding area. Five year master program in a few areas of study including Education. Very good food.

  • 05/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Calvin is an expensive college, but it is well worth it. The experience you will have here and relationships you will build with students and staff are things you simply cannot put a price on.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Calvin is average. There is a variety to choose from and, if one is to eat at Knollcrest, there is Husdonville ice cream available!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is excellent at Calvin. Floors share a bond that cannot easily be broken. No matter who you are, introvert or extrovert, you will have friends on your floor. I can guarantee that. Floor dates between floors allow for the chance to meet others who live in different dorm halls and are always a great time.

    Academic Rigor

    Expectations are high for Calvin students. That being said, its essential that students study hard for each and every class and to stay in sync with various assignments. Even those who have been able to coast through school up to this point will have to dedicate extra time to their studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should know that hard work and dedication to school is expected. Although expectations are high, the experience is well worth it. Students build up excellent time management habits and useful study skills. In addition, relationships with classmates and other individuals in the dorm buildings will be built and strengthened in unimaginable ways.

    In three sentences

    Calvin is one of the very best decisions I have made in my life. The staff respects students and other faculty members and care deeply about the success of each student. Calvin students are encouraged in learning, faith, and relationships.

  • 05/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Grand Rapids is AWESOME! Home of ArtPrize, too many local restaurants to count, dates along the river, and Eastown. It is rated one of the best places to live in America.

    Food and Dining

    2 dining halls - constant competition. Will you be a Commons or a Knollcrest fan??

    Dorm Life

    My roommate is from New Jersey and we went potluck style for the first year. We LOVED it and are rooming together again next year. The community is excellent and all kinds of floor events are planned throughout the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Christian school setting with close to Ivy League academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the cost freak you out - It will be worth it and you will get lots of help. Remember that this is the gateway to your future and Calvin is an excellent choice to excel and be successful.

    In three sentences

    Calvin College is challenging and rigorous. I could not be more pleased with my first year here and I am excited to continue in the fall. Great community, great academics, and great living.

  • 06/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very very safe.

    Greek Life

    no greek life.

    Great for these types of students

    Studious. Religious. CRC

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sempond jumps are a must.

    What to do for fun

    Make snowmans? haha

    Food and Dining

    Two dining halls. Commons has more asian food. Knollcrest has good icecream.

    Dorm Life

    Good. Nice RA's.

    Academic Rigor

    Quite difficult courses. Especially for nursing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study hard without any procrastination.

    In three sentences

    The community is very welcoming and the professors are quite friendly. However, the weather can get awfully cold and it can get quite depressing. Other than that, Calvin college has been a positive experience so far for me.