Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Cameron University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/20/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    VISIT THE CAMPUS. CLASSES ARE WALKING DISTANCE FROM DORMS. IF YOU'RE LOOKING FOR A SMALL UNIVERSITY, THIS IS IT. STUDENTS ARE FRIENDLY AND VERY HELPFULL.

    Will enjoy being here

    The students at Cameron are very friendly and out going. Eager to help.

  • 05/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Well, this is a pretty well rounded collage! Almost anyone can come here and be satisfied....unless you think you want a more expensive collage? That's fine, hehe. Well, Cameron is known to be the Aggies. They are pretty big in Agricultural things! So, FFA Or even a slight interest in farm, plant, animal, and agriculture is great! But, they offer several different courses, majors and minors! They are just as capable as anyone else. :)

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to people! Mostly everyone likes to talk for a while. Ask around, ask for tips, ask about the campus! People like to share! There is a gold rush- an enrollment orientation, and the people running it are really great with telling you about the campus and such! Most likely, they will answer the top questions while they show you around. :) They give out free water, too! hehe. But, yes! Ask questions, interact with others! It definitely pays off, and helps you while you are here. You'll also feel more welcomed, too! Don't be shy! They want you there! :)

    Bang for the buck

    Cost is great! They don't overcharge you for everything...which is good. It's still nice to get loans and scholarships, but the tuition at Cameron alone, isn't bad at all. :)

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being here most of the days! From where I'm from, it's a bit of a drive to go, but it's worth it by the end of the day. :) It's a great place to sit down and view, too! Cameron works hard on keeping their property nice and presenting. They put out flowers, keep the fountain's flowing, keep the grass nice and tidy. Even the spacing of everything is great. It's not too much of a walk to go one place to another. Also, they serve great food in the cafeteria and lunch lobby! Oh! They also have a little pond where people can sit there for a while and enjoy nature. It's beautiful! Such great scenery.

    Am learning a lot

    The first semester I learned a great deal! I would say, more than most my time at high school combined! Cameron University is a great collage. People are friendly and helpful. I have amazing instructors, too! They are eager to help each student, and taught me more than I thought I would learn!

  • 08/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    School is great for psychology students wanting to seek a masters degree, and those psych students who want to get licensed after grad school. It is also a good school for those who want to teach, any grade, and it is also good for those seeking a job in the criminal justice field.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to contact the advisers and ask all the questions you want because they won't make you feel stupid. The advisers are very willing to make an appointment with you so that you can get your questions one on one.

    Bang for the buck

    Almost all classes are updated every few semesters so all the information is pretty current. A few of the professors are on the state licensing boards so that if you continue your education, you will be well versed in what you need to know after graduation to get licensed. So you know that you get a better education than those schools that do not have these professors( and doctors).

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone is really nice. Its a beautiful campus and well kept, which can be a rarity around here.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers have actual experience in the field that they are teaching which gives the students get real world examples.

  • 04/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe

    Clubs and Activities

    different types of club and activities to do

    Great for these types of students

    quiet. dedicated, reserved, want to focus

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bentley garden is a place you can go and chill after a heavy loads of class works

    What to do for fun

    well this depends entirely on you. you can go to the mall and all

    Dorm Life

    Cameron Village is the best place to stay

    Tips for prospective students

    I f you are looking for a quiet enviroment that will help you concentrate on your studies, then Cameron is the best place to be.

    In three sentences

    The best place to study without been distracted. best place to school and also best place to get to know your lecturer.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police officers are down home types that recognize the students on sight and are friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    Didn't join clubs, I work and have a family.

    Great for these types of students

    Non Traditional students can prosper here. Ex military also.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the most inexpensive universities in Oklahoma, this university has some impressive departments. The chemistry department has legendary people and so does the foreign language department.

    What to do for fun

    It's Lawton, there isn't much to do, but the Wichita Mountains are lovely.

    Food and Dining

    The food is tasty, inexpensive, try the cafeteria in Shepler, the people are amazingly friendly.

    Dorm Life

    No Idea.

    Academic Rigor

    The course can be demanding but are rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out every opportunity for advancement, such as SSS and TRIO. Get involved in tutoring and study groups, you will accomplish much.

    In three sentences

    Well worth the money, excellent institution. The instructors here take their time and demonstrate their interest in the students.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Surprisingly you have a great amount of choices for Greek life if you are looking for that type of thing.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheaper than most state colleges by far.

    What to do for fun

    Campus activities are non stop and vast in things to do.

    Food and Dining

    Not the Olive Garden but better than most college cafeterias.

    Academic Rigor

    Rewarding if you put your best foot forward.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check into their scholarship programs and you might be surprised by the options.

    In three sentences

    Great school with eager teachers. The teachers seem compassionate and passionate about what they teach and how they interact with their classes. I am enjoying this venture.

  • 08/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One of the best traits CU has to offer is its campus safety. It is very calm and quiet in the evening unless an event is going on. The campus cops are always on patrol. There are those emergency poles everywhere.

    Greek Life

    There are some although I am unfamiliar with any of them.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different clubs. The club that is most active is PAC that is always doing a fun event every week or so.

    Bang for the buck

    The grill inside the McMahon Centennial Complex always makes the food fresh and is customizable and every time I order something it always looks and tastes wonderful.

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous activities that clubs and organizations do on campus during the fall and spring semesters. To name a few would be laser tag, cookouts, dances, and many others. There is a gym for working out, playing basketball, ping pong, racquetball, weight lifting, cardio workouts, swimming, running. There are disc golf poles set up all over campus.

    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten in the cafeteria before, but my friend says the breakfast is quite delicious. He says that lunch is okay depending on what the cafeteria is serving for that day(he is a picky eater). And the same goes for dinner. There is another place to eat on campus and that is in the McMahon Centennial Complex. Dining in there consists of Pizza hut, grill for burgers etc. café, and a place that is like subway but does not carry the name.

    Dorm Life

    My parents have a house in Lawton, so I do not sleep in the dorms. However, I have a number of friends that live in the dorms. The Cameron Village which is the big apartment style dorms are quite nice. Spacious living room, kitchen, and bathroom. The dorms in the Shepler towers are a bit different depending if you have a single(1 person) or a double(2 persons). I do not know if they get any bigger than that. The rooms do not come with individual heating and cooling controls. But, the rooms stay relatively cool when it is hot and relatively warm wen it is cold outside. Bathrooms in the Shepler towers are community style and they do not seem that bad. Although, the last time I was up there on the 10th floor I did see one tiny cockroach crawling around. Other than that it seems like the usual college lifestyle to me.

    Academic Rigor

    I give CU 4 stars because academic rigor comes down to the professor you are assigned to. Some professors are lenient graders while others are more strict. But, even if they are strict, professors at CU give you the help you need to pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Explore, explore, explore.

    In three sentences

    There is something different about Cameron University that sets it apart from other universities. A lot of students that transfer from CU to OU stated that the professors at CU cared more for their students than did the professors at OU and OSU. I cannot speculate on these statements, but I notice that professors have a very likeable appeal to them here at CU.

  • 09/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although Lawton has a reputation for a high crime rate (to the point where it's said you have to worry about getting shot if you go to off-campus parties), Cameron University is rather safe and quiet. The campus has its own police force, who can be contacted immediately through emergency kiosks located all throughout the campus grounds in case you don't have access to a phone. Speaking of access, getting in to any part of student housing requires a keycard, and the keycard system will only grant access to people who live in the relevant buildings. You can't, for example, be a resident of Cameron Village's C building and expect to get into the A building with your keycard. The same keycard will also only grant access into that person's specific dorm room or apartment. Therefore, the only people that can get into either the dorm rooms or the apartments are only the ones whom you or your roomate(s) let in. As I mentioned in the dorm life section, the Cameron Village apartments have a lock for every bedroom, so even if your roomies bring in unwanted guests, you can ensure they won't mess with you or your belongings.

    Greek Life

    I'm not much into the frat boy scene, but from what I've been told the fraternity and sorority on campus are more like after-school clubs than what you'd likely find in the larger universities. Sorry, Animal House fans.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a decent amount of student organizations available through Cameron, aside from the honor and Greek societies. There are also a number of clubs dedicated to special interests, especially in connecting minority and international students. Clubs focusing on academic topics also exist, like the Art Club, Biology Club, and Chemistry Club.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the past decade, Cameron University has put a lot of effort into remodeling the campus grounds. It's now host to several gardens and plenty of beautiful landscaping that makes the daily trek from class to class much more enjoyable. As a transfer student who already holds a degree, and who looked at several other colleges before enrolling, I can say that Cameron has the most scenic campus for its size that I've personally seen.

    Bang for the buck

    Speaking as someone who would have to have moved to opposite ends of the country just to find a campus that offers the kind of degree that would offer me the skills and career opportunities I'd need to pursue my goals, Cameron has been worth the price of tuition so far.

    What to do for fun

    On campus, Cameron University is always hosting social functions, including parties and outdoor events. The Aggie RecCenter has an indoor heated swimming pool and facilities for weightlifting, cardiovascular workouts, racquetball, basketball, and other physical activity. As for off-campus attractions, depending on your tastes there's more to do in the Lawton area than there is than in the rest of the land between Dallas and OKC. Nearby Lawton is the Wichita Mountain Wildlife Refuge, which hosts a number of activities throughout the year and is a great place for all sorts of outdoor recreation. Also nearby is Medicine Park, a small resort town-like community that features a variety of shops, restaurants, and come spring 2014 will also host an aquarium and natural sciences center. Lawton (and Medicine Park) are adjacent to Lake Lawtonka, which provides opportunities for fishing, boating, swimming and the like. If museums are more your thing, there's a few in the area; the Museum of the Great Plains, the Ft. Sill Museum, and the Comanche National Museum and Cultural Center.

    Food and Dining

    Cameron offers two on-site places to eat: the dining hall at Shepler Center, and the food court at the MCC Student Union building. Both are supplied by Sodexo. With both places, it's possible to pay with cash or credit/debit cards, but Cameron offers various meal plans that allow you to pay at the food court with flex cash and visit the dining hall a set number of times per week (depending on the meal plan). The dining hall is only open at certain hours of the day (breakfast/lunch/dinner on weekdays, brunch/dinner on weekends) and is an all-you-can-eat style buffet. At all times the dining hall provides certain kinds of food, such as pizza (usually of two or three varieties), waffles (at a self-serve counter containing random flavors), salad and a counter for making sandwiches. There is also an Exhibition counter that serves varying meals depending on the time of day (for example, in the morning the staff makes omelets on request, and during lunch there is usually barbecue and brisket available). During lunch hours a Deli counter is open for those who would prefer deli-style sandwiches, and in the lunch and dinner hours a second Entree counter is open providing an alternative to the Exhibition counter. The food court at the Student Union is roughly the size of a gas station convenience store, providing many of the same kinds of snacks and drinks you'd expect to find in one, but it also has restaurant kiosks like you'd expect to find at a mall. Presently these include Pizza Hut, Freshens (a yogurt and Starbuck's coffee shop), Sub Connection (providing sub sandwiches, salads, and soups) and Pick Axe Grill (a number of grilled foods including hamburgers and quesodillas).

    Dorm Life

    Cameron presently offers two forms of student housing: the Shepler Center, which is a traditional dorm environment (two high-rises, one for male students and one for females), and Cameron Village, a small apartment complex. There's several options for both; in Shepler, there is a dedicated floor for freshmen students, with everyone else up on the higher floors. Most dorm rooms are two-bed setups, requiring you to live with a roommate but some of them have been converted to single bed dorms meant for only one person. Showers and bathrooms are communal. Cameron VIllage apartments have four and two-bedroom setups. Here, the bedrooms have their own locks, which provides an added measure of privacy and security. Each pair of bedrooms shares a bathroom (with two vanity sinks, one for each person). While you can still hear doors opening and closing and people shouting outside the apartments, the bedrooms doesn't seem to carry sounds outside too well; I've been able to crank my speakers up to a reasonable volume and not hear a thing while standing outside until I open the door, which is good for not disturbing others. Both the four and two-bedroom variants have a dedicated kitchen with a stove, oven, microwave, sink and dishwasher, adjacent to a common room. Essentially, all the furnishings of an apartment; but the housing fees are much, much less expensive than any of the local apartments in Lawton! One thing to note: For both Cameron Village and Shepler, you have to use communal laundromats to do your laundry. These aren't coin-operated; you have to get a laundry card and load money onto it periodically. You can expect to spend anywhere from $3 to $9 a week doing laundry, depending on the load.

    Academic Rigor

    As of this review I am taking five courses this semester (one with an additional lab meeting time). This isn't something I've ever been able to do before in the previous college I'd studied at before graduating and transferring to Cameron, mainly due to constraints of not living near or on the campus there. Taking five courses is rather demanding and I'm definitely feeling the pressure to stay on top of the combined course load. I'd definitely say Cameron's rigorious in the academic side of things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to look into financial aid like a federal Pell Grant or Cameron University's General Scholarship. You can cut your fees almost in half this way. Be sure to apply for the general scholarship early! The initial deadline tends to be in the spring, around February. They only consider applicants after this point if they still have money left to award.

    In three sentences

    Big-name campus living in a smaller university environment. Extensive landscaping makes activity walks highly enjoyable. Provides opportunities not easily found elsewhere in between the metropolitan areas of Texas and Oklahoma..

  • 12/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends, study hard, ask people what good professors are to make sure you get a good education and also a good college experience.

    Bang for the buck

    This university is not too expensive. I pay for my own tuition and have managed to not take out a loan so far, it is all about saving on my part.

    Am enjoying being here

    Although Lawton is a small city and doesn't have much to do, you do find some of the most amazing friends here that make your college experience much more better. The people here have that Southern hospitality that everyone always talks about.

    Am learning a lot

    This University is very good. Small Classes and more one on one time with your professors. I have learned a lot more because I do get that time with the professors to ask questions and what not, so I find it more helpful that the University is smaller for my chances of more learning.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great place for non-traditional students as well as traditional students. They are very welcoming of both types of students. They really try and accommodate the needs of both.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advice for any students planning to go here to check out your resources and sign-up where ever possible to increase your benefits in learning.

    Bang for the buck

    Out of most of the colleges and universities I've looked into, this seems to be the most affordable.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy going to this University, it is a great atmosphere for learning.

    Am learning a lot

    Cameron University is a great learning institution, the instructors really go above and beyond to help their students succeed.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are many information poles where all you have to do is push a button and a live operator can give you directions if you are lost, or send security if you need help. Many grounds personnel are always riding around in golf carts that can also assist if help is needed.

    Greek Life

    I am not affiliated with any Greek chapter so I cannot advise on how these are.

    Clubs and Activities

    Although I am currently only a member of Student Support Services there are many clubs and organizations on campus for all different types of students. Student Support Services is a wonderful place for new students to learn about Cameron and get enrolled and find out about tutors, labs, and even get a mentor to help new students till they get on there feet. Some qualifications are necessary to be accepted but definitely worth visiting.

    Great for these types of students

    It was a relief to me that different age students attend Cameron. I am 30 years old and was nervous about going back to school. When I arrived I found that not everyone in class with me was right out of high school. There is also cultural diversity so making friends that can teach us new ways of doing things and also to teach them about how Americans do things is an awesome opportunity.

    What to do for fun

    The gym is nice, there are three movie theaters in Lawton and two bowling allies. The side walk through out Cameron is marked for those who want to walk, jog, run and keep track of their distance. There are pool tables available in student union with flat screen t.v.'s. Cameron also has a theater where concerts and conferences are held and sometimes free or deeply discounted for students with their i.d.

    Food and Dining

    The only dining I can attest to is at the student union and I personally think it is over priced considering they serve mostly college students. It is usually cheaper to go off campus and a much better variety is available.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in dorms so I cannot fairly rate the living conditions, however students that I know who do live in the dorms are pleased.

    Academic Rigor

    The campus is always buzzing with students going back and forth to class. Study groups in the library, and tutors in the labs help keep students on track with their educational goals. Cameron offers many computer labs that students can access, one of which is open 24 hours a day.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you attend the orientation and take a tour of the school. Make friends and don't be afraid to ask questions. Listen to your adviser and do not overload your schedule.

    In three sentences

    Great school for beginning college students. Instructors are very helpful and care about every students success. Many available subjects to choose from to study.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Fitness center, theater, sports, and massages all on campus. Mall in town, and lake on army installation.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria with scheduled meals and is calculated into your living expenses. Other recreational building has a food court. Fast food and local dinners in proximity to campus.

    Dorm Life

    Accommodations are nice and continue to grow as they build the campus up.

    Academic Rigor

    Staying focus, dedicated, and coming to class is the key to passing any course. Great labs and tutors all around campus in every department to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak to advisers and research curriculum before choosing major. Be dedicated to school and don't expect much in a small town. Get involved in school activities and groups to enjoy a campus life, and expand your horizons.

    In three sentences

    Great place to learn and grow. Wish they had more classes to take year round. Teachers are great at Helping and explaining.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always patrolling the campus. Cameron has a very safe vibe to it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many many clubs at Cameron University. Everything from academics to culture and everything in between. Joining a club definitely helps a new student feel at home and relieve some nerves.

    Great for these types of students

    The common hardworking, determined students but since the university is relatively small it's also great for those who come from small towns/schools.

    What to do for fun

    Since Lawton is a mid-size town there are a few things to do. Movies, bowling, putt-putt, local festivals going on, mountain refuge just fifteen minutes outside of town along with lake lawtonka. Medicine Park is definitely a place to check out with their little shops. A few casinos and local night clubs are here as well if that interests the individual. Mostly just go out and explore and have fun.

    Food and Dining

    The student union has pizza hut and a smoothie place along with some baked goods. The cafeteria food is just as good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms are spacious and well acceptable if one requires to stay in the dorms. If you can afford a bit more a month/semester then Cameron Village is definitely something to look into. Apartment style living.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are a piece of cake while others will test you. This is common as with any education. The advisers really know their field and they are there to help you when you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour the campus before accepting admissions. Don't be afraid to ask questions everyone seems to be quite friendly. Apply for many scholarship opportunities. Meet the advisers before you enroll for a class, it helps a lot to see who you'll be learning from for a semester.

    In three sentences

    Small student to teacher ratio. Affordable tuition. Friendly atmosphere.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sorry but absolutely nothing in Lawton unless you play basketball, swim, bowl, or play pool. Good thing is we have OKC which has lots to do.

    Food and Dining

    Cameron cafeteria isn't the most appetizing, but you're located around a bunch of fast food and restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    Pretty good, the repair crew is a little slow but they do a good job. Not too strict nor too slacked. Do not bring any pets other than fish.

    Academic Rigor

    It would totally depend on the professor. Sometimes you find a professor who teaches a 101 class like you're all majors on that subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to check around before enrolling into classes. If you do you'll know I you need to buy a book, how the professor teaches and thing s along those lines. Stay organized and manage your time wisely, it will make life easier

    In three sentences

    It is a very close knit campus. Educational aspect is very good in my opinion. Food selection much to be desired.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police is has a strong presence on campus and I have never been concerned for my safety. However, although a dry campus alcohol is very prevalent on campus and in campus housing.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is not the same as at an average university. There is no greek housing. I personally don't care for most of the people in the greek community but, there are some great people. The adviser for Greek life is amazing and he is a great person to talk to for more info his name is Steve Sassamen and he is located in the Student Activities Office.

    Clubs and Activities

    PAC is an excellent club and sponsors almost all events on campus. there are many clubs on campus and a student can find one that best fits his or her interests.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Each year there is the foam dance party at the end of Welcome Week sponsored by PAC.

    Bang for the buck

    Cameron is highly rated for its affordability and quality of education.

    What to do for fun

    PAC along with other organizations usually have events weekly. There is something to do every night. Make sure to get involved early.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is not gross however it is tasteless. The food at the student union is great and I like it alot.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is interesting because of the large number of international students along with the large commuter base at the school the dorms at Cameron are very different than those at other schools. If you can afford it I recommend living in the village with people you know and trust.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of the academic work varies from professor to professor but overall general education classes have been easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to apply for scholarships specifically the PLUS this scholarship has a firm deadline usually sometime in February.

    In three sentences

    This university has given me great opportunities through the small class sizes because I have been able to talk to my professors about the subject and asked any questions I may have. I also enjoy the ability to know the faculty at the school. This school has done an excellent job with both their students and professors.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    cameron has a lot of free things to do like the games with your ID and anything that is hosted on campus is not charged really.

    What to do for fun

    the mcc has a lot of people there during the afternoon where there's pool and lounge chairs and music. the campus is always having events like movie night, video games, and more.

    Food and Dining

    the food is good. the only issue i had issues with was getting my food wrong at times.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are small and i hated living there. the walls look like crap with holes in it. i recommend to not live in it.

    Academic Rigor

    the work is pretty easy, but there are some challenging courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you have all your paperwork taken cared of! make appointments if needed. Get all financial aid taken cared of so as to not have a snag on your bill.

    In three sentences

    Cameron University is a small college where it is a great opportunity for students to get to know their professors. The library is a great location for people who want to study quietly and check books out.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For the most part, I felt safe on campus. There are several police call boxes around campus. You just push the button and they'll help you. An officer will also escort you to the dorms if you feel unsafe. I would just not recommend walking around campus late at night. In the five years I was there, nothing bad ever happened to a student. I feel I should tell you that Lawton is not the safest town in the world, and it's gotten worse in the past few years. But like I said, if you are careful and don't walk the streets at night you should be fine. The parking lots are well lit and there is parking close to the dorms. There are security on staff 24/7 as well.

    Greek Life

    I didn't participate in any, but there are a number of fraternities and sororities to choose from. They do not have their own houses, however.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many things to choose from. Something for everyone! And if there is not a club you are interested, they encourage you to create your own.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking for more one on one education. It is a great school for international students as well. There are local churches and charities who take very good care of the international students, helping feed them and helping them adjust to American life.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable, and I didn't feel like I was cheated at all in my education.

    What to do for fun

    The school always has some fun activity planned for students: movie nights, concerts, comedians, etc. They also have sports events, theatre productions, and concerts put on by the music department. The school has a gym that is free for students to use, with an indoor track, racquetball courts, basketball courts, a swimming pool, and weights. Close to town there is a wildlife refuge where you can hike, fish, swim, camp, or picnic.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria and a small food court. My husband enjoyed the cafeteria food. I was never able to eat there because meal times conflicted with my class schedule. The food court is good. They also have a coffee shop in the dorm building that stays open pretty late.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are a little small, but are fairly nice. You are able to get a dorm to yourself for a little extra money. There are also apartments on and off campus. The apartments on campus were recently built and are very nice (but also pricey).

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers hold their students to high standards. They want to make sure you learn what you need to be successful in your chosen career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up to class. Most of my classmates that failed only did so because they failed to show up to class. Also, for the first few weeks of class, get there early. Parking is limited and fills up fast!

    In three sentences

    I loved the smaller class size. I had great opportunities that I may not have gotten at a larger school. I didn't feel like I got lost in the shuffle, I felt like each teacher genuinely cared for me and my academic career.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe we have two cops that roam the campus and check for strange activity all day. They have cameras to check the buildings on campus to make sure no one is doing anything illegal. This campus is also a tobacco free campus.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life for Cameron University is very well put together because they make sure that every student is taken care of and succeeds to the fullest. Everyone that is a part of the Greek life says that it is amazing and a lot of fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a lot of clubs and activities that help students learn more about Cameron or help students satisfy their likes and dislikes. Cameron has a lot of clubs and activities that I can not even begin to describe because there are so many.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of things to do around Lawton for fun. Lawton has a water park, mini golf, the mall, there is two playgrounds our two big parks, go fishing, swimming, etc. On campus they have a lot of activities that are on campus, including the polar plunge, run for fun, dances, healthy living workshops, and music festivals.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is actually really good. I eat on campus all the time and there is an array of options for food that I hardly know what to get sometimes. The seating area is awesome because if somebody is too hot then they can go in side and choose from comfortable cushion chairs, wooden chairs that surrounds a table or booths. If someone gets too cold then they can go outside and side in the sun upstairs on the balcony or downstairs with an outdoor wooden chair and table set.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, but I have heard that it is really nice. Some of the students say that it helps to get to know people a lot better because they are near by.

    Academic Rigor

    This campus may look like it is easy, but they actually have set rules that they stick to on campus. Most of the requirements of being on time for class or turning in homework the teachers take seriously because if we do not it will be hard to pass the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say that keeping up with all the work that is due in class, and just being serious about what they are paying for. Instead of just dropping out of class because it is to tough to handle and wasting a lot of their own money.

    In three sentences

    Cameron University is a beautiful campus with a lot of ponds, fountains, animals, trees, etc. There is an array of people from many different culture backgrounds. This campus may be small, but is a great campus to go to school at because it is small and easy to commute from one place to the other.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there 24/7 campus security who also help if someone has flat tire, locked their keys in the car or any other problem.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all sorts and types of club in the university such as sports, art, theater, debate, and many more.

    Bang for the buck

    Cameron University offers many options of helping its student pay their tuition. For instance, sports scholarship, financial aid or student employment on campus.

    What to do for fun

    The school has different clubs, sports, theater, and dances that happens throughout the year and every students are invited and welcome to join.

    Food and Dining

    The university offers different meal plans to all students. The cafeteria food are pretty awesome. There's also a snack bar in the campus and also many vending machines on every building of the campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very cheap and safe. There are different kinds of dorms such single, double or apartment-like which all differ in prices. Students have the choice to decide what they want.

    Academic Rigor

    Cameron is academically challenging because it strives to provide quality education to its students. Its curriculum is designed to provide each student the necessary knowledge and skills in the chosen field.

    Tips for prospective students

    With the economic status, Cameron offers a lot of different degree programs and its very cheap compared to most universities.

    In three sentences

    Cameron University is a great school. It offers a quality education at a very reasonable price. The campus and buildings are beautiful, clean and well-maintained.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Support the troops at the local army post and play sports!

    Food and Dining

    Excellent!!!

    Dorm Life

    I am told they are nice, I live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers lack the spark to inspire

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a good place to get a degree.

    In three sentences

    Nice campus, small town enviroment, a few nutty professors, and a strong military community.

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria you can go to. There is also a fast-food area where you can get pizza, subs, sandwiches, smoothies, milk, coffee. Their food and dining are enjoyable.

    Academic Rigor

    Cameron is an alcohol-free zone and has become a tobacco-free zone within the last year or so. The professors are tough, but they do it all to help you learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come about 30 minutes before your first class. That way you can find parking spots. Don't forget to get a parking permit as well. It will be $25 for a year. You'll have to continue buying it for each year you stay at Cameron.

    In three sentences

    Cameron University is great on general education and bachelor degrees. Cameron University has cheap tuition. Cameron University does not have a lot to choose from when it comes to getting a master's degree.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 33

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It is a small basic university with classes in walking distance. There are plenty of activities on campus to participate in. It seems like a friendly place, however it is kinda unorganized

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have many activities to participate in throughout the entire week.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very delicious.

    Dorm Life

    I've seen a few of the dorms and they are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    It is difficult in many classes but it is also very rewarding as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at the Cameron Website, especially the map, to see where you want to go. You may be lost without it if you are new to the campus.

    In three sentences

    This particular campus is truly beautiful and has a good environment for education. I also enjoy the classroom setting and how the professors interact with the students. In addition, this campus is very friendly to all that come to it.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    International Students

    What to do for fun

    meet people and hang out. If you have a car go to Wichita Falls. It's a great place.

    Tips for prospective students

    Invest a little bit more money to get a single dorm room they are much nicer or if you have the money get a place in the villages.

    In three sentences

    I love the people at Cameron most teachers are ok, the campus is nice but coming from a big city Lawton isn't really an exciting place

  • 03/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I have never been in the dorms.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy Cameron a lot more than any other school I have attended so far. The teachers are excellent and work with you. The classes are interesting.

  • 04/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a student looking to earn an associates degree this school would be great. the ROTC is also good for military students.

    In three sentences

    Cameron is a great school, but I feel like it should offer a wider variety of majors. I would love to continue and earn a degree from here because my family and tribe is in the area. Due to lack of majors I will have to transfer.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Don't walk across campus at night, I've heard too many stories of girls getting raped. If you get hit by a car you will be lied about the campus being on private property.

    Greek Life

    Very ethic.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are dangerous because shooting happen often.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're not planing on leaving the area.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Foam dance in the art center but a lot of times creepy international students will grind on you.

    What to do for fun

    The mall is small, parks are hard to find, there's two movie theaters in town, the only mini-golf closed down, and small water park open only in the summer.

    Food and Dining

    Really good but repeats often. Caters to international students more then the native students around here. The cafe is priced perfectly but the MCC/student union is way too over priced but the food is really good.

    Dorm Life

    Only 50 rooms of dorms are open for singles. Enough bathrooms to go around but the water is normally to extreme to shower in, either being too hot or too cold. Other students like to wash their cloths in the showers and use them as a toilet.

    Academic Rigor

    If you;re academic talented you will flow thru just fine. There are always labs you can go to for help BUT with international students as workstudents in them prepare to have a hard time understanding them. If you a special need student be careful of who you ask for help from, the like to be little you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get used to smelling BO of international students. Small campus in a small town with a army post right next to it. Gangs like to tag whatever their getting their hands on. Get ready for getto students to keep you awake at night in the dorms.

    In three sentences

    Always something new being built on campus but tuition is always going up. By next fall we will have 3 water fountains on campus and our pond. With the current drought I can see a lot of our money going towards keeping them all filled.

  • 07/19/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have police on campus and call buttons throughout campus. the police even have cars so they won't be running everywhere. Makes you feel incredibly safe

    Greek Life

    Even though they are a small college they still have Sororities and Faternities

    Clubs and Activities

    They have plenty of clubs and activities. something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for any type of student. And while I have been there I have seen all different types of students.

    Bang for the buck

    This is one of the most affordable colleges. They are also very good with working with your financial situation.

    What to do for fun

    They have disc golf, the rec center, the aggie mile, beautiful scenery, and plenty of extra activities to do.

    Food and Dining

    They have the Student Dining Hall and the MCC Student Union which has a pizza hut, starbucks, and other good food places.

    Dorm Life

    They have the Shepler Center and Cameron Village. The Village are the apartments. The Shepler Center are the dorms. North Shepler is Male Dorms and South Shepler is Female Dorms. They even have a floor in each dorm called the Freshman Floor, Everyone on that floor are freshman. A great experience for new college students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus, Talk to advisers, ASK QUESTIONS, take a tour, and speak to a financial aid counselor.

    In three sentences

    Cameron University has very kind Faculty and Students. Cameron is very affordable. Cameron has a gorgeous and nicely spaced campus.

  • 10/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have great safety on campus. There are cops stationed at different areas and ones that patrol at night. We also have these little phone booth things all around campus that have an emergency button on them and you can use those 24/7 for anything from a dead car battery to someone stealing your purse.

    Greek Life

    We have several fraternities and sororities you can pledge to. Each fall you see students doing funny things around campus for their initiation. There is a group for everyone.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs, but not a humongous pool. I am personally in the Ag club and I enjoy it. Our biggest groups on campus are the student government association and the sororities and fraternities.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all students. Cameron has done a great job at accomodating all types of students and all types of learning abilities. There is something for everyone on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cameron hosts a foam party every fall which is the most popular activity on campus. We also hold a Convocation which isn't done at most other schools. We have activities going on throughout campus all year long such as fairs, group movies, and even a goat roast.

    Bang for the buck

    Cameron is a very well priced school. You are getting a great education for a low price. There are also many scholarships and aid money available to help pay for college.

    What to do for fun

    Lawton has basically three things: Food, bowling, and movies. Medicine park is neat to visit and the local wildlife refuge is nearby. Lawton also just got a new shopping complex with Academy and Target in it.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is not my personal favorite, but some days you get lucky. You can use your meal plan at the MCC though. I like the food court there. It has a bunch of choices for you and even has a coffee shop.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are old, but not bad. The new cameron village apartments are nice and allow you to room with friends and share a kitchen and living room. Either option is a good choice.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are great. The courses are challenging, but not horrible. There is always a person or a resource center you can go to for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Save your money. Apply for as many scholarships as possible. Many scholarships at cameron aren't given out because no one has applied to them.

    In three sentences

    Cameron has done a lot of reconstruction in the past few years and the campus is really beautiful now. They are changing professors to have all Dr.'s as teachers so students get a higher education. The current President on campus is very nice and takes a genuine concern in your education and future.

  • 11/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    C.U. is actually great for any person. The mom with three kids and no husband. The dad going in the military (Cameron has a military science program especially for Military personnel, because we are an Army base here at Ft. Sill), the average student just graduated from high school, the smart student who graduated a year early from high school, the person who took a few years off to get things straightened out before returning to collage. It is for absolutely everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cameron puts over 6,000 little flags in the ground along in the gardens or by the art,music,communications section to honor Veteran's day. It looks amazing. Also, Cameron University celebrates Ol' Kim, our mascot's birthday by inviting everyone on campus to a huge roasting get-together to eat goat, lamb, ham, and various meats just to get together and celebrate that day.

    Bang for the buck

    You get quite the information here at Cameron University. Teachers here are so willing to help on a one by one basis, if you show you are really into the subject, want to know more, and is passionate about what you want to do. They are so inviting and will go the extra mile to get you where you need to be. Cameron University does not cost an arm and a leg to go, too. It is a great option for people who do not have the money, but want the extra education.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities for fun: Sports! Taking trips to museums or other areas sponsored by your classes, Cameron, or guild/clubs. Being outside in the gardens, by the small pond, just walking around campus. The agriculture is huge here, so there's many flowers, trees, and beautiful green grass almost all year around here at Cameron University. You can always go to the gym and play some basketball or swim for fun as well. You can play pool in the food court place, the MCC. Lots of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat often at Cameron. But it is around several good local food areas. An upside to Cameron's food and dinning, is the nice facility where students of all kind can get together, play pool, sometimes listen to a piano, which is upstairs, and just enjoy a warm setting with Starbucks coffee. They 'proudly brew Starbucks coffee.' :)

    Dorm Life

    I live at home. My friends live in the dorms and they say it is very convenient for them. Their class is 8:00 A.M, they get up at 7:50. Pretty quick traveling, if you ask me. Get the most rest that way, I would think! But, they do mention that sometimes, there are parties on the same floor, or floor above them who do make the sleeping process hard.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some strict laws at Cameron. Guilds, clubs and activities have some pretty firm guidelines sometimes. But the most pressing one, would be parking. A parking pass is quite necessary at Cameron University. The campus police look for any vehicle that does not have one, or that is parked in the teacher's parking lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Best advice I can give, as a Junior here at Cameron, applies to any college really. Plan ahead, do your scholarships, look at the syllabus of your classes and really get your time management figured out. :) It helps so much to create a plan during the semester of all classes to make sure you are ahead in your academics. Cameron University is all I know and has helped me develop greatly. Those tips are really all you need to know for this university, as well as any other one.

    In three sentences

    The facility is inviting and they constantly are doing revisions on campus grounds. The people are usually friendly; students, especially teachers. Also, Cameron has many activities if people are interested in neat events going on throughout the semesters.

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Cameron has the best tuition for the education your getting.

    What to do for fun

    Cameron has plenty of Students activities every day so you will never be bored.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria has a Pizza Hut and a sub making station as well as build your own sandwich and option like those.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is relaxed and in short, fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Students have an average amount of challenges. Nothing you can;t handle

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't skip class frequently if you plan to pass.

    In three sentences

    Has plenty of activities for students. professors that actually care about your education and friendly people to make friends with.

  • 03/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never felt threatened or had any problems on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's not a whole lot but if you really try to open youre mind youll find something.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're studious, you want to meet a lot of different types of people.

    Bang for the buck

    If you're serious about college and want somewhere affordable, Camerons the place for you. There's not many social activites or bonding moments for the school, but academically its great!

    What to do for fun

    Theres a disc golf course, gym, pool and the MCC has pool tables.

    Food and Dining

    Its not OU with every single type of food choice imaginable, but it is pretty good. They serve a variety and there's all you can eat ice cream and cereal, every college kids dream

    Dorm Life

    I haven't met that many people and its not like it is in movies. The dorms and bathroom are clean but not new. It could definitely use a renovation.

    Academic Rigor

    Its hard work but if you put the right type of effort in you should have free time to enjoy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try and get into the PLUS scholarship and program, its a great way to meet like minded people and you learn so much about campus and school your first year.

    In three sentences

    Cameron is very diverse. Professors and staff are helpful and kind. Everyone on campus is pretty friendly and the facilities are extremely nice.

  • 03/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Sigma Tau Gamma is the biggest and best fraternity on Campus

    Food and Dining

    The food in the campus cafeteria is really good. There are always a bunch of choices

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are alright.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some really good professors here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Classes are not far from one another so getting to class on time is a breeze. Its cheaper than most colleges in the state.

    In three sentences

    It's really cheap. The campus is fairly small. There are lots of things to do on campus.