Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Canisius College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/31/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Canisius is great for outgoing and driven students. You won't feel like a number. Professors and other faculty will actually know you as a person and take an interest in who you really are.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you apply online there is no application fee and the form is much easier to fill out. When I was making my college decision, I went to an overnight at Canisius and that really let me see what the student life was really like.

    Bang for the buck

    The price for tuition and room may be a little high, even with the amazing merit scholarships offered, but you get so much in return. The professors are so kind and caring, the class sizes are almost always under 40 students, and the events are great. Because Canisius is a Jesuit school there are many service trips that students can take such as Winter Service Week, Alternative Spring Break, and International Service Immersion trips. These sometimes cost extra, but the college picks up some of the expenses.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is always something to do on campus, whether it be a club meeting, sports game, or college sponsored event. There are so many opportunities to make new friends. The college also provides many opportunities for internships, community outreach programs, research, and great on-campus jobs.

    Am learning a lot

    Canisius has great programs for the majors and minors that they offer. The science programs are very demanding, but will prepare you for medical, dental, and vet schools.

  • 09/13/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The school has a great Psychology department, most teachers I spoke to in high school knew this school for this department. Also, the two classes I took so far in this department have both being very engaging.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can, I'd suggest getting into a two year school to cover all the basics for less then applying here. The Jesuits schools are suppose to be very good as a name to get jobs with, but as this is only student hearsay, take it with caution.

    Bang for the buck

    Not initially showing it's worth unless you can get most of it paid for. The higher classes may prove to make all of this worth it but the starting classes are sub-par in my opinion. The only class that put out as much information as you'd expect from a higher learning class was History of Modern Europe and, though I enjoyed the class, it's not applicable to most degrees.

    Am enjoying being here

    I don't believe I am a good view on the good points of the school, as I really didn't spend time on campus in my first year more than for my classes during the school year. What time I did spend there was very enjoyable, with many things to do in the evening. There are many places around campus to hang out with friends, a lot of events that happen every week, It's hard to find a day that there is nothing you can do.

    Am learning a lot

    Yes and no. Much of the 100 classes are review if you have taken high school level versions of the classes. You can cruise through with ease if you are motivated to learn and complete course work and home work. You won't get much learning, outside of the History and the technology fields, until your second year if you have already started to work on your field of study.

  • 07/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Canisius is great for everybody, they really do have something for everyone. If you have any questions, be sure to go to www.canisius.edu!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to get lower grades than you've received in high school, it's natural and happens to everyone. It's a big jump, going from high school to college, and Canisius is filled with opportunities for you. If you ever find yourself stuck, you can always talk to your advisor, one of the most helpful resources on the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It's very expensive to go here, especially if you intend to dorm, so be prepared to apply for as many scholarships as possible. Don't forget, every bit counts!

    Am enjoying being here

    Canisius is filled with many activities, there is virtually something to do for everyone. Personally, I enjoy the Little Theatre, but there are many clubs for you to join. School-wise, the teachers are very helpful and understanding, and are willing to help you if you ask.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers know their material very well and have time to help students in and out of the classroom. Material that has been covered in high school is expanded on and you will begin to develop your own conclusions in certain subjects.

  • 07/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I hear that the school does well for it's Business program and somewhat medical. I hear NOTHING about it's business transfer to F.I.T. program. The school is extremely involved in international studies and has a wide variety of foreign students, programs and study aboard options. As a digital media arts majors I do face issues with focusing on my specific media, they do NOT choose that for you! The school does have video game design that is not associated with the computer science major of the school! There are classes from simplest website and flash videos to complex coding for iphone apps and more. The professors involved are absolutely fantastic. While the Canisius t.v. program seems non-existent, I have seen multiple students majoring in digital media arts and communications be sent on trips to foreign countries, concerts, expos, etc to build experience. * OPPORTUNITIES*

    Tips for prospective students

    Work out you finances and schooling beforehand. You never know if there are limited opportunities you could be walking right by. I found out at the end of my sophomore year that NCCC offers a great Digital Media Arts program that gets you an associates degree then sets you up to transfer to canisius, not only are you getting canisius accepted classes out of the way but you're saving money! If you want to do something, change something please SPEAK UP! The school is extremely observant and if you need help, want change then TELL THEM. Struggling with finances, classes and life I was suffering alone, but when I spoke up I was immediately given attention. They want to help!

    Bang for the buck

    The school is expensive. Do not try and enter without going over your finances. Sometimes I think it's just obscenely overpriced. I love getting the perks of a private education but sometimes I feel like I will be bankrupt at graduation. If you are smart, hard working and check out all of your scholarship options beforehand you have potential to balance the hefty tuition cost. However the classes are small, the equipment up-to-date and the events for the school just to keep it's student happy are great. There are a lot of opportunities it does offer so if you can afford it, please do attend!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love this school, so much. I can barely put it into words. The campus is gorgeous, the faculty is welcoming and students are well for the most part on my intelligence level if not above. the people hear are so diverse and it extremely rare or of choice to be without a niche of friends. Though it may be more difficult for commuters it is extremely easy to keep a social life and balance grades, resume builders and a job.

    Am learning a lot

    Granted I came from Public schooling but I have learned a lot attending this schools. Things I may have had previous skills in are being enforced. Most professors are extremely helpful no matter if you are and A or a C student, if you can't get help from your professor the school offers a variety of tutors.

  • 04/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Canisius is great for all types of students, so don't get me wrong, but I feel as though it is especially great for students from the Western New York area. Canisius is the perfect next step forward from high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    My biggest tip is to visit the campus, take a tour, and spend a day shadowing as a student. If you think you may like it enough to have it in the top 5 choices for college, then spend a day going to classes and perhaps spend an overnight. You can only get the true feel for a school by being a member of its community, however short that may last.

    Bang for the buck

    Canisius has been a great education so far and I look forward to the rest of my time here, however, it is expensive. In all honesty, I feel that attending Canisius is totally worth the cost. I am getting out of my education everything I am putting into it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I chose this school because of how I felt visiting it. I felt comfortable and at home here. The student community is great, like a giant, close family. Everyone is very friendly and most importantly I feel safe here. College is supposed to be a great, fun time, and it definitely is at Canisius.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers at Canisius are very passionate about what they do. They are all more than willing to help students outside of class time. Each presents information in different ways, but I find that I have been able to learn in each different setting.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Canisius is a great school for students who value academics, faith, sports, and a high standard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective Canisius students must be ready to work hard, because if a student puts in all their effort here it is definitely rewarded. The teachers here are great and really go out of their way to help students and grade fairly.

    Bang for the buck

    Canisius was the most expensive school I have applied to, but they offered me the most aid. This is a great school for getting financial help that is very much needed.

    Am enjoying being here

    Not only do I enjoy the classes, but everything else is fantastic. I was looking for a great school with an active faith basis, and I definitely found that at Canisius. The activities and clubs on Campus are phenomenal as well.

    Am learning a lot

    I feel like I have learned a lot by attending Canisius. I feel like all the classes I have taken are completely worth it, and I have gotten a lot out of them.

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a huge dining hall and a mulitude of different shops throughout the campus.

    Dorm Life

    Out of all the colleges I have visited Canisius does have some very nice dorms and the RA's are always there to help assist you and your living conditions.

    Academic Rigor

    Canisius College will push you to do your best, it is not easy but it is worth the while.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors and go to their office hours if you need help, they are always willing to help you.

    In three sentences

    Canisius College is a very personable inviting college that compliments the learning process in a multitude of ways. All of the professors here are fully knowledgeable and are willing to help at all times. I simply love this college and it has helped me further my education immensely.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    always circling campus and there have been very very few incidences involving crimes.

    Greek Life

    very small greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    numerous clubs and activities which constantly hold events on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    great for science majors. canisius has one of the highest acceptance rates into the ub school of medicine.

    What to do for fun

    there are many sporting events and the basketball and hockey teams are good. canisius is just a few subway stops from downtown buffalo where you can watch the buffalo sabres, bandits, and bisons. there are numerous restaurants, theatres, and clubs downtown as well.

    Food and Dining

    the food is very good, however not a lot of variety. it is prepared in front of you most of the time and is always fresh.

    Dorm Life

    very good experience. everyone on my floor got along and we go to dinner together every day. there is always something to do, always people to hang out with, and activities to do during the week and on the weekends in addition to sporting events.

    Academic Rigor

    academic rigor really depends on the pursued major.

    Tips for prospective students

    be ready for the different course load from high school and be motivated to teach yourself morethan you did in high school - not all information you will need to know will be lectured in class.

    In three sentences

    canisius has a very welcoming atmosphere with knowledgeable and caring professors. the jesuit education recieved creates well rounded people. canisius will put you ahead of other students at different colleges.

  • 07/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is the greatest. Yeah the bust some parties but that's not too often. What's great about campus safety is that they update you on anything going on in the area such as robberies, break-ins, etc. They also will drive you to anywhere at anytime campus wise. There's a safe feel to the school because campus police are constantly patrolling the area. There are emergency buttons placed around campus for safety (just in case) and everywhere is card-swipe access.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is lacking. There's only two fraternities and one sorority a the school. There are honor societies such as Tri-beta or Psi Chi but there really isn't a lot of the Greek life culture to be held here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anyone can get a club started once they submit for approval. That being said, there are quite a few clubs on campus and more popping up each year. Although there are a many clubs, it can be difficult to get a feel of just what each one is about and if the people in the club fit in with you. There's a club fair at the beginning of the year where each club tries their best to impress potential members. Take advantage of this because if you don't like it, then you could always withdraw from that club with no problem. It's just another way to try and meet more people and have more fun.

    Great for these types of students

    The artistic type, the scientist, the drama lovers, the academics. Pretty much everyone will find this school to be an excellent fit.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is unfailingly expensive. Recently, administration has been trying to curtail the expenses but it can still be really expensive for some. Luckily, they offer scholarships. Even those who aren't typically eligible for scholarships get a $9,500 one just for standard attendance.

    What to do for fun

    Party. No, seriously, parties. Campus police can bust the more out of control ones, but the parties typically tend to be pretty fun and a great way to meet random people. Of course there are also many clubs such as theatre, major-specific clubs, and sports types. On nice days, the quad is full of people just laying out and having a good time. Plus there are campus events and sponsored bands like Parachute and Ben Folds. If on campus isn't your thing, there's a lot around buffalo to do on certain nights and transportation to do it is easy ( about $3 for a metro pass, free for freshman that takes you pretty much anywhere in Buffalo).

    Food and Dining

    There's usually something to tickle every fancy. A section for grill style foods, a section that mimics the food served on the Food Network, a sandwich area, and an Italian area. There's also the Menutainment, which features a changing theme with everything from Quesadilla Tuesday to Hunan style shrimp stir-fry. The school recently added a Subway and a 2mato to the joint for more eating options. The signature of the school, however, tends to be the late-night eatery with pub type foods; a frequent for many students on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are sizable (more so than what I've seen for some places). The furniture is provided, which for incoming freshman will be a load off the shoulders. Freshman dorms can be either a standard 2-person room or a 4-person suite with a common room in-between each 2-person side. Dugan is like living in a hotel, with larger rooms but the bathrooms are still shared amongst the floor for each girl and boy side. Of course upperclassman housing is nicer and more private, coming with a standard kitchen (with dishwasher), and having your own room and only sharing a bathroom with your suite. Dorming, however, is really expensive and by the time I was eligible (junior) to get a house, I did.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the choice of major, some classes can be a real doozy. I find that even some of my easy 101 type classes could be wicked hard in terms of work requirements (i.e. number of papers).

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely ask favorite teachers about research opportunities or TA options. Even if you are super sure about your chosen career path, start out with general credits and interests that you've never had a chance to explore. Don't be afraid to join teams and clubs, doing so can really enhance the college experience of having more friends/connections/parties. Get to know some favorite teachers; it will really come in handy in the future when dealing with letters of recommendation.

    In three sentences

    An expensive school that really excels in the science areas. The vast majority of the students are extremely nice and polite, with a real sense of community. Class difficulty depends on class selection and where one's strengths are.

  • 11/28/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Canisius is a little pricey, but the various scholarships should hopefully offset the cost when I apply.

    Will enjoy being here

    The Canisius campus is beautiful, especially the Chapel and the Montante Cultural Center. Buffalo is a great city with lots to do.

    Will learn a lot

    From what I saw from my visit to the Canisius Open House, it is a great learning environment which allows students intimate contact with professors for excellent mentoring.

  • 12/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students willing to be very social and to have fun but also know how to manage their school work in with it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on rate my professors.com. Most of them are very good but there are select ones that are very bad!

  • 02/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    its none existant

    Clubs and Activities

    i'm on the quiddtich team.

    Bang for the buck

    its super pricey before scholarships, and even after, but i think it'll be worth it.

    What to do for fun

    the school offers on campus activities all the time.

    Food and Dining

    the food isn't terrible and there are plenty of options.

    Dorm Life

    i love everything about my dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    its tough, but if you apply yourself you can do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    do what you love, if you don't you're going to hate school.

    In three sentences

    i love it here, the students are great, the professors are fantastic, and the food isn't too bad. i can't see myself at any other school.

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    public safety is amazing!

    Greek Life

    there are some sororities/ fraternities but since this is a jesuit school they are considered just clubs.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are plenty of clubs for everything, and if there isn't a club that you want create it!

    Great for these types of students

    all types of students, there is such a great diversity

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    bon fire during welcome week, it's the kickoff for our sports season

    Bang for the buck

    pricing is great! canisius: great school great price!

    What to do for fun

    there is always something going on around campus. there's everything from partying to campus ministry!

    Food and Dining

    the food is decent, it's not the best. meal plans are very flexible.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is alright. it is better than most dorms that i have seen.

    Academic Rigor

    they are big on academics. the professors are usually very easy going and understanding. don't be scared to reach out for help and talk to your professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    just come expecting the unexpected.

    In three sentences

    canisius is a fun place to be, there is a loving atmosphere. the campus is absolutely beautiful! go griffs!

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety, which is the college police are available 24/7.

    Greek Life

    The business fraternities are great.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs like bowling, sororities, fraternities, clubs for every major and athletic clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    People who are Catholic because it's a Catholic school, but not limited to. The business school is great, people who want to study business.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is mass all year round.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities on campus, but you can go to the movies, there are clubs downtown and there's a Dave and Buster's.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. You have a lot of choices.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great. The RA's are very helpful.

    Academic Rigor

    Your freshman year, you'll take seminar classes to make sure you know what to expect for future classes. The work gets pretty tough, but it's the place where leaders are made.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure living in Buffalo is what you really want to do because it gets really cold here.

    In three sentences

    Canisius is a small Jesuit school. It's in an urban area so you'll get the city experience. All of my professors have been nice and helpful.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are public safety officer all around campus through all hours of the night. The campus isn't in a great part of town but the Buffalo Police and Public Safety do a great job at keeping the campus safe.

    Bang for the buck

    Though Canisius is very expensive it really is a great school. They have a lot of great major programs, so much to do to get involved on campus, great variety of offered majors. It has a great atmosphere and the majority of the staff are very friendly and personable.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs that the school offers. There is something for everyone. Whether it be a sorority or fraternity that suits you or a theater club or bowling club or being a DJ for The Wire Canisius' radio station. Not only that but the campus is only minutes from downtown Buffalo where there is plenty to do. It is also only a few blocks from the Buffalo Zoo.

    Food and Dining

    The food selection here is very good. There is the dining hall which always has at least two or three delicious options. Along with that there is tomato, they serve pizza, pizzans, calzones, and pasta. Then there is Iggy's which never fails to be delicious. A little on the greasier side but they have all sorts of burgers and sandwiches, mostly fried foods. Then there is also a Tim Hortons and Subway right on campus. They also have a cafe on campus where you can buy food to make yourself along with an ice cream shop where they make smoothies and milkshakes. Overall there are a lot of great options so you'll never get sick of the same stuff everyday.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really nice especially once you get out of the freshman dorms, not that they are bad. There are so many clubs and on campus activities that you will never be bored. The school really goes out of their way to make sure that there is something for everyone. The janitorial staff and the Public Safety officers are always friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    This definitely isn't high school anymore. Professor expect a LOT more than high school teachers did. Some professors are not very helpful and you have to teach yourself a lot of the material. It's sometimes hard to stay on track with professors that don't do a good job at explaining something in a way everyone will understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do well on the SAT's and ACT's to get a lot of scholarship money since it is really expensive. If you're going to get a work study job make sure to apply and interview very early on as positions fill very quickly.

    In three sentences

    Canisius has a great atmosphere. The campus is beautiful and everyone is very friendly. This college is very expensive but definitely worth the money especially if they have a great program for your major.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. Although it is located in a bad part of Buffalo, there is Public Safety driving around everywhere. Be careful about where you go at night, don't stray too far from the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Canisius College has all sorts of clubs and activities that range from a Harry Potter club to a Rifle Club. The people who are a part of them are very welcoming so do not be afraid to join. You'll quickly become part of a group if you get involved with them and don't worry, you will find the club for you and if you can't, you can create your own.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students who need personal attention from professors and for those who like the atmosphere of a small school. There isn't a whole lot to do in the area, so be able to amuse yourself. If you're social, this shouldn't be a problem.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Canisius College is a Jesuit school. There are many special masses that go on during the school year. Just today I walked past a wedding!

    What to do for fun

    Some people take walks around Forest Lawn Cemetary while others take the subway down town on Thursday nights where anyone 18 and over can get in and dance the night away. Elmwood isn't too far out and has excellent dining and shopping. Other than that many people like to hang around the dorms, join frats, sororities, or sports teams, or go to events that are being held on campus.

    Food and Dining

    At Canisius there is one dining hall, a Subway, 2Mato (which serves pasta and pizza), a Tim Hortons in the library, and Iggys which is a small restaurant located over Palisano Pavillion. The food isn't bad, it is nothing to be afraid of. Just keep track of your Griff Bucks, they run out fast.

    Dorm Life

    There are Community Builder events that help you to get to know the other people that live in the dorms. The dorms can be very loud on the weekend but they're worth staying in because of the experience of living away from your parents. You have a lot of freedom in the dorms and in my personal opinion the common rooms that every floor has are the best part.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a lot of work at Canisius. Professors are always assigning readings and in my experience I have done more essays than I can count on my fingers. Professors like you to attend, if you don't they may lower your grade from an A- to a B+.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember to stay social and stay on top of your work. Don't get too caught up on going out if you have a budget. Fines add up and you should hold on to your money as long as you are able.

    In three sentences

    Canisius is not a bad school. It is expensive but if you have the money it is well worth it. It is a small school so plan on seeing the same people on a regular basis and getting a lot of personal attention.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety is taken very seriously on campus, and also is really friendly. It works out great for many students, and if anyone ever feels unsafe walking to their dorms Public Safety is more than willing to escort them there. Also, Public Safety will send out text messages to student's phones to warn them if there is any real dangerous situation occurring.

    Greek Life

    There isn't much Greek life on campus, but there are some. Greek life is present on campus though.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs on campus which makes getting involved on campus really easy and a lot of fun.

    Great for these types of students

    Canisius fits students of all academic types and learning styles!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many times that you can here kids lifting there arms in the air and shouting MAGIS! It was a tradition started by Fr. Bucki who is now leaving Canisius. The word Magis is Latin for more and literally means that you have done more. It's always a good thing!

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition to campus is pretty expensive but luckily Canisius usually offers are really good financial package to most of its students.

    What to do for fun

    On campus there are a lot of events that many clubs, such as RHA, run. This allows for students to meet new people or hang out with old ones! The events are always a lot of fun, and have things like a bounce house and rock-wall climbing too.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Canisius isn't the best, but not many colleges are so don't let this deter you from coming here!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a lot of fun. After freshman year, you and you friends can try to all live on the same floor by building a community floor. This makes it a great time and you basically get to live with all your best friends.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors on campus are pretty tough, but because the class sizes are so small, you can really get to know your professors well and get one-on-one time if you need some extra help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be shy. Everyone in the freshman class is new so making friends will be really easy if you just open up and allow people to get to know you.

    In three sentences

    Canisius College is a lot of fun. We have tons of events all over campus and because the school is smaller, the students have more of an opportunity to know each other and get involved on campus. The college also has a wide diversity of clubs which allows you to really get into whatever club you want to join; if the club you want isn't there you can also start a club pretty easily.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety is only a phone call away and roams around campus regularly, day or night.

    Bang for the buck

    Canisius may seem expensive. Not everyone can afford the $40,000 price tag, however Financial Aid helps A ton. The majority of my friends and I received tens of thousands of dollars in Financial Aid making Canisius VERY affordable

    Dorm Life

    Best way to meet friends that could last a lifetime! There's always something to do, so why not always be there to experience it?!

    Tips for prospective students

    1. DORM! It's the greates way to meet your new best friends! It's the best decision that I've ever made. Many great menories are made when you dorm 2. Join at least 1 club. It helps you to adjust to campus, meet new people, or attempt/deleop a skill 3. Explore! Canisius is only a subway/bus ride away from theatre, movies, shopping on Elmwood Ave or Galleria Mall, Delaware Park, Anchor Bar for some REAL Buffalo wings, and the Buffalo Zoo (Third Largest Zoo) to name a few

    In three sentences

    Canisius College is a small school in the heart of the Queen City, known as Buffalo, NY. Canisius offers a close-knit atomsphere with familiar faces walking past you each day, whether you know their name or not. If given the opportunity to do my college selection over again, I still would choose Canisius 100% of the time!

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety, called Public Safety in Canisius College, is very careful and always patrols the streets around the campus. Security Guards always walk within the building halls and make sure all is going fine. When something does occur, Buffalo Police is always called on the spot and the situation is dealt with with utmost care! Canisius College is a very safe school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of campus activities and clubs. They range from environmental safety clubs to foreign relations and language clubs to math, finance, economics, and accounting society clubs. There is always something for everything and no one is left behind. Canisius tries to help all that want and need the help. We also offer many volunteer opportunities and everyone can take part in them.

    Great for these types of students

    Canisius is great for students who want to go places. The ones with serious majors and serious attitudes will succeed. Canisius is really hard, students need to focus on their studying, there is never any time for slacking. It is for ambitious and motivated people striving to succeed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing unusual, but because we are a Jesuit college and a Catholic institution, in the middle of campus there is a huge church. This church is always open to the student and everyone attending Canisius. Also when we are welcomed back to college each year there is a party for the students and a Mass we all should attend. Besides that we are a very fun and always welcoming college.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely, Canisius College is an amazing college and the traditions that come with the attendance here are very life-inspiring. The education you will receive here will be like no other. The Jesuit philosophy sure adds to making each student a leader.

    What to do for fun

    Not far away from the main campus, there is a mall where you can go shopping. There is Delaware Park where you can enjoy playing sports and take walks with friends. On weekends there are lots of houses where students live who have get-togethers and create activities for all. By taking the subway, you can go down to the clubbing alley and enjoy the bars, if above age of course. It is a ton of fun to go to this college and I believe anyone would be happy to attend it also.

    Food and Dining

    In Canisius College there are two buildings where you can purchase food. The one includes a Subway and the other a Tim Hortons along with the college dinning room. There is always different meals offered everyday and they never repeat week after week. The food is super delicious and the workers who get it ready are very respectable and nice toward the students.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived on campus during the two years I have been at the college, but from all my friends that have, I heard that it is a lot of fun. It is a really easy way to make friends, and the social life of those students on weekends is really enjoyable. This rating is just based off of my friends opinions.

    Academic Rigor

    The set of standards set forth by the school for the students is tolerable. The students can fully exercise their given laws. It is a hard school, meaning that classes are hard and the professors are tough, but when the class is done you learned so much and you retain all of it. The methods and techniques used along with logic really makes the information easy for the students to grasp and hold on to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Canisius College is a really great institution. Everyone is friendly and super encouraging to continue to be successful. Not only that but we have so many sport teams since we are a Division I college, going to games and socializing with fellow classmates is very fun. Lastly, the professors are very unique and their main goal is for you to understand and learn from them so that you can inspire others.

    In three sentences

    Canisius College is a small Jesuit college where leaders are made. The professors, the environment, and the other student are very caring and interesting people who care that you, yourself, do well. Due to the small classes, a student is not just a number there but an individual recognized for everything they achieve.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Catch your first Buffalo Bisons game, head to First Niagara and watch the Sabres play off, go to the many art festivals around the area, go to the Taste of Buffalo, visit the Niagara Falls. There is so much stuff going on around Buffalo, you just have to look for it.

    Food and Dining

    Dining Hall is sub-par but where isn't it on any college campus? Iggy's is our newest improvement to the previous Upper Deck which sells mostly fast food with variations in the menu from month to month. We also have Subway on campus along with 2mato and Tim Hortons.

    Dorm Life

    The Residence Halls are very comfortable and accommodating for most students, even ones with special needs! The only downside is that there is no air conditioning in the freshmen dorms (Bosch and Frisch Hall) but students aren't here on campus when the weather is extremely hot so that is negligible. The rooms are very nice and spacious and vary from building to building, depending on where you want to live and are all in walking distance to the main campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at the school are pretty top-notch with many professors who have had many years in their profession on top of PhDs and well-informed of the information they are teaching to the students. Some classes are easier than others, but others can be much harder. But what you learn at Canisius sticks with you, inside and outside of the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the public transportation! Step outside of your comfort zone and meet new people! I am a minority student but have a diverse crowd of friends so don't let the dominantly caucasian campus scare you! Make the best of your four years because it flies by.

    In three sentences

    This is one of the best schools in Buffalo where you can receive a private education at a smaller-scale school in a big city with many things to do in between from concerts to food festivals. The campus is a nice size and residents live in the neighborhoods right next to the college and is very safe as public safety does a wonderful job. The atmosphere is that of a small, very friendly and kind community, with enough diversity and variation among the student body that you won't get tired of seeing the same people everyday.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research on the school before you commit to it.

    In three sentences

    Really beautiful campus. Small class sizes. High cost.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus security is awesome, call them anytime for any reason even if you just need a ride after the shuttles stop.

    Greek Life

    they have fun but also get good grades, impressive if you ask me.

    Clubs and Activities

    so many to choose from, something for everyone and you can even start your own.

    Great for these types of students

    just about anyone can fit in

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Relay for life is a huge event, and of course the jesuit church is a big a part of campus to.

    Bang for the buck

    Private School education that you will very rarely pay top dollar for, they want you to be able to afford everything.

    What to do for fun

    Sports, hiking, zoo visits

    Food and Dining

    It's pretty good, and there are a lot of options. And entertainment, they will cook in front of you with some pretty impressive skill.

    Dorm Life

    Clean with friendly RA's that aren't to strict.

    Academic Rigor

    Tutoring Center is a must

    Tips for prospective students

    Scholarships, because it can get pricey. Do not be afraid to ask for help, because the academics can be challenging and if you fall behind you will never catch up.

    In three sentences

    A beautiful campus with a lot of options when it comes to choosing a major. Wonderful professors. A lot of activities to keep you busy.

  • 08/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any Great Accounting Program Great Athletic Training Program

    What to do for fun

    Buffalo is a major city in Western New York so there is always things to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Don't bring your car its easy enough to walk everywhere. - Take advantage of the great dining options in Buffalo.

    In three sentences

    Canisius College is a private Jesuit college located in Buffalo, NY. The college is in a convenient area as many attractions and events are close by. Canisius is a great school and has the best dorms out of any college I visited.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe, public safety officer always in sight outside or inside dorm

    Clubs and Activities

    C Block

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    library

    What to do for fun

    usually on fridays we have an activity set up in one of our building whether its roller skating or speed dating. but something is always goin on around campus

    Food and Dining

    very good food. variety of options every day

    Dorm Life

    veyr nice and clean. enough space and quiet

    Academic Rigor

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    you should really consider dorming. You will be able to meet a lot of new people and make great friends. Be active and join a club

    In three sentences

    fun, diverse, friendly

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    25 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One thing that I did not appreciate from Canisius is that I was told in my orientation non stop about how students safety is first priority and I found that not to be true. There is a shuttle that students are supposed to be able to call and they come to you and bring you where you need to go on campus immediately with no problems. However I think that the shuttle actually showed up maybe 2 out of every 10 times I would call. Also, my life was threatened by a student at one point, and since this students family donated money to school, the situation was handled very seriously, and she did not receive any harsh punishment. I continued to get harassed by her and her friends, with no help from the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    I think that any type of club that you would be looking for, you could find at Canisius.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that learn best in a small environment, and have a lot of money, this is the perfect school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Canisius has a college right in the middle of campus. I know that was very comforting to a lot of students that did not live close by, because they still could go to church when they wanted.

    Bang for the buck

    I do believe that I got a top of the line education at Canisius, however I do not believe that any education is worth the amount of money that I now owe. With the way the economy is, it is very hard to find a job immediately after graduating, yet you have loans to start to pay off. I do not know if I would go to Canisius again if I had the choice, just because I am unable to start my life because of how much I am paying in loans.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs within Canisius that you could join. Canisius is great with keeping students updated through e-mail of all the different events that are taking place on campus. It is a small college, which makes communication travel fast, and makes you feel as if you are in a family environment. Also, there are subway entrances steps away from campus that bring you to the heart of downtown in minutes. If you are looking to keep busy, you will have no problems doing so at Canisius.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. There are many options as to what to get at the different cafeteria's, and then there is even a little mini grocery store if you get sick of the food from the school. Subway and Tim Hortons are both also located inside of the school.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice compared to dorms I have seen at other schools. I personally did not enjoy the dorm life because I was with roommates I did not get along with, and Resident Life was not too helpful in those tough situations either. However, if you get roommates you enjoy, the dorms are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    It is definitely a competitive school. You have to work hard, and invest a lot of time, but it is for a good reason. It is tough for a reason, because you are gaining a great education from it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Search for as many scholarships as possible, and financial aide. If you are not rewarded a lot of money to assist you to pay for school, then look into other schools. I value the education I got at Canisius a tremendous amount, however am finding it near impossible to pay off all of my loans.

    In three sentences

    Canisius has the elite professionals working for them. The teachers are experts in their subjects. However it is very expensive.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety is in the freshman building BOSCH, and does an excellent job of making me feel safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There could be more, or more information provided about them, but I am sure the number that exists is in the triple digits and you hear mostly good things about them. I am personally impressed by the Griffin and SPB.

    Great for these types of students

    Great school for students looking for individualized attention.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sleeping out in the quad to raise money and help the homeless. Griffins after dark provides options besides partying to keep you busy on the weekend, win Wegmans gift cards!

    Bang for the buck

    It is worth looking into, but depending on your major this school may not be for you. If you are interested in accounting, this is the 4th best school in the country. If not? They still drill this useless knowledge down your throat.. what about the non-existent fashion department..

    What to do for fun

    Shopping, join clubs, go to sporting events! Sleep out in the quad, study your life away in the library living on Tim Hortons. There is a ton to do.

    Food and Dining

    If it tastes good, it is not good for you.

    Dorm Life

    They are not cinder block walls and the actually feel rather homey. Quite large especially compared to many other school's freshman housing.

    Academic Rigor

    If you are willing to work, they are willing to work with you. It is not an easy school, but it can be conquered.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go in with an open mind and take advantage of the opportunities presented to you, at Canisius or any other school.

    In three sentences

    Canisius College is difficult, but worth the work. It is very expensive, but has a very good reputation that should help in gaining careers in the future. It is a wonderful place to have the opportunity to attend and should be taken advantage of by anyone that has the chance and means.

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety is always patrolling and making sure students get where they need to go safely. They are easy to reach and super friendly if you have questions.

    Greek Life

    There are several moderate sized Greek clubs on campus. When I first arrived the welcomed me warmly and encouraged me to join but were not pushy. They want people in their groups so you don't have to be nervous about attending meetings.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs on campus for sports, movies, race, or the arts! If you have a special interest you can most definitely find a club that suits you. And its okay if you can't show up every time, they are flexible. There are always activities with tons of food and free prizes!

    Great for these types of students

    People who don't want all lecture-sized class rooms, and want to become close with people they see on campus all the time. Since animal behavioral studies are a big part of this school, so many of the students are dedicated to animal well-being!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Canisius is the only school I've seen with underground tunnels connecting most of the buildings, so when it's cold you don't have to set foot outside.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is expensive but it was easy to find a great work study job which helps a bit. If you work to your fullest potential you'll find that Canisius is worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    The club funded events, which all are welcome to keep me occupied most of the time. There is also a game room which I met a lot of cool people in.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is typical college food; some good, some bad. They also offer Subway, Tim Hortons, a cafe and a late night alternative that I could compare to Applebee's, so there's always different choices for vegetarians too, so you never really get sick of the food.

    Dorm Life

    The RA's work really hard to make sure everyone finds someone they are close to, and get to know each person in their halls with community builder activities. From what I've seen each floor has a special family-like bond, including my own.

    Academic Rigor

    For me, my work load doesn't seem to have a negative affect at all on my social life. Many times people from a class will form groups so you can all study or work on homework together. It's just about using your time wisely.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to look for extra scholarships so you don't end up in debt since the school is quite expensive. During orientation, even though its 5 days long, go to all of the events. They helped me make most of my friends and you can win some awesome prizes just for going!

    In three sentences

    This school has such a family type community. The professors really want to know their students so they work hard to keep in contact with you. The school funds a lot of amazing events such as Stress Less Day which gives students a break from studying with free massages and food.

  • 04/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They can have the entire campus locked down in 5 mins.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There's always something fun to do on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking focused patient

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    For the tuition you get a good education.

    What to do for fun

    Extra-curricular activities!

    Food and Dining

    Food is passable. Buffalo as a city has great food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are not bad. Some are better than others.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a very rigorous school. Not for the weak-minded.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention to class and don't skip. Study hard and you will succeed here.

    In three sentences

    Its a good school. They have great spirit and strong academics. It is a party school.

  • 07/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You always see public safety officers walking or driving around. Incidents are rare, but when they do occur they are quick to let you know of any incidents that offer on campus. There's a shuttle service that runs day and night. If you ever feel unsafe and you can call public safety and they'll provide help. There are blue lights all over campus. Public safety does a great job at keeping canisius safe.

    Greek Life

    Canisius has a small greek life. There is 1 fraternity, 1 sorority, and 1 co-ed business fraternity. There is no on campus greek housing, but a lot of members live together in houses off campus. While the greek life is small, there is still a presence. They do a lot of volunteer work. Greek like is a great way to make friends, gain connections, and learn leadership skills. There's a fall and spring recruitment. If greek life interest you, I recommend you attend all the events during recruitment week. Try and really get to know the members. Greek life has a lot to offer.

    Clubs and Activities

    Join at least one club. Make sure to get involved, it really does improve your college experience. There are a lot of club sports teams, clubs that relate to your major, cultural clubs. There's a club for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to make the most of their college experience. Students who want to learn and gain experience. Students who want to get involved.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a cemetery across the street from main campus. It's historic and beautiful. Many students go through the cemetery on walks and runs. There are several ponds and creeks. There's also a church. It's great to explore.

    Bang for the buck

    While Canisius sticker price is expensive, they offer a lot of scholarships and financial aid. You can also do work study. The food could be better, the dorms are great, and the teachers are always willing to help. Classes are small and the teachers know your name. You have endless opportunities to get involved on campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of sporting games going on such as baseball, hockey, basketball, soccer, lacrosse, the gym, and inter-mural teams. Buffalo also has a pro hockey, football team, and a minor league baseball team. You can take the subway downtown and shop or eat. There's tons of shops and restaurants. There's ice skating in the winter. During the warmer months you can walk by the water front. There's a beautiful park and historic cemetery by campus. Concerts are always in the area. There are plenty of free on campus events. There are a lot of clubs to join. The clubs put on tons of free events. Canisius also has several retreats throughout the year. There are a lot of volunteer opportunities. It's up to you to make the most of it.

    Food and Dining

    A good amount of places to eat. Also a few places in the city deliver to campus. Not always easy to eat healthy, but if you try you can do it.

    Dorm Life

    Rooms are bigger than most other college dorm rooms. Lots of housing options on and off campus. If you're an incoming freshman, I definitely recommend dorming in Bosch or Frisch. The freshman dorms were the best time of my life and I wish I could go back. The dorms on main campus also have tunnels so you get to avoid the snow and rain.

    Academic Rigor

    Harder than I was expecting, but if you take the time to study and do your work you'll be fine. Professors are always willing to look over papers and answer questions. There's also a tutoring center to get extra help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to all the orientation events. It's a great way to connect with people. Everyone is new and nervous, don't be afraid to talk to new people. Get involved on campus. Take advantage of all that Canisius has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Great family atmosphere. Excellent academic programs and opportunities. Plenty of ways to get involved on campus.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 41

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I love Canisius because of the professors.The professors at Canisius are so committed at helping their students and seeing them succeed. Canisius also has really great internship opportunities.

  • 08/19/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I personally would never dorm; however, the dorms appear to be clean.

    Academic Rigor

    The Honors College is a good challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to have your financial goals clearly outlined before choosing any colleges or universities.

    In three sentences

    Canisius is a relatively small, personal university. Upon first impression, I felt very comfortable in the academic environment. Although the tuition is quite steep, I trust that the education will be worth it.

  • 08/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is patrolled 24/7 not only by our public safety officers, but the Buffalo Police Department as well.

    Greek Life

    We have both a social sorority and fraternity, and numerous academic greek societies.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for EVERYONE at this school! At the student fair you'll find yourself signing up for more clubs than you could have ever dreamed of at a school.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who loved to be involved, and those who love to help others. Canisius is all about giving back, and service learning is a huge part of our program here.

    What to do for fun

    We are the closest school to the main shopping districts and downtown Buffalo. Students are also given metro cards to take the subway for free, so you always have something to do!

    Food and Dining

    Multiple dining locations, and the ability to cook for yourself!

    Dorm Life

    Some of the biggest dorms you will ever see in a college. And once you're an upperclassman, you can live in on campus apartments!

    Academic Rigor

    Student's are held to a high standard of education, and professors are always willing to put in the extra time if you need help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships; Canisius has lots of academic rewards available!

    In three sentences

    A small school of about 3,000 students, but campus is spread out throughout the city so you get a real urban feel!

  • 09/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is pretty good; you always see at least one patrol car anywhere you go. They are also very kind when you speak to them. They run many safety programs, including engraving your precious stuff and electronics for free.

    What to do for fun

    Every Friday there is a Game Night, where the Fusion Gaming Club at Canisius supplies every game that there is; card games and board games, retro video games (like those on Gamecube and Xbox-the original one), as well as plenty of new games on the PS3 and Xbox 360. Also, one of the clubs is always throwing some type of get together that is open to everyone. Canisius also has guest speakers come in from time to time, like hypnotists and comedians. On week ends, Canisius also buses people from the campus to the Galleria Mall.

    Food and Dining

    There are at least five restaurants at Canisius; Tim Horton's, Iggy's, Starbucks, Streetside Café, and the Economou Dining Hall. The Tim Horton's here is very good; service is fast and the employees are friendly. Iggy's serves all sorts of things, from burgers to chicken fingers to salads to chili and so on. Iggy's is really good for celebrating or being with friends or just to get something to eat for a snack. Since I haven't actually been to the Starbucks or the Streetside Café, I'll leave that for you to decide on, should you decide to come here. The Dining Hall is really nice; you get an all you can eat breakfast, which includes an assortment of cereals, hardboiled eggs, yogurt, fruit, cottage cheese, breakfast burritos, and so much more. Lunch generally consists of pizza, a special entrée at the Menutainment section of the dining hall, as well as other things, and always a deli bar. Dinner has pretty much what I described for lunch, except that dinner is all you can eat where lunch isn't all you can eat.

    Dorm Life

    The double dorms at Canisius are small, but all of them have a window. I am currently in Bosch Hall, on the Third floor. In Bosch, there is no air conditioning, which is my only problem with the hall. Otherwise, there is more than enough lighting, we get free Wi-Fi (there are also ports for wired connections when Wi-Fi is slow), lots of plugs, and he beds are pretty soft. The dorm is also carpeted.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a freshman a Canisius, so the work load is a bit lighter any way. The longest time it took me to do homework was about five hours; all of it was reading. However, I've talked to other people who are juniors and seniors, and they say that the work load gets a bit heavier, but not too much heavier.

    Tips for prospective students

    First of all, if you don't know what you want to be, it's ok, especially at Canisius. For the first two years, you can remain undecided, and Canisius will put you in courses that will help make the decision process easier. Secondly, if you are worried about money, Canisius gives out plenty of grants that you get for just coming here.

    In three sentences

    Canisius was the best college that I went to when I was looking; everyone was kind when I talked to them on the phone, and helped me with everything. When I actually came here, there was an Orientation Week; basically, they, the college, helped you to get to know everyone on campus, as well as help you settle into your room.

  • 10/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great considering the area that Canisius is in.

    Greek Life

    Greek life isn't very popular on this campus. We have one sorority- which doesn't have a house. It is just a group of girls that get together and talk. There is also a law fraternity. It's main purpose is to get you connections, especially with alumni, if you are interested in law.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is literally something for everyone. There is no doubt that you will find your niche.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students! The campus is so diverse and there is something for everyone!

    What to do for fun

    Canisius has an abundance of clubs and sports at all different levels (competitive, club and intramural). Some of the clubs are: Colleges against cancer, Pro Choice, Canisius College Democrats, Canisius College Republicans, Little Theatre, The Griffin (school paper), Rifle Club ($35 for unlimited shooting a semester), C-Block (school spirit club- you have to pay to join but you get loads of free things in return i.e. t-shirts, food, water bottles, etc.), Women in Business, Accounting Society, Law Fraternity (co-ed), Female Sorority, Mock Trial, Contemporary Music Ensemble... and much more! There are also a ton of random events sponsored by clubs i.e. Fall Fest, Spring Fest, C-Block Bonfire, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food is average- the dining hall is all you can eat. They also offer two restaurants owned by the school (Iggy's and 2Mato). Then they have a Subway, Tim Hortons, and Science Hall cafe that offers Starbucks drinks. The only downfall to the dining system is that you can only use meals/meal blocks at the dining hall, 2mato, and Iggy's. You are forced to use Griff Bucks at Tim's, Science Hall, and Subway. As a freshman, you are forced to get a meal plan with both Griff Bucks and Meals/Meal blocks but after your first year you get to customize your meal plan or choose not to have own at all and buy your own groceries. The dining system may not be bad if you don't mind the food from the campus kitchen... it depends on how you plan to eat. Just a heads up, Iggy's, 2mato and the dining hall all consist of the same food, the only difference is the location and the fact that Iggy's and 2mato are a la carte.

    Dorm Life

    Dugan hall is the best place to live on campus so I highly suggest you try to do so. It has heating and cooling, a kitchen and laundry room on every floor, and is connected to the tunnel system. The tunnel system connects to almost every building on campus including the dining hall and Old Main (where most classrooms are located). Bosch and Frisch are the two freshman dorm halls and are really nice also. Each of them share a floor lounge and have a laundry room in the basement of both buildings. Laundry is included in tuition so that is a great perk!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Canisius are what you make of them. They have some very dedicated and interesting professors and some that could use improvement (as well as any other college). If you pay attention and focus in class, you will be more than fine. If you want to excel, it will be pretty simple to do so by reading the textbook and studying outside of class. Overall, the homework load isn't too tough. Accounting is the most rigorous program offered by the school, but your credits transfer internationally... so it's more than worth it if you're interested.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your application in early! The earlier your application is in and you make your deposit, the more housing options you have. If you qualify for honors or are interested in service, you can live on the honors or Ignatian floors. These two floors are in the freshman hall that was built in 2008. They are modern and very spacious. Another benefit is that they are air-conditioned. Another tip is if you have taken college classes in high school, send them to the college to see if they transfer. The more core requirements you can get out of the way, the faster you can start working on the classes that really count towards your major.

    In three sentences

    Canisius College definitely makes you feel at home. Since it's a small school, you get to know people easily and you see people you know often. Also, since it's so small, it is very easy to get around and to classes with time to spare.

  • 10/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can literally see a Public Safety vehicle at least every 4 minutes if not less. In the case of an emergency, they have a direct number for you to call and they arrive within a minute.

    Clubs and Activities

    A plethora of clubs and activities are available for every student!

    What to do for fun

    You're in the city of Buffalo! Clubbing, house parties, hookah bars, coffee houses, Chocolate Bar, are all places just down the street on Elmwood Ave.

    Food and Dining

    Few places to eat and the only good spot has gotten old VERY fast. NOT worth the money they make freshman pay.

    Dorm Life

    You can feel a community between people and connecting with others is made very simple.

    Academic Rigor

    All of the courses I'm taking (Calc for Business, Philosophy, Spanish, Macroeconomics, and Mark Twain in Buffalo) have a heavy work load and difficult exams.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you visit, make sure and sit in on a class you think you'd like so you could REALLY get a feel for the school.

    In three sentences

    On a scale of 1-10, I would rate my college a 6.5. Out of class, I would like my teachers, but the courses are rigorous, and very difficult. The food is also not up to my standard AT ALL.

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is good but the restaurants in the surrounding areas are better. Restaurants aren't too far away from the campus which makes the commute easy.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms on campus are safe and friendly. The RAs help make your dorm experience one to remember.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics on campus are well known in WNY

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, definitely join as many clubs that you can. Being an active member on campus will help you meet a lot of people and great friends. If you can afford to dorm, I highly recommend it. Living on campus will help you become more involved with campus activities. Another tip is to develop relationships with your professors. You can do this by participating in class, showing up for office hours, and having questions. The professor will notice that you're a determined student. This will be useful in the future for letters of recommendations.

    In three sentences

    I love going to Canisius! It's a great school to make lifelong friends and build connections with your professors. Canisius is highly known for it's academics and programs.

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's a lot of things on campus to do. Bulletins are posted weekly showing what activities are going on

    Food and Dining

    The food is great

    Tips for prospective students

    The workload can be a lot at times so definitely buckle down and be prepared to work hard and take advantage of all the extra help and tutors around campus.

    In three sentences

    Canisius is great, small class size, amazing people and a very helpful staff. The size of the school is an advantage to me, because you'll get a lot of one on one time with professors.

  • 02/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is something they take very seriously at Canisius. If you are an incoming freshman female I would strongly suggest being escorted to your car if you commute.

    Greek Life

    not interested

    Clubs and Activities

    Orchestra is great!

    Great for these types of students

    This school is perfect if you are looking for academic rigor as well as a small school feel.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a great summer orientation

    Bang for the buck

    I play for the college orchestra which puts a little extra money towards tuition. It's a great way to help with finances and keep playing an instrument you enjoy.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs to suit anyone's interest.

    Food and Dining

    I bring my own food

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Very rigorous science school - excellent for pre-med or pre-dental.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, study study. Get in the practice in High school and it will pay off in college.

    In three sentences

    Comfortable setting and rigorous academics. Biology program is challenging but extremely rewarding. I especially enjoy being a teaching assistant.

  • 03/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, with key-card access only to all the dorms and the underground tunnels after a certain hour. Public Safety is also always driving around and offers free rides to your dorm from anywhere on campus if it is late at night or cold out, and there are also shuttles that students can use. There are emergency lights and buttons everywhere on campus for added safety and to ensure that all students are completely safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of clubs, organizations and groups to get involved with. There are clubs for sports, academics, majors, events and much more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Quad Party is always a lot of fun in the spring, because there is live music, rides and carnival-like games on the pasture next to Lyons hall. It is an all day event and a great experience.

    Bang for the buck

    Canisius is more expensive than it should be in my opinion, but worth it if you make great use of your time here.

    What to do for fun

    There are always athletic games to go to, shops/restaurants and bars in downtown Buffalo, Bandits/Sabres games, open gym time, Zumba classes, Cardio classes, movie nights and a lot more. Canisius college is in the center of Buffalo so there is always somewhere to go or something to do.

    Food and Dining

    I've only eaten at the campus dining hall a few times but the food was very good and there was a great selection. There are healthy options, vegetarian options, fast-food type options and more. Also, there is a Tim Hortons and a Subway/pizza place on campus which are all really good and convenient if you need to grab food fast.

    Dorm Life

    Even though I live at home, I have seen the dorms and apartments/houses available to students and they are really really nice. Most of them are very spacious, connected to the tunnel system, and close to most of the buildings on campus. There are always activities going on throughout the week so living on campus is probably never boring.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major, the academic rigor at Canisius is moderate and do-able. I attended a school that was much harder academically than Canisius before I transferred here but I was also a biology major, but now that I am here in psychology I do not have any trouble keeping my grades up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to apply for financial aid and scholarships as soon as possible to get the most money you can. Also, make sure to weigh the pros and cons of living on campus or at home because I am a commuter and it is not easy to do, especially during the winter.

    In three sentences

    Canisius has a great community feel and professors that are interested in their student's success. There are a lot of opportunities for jobs after college, clubs and organizations to get involved in and make new friends. Canisius was a welcoming environment for me when I transferred here and I am happy with my decision to attend this college.

  • 04/12/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    40 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Canisius Public Safety does a good job of patrolling. The area is not the best, so it's good to walk in numbers at night and always be aware of surrounding.

    Greek Life

    Minimal. There is one social business fraternity, which accepts females as well, and one sorority. They aren't very prevalent on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I played on the softball team and it was great getting to be so close to my teammates. There are also a lot of clubs on campus based on interest, major, or sports.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like smaller classrooms and getting individual attention from teachers. You will never be just a number.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Battle of the Bridge - a HUGE rivalry between Canisius and Niagara. Each year they tally up points from each sporting event between the schools and whoever wins the most, wins the Canal Cup.

    Bang for the buck

    Its pricey, but if you are staying in the New York area, it has a good reputation especially in accounting/finance.

    What to do for fun

    Buffalo is full of fun things to do! There is a ton of night-life, several sports teams, and a fun park nearby great for sports and running. Buffalo residents are big on their sports team so keep up with the Sabres and the Bills.

    Food and Dining

    The food sucks and generally causes and upset stomach.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great. As a freshman, Dugan is the newest and biggest. Upperclassmen move down the street to Village Townhouses, which are apartment style and each person gets their own room, though it is small.

    Academic Rigor

    Canisius was challenging academically, but I was able to play softball for their NCAA Division I team and earn a dual degree in management and marketing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you are comfortable living in the middle of the city. It is a great school, but the area isn't for everyone.

    In three sentences

    Canisius is a Jesuit school with small class sizes. It was great being able to know my professors personally and have one-on-one time. The athletic department was also great and very supportive of it's student-athletes.

  • 07/08/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    41 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    great financial aid

    Food and Dining

    pretty good food

    Dorm Life

    amazing dorms

    Academic Rigor

    great selection of classes

    In three sentences

    Admission process was super easy! Great financial aid for out of state students. easy and understandable process for selection of classes for freshman, AP scores accepted were a bonus!