Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Cape Fear Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those with inflexible schedules.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your work organized.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    5 stars for north campus.

    Great for these types of students

    transfer and non-traditional students benefit attending cfcc

    Bang for the buck

    buy used books from cape fear bookstore next subway on front st downtown. saved a lot of money buying both used and new textbooks. not affiliated with college.

    What to do for fun

    I live in the northern part of the county and enjoy taking my dog for walks at the new smith creek park. there is a small pond perfect for kayaking or canoeing. wonderful walking/biking trail goes all the way around the pond. plenty of benches to sit on, if you need a break. several doggy stations available with trash can and plastic baggies for the throwing away waste. ample parking. covered picnic area, restrooms and playground are in one area.

    Food and Dining

    North Campus cafeteria 3 stars. downtown 2 stars lunch has gone down spring 2012 semester. the atmosphere is why i gave 4 stars. if, you attend downtown you can eat outside in the courtyard. north campus has a nice cafeteria, or you can eat outside on any bench.

    Dorm Life

    community colleges do not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I work full time. 2 classes a semester is all i can handle. you have to allow enough time to study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Time management is key!

    In three sentences

    I have really enjoyed the variety of courses offered: evening, hybrid, or on-line courses. The staff is phenomenal, especially at the North Campus. Opportunity has knocked on the door for students that want to extend their associate in business degree through NC Wesleyan at CFCC North Campus!

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    4 1/2-Campus security as well as the local police station being nearby

    Clubs and Activities

    4 1/2

    Great for these types of students

    Used to small town life, small class, personable relationship with teachers

    Bang for the buck

    3 1/2- I chose to attend CFCC as a college transfer student and I feel I made the right choice as campus is smaller and more personable than larger campuses I tourded

    What to do for fun

    Beaches, beaches, beaches, festivals,parades, musuems,anything coastal, night life

    Food and Dining

    5-excellant on campus and local off campus eateries

    Academic Rigor

    3 1/2

    Tips for prospective students

    Research the area as this is strickly a coastal town with lots to distract you from your studies. Have in mind what you want to major in and determine if this is one of the top schools for that program as it does feature a few.

    In three sentences

    CFCC is a great community college,located in a great city, great area of the city and has a variety of majors to choose from. The website is very informative and you get quick responses if you submit questions. I have enjoyed the small classrooms, which made learning more personable.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No issues that I can recall.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs for every subject possible and if there isn't one then you can find out the proper protocol and start your own club.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that I have definitely gotten my moneys worth; if I could repeat this experience again...I would

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of organizations and clubs to join. Also if you are into the club scene then there are plenty of places to check out in the downtown Wilmington and surrounding beach areas.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of places to eat around the college and the cafeteria has very good food at a very reasonable price.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at CFCC, but there are plenty of downtown housing in walking distance to the school.

    Academic Rigor

    I give it 4 star's only because your classes are only as hard as you make them. If you are committed to progressing with you education then you should have no problem. BUT that doesn't mean that you won't have a class that will completely blow your mind. Just be open to learning and enjoy all of the different personalities that surround you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared. Have a list of questions ready when you enroll, no matter how mundane you may believe the question to be if you don't ask you'll never know. Think of questions that cover everything from financial aid, to online classes to work study...etc.

    In three sentences

    I am a current student and I enjoy CFCC very much. The teachers (for the most part) are amazing and I have found my time to move very quickly. We have a VA lounge; which is solely for Veterans and/or their dependants, with myself being a dependant. I give CFCC a 5 star rating.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security patrols, have never had an security issues myself.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone unsure of what field they want to go in but want to continue their education. Definitely a great place to explore and narrow down all the choices out there.

    Bang for the buck

    If you attend classes and put in effort, it is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    A lot of community service activities offered by the school. The campuses are in ideal locations to enjoy the best of what Wilmington has to offer, especially the downtown campus.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is manageable for kids on the go, because it is a commuter campus there is no need for actual meal halls

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, everyone is a commuter, 2 campuses in Wilmington

    Academic Rigor

    Programs are very competitve to enroll in, especially Nursing & OTA. Maintaining academic integrity is of utmost importance to be considered for these programs.

    In three sentences

    Broad range of courses, very structured curriculum, competitive atmosphere

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have seminars weekly on the importance of safety. A woman recently got attacked and her purse was stolen so CFCC opened a free self defense class for women. And they are very quick to tell the students of any domestic disturbances around the area

    Greek Life

    None that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs! They ranges very widely. And the school always has a day where you can sign up for the clubs you want.

    Great for these types of students

    They have a great art program and an awesome Nursing Program, very competitive though.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everyone loves to wear there CFCC colors and logos.

    What to do for fun

    The basketball games are fun to go to.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food isn't great but there are many restaurants within walking distance, including Subway.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at CFCC just apartments downtown.

    Academic Rigor

    The only problem I have really had is with parking. It is very hard to find a parking spot and you need to show up almost an hour to two hours for your class to park. They are trying to resolve it with new parking decks

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class! Don't register for a class and then don't show up I mean you paid for it. Show up to the campus early to find a parking spot. The biggest problem is parking. Don't study last minute for your exams.

    In three sentences

    Everything is laid back and the professors are helpful. The classes are very flexible and are easy to handle. It is a great way to save money!

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have excellent campus security.

    Clubs and Activities

    Awesome sports, clubs, and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to get an accredited and quality education for less.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The location of the college itself is awesome because it overlooks the Cape Fear river. In some classes you can get a really nice view of the river and the bridge.

    Bang for the buck

    Great value.

    What to do for fun

    The thing I love about CFCC is the fact is that is is downtown. If you have a break between classes, there is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The school's food is good and affordable but if you want to go get something to eat a little nicer than you can because you are already downtown.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms, as they are a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculum is tough but with there excellent teaching staff and if you have a good work ethic, you will do just fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say the most important thing is to make sure you go to all of your classes because it is easy to get behind. Take good notes and make sure you are putting in some time each day outside of class as well to study so you don't have to cram it all in the night before.

    In three sentences

    I rate CFCC a 10 on a scale of 1 to 10. It is a great school with excellent teachers, smaller classes than a university, and it is a lot more afordable. I really like the two new parking decks they have recently added for students to make parking a lot easier as well.

  • 03/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria foods are awful

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm at CFCC

    In three sentences

    Friendly and very well trained teachers Terrible office staff except for a few counselors that very helpful Fun environment

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are constantly security officers roaming just to ensure the safety of the students and their belongings. I feel safe at Cape Fear.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking to save money getting a two-year degree or are looking to transfer are going to like Cape Fear.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a Community College makes Cape Fear a great, low cost.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Wilmington is a great historic place to learn about history. There is an abundance of restaurants, and quite a few clubs associated with the school.

    Food and Dining

    The downtown campus of Cape Fear community is surrounded by great places to eat.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life, and I'd say that is pretty good.

    Academic Rigor

    Though they're quite rigorous with their teaching, the professors at Cape Fear Community know how to work with their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try checking out the North Campus of Cape Fear Community College. It is a very new, nice facility.

    In three sentences

    Cape Fear Community College is great to work with, provides excellent teachers, and has two great campuses. In the heart of Wilmington, Cape Fear Community College is surrounded by great places to relax and spend time.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Vocational

    Bang for the buck

    Great school

    What to do for fun

    The beach is close by

    Food and Dining

    The food is awful

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay up to date with current changes in school policy

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons

    Great for these types of students

    Motivated

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    Super low tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Riverwalk!

    Food and Dining

    At least 20 places to eat within 3 blocks!

    Dorm Life

    Very accessible.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are great, only as hard as you make them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider online classes if you have the motivation!

    In three sentences

    Great school, great teachers. Wonderful choice of classes, and right in downtown Wilmington, can't beat it!

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus stays safe, security is always around

    Bang for the buck

    if you are on a timeframe and want to be able to afford attending this school is one of the better choices.

    What to do for fun

    I'm not really sure because I don't have time

    Food and Dining

    I never eat at the cafeteria but that doesn't mean it isn't good.

    Dorm Life

    We don't have dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Sometimes the tougher teachers are the best ones because they show you skills that will be applicable to your situation in life in the future.

    In three sentences

    I rate this school very high.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Cape Fear has a cafeteria with well balanced meals daily. There are also many surrounding restaraunts.

    Dorm Life

    I gave it a 5 star, but they don't have dorms at Cape Fear. There are many apartment houses around the area.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely recommend Cape Fear to future students.

    In three sentences

    Cape Fear Community College is a very nice school. The classes are small so the teachers are able to help the students. They also have many choices to major in.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    They have SGA and PTK.

    Bang for the buck

    Great classes for a community college level.

    Food and Dining

    Good cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm since it is a community college. But, there are a lot of nice apartments around town.

    Academic Rigor

    All of the teachers that I have taken love what they teach.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you take your placement test early enough. Don't wait til last minute!

    In three sentences

    This college is a really nice place to get a degree. The classes are smaller so you learn a lot more. If you are able to, go to the North Campus.

  • 11/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Cape Fear Community College is minutes away from downtown and all the attractions it brings, not to mention it is right off the river and only a couple minutes from the beach.

    Dorm Life

    Their are no dorms at Cape fear

    Academic Rigor

    Because teachers have different teaching techniques, it can make some teachers more difficult than others, but with the right dedication and eagerness to continue your education all teachers are willing to help their students out any time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Anyone considering going to Cape Fear, is a wise choice. Ensure that you take classes you enjoy and make friends. Creating study groups is also a huge help and getting involved in all that the school does for the community and the students.

    In three sentences

    Cape Fear is a wonderful school to attend, with diverse class rooms, eager teachers, and a full access campus. It offers a wide variety of classes at all times to make it convenient for you lifestyle.

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, security guards will walk to your cars.

    Clubs and Activities

    You like sports, well Cape Fear has it. many different clubs to join.

    Great for these types of students

    great for any student

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We are located on the water, and downtown Wilmington. Many differnt activities to do.

    Bang for the buck

    reasonable

    What to do for fun

    The college is downtown Wilmington, night life, art museum's, shows, the beach.

    Food and Dining

    Many GREAT restaurants especially if you love seafood.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics is greats, the grading is fair

    Tips for prospective students

    The college offers many opportunities in different academic areas. Many groups to join and student involvement. Great college to attend. Staff is very helpful.

    In three sentences

    I have had a great experience at Cape Fear, the instructors are very helpful and the communications couldn't be better. They are fair and willing to help the student succeed.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cape Fear Community College is a pretty safe place in general. On occasion, you may see some sketchy people around campus. I highly recommend being cautious about crossing the street and sitting in the outside areas.

    Greek Life

    No greek life exists at Cape Fear Community College.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of campus clubs, but not many people become involved on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many homeless people like to hang out in the library. They tend to stare at students and distract us. If you go to the 'quiet study area' you will probably run into a few homeless people.

    Food and Dining

    The campus food is available in the cafeteria. I do not eat school food.

    Dorm Life

    Cape Fear Community College does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    You will be challenged if you choose to take challenging courses. The mixture of classes allows for you to choose how much you will be challenged. There are many chances to be challenged academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    The college experience is what you make of it. If you care about your future and reach beyond your previous standards, you will grow as a student.

    In three sentences

    Cape Fear Community College will prepare students for transferring to a four year college or university. This school offers academic clubs, caring professors for the most part, and a chance for intellectual growth. The diverse student body found at Cape Fear Community College will open your eyes and expand your horizons.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Overall, excellent.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many to choose from.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is not bad, and they have wonderful financial help.

    What to do for fun

    Because Cape Fear is located in Wilmington, NC you never run out of things to do. There are a bunch of places to eat, shop, exercise, tan, and play!

    Food and Dining

    I am not sure about this either

    Dorm Life

    I stay at home, so I am not sure.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be nice, and open to everyone. You will meet very nice people.

    In three sentences

    Cape Fear is known to have one of the best nursing programs. I am interested in attending this program and get my BSN. I am looking forward to being apart of this wonderful school.

  • 04/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the azalea fest

    Bang for the buck

    You get all your moneys worth.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do downtown and at the beaches.

    Food and Dining

    Wilmington has a great variety of dining experiences.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on what you put into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't debate it just do it.

    In three sentences

    Cape Fear Community College has been an amazing experience. The staff and professors are helpful and inspiring. If they offered my major I would stay.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Tech students, college transfer, and anything in health care

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The art building is located in a different area which i believe unusual. and the building is really run-down

    Bang for the buck

    One of the best community colleges in NC. Also, you are getting you moneys worth, and if you are in the transfer program, you have an amazing opportunities to transfer to a four-year university including UNC which is one of the top colleges in NC.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is located downtown historic Wilmington, NC so during your breaks it's also just to go take a walk by the riverside! There are a lot of festivities held at CFCC

    Food and Dining

    i feel the cafeteria could be bigger, but the food is pretty good

    Dorm Life

    There are not any dorms on this campus because it is a community college

    Tips for prospective students

    Always communicated with you instructors! also if you are not making your classes make sure you WITHDRAW!

    In three sentences

    i give CFCC 5 stars for community colleges in north carolina! Great hands on experiences, and gets you prepared for the world. I really want to continue my education here.

  • 04/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Being downtown at night not the safest place to be if you catch my drift

    Greek Life

    its all greek to me!

    Clubs and Activities

    Theres always something going on either a blood drive, a charitty event, a fundraiser, if you can think of it they've got it

    Bang for the buck

    ;p fair?

    What to do for fun

    The Beach, hello why else!

    Food and Dining

    The school is located in historic down town Wilmington so theres always good food:D:D:D:D

    Dorm Life

    You basically have to find your own living space, but the school will offer help in finding appartments

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are pretty fair graders, some i would even say are easy graders, even on harder subjects the teachers help to keep them interesting so your not bored

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to get into the nursing program, take all the pre courses before taking the entrance exam test

    In three sentences

    Cape Fear Community College (CFCC) is in three words/points affordable, you definitely get your moneys worth, flexible, able to schedule your classes almost whenever and the teachers are pretty awesome.:D

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a great community college where you can succeed, apply for Cape Fear.

    In three sentences

    Cape Fear is a very intellectual school. Cape Fear is very up to date with learning material. The teachers are very detail oriented.

  • 05/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Excellent! compared to the cost of other schools.

    What to do for fun

    Well for me a too busy to really do anything however, there are sports if your interested in doing that.

    Food and Dining

    Great!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor does depend on your major and rather you are a college transfer student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not over leverage yourself and be sure to dedicated to your academics.

    In three sentences

    I think that Cape Fear is an excellent school with wonderful and knowledgeable staff.

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    It's in a good area for dining.

    Dorm Life

    CFCC doesn't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It really just depends on the program you choose, some are very challenging, some are easier.

    In three sentences

    Everyone at CFCC has been incredibly helpful. They were able to schedule a pre-nursing exam for me in a different state to ensure that I would be able to complete it before the deadline. I really appreciate all the time they took to help me, despite a hectic travel schedule.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    ehh, you may want to watch your back, especially at night, you could be mugged

    Greek Life

    stay out of teh sun

    Clubs and Activities

    Cape fear has a lot of different clubs and activities

    Bang for the buck

    average

    What to do for fun

    The beach, why else come to wilmington

    Food and Dining

    Centered downtown there are a lot of good resturants

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging yet worth it

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard

    In three sentences

    Cape Fear is functional, and the staff is friendly and helpful. The teachers are very helpful, knowledgeable and articulate about the subjects they teach. The school is continuously expanding and growing

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafeteria, however there are plenty of places to eat on the strip of historic road it is located on.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    As this is my fourth community college I can honestly say that this school has one of the strongest group of professors that I have dealt with. However, some may allow mediocre work to pass for a high grade and that is why I rated 3 stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find your niche by taking classes in varying majors, the best way to establish what fits you best as a career is by exposing yourself to classes that you might not have considered in high school.

    In three sentences

    Cape Fear Community College has a friendly and informative atmosphere. The professors and administrators have been very helpful. I would highly recommend this community college as it has provided me with basic skills, and opened my mind to new majors.

  • 08/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security officers all over the parking lots at both Wilmington campuses, but the North campus is particularly safe because there is usually at least one sheriff there, along with plenty of security officers.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone is welcome at CFCC, no matter their age, color, origin, or look.

    What to do for fun

    I don't know, I just like to come home to my own family fun.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of restaurants near the downtown campus. There's a subway down the street from the downtown campus that has the best subs anywhere, and there are two coffee houses in the same area as well. Close to the North campus is a Burger King, a Chinese restaurant, and then a little ways from those is a brand new McDonald's.

    Academic Rigor

    I find the classes challenging without being too overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take all the recommended classes, there's a reason for them! And don't worry, you will do fine as long as you turn in your assignments on time. Make sure you give yourself plenty of time to do any required reading assignments, and, last but not least, enjoy it!

    In three sentences

    Cape Fear Community College rocks! Cape Fear has the best teachers, and smart students that are ready to learn. The faculty and staff are very helpful at Cape Fear.

  • 10/31/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    28 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Downtown Wilmington is a bustling state port full of history and entertainment. One can visit the battleship, sites movies were filmed, or head to the beach all within 15 minutes of each other.

    Food and Dining

    The campus is surrounded by beautiful downtown, the food choices are endless.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Course difficulty is broad spectrum. The same class taught by different professors could run the gamut from moderate to difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should take advantage of Cape Fears many advantages. Their facilities are fairly new, and renovated. The campus is located downtown near multiple shops and restaurants. CFCC can be a fantastic resource for students either making the transition to University or finishing their degrees at the community college level. Research your professors if you can so you know what you're getting into with each class.

    In three sentences

    Cape Fear Community College is a fantastic community college that allows students in the region the opportunity to obtain associates degrees at a very affordable cost. For a community college, Cape Fear offers a variety of classes for both degree seekers and lifelong learners. The only negative aspect of Cape Fear is that if you change your major, you have to jump through a series of hoops rather than using an online tool.

  • 11/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Wilmington can be very dangerous... just like any other college town. But the school regularly provides lectures and programs to teach safety tips and defense lessons.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities going on in Wilmington and more often than not the school will send you emails of what's going on downtown. Very convenient!

    Food and Dining

    Lots of places to choose from to eat!

    Dorm Life

    I don't ;live near campus but I hear the apartments near campus are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are great but I find that its a lot like High School where things are constantly dumbed down and repeated for those who don't pay attention.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are using financial aid or VA benefits be sure to schedule an appointment with the appropriate staff to get it taken care of as soon as possible. They get very busy very fast. And be sure to talk to an adviser before registering for classes! it helps a ton!

    In three sentences

    The teachers love what they're teaching and they truly try their hardest to help you in any way they can as long as you show interest! Campus is great and there are plenty of shops and restaurants near to study, eat, and shop. The faculty does everything they can to help you study and find ways to pay for tuition. They have all kinds of tutoring and opportunities for scholarships.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The downtown campus is nice because there are several restaurant and coffee shops within walking distance where you can go in between classes to study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to make use of all the on campus resources available such as the library, writing lab, and tutoring.

    In three sentences

    Cape Fear Community College has a very nice, open campus. The new Union Station building is very nice and even has a Port City Java coffee shop inside. All the staff have always been extremely friendly and helpful in anyway they can be.

  • 03/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lots of security personal constant visiability

    Greek Life

    unknown

    Clubs and Activities

    Many types of clubs for those interested in furthering their particular culture.

    Great for these types of students

    Sustainability

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    unknown

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent return on investment. Very comparitively low attendance cost.

    What to do for fun

    Study hard.

    Food and Dining

    The food could be better. It could offer more organic, replace styrophone containers with paper, and offer fresh creamer with the coffee.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors challenge students in every class I've had.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is work. Go into the real world and work for several years so you'll relish a better education. If you can persevere and appreciate to begin with it then choose a program and excel.

    In three sentences

    CFCC makes the student their bottom line. The school keeps clean, comfortable and bright facilities, is constantly expanding its programs and buildings, and has many programs at a very low relative cost.

  • 05/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always campus security on campus and anytime any activities are going on around the campus there are extra police. I feel very safe at this campus.

    Greek Life

    I am a member of the Phi Theta Kappa honors fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a member of the Phi Theta Kappa honors fraternity. I am involved with the veterans center a lot as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Veterans looking to go to school after the military or during service, high school graduates, non-traditional students...I really believe this is a great school for all types.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love the veterans center!

    Bang for the buck

    This campus has such a great location. It is an amazing school. Great faculty and great buildings. There is so much to do around the campus and the academics here are outstanding. Definitely would recommend this school to many.

    What to do for fun

    In between classes I often hang out in the veterans center located on campus. I love the advisors and resources in this center and also have connected with many other students through this center. You can also walk around historic downtown Wilmington in between classes to get a break from your studies and enjoy some fresh air or do a little shopping or grab a bite to eat. There are also many festivals, and concerts that take place right by the campus.

    Food and Dining

    The location of the main campus is located in the heart of down town Wilmington and has countless options for food and dining. Also the school has a cafeteria that offers good food at a very reasonable price. Any type of food or dining that you are looking for, I guarantee you will be able to find it located near the school.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus. I live out in town.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes that I have taken have been challenging but the teachers make the contents easy to understand. I feel that I have learned so much at this school and love that it challenges me. There are wonderful classes to choose from, and the professors keep me very interested and give enough work and information to make me feel challenged but not overwhelmed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the advisors, they are great at making sure you take the classes you need and getting your schedule set up so it is manageable. If you are a veteran, use the vet center. It is amazing and has so many helpful people and resources in it. Always communicate with your teachers, they are very willing to work with you as long as you keep them informed about what is going on.

    In three sentences

    CFCC is a wonderful school that offers challenging classes that prepare you to transfer successfully to a 4 year college. The professors that I have had have all been extremely knowledgeable on their subjects and are always will to go the extra step for their students when needed. Classes are offered morning, day, night, online, and at different campuses, which makes it extremely easy to work on your degree without having to put your life on hold.

  • 06/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are lots of security guards throughout campus and they are always on the watch for suspicious activity. There are also emergency telephones by the parking lots and decks.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is Spring Fling and a Fall Festival every year as well as other creative gathering throughout the school year.

    What to do for fun

    CFCC's Downtown Campus is right on the Cape Fear River and has many places for you to sit and watch the boats. There are many restaurants and shops close by as well as Ziggy's By the Sea that offers lots of concerts.

    Food and Dining

    While I have never eaten at CFCC's cafeteria, there are a wide variety of restaurants close by that offer student discounts.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers at CFCC push students to their fullest potential and have their best interests at heart. Cape Fear has one of the best medical programs in the state and requires a high level of commitment and dedication.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending CFCC don't buy your books from the CFCC bookstore. Go to the Cape Fear Bookstore also located on Front St. They have a wider selection of used books that are affordable.

    In three sentences

    Cape Fear Community College is a great start for someone looking to begin their college education. It is a growing school and campus, and is looking for the best students to excel in their programs.

  • 06/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society is awesome for its recognition and benefits to provide scholarships to students in transferring.

    What to do for fun

    Use computers for many things. Socialize with friends and go meet new people outside of class. Do many activities in the city or outside the city.

    Food and Dining

    It's alright for a community college. There are good food and locations nearby to go dine or take out. Decent cafetaria, but has a very good view of city life.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are great and challenging in most courses. The best thing about CFCC is that intructors are always friendly and make assignments interesting, important, and challenging. There are great benefits of becoming a scholar and helps students become aware of other opportunites.

    Tips for prospective students

    Incoming students should first speak and meet their advisors to have a plan of study and review the courses required to graduate or transfer for their choice of major. Always study and seek for assistance if struggling in class, as CFCC provides free tutoring and assistance. Do the best in school and always pursue your goals.

    In three sentences

    Cape Fear Community College is a place full of opportunites to experience outstanding education and achieve beneficial outcomes of academics. This college provides advisors, assistances, tutors, and many more to help students become not only proficient at college courses, but to receive successful guidance towards future goals. Additionally, CFCC is expanding and providing more classes to ensure students are pursuing the degree they desire and become successful.