Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Capital Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    In three sentences

    capital community college is an excellent for students or potential students to working towards their associates degree in their chosen career field. the school is very affordable and also works with you in regards to payments. this school also has excellent counselors who are dedicated to helping you.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    If you like greasy, cafeteria food, than I guess the food is excellent.

    Dorm Life

    What dorms? It is community college.

    Academic Rigor

    I found that my high school held higher academic standards than Capital Community College. I would say, about half the people that attend here, do not care about their grades or consistently perform poorly. Because of this, the teachers lower their expectations for the students. For example, dropping the lowest test grade is not uncommon here. People, at this school, manage to fail easy, open books tests (don't ask me how.....I am still befuddled by this). If you attend this school and you put effort into your school work, you are almost guaranteed an A.

    In three sentences

    Capital Community College is an interesting school. It is not very academically challenging. I guess there could be worse places to go to school.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The good thing about this school is that there's cameras everywhere! and also a security guard that goes all over the building. I believe is a safe place :)

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are fun! they have several of clubs and they are very interesting and fun. I did attend Early Childhood Club in my second semester :) and it was great!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    For those who are majoring in Early Childhood Education they have a lab school which is pretty interesting because you can actually observe what the children are doing and yet be able to learn.

    Bang for the buck

    What I like about the school is that is located in a great place. There's a lot of going on in Downtown, Hartford. There's fast food, museums and so many other things around and I guarantee you wont get bored!

    What to do for fun

    There's lots of things students can do to make Capital Community College fun! One of the biggest parties that student do is like a multicultural party. Where students bring food from their country, games, traditions and even dances so that others can participate and also learn different types of cultures.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay, I wish there was more variety of food and more healthy.

    Dorm Life

    There's no dorm. It is a one building and is located in Downtown, Hartford.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe the best thing about this College is that the students will be able to discover and also being able to understand the academic concepts which will demonstrate the student to be able to accomplish for what they want to become.

    Tips for prospective students

    I believe that it is best to apply as soon as possible, never wait until the last minute. It's good to go and give a visit to the college and see if you like it or not.

    In three sentences

    One of the best things about Capital Community college would be that is a secure place, is nice and very organized, comfortable, teachers and other students are very helpful. There's bus transportation for those students that can't afford a car.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    regarding to the safety-ness, i can say capital community is number one. there are cameras in every floor including in every elevator. the security people are there every day and willing to assist everyone in professional manner. i haven’t heard any problem since i join this school. the people work there is very friendly and helpful. any new student will not get a problem what to do or where to go. in short words i can say capital community is very secure and reliable.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are different clubs though i haven’t involved any of one due to personal issues. but i have a plan to join leadership club very soon. i am trying to manage my time. but one thing which i don’t want to pass with out mentioning is manage your time and join at least one of the activities you will learn a lot. you will have strong habits of mind.

    Great for these types of students

    i am so delighted to be one of the capital community students. i am on the way to make my dream come true. i got a chance and able to choose what i want to study. hopefully i will grasp knowledge and will apply on the out side of the world.

    What to do for fun

    to make a fun at school one can prepare small school party which holds different activates. it could be puzzle or any interesting games. any one can create fun just by doing very little thing. like by introducing different people culture and how they celebrate. students will have fun and same time they will learn something new.

    Food and Dining

    well, i can’t say anything regarding to food and dining. as i mention on the above question i am off campus student.

    Dorm Life

    since i am off campus student i can’t say any thing about the dorm life. but if there one, it would be very nice, the reason why i say this is ,it seems good though different students with different background, culture live together. you will learn different life style. you will be responsible and start seeing things by yourself and decide it since parents may not be near to you. i can say dorm life by itself is a course that you learn how to behave and act in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    one thing which fascinates me at capital community college is academic rigorous .the students discover and solve problems; they develop a deep understanding of the academic concepts that helps the student to have eagerness to college standards. and students develop the habits of reflecting learning experience. i can see that this school facilitates the students to get the opportunities and provides the necessary support so that the students can meet more even tough course and fits for graduation requirements.

    Tips for prospective students

    get experience early know your school know the time, timing is very critical , it is always best to apply as early as possible

    In three sentences

    it is one of the nicest community college in connecticut. and it is very affordable, secure, accessible, and easy for transportation. the school curriculum is well designed. it has well organized and helpful academic center

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This college is very safe. There is always a security guard around to make sure of your safety

    Clubs and Activities

    Vollyball

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are on a budget and enjoys a challenge

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The computer labs

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends and other activities

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious

    Dorm Life

    You commute to school

    Academic Rigor

    Very complex and difficult

    Tips for prospective students

    Study very hard

    In three sentences

    Capital Community College is a great college. Furthermore, it is very affordable school and a good place to start your college degree. Also they offer free tutoring to make sure you are succeeding in your courses.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's a really nice student lounge.

    Food and Dining

    There's plenty of places to eat downstairs and the campus is located in the heart of downtown, so there's restaurants and bars within walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms from what I've seen however the campus is very clean and up to date.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask anyone from staff for help. Everyone there's pretty knowledgeable.

    In three sentences

    So far my experiences on campus have been great. The staff and counselors have been really helpful and seem very genuine. I'm really looking forward to studying at Capital Community College!

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are no police or secierty guards who patrol the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    If education is your focus then Capital Community College is an excellent choice. Otherwise, probable not unless you love the city life.

    What to do for fun

    There is not many activities at Capital Community College. In order to have any real fun you must leave the campus.

    Food and Dining

    Capital Community College do not have a cafeteria, only a dining area scattered with vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    Capital community College has a very simple dorm life. The main focus of fun for attended students is the downtown community.

    Academic Rigor

    You wll certainly plenty at this school of higher learning, but the lack of opportunities of leadership is a minor set back.

    Tips for prospective students

    A strong tip for prospective students is utilize all for Capital's academic resources. The staff here are eagered to assist overwhelmed students.

    In three sentences

    Capital Community College strongly focus on academic materiel. This school do not offer any real extra curricular activities. It does offer a friendly and open atmosphere.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Being in the heart of downtown Hartford, there are so many places to go and eat. Great variety.

    Dorm Life

    Not a dorming school

    Tips for prospective students

    Go in with an open mind, with no preconcieved notions

    In three sentences

    Capital tends to have a reputation of being a second-rate college but I strongly disagree with that stigma. The teachers and education there is wonderful and affordable. I've enjoyed the year that I've spent there so far!

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The college is located in Downtown Hartford; there are shops, food, bars and attractions around the college.

    Food and Dining

    The college cafeteria has been closed ever since the Spring 2012 semester began.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately there is no dorm at this college.

    In three sentences

    The teachers in the school are well prepared. College location is attractive. The resources in the library are very much like a city library.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Steady flow of security around the building and a lot of police presence downtown.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa-Honor Society

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everyone...no matter what your background. There are also opportunities to intern through different programs.

    Great for these types of students

    All students and people of all nationalities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many ethnic celebrations throughout the year in the city that carry onto the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is great, but like any other school there are things that can bring you down. You have to prepare yourself and make sure you don't get caught up the wrong crowd.

    What to do for fun

    Eating, the Wadsworth Atheneum, The Science Center, site seeing, and the Hartford Public Library.

    Food and Dining

    If you are not interested in eating at the school cafeteria, there are plenty of restaurants around that will satisfy any taste bud. Most of the restaurants are at a reasonable price.

    Dorm Life

    There is no student housing available but there are a lot landlords that will give discounted rent to student.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are relevant to the class level. If it is too hard for you, there are tutors in every department to help. The class syllabus is almost as advanced as a regular 4-year, but structured to help the transition.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't know something, don't be afraid to ask. Everyone there is very helpful and will guide you the right way. Even if it is an indecision with your major, there are people there to help you choose your future career.

    In three sentences

    Capital is a great college for those who want to further their education in any way. The teachers have a great relationship with the students and they push us to do our best. There are also additional options for those interested in joining groups or clubs.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security officers and a friendly face around.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a wide selection of things to participate in, it's more a matter of looking for them in the right places. Information needs to be more accessible for these types of things.

    Great for these types of students

    Commuting, transferring, adult, or continuing education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The library quiet section with magazines and huge comfy leather chairs isn't frequented often and, you get a nice view of the city from the fifth floor while studying.

    Bang for the buck

    If you work hard you most certainly will not waste money. It's a great starting point.

    What to do for fun

    The Hartford Stage is right across from the school. Night life is pretty great with popular bars two blocks from campus. City Steam Restaurant is connected to the school by a corridor and has great happy hour specials along with delicious food.

    Food and Dining

    On campus food is your general, overpriced fare. If you go off campus there's a food court in the downtown plaza building that has several different affordable quick eats. For something better, though, there are a TON of restaurants around.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    You get what you put into it. If you show a drive to learn you will succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to have all your documents organized. They are big on independence here. None of the teachers are prepared to waste time, so don't waste theirs.

    In three sentences

    I had my doubts about this school, but it has proven to give me some of the best teachers I've ever had in a college setting. Most of the students are here for a reason and are serious about their work. Don't let the nontraditional look fool you, what awaits inside is a whole new world.

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's different clubs to join, also there the riverfront close by the college so you can always go there after class with some college friends to eat lunch or just relax.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay, but overprice. The college is located downtown hartford with so many dining restaurants, fast food restaurants, food courts all over. Its better to get something to eat outside the college.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the professors are easy going and take the time to help you understand what they are teaching. They honestly care about the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't spend alot of time on the 7th floor you will be fine there. I've seen so many students waste their time on the 7th floor, which is pretty much the cafeteria floor and student activities floor just lallygagging with their friends and making new friends and not going to class.

    In three sentences

    Capital Community College has a very good nursing program, extremely hard to get into. The professors are really friendly and understanding. It has more of a high school atmosphere than college.

  • 05/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's pretty sketchy

    What to do for fun

    Nothing

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria style

    Academic Rigor

    It's easy mostly, they don't seem to care.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come for two years, and get an associates. It's not worth graduating from. Many of the teachers are morons.

    In three sentences

    This school is a stepping stone. People shouldn't finish learning here. It is an awful school.