Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Capital University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/08/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone with a great attitude that likes to meet cool people and is really passionate about what they do. See you guys soon hopefully. :)

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are eligible for the honors dorm make sure that you send your housing application in really soon. There is limited space and it is on a first come first serve basis.

    Bang for the buck

    Although it may look extremely expensive at first, just remember that Capital gives scholarships to 100% of their incoming students. It really helps a lot. It still costs a bunch though.........

    Am enjoying being here

    From day one Capital wants you to fit in. They take you around in groups and make you play stupid games and other things that bring you closer together with your classmates. You end up just talking to random people about how stupid and juvenile the games are, and before you know it, you made a friend. Another amazing feature of this campus is the honors dorm. In my part of the honors dorm there are always people around that happen to be some of the nicest and coolest people I know. We really feel like a family in our dorm.

    Am learning a lot

    Ever since coming here I have been taught a huge amount. Not just from the faculty, but from the students as well. This college isn't just about learning from the teachers. You learn from your peers and they learn from you. It is an amazing thing to be a part of. All this isn't saying that you don't learn from your classes though. The teachers seem to really care about you and what you do. It's a great feeling when you know that you are getting better at what you came to college to get better at.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The nursing program is very strong, as is the conservatory program. Capital is great for students who like a personal learning environment and are very studious.

    Tips for prospective students

    Submit your housing application early. Make sure to have some extra spending money for weekend meals because the dining hours can be kind of inconvenient. Take advantage of the opportunities during orientation to attend club meetings and meet other students.

    Bang for the buck

    CU is very, very expensive, however they give out a great deal of scholarships. My tuition is almost totally covered by scholarships and loans. I think the experience is worth the high cost to learn here.

    Am enjoying being here

    The small campus makes it easy to get back and forth to class. There are a lot of great resteraunts around Bexley, and a Kroger and CVS fairly close to the campus. Most all the students are really great. There are a number of student organizations available to join, like sororities/fraternities, PRIDE, CUSNA, and so on. The food is alright, especially Mongo Bongo, but the lack of choice can make it seem boring after a while. Overall it's a really great place to go to school.

    Am learning a lot

    Capital University is a very challenging school. The professors are very nice and usually will go out of their way to help you. The small class sizes mean that you get a lot more personal attention from your professors. They require several university core classes, which force you to expand your learning out of your comfort zone.

  • 06/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    Capital University is amazing for their intimate atmosphere. Classes rarely exceed twenty people, and the professors actually know students by name. It's a great feeling to know your face isn't one of many just blending in with the masses. The smaller student population allows professors more time to help each individual student which ensures a successful academic career.

  • 01/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Martin Luther King Day, we have programs that everyone can attend

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive, but if you do your work and get things done, it will surely be worth it in the future.

    What to do for fun

    There is the capital center where you can workout as well as play basketball. We also have intramural teams as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. We have a lot of choices to choose from. The cafeteria tries to go by the food pyramid/diagram, and they do a good job of it.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty descent. The RA's are cool. The custodians keep it clean as well. They are also co-ed.

    Academic Rigor

    Has many majors and minors, as well as the opportunity to study abroad.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, and get your FAFSA done. If/when you get accepted stay on top of everything. The teachers will help as well as the CELT center.

    In three sentences

    Capital is very religious. Capital has many opportunites. Capital is very welcoming.

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    great for students who want a small atmosphere rather than a huge campus.

    What to do for fun

    there are many organizations that host different activities. there is the rec center where you can play pool, ping pong and video games. on tuesdays you can take part in cru and worship. also, every wednesday there is an activity you can do. also, there are days where the students can watch a movie at the drexel for free.

    Food and Dining

    the food is alright at times. however, i sometimes wish that there was more options and variety to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are pretty good. however, i do wish they could be a little bigger!

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are challenging but nothing that is too hard to handle. stay focused and you will succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    try your hardest to achieve good grades in high school because it will matter when trying to get a scholarship from capital. also, if you enjoy the small atmosphere and the opportunity to interact with your teachers, then capital is the place for you!

    In three sentences

    capital university is a great school! the small size makes it perfect for learning. also, everyone is friendly and easy to talk to.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is really good here at Capital. We have Public Safety officers on call 24/7. And during the night they do patrol the campus to make sure everything is safe.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is awesome! I recently entered a fraternity and it was really one of the best things I could have done during my time here at college. I now have others who are more than friends but my brothers. I've always wanted an older brother now I have plenty!

    Clubs and Activities

    Student government, Fraternities, Sororities, PRIDE, Sisterhood Network, Ebony Brotherhood Association, Mathematics Club, and many more

    Great for these types of students

    Capital is good for all types of students. This University literally has something for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Capital University is right in a nice surburb community names bexley. We have a seal in front of our library that isn't suppose to be stepped on as a tradition. Along with a statue of a woman you're not suppose to look in the eyes. If you want to find out why come and visit our campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Capital University is a private institution so the price of tuition is higher than public universities. However, Capital has plenty of scholarships that help you out when you're in a tight spot.

    What to do for fun

    We have sports, organizational clubs, and fraternities and sororities. On Wednesdays there is always something happening on campus. And if you're fortunate enough to have a car there are other places you could travel to like the malls.

    Food and Dining

    Capital has a pretty good food for students. And when the main dining hall closes there are other places that open for a little while later. And also if you not feeling campus food on a particular day they're many restaurants close by you could walk to.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty good here. You have a RA on every hall that serves as a guide to help students with any concerns they may have. There are rules however, none that will make you feel like your totally restricted,

    Academic Rigor

    Capital definitely have good programs when it comes to their academics. While they take the academics seriously they expect students to do the same.

    Tips for prospective students

    For students who are interested in applying to Capital University do it! Prospective students need to and stay determined. And know how to use your time well; remember studies first play time later!

    In three sentences

    Capital University is a great place to pursue an undergraduate degree. The location of the university is ideal for those who are focused on pursuing a higher learning. And the faculty and staff of Capital University are the best and want you to succeed.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. There is little crime and vandalism. The campus has cameras and 911 buttons on most the buildings.

    Greek Life

    Captial's greek life is growing. So if you want to join a group, I'm sure you will love it here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities at Capital. They have sports, intermutals, greek life, organizations on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    If your a student who loves to meet new people and likes to socialize than Capital is a fit for you. Also if you like music Capital is known for that.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We don't walk through the entrance of the gate on campus, only when your a freshman you walk through it on your first day. Then you walk through it on your graduation day. Otherwise you will never see a student walk through the entrance of the gate.

    Bang for the buck

    At Capital University you will learn many things and grow to be a better person. Capital is worth your money.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, student have activities and events almost every weekend. We have foam parties, camp outs and etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is good. There are different places to eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms aren't bad. I live in Saylor-Ackerman and I love it. Some dorms have air condition and some don't.

    Academic Rigor

    This class are a good size where you still get attention from the professor if you need their help. The staff prepares you for your career.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your a student who likes meeting new people and getting involved than Capital might be the school for you. Capital's staff will lead a hand and help you get the most out of your experience in college.

    In three sentences

    I love Capital University! Its small enough to make friends but at the same time, big enough to meet new people everyday. The professors are great and willing to help the students.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lookout for your own well-being and you should be fine. It's pretty safe during the day, but several incidences have occurred at night, mostly cars being broken into.

    Greek Life

    There are no houses, but the Greek organizations are very active on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    People seem pretty happy with their activities. I was in drumline for a season and really enjoyed it.

    Great for these types of students

    Professionally oriented, driven,

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's several little campus superstitions, like you don't walk out the memorial gate before you graduate or you'll never graduate. People like to hang out by the fountains

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive. No way around that. I wish I'd applied for more scholarships. If you're not going into music or maybe nursing, you can probably find as good a program for less money.

    What to do for fun

    What do ya like? There's a fencing club, a walking/jogging club, tons of music, social and professional frats/sororities, sports, theater, billiards, Christian organizations, other social activists, etc. and starting a club is really simple. University Programming arranges several fun events.

    Food and Dining

    Food generally tastes pretty good, but some of it will do interesting things to your digestion (bluntly: you'll poop a lot). Once you figure it out you'll be fine. There are four places to use your meal plan on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Generally a lot of fun. Sometimes it gets a bit noisy but RAs are usually good about keeping things in check. Heating and cooling is all over the place (you'll need shorts and warm blankets all year). Look into housing options early.

    Academic Rigor

    There are several excellent professors. Most of the courses aren't overly difficult, assuming you pay attention in class and read your assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to upperclassmen. Capital basically forces you to interact because the only way to have a real sense of what's happening on campus is to talk to other students. Get involved with people and activities outside your major. Know that if large group mingle sessions are overwhelming for you, you don't actually have to attend. Just say hi to someone who's sitting alone in the cafeteria or by the fountains. Join organizations and meet people that way. Join the Honors program if you're eligible so you get earlier course registration.

    In three sentences

    Capital has a great sense of community between students and professors, especially within the Conservatory of Music. There's a fair amount of flexibility for a person who takes responsibility for him-/herself. The bookstore is a ripoff.

  • 06/10/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 9 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Capital is a great place, not only for music and nursing students, but also for those who want to learn in general. The professors are great at what they do, and if you're willing to learn, you will take away A LOT from your college experience.

    What to do for fun

    Columbus is just a few minutes away, so there are plenty of opportunities to see music and athletic events, go shopping or go out to eat.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you understand how much tuition and fees will cost: perhaps, if you have the option, attend a local community college for your first year if the credits will transfer.

    In three sentences

    Capital University is a quality institution known especially for its Music and Nursing programs at the undergraduate level, and for its law program at the graduate level. It is wonderful if you're looking for a small school and a safe environment.

  • 09/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 10 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You are minutes away from Easton Town Center, Polaris and downtown Columbus. Bexley is a nice little town with a lot of boutique shops as well as great dining and a movie theater. If you need a change from the small town you are only a short drive or bus ride away from the campus of The Ohio State University, so there is always something to do. Its really the best of both worlds; small town and big city.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall has a great selection of food in buffet style. They have fresh made pizza every day, a home cooked meal area as well as a grill and a great salad bar. When it is nice outside they make sure to set up food outside with games and activities so that you can interact with the other students.

    Dorm Life

    At Capital, unless special arrangements are made you are required to live in the dorms your first two years; however you are allowed to have your car here as a freshman and sophomore. I had a great experience in the dorms. The pick the residents assistants so that you can feel comfortable talking to them and handling situations with them to make everyone's life a little easier.

    Academic Rigor

    Your major determines the difficulty of your courses and academic work, but Capital focuses on pushing you to your limits and making sure that when you leave you are the best possible candidate for the job, whatever that job may be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into it more than just a brochure or course list. I was not so excited about it until I came down for my visit and got to see the campus and interact with the people. The town of Bexely has so much going on, that it was a fit as soon as I set foot on campus.

    In three sentences

    I think that Capital is a great school. They are very friendly and make sure that scheduling class, paying tuition and acquiring your degree is as easy as it possibly can be. I have met some of my best friends for life her because there is so much going on and so much to be involved in, that you have to try to not have a good time.

  • 12/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, musicians, Greek-life, people that come from a small town, out of state, from the big city, successful people, world-changers, and people that like spending time with people.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's pretty casual here. If you want to wear sweats everyday you can! In regards to weekend activities there are a lot to choose from. Of course, there are house parties and there is the night scene in downtown Columbus if you choose. There are also a lot of other towns to visit and explore, including OSU. Head to a Blue Jackets hockey game or the Columbus Zoo. There are also numerous concerts to attend, whether local bands or big names. Go climbing outside in one of the many parks around Columbus. If you'd rather stay on campus, there are also many options. Attend a Capital sporting event, Conservatory concert (they're really good!), go to Improv or game night, or start a pick up tennis game. There are seriously a lot of options.

    Bang for the buck

    Capital is a private school, which makes it more expensive. They offer a lot of scholarship opportunities, but that doesn't change that most of the buildings have been around since the mid 1800s. They're old. Not all of the dorms are air conditioned. Despite a few flaws, they are all technologically up to date and we have free WiFi.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the small school atmosphere within the big city of Columbus. The genuine interest that professors have for their students is refreshing. Class size is equivalent to most high schools, with about 20 students in a class.

    Am learning a lot

    As a nursing student, I am learning so much information about the workings of the human body and other microscopic details. Not only am I learning academically, but also how to work with a group, manage time and money, to form lasting relationships, and how to work through obstacles.

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who love small schools, where everyone can know your name.

    Tips for prospective students

    Having a really good ACT score will allow you to get into the honors dorm. And if being in honors is something you might be interested in, apply early.

    Bang for the buck

    It's no lie, Capital is an expensive school. Especially for things like the meal plan that seem so extra. But at the end of the day, I think it's worth it. The sense of community from living in the dorms, running and getting a whole pizza from the Mezz, the great professors.. Yeah. It's all worth the money.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am a part of the Honor's dorm, which means we basically have a big living room right outside my dorm room. It's an excellent way to build community.

    Am learning a lot

    Of course not every teacher is fantastic, but there definitely are some that stand out. And the best part is that the small class size means that generally, your teachers can recognize you. They care about how well you are doing in their class, and will always be willing to reach out and help a student who is struggling.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Capital and Bexley police keep both campus and the neighboring streets very safe.

    Food and Dining

    This can be hit-or-miss. Parkhurst, the dining company, can cook really well (they host a couple banquet-like meals during the course of the year that shouldn't be missed) but not always is it consistant.

    Dorm Life

    Rooms are about the same size as other colleges. However, the people within those dorms are what make the experience. They become a support system.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes connected with your major are intense but accurate for preparing you for your field. The additional university core classes add to the experience by expanding horizons.

    In three sentences

    I attended Capital University for my undergraduate degree. All-in-all, I enjoyed the experience and received a very good education.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 14 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Likely the safest campus in Columbus.

    What to do for fun

    There are several extracurriculars, intramural sports (including the popular Ultimate Frisbee teams), clubs, and organizations on campus, as well as Greek life-- there's almost always some group hosting some event on campus everyday and weekend. The University also hosts events throughout the week, many of which take place at the fountains, a nice little set-up of benches ans such around several small, lighted fountains, the more or less center of campus and student hangout. There is also a rec hall in the campus center where I think they have pool, bowling, and video game set-ups, plus a very expensive-looking gym facility with an indoor track, basketball courts, and exercise equipment, as well as yoga and dance groups. The campus is also home to an impressive art gallery inside the library, which is open nearly all day, Monday through Friday.

    Food and Dining

    Most students living on campus have some kind of meal plan with the school's dining services, as is required of freshman and sophomores. The main dining hall is fairly decent as far as selection and quality of food, but it has an awful smell of frying and grease and exhaust fans that clings to your clothes all day. They say that they accommodate vegetarians/vegans, but I guess by that they mean they have a salad bar, which is one of the few things available at other than prime dining times, so if your schedule doesn't allow for breakfast between 7 and 10, lunch between 11 and 1, or dinner between 5 and 6, you will be probably be pretty hungry. Also, the meal plans, cafe, and cru club (which has an even more overwhelming cooking smell) are really expensive, even for the amount of food they offer. You will never use all of your meal swipes on a 225- or 175-meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    So far I have only resided in the two worst buildings (Lohman and Saylor-Ackerman halls), but having visited the others, I can assure you that upperclassmen live in quality conditions with plenty of comfort. The freshman dorms, however, are to be avoided at all cost; if you can live in the honors dorm your first year, do so.

    Academic Rigor

    Though I have no other school to which I can compare, Capital seems for the most part an entirely average college. Don't be fooled by their attempts to convince you that they have the best this or that; they probably don't. The Conservatory I know is excellent, but other than that, you would likely get the same classroom experience at almost any other four-year school. Some classes are quite challenging, but on the whole, Capital is totally average.

    Tips for prospective students

    Like everyone has already said: don't wonrry about deciding your major straight away; there's time for that, for exploring, deciding, and taking core classes that will expose you to most every available path of study. Core classes may seem boringly unimportant and far beneath your level, but sticking them out and applying yourself to these seemingly worthless classes will be worth it in the end, even if it turns out they actually were a waste of your time--at least you won't look back and think, oh, I wish I hadn't dented my GPA by ignoring that mind-meltingly elementary intro class...

    In three sentences

    Capital is an adorably small and compact place, in a safe, quality neighborhood; it's almost impossible to get lost. It has an averagely diverse set of academic avenues and a slightly less than averagely diverse student body, though a welcoming and accepting one, especially of LGBT students, and of students of different religious backgrounds (it isn't an extremely religious school, but neither is it Lutheran only in name). Capital has an excellent Conservatory, School of Nursing, and some truly amazing professors in all departments.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 15 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe area and fairly strong public safety presence.

    Greek Life

    There are many Greek organizations to choose from on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs in which one can participate. If the club you are looking for does not exist, you can create it!

    Great for these types of students

    Musicians, Athletes

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a piece of the Berlin Wall

    Food and Dining

    Parkhurst strives to provide good food. It is pretty good food for a campus. There is plenty of fresh stuff and healthy options. My plight is that they should have more vegetarian/vegan options.

    Dorm Life

    The quality of the dorms is average, but the locations are great and convenient. Living in the dorms is an important aspect of college life and I believe it enriched my college experience more that if I were to commute.

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors are more demanding than others. But overall, the classes are challenging and allow you to learn and grow.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go in as undecided first and meet all the professors and become familiar with the strengths and weaknesses of each discipline before deciding a major

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 16 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have Public Safety and they patrol the campus very frequently. They are right across the street from campus.

    Greek Life

    There are a lot of Greek activities and organizations to choose from both fraternity and sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and organizations. Just to name a few we have S.O.L.A (Students of Latino descent) SAAAC (Student for the Advancement of African American Culture) PRIDE, and MAO (Multicultural Affairs Organization). Each organization holds many programs throughout the year. There is always something going on every week.

    Great for these types of students

    Capital University is great for ALL students. We do have a great deal of diversity here especially of students from foreign countries.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    By the library we have our Capital University symbol on the ground. It is said that if you step on it, then you'll receive bad luck. It is also said if you kiss it, you'll receive an A on your test. Also, we have a statue in from of our building called Batelle. It is said if you rub the statue's head then you'll have good luck.

    What to do for fun

    We have a rec center in our Campus Center and a gym where you can get your exercise in. Off campus there are plenty of interesting restaurants. And of course there is the infamous Easton Mall you can go to to hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    We have three different locations on campus where students can eat and all three are in the Campus Center. We have the Cru Club. They serve not so healthy food, but it is so good. The MDR (Main Dining Room) where you have a variety of stations to get food from, a salad/fruit bar, dessert section, drinks, and more importantly ice cream! Finally, we have the Mezz. The Mezz is only open during certain hours, but they have a variety of choices on their menu as well.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are okay. Schaff and Cotterman have the nicer looking dorms. Schaff is the newest dorm building built with air conditioning. Cotterman has smaller than normal dorms, but they're cozy. Lohman is the freshman dorm and the rooms are pretty spacious. And finally, Saylor-Ackerman is a very nice place. The rooms are spacious (if you pick the right ones), we have Cru Brew which serves your coffee needs, snacks, food, and drinks. We have a lounge area that's used as a study area, place to kill time, hang out with friends, or just watch tv.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics here are taken very seriously. The courses are challenging, but as long as you study hard and do the work, it will pay off. We do have free tutoring for those in need of help during the school week.

    Tips for prospective students

    Capital University is a very accredited school. We have great courses, a variety of activities, sports, many organizations/clubs, small classroom sizes, great food, cool dorms and apartments, teachers who care, and overall a warm atmosphere.

    In three sentences

    Capital University is a school that upholds its standard of putting academics first. We have small classrooms which makes it easier for students to connect with their teachers and easily receive help. Other than that, there are a lot of fun activities that go on around here that you don't want to miss.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 17 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You are in good hands.

    Greek Life

    Not allowed to have a sorority house nor a fraternity house, but they are still great.

    Clubs and Activities

    You'll find a club here for you.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want the liberal education while also wanting the hand ons experience and caring embrace.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    By the library there is a stone which if you step on you will have bad luck. Also, once you enter the gates, you cannot exit through those or legend says, you will not graduate here.

    Bang for the buck

    The education is great, it's just too expensive but then again, what isn't?

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs! Make friends! Study! Parties aren't to big here as public safety tends to shut them down.

    Food and Dining

    Dining isn't bad, it just gets boring, They don't really try different types of food and they will always have the same food stations such as burgers, fries, pizza, pasta, and mongo bongo.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life here sucks! Thumbs down :( For freshman if you aren't entering the honors dorm, you will not have AC! The space in the rooms aren't too bad though, the rooms are just outdated. As upperclassmen, you will get the chance to live in an AC room but it is smaller than the freshman dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Even though it is not an ivy league school, you learn as much as you would learn there. Small classes really help while the professors are amazing at giving extra attention. It isn't a vigorous load because you have helping minds around you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't try too hard to fit in and know that you will find your place here. Some students here aren't the sweetest, but they are better than other schools and regardless everyone has amazing manners where they will hold the door open for you.

    In three sentences

    At Capital University you have very dedicated, helpful, and caring professors. They are more than the people who give you homework, but mentors who teach you lifelong lessons. Capital University is more than a school, it's more of an extended family.

  • 05/11/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 18 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Capital is great for any type of student!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early! Everyone who applies is eligible for financial aid but those who apply earliest get the most money.

    Bang for the buck

    It may be expensive but at a private college you get more one on one time with your professors and it's easier to learn than in a large class; you get all of the personal attention you need to learn.

    Will enjoy being here

    Capital is my dream college! I am counting down the days until I can live on campus & get started.

    Will learn a lot

    I can't exactly give a completely accurate rating as I haven't started classes yet but just from my visit I could tell that the professors were great and it was evident that the students were in good hands.

  • 06/30/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 19 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, visit the school more than once to make sure it is a great fit for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Capital is very expensive, but I believe that it will be worth every penny.

    Will enjoy being here

    This is an excellent school that I am so excited about attending.

    Will learn a lot

    I think so, I have visted the school several times, and each time I find out more that they offer to their students.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 20 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is fun and almost everyone is involved in Greek life. It allows you to make friends with so many people and is great fun!

    Tips for prospective students

    Teachers are nice, understanding and most the time will work with you.

    In three sentences

    Academically its a good school for its size but I don't think it's worth as much as it costs. There's not much to do around the campus but the teachers are really nice and understanding.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 21 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I LOVE MY SORORITY! ASA! for life! You will meet some of the most amazing people in our greek life community. I highly recommend it.

    What to do for fun

    Go to downtown Columbus, or different places in bexley

    Food and Dining

    they definitely have things that are popular, but sometimes it gets boring.

    Dorm Life

    I LOVED living in a dorm my freshman hear, i met some friends i'll have for a lifetime

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging courses, but there are always opportunities to get help if you're having trouble.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you become friends with people before hand, it helps when you eventually get to campus! Don't be nervous to the point where you want to go home your first few weeks, everyone is feeling the same way you are, so do things to keep yourself busy!

    In three sentences

    Nice size. Helpful professors. Great people!

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 22 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always on patrol along with Bexley police. Crimes rarely happen on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Capital is an expensive school, mainly because it is a private school. Yet it is worth it due to the fact of high job placement after graduation.

    What to do for fun

    Every Wednesday night most students attend a club called Cantina in downtown Columbus.

    Food and Dining

    The Main Dining Room is Open from 6am to 6pm weekdays. The campus is surrounded by alot of awesome places to eat being its close to downtown Columbus.

    Dorm Life

    The Residential Adviser's here are pretty nice. Though it can get a little rowdy on the weekends its typically quite.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major the coarse load can be very rigorous. There is a academic success office to help you be successful in the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be isolated everyone around you is there to help.

    In three sentences

    The small campus allows for , a home like environment. The students and teacher here are very close and friendly.

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 23 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    sends out a safty email and text when something dangerous happens near by within minutes

    Greek Life

    great opportunities if u want to be in greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    clubs and activities for pretty much everything

    Great for these types of students

    like smaller classes and smaller communitys.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    my group of friends has terrible movie tuesdays whee we watch bad movies every tuesday night

    Bang for the buck

    love that everything is close and i walking distance. great community!!

    What to do for fun

    pool tables ping pong tables fooseball flat screen TV's workout areas all over campus

    Food and Dining

    it is a hit or miss

    Dorm Life

    LOVE my roommate and my RA connects well with our hall and is well knowledgeable

    Academic Rigor

    great classes and amazing teachers. laid back atmosphere

    Tips for prospective students

    capital can be a little pricey so if that is an issue fill out a lot of scholarships! also, study for tests from day one. dont assume you will do well

    In three sentences

    i absolutely love capital and i would rate it a 9 on a 1-10 scale. reasonable food, awesome teachers, amazing meal plan, and huge dorm rooms. capital does a great job of connecting with their students

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 24 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police and a station just a few blocks down from the main campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus has a few myths. One is the statue of St. Antony. It is said if you rub his head, you will pass your next exam.

    Food and Dining

    There are so many options available here! I ate at the Mongolian grill where I chose what all I wanted grilled and they made it in to a sateed dish over rice.

    Dorm Life

    I was unable to tour the inside of a dorm room but I was in their main lobby floors. Each dorm has a space for students to relax or study and somehave very own cafes for snacks and drinks!

    Academic Rigor

    My audition to apply for the music department includes all major and minor scales, a class A solo and an etude. The program seemed to be very accredited and with James Swearingen as the music ed prof, there is so much potential for a student to studies here.

    In three sentences

    Capital had a beautiful campus with an amazing orchestra hall called Mees Hall.

  • 05/12/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 25 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Amazing school to attend, only problem is the cost. It is extremely expensive even with the amount of scholarships Capital gives out.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel fairly safe on campus, just do not wander too far!

    Greek Life

    I do not participate in Greek life for a variety of reasons. However the people who do enjoy it.

    Clubs and Activities

    They are alright, I know lots of people who enjoy them.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a close, small community college life. You will definitely get to know people on campus, it is hard not to due to its small size.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't step on the seal in front of the library! It's bad luck!

    Bang for the buck

    Some students get almost a full ride, others pay almost 25 grand each year. It depends on the student, however I feel that it is worthwhile or else I would have transferred.

    What to do for fun

    Not too much to do on campus, but Columbus is full of fun things to do.

    Food and Dining

    It is college dining. Not as good as home cooking obviously. However, it has improved each year.

    Dorm Life

    I enjoying living in the dorm I am in currently. However there are some improvements that could be made for the other buildings.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at Capital differ in difficulty based on their department I feel like. Some departments such as the sciences are more time consuming and difficult while others are not as demanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get out and be involved during the first few weeks! This is where you'll meet a lot of people very quickly. Make sure you are aware of what classes you need to be taking for your major. It is best to stay on track!

    In three sentences

    Capital is a great community comprised of professors, faculty, and students who all care about the education process. The professors are easily available to you and want you to learn and be successful! The relationships and friendships I have formed have also been superb.

  • 12/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a strong sense of community with their school, lots of face time and close relationships with professors, and not a whole lot of walking.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't step on the seal outside the library, or you'll fail your next exam! Luckily, a quick rub of the head on our dear St. Anthony will mitigate this effect. Also avoid walking out the Capital gate facing Main St., or you won't graduate on time (they actually had to build paths going around it a couple years ago because of this superstition).

    What to do for fun

    Unfortunately, Capital is stuck in the middle of a very small town, so aside from the Drexel theater (home to independent movies and The Room), there isn't a whole lot to do around campus on the weekends or nights. Fortunately enough, downtown Columbus is a short bus ride away, and the city does offer things to do. Some favorite pastimes include walking around the Short North, bar-hopping, spending time on OSU campus, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The dining situation is iffy, but steadily improving. Right now there is a distinct lack of options for vegetarian students (dramatically so for our vegan friends!) and not a whole lot of variability on the whole. We only have one main dining room (lovingly referred to as the MDR), with the other two dining locations only available for meal swipes after the MDR closes. Also, they're not open 24 hours, so if you're looking to get food after 11pm it's gonna have to be off campus. However, I will tell you that the food that is offered is generally very good (especially the Cru Club menu!).

    Dorm Life

    The older (read: first-year) dorms are riddled with problems, from heating and cooling to accessibility to plain old layout, but this improves dramatically when you get to some of the newer dorms. They are typical residence halls with typical residents, so expect the normal level of obnoxious music and late-night door slamming, but overall they are pretty average. My favorite thing about Cap housing is the options; there are dorms, suite-style rooms (where I currently live), townhouses, apartments, and houses, and people rarely live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Capital is as hard as you want to make it. That may sound silly, but certain programs are very demanding, while others are definitely not. Science (especially pre-med) majors will find a challenging curriculum for the most part, as will some of the music majors (depending on your program).

    Tips for prospective students

    Capital is, again, a small school, which comes with the typical hangups (not a whole lot of options in academics or campus life, everyone knows everyone phenomenon, etc.). However, it also comes with the good things too: really strong sense of community, approachable faculty, and tons of opportunities for enhancing your academics. Your job is to decide if that is right for you or not.

    In three sentences

    Capital is very very small, so if you are looking for an incredibly exciting and fast-paced curriculum, start your search elsewhere. If you're looking for a college where professors will move a class to the lawn outside last-minute, you can roll out of bed at 7:48 and still make your 8am class, and your professors will email you to check up on you if you're having an off semester, Capital may be right for you.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is good, when I was on campus I felt very safe, and while on tour of the campus I was told if you ever feel unsafe that you can call the campus police and they will come to you and walk you to class or to your dorm room.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual tradition that Capital has is the Gate tradition. Your fist day at capital as a student, you and your class walk in the front gate together, and the day you graduate you all walk out together. It's been told that if you walk out of the gate before your graduation day, that you won't graduate from Capital.

    What to do for fun

    There is many things to do for fun, I was told that all student school activities are free for students to get into. This gives all students no reason to not have anything to do, and gets more students involved. Also the school is located on a main street where there is many shops just across the street for all of the people that love to shop.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. The variety of food available is wonderful. The way of payment for the food is great too, you don't have to have cash with you, you swipe your card for one meal.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm of my friend's that I saw while on campus was nice, it had room for her and her roommates. I liked that the dorms were seperated by hallways

    Academic Rigor

    From what I saw while on the tour at Capital, the classes are really good. I really liked the education major, because they have it set up that your senior year after student teaching for ten weeks at a school of your choose in the US, you can go and student teach abroad for six weeks.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you visit, and if you are athletic, make sure you visit the indoor track, basket ball courts, weight room and many more ways of working out.

    In three sentences

    Capital is the college of my dreams, I knew this the first time I stepped on the campus. EVERYTHING about Capital is great. The people, the buildings, the location, are all great.

  • 01/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of great places to go. East Main Street is right next to campus and there are lots of little shops, a move theater, bakeries, and really great restaurants in walking distance. Easton Shopping Center is only about fifteen minutes away and there is a lot of great stuff to do there as well. Since Capital is in downtown Columbus, there are plenty of places to go and have a great time, whether it's concerts, art galleries, or just going to see a movie!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely try to live in Honors Housing for freshman year. The regular freshman housing is Lohman Complex. I've never lived in there myself, but I have been in there a few times, and the quality of the residence hall is not that great. Saylor Ackermann or Cotterman are definitely the way to go! However, Saylor does not have air conditioning, so I would invest in some fans!

    In three sentences

    It's a really wonderful school with lots of people to share what your passionate about with! The professors are genuinely invested in you and the classes. There is just a a great atmosphere to the campus that encourages you to move forward with your dreams.

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very helpful with rides and reports

    Clubs and Activities

    longstreet, sugar bar

    Great for these types of students

    hands on

    Bang for the buck

    capital has a great atmosphere

    What to do for fun

    bowling, workout center is great, houses throw parties on campus and shuttle busses take you to the clubs for free

    Food and Dining

    a great variety of food is available most of the time

    Dorm Life

    depending on where you live, it can be hot.

    Academic Rigor

    Very helpful and professors are very open and willing to help

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on visits and when you do make sure you check out the dorms. Try to find someone you are compatible with during a visit to room with.

    In three sentences

    I love Capital university! The campus is small and easy to navigate around. The people are very helpful and there is a ton a opportunity.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is huge on campus, the public safety office is right next to campus and they will even escort you to your dorm or car at night if you don't feel safe walking by yourself. They have transportation to the O lot where people who live on campus have their cars off campus they don't have to walk by themselves. The officers walk around campus often.

    What to do for fun

    There are activities on campus, sports games, activities led by different fraternities and sororities. The Drexel has really cheap movies and I believe are free for Capital students.

    Food and Dining

    They're are a bunch of places on campus to eat with a variety of types of food. Also there are tons of places within walking distance of campus that range from Italian to Mexican to fast food. Many of the places are great, there's Piada, Chipotle, Starbucks, Wendy's and many other restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    I myself do not live on campus however, I do really like the dorms. And my friends who live on campus love it, the campus is small so they can get up just a few minutes before class and can walk over.

    Academic Rigor

    They really stress driving to get good grades and do well in all your classes. Many groups have a standard gpa that is required to be in the group, and the teachers strive to help you get the grades you should want to have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you weigh the pros and cons of living on or off campus. it can change your time at school for better or worse. Get involved in activities on campus.

    In three sentences

    This college gives more opportunities for more students, by having a great variety of majors and minors as well as electives that you can take. Capital is the only college in Ohio that has an art therapy major. They have a great environment and amazing teachers who always want to help in any ways that they can.

  • 03/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek Life is usually not respected among other colleges.

    Bang for the buck

    Overly Expensive College

    What to do for fun

    Sports Center, Mezz Game Hall, And Drunk Bus the takes students to nightclubs.

    Food and Dining

    Also many local eats surrounding the campus.

    Dorm Life

    Ra's are often not there so a lot happens at night that is not supposed to.

    Academic Rigor

    Coursework is rather hard but can be completed if you are very active in your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay in contact with teachers, go to the academic help center as well as attend study tables provided my the multicultural organization.

    In three sentences

    Small Private Institution. Relationships with teachers is very close. The campus is more of a home than school.

  • 03/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always public safety officers on campus checking buildings, an escort service 24/7 and a call button where an officer will reach you withing 1 minute to help. I never worry about my safety.

    Greek Life

    I absolutely LOVE Greek life at Capital! Here we think of it as Greek unity and that although we may all be a part of various organizations we all share a common love for Greek life and respect each other. About 17% of Capital students are involved in Greek life I believe and they have some really awesome campus activities and programming.

    Clubs and Activities

    Capital has over 100 clubs/activities!

    Great for these types of students

    People who like to have an individual relationship with their professor, someone who can be outgoing and get involved, someone who likes a smaller campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When entering as a freshman into Capital you walk through the front gate with your incoming class and it is like a big parade for you, your friends and family. It is said that if you walk through the gate holding your significant others hand you will be married and if you walk out before you graduate you won't graduate from Capital!

    Bang for the buck

    Capital is a pretty expensive tuition and I love it but some times I wonder where all my money goes. It seems like they keep asking us to pay more and more.

    What to do for fun

    Being a suburb of Columbus Capital has a lot of things on and off campus to offer. On campus there is an activity at least once a week that Capital's special programming puts on. There is also the usual athletic games that you can attend. Capital is in a superb of Columbus and is in a really nice area. There is several dining options available and with Columbus so close there are endless recreational activities at ones dispose.

    Food and Dining

    There are several options for dining and there is almost always something open. The Main Dining room serves several different food styles so there is always something to fit ones taste. It may not be home cooking but it fulfills your needs.

    Dorm Life

    Even though freshman dorms are not very pretty, or air conditioned, I absolutely loved it! As you advance in your program upperclassmen housing is available and those dorms are nicer, but it is important to remember the building is not what makes the experience. I have made so many great friends and have attended some wonderful programs through my building!

    Academic Rigor

    I can only speak for the Nursing program, but it is fantastic! The professors are very career oriented and tell you information you may need to know. All the faculty is willing to help and answer questions if you are struggling. Capital really seems like they want YOU to succeed and offers many opportunities to make sure their students are taken care of.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask about costs! Anything that you might need to pay for so you understand the full expense in the beginning. If you are eligible to compete in the scholarship competitions-do! Capital is wonderful, but expensive and a chance at a scholarship is better than none at all. Get involved once you are on campus! There are a lot of fun things to do! Go out and meet people!! You will have some really awesome experiences if you go a little bit outside of your comfort zone and will be so grateful in the end.

    In three sentences

    Capital has a wonderful campus and faculty. Some facilities are rather old and quite a few are outdated. It is a small campus that has a lot of heart and can offer someone a great college experience!

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Capital has only had a two scares since i have attended. They were minor events and were dealt with swiftly.

    What to do for fun

    There is a campus center with many activities, a movie theater across the street, and student events every week.

    Food and Dining

    The food on and off campus is great. On campus food is served at specific times and if you miss the times food will be lacking.

    Dorm Life

    For me i only lived on campus for one year and i hated it. Many students vandalized the buildings and the residents were charged fees many times.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are great. I feel like i learn so much. My teachers are always available for help and there is on campus tutoring for free for all students if help is needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are some classes that are that seem silly or a waste of time but don't dismiss them. Be attentive to all classes and school work. If you have a lab do not rush, they are planned for 2 to 4 hours so you can have as much time as possible.

    In three sentences

    Capital university is a great school. The professors are nice and really do what they can to help you. The campus is small and surrounded by a great community.

  • 05/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never really had a problem with safety on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Music and liberal arts

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not really any traditions or locations that are special on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Capital does have programs every now and then that promote some kind of educational purpose. There is also a theater across the street, multiple ice cream shops, and you're surrounded by Columbus so the possibilities are endless!

    Food and Dining

    Great food and environment! Honestly, this was the thing that made my transition to Capital University the easiest.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is friendly and easy to get along with. The RAs and Area Director are very helpful with all of your needs.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes aren't overly hard, but you will have to work in each one. Best thing to do if you do not understand something is to go to the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare to work! Capital is a great University, and the classes aren't overly hard, but you will still have to work in each of your classes.

    In three sentences

    Capital University is a great college. Everybody is friendly and easy to get along with. The faculty there is always very helpful and friendly.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a club.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall here is great! One swipe into the hall gets you as much food as you can eat and there is also a to-go option for people in a hurry. The food isn't always fantastic there, but it usually is pretty good and they try to give you a wide variety of foods as well.

    Dorm Life

    I only lived in the dorms for one semester, but it was not ideal. The living conditions are below average even compared to other dorm rooms. It takes a long time for maintenance requests to be processed and they nickel and dime damages at the end of the year. Feels more like a prison than a dorm room, honestly.

    Academic Rigor

    My classes at my previous school, Hofstra University, seemed harder, but I feel like I've learned just as much here.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will get out of your experience at Capital what you put into it. The harder you try, the more you will learn.

    In three sentences

    Capital University is great for students who don't like large groups of people. It's great for people who are intimidated by a large campus. You don't feel like just a number here.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been a few crimes, but there are police officers within 5 minutes of anywhere on campus at any time, and they are willing to walk you to your dorm if you feel anxious.

    Greek Life

    To bo honest I can't tell you anything about it because I've never been interested.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some clubs, but most of them cost money.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a social life, but will be more interested in their school work. Partiers won't be as happy here as OU or OSU, but there are some.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you want to meet someone new, hang out at the fountains. That's usually what people do on nice days or late at night.

    Bang for the buck

    Though the school is extremely expensive, the professors are amazing (especially if you're studying music of some kind) and campus life is good enough to not hinder the experience.

    What to do for fun

    You are very close to Columbus, and the campus is beautiful. It's a nice place to talk to new people and get to know them, and there are plenty of restaurants around.

    Food and Dining

    The food is either great or horrible depending on the day. They have a lot of options for a private school, but not as many as you'd find at somewhere like OSU where you can use your meal plan at fast food restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are kind of small and not all of them have air conditioning. The campus feels very safe though, and most of the students are very friendly. Everything balances out to about an average experience.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are amazing, and I've learned more here than I ever thought I would.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to pay more each year if you don't reduce your meal plan. Capital doesn't re evaluate aid money unless it's to take it away, so you'll have trouble keeping up with the rising tuition without third party scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Capital University is a great school if you like a small school atmosphere. You'll never be late to class because they're so close, and you'll get accustomed to your surroundings quickly. The professors are amazing, but the administration isn't that great.

  • 10/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Zig Bar Arena District OSU Campus

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a minority student, APPLY FOR THEIR FULL-TUITION SCHOLARSHIP!

    In three sentences

    A small private college that is great if you want to focus on academics. Its location is close to downtown but far enough to keep students focused. The classes are small compared to most colleges.

  • 11/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Absolutely amazing! your safety is no joke at capital!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Do not step on the school seal in front of the Blakemore Library. If you do: - Bad luck To break the bad luck: - Kiss the seal or - rub the bald Lutheran statue by the the library After the gate welcome ceromony walk through. DO NOT WALK THROUGH THE GATES AGAIN! OR ELSE YOU WILL NOT GRADUATE!

    What to do for fun

    -Clubs (Sports) -Greek Life

    Food and Dining

    -One and Main ( Cru Club) awesome fries <3 -MDR( get the pizza when it is nice, hot and fresh!)

    Dorm Life

    -HOPE YOU WAS HONEST ON YOUR PERSONALITY QUESTIONER (which is used to decide your roommate and the dorm you will be in) -I live in Saylor-Ackermen(SA). I have the best roommate ever and it really is a great bonding experience! -go to your hall's activities and talk to your Room Adviser (RA) -Awesome hall, great girls

    Academic Rigor

    The work load is bearable. More toward the half the workload really does pick up. MAKE YOUR 4-YEAR PLAN AS SOON AS YOU CAN!( Total Life Saver) You have very understanding teachers and faculty, they will actually help you!!! I love my classes and the student and faculty so much!

    Tips for prospective students

    -JOIN 'SMOOTH TRANSISTIONS' (after school starts you is going to be saying I'm so thankful for smooth transistions, it really helped alot!) -Come in open minded - If your the type of shy person like me that in my shell then after being here for just a few, you will see a HUGE change for the good! - Wait until you get an email from your teacher to tell you which books to buy and/or wait till you have the first class and your teacher will tell you what you really need and don't have to really get. -Join organizations ( there is something for everyone! <3) I'm on the Crusaders Dance Team at Capital University and it has been an absolute blast <3 and SOLA(Students of Latino Affinity)

    In three sentences

    This is really a CAPFAM <3. The quality of learning, teaching and friendships if absolutely amazing! Your teacher really do care for you and want you to succeed!

  • 12/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They send out texts to students that state whether the campus is unsafe and or if there has been activity around campus that is bad.

    In three sentences

    This University has a great campus and welcoming environment. Right from the first day I felt at home and ready to start my college journey.

  • 01/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    officers on duty 24/7. i have never felt unsafe on campus.

    Greek Life

    AMAZING! greek community is outstanding here.

    Clubs and Activities

    great things around for nightlife activities. bars, clubs, taverns, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    ALL- theres 100+ organizations. something for everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    dont step on the seal outside of the library or you will fail your next exam!

    Bang for the buck

    worth the money- given back to you in scholarships!

    What to do for fun

    everything! theres a TON going on!

    Food and Dining

    great options!

    Dorm Life

    amazing area to meet friends.

    Academic Rigor

    difficult enough to be challenging without failing.

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved early. keep academics in mind. put yourself out there.

    In three sentences

    I have had an amazing experience at Capital University and would recommend it to anyone! Very advanced in every area. Go visit for yourself!

  • 01/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never had a run in with Campus Safety. But everytime I see them on campus they say hello and I've heard they are really responsive and caring.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is a pretty big prescense on campus. But it's in no way isolating from non-greek-ers ! If anything the greek life is very inclusive of everyone.

    Clubs and Activities

    Soooooooooooooooo muchhhhh to get involved in ! I also have friends who started up their own clubs !

    Great for these types of students

    EVERYONE ! But really...those who care about their education and want to get the most out of it!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    1. Outside the library there is a sacred seal no one can walk on. If you do, you'll fail your next exam ! 2. But that's okay....because you can walk over the the monk and rub the top of his head for good luck ! It works too ! I've done it !

    Bang for the buck

    Capital seems very expensive at first glance but EVERYONE I've talked to has had GREAT financial aid packages. I applied to 8 colleges and Capital's financial aid was wayyyy better than any of the others !

    What to do for fun

    1. Join Clubs 2. Volunteer 3. Go to the Mall 4. During the warmer months there's lots of sports going on outside

    Food and Dining

    There's alot of variety in the Main Dining Room (MDR) But everyone loves the classic One Main and Mezz Pasta opitions at night!

    Dorm Life

    This year I requested a single and was given a quad. But it was the BEST thing to happen to me ! I love my whole hall and all my room mates. Capital really pairs people together well !

    Academic Rigor

    Classes aren't easy but not impossible either. I really enjoy all of my classes so that helps a lot !

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Get involved on campus 2. Participate in things outside of your comfort zone 3. Study, Study, Study 4. Most importantly HAVE FUN

    In three sentences

    At Capital it is very easy to get leadership positions. The teachers are extrodinary adn really care about their students. Over-all there is just a wonderful community vibe here.

  • 03/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You've got Bexley and Capital Police constantly patrolling. I've never felt safer. Also, the campus is so small... you're never out of view of someone or something!

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs and organizations to join at Capital! Cru, AMP, and Greek are just three examples. This would be a great question to ask when you visit and they can provide you a whole list of organizations, so you can find what best fits you!

    Food and Dining

    Students have many options when it comes to food and dining. Inside the main dining room, you've got 5 different stations of food, with different options at each station, not including the salad bar. Students can also eat at the two other dining options, located above and below the main dining room. These provide students a whole other list of options. And don't forget! Students are in the middle of Columbus, surrounded by restaurants and food chains!

    Dorm Life

    The options students have for dorm life are incredible. Students can go the average route or they can choose Healthy Choices where they would live among other people who also to choose to live a healthier lifestyle (non drinking, active, etc.) This makes it a bit more homey and comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    Capital University requires students to attend a wide variety of classes, usually outside of the students major. This provides the student a well-rounded education and can make learning a bit more interesting and fun. Students will take classes on language, religion, global awareness, and many more. These classes teach students things they didn't know or wanted more interest in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit Capital, don't be afraid to ask questions or tour more than once, get the full feel of the University and you'll fall in love with it just as every Cap student has. Capital has a lot to offer on such a small campus.

    In three sentences

    Capital University gives students a small community feel in the midst of a huge city, which is full of huge opportunities. It has small class sizes that give students the personal attention needed to succeed academically and personally. Capital gives you an away from home family (#capfam) that makes getting an education a lot more fun.