Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Capitol College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security on campus at all times to ensure our safety while we are at school. Capitol has man that patrol the area numerous times throughout the day and the night.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life on Capitol College campus yet.

    Clubs and Activities

    Capitol college gives its students the opportunity and freedom to create their own clubs and run them. So there is numerous clubs at capitol college run by different students ranging from seniors at capitol to freshman

    Great for these types of students

    Capitol College is a great place for technology driven students because Capitol offers an experience that prepares their students for the work world. Capitol allows students to do projects that they would be doing in the future and offers jobs and internships that trains students to for their future.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Something that Capitol College has on campus that other don't is the Cyber Lab which is an area located on the second floor of one of our buildings were projects for NASA take place. This lab is a year long on campus paid internship where students who are qualified to do so come together to complete different projects for NASA.

    Bang for the buck

    Capitol College offers a lot for their students there. The students at Capitol College at exposed to a lot of hands on experience early in their career. They also have many opportunities for the students to network starting from their freshman year. And another unique thing that Capitol offers are free extra credits to students that doesn't find a job within 90 days after graduation.

    What to do for fun

    Capitol College puts on numerous events throughout the school year to entertain the students on campus. For example: every Thursday s-lab puts on their a movie night or a game night so everyone can come out, have fun and enjoy each other company.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining isn't really ideal because there is only one place to eat on campus and their is no meal plan. In addition the restaurant closes at 4 and is only open Monday through Thursday

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life consist of about 15 apartments with 4 bedrooms, two triples, and two singles, a full kitchen and a bathroom. For the most part i like living in an apartment while I'm in college. But the only down part is the bathroom situation. Between the 8 people in the apartment there is only one bathroom which makes things a little more complicated but me and my roommates make it work.

    Academic Rigor

    The faulty and staff are great at capitol college. Everyone there is so nice and so willing to help you take full advantage of your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Capitol college is a great school to attend, one thing that turns some people away is the size. But between the great education, all the hands on experience and the opportunities made available to you, definitely make up for the size.

    In three sentences

    Capitol college is a great choice for anyone looking for a great education in technology, it offers opportunities that aren't found in your typical university or college. From the first day, capitol college exposes you to the technology world, putting freshman in class for the major as soon as the first semester. plus it provides job guarantees for students after graduation and allow students to establish strong connections with major businesses and government jobs.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is very safe. It is small and the security booth is at the front of campus. There is always someone around to walk with you and keep your doors locked if you leave it open.

    Greek Life

    Doesn't exist here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Campus clubs include but not all, Paint ball club, Anime Club, Capitol College Entertainment Club, Fashion club, fit Club, and lots more.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for Robotic student and academically focused students. If you need help focusing on school work this is the place to go. This school is geared towards students that want to work within the government because we are surrounded by government offices.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Traditions on campus include prank wars at the end of the spring semester, and the lock in at the student center.

    Bang for the buck

    By this being a private school you would think tuition is mega expensive. As a business major you will only be spending 14,00 0 a year and as an engineering major about 25,000. The scholarships are plentiful.

    What to do for fun

    For fun we join the various clubs on campus. We go laser tagging, and ice skating. we do lots of game nights in the student center as well as movie nights.

    Food and Dining

    We have full kitchens in every apartment so I love the fact that I can cook my own meal. You can switch it up and not have the everyday Cafeteria food like other schools. We do have a cafe on campus where you can purchase food and they are really cheap and tasty.

    Dorm Life

    Quiet and has a home feel to it. Everyone knows each other and are eager to give rides and help out. The dynamic of this campus you will not find anywhere else.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not procrastinate. Apply early and get in your housing fees. Take the free summer class if possible or needed, they really help. Lastly ask for help.

    In three sentences

    Capitol College i would give a 10 out of 10. They are they only school who let's you dive right into your core classes. The hands on here is wonderful in the success of the students.

  • 08/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe because most people are nice.

    Clubs and Activities

    Green Club, Physics club, Astronautical Club, Capitol Balloon Experiment Club, Society of Women Engineers, Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers, Animé Club, Debate Club, Robotics Club

    Great for these types of students

    Gamers, programmers, prospective engineers.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a private school, you will pay a little more than the average community college. However, it's worth the extra bucks.

    What to do for fun

    Paintball, laser tag, hide and seek in the library, movie night, trips to amusement parks (discounted too), clubs, and the list goes on.

    Food and Dining

    You will have to pay for your own food. But the chicken tenders are good.

    Dorm Life

    Although, the dorms are small, there are so many activities you won't be spending much time in your dorm except to study.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, Capitol College makes sure that its students are on top of their grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a school that is focused on helping you to succeed go to Capitol College.

    In three sentences

    Capitol College is very hands-on. Instead of reading a book on skills needed for your major you are actually applying what you read in labs and activities. The class size is small so the professors are able to talk to you one on one.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Since the campus is so small we usually do not have to worry about problems with safety on campus. We do have security that patrol the campus and local police officers also occasionally patrol the campus.

    Greek Life

    We do not have the typical greeks at Capitol. We have academic greeks but other than that we do not offer greeks.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of different clubs at Capitol, and if we don't have the club you want its not hard to start one. We have clubs for everyone from fit club to expressions club to anime club, gaming club and paintball club. Joining clubs is a great way to meet different students on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Capitol does have tuition lock so you don't have to worry about your tuition going up. We do have the best professors so I believe you will get your money's worth at Capitol.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of different clubs and activities to to on campus. Our student activity board organizes most of the activities but student do also have random football or ultimate frisbee games. There is always something to do on campus and people to do it with.

    Food and Dining

    If you have a car or know someone with a car, there are a lot of food and dining choices just a few minutes from campus. We don't have meal plans but we do have a cafe but its only open during certain hours. We do have shuttles for students who don't have cars to take them to grocery stores.

    Dorm Life

    Since Capitol is such a small school we only have 15 on campus dorms and 15 off campus dorms. We do have a lot of fun in the dorms and everyone gets really close like a family and a community. We have a lot of dorm activities that bring all the dorms together.

    Academic Rigor

    Capitol is a place to learn. A lot of things are hands-on when we learn and you have to be able to pick up on the material fast in order to do some of the things. We do offer free tutoring but if you can't learn the material in a timely manner you will fall behind in your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come take a visit to the campus before the first day of classes. Its better to be at least a little familiar with the campus so you don't get totally lost or confused. Although it is a small school and everything is pretty close to each other, its still nice to have a sense of familiarity with the school before you actually have to know where you're going.

    In three sentences

    Capitol is the honestly the best school you can come to. We have amazing professors and small class sizes so students don't feel overwhelmed by a large class and intimidating professor, everyone here wants to help you succeed. Capitol has every type of student and person so everyone can feel welcome here.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Pickup football games, flag football, pickup basketball, pickup soccer, game night, movie night, video game tournaments

    In three sentences

    Capitol is a small close-knit college community. Capitol has rigorous courses that challenge students and keep students occupied. Capitol students take lab courses in their first year depending on their majors.

  • 10/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Man Hunt. Zombies. Edible Book Contest. Wild'n Out Night. What Would You Do For a Dollar Trick or Treating in the Offices Hunger Games Halloween Party Nerf Gun Fights (Between Dorms)

    Food and Dining

    Its expensive but the food is good. Also we don't have a meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    I can only speak for myself and saying my roommates are awesome and we basically share everything. We have kitchens in the dorms and we're allowed to go any dorm we want.

    Academic Rigor

    Its tough but we have great tutors and the teachers are always willing to help a student.

    In three sentences

    Capitol is a great school for people want to be in a small environment. Most people stay in their rooms but you can always find the most interesting people here. If you like video games, anime, sci-fi or anything geekish come to Capitol.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is not the best but it is okay. they just drive around and check building and go in there mini office and go watch tv

    Greek Life

    there is no greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    there many different activities but there could be more. but not a lot of kids are trying to make clubs fun

    Great for these types of students

    there are a lot student are there for technology and computer science, and information assurance. if your not really into this type of program you shouldn't go

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have a lot of pot luck, we make food and share it with different apartment

    Bang for the buck

    get a lot of scholarships

    What to do for fun

    mall, rocket launch. there isn't much to do on campus

    Food and Dining

    they have a café , it really good and tasty. it really cheap and food quality is awesome

    Dorm Life

    you live with 8 people and you have to learn how to share and become roommates. and learning how to be organize.

    Academic Rigor

    there is not many degree , it focus on information assurance, technology, computer science and engineering

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you know what you want to study. make sure you have enough money to support yourself.

    In three sentences

    capitol is only a engineering and computer science and tehnology school, they have one of the most friendly staff members there and they are very helpful with you and make sure you are together and your on the right path.

  • 02/22/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do on campus. There is a recreational facility for a variety of sports, a campus center with a fitness room and a lounging area with ping-pong and a pool table, and variety of student clubs to join (but most are pretty geeky)

    Food and Dining

    There is no meal plan, those who live on campus have the option to go to a cafe in campus center that is opened Monday-Friday or prepare a meal in their apartment that comes with a fully furnished kitchen.

    Dorm Life

    The housing option for Capitol college is a furnished apartment that is less expensive than most university dorm and has sense of freedom for those who apply for housing on a first-come, first-serve basis. Giving you the option of single-sex apartment by yourself or with one or two roommates and the more roommates you have the less expensive it can be. There is also summer housing for those doing internships near the school even if you do not attend capitol college.

    Academic Rigor

    Do not apply here if you do not have even a remote interest in doing work that revolves around STEM. I have a friend attending now and he says that none of the courses were difficult. A lot of the learning is hands-on and teachers explain information effectively. Most if not all classes are smaller with a student to faculty ratio of 11:1 making it easier to discuss problems with teachers that really care.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not apply here if you do not have even a remote interest in doing work that revolves around STEM field. This school is much more than it appears to be. If has plans for secured work between semesters and after college so look into it. Since the school is significantly small, it seems that teachers are always available and actually care according to the story of students.

    In three sentences

    On the tour of school I went on a while back, this school seemed like a great place to be for those interested in technology, engineering, or business in technology or engineering. There are a lot of opportunities there, even for the students who only did well in courses related to their field of interest and do not have a quality high school background. Even so, its not just a school for those types of students. The student who guided the tour of the school I went on was someone excepted to Harvard on scholarship.