Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Cardinal Stritch University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there isn't much of a safety issue. the security guards are all really nice and take thier jobs very seriously. guns and other weapons are prohibited on campus and not many people mind that.

    Greek Life

    there are no sororities or fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a wide variety of clubs, from pre-med club to a writing club. you can join any club that you want and there are no real requirments. once you join, however, you have to participate in the club meetings and the service projects that they sponser.

    Great for these types of students

    there is a large variety of students. there are athletic students, theatrica students, foreign exchange students, and many more. there really is a group for everybody.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there aren't any unusual traditions or locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    being a private college, it is very expensive. however, there are a lot of scholarships available and the financial aid department does try to help people find the best scholarships possible.

    What to do for fun

    there is a free movie night every thursday. the dorms have events going on each week and there are some general activities for the whole student body to participate in. there are also many things to do off campus.

    Food and Dining

    the union and the coffee shop are very nice and have good food. the main cafeteria doesn't always have very good food and doesn't have a huge variety at times.

    Dorm Life

    the people that live in the dorms are really nice. both dorm buildings are quite nice and both have thier good points.

    Academic Rigor

    as a freshman, i can say that some of the classes are a little easy and not very challenging. however, there are some classes that really do challenge you and require studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    try to get as much general education credits finished really soon so you aren't scrambling to get them done during your senior year. this is really important.

    In three sentences

    cardinal stritch university is a private college that has a nice atmosphere and great teachers. the class sizes are small and the teachers really care if you are doing well in classes.

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking for a good school to commute to

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of on campus night activities such as free movie nights and theme bingo. There are plenty of nearby parks.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to have transportation available to you if you decide to live on campus.

    In three sentences

    Cardinal Stritch is a great campus for commuter students. It has many opportunities for the students to be involved in. It integrates the Franciscan values into the University.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Research isyour friend, so do as much as you can to help you make an informed decision about colleges.

    In three sentences

    A beautiful university Loved the Catholic centered teaching philosophy Evening program works, offers flexibility

  • 12/31/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -Students interested in the Nursing / Medical field. *Stritch is known for it's Nursing Program; as they offer all degrees, ranging from ADN (Associates) to MSN (Masters) Degrees. -Students interested in the Education Program. -Students who will be involved with the community. (Stritch is an awesome school, and if you like to be engaged in group activities and social events, you'll love it here.)

    Tips for prospective students

    -Take a campus tour -Meet with your admissions councilor -Attend class and ask questions. -many of the professors are willing to help and make themselves available. **One of the best things about Stritch: Almost everything is connected, (minus one of two residence halls and two other buildings dedicated to specific studies -no more than two minute walk from Main Campus) -SO for the most part, you won't have to worry about stepping out into the frigid WI winters! (Especially if you live in Clare Hall) =)

    Bang for the buck

    Although CSU has a high sticker price, a high percentage of students receive scholarships, loans, and grants that easily knock down the price barrier. In most cases, money won't be a problem if you are serious about attending CSU.

    Will enjoy being here

    CSU is a small, private university with a very positive atmosphere. When I stepped on campus, the first thing I noticed was their students, who would reach out to me and say hello. Very friendly staff and student body -councilors are also very helpful and personable. My experience started with them, and overall, it's one of the biggest reasons I chose to attend Stritch.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here are available to help on an individual-level, and will do their best to help you succeed and reach your goals. I feel challenged as I take my courses here at Stritch.

  • 08/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Every kind!!! :D There is a sports group, a theatre group, a D&D group, a writer's group, a partying group. I you below to any group, or any mix of groups, they will have your group there. Whatever you like, there is someone there with the same passion. We have clubs for anime, for mtg, for sporting events, and...well, just about everything really.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only problem with stritch is its business/financial aid departments. The people there are very 'by the book' and you will have to talk to them often, remind them of what they need to do, and keeping track of your credits yourself never hurts. They are the only inefficient people there.

    Bang for the buck

    It's pretty pricey, but there are a lot of scholarships that stritch itself will give out, and they're pretty easy to get, with not a lot of competition.

    Am enjoying being here

    This campus is fun, it has great students who, from all different fields, are able to socialize and interact with one another. There is constantly something going on, and there are many different activities for a student to get into with little or no problems.

    Am learning a lot

    All of the teachers are very helpful, and I learned many things, rangin from a bit of middle english to tap dancing.

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    good campus

    Food and Dining

    good campus

    Dorm Life

    good campus

    Academic Rigor

    good campus

    Tips for prospective students

    good campus

    In three sentences

    good campus

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Time management is paramount!

    Tips for prospective students

    Invest yourself into your craft!

    In three sentences

    I've recently re-entered the academic arena, and have found the experience exciting. The Cardinal Stritch University family have been very supportive and encouraging.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I believe it was voted the safest, or one of the safest campuses in the country just last year.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of school-sponsored and financed clubs, activities, and trips.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to know just about everybody in their school and have so many people say hello to you every day.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a lot of really nice services like the Career Services Center.

    What to do for fun

    You can play college sports because it is a Division II school in the NAIA conference. You can get a scholarship for that as well. There are lots of activities and clubs that are always doing fun things.

    Academic Rigor

    Very interesting, challenging, and fun classes in all areas.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to do your best in high school and the ACT, because if you get a high enough score on both you can get a really sweet guaranteed scholarship.

    In three sentences

    It is a great private school. The teachers are very nice and they get to work with you individually if you need because of the smaller class sizes. I love being able to go to college and playing college soccer here.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    you will get your moneys worth

    What to do for fun

    yoga newspaper photo club sports

    Food and Dining

    food 24/7

    Dorm Life

    outstanding

    Academic Rigor

    Outstanding

    Tips for prospective students

    you will love the school with all your heart just do good be active in things there and time will fly by and you'll be walking across the stage.

    In three sentences

    Outstanding never seen better.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cardinal Stritch has been voted the safest campus and there is around the clock security.

    Bang for the buck

    Cardinal Stritch is known in the Mid West for Education.

    What to do for fun

    On campus, I hang out in the Den, which is a lounge in the Residence Hall where students can play pool, watch movies and hang out.

    Food and Dining

    The food service is working out certain issues, such as food allergies and better quality of food.

    Dorm Life

    I have a suite, so I share a living room with three girls and have a private bedroom. This way, I have roommates when I want them and a single when I want to be alone.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses have been challenging at points, but I feel that I have gained the needed knowledge in order to work in the education field.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before coming into Cardinal Stritch, buy your books online and

    In three sentences

    Cardinal Stritch University has provided me with the education and experience I need in the education field. There is hands on experience as well as small class sizes.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    lots of on campus clubs and milwaukee is a 10 mini. drive away!

    Food and Dining

    Really good.

    Dorm Life

    depends on what dorm you are in.

    Academic Rigor

    Not crazy tough but you will work for your grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour and sit in a few classes. Its the best way to tell if you're going to like what CSU has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Cardinal Stritch is a great school for anyone who wants to be a part of a smaller school environment. The staff if very friendly and approachable, and the classroom instructors are involve and available to the student body. Overall I really enjoy going to CSU

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel completely safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    I'm not familiar with Greek Life, however the International Student Organization may be.

    Clubs and Activities

    Balck Student Union, Games and Education Club, Spanish Club, International Student Org, Gay/Straight Alliance, Genesian Players, Model United Nations, Outdoor Club, Psychology Club, Sociology Club, Student Activities Committee, Sport Management Club, Residence Hall Association and about 6 or 7 other clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    The Spanish club is great for students majoring or minoring in the Spanish language.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The student union, cafeteria and school library are usually places to go to meet new faces, get info on upcoming events/activities, and to relax or study.

    Bang for the buck

    Get the most out of tution and campus life. Visit onestop, check bulletin boards, talk with the professor/s in your field of study for volunteer opportunities known of and school clubs to participate in.

    What to do for fun

    Join school clubs. Experience the gym and fitness rooms. Get involved with theater, poetry, spanish, music, athletic and arts projects. Check out bulletin boards on the regular for current and upcoming school and outside events and entertainment, happenings.

    Food and Dining

    Prices are reasonable. The food is as good as any fast food restaurant.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a commuter.

    Academic Rigor

    Study smart, not hard with Onestop counseling at the top of my school agenda.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take charge of career and academic studies. Get out, get informed, get busy around your campus.

    In three sentences

    Professional counseling and administrative staff. Wide variety of career choice studies. Top quality instruction.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You are more then safe

    Greek Life

    There's maybe one sorority not on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Athletic games are free for students but the downside is that you have to travel off campus for everything except basketball and volleyball games.

    Great for these types of students

    If your looking for a small school with small classes and personal relationships with staff then stritch is for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    All incoming freshmen go to St. Ben's kitchen to serve the homeless.

    Bang for the buck

    Give a lot of financial aid, so it evens out.

    What to do for fun

    Go to downtown Milwaukee, mile to lake, or shopping mall.

    Food and Dining

    Needs improvement, their working on it, too greasy for me.

    Dorm Life

    Small and most people go home on the weekend but the facilities are very nice especially if your in Assisi hall.

    Academic Rigor

    Not the most challenging but the course work tends to pile up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors their willing to work with you usually.

    In three sentences

    Very small school with a large commuter population. Very close community where everyone knows everyone. Small classes where professors usually know you by name.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The guards work around the clock to ensure that everyone is safe. They take their jobs very seriously.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities are really friendly. If someone were to join a club, they are overly accepting.

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking, serious about their major

    Bang for the buck

    The class sizes are small-- better for getting to know the professor. The professors genuinely want to help their students pass the courses, so failure would be to not do anything. Overall, it is a good atmosphere for the students who buckle down and do work.

    What to do for fun

    There is really not much to do, but use your imagination.

    Food and Dining

    Let me put it this way; it keeps you fed.

    Dorm Life

    It is deeply depressing because there is not much to do. There are not many places to go to around campus, and the people there are not all smiling.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging, fun, and interesting. The workloads of many classes are heavy, but so is college.

    Tips for prospective students

    If anyone wants to come to this school, be prepared for serious workloads and people.

    In three sentences

    From one to ten, I rate Cardinal Stritch University about a six. The atmosphere around to school is nurturing for a student seriously committed to his or her classes, but there is not a lot to do around campus. There are also not many students really involved in the Stritch community.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent

    Greek Life

    None available.

    Clubs and Activities

    None I am currently involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Individual attention

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unsure. Have not attended yet.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Milwaukee

    Tips for prospective students

    Get as many Scholarships as possible. Look for schools that will help to succeed with your major. Pick a school YOU will be happy with.

    In three sentences

    Cardinal Stritch University offers many educations opportunities for me. It allows you to get a great education in a smaller classroom setting. Because the University is so grand, it has a large price tag.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Crime? What's that? - basically what it feels like here.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is perfect for people who have taken all the general education classes already and just need to finish their major. Also helpful for people who need a lot of help via one stop. If you're independent it will be a little annoying.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    The teaching and the environment is excellent but it is very expensive like any private school. However, it is cheaper than some of the other more popular private schools in the area.

    What to do for fun

    There are various student run organizations, student sports (i.e. dodgeball, etc.), and athletic classes/activities (i.e. cardio kickboxing, yoga, sports yoga, etc.)

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing here and it's all you can eat from $5-$7 depending on the time of the day. They try to explore different ethnic foods and healthy foods. I've heard people complain about the food, but it depends on your perspective and tastes.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms but I haven't heard of any complaints in regards to it from fellow students.

    Academic Rigor

    The Professors want you to learn and carry the information you have beyond the classroom not through memorization but through understanding and application. There is a lot of repetition so the information sticks but the environment is still very relaxed. Some of the classes are easy (mostly the general ed.). The classes that are hard are the ones needed for your degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Unless your parents are paying for you, look into scholarships inside and outside of school.

    In three sentences

    A catholic school that instills traditional values but does not force you to convert to theirs. The atmosphere is relaxed with a small environment, and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • 10/13/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Location I attended was in a good neighborhood.

    Clubs and Activities

    They did not have at the campus location I attended.

    Great for these types of students

    Working adults.

    Bang for the buck

    If things would have been a a bit better I would give 5 stars.

    What to do for fun

    Not much help with this either.

    Food and Dining

    The school location I was attending did not have food or dinning, which would have been nice especially since I was taking my classes right after work.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes were not to hard but it was frustrating working in a group that does not follow the same learning skills as the rest of the group. It would also have been nice to have tutoring on all the campuses, not just one.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check all the fine print before signing. and Make sure to fully understand the way the course are to be token.

    In three sentences

    Loved that pace the classes took. Was not an easy transition when I needed help taking a medical break. May return.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are just coming out of high school, adults over 25, African Americans, White Americans, Mexicans, Asians, Indians, students who dislike school....ANYBODY! I know that YOU will fall in love with this school just like I did.

    Bang for the buck

    I honestly can't compare this school to any other, that i've been to. Typical private schools are beyond expensive and boring. Not cardinal Stritch University. The staff, teachers and students are so personable and care so much that you would want to continue your college career here! Cardinal Stritch really made me interested in topics I thought would be boring, like my religious studies class but to my surprise it was probably the best class I had!

    What to do for fun

    Sports, exercise room, mulitple computer labs and the mall is one step away.

    Food and Dining

    Cardinal Stritch University has a cafeteria that's always cooking. Hot cooked meals from breakfast to dinner and green meals for vegans. Not your typical lunchroom.

    Dorm Life

    Cardinal Stritch Dorm rooms make you feel like you're at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Cardinal Stritch University doesn't want you to feel like another number. This school is beyond personable!

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your school work. Need extra help? Ask you teachers or classmates for assistance. Cardinal Stritch University really makes it that easy.

    In three sentences

    Cardinal Stritch University isn't JUST a private, Catholic University. The staff care about your grades, tuition and future. This school provides so many resources including tutoring for all subjects, one on one time with teachers and classes that contain no more than 20 students!

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe and easy to maneuver through.

    Food and Dining

    The food was and is amazing. There is a buffet that always has great options and a Union the is quick and easy. You will never go hungry at Stritch.

    Dorm Life

    I did not enjoy the dorm life. I worked all of the time and had no time for all of the fun and exciting dorm activities there were. I moved back home but if you are social the dorms are for you!

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging but not so out of reach. I enjoy my coursework and 18 credits is not an overload here. The classes can be short and long but there is always something to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    This university is a great place to go if you want to double major. I am majoring in Chemistry and Art with ease. It is a small school and a very friendly environment.

    In three sentences

    The Major opportunities are fantastic. The professors really know what they are talking about and they gladly help the students. I enjoy my time here and hope graduation does not come too early.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are some wings and resident halls events but there is also bayshore mall 5 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria i describe as more of the home-cooked meal where you have more choice and variety. But the Union is more of the pub, grille style where it is burgers, salads, fries, wraps. on the go.

    Dorm Life

    Assisi has all the suites style rooms where you can room with more than one person. and is also more updated. Where as clare is double and single rooms. Clare is for any year student and is connected to the building where as assisi is not.

    Academic Rigor

    Nursing is a vigorus major but that makes the professors and staff more willing to help you when you need help. Your advisor is there to help you through everything and has all the answers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the writing center and tutors. Talk to professors as soon as you get confused or just want to talk, they are there for you for more than just class.

    In three sentences

    Cardinal Stritch is a great little University that will accomidate you and your needs. There are many services that you can use and that are there to make you a better student and person in general.

  • 08/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is very important the lives and well being of the students is taken into consideration everyday. we have a 24 hour security team. as well as a emergency text notification system.

    Great for these types of students

    Stritch is great for students who enjoy small classes, towns, and close friends and family.

    What to do for fun

    the residential life has many events to offer as well as being near Bay-shore mall and the downtown area. Cardinal Stritch has clubs and events every week to keep it engaging and involved.

    Food and Dining

    in order to live on campus you HAVE to have the meal plan while to most the food at home would be better preferred but it beats ramen noodles anyday.

    Dorm Life

    although you are a adult and the dorms are co-ed, dorm life is very strict pertaining to rules and student safety to a parent these things are amazing but to a student we sometimes find the rules to be unfair and over protective.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are very challenging and with the one on one time you engage in your course work all the time with a very hands on attitude.

    Tips for prospective students

    IT's okay to come to a smaller school. partying is not the only thing college has to offer. hands on one on one teacher, student interaction is more helpful than you would think. never be afraid to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    A amazing teacher student one on one interaction. a small school brings a close family feeling. hard classes and understanding teachers who make you feel apart of stritch life.

  • 10/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Ranked number one in the safety category in the country. I haven't seen anything unsafe and officers are always around making sure students are safe. It's nice to know I can leave my phone on the lunch room table when I go get food.

    What to do for fun

    The school always has fun activities for the student to do, most are free! These activities range from going to Six Flags or hosting a movie night. If your not one for going out, take a walk down the dorm hallways and there are people always willing to make new friends!

    Food and Dining

    The food is generally good but there is always the option of a full salad bar or build your own sandwich.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms are very spacious and updated. They have everything from singles to quads. They have suites that have 3-5 people in each room. The rooms have a living room and every occupant has their own bedroom. These are great for people who want to experience having room mates without being too close to them. Aside from the rooms everything is always clean in the restrooms and in the halls!

    Academic Rigor

    From my experience, the teachers are very knowledgeable about their subjects and the classes are structured for maximum learning. The teachers are always willing to work with you and tutoring is free with tuition. Job placement is very high in the school and they prepare you well for the real world. Teachers are very welcoming and personal making learning more enjoyable.

    In three sentences

    Stritch is a small school where professors know you by name and care about you completing and doing well in the class. Councilors are always contacting you making sure you are on track and staying on top of your classes. The area around Stritch is very high class and there are plenty of things to do around campus and the school is always hosting events to take you to these places!

  • 03/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security but it is still important to not leave valuables in your vehicles because last summer had lots of crime on stolen damages from people's cars.

    Greek Life

    None to my knowledge

    Clubs and Activities

    Your group will be divided into might have a netting at another group member's house or at a restaurant were many times, they become your new group of friends.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for any group of students. One class a week, you can't miss. Out on.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The only untraditional thing that I have seen on campus is that you have your Financial Aid part of the campus, but you also have your accounting in a separate part but both work directly with telling you what funds you have available for tuition and not but they could all in one campus.

    Bang for the buck

    You have a mall not too far from the school and a grocery store to buy healthy food as we'll.

    What to do for fun

    Workout in the gym, support your athletics team, and find that comfortable corner on the campus and just relax, myself I can read for hours.

    Food and Dining

    Great food especially when you need a quick bite to eat!

    Dorm Life

    I can't rate it because I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically Stritch is a really good school!

    Tips for prospective students

    Seek help if you need it by using online resources such as smart thinking who acts as a online tutor, tutors at the campus can assist you, and having groups to work with is good because you you can seek your peer's help as we'll.

    In three sentences

    It is very good school. It has small student ratios, one class at a time, and a good team of instructors. I think best of all is even going to school online, you can still receive help that you need as if you was in a regular traditional classroom, because you our never really alone!