Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Carl Sandburg College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    meals offered at the loft and the cafe, as well as various vending machines throughout the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    depending on the class they can range from enjoyable and easy to stay involved to difficult with a struggle to keep up. pretty average i would say even predictable for any college.

    Tips for prospective students

    look up the scholarships! apply for as many of the scholarships as you can. it is well worth the time and effort.

    In three sentences

    carl sandburg college is a 2-year school that is located in a small town. i am very grateful for the educational opportunities that it has provided me in my college pursuit. the classes are small and the teachers are friendly and approachable.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have a full security staff that regularly patrol, and ensure safety. there is plenty of emergency precautions to protect from weather related issues, and lots of safety precautions for non-environmental safety issues.

    Greek Life

    phi theta kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    if they don't have it - you can get a faculty member to be an administrator and make it. there are so many clubs, and anyone with a good club idea is listened to.

    Great for these types of students

    computer students, art students, and those who want to excel and have a caring staff, and caring, fun teachers. there are also minority outreach counselors that are very helpful.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there's some academic guy who randomly dresses up like a penguin and walks around, and acts normal, like he isn't wearing a penguin suit. it's a bit strange, but he is friendly, and it is amusing. it really raises school spirit. everyone gets excited.

    Bang for the buck

    i have found the prices here absolutely reasonable. since i have tried to excel, my teachers have stayed on top of me, and given me extra work to prevent me from getting bored. this led to workstudy, experience, an impressive resume, and endless opportunity. the teachers actually care about the students, and as a result of this, many have spent lots of extra time giving us more bang for our buck.

    What to do for fun

    the town itself is not overly exciting. however, the school has lots of extra curricular activities, regular seasonal festivals, and contests for cool stuff! we have more than one person who specifically works on stuff for students to do, and she does a great job!

    Food and Dining

    five stars here too. we are a fairly small school as far as colleges go, and we have two cafeterias. there are always plenty of people hanging out in one of them, with computers, and regular events. the other cafeteria is a lot quieter, and regularly has people studying and using laptops. both cafeterias have slightly different food, although there is a lot of available food that both have. they both run meal deals, and daily specials that are unique to each one. they are friendly, professional culinary staff. the food is wonderful. definite restaurant quality.

    Dorm Life

    i gave 5 stars here, so that my school doesn't lose rating for dorm life. currently we have no dorms, but they are in process of erecting the first one. it will be in a quiet location, just outside of town. no loud neighbors, and no trains (this can be a regular annoyance for people from this area). also, it could not possibly be any closer to the school (i don't believe it is technically on the schools grounds)

    Academic Rigor

    i'm going to go with all 5 stars on this one, because over something like 7 semesters i have been able to maintain a 4.00 cumulative gpa. my desire to excel has been met by my teachers who make sure i never get bored, never run out of new stuff to learn, and never run out of new opportunities.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. talk to a counselor! they are there to help you figure out what to do next, or even what to do first 2. don't be afraid. this school makes it easy to get comfortable, make new friends, and start learning 3. take advantage of work study, i have had great success in using work study to gain some entry level experience.

    In three sentences

    -my school has the best teachers. -all staff members (including non-teachers) are truly dedicated to education, and the students. -one of the top community colleges for digital technology

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    sandburg is great for students who don't want to spend a lot of money for a great education. also, it is good for nontraditional students such as parents, older students, and those who just want to take a few classes.

    What to do for fun

    the campus hosts many opportunities for fun. on many occasions they have games in the common areas and prizes. also, you can always play on a sports team or attend theathrical productions or sports events.

    Food and Dining

    the food on campus is pretty good. they have a few different options and many many vending machines for those that like to get something and go!

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms available at this time but they are working on building a complex a mile from the main campus to house students.

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared to study, study, study! college is not like high school, it is a lot harder!

    In three sentences

    sandburg was a great choice of a first college. although i did not go straight to a four year college and i started at a junior college, i do not regret it. it was a great place to start my college career and get me used to the college life.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus police and cameras throughout

    Great for these types of students

    non tradit ional and traditional

    Bang for the buck

    excellent education for the price

    What to do for fun

    movies lake storey park bowling fitness center

    Food and Dining

    2 cafeterias to get food at

    Dorm Life

    no dorms they are building them

    Academic Rigor

    challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    take advantage of the tutoring center use the library- online

    In three sentences

    good choice of classes tutoring help available campus near a park

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is always something going on here at csc. trio has a lot of activities that are fun and great experiences. the things they do here for the students are really fun, my favorite was when the dueling pianos came.

    Food and Dining

    the food is pretty good here, much better than high school. the only thing i do not like is how expensive everything is. it is better to bring something from home.

    Academic Rigor

    depending on your teacher the classes here can vary. i've had really good classes and some bad ones. i've had some really bad teachers that make something harder than necessary, and others that are right to the point and help you understand what you do not get.

    Tips for prospective students

    always do your homework no matter how tedious it may seem. pay close attention to your academic course to make sure that you are on track. always read the book, you never know when something that was not discussed in class will be on a test!

    In three sentences

    i think that carl sandburg is a good step up high school; it allows you to feel the pace of college classes but does not take you too far from the environment of high school. carl sandburg is a great place to start.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Someone who isn't ready for a four-year.

    What to do for fun

    All the activities the school holds!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get help, that's what their there for!

    In three sentences

    CSC is helpful. CSC is friendly. CSC is amazing.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have only eat on campus a handful of times but they do a good job of switching up the menu and offering a variety of food to choose from.

    Academic Rigor

    I am currently involved with the Dental Hygiene program and it is a very rigorous program and you must be willing to put in the time and energy to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dealing with the financial aid office is a headache

    In three sentences

    Not bad for a community college they have a lot of various 2 year programs to offer. They try to keep the students involved with various on campus events.

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a freshman at this college and haven't yet joined any clubs. I've heard they have several.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for high school seniors who are not sure of what exactly they want to study or students working on getting their general education classes.

    Bang for the buck

    I've been told that is college is one of the higher tuition community colleges in the state of Illinois. However, you get what you pay for!

    What to do for fun

    Unfortunately this college is in a town where there is not much to do expect go to a movie or bowling. The college does offer several activities for the students to get involved to make it more fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Carl Sandburg College is superb and very reasonably priced. I highly recommend.

    Dorm Life

    This college just opened up a living campus in August of 2012. I only live 20 minutes from the college so I do not know about the dorms as I live at home with my parents.

    Academic Rigor

    This college has an excellent teaching staff who are willing to help you to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students attending this college should pay close attention to the scholarships they offer and the deadlines. Scholarships are out there if they are motivated to do the work. This is a great college to start out at after high school.

  • 10/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security on staff throughout the premises.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    The school has many activities as well as clubs. Trust me, you will find something that interest's you.

    Great for these types of students

    Students wanting a transfer degree with a solid GPA. Also great for foreign exchange students, as-well as people wanting a good education for a very affordable price.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Paranormal Investigations is a thing that a lot of students get involved with. I'm not really into that stuff, but its pretty unique considering its pretty much unheard of in other places in the states.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the gym, or take advantage of the basketball court. You can even go fishing in the pond, or participate in the various events or clubs!

    Food and Dining

    They have different special on foods daily, and the prices are very reasonable compared to other colleges. Trust me, I know.

    Dorm Life

    Only one apartment for dorms, Campus Villas.

    Academic Rigor

    If you want to pass a class, you will be forced to learn and in the end you will be proud. The professors really challenge you, and know how to teach you the material while they do so.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask the counselors for advice, because they really know what they're doing. Also, if you're an athlete, try to get involved in a sports program. Most of them have scholarship money to help fund tuition cost's and they even have a nice free gym for all students!

    In three sentences

    A small town college with a great a very ambitious atmosphere. The staff couldn't be anymore friendly, and the college keeps the students active with events. Coming from a big city college, and then coming here.... You definitely get a bang for your buck when it comes to education.

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have Security and give only enrolled students cards to get in the building they also have a good fire sprinkler system.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life it's a Community College

    Clubs and Activities

    They Have a Enomerous Selection of Clubs from Welding,Key Club,Music and Activities there's alot more to count

    Great for these types of students

    Great for people who don't have much money and graduates of High School

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They do have Music Festivals and Film Festivals to any student that want to go to that Event and the best thing is that its free if your a student.

    Bang for the buck

    You will get the most bang out of your buck for joining the clubs that are offered a Carl Sandburg. There's a Variety of clubs from welding club to music clubs they have them at Carl Sandburg.

    What to do for fun

    Well Carl Sandburg being in Galesburg there's alot of local activities to do when your not hitting the books. Anything from the movies to going to music festivals downtown to enjoying the winter time Galesburg offers things most towns don't is occupation for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Now Carl Sandburg being in the city of Galesburg Food and Dining are farely close and aren't hard to find. But being said Carl Sandburg offers a food court and has occasional vending machines to the curious.

    Academic Rigor

    Carl Sandburg isn't like any normal community college it's known for having the best communication technology and has a wide variety of courses to take. From Welding to Nursing to Crimimal Justices this college has alot to offer while it won't break the bank.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want in life there's not a bigger mistake in life than wasted talent so use it for yourself and achieve your dreams. Also don't be worried about the expenses at Carl Sandburg they offer low cost tuition for any program you want to be in.

    In three sentences

    Straight out of High School i knew from the get go that i would be going to Carl Sandburg. I always wanted to go there feeling that i can get somewhere in life if have the chance to go there i could go anywhere. So being said Carl Sandburg is a great choice for a graduate out of highschool or just someone trying to hone in on some skills and knowledge of what they want in life.

  • 03/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Carl Sandburg College has two cafeterias, on each side on the school. Both of the cafeterias are reasonably priced and the food is delicious!

    Dorm Life

    The Villas are very nice dorms, everything is up to date and campus security keeps up with the property.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are reasonably priced and the class sizes are smaller to give you a better learning experience and teacher experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip for a prospective student would be to plan out your degree and always effectively communicate with your academic advisor!

    In three sentences

    I believe Carl Sandburg College is the perfect community college to attend before you attend a university or other trade school. Carl Sandburg offers many different student services with excellent faculty to help you whenever you need it. The class sizes are reasonable, giving you a better classroom experience, along with the tuition being reasonably priced.