Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Carlow University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/15/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    all of the above.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a nursing major this is the place for you! If not, don't waste your money!

  • 11/18/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing!

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay in contact with your admission counselor.

  • 04/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Prospective Nurses, Teachers, and Artists, this place is for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in touch with your advisor, join a campus clubs such as CAB or theatre, and be prepared do some typing.

    Bang for the buck

    With relatively large dorm rooms this place is comfortable. Some art students are even allowed to attend the Art Institute their junior year. The Campus Activities Board always keeps events lined up and if that's not enough for you, the college is located in Pittsburgh, so there's tons of stuff to do off campus as well including free admission to Phipps Conservatory and the Carnegie Museums of Art and History.

    Am enjoying being here

    Although it seems like the elevator is always breaking, this campus is wonderful. It is a small campus, and flowers bloom around every corner. Everyone is friendly and the whole campus has a peaceful feeling. The Campus Activities Board always has activities lined up for students.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are all knowledgable and take pride in their jobs. They help the students who ask, and care about their success.

  • 01/14/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    one-on-one attention, students who love the city.

    What to do for fun

    The question is, what isn't there to do? Although there is no partying on campus, who says you can't have fun with your friends at Pitt, Duquesne, or Point Park? There is always something going on in Oakland, and to ride the bus around the city is cheap.

    Food and Dining

    On the Carlow college visit, I had a chanc to eat in the dining hall. The food was great, and there was much variety. It does not taste like the high school lunches.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know much about dorm life since I will be attending this summer, but the dorms and bathrooms are very clean. The bathrooms are public, but they are very wide open, and the showers have a changing area which is nice. Each student takes a personality test to match with their room mate, or the student can choose thier room mate. The thing about dorm life at Carlow most students will not find any where else is that students do not have to live on campus their first year. There are computer labs available at all times in the residence hall, and to do laundry is very inexpensive. The residence hall is very safe, there is a security office right as you walk in, and you must have your card to get to every part of the building.

    Academic Rigor

    I am unable to rate the academic rigor since I am attending this summer. Carlow has the best nursing programs in Pittsburgh. I was told that any hospital in Pittsburgh will most likely take a Carlow nurse over Pitt or Duquesne. The school is known to be an all girls school. This is because of their nursing program. Carlow has an autopsy program in which Cyril Wrect performed cases in their lab. Since Pitt, Duquesne, and Point Park are around Carlow in Oakland, if you are a Carlow student and wished to take 1 class at one of these schools, you have that option for free. Carlow is also a liberal arts school.

    Tips for prospective students

    If the student likes the city life this is a great place to attend. The school is known for their small class sizes, and one-on-one attention. You are not a number at this school.

    In three sentences

    On a scale of 1-10, I rate Carlow as a 10. The private catholic school is very clean, has a small campus, and it feels like home. The campus is in the city, but when you are on campus, it feels like you are away from the city.

  • 04/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 5 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing Boring Students who want a really small campus (5 buildings, classroom wise).

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is as boring as they come. The instructors are great. They are so willing to help anyone who wants to help themselves. The girls are annoying, on purpose. They are also snooty. The dorms are an average size: not small as Penn State's, but not as big as CalU's.

    Bang for the buck

    There's always something wrong with something. You would think that since it costs so much, they would be able to fix things.

    Am enjoying being here

    Its a place stuck between high school and college, like an advanced community college. After freshman year, a lot of people transfer. They usually go to Pitt. I transferred to Penn State though.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good. There are always real cops walking and driving through the campus. There are always cops to talk to! And they are really cool people!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are serious - not party type - people. Especially good for the Adult student. If you don't care about your classes or don't care to try, then this is not the University for you.

    Bang for the buck

    It's not horrible, but I would highly recommend getting your Associates degree at a community college first, then transfer to Carlow. Or try to get as many scholarships as possible.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent although not many allergy friendly options (aside from fruit and salad).

    Academic Rigor

    Classes at Carlow are demanding - as is any University. It is a rewarding experience to know that if you do the work, you'll see it in your grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you work hard on all of your homework and study for tests, then you are guaranteed to get a decent end of semester grade!

    In three sentences

    Carlow is a good college. It has fairly small classes and the instructors are rather understanding. The location is nice too!

  • 04/11/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security seems very tight. You need a student ID card to get just about anywhere, and they have Pittsburgh city police patrolling the grounds every hour, as well as security cameras stationed all over the place and emergency call boxes set up (though I was told that the boxes have never been used thus far).

    Clubs and Activities

    According to the tour guide, they had something for everyone. As I visited on the day of their spring carnival on the green, I got to witness a bit of that firsthand.

    Great for these types of students

    Carlow strikes me as a university which is perfect for those who are creative and serious about their education. Of course, it's a private liberal arts university. Of course it's going to cater to those groups! Really, it seems good for anyone, but you have to go there and check it out yourself before you make any sort of decision.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a convent up on the hill. I hear the nuns there are lovely.

    Bang for the buck

    Again, I wouldn't know, as I haven't gone, but it seems to me to be well worth it. Otherwise, I wouldn't even consider paying their tuition.

    What to do for fun

    What NOT to do for fun? You're in the heart of Pittsburgh. There are museums, libraries, other universities, and plenty of other things to walk to; and Carlow itself has, on campus: a theatre, a gym, a pool (though I'm hydrophobic, so I won't be taking advantage of that), computer labs, a nice library, free wifi, places to hang out, and activities constantly being planned for the students. The whole place is just full of life and full of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food seems really good. I didn't get to try it, but it looked good, and it's free if you get the student meal plan. The people who worked at the cafeteria were very friendly, too. And if you don't like the food, it's Oakland. You can just eat somewhere else. Heck, there are other places to eat on the campus itself!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms seem relatively small, but it gives it a sort of homey feel. You're allowed to decorate however you want (as long as your roommate agrees!) and they come with a mini-fridge, freezer, and microwave, as well as free wifi. You can have friends sleep over at your dorm (same or opposite sex) on weekends your first semester, and then any day for all of the following. Everything about it just seems lovely.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't gone yet, but from what my tour guide told me, it's very easy if you work hard and ask for help when you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    I wouldn't know. I haven't gone yet.

    In three sentences

    Everyone there is nice and helpful, and they really do seem to care about their students. The campus is beautiful, too. I am sincerely looking forward to it!

  • 09/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have day classes and a night class, I have NEVER felt unsafe (even late at night). The campus police are super-friendly and helpful (no matter how small the issue) There are security cameras too. They have parking lot attendants to help with parking (which is a huge plus). Also, in Oakland, the Pittsburgh police are always around outside of the campus if needed.

    Greek Life

    There are sororities, however I haven't experienced anything with them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a pretty good variety of clubs. There are always announcements on the website. Also, students are always going around to let people know what's going on. I joined the Business Leaders of Carlow club and everyone is so nice! The Campus Activities Board is always planning trips and events for anyone to attend.

    Great for these types of students

    ANYONE!!!! 18-99 years old. I have met students from any age/background/ethnicity/situation. Whether they attend straight from HS or Adult Students, they have classes and resources for anyone. I recently met a woman who will be walking to get her degree with her daughter! They are both attending at the same time. Also, since I am a single parent (her dad hasn't seen or done anything for her in almost 2 years) I have had to rearrange things and take my daughter with me. She LOVES going to school with mommy. I had to take her with me for most of my admission/financial aid appointments, and nobody has ever been upset or looked down on me. Everyone is so nice to her, and has welcomed her right along with me. For some workshops/events they even have free babysitting included. One time, she was getting over a cold, and I had to take her into the library with me. She sat in the library and studied while mommy did her work. Everyone on campus is completely understanding and helps out whenever they can.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have very traditional areas and new high-tech areas. It's the best of both worlds! Right now they are building a brand new library and student area! Also, I love the fact that there are many computer labs all over campus to work at and print things out as needed!

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, Carlow is a little more expensive than some other schools, but I know people who have degrees from Carlow and it has a great reputation.

    What to do for fun

    No, this is not a party school (sorry!). But, you're in the middle of Oakland. There is so much to do there!! All you have to do is walk down Fifth Ave or Forbes Ave and go exploring! Oakland has a great variety of attractions (museums, stores, etc.) and a HUGE variety of food!! Plus the buses run all day and can take you anywhere. I LOVE the Pittsburgh area. There are so many different things to do here (for me and for my 3 year old and her 9 year old sister). All you have to do is Google Pittsburgh events or activities or free Pittsburgh activities and you will find 100's of things to do. There are always festivals and different attractions to keep things exciting! Also there is access to gyms and even a relaxation room!!!

    Food and Dining

    Although the hours are a little restricted, I think the cafeteria offers a good variety every day. There is a fresh salad bar and they do different meals and sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, but I have heard a lot of great things from other students who do!

    Academic Rigor

    It's all about the work YOU put in! Books and notes can only take you so far, you have to put in the work. It is a lot of work, but it is definitely possible. They have excellent resources to help students (Center for Academic Achievement, tutors, instructors, workshops/seminars, etc.)

    Tips for prospective students

    TALK TO EVERYONE ASSOCIATED WITH CARLOW!!! They are ALL there to help YOU! :) From the admissions, financial aid, IT, academic resources, and ESPECIALLY the instructors. Here, you are NOT just another body in a gigantic lecture hall. Everything is more personal and every single person I have encountered will go out of their way to help you in whatever way they can. Be open and take the steps to introduce yourself to your instructors and any other staff, because they won't know you need help unless YOU ask. I haven't even completed one semester, and I am on a first name basis with a lot of Carlow staff (I ask a LOT of questions)! No one has ever made me feel like I'm dumb, or I should figure it out on my own, because they all actually care!!

    In three sentences

    I began as a freshman in August, (30 years old, single parent, starting my first real college journey) and I have been unbelievably happy/impressed with Carlow, as a whole. It's big enough to have exceptional, experienced faculty, but small enough that I am more than just a number. Through my experiences so far, I have seen students of ALL ages/backgrounds/situations, and the faculty will go out of their way to help each and every one!!!

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the dining hall isn't the best college food i've ever had, but they certainly do their best be accommodating for people with food allergies, so i think that's a good thing.

    Dorm Life

    i live off-campus, so i wouldn't be able to speak to this.

    Academic Rigor

    all if my professors so far have been deeply interested in making sure that i reach my potential.

    Tips for prospective students

    there are a lot of hills, so be prepared for that, and sometimes it's a little difficult to find parking.

    In three sentences

    i feel as though i'm at home here. the people i've met through this program are not just my colleagues, but my friends. i learn just as much from the relationships i've created with my peers as i have from my professors.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe! never had any problems

    Clubs and Activities

    on a small campus it is very easy to be involved!

    Great for these types of students

    nursing biology serious about your education student involvement

    Bang for the buck

    definitely worth the money!

    What to do for fun

    it's pittsburgh! what isn't there to do? pittsburgh if a very fun place to live. carlow students get free admissions to phipps conservatory and the carnegie museums. the shopping is amazing at south side works, the waterfront, monroeville mall, and downtown and more.

    Food and Dining

    excellent food.

    Dorm Life

    not the best dorms but i was very happy living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    phenomenal professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    take charge of your education. by this i mean get to know your advisor and figure out what you want out of college early on. if that is study abroad then visit the center for global learning. if you want to be involved on campus then visit the director of student activities. you will pay a lot of money for your education, get what you can out of it.

    In three sentences

    carlow is a small welcoming community. everyone knows your name and genuinely cares about your well being. carlow university has something to offer everyone.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Bang for the buck

    So far, so good.

    What to do for fun

    The South Side is always a fun area to go to. It is only a short drive or bus ride away.

    Food and Dining

    Also do not have meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus. I am a graduate student and have not yet begun classes at Carlow.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not yet begun classes, so I do not yet have knowledge about academic rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have an open mind. Be ready and willing to learn. Enjoy your time at the university, and utilize all that is available to you. You will only get as much out of the university as you are willing to put in.

    In three sentences

    Carlow offers a great education with small class size. They offer classes in the afternoons and evenings to accommodate work schedules for graduate students. They also offer summer courses, so the duration of time it takes to complete your program is really up to you.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do for fun. There are games and a ton of possibilities you will never get bored. Plus you are in the city and there are plenty of things to get into such as movies, dining, and even seeing musicals.

    In three sentences

    Carlow is an amazing school in the heart of the city, and it is in the surrounding area of some of the best hospitals in the world. The class sizes are small, and there is always something to do. The people are friendly and they really and truly want you to succeed.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Academically you get out of your education at Carlow exactly what you put into it. There are a lot of different opportunities for students to get help if needed or to join different organizations, but unless you put effort into finding them then you won't get much of an experience at Carlow.

    What to do for fun

    On campus.... nothing Off campus... the possibilities are endless; from stereotypical frat parties to shopping to movies to nightclubs (college night)

    Food and Dining

    The food is good depending on what you get. Usually it isn't that great so most students eat off campus at the many restaurants in Oakland.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life/Residence life is convenient, but not always the easiest option. Living in the residence halls allows you to have everything you need for school (cafeteria, computer lab, classes) right there in close proximity. However living on campus is sometimes difficult due to strict rules residence life has come up with.

    Academic Rigor

    I think that the academic rigor of each class depends on who is instructing it. Try to talk to your advisor, or ask around before scheduling classes so that you know who the best instructors are. If you don't do this you'll likely end up in a class taught entirely through PowerPoint.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely take a tour of the school and attend the overnight program that is held multiple times throughout the year. These will give you a good feel for the school.

    In three sentences

    Carlow University is very convenient university for students from the Pittsurgh area to attend. The school provides many different services to assist the students so that they can achieve success. It is a small school made up of mostly girls though (about 93%), which is a big factor for some.

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Carlow's security office is located in the middle of campus, within the main dormitory itself. Students can be escorted to and from nearby parking lots. There are several emergency phones located on campus also. All buildings can be accessed only with a valid student ID card.

    Greek Life

    Carlow offers many sororities for its mostly-female population. Evening and weekend students have limited if no opportunities in this area.

    Clubs and Activities

    Carlow has many opportunities for the younger, on-campus students; however, the adult weekend/evening students have limited choices. There is a group for commuter students though.

    Great for these types of students

    Younger students who live on-campus receive the fullest college experience. The adult/nontraditional student may find this frustrating at times, but since we don't have much free time, perhaps that is for the better.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Carlow is home to the Sisters of Mercy convent, so you never know when an actual nun is sitting next to you!

    Bang for the buck

    Carlow is a moderately expensive university; however, there are quite a few scholarships available, and the Financial Aid department is fantastic.

    What to do for fun

    Carlow is in the middle of one of Pittsburgh's liveliest areas. Other college campuses are within walking distance, and it is packed with restaurants, bars, and small shops. Students may also take advantage of museums and public parks nearby. Additionally, downtown Pittsburgh is a bus ride away with its art galleries, theatre, concerts, and plenty of shopping opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    Carlow offers typical cafeteria foods in its main dining room. It also has a cafe with more fast food offerings. Both are satisfying; as an evening/weekend student, I found the cafe food excellent & fresh.

    Dorm Life

    I did not and will not stay in the dorms on campus. I do know that since Carlow is a small campus, the students have opportunity for close friendships and support from Resident Advisors.

    Academic Rigor

    Since it is a liberal arts university, Carlow is challenging if you don't possess good writing skills; however, there are tutoring services available for a variety of topics. You can receive plenty of assistance if you make your needs known.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your advisor, and stay in contact with him or her frequently because you may need him or her to write a letter of recommendation at some point in your future.

    In three sentences

    Carlow has small classes that promote closer relationships between students and instructors. Carlow has a small campus; however, the terrain is quite hilly. Carlow has limited courses of study for adult/evening/weekend students; in particular, one cannot major in Biology if an evening student.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police office is on the main floor of the dorm building and the officers are usually happy to help.

    Greek Life

    As far as I know there are only a few honor and service societies of Greek origin.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of activities available including but not limited to the university theater group, our chapter of the American chemical society, the university chorus and student government. You can also start your own club if you find that none of the available activities is to your liking.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is good for students who want a small campus and a more personal connection with their professors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a wonderful view of the city from the fifth floor balcony of Grace Library.

    Bang for the buck

    You get out of it what you put in. Go to class, do your homework, make new friends and have fun. The professors will help you but you have to ask.

    What to do for fun

    There are many places to go in Oakland like the museums, the library, or Phipps Conservatory. There are also many shops and restaurants of culturally diverse backgrounds in Oakland. If you would like to travel elsewhere you can reach many places by bus. Grab some friends and explore!

    Food and Dining

    The main dining hall does have a variety of options but it is only open during certain hours of the day. Franny's, a smaller dining place is open during the weekdays, has mostly food from the grill and is included as part of the meal plan. The campus is in the Oakland area so there are many places to eat off-campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms are equipped with both a micro-fridge and an air-conditioner in addition to the regular furniture. The visiting hours may seem restrictive but they are an attempt to keep students safe and to provide an appropriate environment for learning.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of a course varies depending upon the professor and the student's strengths with particular subjects. Overall the courses are difficult enough to provide a challenge but they are not impossible to complete.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus is on a hill so please consider this if you have difficulty getting around. The school is wheelchair accessible and they do make accommodations for disabilities. Take advantage of the career center, the center for academic achievement, and the counseling center if you need help. These programs are included in your tuition so you might as well take advantage of them.

    In three sentences

    Carlow University has professors who care about both the education and well-being of their students. It is a small campus but there are other universities and plenty to do and see nearby. They have great programs to assist students.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In city so precautions should be taken, campus has plenty of security so it is pretty safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are always poster boards with different clubs and activities, people come to classes to promote some of them. Very involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Religious, christian/ catholic based religion since you have to take theology, females who like female dominated schools.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    First year student orientation, mandatory games and amusement park visit.

    What to do for fun

    Oakland is a college city, carlow parties, pittsburgh university parties, late night eateries, and college night at whim (club).

    Food and Dining

    Carlow cafeteria and Frannies weird times that they are open and closed, but there a lot of places to eat in Oakland.

    Dorm Life

    Did not live in dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers, professors are understanding when a student shares concerns, situations, but are very big on deadlines and expect work to be done along with the rest of the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school first, take a tour, talk to people who went there and try it out if it sounds good/ appropriate for them.

    In three sentences

    Carlow is a decent school, I received a scholarship that i was extremely happy with, the teachers/professors are nice and understanding seem to love their job, mainly small classes, and not so great food but in great location.

  • 08/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    With all their rules, campus safety is reliable. Carlow Police are always available for the students, and for the most part they are very friendly.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small class sizes and get distracted easily would benefit from Carlow.

    What to do for fun

    Luckily, Carlow is in Oakland, and right down the street from the University of Pitt. There are plenty of places to eat and the South Side is only a five minute bus ride away, so shopping is close by.

    Food and Dining

    Not the best food and dining service. The hours the cafeteria stays open are limited, so hopefully you don't have too many classes during the day. Food selection isn't that good. Food is often served cold or undone.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is not as exciting as other schools. No curfew for residents, but there are times where their guests have to be out. There is no student union for students to mingle in. The closest to a union is the commuter lounge which holds a television and a pool table.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are very knowledgable on subject matter. Many of them are currently working in their respected fields. Carlow is a liberal arts school, therefore it shapes well-rounded individuals with requirements to take a course in each subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come in expecting a party school. Carlow is a really nice environment that eliminates many possible distractions.

    In three sentences

    Carlow University is a nice, small college environment. Located in a neighborhood with other schools makes it easy to socialize. The professors really care about their students.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are live, on campus 24/7. They lock certain doors after 9pm for even more safety.

    Greek Life

    Nonexistent.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that aren't easily sucked into drama or people that like to branch out and make a lot of different groups of friends because you get tired of your group quick since you all live together and have to see each other A LOT. Carlow has an awesome nursing program as well and I believe is one of the only schools around that offers Forensic Accounting.

    Bang for the buck

    Carlow's tuition is rediculously high, but they help you out some if you have decent grades. If you don't have decent grades, expect to be pulling AT LEAST $2,000 out of your pocket for tuition (after scholarships, grants, etc.) Carlow is NOT a state school so there isn't any discount for living in the state like there is for Pitt, IUP, etc.

    What to do for fun

    There's ALWAYS activities! Movies, trips, tailgates. You name it, I guarantee it's going on here. And if it isn't, you can ask your RA and she'll almost always plan it for you. Most of the time the activities are free (sponsored by CAB) or really cheap. The University of Pittsburgh's campus is also 2 steps away, so if you can't find something on campus.. Oakland is ALWAYS full of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is good, but you have to sit there to eat it. You can't take it to go, which is a pain in the butt when you have another class to get to in 15 minutes. Franny's (3rd floor of the resident hall) gets expensive, but you can take it to go so it's practically your only option during the day. The meal plan is horrible and costs more than what you actually get in blocks/flex dollars.

    Dorm Life

    First, communal bathrooms aren't all they've cracked up to be. I didn't think it was that big of a deal until I had to do it everyday, and the people on your floor aren't always going to be the cleanest. Laundry gets expensive. Internet tends to be a little slow. There is a lot more drama than I anticipated. There are a lot of activities that go on with your floor, but if nobody on your floor gets along.. it's not fun. The dorms themselves are average sized. Cleaning ladies are probably the nicest people at Carlow!

    Academic Rigor

    The professors always answer their email in a timely manner when you have questions or concerns. There are also tutors available on campus (free!) to use practically at your disposal for any major/subject. Some classes are harder than others, but that's expected of course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour the campus by yourself. Even though it's a private school, you can easily get a feel for the campus by walking around. The tour guides are great people, but they talk about the campus (expected) and you might get misleading feelings about the school (positive or negative). There's around 20 boys at this school, so if you're looking for a happy mix of co-ed or you don't get along with girls, this isn't the school for you.

    In three sentences

    Carlow University is a very small campus which can be both good & bad. The upperclassmen and professors are always eager to help. Overall, it's your a pretty basic liberal arts college.

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great campus security and is highly visible. No need for looking for them.

    What to do for fun

    The college has a lot to offer for traditional and non traditional students.

    Dorm Life

    Off campus

    Academic Rigor

    The college offers classes for traditional college students and they offer accelerated classes for adults who are in the adults college program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go online and see what the college has to offer and also schedule a visit. The campus is a small campus with all the amenities of a large institution.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy attending Carlow University's Adult College program. The program offers great flexibility for taking classes in the evening, online and or attending classes on the weekend. The program also offers accelerated classes too.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing majors!

    What to do for fun

    Oakland is a very lively city with so much to do. There are hundreds of food places within a five minute walk. The South Side Works is a short bus ride down the street with a movie theater, dining, and ice skating during the winter months. There's also a bunch of activities on campus, such as movie nights, bingo!, and more.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Carlow because you want to come here, not because you couldn't get into Pitt but still want to be in Oakland. It's a really great school and if you give it the chance you'll more than likely love it.

    In three sentences

    Carlow University is a great school with a great environment. The class sizes are small and the teachers actually take time to get to know each student. There are a lot of groups to join and activities to participate in all over campus.

  • 02/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Take part in Global Awareness Days and other on campus activities. If you don't like these, walk around Oakland and visit different places to eat. You can walk to the Carnegie Library and museums.

    Food and Dining

    The food tends to be better in the beginning of the semester and during tour days, but there's some variety. There's pasta everyday.

    Dorm Life

    Could be better, could be worse. Again, there is no drinking or partying on campus, it is much too small. There usually are floor parties every month, but your mileage may vary.

    Academic Rigor

    I have heard that Carlow is a difficult school, but if you put in the time and effort, you will succeed. There are many resources you should take advantage of to help you through your course work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not expect to have parties here, it is a dry campus - no alcohol even if you're 21. Please, go to class. Do not be the person who comes in 10 minutes into class with Starbucks, especially if your class is only 50 minutes long. Take courses that interest you!

    In three sentences

    Carlow University is a great school for someone looking for a small liberal arts education. The classes are small and often the professors are very helpful. Though there isn't much of a stereotypical college atmosphere, the location in Oakland is nice and there are activities on campus.

  • 03/30/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe

    Clubs and Activities

    softball appears to be good

    Great for these types of students

    serious

    Bang for the buck

    waiting to see

    What to do for fun

    Close to Oakland Point Park just a bus trip away,to the store's and cafe's

    Food and Dining

    did not have the time to check out the food,but the service's appear good

    Dorm Life

    appers to be safe,clean

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit before you agree to attend

    In three sentences

    I give this college an 8 out of 10. Love the grounds!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • 04/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who do not want to attend a big college.

    Bang for the buck

    You do get what you pay for as far as the education.

    What to do for fun

    Carlow offers a lot of activities that are offered on campus, with other universities near by and right in a good location.

    In three sentences

    Carlow is rather expensive. You get what you pay for. Really enjoyable college to attend.

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Carlow University take issues of safety and crime very seriously. The university has their own police department that is very involved in student activities which makes their presence known to all on campus. Every building is secure and there is no admittance without a key. Many rooms within the buildings also have the same security feature so if you are working late in a lab you can always feel secure. There are three parking lots and each is well lit and patroled regularly by the campus police.

    Greek Life

    I know there are service fraternities on campus but I am not involved in this aspect of student life and can not comment further on this subject.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are activities on campus most every weekend. Many students leave campus for the weekend and travel home so in addition to the weekend events there are lots of programs held weekdays during lunch time.

    Great for these types of students

    Carlow has many outstanding programs. They are especially sensitive to the needs of non- traditional and adult students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Carlow University was founded in the 1880's by the Sisters of Mercy from Carlow, Ireland. The campus is built on a terrace and underneath the buildings are old tunnels the nuns used to travel through to get from one building to the next during the cold snowy winter months.

    Bang for the buck

    Carlow University is a private university so tuition is more expensive than a state school but I feel like the quality of education, the faculty support and efforts of administration are well woth the price. The financial aid department has made filing for my FAFSA simple and painless.

    What to do for fun

    Carlow University is located in Oakland, PA a small neighborhood in the city of Pittsburgh, Oakland is also home to the University of Pittsburgh main campus and Carnegie Mellon University. Additionally, there are several other colleges and universities with in 5 miles, including Duquesne University, Point Park University and Chatham University.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus so I can not comment from personal experience but when I am on campus I see the flyers posted advertising many different clubs, events and organizations for resident students.

    Academic Rigor

    As a student in Carlow University's CAP (Carlow Accelerated Program) my semesters were 8 weeks as opposed to 14 or 16. Professors and instructors were still required to cover the same material in CAP courses as in the traditional day classes so the work was very challenging. This was beneficial to me because I am earning my degree in 3 years as opposed to 4.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard and become involved in the Carlow community. The small campus and intimate class size permits great opportunity for networking.

    In three sentences

    Carlow University supports the creative thinker; students who are innovative and compassionate will do well. The mission statement and Sisters of Mercy Core Values foster an environment of acceptance and diversity.

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent police force and well lit campus.

    Great for these types of students

    All types. Good for returning to college after a break. Great programs for adult students.

    What to do for fun

    Anything you want, you are in a great city!

    Food and Dining

    Limited on campus, but within walking distance to fine restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    I lived off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I have never had a scantron test while at Carlow. To show what you know exams are written out and graded by the instructors, not a machine. You are a person at Carlow, not a number, and you will get all the attention you need to make sure you are getting the most out of your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Carlow is in a major city, but when you are on campus you would never know it. So if you like being able to have the active life of the city and be able to seriously study, Carlow might be a choice for you.

    In three sentences

    Carlow University is a wonderful school full of talented instructors that give each student the respect and attention they need and deserve. I am proud to call myself a student of this fine university. I feel more than prepared to enter the world educated and confident.

  • 08/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. A lot of security. Many buildings only accessible by students with I.D. cards.

    Greek Life

    Has sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of activities and clubs and sports. Very social.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Near Oakland and University of Pitt. A lot to see and learn.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive but scholarships, grants, and loans help a lot.

    What to do for fun

    Many parties and social events. Oakland is near with many food places.

    Food and Dining

    It's better than cafeteria lunches.

    Dorm Life

    People are fun but it isn't % star.

    Academic Rigor

    Study. You need to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember to study. Do not procrastinate. Balance fun with work.

    In three sentences

    Very social and informative. The teachers are very helpful and are always able to help. The students are kind and helping.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Carlow is great for adult students and those interested in nursing, education, or biology.

    Bang for the buck

    It's bit on the expensive side so make sure you have enough scholarships and loans to cover all costs.

    What to do for fun

    The Campus Activities Board plans a lot of fun events on and off campus so there is always something to do or look forward to. The big event of the spring is Spring on the Green which is a carnival-type event with games and prizes and is a great way to meet people. In the commuter lounge there is a pool table/ping pong table for everyone to use and also a huge flat screen where a lot of students gather to watch big games.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat on campus very often.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter so no comment.

    Academic Rigor

    The course load can be tough but your professors and advisors do everything they can to help.

    In three sentences

    Carlow is a great university for nursing and education. It has all of the perks of a 4-year college without the large classes. Also being in the city is a great bonus!

  • 01/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    no problems

    Bang for the buck

    Good merit based scholarships helps with the cost - if you have good grades in HS you will get a decent scholarship.

    What to do for fun

    not much at Carlow - go next door to Pitt to have fun.

    Food and Dining

    ok - at best.

    Dorm Life

    Lots of drama - its almost all girls, what can you expect. You probably have a 50/50 chance of getting a good roommate. Hate shared bathrooms - some people are just pigs. But you find this at every school - overall Carlow dorms are ok.

    Academic Rigor

    Its hard - but that is what it should be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Rather than read these school edited (or created) reviews - when you visit the campus ask to speak with actual current nursing students in private, without any admissions or other staff people present. Best to catch students right after a class so administration can't select who you speak with or filter what they are allowed to tell you. TIP for administrators from Carlow reading this - look in the mirror before you blame your students.

    In three sentences

    Not good - Nursing program continues to decline. It is in risk of losing accreditation and administration seems to just blame the students.

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a small campus so it is easy for campus police to patrol. Everything is within walkimg distance.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities for everybody and everything.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want the full collefe experience within a small community atmosphere.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is expensive but not as high as some other collegea that I know of.

    What to do for fun

    You are in the middle of 5 other school campuses. There is always something going on.

    Food and Dining

    I loved the food. There is something for everyone.

    Dorm Life

    When I stayed on campus they were always looking for ways to improve your dorm life. It's always best to have a roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    The staff puts a lot of effort into gearing learning towards your needs. Your success equals their success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Find a group or activity that you're interested in and join. It is very important to feel connected and to be engaged. Do not be afraid to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    Great place to begin your education if you're straight oit of high school or and adult learner. The staff and other students are passionate about your success. There is always someone available to help.