Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Carroll College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/24/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you don't like to blend into the crowd, Carroll is a great place for you. The small student body allows professors to be on a first name basis with their classes. By your senior year, you will be know across campus by not only professors, but also the rest of the student body. Carroll is also a great school for people that love to stay active and get outdoors. During the warmer months, an impromptu game of ultimate frisbee is started almost every night, and the winter snows bring about campus wide snowball fights. There is always a car-load of students headed off for a weekend of camping or backpacking and the evenings are scattered with half clad swimmers returning from a dip in the campus pool. Carroll is a great place for students with a desire to train themselves to be the best they can. If you have a smile and a desire to learn, it may be the place for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you get the chance to visit Carroll College's campus, talk to the administration about staying on campus. They will pair you up with a current student and place you in the dorms for a night or two. This will allow you to experience the atmosphere first hand and also give you an idea of what life on campus is like. The professors are there for the students of Carroll and are never too busy to meet with a current student, or a prospective one. Be sure to contact the professors who teach your intended major and take the chance to talk to them. I'm sure you will find them friendly and helpful. They are wonderful people who inspire the students at Carroll every day.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Carroll College comes with what could be considered a staggering price tag, the numbers are deceiving. The financial aid offered at Carroll is tremendous, decreasing the price to almost half of its original sum. The staff of Carroll College is happy to offer any assistance possible with financial aid and scholarship applications and make themselves available year round.

    Am enjoying being here

    When a prospective student walks onto the campus of Carroll College for the first time, they are greeted by the green lawns and brick buildings that scatter the small hill that the Saints call home. It is a small campus, and nothing out of the ordinary at a first glance. The true beauty of Carroll lies not in it's architecture or manicured lawns, but rather in the people that study and live within its walls. The effort of Carroll College's facility to create a welcoming atmosphere is extended into the students themselves. Making a new friend is as easy as walking up to a stranger and introducing yourself. As if the easy-going and friendly atmosphere aren't enough, Carroll is in the perfect location. Escaping into the wilderness is as simple as a 15 minute drive in any direction. Helena is surrounded by the Rocky Mountains with many hiking, rock climbing, and even skiing areas nearby. The city of Helena is a great community that welcomes Carroll students with open arms. It is a welcoming community that provides a fantastic home for the Carroll College Saints.

    Am learning a lot

    Because Carroll College is a Liberal Arts School, students are required to take classes in many different fields of study including science, math, english, theology, and even philosophy. These classes are excellently taught and leave you with a desire to expand your education into as many fields as possible. The professors at Carroll have an intimate knowledge that expands beyond the classroom and they strive teach students more then just textbook lessons. Carroll College is a place of learning that goes beyond professors and lectures and into the hearts and minds of its student body.

  • 10/18/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There are all types of students at Carroll. I have friends from all walks of life and different backgrounds. People who are adventurous, spiritual, shy, go-with-the-flow kinda people . . . everyone fits.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find the school that's right for you. Not everyone's ideal school is Carroll. But I highly suggest coming for a visit if you're looking at Carroll. This place has a way of making you feel right at home. Ask a lot of questions, and just get a feel for the place. Stay in the dorms for a night, see how it feels to be a Carroll Saint.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is a bit on the expensive side, but worth every penny. The experiences I have gained here I wouldn't trade for the world. I have learned more about myself and the world around me my freshman year than all four years of high school. The teachers here challenge you because they want you to succeed. Classes are small, and teachers know you by name. They are willing to help you whenever and whatever you need. I have had teachers give out their cell phone and home phone numbers , just so we can stay in contact with them before tests and what not. To the faculty and staff at Carroll we are more than a number.

    Am enjoying being here

    Carroll is one big family, cheesy but true. The school is small enough that you have a great chance of meeting over half the students while attending. Carroll brings people together on common ground, they unite the students and empower them to help create a better future for themselves and the world. I am gained so many friends that I will treasure the rest of my life. These people have helped me to become a better person and grow in my faith.

    Am learning a lot

    Carroll College is a liberal arts school which means we are required to take courses in a number of different fields. This gives you the opportunity to learn about parts of the world which you never knew existed. It gives you insight into a different way of thinking. The teachers give you the opportunity to step out of your comfort zone to see things in a new light.

  • 07/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types of student can go to Carroll. If you're smart in math, sciences, health professions, or any other kind of subject, Carroll could help you get a four-year degree. Also if they don't have your exact major, you can build your own major with an advisor or two and get the major you want.

    Tips for prospective students

    I didn't do a campus visit because I had been to Carroll for various things and I lived in the same town. If you don't live in Helena, I think you should visit before you decide for sure because you can see how the student body works and how the professors work too.

    Bang for the buck

    Carroll seems pricey but the financial aid is wonderful. If you do owe money, the school as a couple payment plans to help pay for school.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being here because the professors know you, the student body is small, and there are several classes that you may know someone. The classes are small which helps with troubles in the subject. There is always somebody you know in all your classes too.

    Am learning a lot

    Carroll is not a typical college. I learned that your professors know you by first name within the first week of school. The professors are friendly and are willing to help whenever you need it. A lot of professors have office hours and if you can't make them, they will make an appointment to meet with you and help you with whatever troubles you in their class.

  • 08/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Carroll has an outstanding nursing program, biology and premed. program. Students interested in animal sciences should check the anthrozoology program that has become a new major here. The psychology program is has a very good reputation, along with the education and foreign language programs. Even students that are undecided when they start their freshman year finds a program that fits their desires for their future career aspirations.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest attending A Night on Us. This is a really fun program that allows you to see Carroll atmosphere and environment outside of the class room.

    Bang for the buck

    Carroll is a expensive school because it is a private school. However, you get way more out of your education. Carroll is a small school, therefore there are smaller class sizes, and more help available for you from professors. Your actual professor teaches the class, unlike some schools where a teacher's assistant (TA) does the majority of the teaching. Don't let the cost scare you.

    Am enjoying being here

    I look at Carroll as being my home. The people are very friendly and welcoming. There are fun activities (for example: tonight there is a huge slip and slide down a huge hill on the campus).

    Am learning a lot

    One thing I really love about Carroll College is the class room setting. The student to professor ratio is outstanding. If I need help on a concept, or am just not getting the material the professors are always willing to help me out. Usually their doors are always open and they are willing to help you, even if it is not their office hours. Carroll offers a variety of classes that help form and shape you not only as individuals, but for your profession as well.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs range from intramural basketball, soccer, flag football to Psychology Club, Anthrozoology, to Quidditch.

    Great for these types of students

    People who enjoy smaller crowds, and getting to know everyone you surround yourself with.

    Bang for the buck

    Depending on your area of study, the cost is worth it. You have the professor time and get more attention. If you grades are lacking or you need extra help there is always someone looking out for you.

    What to do for fun

    Hiking Mount Helena is a hot spot in the fall and spring. There are also local coffee shops that have a relaxing environment to study at or have a nice conversation with a friend. The movie theatre is also within walking distance.

    Food and Dining

    The dining service is nothing to complain about, it is cafeteria food. Not your mom's homemade meals. There options that range from vegetarian to carnivore so you will always find yourself finding something to indulge in.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life at Carroll is unique, in that because you have the opportunity to get to know your classmates. The are floor activities ranging from fondu parties, to dining out, to just casually getting to each other on a more personal level.

    Academic Rigor

    Carroll College has a very prestigious academic rigor. Anyone interested in a nursing or pre-medicine degree are definitely in the right at hands here. Even if you are not, all departments are incredibly professor-student oriented and will have you planning for a successful future after graduation.

    Tips for prospective students

    A few tips for prospective students; don't be intimidated by the cost of tuition. There are plenty of scholarships that can be found online, and provided by the school. Visit the campus and build a familiarity with the area. Always decide on the school you think is best for you, not where your mother thinks is best, or where you best friend is going.

    In three sentences

    Rating Carroll College on a 1 to 10 scale, it would be a 8. Carroll provides small class size, one-on-one professor time, and the ability to know your fellow classmates. The environment is more welcoming than other campuses.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards that patrol at night, but the doors to the dorms are unlocked during the day, allowing anyone to enter the buildings.

    What to do for fun

    There's so much to do! Hike, ski/snowboard at Great Divide, which is less than 30 minutes away, bike, coffee shops, get involved in clubs/activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food services are pretty good. The only drawback is the hours of operation are not always convenient for everyone.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are quite decent. There are so many friendly people and lots to do.

    Academic Rigor

    Many classes are challenging, but not too difficult. They push you in a good way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit!

    In three sentences

    Carroll is a wonderful school. It has great academics, a great faith community, and is in a great little town.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Fantastic, nothing ever happens that threatens the well being of the students

    Greek Life

    None

    Bang for the buck

    The on campus living and the food i wouldnt say is worth the price. But the academic side of the college is worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    Helena, Montana is filled with all sorts of incredible things to do. While their is not really any nightlife unless your twenty-one when you can go to the limited selection of bars in the town. Where all the fun comes in is what you can do outside. Hiking Mount Helena, biking, running, going to the nearby canyon ferry lake and much more. All of this is just minutes away and makes for an incredible experience.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall at Carroll is called the St. Thomas Aquinas Commons or the STAC, but what all the students call it is the rot. For about the first month the food seems great, but then you get used to it and it just goes down hill from there. while the main service bar changes daily basically everything else in the rot is the exact same day to day. By the end of the second month half the time you dont want to eat there.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Carroll, well to be frank, its quite the experience. As of right now i have only lived in the freshman dorm. Every freshman on campus is housed at this single dorm and every student in their first semester tends to go a little crazy, having everyone housed together makes for a crazy place to live. You get used to it eventually and adapt and then the experience is awesome and i can guarantee it will never be forgotten.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at carroll is to say the least very difficult, especially in my chosen major. In some classes to make them more difficult the professors make the grading scale 100-94 to achieve an A, 93-84 to achieve a B and so on. As well as this Carroll does not use plus's or minus's, instead an A is a 4.0, a B a 3.0 and continuing on from there, making the rigor even more difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared. Im sure that you have all heard that college is much harder then high-school, but this colleges grading will hit you like a brick wall. along with this is the social environment that is created by the small population of Carroll. Everyone knows each other so it creates a multitude of distractions, In other words be on task.

    In three sentences

    Carroll College is a premier liberal arts college that excels in the sciences and particularly pre-medicine. Located in Helena, Montana the college is situated in a beautiful valley bordered all around by mountains making for incredible surroundings. The college is all around one of the best choices for students both within Montana and all around the world.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards that patrol all day and night.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs like the Gay Straight Alliance, student government, the Equestrian club, and many sports.

    Great for these types of students

    Carroll is great for students aspiring to be nurses and doctors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a chapel located right in the freshman dorm and mass times to fit everyone's schedule.

    Bang for the buck

    Carroll is pricey, there is no denying that but the recognition it has and the great classes make it worthwhile. Especially for those looking to go into the medical field.

    What to do for fun

    There is lots to do outside with Mt. Helena right there! Also, Carroll is only an hour away from the bigger cities of Great Falls, Bozeman, and Missoula so plenty of shopping and concert opportunities!

    Food and Dining

    The options are somewhat limited but the food was always good.

    Dorm Life

    I've heard nothing but good things about the dorms from friends who attend other universities. These dorms are relatively spacious and have sinks in every room!

    Academic Rigor

    Carroll is very challenging academically but the help is there if you ask for it. Tutoring is free and professors have open office times!

    Tips for prospective students

    Carroll is the place for you if you want to be challenged but also want to be a name not just a number to a professor.

    In three sentences

    Carroll is a great private college where the students are truly the number one focus. The small class size allows for one-on-one time with the professor just like they promised. I also run cross country and track and Carroll is great with working with me when I miss classes for my sport.

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Carroll has a full time security staff that patrols the campus at all times. The floors Ca's also instill a feeling of constant security in the dorms. The worst thing I can think of happening at Carroll would have to be waiting out in the cold for your Ca to let you in because you locked yourself out of the dorms.

    Greek Life

    Carroll doesn't have Greek life. What we do have is multiple dorm floors that participate in multiple challenges and games. Our friendly competition builds camaraderie, friendship, and a sense of community the same way Greek life does.

    Clubs and Activities

    Carroll has a club for every activity you can imagine. There are clubs ranging from CAMP. the Carroll outdoor club, to multiple fine arts clubs. If you are creative enough to think of a club that doesn't exist at Carroll it is not had to start one. The student activity board holds at least one event a week and normally no less than three.

    Great for these types of students

    Carroll is great for all types of students. When you decide to attend you join what we call the Carroll Family. Carroll is particularly good for for people who love to help others, people who want to make a difference in the world, and outgoing people. Montana, being wild, attracts the brave, outgoing, and outdoorsy people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    About once a month the entire school comes together for live music, dinner, and a huge dance/ party. Everyone is always there and we celebrate another month successfully completed.

    Bang for the buck

    Carroll opens doors that you might have missed. Carroll sends students all around the world to study. Carroll also actively participates in humanitarian efforts throughout the world. All of this coupled with the small classes and available help make it impossible for me to imagine a place with more bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    Location, location, location. Helena is probably one of the most beautiful places you can imagine. Helena is a short drive from natural hot springs, a short walk from mountains, and is the heart of Big Sky Country. This allows us to enjoy a multitude of outdoor experiences from campus. We've even built a small jump and ski on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Carroll is catered by a company called Sodexo. Food from Sodexo has its ups and downs. While Sodexo is always hot and ready and is infinitely better that cafeteria food, you miss home made food.

    Dorm Life

    Because of my school's small population the dorms have become a very tight knit community. Everyone knows and is friends with everyone. This allows for great study groups and life long friends to rely on.

    Academic Rigor

    Carroll has earned a very prestigious title. Carroll puts each student through extreme, but not excessive, rigor. The staff at Carroll personal knowing every student by name and they are very willing to help any student any time day or night.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you look at schools you need to look at how you learn best and what you truly want out of your college experience. If your the kind of student that never has a question, doesn't need to ever speak to the professor, and prefers to spend hours on hours reading text books then maybe Carroll is not the place for you. If you are a person who likes to know how and why things work and to have face time with a professor who knows you by name I would definitely recommend Carroll to you.

    In three sentences

    Carroll is unique in the way it goes about the college sene. Classes are challenging, exciting, and personal with only a few people in each class. It is because of our small classes that our teachers are able to really bring points home, make classes interesting, and ensure that you know what is being taught.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have people that patrol the grounds 24/7. I like it and I feel safe here.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    they are not easily known of. I wish I could have been in one but they were not available for me to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of scholars. But, as expensive as it is to come here; don't unless you are decided in what you want to do.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a weekend called Soft ball weekend that all the students look forward to. I don't know what they would do if they got rid of it.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a great distance from my home town. There aren't many opportunities for me to get used to the town. I don't know why people stay here during the summer. The school is great but the city it is located in is not.

    What to do for fun

    Snow boarding at nearby resorts, hiking, lake swimming.

    Food and Dining

    There are many things that take getting used to. they completely over charge for the quality of food. Breakfast is the best meal they provide.

    Dorm Life

    There are great people that look over the dorms to assure security. The rooms echo and the wall are thin. And, sharing a bathroom that is too small with thirty girls is not ideal.

    Academic Rigor

    The class sizes are typically small so getting one on one time with the professors is beneficial. Also, the students' success is the most important thing to the professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at the CORE curriculum and if you plan on attending take as many non-major classes as possible while in high school. Doing this will allow you to take the classes you want without worrying as much about the other areas of discipline.

    In three sentences

    Carroll College is very demanding of its students, which make it a great choice for student who like to challenge themselves. The teachers are always there to help the students for whatever problem they have. However, there are problems with the living situations on campus because the buildings are older.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is small and one can walk across it in five minutes. The security guards do their job. At night I can feel safe being alone on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Bowling, go to the movies, play pool.

    Food and Dining

    The food could be worse; sometimes it is just plain weird or gross, but they always try to have something for everyone. The servers are super nice.

    Dorm Life

    Sometimes it gets noisy and some people get crazy. Weekends get worse when people start partying.

    Academic Rigor

    If you don't want to work hard, don't come to Carroll, and especially don't do nursing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try hard and do your homework. Don't get caught up in what other people do.

    In three sentences

    Teachers are helpful and caring. People care about you. The food is boring and sometimes not good.

  • 04/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards on campus at all hours. Living in Helena, Montana there really isn't a huge call for danger to begin with, but it is nice to know there are extra people walking around looking out for the good of all the students.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately, there is no Greek life here at Carroll. It isn't really needed though. It is very easy to quickly find a group of friends that you click with and will last a lifetime.

    Clubs and Activities

    Carroll has something for everyone! There is a huge range of clubs and if there isn't something you want, it isn't hard to get it started.

    Great for these types of students

    Carroll is a great choice for students that want a small environment. At Carroll you have a name, you aren't just a number sitting in a class room. Professors notice if you aren't in class. If you want to blend into a crowd, Carroll is not the place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Carroll has several traditions. At the beginning of every school year they put on a huge slip n slide down on of the many hills on campus. It' s a lot of fun and a great way to make new friends right away. Every spring they also put on a softball weekend. You and your friends can create a team and enjoy a nice weekend of fun in the sun.

    Bang for the buck

    Choosing to come to Carroll is definitely a financial investment! This school is great though! The professors are very educated in their field of knowledge and are eager to share with their students. The education found at Carroll is unlike anywhere else and is worth the money in the end.

    What to do for fun

    The school puts on events all the time. There are swing dances frequently, live bands, comedians, you name it, the college has probably brought it to campus at some point. If you are open to anything, it is pretty hard to get bored.

    Food and Dining

    Generally, there is a variety of choices at each meal. The only down side to eating on campus is as the year goes on the meals progressively get less and less enjoyable. There is a sub shop on campus that has good food as well though for when the cafeteria just isn't doing it for you.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is an excellent way to make the friends you will have for the rest of your life. There are ways to get around living on campus, but I don't recommend it! The rooms are a decent size for two people and by living on campus there is no reason to need a car and you are close to all the activities put on at the school and your classes.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are what you make them. It is easy to challenge yourself in every class you take and the load you choose to put on yourself. An easy class can still be a great learning experience if you are willing to put some work into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a college where you won't see friendly faces everywhere you go, Carroll is not for you. The professors are great about being there to help your every need and you will run into friends around every corner; however, a small college just isn't the right fit for some people.

    In three sentences

    Personally, I could not be happier with my decision to come to Carroll College. The small community feeling this school puts off and the availability of professors is unlike anything you will find at a larger university.

  • 06/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those that participate in Catholicism but if not you'll fit in just fine.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a slip-n-slide through the 3rd floor in Quad every year. They use soap and it's a ton of fun.

    What to do for fun

    Anything and everything outdoors plus video game and movies with friends. Skiing is real big it seems. Mostly down hill but some people try out cross country too.

    Food and Dining

    The rot is... alright most of the time. You won't go hungry.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman year. Quad Hall. Awesome. Just look up Quad Life on youtube and that should give you a pretty good idea.

    Academic Rigor

    It's hard, the assigned homework could take you hours if you do it all but some of it isn't graded. If you do all the homework and study though then you will almost certainly get A's on the test. You learn lots the more you try

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are thinking about coming to Carroll it is a good choice. I recommend it highly if you are interested in the pre-med program or if you are looking for a school with a great friendly atmosphere.

    In three sentences

    Carroll is just a great school in a very friendly town. The atmosphere is superb and the academics are taken seriously. It is a very worthwhile school

  • 11/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Anything outdoors is very close by.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria has poor food options, is overpriced, and has bad food. However there are other good food options.

    Dorm Life

    Very social dorm life your freshman and sophomore year.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are small so teachers expect a higher level of effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Eat at the Cafeteria as infrequently as possible.

    In three sentences

    Carroll college is a small friendly college that offers great opportunities to a wide diversity of students. It provides a large selection of majors to students and is renowned for its premedical and engineering programs. The small classroom sizes allow for plenty of one on one time with teachers creating a great learning environment.

  • 11/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much to do, mostly football, mostly partying.

    Food and Dining

    Food pretty much sucks.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is sorta alright.

    Academic Rigor

    Very good academics here. Teacher to student relationship is amazing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to lower your cost of tuition. Find scholarships, save money, do anything that will help cut down that high cost.

    In three sentences

    Carroll College is a very academic forward college. Cost of attending Carroll is high, but worth it. All around good college.

  • 01/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No breaches of security. Ever. Campus security patrols almost needlessly. I want around town by myself at night frequently, and I've never been afraid or been given a reason to be. I am a girl.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    While there is a club for every interest and passion, they have periods of inactivity. Except campus ministry.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to milk their college experience for what it's worth, and get away from home and gain some independence. At the same time, you get a degree from a reputable school. Students who want no limits placed on their college experience and who also want to be able to find help whenever it's needed. Students who want to explore areas they didn't get to in high school, this school will get you involved! Student who want exposure to all kinds of different things.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Fall slip and slide on campus. And all freshmen fall down Guad hill in adjusting to the snow. All I can think of right now.

    Bang for the buck

    One one of the greatest schools in the NW and (very) low priced for a private school. Great, a thousand times over!

    What to do for fun

    Anything you want! Art viewing, art making (ceramics), gaming, folk music, town symphony, ballet, theater, skiing, hiking, shopping (though not on a large scale), oldies, folk performances, Cinemark, and then all the college related things. That includes choirs, jazz combos, lectures, art galleries, literature festivals, book clubs, intramurals, NAIA sports, jam sessions, improvisation, dances, campus ministry...I couldn't possibly name it all, but there are several things going on every weekend. But you have to go yourself and check the town/college calendar and pin boards yourself. Granted, if you're big into D1 or professional sports, you're SOL here.

    Food and Dining

    I have no idea what all the complaining is about. I honestly think bi*ching about the dining services is only a form of entertainment among students here. There are so many options that accommodate all tastes! Fruit? Vegetables? Burgers? Pizza? Deli sandwiches? Health foods? Gluten free? Salads? Soda? Juice? Tea? Coffee? Ice cream? Baked deserts? Asian? Pasta? Hispanic? Specialty exhibition cooking? Cereal any time? Toast/bagels/donuts/muffins anytime? More that I'm not thinking of? Nutrition facts for it all? I never got this variety at home and the quality is more than acceptable. The rot is a completely unfair name. You can't expect a college campus to hire five star chefs to cook for you every meal or make mom's lasagna recipe just how you like it. Stop being spoiled brats, STAC antagonizers. Also, who are you to complain about the campus exact replica of Starbucks and Subway? Good food and good hours. What's the problem?

    Dorm Life

    My only complaint is that laundry is expensive and my clothes don't get as clean as they do at home. Otherwise, lots of dorm activities, resources within the dorms, and always people out and about and wanting to hang out! Dorm life is pretty active, save fall/winter/spring breaks.

    Academic Rigor

    Each department presents a challenge to its students, but only the sciences present a formidable challenge. I'm a liberal arts student and though I'm learning and would not go anywhere else, I wouldn't object to a slightly more difficult course load. However, I am also only in 100/200 level classes as a freshman.

    Tips for prospective students

    People who are from a big city tend to compare Helena to the city. You can't. They're different. I am of the personal opinion that if you can't find something to do in a place like Helena then you're a spoiled, lazy nitwit; however, it doesn't change the fact that some people really have been pampered and have had entertainment shoved in their faces their whole lives. In other words, if you're from a large city and you constantly require someone to entertain you, I would rethink coming here. No one is going to entertain you. There are tons of things here, but you have to find/go to them yourself.

    In three sentences

    A small, yet rigorous diverse school in a small, yet active diverse town. For a town its size, Helena has a number of great coffee shops, restaurants, artsy outlets, and quaint stores; the school offers a ton of extracurriculars and is extremely multifaceted in relation to its size. The atmosphere is incomparably friendly, as well.

  • 02/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Totally safe.

    Greek Life

    Non existant

    Bang for the buck

    There are academic scholarships that make Carroll almost as affordable as a state university. Small class sizes, no TA's, your professors know you. Priceless.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of spirit around our football team. If you like the outdoors, there are so many things to do...and it is absolutely beautiful. BIG sky country!!

    Food and Dining

    I don't like the food.

    Dorm Life

    Fun, have been in the dorms for 2 years. Did not know my roommate as a frosh and she was sweet and we got on well. kids here are pretty down to earth, not snobby at all. This is a small school...which means don't make enemies!

    Academic Rigor

    Definitely have to study, lots of help from most Professors who really know you and care about your success friends who are nursing majors have to study hard. Several had to change their majors..

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit campus, go to a class to observe and talk to faculty. You will be impressed. It is COLD here in the winter but everything is close and I have enjoyed it despite my never having dealt with snow before.

    In three sentences

    Friendly atmosphere (have met awesome friends), Academically challenging, awesome support from administration with anything you need, Comfortable dorm life, cafeteria not so good. Kids here are pretty down to earth, not snobby at all. No pressure to wear certain brands, carry the right handbag. Kinda nice :)

  • 03/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who loves to meet new people and like a smaller college environment. Carroll's small environment is nice. You get to meet everyone and know people easily. The sports programs are very nice at carroll and they succeed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    For traditions the freshman all stay in guadalupe hall and all get to know each other. There is the freshman dance where you get to chill and dance with new people. Swing dances are a huge thing when the weather is nice and they have people there that teach you how to dance.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you can go to any of the many events that are going on at the campus. You can go to sports games. You can even just knock on someones door and hang with them, meet new people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to open yourself up and meet new people. Talk to the teachers and get them to know who you are. Branch out and join clubs and intramurals.

    In three sentences

    Carroll is a wonderful places full of life and excitement. Everyone at Carroll is friendly and easy to get along with. The environment is amazing and the teachers are very sociable.

  • 03/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    This depends on what you like to do. There is a movie theater, many people leave campus for the weekend, or you can go hiking. There aren't a ton of options in Helena, but you make it work.

    Food and Dining

    I personally could live without the STAC (also known as the ROT). Food is pretty terrible, and if you are gluten free, good luck. They have their good days, but the convenience is the best part. There are some great local places to eat though.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorm (Guad) is awesome and you will meet some of your best friends here. Bathrooms and showers get gross towards the end of the day, but what do you expect with 300 people in a building. The school itself doesn't put on a ton of activities, but the ones they do are great. Just find your group of friends and you can find stuff to do.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are extremely tough, especially is some of the more difficult majors. It requires a lot of time to do well. Teachers really care though and will help you until you understand it. There are also free tutors.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips are come in with an open mind and just be yourself. Anyone can fit in here, but not if you are acting fake. Devote lots of time to your studies, but have some fun too.

    In three sentences

    Carroll is great with small class sizes and personal attention. The small size of the school can be a downside. The STAC (food) is hit and miss, great some nights and bad others.