Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Carson-Newman University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/30/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Carson-Newman is a great school for all different types of students. If you like to be challenged academically, a small student body, and a Christian atmosphere that really makes learning somehow more positive then I would say that Carson-Newman is a good place for you! It is a great school that provides many opportunities to succeed both in and outside the classroom, it equips us as students to be prepared for the work force and real life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your application in early so that you have time to review all your options, not to mention you get early enrollment which looks good on your part! Come up and take a campus tour, ask lots of questions, and even stop students walking to and from classes and ask their opinions of the college. If you know what your major will be really take the time to tour and ask questions within that department. Once you get to Carson-Newman I would really suggest to get involved in as many things possible. This college does a great job at having a week dedicated to mixers and fun activities for freshmen to get to know each other. They are all really fun, and you get to meet SO many people!!! Stay involved after that, find organizations that you like and get involved in them. It's a great way to meet people and it's fun to be a part of something. There is literally some type of organization for everyone! We have many different campus ministries and they all work at being involved in your life. Also, make sure that you learn how to stay organized! It's hard adjusting to college life and the freedom that comes from not living at home anymore. You still have to stay on top of your classes because your professors aren't going to remind you of every little thing. I would suggest a calendar/planner or get updates of your schedule to your phone; whatever it takes to remember due dates! Finally, have fun!

    Bang for the buck

    I does cost a lot to attend Carson-Newman College, but for the most part you get out of it what you put in. Education is at the top of the list and our faulty is awesome and we get a great education out of it! The buildings on campus all have historical meaning behind them, and the school is trying to preserve those values, but it's time to do some fixing up and renovating. Some of the building could just really use some work and maybe upgrading to more current standards would help. We all want to see the antique and history attributes stay on campus, but I think some of the money we spend should go towards fixing that up. Also, the food in our cafeteria is not the best in the world. Sometimes I feel like I'm paying so much per meal to walk out still hungry. They do try to offer many options, but they cook things with weird combinations. It's not awful, but I wish it would improve some. Overall, I think that we do get what we pay for.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love Carson-Newman!! It has been such a great experience and I am so happy to be here! I have made some really awesome friends and memories that I would not trade for anything. There might not be a whole lot to do on campus or in the tiny town of Jefferson City but you can always find something to do; whether that be a movie night, random rides around time jamming out to music or just studying outside. I love that I can walk around campus and recognize just about everyone who passes by. It makes college feel more like home. I love that there are so many ways to get involved on our campus. There is something for just about every single person and the more involved you are the more fun you can have. Carson-Newman is a great place to be and I am super thankful to be here!!!!

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning so much at Carson-Newman College. The professors are wonderful and really strive for excellence within their classrooms. They really care about their students and how well they perform in the classroom. They take the time to get to know their students on a more personal level and strive to help them in any way possible. They make themselves available when students have questions or don't understand something. I push myself to do well in my classes, but the professors also want that for their students. The small class size really helps with this because students can get that one on one time with the professors and it also helps keep students accountable for coming to class. They try to present the material in different and interesting ways so that the students learn the material. Carson-Newman is a liberal arts college, we have to take many different general education classes along with the classes for our major. And for the most part I have walked away from every class really learning a lot!!!

  • 06/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are being assertive to look at schools here, you will fit right in at Carson-Newman. You will be the type of student to excel in their studies and be involved on campus, and will be the type of alumni the college would be proud of.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be cool with everything. Things are going to change a lot, and for the better. Though I love my parents very dearly, I am a strong advocate for students staying on the weekends instead of going home, especially freshman year. That is when people begin to meet friends that they keep throughout their time at college. I'm not saying that if you go home on the weekends that you won't make friends, it just makes it harder. One other thing, do not underestimate studying for your classes. Your profs might teach you in a way that makes the material easy to understand, but the key to learning is to apply the concepts you learn to the rest of the subject later on in the semester.

    Bang for the buck

    Though the school is more expensive than public schools, it is far worth it. The adjective private on the affiliation of the school allows the teachers to teach everything they know and all of the possible answers to what is happening in life, not just a curriculum decided by a governmental council. I have never thought about regretting my decision to come here and I hope you make the same.

    Am enjoying being here

    The students I am around are the best I could ask for. There are so many types of people that I am sure anyone can find friends. I have grown so much in m y time here and college life is the bomb. The guys on my hall have become my best friends, the college offers many intramural (casual) sports and games to play each week and there are over 100 clubs and organizations for people to choose among their interests for involvement and fellowship.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are ranked some of the best in the country. We are not a research-based school, which means we don't have the highest payrolled teachers but it also means that the teachers are here FOR THE STUDENTS! Two of my profs took pay cuts to come here and almost every one of my teachers has invited us, either as individuals, small groups, or our whole class to dinner out, or at their houses. I have even received 3 different invites from my college's president to have cookies and milk with him and his wife. My teacher's really do know their stuff as 98% of them have the highest degree that they can have in their field. But they aren't so brilliant that they set themselves apart from their students. They constantly change their methods and style of teaching to accommodate the varying students' needs. They have long office hours and even give you their personal and home phone numbers if you have questions or concerns on the weekends.

  • 11/26/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Carson-Newman is great for many different types of students. It is good for students who like to have a lot of fun and be involved, without the norm college things (partying). There isn't a pick spilt into groups but there is a type of person for everyone, and different activities for every type. It is definitely a great place for students who love interacting with other people and love having professors care about them and be involved in their lives. It's also great for people seeking to grow spiritually and learn new things everyday about themselves, God, and other people.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students are to GET INVOLVED right from day one! Do Eagle Strut, get involved in Howdy Hoot, and stay up late during orientation and one classes start and talk to people you don't know! If you are a brave one coming in alone (I was), then put yourself out of your comfort zone even more. Stretch yourself! It is so much easier than in high school, because everyone is trying to branch out and make new friends. Also, USE YOUR PLANNER! Planners are the only thing that will keep you up to date for academics and have a social life at the same time. My last tip is to get involved in a campus ministry. There are ministries for athletes, for more conservative people, for more liberal people, for people who want to do missions and go on trips, and just for people who want to get together and pray. GET INVOLVED!

    Bang for the buck

    It is definitely a lot of buck, but it is a lot more bang. The buildings are pretty old (but beautiful) and it doesn't always feel luxurious to walk into the dining hall instead of getting home cooked food, but the people here make up for it, and the programs to get involved are so extensive and so fit for many different types of people that it makes up for it. You can truly get a good college experience here, and remember every bit of it.

    Am enjoying being here

    When I come back to the dorm after being away, I let out a sigh of relief, and when I go into a building, or walk around campus, or go to eat in the dining hall, there are tons of people that I know and love smiling at me and encouraging me. Even the people I don't know, the workers and maintenance staff and random people walking around are smiling and saying hello. It's been an amazing experience being part of campus and campus life, and living in the dorms with fellow sisters in Christ, and spending time with people off campus and on campus and growing up together.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning SO much here at Carson-Newman. The professors are my favorite part, and they make the classes so interesting and worthwhile. The professors are there for you in academics but also work with you when you are going through life experiences, and offer up constructive and encouraging advice and support. Not only do I love the professors and think they are perfect for a small christian environment, Students actually seem to see real life lessons through a lot of classes. Some of my favorite classes have been: Human Services, Liberal Arts (the infamous CN required LA), New Testament, and Social Problems. I learned so much about myself and about the world through these classes and professors.

  • 09/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Carson-Newman is great for students who want small classes, who like giving back to the community, and who are willing to study hard while getting to know classmates. Carson-Newman is a great college for shy or outgoing people, but also for those who are in between those two extremes.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip for you prospective students would be to get involved. Join a group, intramural, or whatever appeals to you. Don't be afraid to get involved and meet lots of people. Just don't overwhelm yourself.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, it is a little more expensive as a private college but you are paying for the small class size. The biggest undergraduate class that I know of has only about 50 people, maybe less. You begin to make friends from the very start.

    Am enjoying being here

    Carson-Newman offers many different on campus activities to include everyone. No matter what you like to do there is bound to be something for you. As a Christian school, you are encouraged to continue to develop your faith in all that you do. This school is a great place to learn who you are.

    Am learning a lot

    Carson-Newman's small class size give me the opportunity to have one on one conversations and help from my professors. If you don't get the concept the first time around, the professors don't mind if you ask questions during a lecture. In class we learn from the professors' real world experiences and examples.

  • 05/11/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like a huge population, this is not for you. If you like a small, but not claustrophobic school, then Carson Newman is a great option. It is a lot of money, but when you see the campus, it will make sense.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus! It is absolutely beautiful! Make sure you meet with an admissions conselor; they are a huge help in clearing any confusion or answering any questions. Also, make sure you see the dorms, very nice.

  • 12/03/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those that like a smaller school and a Christian environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research all of your options. It really helps making a better decision.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm not sure. It's expensive, but I'm working hard to figure out a way to pay for it.

    Will enjoy being here

    Yes, the campus is vey nice and has a great feel. There is a lot of fun things planned and the students seem very happy.

    Will learn a lot

    I am hoping to become a nurse. I've been impressed with the faculty and their attention to the students and desire to make them successful. That has been a major plus in making my decision. I believe that will make me a better student and learner.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel completely safe at carson-newman. i'm not afraid to walk anywhere at any time by myself and the security does a great job alerting of anything that is going on.

    Great for these types of students

    cn is great for student's who live near the college and are baptist. there is a heavy influence of religion with mandatory chapel credits. the campus is practically a ghost town on weekends, so if you don't live nearby or have a good friend who does, you are likely to become very bored.

    What to do for fun

    on campus, there is very little to do for fun. off campus there is hiking and the dam to go for outdoor adventures. the nearest movie theatre or bowling alley is probably a half an hour's drive away.

    Food and Dining

    the only bright spot for food on campus is the eagles nest which serves hamburgers and other grill items. but that even has it's downside because it's closed on weekends. off campus has very limited options for food unless you want fast food or are willing to drive a half an hour to knoxville or gatlinburg.

    Dorm Life

    it's pretty much an average dorm room, maybe smaller than average. the dorm i am currently living in is old and probably could be renovated. the bathrooms can be kind of gross at times, although the showers are quality and normally have hot water and good water pressure.

    Academic Rigor

    in high school, i took a very heavy workload and took eight ap classes. they very much prepared me for college and the classes i have taken so far have less work than my ap classes did. that is not to say one can completely slack off and pass, but it has been no more challenging than ap classes thus far in my time here.

    Tips for prospective students

    no matter what colleges and universities you are looking at, really dive into every aspect of the college before making your decision. look at everything that is important to you in a school. there is a school that will meet your criteria, you just have to find it! :)

    In three sentences

    it's great if you like a very small town and plan on going home on the weekends. if not, there is very little to do outside of the classroom.

  • 11/16/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 8 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    Is there an application fee for Carson-Newman and is it hard to get into?

  • 02/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 33

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    haven't visit yet!!!!!! but i hear carson-newman is great school. i truly will be attending carson-newman!

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is not very big compared to other universities, so the campus safety, overall, is really good. The campus is nestled in a peaceful grove of trees. There has never been any big issue with campus safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    Carson-Newman offers the Bonner's Program where students can help out the community. Carson-Newman also takes pride in offering the most intramural sports in the area, such as frolf (frisbee golf), football, and tennis. There is always something to be apart of at Carson-Newman!

    What to do for fun

    Carson-Newman is a Christian college and they take pride in helping the community. One can serve the community by helping out with Habitat for Humanity, the Boys and Girls Club, and other community outreaches. Carson-Newman is also about an hour from bustling Knoxville, Tennessee and Pigeon Forge, Tennessee.

    Food and Dining

    The food is superb. Carson-Newman has a great cafeteria with great food. Carson-Newman is also settled very close to some great restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are absolutely excellent. The entire campus is extremely beautiful. The buildings have a rustic feel to them, the dorms are really nice, and above all, one gets to experience all of this nestled in the Great Smoky Mountains!

    Academic Rigor

    Carson-Newman takes great pride in their endeavors to teach young students all they need to know about the world. The academics are very strong and should not be taken lightly. Carson-Newman will push each student to rise above difficult challenges so they may prosper in the world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are ready to study and work all the time. Your mind and heart must be prepared to learn what the staff teaches you. They are there to help you any single way they can, so do not hesitate to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    Carson-Newman is an outstanding college where anyone can fulfill their dreams at. The staff is willing to give 110% to make sure each student reaches their potential and exceed his/her expectations. The future is becoming much brighter with Carson-Newman sending students into to the world to make a difference.

  • 05/25/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are only two sororities. One that is more involved in campus social activities and the other that is involved in community service and mission work.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to pursue a major in Nursing or Religion.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though the college is expensive, they have donors and alumni that randomly give scholarships to help students. Financial aid is a strong point for this school and they are willing to work with you. Departmental scholarships are offered also, but are given to outstanding and hardworking students.

    What to do for fun

    The college is big on intramural sports teams and community service organizations. If you're worried about being bored, it will happen in a town like Jefferson City, TN so you should consider getting involved in a club or intramural team.

    Food and Dining

    They have quite a range of food, but they still lack a solid gluten-free or vegan section. Sometimes the food will be really bad and other times they get creative and it will be excellent. It's a hit or miss with any dining service. If all else fails, go to The Eagle's Nest (which is like a fast food grill).

    Dorm Life

    I made some of my best friends my freshman year at Carson-Newman College. Freshman year is critical in making friends and one of the easiest ways is in your residence hall. Leave your door open to encourage conversation with your hall mates. However, the RAs in the female freshman dorms treat you like small children. When you're a sophomore or junior you can choose Alumni resident hall or Swann. Swann has bigger and prettier rooms but Alumni has some of the coolest and most laid-back girls.

    Academic Rigor

    The general education classes you have to take for the liberal arts degree range from extremely easy to unnecessarily hard. You have to talk to current students and see what professors to take if you want good advice. If you're in the science department, the classes are really difficult; however, the majority of professors are willing to help with any rigorous topics. They honestly care about you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you meet with professors and advisers prior to attending Carson-Newman. They don't offer many medical programs (like Pre-dental programs), also some other majors have been cut in the past years. Many students are turned off by the campus being so small and the college town doesn't have anything but a Walmart. Visit! Visit! Visit!

    In three sentences

    Carson-Newman is welcoming in every aspect; the professors really care about you and the students are eager to make friends. Community is big for Carson-Newman since there isn't much to do in town - people have to be creative in making their own fun. It's not as strict as you think; God is a big part of the college but they aren't going to hammer the Bible into you.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great! There has been no major occurrences in a couple of years that I am aware of.

    Greek Life

    Gamma Sig is the only sorority. No Fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are no major clubs except the ones associated with certian majors such as the biology club and chemistry club and so on.

    Great for these types of students

    Carson Newman is a well rounded school for everyone but is best for the calm studious person.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is just one unusual tradition we do at Carson Newman and it is called the C-N Ice Cream Fight. It is located on the football field and is a huge campus ice cream fight.

    Bang for the buck

    Carson Newman is the place to be if you want to take your education seriously. It is located in a very quiet rural community but is just 45 minutes from knoxville if you have a yearning for excitement and fun. Carson Newman also believes strongly in service and is ranked #1 in the nation for service oriented students.

    What to do for fun

    What i do for fun is either swim, play basketball, play tennis, or play soccer. There is a recreational center on campus that has pool tables and games of all sorts.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good usually but they tend to serve the same things every week and sometimes they use way too much grease but it is usually decent.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life here is amazing and every single person is friendly and respectful. The dorms are rustic and smell but very livable if you keep your own dorm clean. bathrooms are decent and Hot water is great and works. Their are many activities we do as dorms along with campuswide competitions we do with each dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic Rigor of Carson Newman is very difficult and time consuming. If you procrastinate then you WILL fail or come close to it. This school is designed for the academically astute students who want to do their best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students who are interested in Carson Newman must first understand that this private school doesn't view statistics and the pass/fail rating as the most important thing. Professors here will push you and are proud of you even if you make a C because in comparison a C at Carson Newman is a B or an A at any state school you attend.

    In three sentences

    Carson Newman is a top academic college and in my opinion is better than a state school because the professors at Carson Newman care so much on your success that they will take the time out of their busy schedules to help you excel. As a current student I feel that this school is preparing me for the real world because I am not taught for a test, i am taught to learn and to apply what Ive learned in the real world.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Constantly sending alerts by email and txt. they also love to patrol.

    Clubs and Activities

    recognized as the top christian volunteer college this year.

    Great for these types of students

    social, energetic, loving, and caring.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Have to attend church aka CLW aka chapel.

    Bang for the buck

    EVERYONE WILL KNOW YOUR NAME!

    What to do for fun

    movie on the lawn nights are awesome where you watch a nice movie, like Thor, outside with friends and free popcorn.

    Food and Dining

    they have a friendly place to eat. their popular food is on certain days only, like chicken patty Friday.

    Dorm Life

    You create your dorm. But there water and showers are not so workable.

    Academic Rigor

    Religious classes are difficult, yet interesting. And so are history and Liberal Arts.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Be prepared to have an opinion. 2. get ready for the most different schedule change of your life. 3. remember why and how your in college

    In three sentences

    It's a full-blown University of Christians, yet with an open liberal arts understanding and atmosphere with a true affection of caring for each student. Every professor can remember the students name and can become his or her mentor. It's a college with a friendly staff and student body.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always patrolling campus, and are readily available at all hours. Jimmy Hodges makes sure nothing passes undetected!

    Bang for the buck

    Carson-Newman is not cheap. However, I doubt an experience like the one provided at CN should be cheap. The bond created between the students, faculty and professors is like none other I have ever experienced.

    Food and Dining

    The Eagle's Nest is the place to be! It offers hamburgers and fries, quesadillas, cheese sticks and much more! The cafeteria has a lot to be desired. It is a hit or miss on whether the food is really good or not. However, if all else fails there is always pizza and fries!

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are here for the students. This is apparent in the way they conduct classes, push students toward excellence, and make themselves readily available to the students outside of class for any issue they may have. The professors truly believe in the students and expect them to put their best forward.

    In three sentences

    Carson-Newman is a place where students are not a number; they are part of the family. It is small, so students have the opportunity to become really involved in campus life and in classes.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    As a high school graduate i found myself only looking at the college that i thought would be best for me. when i opened my choices and started looking into other colleges i found Carson-Newman College. this is the perfect school for me. all im saying is open up your choices and do more research and if your like me you might find yourself at Carson-Newman College with me!!

    In three sentences

    Carson-Newman is a wonderful college. Its a place that everyone should want to be, the atmosphere is amazing and kind of says that whom ever steps on thier campus, are in the right hands.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to Walmart! Or the dam/lake

    Food and Dining

    They are working on the food situation.

    Dorm Life

    Residence halls could always improve, but i really like all of the girls halls. Each one fits different personalities.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are hard. But with effort you will be fine in most all classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be mindful of the tuition increasing by .4% each year.

    In three sentences

    Carson-Newman is a wonderful college, well university now. We aim to be like a family and that is what we are. Professors and staff actually do care about students success and personal well being.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The head security guy is like super ex marine security guy. He takes it super serious, and he should, you will always be receiving texts and emails about the happenings around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is any and everything that you can think of. And if there isn't you can start it.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a tad pricey, but i think its worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of inter murals.

    Food and Dining

    Its defiantly better than it used to be.

    Dorm Life

    Its a simple room. You can do whatever you want with it.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I've experienced, its challenging in a different way. You need to have an opinion on everything and you defiantly have to be able to express it in some way.

    Tips for prospective students

    BE ABLE TO EXPRESS YOUR OPINIONS!!!

    In three sentences

    Its a perfect school for someone looking to leave home to branch out and experience something new. People are friendly and professors are always open to new ideas and helping students.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never any issues.

    Greek Life

    Not frats, one sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Football team is great and baseball is also good. Intramural sports are also very fun and competitive.

    Great for these types of students

    religious, hard working, motivated, from a smaller city, intrested in education

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Chapel is every Tuesday. You need ten a semester.

    Bang for the buck

    It can get pricy but it is definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    They try to have a lot of on campus activities to participate in, but the city itself is small.

    Food and Dining

    It is all you can eat buffet style, but it gets somewhat repetitive.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a little outdated, but there are still some good accessories that come with them.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are great and the professors really strive to get the best from you.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a baptist school. Be prepared for taking New Testament and Old Testament. Jefferson City is not the biggest town, but Knoxville is just 25 minutes away.

    In three sentences

    Carson-Newman is a small, friendly college where you can get to know many people, including your professors. Class sizes are generally small with a good professor to student ratio. This is especially a great college for one looking to enhance their relationship with their spiritual life.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, located in a small town and everyone looks out for each other. Carson-Newman is also a dry campus so you wont have to worry about alcohol or drug related accidents.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs, one pertaining to all majors and there are also sororities/fraternities and every sport you can possibly think of that you can join, all do their own activities, service projects and trips.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who have a strong faith and are proud of it Students who like a small loving community Students who want a broad education

    What to do for fun

    Jefferson County is a small town, but we are located very close to the beautiful Smoky Mts. and surrounding tourist towns such as Sevierville and Pigeon Forge which both have a variety of activities. On campus though, there is lots to do, you can get involved in clubs which do various activists throughout the year and take mission trips around the world, you can also join a sorority/fraternity and one of my favorites is going to see a movie on the lawn and spreading out a blanket with all my friends and sharing snacks.

    Food and Dining

    On campus we have the regular cafeteria, but we also have a lunch bar which is where I eat called the Eagles Nest which I think has really good food. We also have Java City, a coffee and snack bar located in the library which is a great place to get a snack before studying. There are also fast food and great cafes located right off campus, most of which give us a discount with our school IDs.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great here at C-N because you are able to form those tight-knit connections with people and you really feel like your at home here. The dorms are really nice, you can have a roommate or live alone if you choose and there are also apartment-type dorms available for upper classmen who maintain a good GPA.

    Academic Rigor

    C-N provides courses in any field you can imagine and the a Liberal Arts aspect allows your to earn a general but stable education if you're not sure what you want to do. The Liberal Arts educations also allows you to take extra skills and knowledge outside of you major and enhances the overall impression of your resume.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose C-N if you like community service and want to combine your faith into your everyday academics. It is also a great school because the campus is smaller so you get to know your professors on a personal level which helps in the classroom.

    In three sentences

    Carson-Newman is a great college because it is very involved in the community and a great place for those who want to serve; C-N has been awarded many times for its role in community service. It is a Liberal Arts college which means it gives you a foundation education that can be expanded into any career. Carson-Newman is the perfect college to combine faith and community service with a great education and building wonderful relationships with peers and professors.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very dedicated to keeping its students safe and can be called anytime for help.

    Clubs and Activities

    Always something to do for everybody here, from music to sports, Christian outreach groups to poetry and song readings.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Homecoming is a pretty big thing here every year. I'm new here so I don't know everything but this college does have unusual but fun things to do. Such as cardboard city, where students act like homeless people to raise money to donate to shelters and such.

    Bang for the buck

    I absolutely love this school! Being part of a small college means I get to a lot of people and make actual connections with them. The professors here will actually help when you need it. Lots of extra fun things to do and weekends are great for studying, sleeping, and hanging with friends.

    What to do for fun

    At the library is a little coffee shop called Java City that's fun to hang at, and little coffee house/diner called the Creek is right down the road from campus, and can be walked to. Also Knoxville and Sevierville are both fairly close to campus and there is no end to entertainment there! Plus there is a lake about ten minutes from here that is very fun.

    Food and Dining

    Overall the food isn't too bad; certainly not the worst I've ever eaten! Pizza here is phenomenal, breakfast has a lot of options and is good, for vegi lovers there is a salad bar lunch and dinner, and the desserts here are sooo good!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great! I enjoy living on campus a lot. Meeting people on the hall is fun and I have an awesome roommate which makes my life so much more fun. Dorm rooms aren't huge but the space is enough; community bathrooms are kept clean and are never overly crowded.

    Academic Rigor

    This school isn't the easiest school ever but if you're willing to work then you'll learn a lot and do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out this college! Make sure to apply for scholarships from the school as there are many. Get involved in a intramural sport and don't be afraid to jump in and start doing things; the college really encourages it. Don't overkill your schedule: make sure you will enjoy your college time!

    In three sentences

    Carson-Newman is the best college ever! The classes are small enough that the professors know your name and can help you with a problem. Plus there are a ton of places to hang out on campus and a lot of extracurricular activities to participate in; a great student community!

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have awesome security on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs on campus. Just to name a few there is BCM, FCA, MCF, IYADA, big brother.

    Great for these types of students

    Carson-Newman is a great place for anyone seeking a close and personal relationship with their professors. Also, for anyone wanting to grow in their faith or be around people who just absolutely love Jesus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They always have orientation week and the annual block party. They also participate in a campus wide day of community service where we go out and better our community.

    Bang for the buck

    Carson Newman is expensive but well worth your money if you want a Christian family feel.

    What to do for fun

    Jefferson City is a very small town. My friends and I usually just hang out at the Dam near campus and watch movies, or travel into Morristown which is only 15 minutes away. Also, programs on campus set up activities to do on the weekends, during move in week, and finals week.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is an all you can eat buffet and the food is usually pretty fresh.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is amazing! This is where I met all my best friends. The RA's are so nice and are willing to help you with whatever you need.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic programs are tough, but they are worth it in the end. They really prepare you for your path of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely check out the campus and really explore it. There are so many opportunities available to students, anything from bible studies to big brother programs.

    In three sentences

    Carson-Newman is a breathtaking campus in a small family like environment. The professors are wonderful and extremely helpful. The classes are hard but teach you so much and really help you develop and encourage your faith in God.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is ok most of the time. We get the best food when we have visitors so everyone is always excited to see visitors on the campus. At other times the food is edible at least. Though there are many options on what to eat and they have meals for diets that include vegetarian and vegans

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is alright. Sometimes it can get a bit noisy at night when I am trying to sleep, but the dormitory itself is very clean and the girls in the dorm are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Carson-Newman is very rigorous academically. The classes are not easy and studying is required to pass the classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise perspective students to take their study time seriously. Carson-Newman is demanding academically. I also advise them to keep a planner to aid in time management

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs! Go to athletic events.

    Food and Dining

    They have many different stations, but the majority of the time the food is dry or doesn't taste very good.

    Dorm Life

    There are some great RAs! Make sure that you and your roommate can get along.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are always trying to challenge you so that you can become better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. Set expectations for yourself. If you ever need help, ask someone.

    In three sentences

    Carson-Newman has wonderful professors. They are all interested in helping you in your continuation of education. Overall Carson-Newman is a good school.

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Jimmy Hodges- ex-FBI has your back!

    Clubs and Activities

    BASIC on Wednesdays (Brothers and sisters in Christ) FCA SWIMM Intramural Championships (you get a t-shirt!)

    Great for these types of students

    Service-Oriented Spiritual Community-Driven

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't step on the seal in front of the Student Center or you will be a fifth year senior. Eat the caf cookies- they're delicious and addicting. 3 for Dale! Tallons Up! Paint up and sit with the Mossy Creek Maniacs to cheer on the Eagles

    Bang for the buck

    tons of aid available

    What to do for fun

    everything!

    Food and Dining

    Themed dinners are always fun

    Academic Rigor

    they want to push you to be your best

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors! They want to help you! Get involved in clubs, service opportunities, and intramurals Take advantage of Campus Life activities: they make lasting memories

    In three sentences

    Personal Challenging Fun

  • 06/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Jimmy Hodges is the man. Enough said.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like a small town college and enjoy hanging out on campus with friends.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Operation Inasmuch is a really great event, where students volunteer to go help at different areas of the community for an afternoon. Its cool to see so many students gather around something that is not about themselves.

    Bang for the buck

    Though expensive on its original price tag, most if not all students receive some type of financial aid. Carson Newman gives out a decent amount itself.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing like hitting up the MSAC, which has a pool, 3 court gym area, and lounges to hang out.

    Food and Dining

    With the Eagles Nest Cafe and the cafeteria, there are not alot of choices, but you can usually find something good to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun. Being able to hang out with other guys and play ping pong or just hang out is usually always an option.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the degree, some courses can be quite challenging, but professors are typically fair and understanding. If you put forth a good effort, teachers try to help you out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you choose a school based on more than just academics. Try to get an idea about the culture of the school and opportunities outside of the classroom.

    In three sentences

    I have found Carson Newman to have been a good learning institution that realizes you can make an impact outside of the classroom. Being one of the top community-service oriented schools in the nation reveals that CN believes in impacting the community it is located in for good. Carson Newman has given me a great opportunity to move into adulthood well educated and well rounded.

  • 06/26/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 33

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Carson-Newman has wonderful staff who are always willing to help. The campus is nice. It is located in a safe, peaceful town.

  • 07/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Intermurals, movie on the lawn, sporting events, Knoxville.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is well cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    I thought I would HATE traditional style, but now that I've done it for a year I couldn't imagine anything else. Living on a hall with all your friends and getting to see them all the time is great.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are hard and some are easy, but you'll leave each learning a lot more than you went in knowing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. Branch out from your normal group. Try everything.

    In three sentences

    Carson-Newman is a fun, close knit, Christ centered school. It allows students to grow intellectually, emotionally, and spiritually. Carson Newman is simply an amazing school.

  • 08/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our directory of security is a retired CIA agent... enough said.

    Clubs and Activities

    Carson Newman has one of the best Intramural programs in the country. From Quidditch to Basketball.

    Great for these types of students

    Carson-Newman is great for students who want to be involved in their community and grow as a person. Not only do you grow mentally, you grow spiritually as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    HOWDY HOOT!!! Howdy Hoot is our annual dorm vs. dorm competitions. Winner gets a door prize.. (It's literally a door.. get it?)

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, the school is kind of pricey... however there is no other school that cares and educates their students as well as Carson-Newman

    What to do for fun

    You can go to the lake that is less than 5 minutes away. There are also caves that can be explored close by. The school is 20 minutes from both Knoxville and Pigeon Forge... aka Dollywood.

    Food and Dining

    Isn't all college dining just kind of average?

    Dorm Life

    Some of my best memories from my last couple of years have come from the dorms. Its a great place to meet friends and to stay connected on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here are top notch and spend one-on-one time with each student. The teachers actually care about you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in campus groups and clubs. You get out of Carson-Newman what you put into it.

    In three sentences

    Carson-Newman is home. There is no other word for it. Everyone here is family.

  • 08/19/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    29 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will be very safe.

    Greek Life

    NONE

    Clubs and Activities

    Not much.

    Great for these types of students

    Jefferson County kids and/or religious zealots.

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive for what you get.

    What to do for fun

    Go to football games. Go to Pigeon Forge or Knoxville. There is general fun on campus. It's just harder to get to know people there than it should be. And I'm pretty outgoing.

    Food and Dining

    The caf is horrible. Get in the car do fast food.

    Dorm Life

    Pretty typical. I had a good time.

    Academic Rigor

    Check out the grading scale if you are from out of state. An 83 average is a 2 point C at C-N. In most places it would be a 3 point B or a 2.75 B-. The English teacher I had was horrible. Many professors are very good and very nice. The other thing is that you can and will lose your academic money they give you by having to take old and new testament bible classes. Many other institutions will have their Bible classes on a pass/fail basis. Like I said, it's not about the Bible. It's about the Benjamins.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a student athlete beware!!! They churn young people and don't really care who they burn. Don't be fooled by the Christian/Baptist affiliation. It's all about the money with Carson-Newman. I was one of the few on my team that lived on campus and didn't drink. The rest lived off campus and partied their butts off. The sad part is the coach knows about it but won't do anything about it because many are Jeffco kids. Jefferson County kids get preferential treatment in everything at C-N. Even when they suck.

    In three sentences

    Dorms are dorms which means never pretty. The students are pretty nice but many are from the surrounding area and go home on the weekends. So if there is not a home football game, the place becomes vacant.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Non existant

    Tips for prospective students

    Study! and the food isn't terrible

    In three sentences

    I love this school! You know your professors so well. It's a great environment.

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard-working, dedicated, excited to learn students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Movie night on the lawn!

    What to do for fun

    Music concerts, inter-mural games, sports, college activities!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early! Visit the school ahead of time! Be outgoing and make lots of friends!

    In three sentences

    One of the top 10 schools in the nation! Carson-Newman University feels like home to me! Definitely one of the best schools out there!

  • 03/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The small-town atmosphere and dedicated security staff make students feel very safe.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get all of your financial aid taken care of early as the financial aid department can become very overwhelmed and busy as deadlines approach.

    In three sentences

    Almost everyone you pass on campus is remarkably friendly and cheerful. The professors do an excellent job by caring for the well-being of the students and showing the passion they have for their field. While located in a small town, the campus is beautiful, especially in the fall, and very safe.

  • 04/04/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    33 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have very good security officers on call and on campus and they are in a safe location. They go out of their way to make their students feel safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anything from choirs to film club. They have something for everyone. And if you see something they don't have, you can start it!

    Great for these types of students

    It's not a huge school, but at the same time it's not a tiny school. Coming from a high school with only 600 students, Carson Newman's student body is huge for me!! So it's a good non-intimidating size, for students who are nervous about feeling overwhelmed. It's also a good Christian environment. Obviously there are some people that party, but, I've heard atleast, that this takes place off campus. Carson Newman has a 0 policy for alcohol and all that. If it's found with you, you get kicked out. It's a nice middle sized school for students who want a quality Christian education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The huge church, First Baptist of Jefferson City, sits at the entrance to the campus. It's where the chapel services are held and also a lot of events for the Music Dept. throughout the year. It's a beautiful church! Also, I like the fact that they do a prayer walk with all the parents and the freshmen during first year student orientation weekend and allow time for families to say see you soon before they leave.

    Bang for the buck

    I do believe that you are getting what you pay for. They automatically offer academic scholarships, and then of course if you do music or sports or art there are more scholarships for that as well. They really work with you and it's easy to go here without being in too much debt after college.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is set in a small town atmosphere, but in a way that's a good thing. You get to make your own fun with your friends, but when that doesn't work, the Smoky Mountains national park, as well as the tourist area of Gatlinburg are just about 30 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    There's some good options on campus and off campus. Nothing beats a home made meal, but while you're here they do a really good job of making sure you are well fed. They also have the option of a pizza bar and coming soon an on campus Chick Fil A!

    Dorm Life

    Meeting some of the RA's was fun and they are very nice. The renovated dorms have hardwood floor in them and are much bigger than any other colleges dorms that I toured.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors seem to know what they're talking about and all of them have very high degrees in their fields. They also don't get paid a ton so you know that they are there for the student!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early to get admitted early. Make sure and tour the campus!! Also, take part in the campus activities while you're there! I haven't gotten to do them yet because school hasn't started yet, but they sound very fun!

    In three sentences

    The campus and people are absolutely phenomenal! I cannot wait to start school here in the Fall! It honestly feels that I'll be getting what I paid for so I promise it's worth it!