Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Carteret Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never heard of any issues with safety here. We are a small campus.

    What to do for fun

    This is the best place...you're at the beach! Enough said!

    Food and Dining

    No dining on campus. But there are several restaurants close by.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers know how to push you to your best. Also, to give it to you straight, no need to butter things over...you are in the real world. That is what college is about to prepare you for life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be organized is the number one thing! Don't ever depend on your friends or teachers to hand over all that you will need to succeed in college. You will need to work for it!

    In three sentences

    The quest for academic excellence is a must here. The teachers are readily available and easy to talk to. If you want to succeed in life, this is the college for you!

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I'm sure that there may be an occassional problem, but I have never heard of any in the two years I've been there

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Students straight out of High School, adults who are interested in returning to school.

    Bang for the buck

    very affordable compared to the larger four year schools

    What to do for fun

    all things beach and fishing

    Food and Dining

    at this time there is no source of meals. There are several fast food places near by

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    This is a community college and as such the classes are demanding, but not ridiculous. Unless you try to take three or more four credit class in a semester, you should do fine

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't hesitate to ask for help. Between the teachers and the advisers there are a lot of people here to help you get where you want to go.

    In three sentences

    The teachers and staff will work with the students to help them achieve their goals. As a student if you put forth the effort, the school has several departments to help you from extra tutoring to financial assistance. It is the goal of the school to have a curriculum that will help prepare students to move on to universities.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I have not joined in any extra activities or clubs. I hear that they are great though. I personally do not have the time.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone!

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do near this college. The beaches are wonderful and there are plenty of good eats. I am not aware of the night life I have two young children and do not get out in the evenings.

    Tips for prospective students

    You could not ask for a better community college.

    In three sentences

    This is my first semester at this college. So far I am impressed with how helpful, patient and kind the staff is. The instructors I have worked with this semester were outstanding.

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are a student who is not yet ready for a university or can not afford to go to a university yet, this is the college for you.

    What to do for fun

    Participate in the CCC activities, even if you are not used to being around a lot of people, you will see that everyone is friendly.

    Food and Dining

    There are resturaunts nearby so you will never go hungry as you travel to and fro the college.

    Dorm Life

    At Carteret Community College, there are no dorms. Therefore, you will have to get your own place.

    Academic Rigor

    Honetsly, being strict about your grades is important, so important that if you fail, it is completely your fault for not taking advantage of the surrounding opportunities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tip # 1: Get Used books Buying new books can be expensive. Getting a nice used book and keeping it intact is all you will really need. Tip #2: Ask Questions, Seriously Asking questions in college is not only shows that you want to pass, it also shows that you are serious with your achievements.

    In three sentences

    Going to this college is great decision because they provide so much help.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    anyone, they have a variety of classes both online and seated

    What to do for fun

    there are clubs, zumba classes, and a lot of other activities to do, not to mention we're right on the water

    Food and Dining

    none of that here either, but there's a lot of places to eat surrounding the school

    Dorm Life

    there isn't one

    Tips for prospective students

    do your research as with any school

    In three sentences

    A great place to go for anyone. Weather your attending for the first time, or been there waiting to transfer, or just simply want a better paying job, this is the place. A+

  • 04/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Carteret community college has a great view of the ocean. I love walking on campus and being able to look over the water.

    Food and Dining

    I have never used any food facilities, but I have heard that they are wonderful.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm provided.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel like many of my classes are challenging and match those of larger universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think the best tip is to make sure you get an appointment with your counselor and speak to them about your educational goals. They are very pleasant and willing to help. When your getting started do not be afraid to ask questions either!

    In three sentences

    I think Carteret community College is a great place to earn a degree. They are very helpful and welcoming. I ahve referred many friends and peers here, and each one of them have had a great educational experience here. Its a great way to get started on the right path.

  • 07/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One or two incidences the last time I attended back in 2009 but nothing lately

    Clubs and Activities

    I can't wait to join the computer club this fall!

    Great for these types of students

    Returning From a break after high school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Spanish Mackerel Tournament

    What to do for fun

    What do you like to do that involves water? It's here!

    Food and Dining

    El's is across the street and is amazing!

    Dorm Life

    What dorm? Although living off campus isn't too bad around here!

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging for a first time back since high school. But not bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take ACA115 with Gabe and Eric! They are the best especially if you dont know what you want to do with life.

    In three sentences

    There are lots of things to do in the area. The teaches are Excelent. Things here are great!

  • 07/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Very Safe campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Large variety of clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Students getting back into the swing of things after not going to school for a while.

    Bang for the buck

    Not very expensive as far as community colleges go if you are a resident of Carteret County.

    What to do for fun

    There is a whole bunch of fun things around. The beach is only a few minutes away. There are two major towns very close.

    Food and Dining

    Good choices at vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    NONE, Live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Hard but not deadly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join Trio.

    In three sentences

    Great place to attend a two year school. Nice campus and good professors. What could be better than going school at the beach?