Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Castleton State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like hand on experiences and like to get attention from their professors. It is also a great school to focus on work because there are few distractions in the immediate area. This is a school where you will know a lot of people and when you are walking around campus you will know most people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to stay on campus most of the time unless you go into town. Unless you have a car it is almost impossible to get into the city. Don't be afraid to get involved in clubs and activities because that is how you can meet so many more people that can turn into long term friends. It is hard at first to find a balance between school work and other activities but after some time you will figure out how to handle both. There is nothing wrong with being unsure at the beginning of the school year especially if you are from out of state. It is nice that this is one of the few schools that give a week or more break every five weeks.

    Bang for the buck

    Most things on campus are free for students. The special events that are held sometimes have a small free. There is not a lot to spend personal money on at the campus unless you go into the small town where there is a small diner and pizza place. If you have a car you can head into the city to go shopping or buy things that you need.

    Am enjoying being here

    On campus there are always new movies being shown and different events to go to especially if you are a freshman. There are school plays and sport games that are usually free to attend. The cafe is a great place to hang out with friends and the game room where there are pool tables. Being in a suite style allows you to meet many people that you might not have met before.

    Am learning a lot

    Being a science major I have been getting a lot of hands on experience that has helped me a long way. The professors are helpful and really care if you are struggling or missing class. The classes are around 15-20 students for the most part so the professors get to know you on a personal level. As a freshman there is a special program that opens students to different cultures and helps to explore majors if undecided.

  • 07/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All sorts! We have a mixture of nerdy, artsy, carefree, partiers, studious, and athletic. I think the more natural person (green, earth conservative, etc) would fit well. It's a very social campus, so be prepared for saying hi to just about anyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're a party person--feel free to come! People like to party. There are quiet halls if you're not a party person. Dorms are rather nice. Most of them are suites. Two dorms are corridor and aren't the best. But there are several others to choose from! Athletics aren't incredibly strong but it's a ton of fun to play (especially because we get some good competition!) The gym is awesome! The teachers really are approachable if you need help so no worries there. There's two places other than the dining common to get food. And of course off campus places too. The student body is somewhat divided based on majors. I'm a science major so I rarely ever see theater majors or English majors merely because of how the buildings and classes are set up. This creates a great opportunity though to get out and meet people! When deciding when to go eat, make sure you don't go when classes end. The dining hall isn't that big for the number of students here so you'll end up waiting for a long time and it'll be crowded. Then, there's the chance you won't find a place to sit. So wait for about 15 or so minutes after classes let out and you should be fine. The weather can be unpredictable at times so be prepared for anything (rain, sun, snow, wind). Go to activities (concerts, hypnotist shows, dramas, shopping trips, etc) the campus offers/sets up. You'll get more out of the year than if you party all the time/study all the time. Really get to know your professors. They are very outgoing and are more than willing to help and get to know you. You just have to take the initiative to approach them.

    Bang for the buck

    Eh. I'm not sure how to rate this. I have no basis for comparison. I'm content. I think they should try and work on different activities for the students. They do great trips, though, for rather inexpensive prices (NY Yankees/Boston Red Sox games, concerts, fairs, etc). They have a lot of activities for First Year students which was nice when I was a freshman. The food isn't the best, but it's manageable. The cafe on campus is a hot spot for most students. The dining hall has a lot of choices for food (deli, pizza bar, hot food case, grill, cereal bar, dessert bar, salad bar, and many drink options).

    Am enjoying being here

    It's a mixed feeling. It is a smaller campus so one does end up having to create things to do! But, on the other hand you get to really know people, and they have fun ideas of things to do--so you're not alone! There's plenty to do off-campus granted you have a car. The teachers are great! They truly want to help you succeed. It's nice to have cable in the rooms.

    Am learning a lot

    They really make sure you are well-rounded. I feel like I need a more hands-on atmosphere which I'm sure the teachers would be willing to incorporate if asked. The teachers know their subjects and a lot are eager to teach you. Included in required activities are cultural events, watching performances, attending shows, and other neat soundings events, as they're called. They obviously require frames (gen ed classes) and have many choices to choose from.

  • 08/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    well, obviously it's a vermont school, and not to be stereotypical or anything, but I would say that CSC is more for the relaxed, outdoorsman type of person.

    Tips for prospective students

    definitely take advantage of the professors, the Academic Support Center and, of course, the scenery!! the Adirondacks are GORGEOUS, as always :)

    Bang for the buck

    mostly b/c i'm an out of state kid, which tacks on a good extra $10,ooo. but if you're in-state then it's WELL worth the price

    Am enjoying being here

    the other students are generally also rather fun, and although it is a small school/setting it only means ppl are more creative in thinking of things to do!!

    Am learning a lot

    most of the teachers are very awesome and more than willing to make things interesting

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of fun things to do on campus and off! the ca's have programs that they hold in each building, and there are various clubs and sports to join.

    Food and Dining

    aramark was the food supplier for csc up until 2012 fall semester. i have yet to try the new food suppliers food, but i've heard good things!

    Dorm Life

    i live in a suite, and i love it. i find that when i go home, i miss all of my suitemates. they've become my best friends and my family.

    Academic Rigor

    my first semester was an easy transition between high school and college. now that i'm in my second semester, i find my classes to be more difficult and challenging but this isn't a bad thing!

    Tips for prospective students

    join clubs! volunteer around the community, and go to the library! don't do homework on your bed, it won't work out well.

    In three sentences

    i love castleton state college; the fact that i can recognise people from all of my classes is my favorite part of going to a small school. the quality of education is amazing for the cost of tuition.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    party...duhh

    Food and Dining

    h,mmm

    Dorm Life

    yeah

    Academic Rigor

    too easy

    Tips for prospective students

    dont go

    In three sentences

    great school, not worth the money

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are blue boxes all over campus to press if there is an emergency and public safety will be right there.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a few rumored haunted places on campus. Ellis hall and the Fine Arts Center, and there is a haunted house put on by the theatre department every year at Halloween.

    Bang for the buck

    Being an out of state student, the tuition is much higher than instate, but I still find it worth the price. I am getting a quality education and the events on campus are so nice to attend.

    What to do for fun

    There are weekly movies and events practically every week. There is also a fun stress busters event near finals and free massages!

    Food and Dining

    Huden offers a large variety of meal options, from Troy in the specialty meal area and kind chef Ron making personal pizzas, as well as the new meals every day in the main line. Jeff is always there if there's a problem and he is incredibly kind.

    Dorm Life

    Living suite style last year was definitely an amazing experience. The CA's and RA's are there to help if there's conflict, but if you treat your suitemates how you want to be treated, you should get along fine.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the professors expect you to be at your class every time there is class, some having no allowed absences unless there is an emergency and late work isn't acceptable. However, since students are paying for these classes, it is understandable to work to achieve this.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to join Castleton, you should know it is not a big college, and it's definitely not a 'party scene', but if you're truly here for education and want to be surrounded by kind people, you have the right school.

    In three sentences

    Castleton State College boasts about being a small college with a big heart, and I completely agree with this descriptor. Within the first month of attending, I could almost recognize every person on campus - staff or students - and each of them was a kind individual. It's easy to obtain help from professors or the academic support center when it is needed, and there's always fun activities to participate in.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    out of state students beware. approximately $900/credit.

    Academic Rigor

    i found that it is not very challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    know what classes you absolutely need to have to graduate and figure out if some previous class counts toward the requirement. if you are transfer you may find that some people tell you you need this one class when in reality you did not need to take it because something transferred. i am in the nursing program and it is very unorganized. be prepared to never know which way is up so that you can just go with the flow.

    In three sentences

    the school is pleasant enough but there are lots of hoops you need to jump through to get requirements finished. for example you need to take a soundings class where you pay for credits to attend theater/music/various other productions. i would steer away from attending this school as an out of state student. it is really expensive this way.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of activities are always being offered around campus and sports games are free for students.

    Food and Dining

    The main dining hall is not the greatest. Pizza, salad, and the sandwich bar is always available if you don't like what the hot bar is serving. Fireside cafe is a great alternative though.

    Dorm Life

    A bit loud at times, but that's typical for any college! Had no major criminal activity so a safe environment for all.

    Academic Rigor

    Castleton holds a high standard with the academic expectations for their students and professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and visit the college before you decide on attending. Check out the surrounding area and make sure that you feel comfortable. Castleton is definitely not close to a big city so that might be an issue for some students.

    In three sentences

    Castleton is a small, beautiful school. Definitely worth looking at for your college education. I enjoy every aspect of the college.

  • 11/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is constantly patrolling as well as the Castleton Police force. On campus there are blue boxes with buttons for emergencies. All buildings require a bar code to enter. In addition Castleton is a safe community on its own.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Castleton offers so many clubs to students. If you are unable to find a club that fits just right you can make your own.

    Great for these types of students

    Castleton is great for nature, mountain, and country lovers. The rural environment is ideal for these people. If you are seeking a rural community that has great views and cold winters Castleton is the place to be.

    Bang for the buck

    For most students Castleton is the ideal option. It is cheap for Vermont students. However for those students who do not receive financial aid (like me) the cost is very much a burden. It would be very nice if there was more help offered to middle-class students. Also a friendlier financial aid staff would be nice.

    What to do for fun

    Castleton has many different activities during the week. There are Soundings event for class credit, wellness activities, such as, zumba, yoga, kickboxing, ect. There is also weekly movies played endless clubs and sports to participate it. If all else fails their is a mall and movie theatre within driving distance. Also there is a bus to take you there if you don't have a car on campus. The bus also goes to Killington if you enjoy the mountain.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Castleton is good. There is always different options for whatever you are in the mood for. You will miss home cooking though.

    Dorm Life

    Everything is kept clean and warm in the winter. However updates could be done more often.

    Academic Rigor

    Castleton does a great job of challenging their students without completely overwhelming them. It creates the perfect learning environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for an environment your comfortable in, if the campus doesn't feel right, likely you wont either.

    In three sentences

    Castleton State College is small school with a big heart. They provide endless opportunities for their students. At Castleton your not just a number in a crowd, your name is known.

  • 12/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is a little over the top.

    Greek Life

    None at Castleton.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different club teams and extra activies and funtions going on.

    Great for these types of students

    For all types of students, many options.

    What to do for fun

    Many campus activities as well as parties.

    Food and Dining

    Eh...food gets old after a while but there is a lot of variety.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are nice, a lot going on.

    Academic Rigor

    It is what you make of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring an egg crate for your bed. Make the most of your time on campus as it is a fun place to be.

    In three sentences

    Castleton State has a great campus. I feel I am getting a great education and have plenty here to keep me busy.

  • 01/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are very up tight! And the Castelton state police are not nice people. They harass students a majority of the time for no good reason.

    Greek Life

    none

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There was a tradition called 'Walk the Dog' that took place a a bar called the Dog. the graduating seniors would walk on the bar top, but that ended when the bar closed down.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a good school for the price if you are in state, but the out of state tuition is a little high for the quality.

    What to do for fun

    Its Vermont so there really isn't a long list of things to do. Rutland is close so bowling, ice skating, and going to the movies are an option in addition to going skiing and snowboarding at Killington.

    Tips for prospective students

    A's are completely reachable! Put in the time and the work and teachers are willing to help in anyway they can because they want to see you do your best.

    In three sentences

    Castleton is a small school with small classroom sizes. The work is easy compared to other schools, but the weekends are slow and the food is terrible.

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus offers safe ride, if you go to a party and drink, you can call them and they will pick you up within a mile radius of campus or even in the parking lot if it is raining or cold. Or even if you think someone is fallowing you.

    Greek Life

    We don't have Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs and activities that are offered every day during free period or later at night. Anything you like most likely we have it.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone that likes small schools. Small campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hanging out in the common rooms doing homework.

    Bang for the buck

    I mean the meal plan is good for the price, and so is the residential payment. Tuition is pretty good for what you get.

    What to do for fun

    On campus at Castleton we have a bunch of different clubs and zumba and different work out plans and the gym. We have a pool, basketball, hockey, baseball, and football teams to go watch in your free time.

    Food and Dining

    If you like the same thing every day all the time in the dinning hall its good for you. Because you know there might be something you like, like burgers. But we do have choices, besides the dinning hall, which things are cooked right infront of you instead of just sitting around for you too choose to eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a nice size they just need some work on the inside and out. Including the showers in the bathrooms. They also need to work on the heating during the winter and air conditioning in the summer.

    Academic Rigor

    Castleton does not judge anyone. They accept anyone with any grade point average pretty much. Just have to have a good enough scores of trying to get in to a college.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you love small schools this is the college for you. I know a lot of the people on campus because it is so small.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Castleton at a 8 out of 10. I love Castleton, I just don't like their food or bathrooms in the dorms. But they have a big heart.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    very minimal but growing

    Clubs and Activities

    too many clubs if you ask me

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Humans vs. Zombies

    What to do for fun

    Swimming, hanging with friends, going into Rutland to shop, movie nights in Jeffords, Bingo nights at Fireside, playing pool and ping pong in the Game Room, and just watching TV in the dorm room.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great place to make life-time friends. Bring lots of food from home for those nights you don't want to go to the dining hall.

    In three sentences

    It is a very small college which is close to my home. I know a lot of people around campus which makes me feel safe. It provides excellent food, transportation services, and entertaining activities.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is only a mile or so all the way around. Public safety has emergency phones and boxes located all over campus. They even go as far as giving students rides when it is late at night and they are walking from the far parking lots.

    Greek Life

    Castleton is a very small school. There are only about 2.000 students, so fraternities really don't exist. However, there are national honors society members.

    Clubs and Activities

    It is impossible for a student to enroll in Castleton and not find at least two or three clubs that interest them. There are clubs ranging from education to sports, volunteering to language, and even outdoor clubs.

    Bang for the buck

    I am currently a Division 3 starting goaltender on the women's ice hockey team. Hockey occupies nearly the entire school year making it at times difficult to manage my time and focus on my academics. However, the willingness to help and the understanding shown by my professors has greatly helped me be as successful as I am both athletically and academically. Academically, I was awarded a membership of the national honors society Phi Eta Sigma, and athletically I was voted Rookie of they year by the league. This past year, I had the highest GPA on the hockey team of a 3.77.

    What to do for fun

    I play a varsity sport which occupies a majority of my time. Castleton offers a huge variety of clubs, intermural sports, and volunteer options for students who are looking to get involved in their community.

    Food and Dining

    The first year I attended Castleton, the food really wasn't that good. It lacked variety and now, there is a new dining hall contract, and they have created many new diverse and healthy options.

    Dorm Life

    It is an older school, founded in the 1800's, a majority of the dorms are older, but still very neat and clean. With more students enrolling, more dorms are being built brand new!

    Academic Rigor

    Although it is a small school that I myself hadn't heard of, the curriculum as well as the staff and athletic coaches push students to strive for academic excellence. I really didn't know what it was like putting in hours of studying a week until I was accepted at Castleton.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would strongly advise going into your freshmen year at Castleton State College knowing what it is you want to study. It is fairly difficult for underclassmen to get their required classes for their major. Switching multiple times will increase the already present pressure to obtain certain classes.

    In three sentences

    Castleton is a small rural liberal arts school. Overall I would rate the school highly. The small community creates a family environment and nearly all of my professors go above and beyond, willing to help on their own time.

  • 06/25/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Honestly, I didn't particularly feel safe on campus. My door got kicked in at one point by a group of intoxicated persons. Many times there was loud yelling and fight on the weekends. As always, if you�re aware of your surroundings, you�ll probably be okay, but I really think there are much safer campuses out there.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of Clubs and Activities on campus. There is something for everyone. You can join chorus, the math club, the psychology club� There�s even a Sasquatch club. There�s really no limit to the things you can do on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Castleton is a small school. If you�re someone that needs extra support from your professors, you can get that pretty easily at Castleton. If you start to fall behind your professors are likely to notice because it�s such a small school. Often times they will write notes on student�s papers to see them for help, or to go to the academic support center.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I believe the most unusual location on campus is the art building behind the fine arts center. It's said to be haunted by a family, that was burned alive in the house. These types of myths and stories can make certain locations interesting.

    Bang for the buck

    With the amount of vacation time you get at Castleton, you really don�t get much for your money. It�s scary if you calculate how much you pay in tuition for each hour you spend in class. At Castleton you get a month off for winter break, a week off every four weeks, and around four months for summer. The amount of time you actually spend in class is tiny.

    What to do for fun

    There are always things to do on campus. If you want to attend campus events you just need to pay attention to your email. Each day there is an email sent out to all students that says �Today at a glance� which will give you a list of all the events going on during the day. Most events are free, some cost a very small amount as an entrance fee.

    Food and Dining

    The food at fireside and the coffee cottage is decent, however, the food in the dining hall isn't. I ended up with raw chicken and improperly cooked fish a few times. I would really suggest getting the smallest meal plan, so you can eat at fireside more. The unlimited meal plan really isn't worth it because it only pertains to the dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorms at Castleton are decent as long as you stay out of a select few. (IE: Elis, Haskle, and Adams) The CA�s are quite approachable, and helpful. The rooms are big enough that you�re not stepping on your roommate�s toes. Your community advisor (CA) will hold floor and building events. They�re usually decently fun events.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Castleton are easy unless you�re in either the music program or the nursing program. As a psychology major and a statistics I found the academics to be rather easy, even in the harder levels. The academics are the main reason I chose to transfer for next semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to go into music or nursing, and you�re good and ignoring parties, this may be a good school for you. Otherwise, I�d suggest looking into a different institution.

    In three sentences

    Castleton is a decent school for its music and nursing programs, however, all of the other programs tend to be pretty weak. If you�re looking for a school that has large amounts of people who are very focused on academics, you may want to look somewhere else.

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has emergency stations across the campus if you ever need help in the event you are in danger or someone is injured. The college campus also pays to always have public safety officers to patrol the campus.

    Greek Life

    I am not currently involved in any fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    The campus has a number of clubs or groups that are involved in activities on and off campus. These range from sports clubs such as Lacrosse, Soccer, and Frisbee to a club for drama and gaming. There are also a number of groups who are active in the community and the student body.

    Great for these types of students

    This college has something for every kind of student. Both for actual college courses and activities on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus has a good sized pond behind the baseball field that has trails cleared around them that offer a great place to run when the weather is nice.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a lot of opportunities and chances at new experiences for a generally low tuition every year.

    What to do for fun

    You can swim in the campus pool, drive to the nearby large town of Rutland, or take part in one of the many groups or clubs on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good and you have a number of different choices for food at every meal including vegan and vegetarian meals.

    Dorm Life

    You can choose between living in a college suite, which is comprised of four 2-person rooms and a large common room and bathroom. or in a typical 2-person dorm room. The rooms are pretty basic but are easy to keep clean and are kept in good shape.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes and instructors are very honest when it comes to both how difficult they are and their grading.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you keep in contact with college officials so that you can take advantage of any scholarship opportunities.

    In three sentences

    This small college is made up of mostly students from Vermont and neighboring states. However, it does have many foreign students and offers a place for everyone. This college is great for someone looking for a small town, friendly, and close-knit college experience.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is decent for college food. you cant expect 5 star dining your in college, youll get used to it.

    Dorm Life

    I loved my dorm! All dorms are 40/60 and there is always a great mix of people!

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are difficult and some on the easier side but no matter what the small classroom size makes for a great learning enviornment!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of everything the school offers

    In three sentences

    Castleton is a great school if you are looking for a low key enviornment to study in. Ive met a lot of great people and really get the opprotunity to enjoy life here.

  • 09/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is a very safe environment. There is a sort of family that is formed from everyone. You will see even sometimes students telling another, less mindful student that he or she is not doing what they should do if they are endangering anyone else. The students and staff work hard to provide a safe environment for everyone and look out for one another.

    Greek Life

    There is one fraternity that is associated with the college, but not officially. I did not join this fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    This college has an open-door policy when it comes to clubs. If you want a club and there isn't one, make one, and you will receive the full support of the college as long as it does not reflect badly on the college. This makes clubs always interesting from the Science Association to the Womens Rugby Team, and the Hacky-Sack Alliance, to the Green Campus Initiative. There is always a club for anyone on campus to join. There are also a lot of activites on campus with job fairs, activities fairs, a number of different sports events to attend. There are also Soundings events which are required for certain courses, but also provide showings of various interests. I attended a dance showing that I thought I would absolutely hate, but ended up taking an introductory level dance course the next semester.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for athletes and art majors. There is a lot of sports equipment and places specifically designed for athletes, including a huge fitness complex. There is a lot of art-related programs as well, including dance classes and sculpting classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a number of haunted places around the campus including the old church, two residence halls, and the fine arts center, which was built on an old graveyard. There is a candle lighting ceremony for freshmen that involves a walk up to Woodruff Hall, where the whole class will take a picture and sing the Castleton anthem.

    Bang for the buck

    Castleton is a very reasonably priced college for VT state residents for the amount that you can get out of it. I have definitely grown as a person especially with the support of the community. You can learn a lot at Castleton and they are a very people who will grow alongside you.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of activities often going on for fun and hikes, bike rides, frisbee, volleyball, a skate park, and a game room. There is also sounding events which some can be fun to attend. These are lectures from guest speakers, professional musical and theater performances, and films.

    Food and Dining

    The food is desirable. There is a good selection which includes a pizza and pasta bar, salad bar, sandwich station, bagel area, ice cream, burger area, vegetarian bar, and a main entree line. There is also a small restaurant in the bottom of the campus center that you may either purchase through your meal plan, or with money.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are adequate and allow enough space for each person in the room to fit themselves and their belongings in. There is a kitchen on most floors and in the newer building, Hoff Hall, it is very nice. The circuit breakers however are some what tricky, and the WiFi does not work all of the time.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics expect a great deal out of you, but sometimes are too general in their lectures. Some fine details you are not expected to know and the general concepts are substituted for what seems like necessary information. The programs do, however provide a spectacular base to build upon if other avenues are explored outside of the classroom, which the college does provide.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should be prepared to be able to connect with their teachers outside of the classroom in order to succeed. Many classes will not go over all of the course material that you may need to know. You are expected to know a great deal more about each subject. The material may be reviewed, but it will not make a standing impression on one's memory, but all of the professors are more than happy to review outside of lecture. Get involved with the community and join a club. It will be one of the best decisions you have ever made. The people there will become some of your best friends and you can truly make a difference.

    In three sentences

    Castleton State College allows students to pursue their own goals freely. The college also is very involved in the community and the students that go there. The campus does lack some popular majors, but makes up for it with a remarkable staff.

  • 02/14/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 21

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The school is really quaint, but it is much too small for me. This school is too closely knit, and doesn't have enough diversity. Though I know it boasts good nursing, and education programs, I don't think it is prestigious enough, and there isn't enough to do in the area.

  • 03/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel that campus safety is adequate, but not as good as it could be. Castleton is a very small campus, so it should be expected that the campus safety would be better, but if anything it's very lax.

    Greek Life

    thankfully, very little, if any.

    Clubs and Activities

    very few clubs ever get terribly far, because most students don't have the true willingness to interact with other students, but the clubs that do survive are very involved,

    Great for these types of students

    in terms of majors: criminal justice and nursing students would feel more at home here, while in just terms of general students, those that are becoming freshman and are in Vermont, this would be a starting point, if you like it here, by all means, stay, but some students are looking to stay in a narrow view of the world. there are some people that have true ambition, but those people are fairly hard to find.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i will admit that Castleton does have a fantastic running trail. i love it. it's so refreshing to go for a run in the late summer or late spring. also, the gyhm isn't great, but it's not bad. it can get a little crowded. but people are usually very considerate and try to make room for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    for an in state student, it is a great start-off college, but out if you're from out of state, i would not recommend it. it becomes very expensive very quickly.

    What to do for fun

    unless you have a car, there's not whole lot to do for fun, most of the students' versions of fun involve being stoned or drunk at most moments.

    Food and Dining

    the food can be good or bad depending on the day. it could be a lot worse, but all in all it's pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    Hoff, where i live, is amazing. it's very well refurbished and feels more homey but unless you live in one of the houses, your dorm can easily feel like a prison cell. dorms like Ellis, at least on the top floor, have horrible bathrooms and definitely need renovations.

    Academic Rigor

    Castleton will allow anyone who every graduated high school, or has their GED. Castleton allows anyone in, and sees the academically superior students on the same level as the academically inferior students. which is sad but true. it is easy to maintain a c, c+ average, but if you really care about your GPA, than it can become a little more difficult, but still pretty easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Castleton tries to sell itself too much. if you take a tour, the tour guide, like any college university, will try to sell you only the good aspects of Castleton. i employ you, that if you are thinking of coming to Castleton, you make your own judgments and observations, but at the same time, if you like what you see, and you are able to afford it comfortably, then you should give it the benefit of the doubt, but also realize that college is supposed to be the best years of your life and what you want out of the a college.

    In three sentences

    quiet on weekends. good if you like the small town touch. go with what you like in a college/university.

  • 04/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety officers are great people. They drive around constantly checking on everything. For the most part, the dorms are also really safe. Locking your doors (common sense) is recommended. There's also emergency buttons all over campus, so if the need arises, you can just hit one of those. This campus is really safe and secure, though, so there's no need to worry about a lot.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's plenty of clubs to choose from! Pretty much something for everyone, and if there's not, you can start your own pretty easily.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like rural areas, small towns, and the mountains (snow and all) would like it here. Also, students who like small campuses with tight-knit communities where most everyone knows who you are or knows of you will like it here!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's this thing called a cow-plop where they put a cow in a fenced in area that has a grid drawn on the ground. Basically, you make bets and wait for the cow to poop. If it poops on your square, you get all the money!

    What to do for fun

    There's always a sporting event going on, so those are good to check out! If you like working out or swimming fun, there's places for that, too! There's almost always an activity, seminar, or event going on somewhere on campus as well. Check out the clubs, too, because they tend to do a lot of things as well. If all else fails, you can walk into town (not too much to do there, but it's nice to get off campus every so often) or you can go into Rutland or Fair Haven for some shopping and good dining.

    Food and Dining

    Okay, so the food isn't the best, but it's college cafeteria food. It's definitely not your mom's cooking. The dining hall is all-you-can-eat, though, so that's a plus! There's usually a pretty good variety of stuff to choose from, and there's always cereal and bagels no matter what. Leave comment cards for improvements because they actually look at those (even if they don't improve something). Fireside is good for on-the-go, but requires points or a meal exchange. Good picks there, though. It's your greasy food place to go to! The Coffee Cottage is the best for coffee and a bagel or just a quick snack or sandwich! You'll need points or real money here, though. Overall, lots of good choices, but you'll get tired of them quick!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are typical college dorms. There's a few styles to choose from, and dependent upon what kind of person you are (study habits, sleep habits, etc.) you'll want to choose accordingly. Hall styles are better if you don't like living with a bunch of others in one confined space. Suites are better if you like living with a lot of others (like 7 others) in your space. CAs don't always have a good presence, so if you need them for something, don't always count on them being around. You'll encounter a variety of people whichever way you go, and some are harder to deal with than others. Also, if you and your roommate don't get along or just can't seem to work things out, don't be afraid to ask to switch. Dorm life is all about communication and sharing a space. If you want somewhere quiet to study 24/7, you'll want to find somewhere other than the dorm probably. It can get loud! If you want substance-free housing, check on wellness housing. If you want honors housing if you're in the honors program, there's that option, too! Just explore the options and find your best fit!

    Academic Rigor

    Courses range in difficulty. General education classes are usually not too hard, but as you get into classes that are required for your major or higher level classes, it'll get harder. Some teachers are a lot harder to take than others, too. Also, don't expect to always be able to use your laptop in class for notes. We do it the old-fashioned way (writing) for the most part. Courses that are writing intensive, speaking intensive, etc., tend to require extra work as well so they will satisfy graduation requirements. Basically, just be prepared to work because it's college!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your application in early because the earlier you get accepted, the sooner you can work on financial aid. Make connections early! Get to know your professors and make sure you're talking to people of importance (like financial aid, student services, etc). Professors are a great networking tool, as well as great for recommendations later on. As for classes, just go and do the work. You're in college now, and professors expect you to do the work and come to class. Again, think recommendations and connections! You're only allowed so many absences, too, so keep that in mind. Don't procrastinate on attending your Soundings events (a course that requires you to go to various events). There will be plenty to go to, and they're usually pretty great! Get involved on campus when you can! Don't think you need to get involved in everything all at one time. You'll be overwhelmed at first because it's an adjustment coming to college period. Get plenty of sleep, too! You'll regret it later if you don't. Take the Quantitative Reasoning test early to get a feel for it because you may have to take it more than once, and you need it to graduate! If you have questions, don't be afraid to ask. Also, if you qualify for work study (again, dealing with financial aid the earlier the better), ask all around campus about positions. They're kind of hard to come by, but if you ask early enough, you'll be fine! Overall, have fun and smile because you made it to college!

    In three sentences

    Castleton State College is a wonderful school that provides an enriching and challenging learning experience. Every aspect of this college from sports to residence life and everything in between is great. Here is where you can find another home for four (or more) years!