Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Catawba College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/18/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Catawba offers great financial aid options.

    Will enjoy being here

    This school is absolutely amazing. I can't wait for fall 2011

    Will learn a lot

    Great teachers. Many have the highest degree possible in their field.

  • 01/19/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    5 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    They have a nice curriculum and a beautiful campus with an environment center. Tuition is not through the roof. It looks good.

    Will enjoy being here

    It looks like a beautiful campus, from the looks of the virtual tour.

    Will learn a lot

    The school has a lot of majors so as to fit every palate.

  • 01/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Sorry, but we don't have no Greek Life, we have gender specific clubs though!

    Clubs and Activities

    Over 40 different student run clubs and organizations. Theatre Clubs, Diversity Clubs, Volunteer Catawba, GSA, and more!

    Great for these types of students

    If you came from a small high school then you would probably like Catawba.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the things that Catawba has that not many other colleges have is a 189 acre preserve that has trails that wind through it and unique flora native to NC that you don't see every day! We also have a building where most of the materials in the building were made from recycled materials!

    What to do for fun

    Well Catawba is located in Salisbury, (pop. around 30,000) so most people tend to go to Charlotte or Winston malls (there's a mall in Salisbury but the majority of the stores have closed) On campus, we have a student run club called Wigwam and every Friday or Saturday night they do a free event for students. I am a part of that club and I've done many a fun things. Whether is be a free laser engraved crystal or a free tie dye tshirt, or a free airbrushed hat. It's fun, and they usually serve food or snacks at the events too!

    Food and Dining

    We recently did a 1.5 million dollar renovation of the cafe. The food is much better than last year because now it's being prepared on grills and in ovens that aren't encrusted with burnt delicacy's. It really depends on the day if you decide to eat in the cafe if the food is good or not. The cafe puts up the menu on Facebook and if you decide not to eat it then you can go to the Mondos Sub shop and get something else (burger, fries, sub, fountain drinks, snacks)

    Dorm Life

    We have 14 resident halls on campus, each of them are different. We do offer all male or all female living conditions. The dorms are older, but that doesn't bother me at all. BZ was built in 1925 and it's the oldest residence hall on campus, suite style living and a quiet building. Abernethy Village was built in 2007 and it offers 3 apartment style living residence halls for upperclassmen (60creds or above) and then 2 private suite style dorms (also 60creds or above) and then we have 2 freshman dorms. For upperclassmen the apartments are considered residence halls and you have the option of living there at no extra charge

    Academic Rigor

    We move pretty quickly here at Catawba, but I don't find it a challenge at all. There's only two professors that teach classes for my major and they both move pretty quickly. Every day we are learning something new, then we take a test and move on.

    Tips for prospective students

    I work in the admissions office, so I've seen many an application come through. We do offer scholarships and such but you have to keep your grades up and your GPA and shoot for a 950 or above on your SAT/ACT. You can become eligible for a LOT of scholorships then. Also be sure if you haven't visited Catawba before to get a campus tour!

    In three sentences

    Catawba is a great school for those who came from a small high school such as me, and for those who don't want to be couped up in a lecture hall with 200 other students taking BIO 101. Here at Catawba the teachers know your name and want to see you succeed and they try in every way possible to do that.

  • 02/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    theater or performance majors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    abernathy quad where outside activities take place

    What to do for fun

    events every friday night that is no cost to students nice productions at no cost

    Tips for prospective students

    keep contact with professors take advantage of specialized individual help

    In three sentences

    small location close community friendly environment

  • 10/11/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    I have friends that go to this school and love it!!

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is always cruising the campus. I feel very safe her and have never been involved or even heard of any incidents.

    Greek Life

    There is one fraturnity but it is more like a club. If you are looking for frat parties this is not the school for you.

    Clubs and Activities

    THere are various clubs and things to get involved with at Catawba.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to go far in their career will find it easy to function at Catawba.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a smoking gazibo.

    Bang for the buck

    Catawba is expensive but 99% of students get aid from the school. The education is pretty high quality and the school is private and liberal arts which employers admire.

    What to do for fun

    There is diskgolf all around campus and a water hole with a rope swing a half mile down the road. The school holds dances in the autotorium every view months.

    Food and Dining

    The food unfortunately leaves something to be desired. There is much variety.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great there is always something going on.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are slightly difficult but the teachers make the work alot easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to learn.

    In three sentences

    Catawba's small class room setting is ideal for students who want a relationship with their proffesors. The housing is great and extremely close to the classes. The counselors are really there to help and they do just that.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nothing. Everybody goes home on the weekends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not go here unless you have money to waste

    In three sentences

    Very poor professors. Very poor food. Great Campus.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    A little high but worth it I think

    Tips for prospective students

    What can you tell about Catawba in general that sets it apart from the other colleges?

    In three sentences

    I love everything about it. Athletics, academics and campus life. I will probably end up attending if I get accepted.

  • 02/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who are looking for a well-rounded education. People who want to explore a lot of different classes.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are always going, going, going. Keep up with your work and don't get behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take as many different classes as you can. Learn many different things outside of your major. Embrace your education.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are the best and so good at being there for you. Most everyone is so friendly. Love the diversity of the classes.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is horrible, but Mondo's is amazing. It is a little fast food place above the cafe. I will say that the salads from the cafe are good, but that's about it.

    Tips for prospective students

    I hight encourage you to have everything planned out the way that you want your college life to go. Make your own schedule and don't take unnecessary classes! I advise you to get to know Mrs. Jean Hall she is the best.

    In three sentences

    Catawba College I starting to improve while it comes closer to graduation and class registration. Normally all the faculty and staff are confused and running around with their heads cut off! We have changes that are being made to the school an I personally think it is for the best.

  • 05/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Courses are intense.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go here if you are a socialite and willing to nag instructors to in order to be heard.

    In three sentences

    Catawba College is a very small homey school. There are teachers there that love there job and want to get their students across their stage. There are some teachers there that are very arrogant and brings down the reputation of Catawba College.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    With the size of the campus, not much goes unnoticed. Combined that with the patrol of Public Safety, I feel very safe at Catawba.

    Greek Life

    There are a couple Greek clubs but there are no fraternities or sororities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many many clubs and even though some people say they wish there were more, the clubs we have are very fun and there is a place for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Catawba is great for anyone who likes a small environment where you get to know a lot of people! Many large colleges you meet a lot of people but you don't truly get to know people as well as you do at a smaller college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A tradition that every student gets into is the Blue Masque Scavenger Hunt. It is the theater clubs major event of the year and all the members go all out for it and the campus loves to watch them do silly and ridiculous things.

    Bang for the buck

    I have to say that I think Catawba is a bit more expensive than most would like. There are many scholarships given out but there is also a lot of students in debt by the end of it.

    What to do for fun

    Every week there are events thrown and they are very fun! There are also multiple weekend long festivities throughout the year. There are live performances by music students every Friday night that always live up to expectation. Plus there's vollyball, frisbee, basketball, and a game room that are always open and full of students!

    Food and Dining

    The food at Catawba is one of the things that many complain about but I have never had a problem with the food options provided by Catawba's dining staff.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorms here at Catawba. They are just roomy enough and the older you get the better the dorms get as well. Also they promote very social environments!

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers here are very challenging but because the class size isn't overwhelming, you get to know the teacher and they will provide the help that you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Realize this is a small school! A lot of freshman transfer out because it isn't big enough for them. This is a perfect place if you want a small school, but make sure that's what you want!

    In three sentences

    Catawba College is an amazing environment for students! It is small and personal where you can actually get to know people and teachers. It is an overall beautiful and great place for someone to grow up and become an real adult in.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on at Catawba. Every Friday a club by the name of WigWam hosts parties, carnivals, movies,and entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very delicious but expensive for commuters other than that the dining is nice.

    Dorm Life

    I don't stay on Campus

    Academic Rigor

    Its very hands on and visual for those who understand better with pictures.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to have lots of scholarships set up.

    In three sentences

    This is a very fun and intellectual school. The worst thing about Catawba is paying for the education. Other than that its a blast.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have blue call boxes in EVERY parking lot at Catawba for student, faculty, and visitor safety. Public Safety is always around the campus, no matter what time of day or night, you will see one of the Public Safety men or women somewhere on campus.

    Greek Life

    We sadly have no Greek Life. Our campus is too small. We do have clubs that are kind of like Greek though.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities students can get involved with. Even if you don't play a sport we have intermural sports throughout the year that everyone loves to get involved with.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student could fit in here. We have music, theater, teachers, business, athletic training, and pre-law. Catawba is home to many different types of students. Everyone feels welcome!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a carnival every year right before finals week that is called Catawbapalooza. It's free to all students. There are rides, food and plenty of fun!

    What to do for fun

    I cheer, so I am always at sporting events. We have a few nationally ranked sports teams, that are amazing to watch. We also have Wigwam which hosts events for students every weekend an sometimes throughout the entire week. There is always something fun and exciting to do on campus.

    Food and Dining

    By what I hear the food has gotten a lot better. Of course I have only experienced the food once, and by what I have experienced it is pretty good. Catawba does food through Chartwells and they do an excellent job of getting students the food they need and truly work with you on any dietary needs you have.

    Dorm Life

    Always discovering more people around you. There are always hall programs that let you hang out with the other people you live around and you get to personally know your RA which is pretty cool.

    Academic Rigor

    Catawba is a nationally ranked college. I am super proud to say that I attend a school that is academically ranked!

    Tips for prospective students

    Catawba may be small, but it really gives you the home away from home feel. The campus and people on the campus really make you feel welcome and there is always an upbeat feeling. It really is a friendly place to be!

    In three sentences

    Catawba has been a place for me to really enjoy my studies and my sport. I have gotten to know professors on a personal level and they actually know me by name; I'm not just a face. I have been able to get involved in many activities an really get the feel of what college is like.

  • 02/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Wigwam productions always gives students activities to do on the weekends and during the week students hang out in the game room. There is also somethings to do off campus for mobile students.

    Food and Dining

    Are cafeteria is very nice and the food is great. The chefs build relationships with the students to always give them an enjoyable experience.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is very clean and tidy. Residence Assistants are always available for any help if needed.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here definitely require work and thought, but it allows a deeper thought into your past and future. The curriculum is very interactive and easy to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Catawba is a very interactive campus. You will meet new people and see their face everyday. Professors are also ready to help and always on your side.

    In three sentences

    A great school to stay focused. It's small, diverse, and a friendly campus. A great place to make long-lasting relationships.

  • 03/25/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    You get the food tickets all year. The food is amazing. You can tour there.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm varies. Its big dorms. It all over the campus

    Academic Rigor

    The professors will help you in anyway. The educators will be there too. Its rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college is really good for law. They have a lot of scholarships to afford the school. Take a tour there.

    In three sentences

    Catawba is in the top 75% for law. The campus is amazing. People will succeed there.

  • 06/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Catawba College is very safe. We have 24 hour Public Safety and RA's that are constantly making rounds on campus every night to ensure safety.

    Greek Life

    Due to the founder's rules, Greek life is not allowed on campus. We do, however, have societies; the Dead Athenian Society (DAS) and the Philomathean Society for the men and the Delphinian Society and the Helen Foil Beard Society for the women.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs on campus that always plan events for the student body and if you are unable to find a club that works for you, then you are always able to establish your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    Catawba College is great for any type of student that does not want to just be a number at a large school or a small fish in a large pond.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no unusual traditions or locations on campus that I know of, but that doesn't mean anything.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though the price tag for Catawba may seem a little pricey at first, the personal education that you receive because of the small class sizes and the dedicated teachers that actually know you by name make up for the price.

    What to do for fun

    On campus there are typically activities going on every night from bingo to concerts put on by the music majors and everything is free. You are also able to attend the games and productions for absolutely no cost.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining on campus is great. The cafe is always open whenever someone could be hungry and if you don't want what they are serving in the cafe, you can always head up to McCorkles or Starbucks and grab a bite to eat there.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms at college is a great way to make friends and to get use to having to share your space with someone. The RA's (Resident Assistants) always have activities planned so you can get to know everyone on your hall.

    Academic Rigor

    Even though Catawba College does expect a great deal out of their students, there is not a feeling on campus that if you are not studying then you are doing something wrong. Many of the students begin study groups with their friends and others in their classes because there is a desire to succeed that spreads across campus from the performing arts majors all the way to the Biology majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour Catawba before moving in so you are not lost on those first few days of orientation.

    In three sentences

    Catawba College is a great school where everyone is able to find their own niche. The teachers are so willing to take the time out of their day and help with anything and everything you could ever need. There is always something different to do on campus every week, ranging from massage chairs to exotic animals.