Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Catawba Valley Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel completely safe at my college, Cops are always on staff and offer services to help out with car trouble, escorting through parking lots, etc. Some crimes still happen on campus, but having security keeps it low.

    Clubs and Activities

    All clubs are independently organized by either staff or students. Events are organized usually by the college's event staff

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is a lot cheaper than a university's, but when it comes to choosing this college, I'd pick another if you have the option

    What to do for fun

    We have a pretty nice student center and the college organizes campus wide events a couple of times throughout the year. We also have various clubs to join. Events could be amped up a little but It's not too bad.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good, but pricey.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at my college

    Academic Rigor

    Most courses are at a high school level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose your instructors wisely, ask current students or check out ratemyprofessor.com, it's pretty acurate. My advice would be to stay on top of your work and keep your future goals clear in your mind.

    In three sentences

    The college has potential, but I feel I am not receiving the best education as possible. Mostly, the staff is great and strive to push academic excellence, but I feel the college itself just pushes for more money. The student body is overpopulated and classrooms are very crowded. I feel more like a mule than an individual student at my college.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have had bomb threats and gun threats. The evacuations were poorly planned, but there has never been a serious problem. It has never been any more serious than the problems at local high schools.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a good school for students who like small campuses in the middle of the city. There is not very much to do, but one can manage if they like bowling, putt-putt, eating out, or being at a small mall.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is soccer field open to the public.

    What to do for fun

    You can use their work-out room for free, play tennis or basketball, or even join a club!

    Food and Dining

    There is a student center with food made on campus. The food reminds me of public middle school food. It's not very good. I found myself eating out of vending machines. I would suggest eating off campus nearby or going home to eat!

    Dorm Life

    This is a community College. There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes can be very tough, but some come very easy!

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep a list of what classes you need and what the prerequisites are. Pack your own lunch. Ask others about past teachers.

    In three sentences

    Catawba Valley Community College pushed me to excel in my studies. I finished my two-year degree, and I enjoyed most classes. I was also able to have a job and go to school at the same time.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    EXCELLENT! Top notch security. County Sherrif's office are stationed on campus!

    Greek Life

    Beta Eta Delta chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (Honor Society).

    Clubs and Activities

    Check out the website at www.cvcc.edu

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a challenge and REALLY want to learn. Returning adult students are about 1/4 of the school population. Students persueing allied healthcare---CVCC has the largest simulated hospital in the Southeast (among technical & community colleges). IT students: a very active technology program. Entrepreneurs: CVCC has an Applied Science degree in entrepreneurship as well as a full set of continuing education classes for small business. They even have a free program for local business owners and would-be business owners.

    Bang for the buck

    VERY affordable as CVCC is part of North Carolina's higher education school and university system. Books are still outrageous though; plan ahead and buy used and online!

    What to do for fun

    If you're into sports, CVCC has a very competitive athletic program. The ladies volleyball team is rated among some of the top teams, nationally. There is also basketball, baseball, soccer, and I even think they are looking toward a possible football team. There is always something going on in the arts, either on campus, or sponsored by the school in the Hickory area. We have festivals of many sorts. The school is very diverse culturally, and ethnically. Hickory has a large Mongue population, so there are lots of beautiful students which are part of this group. There are 20 or so clubs and organizations, most are very, very active. The Hickory area is teaming with things to do. There are good restaurants, shopping, parks, art exhibits, museums (the Salt Block, for example), a Barnes and Noble across the street with a cafe that serves Starbucks coffee. Hickory Crawdad's minor league baseball team is also a fav. Students get discounted (all the time) or free tickets (on Thursday) for their games, as well as other discounts throughout Hickory, and also Carowinds in Charlotte. There are several YMCA locations, one close to the school, and membership is included in your tuition if you take 7 or more credit hours.

    Food and Dining

    The Galley. A bit expensive. But, so is Starbuck's, huh? The Galley is in the new student center, which is a very cool place to kick it.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms... yet! There was a survey of students this month regarding living arrangements. So, they are obvoiusly looking at whether there is a need or not.

    Academic Rigor

    As I've already mentioned twice (can I emphasize this enough?), CVCC is very rigorous for a community college. They are not playing around! Sure, there are some instructors that are more rigorous than others, but overall you will have a difficult time finding a more rigorous commmunity college in our area. Don't go to this school if you're lazy!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a rigorous, yet rewarding and affordable community college, CVCC should be at the top of your list. Make sure you take advantage of every resource available to new and prospective students. CVCC offers a Peer Mentoring program for first and second semester students. The Peer Mentoring program is exceptional, and is for the sole purpose of orienting a new or returning student to the vast resources available to them, as well as provide a friend and mentor to help guide you. The program consists of weekly sessions with your mentor, modules that cover time management skills as it relates to student success, critical thinking, study methodologies and test prep, as well as stress management and staying healthy. CVCC also offers career development resources that any student or former student should utilize fully. A few other tips: get ahead, and stay ahead... with your studies, housekeeping, planning, etc. Take personal responsibility to see things through---from registration, to assignments and study, to following up on your schedule, financial aid, etc. There is plenty of help available, but you need to take control of your education and your future! Get involved in a club or organization, and volunteer, run for office, chair a planning committee, etc. I highly recommend joining the honor society if you are invited (3.5 GPA or above for 2 semesters). There are scholarships that are automatic for Phi Theta Kappa members, as well as personal development programs, internet resources (collegefish.org) for researching and applying to senior colleges and universities, financial aid, personal development courses, etc.

    In three sentences

    CVCC is a very rigorous public (state) community college with a multitude of program offerings, from AA and AS degrees for general education and transferring, to a variety of Applied Science degrees. Unlike many of the community colleges in the Southeast U.S. region, CVCC grades on a 7 point scale rather than a 10 point scale. Also, unlike many of the areas community colleges, including one of North Carolina's largest (Central Piedmont Community College in Charlotte), CVCC offers financial aid options that include Federal Loans.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Super safe school. Nothing is getting by them.

    Great for these types of students

    Who need that extra boost. Who need extra focus in school to be successful.

    Bang for the buck

    Worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    Spring fling and Fall fling!

    Food and Dining

    Having a cafe on campus is convenient, but the food could have more varierty.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the teachers I have had so far are very good. Not all are easy going and clear on their teaching ways.

    In three sentences

    Very clean and easy focused school. Everyone is super friendly and easy going. Very good teachers.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a 24 hour surveillance on board and cops around the campus during the day at all times.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking to save some money before heading off to a university or even seeking to go into the dental program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Fall fling and spring fling and many other cultural events such as Quinceneras and the Hmong Festival.

    Bang for the buck

    Great Price! You even get money back regarding where you financially stand.

    What to do for fun

    Valley Hills Mall is located just a couple of minutes away including a bowling alley right across the mall. You also have the opportunity to golf or go play at the arcade. A theater is right behind the mall as well which makes it super easy. CVCC is located in the heart of Hickory and you could find many things to do such as shopping centers and restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    Dining in the Galley is quite expensive, but with the money that you save from going to a University, you can spend it on the local restaurants such as Buffalo Wild Wings, Taco Bell, O'Charleys or even head back home to cook you up a meal.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It really does depend on your learning style and the teacher's teaching style as well. Most teachers are quite helpful and really care about their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should really consider going to CVCC because it does save you money. You would rather spend a small amount of money for the same education as you could get at a University trying to spend thousands and not even sure of what your major is. If you are unsure of your major, the best way to do is save some money, spend some times to think about it, finish your associates at a low cost, and then think about what you want to major in. It is important to save as much money as you can when choosing a college because you don't want to get out of college with a huge debt. CVCC has great classes, some more interesting then others of course, but it's all worth it.

    In three sentences

    Catawba Valley Community College is a great money saving opportunity with great classes to choose from. CVCC saves you money and give you the general education you need from other universities that cost thousands. CVCC has great help with courses you are struggling in such as the LAC and the writing center.

  • 08/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We do well in campus safety. Cops are always in and around the school making sure that everything is in place. A year and a half ago we had someone coming in with a gun, and the whole school went in protective mode till the person was stopped, everybody was safe and sound.

    Greek Life

    We do not have fraternities of sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs and activities, and like I said before we have three big events where they are showed to the student body.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for everyone who wants to make their life better by continuing higher education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have the Office of Multicultural Affairs, which is ranked number one through the nation. We share and accept diversity and that unites us more.

    Bang for the buck

    Full time students get free YMCA membership while enrolled. Most of the restaurants in the area give you discounts or coupons just by being a student here.

    What to do for fun

    The school has a lot of activities throughout the year. We have The flings (Fall and Spring) which allow the students to know the clubs around school, and food is served for all the students. Have a dog with the big dawg Which is the first presentation in the year of clubs throughout the school, and they serve lunch for students. We also have some celebrations that arise depending on the season (or the holiday) of the year. The best part is joining a club, for example CKI. I've been in many schools in the school, but the one with the most impact was Circle K International. We do a lot of community service, which allows us to do good unto others. We do a lot of hanging out with other members, and we have lots of fun when we go out in social events.

    Food and Dining

    That's the part, the food is simple. Some students eat in campus, but most of us eat outside of campus in our free time or bring food from home. The eating place, which is in the student center, is well accommodated and allows you to eat your food comfortable while you relax with your friends.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the colleges housing (which we do have, even though we are a community college), so I could not give accurate information about it.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers treat you like an adult, and some others know the struggle of college life. It depends on the teacher you get. As long as you try hard and keep up with the assignments, you should be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    You are going to love it. Registration is not too hard. The ladies at the front desk really want to, and show their best if helping you out when you come and ask for help at the student services. You can take classes in your own time and you don't have to be in campus all day. The clubs are fun and really involved in community service. Make sure that you keep track of your classes though because it is easy to stop applying yourself and get distracted.

    In three sentences

    A great place to study. With teachers that are eager to teach and make the best out of you. A place where you can make friends and help the community at the same time through college clubs.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    G R E A T campus safety. There are always sheriff's deputies on campus as well as CVCC security forces.

    Great for these types of students

    Traditional, non-tradtional, looking to complete GE at a lower cost, laid back students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Check out the gardens, as well as the new Mac labs on the bottom floor of the Paap building. Also, Challenger Early College High School is on campus (Go Firebirds!)

    Bang for the buck

    CVCC is great for in state students, and you can find most textbooks used if needed.

    What to do for fun

    CVCC offers many clubs, outdoor activities, and field trips, as well as student entertainment events. Check campus for flyers about visiting authors or government officials or bands!

    Food and Dining

    The Galley is a new, state of the art canteen and kitchen, with Starbucks and organic foods, as well as pizza and hot dogs. There are many options available in the Galley, and $1 hotdog Fridays are always a hit! Sometimes food is pricey and you can find things, such as chips or drinks, cheaper in the vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    CVCC has no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the instructors, as some are incredibly easy, while many math and science instructors are hard core.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose your instructors wisely, as they determine what grades you will receive. Also, keep up with your own student aid and curriculum check sheets, as your advisers may not know you all that well.

    In three sentences

    Catawba Valley Community College is a great place to attain your general education requirements for a four year institution, or to gain technical degrees or certification titles. Not only are the faculty and state some of the best in the state, CVCC offers tons of departmental and cultural trips and experiences. The low cost and highly rewarding education from CVCC has made it easy to succeed.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none yet

    What to do for fun

    Still learning this

    Dorm Life

    Does not have Dorms on site

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open, ask questions and have fun

    In three sentences

    So far my experience here has been great. Everyone has been very helpful and very understanding. I am very excited to start this fall.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I an not so sure yet because this is my first time attending there.

    Greek Life

    I an not so sure yet because this is my first time attending there.

    Clubs and Activities

    I an not so sure yet because this is my first time attending there.

    Great for these types of students

    I an not so sure yet because this is my first time attending there.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I an not so sure yet because this is my first time attending there.

    Bang for the buck

    I an not so sure yet because this is my first time attending there.

    What to do for fun

    I an not so sure yet because this is my first time attending there.

    Food and Dining

    I an not so sure yet because this is my first time attending there.

    Dorm Life

    I an not so sure yet because this is my first time attending there.

    Academic Rigor

    I an not so sure yet because this is my first time attending there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always meet with a counselor before doing anything. Read everything that they give you because it is very helpful and can help you prepare for college. Do not wait until the last minute to complete everything, do everything in the beginning.

    In three sentences

    Catawba Valley has great people who can help a person find what they need to complete school. Their staff is very helpful and friendly. The college may not be as big as other community college that i have seen but it is filled with lots of people so that's a plus for making new friends.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I'm kind of a homebody so I'm not sure what all is available.

    Food and Dining

    There are many great restaurants and fast food places around the campus and most are within a mile or so. There is a Taco Bell, Subway and McDonald's directly across the street from campus and two lights down you have places like Applebee's, Chili's and Olive Garden just to name a few.

    Dorm Life

    Currently, CVCC does not have any dorms, but there is plenty to do around town.

    Academic Rigor

    CVCC offers seated, online and hybrid classes. Don't be fooled by the online classes because they are not as easy as you would think. Some think that the online classes are actually harder than the seated classes because of the amount of work involved.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the learning assistance center (LAC) if you need any help. Dont let your grades drop because you don't understand something. The writing center in the library is also a great source of knowledge.

    In three sentences

    CVCC has a lot to offer to students right out of high school or adult learners who are returning to complete their degrees or just starting over in a new career field. There are a variety of majors along with extensive continuing education opportunities. It has a great gym, library and learning assistance center.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for older student that have full time jobs and families.

    Bang for the buck

    CVCC is a great school and I recommend it to anyone that is in this area. They really focus on helping people complete school that has families.

    What to do for fun

    There is all kinds of fun things to do around the school. They are right near a YMCA so you can workout during breaks, also they are right across the street from many shopping complexes, which makes it very convenient!

    Food and Dining

    CVCC has a little cafe for lunches.

    Dorm Life

    They do not supply Dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Rigor is great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for whatever you need. The staff is always willing to help you, you just have to ask for the help.

    In three sentences

    Catawba Valley Community College has really helped me prepare for the future. I love that they are a local school, convenient to my home and they are always willing to help me with whatever I need. They are helping me prepare for my next step which is a bachelor's degree. Thank you CVCC!!!

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent campus safety. Emergency phones in each parking lot. Local police cars scan the parking lots.

    Greek Life

    None that I know of

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for parents or anyone who is just starting out in college and is a little scared to jump into a state college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't attended this school long enough yet to know of any traditions, but I do know that I have never seen a parking lot as big as theirs before. Get here early to get a spot!

    Bang for the buck

    I really do like the school. It has a great nursing course there, which is something I am interested in. For everything that I have seen so far, I would recommend anyone come to this school. They have anything any other college would have, and you don't have to pay an arm and a leg to take a course there. Also you get discounts at YMCA and other clubs and discounts at local stores.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs to sign up for. That's about it if your talking about the school itself. Around the school is dining, shopping.

    Food and Dining

    on campus food is good. There is lots of choices for students. Fast and also lots of choices to eat around campus.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms here

    Academic Rigor

    So far I am benefiting from my classes. Especially since I haven't been in school for 12 years.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure when you sign up for courses at this school, if you are receiving financial aid, that you make sure your credits are not split up. That makes for a confusing time with your disbursements.

    In three sentences

    I would say that say far as education goes, cvcc has met my expectations so far. Classes aren't over crowded and my teachers are great. However, I would've like them not to split up the math classes this semester, it has made it harder for me to pass the classes.

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Amazing for a community college.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of stuff to do in Hickory, but not exactly city fun.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    No clue.

    Academic Rigor

    It's harder then HS, but a lot easier then I would think Uni would be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just make it threw high school and then you'll be fine.

    In three sentences

    I take online classes as a senior at Hickory Career and Arts Magnet High School. CVCC also sends a processor to my school to teach me two classes a day.

  • 05/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus' security consist of police on duty during school hours, and telephones at every light pole in the parking lot of the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    for more clubs and activities please go to www.cvcc.edu

    What to do for fun

    There are activities and events posted on the school home page website as well as around the school.

    Food and Dining

    The school has a student store in the student center that serves starbuck coffee; hot food: breakfast sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs, hot soups, pizzas, and etc; snacks and drinks. There are vending machines for students convenience.

    Dorm Life

    The school is a community college and there is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    It would have to be that the school still holds a seven or eight point grading scale.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school provides many resources to help students to become better and understand such as; a tutoring center and a writing center with staffs and instructors to help. The school also have a student center for students to hang out, get a bite, study, play or listen to music.

    In three sentences

    Catawba Valley Community College is a school for students of all ages such as; early high school to continuing education after so many years. The school has amazing instructors and staffs interesting and understanding. Overall the school is a great place to attend.

  • 05/11/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Catawba County Police patrol campus 24/7 and there are emergency lights all over campus. Along with campus emergency text message systems.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Very active student government and student clubs and organizations over 50 on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Homeschooled students trying to get used to college life, those wishing to live at home the first few years, nursing students trying to save money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None really.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent bang for your buck! The cost per semester hour is very reasonable. I spent 2 years at CVCC and spent about $4,500. Around $2,250 per year which is not bad at all considering you can transfer will all your basics or with an associates in science or art.

    What to do for fun

    There is a mall nearby and multiple shops. Bowling and put put, a large Carmike Movie Theatre and the Hickory Motor Speedway.

    Food and Dining

    There is an abundance of fast food and nice sit down restaurants that are very close to campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no on campus dorms. There are many apartment complexes nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    Biology and Chemistry classes are difficult. Other classes are not quite as hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your teachers and strive to do all your assigned work. Most teachers are easy to get along with and will help students especially those who work hard.

    In three sentences

    CVCC is a nice stepping stone from high school into the college atmosphere. Most professors are easy to work with and strive to help students succeed. A large variety programs are offered at this college.

  • 11/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many club sponsored trips open to everyone. There are also guest speakers coming to the school constantly to give more information on their profession. You can always come out to support the sports teams. There are also Fall/Spring Flings where you can come to take a break during the semester and have fun, eat food, and play games with other students.

    Food and Dining

    Catawba Valley Community College is located on US Highway 70. Within a few miles from the school there is every dining location you can think of. Applebees, Olive Garden, Buffalo Wild Wings, East Coast Wings, and countless others. But if you're in a hurry to get to your next class there is plenty of delicious food in the Student Center with staff always friendly and ready to help.

    Dorm Life

    It is a community college, there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    All of the classes are rigorous, but the sciences and maths prove to be extra challenging. The instructors know their information and expect you to learn it and know it. You can't just memorize the information and forget about it. The information you learn the first week of school will continue to apply to each concept thereafter. It is very important to understand how, why and see the bigger picture.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Don't just sit in class and listen, it's not enough. You have to contribute to discussions, bounce ideas off other students. Many instructors strive get students involved. Also, take advantage of the resources supplied such as The Writing Center which will edit your papers and help you better your writing. There are also countless computer labs to complete online assignments or to do research. Join a club, there are many and you will surely find one you will enjoy.

    In three sentences

    Catawba Valley Community College is one of the best in the state with professors genuinely wanting to see students succeed. It is accompanied with many clubs and athletics programs. Each person gets a personalized agenda but all students will have the support and resources needed to graduate.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The local Police Department are always on campus. Usually four or five cars around campus, patrolling the parking lots and walkways. There is a campus security phone every 50 foot or so all around the campus to call security directly if there is a need.

    Greek Life

    No clue?

    Clubs and Activities

    There are to many to list.

    Great for these types of students

    Median age is around 26-28 but students there can range from 15 to 50 or more. This college has a program for high School students that allows them to take classes there which will give them an associates degree on their graduation date from high School. Thus giving a High School Student a very nice head-start on an ever lasting and constantly expanding education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not know any but I am sure there are plenty.

    Bang for the buck

    Regulated pricing so very competitive against any other college of the same type.

    What to do for fun

    CVCC has many academic programs and multiple sports programs plus facilities to play games, lounge, study and much more. The surrounding area has many bars and other places to go unwind that are all very local.

    Food and Dining

    Only one area that sells food(cooked food) but many vending machines across campus. There are multiple restaurants all around the area and most can be reached in minutes even by foot.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Very fast paced in some classes as they are prone to give homework each night. Many other classes just assign a chapter for the week and give a chapter exam each week.

    Tips for prospective students

    Only one tip I could give, It is about enrollment. Make certain you ask students about what to do and make absolutely sure you attend their first class that is mandatory ABOUT enrollment. If you fail to do this class well before you apply for financial aid then you will not receive your aid til later in the semester because CVCC does not look at applications until AFTER the mandatory class has been taken. Only then can you actually enroll( You can apply but they won't open your file til you complete the class, thus your Aid will not be processed til the class is complete and your fully enrolled).

    In three sentences

    CVCC Has most programs of study available and the teachers are knowledgeable in their fields as well as helpful in any way possible. CVCC does expect you to figure out many aspects of enrollment,admissions,WebAssign and schedules on your own or by asking other students/teachers as part of your learning process, but they do give enough information for each aspect that you should be able to figure everything out with minimal trouble. CVCC seems to be much better than the other local colleges of the same type in many properties and they offer much more programs of study and allow the Federal Loans when the other schools in the area refuse them.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I completed my first two years of college here to save money. I did not pay a dime since I received pell grants every year.

    Food and Dining

    The little snack area is good.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the teachers are pretty easy when it comes to homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise you to take classes at the school if at all possible. I have found that online classes seem to give more work.

    In three sentences

    I love going to college here. I have yet to have a bad teacher. General Biology was a great class.

  • 04/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Its a small town so you can find stuff to do

    Tips for prospective students

    Try your hardest on everything and develop good habits now instead of later.

    In three sentences

    This school is a good starter school. Very good if you trying to get back into the school life. Very good for transfer students.

  • 04/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Always great for adult and non traditional students.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a quality education for a cheap price. Always do your general education credits at a community college

    What to do for fun

    There are always many activities and groups to join on campus, but most things to do will be done with your friends that you make outside of class.

    Food and Dining

    Small and expensive cafeteria, you are better off going to the restaurants and fast food surrounding you.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    Can be intense at times, but not all classes will mentally drain you. As long as you put in the effort you will make it through.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try and go to classes on campus if you can, the teachers will work with you if you need help getting through the semester, and it is easier to do that if they know who you are.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy this school, the teachers are really there to help you achieve your best regardless of age and background. More options for evening and online classes need to be considered for those students that cannot attend class during the day, and have families at that need them at night. Besides that, there is a great selection of classes available to take.