Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Catholic University of America (CUA) Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -Catholics AND Non-Catholics: They don't force you to pray or go to church. It's just there if you prefer to go. We don't pray all day or take time out of our day to pray and meditate. -Students willing to learn -Students who like a small campus -Students who enjoy the city

    Bang for the buck

    The school is very expensive. In my opinion. For the amount of money you pay you would expect to actually see your money going somewhere. Such as more dorms, or in the food, food court, more washing machines, etc. I understand the campus is old, but I cant really see my money going anywhere. I've seen better schools that cost less. We just got a new President so it could change.

    Am enjoying being here

    The one thing I love about the school is the surrounding area. I'm from the area so I loved it anyway. The metro is on campus so it's really easy to go out and explore and have fun. The campus hosts a lot of activities throughout the year. I wouldn't say its my favorite place to be for student activities. But it's not awful either. I also wish there was more diversity. As an African-American Student, there isn't much offered for us either. The school is majority Caucasian. It would be nice for the school population to not be so homogeneous. If I could do it again, I probably would not have gone here.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes here are small. The average class is about 18 people. So you really get to have a relationship with your teachers and they know you by name. The teachers are very helpful and make time to answer questions and make sure everything is clear. Although some of the required classes (Theology and Philosophy) don't interest me, i still learn a lot.

  • 01/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One of the biggest priorities for administration is the safety of the students. We have a decently sized campus security that is 24 hours, blue light emergency buttons spread throughout campus, and 24 hour campus walk through. I work or CP myself, and i would know personally how efficient and good they are at their job.

    Greek Life

    I dont really hear about Greek life at all besides when rushing happens. Not that big on campus or popular.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many activities! Seriously, for almost anything you can imagine, and if there is not a club you are interested in, administration is always open to starting new ones. A few are anime, black student alliance, fencing, ballroom dancing, rugby,

    Great for these types of students

    -Motivated students -Involved students -AMAZING Architect, engineering, and Nursing program so those thinking to going into that field. (Really good) -Politic or law majors (In the heart if D.C., best way to make connections and find internships)

    Bang for the buck

    For how much you pay, there are a lot of benefits. Cafe open until midnight or 2 a.m., 24 hour computer lab, 24 hour library, fitness center open until 1 a.m., on campus access to metro, and many other amenities many universities do not have, but i would still say a bit overpriced.

    What to do for fun

    Since the university is located in the middle of D.C. the possibilities are endless. The zoo, museums, chinatown, night clubs, shopping at Dupont Circle, movies, warner theater, paintball, and so so much more in addition to the Capital where all the monuments are.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay, a bit overpriced though. But the dining hall opens from 7:30 everyday and closes at midnight during the week and 2 a.m. on the weekends so very convenient. Also there is a separate Starbucks another food court and a connivence store all in one building, in addition to all the great restaurants in D.C.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is about average. New policy this year stated that single sex dorms will be put into full effect all over campus aside from one dorm. Some may see this as a down fall, but i personally like it, guys can be disgusting and destructive. Two Resident advisors on each floor

    Academic Rigor

    One of the most difficult schools to attend as a freshman. When comparing this University with the State universities my fiends went to, there is no comparison. They do not understand how time consuming or challenging the classes can be. The same class at a state university to this university, i may spend 2-3 hours on a reading or summary where as they may only spend 45 minuets.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please do not attend this school with the mentality that this is 1) a party school or 2) a predominately white campus. All races and faiths attend here and the religious views of the school are not pushed on the students.

    In three sentences

    Catholic is a wonderful school with a breath taking campus, wonderful staff, and wonderful -i mean wonderful- academics. The professors are great but tough, and this is no fly by school. Only the most determined will last and succeed.

  • 10/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    - those interested in politics, international studies, and history - the nation's capital is a good location - drama students - the CUA drama department is renowned for its work - students interested in social work or service-related careers, especially with a Catholic perspective

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of overnight opportunities as well as the chance to sit in on a lecture - it'll give you a glimpse of what you can expect academically and socially, and you'll get to meet students who have at least a little bit of university life under their belts. Visit the Basilica - seriously, the largest Catholic church in the Western hemisphere. Even if you aren't Catholic, there's a lot of beautiful art and architecture to be seen. Also, don't be afraid if you're not Catholic - a lot of the student body isn't, and nobody is going to force you to believe something you don't.

    Bang for the buck

    College isn't cheap these days - it is difficult to reconcile the cost of a college education with the current economic climate. However, CUA offers a lot for the amount they charge, which is actually less than other private colleges. Many of the residence halls have been refurbished in the past few years, and the fitness centers are fantastic. There are also a great deal of technological advancements for the classrooms, which makes it easier for teachers and students to engage with their academic subjects. I would suggest looking into the school's scholarships, which greatly reduce costs, but overall, the school delivers with great academic programs and residence life.

    Am enjoying being here

    There's little to complain about at CUA. Sure, we all have our occasional gripes (the only ones I can recall are that the Student Restaurant is too small, and that residence halls are becoming single-sex), but CUA is such a fantastic place. The students and faculty are welcoming and kind; the campus has its own Metro stop (super-convenient for going to museums, shows, monument-hopping), and it's next to the largest church in the Western hemisphere (you can even live next to it.) The combination of accessibility to one of the most vibrant U.S. cities and the strong sense of community makes CUA one of the most enjoyable places in all of Washington, D.C.

    Am learning a lot

    CUA offers a great deal of very challenging courses, especially on the Honors level (the Honors Program is fantastic, so apply for it if you can!) The teachers I have had at CUA are absolutely brilliant, and they enjoy sharing what they know with students. CUA wants students to experience a great breadth and depth of knowledge, so there are always lectures to attend and performances by the music and drama departments - there's always an opportunity to learn.

  • 01/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although the university is located in an underprivileged area, many students call our campus the bubble, because our campus police are so dedicated. Students can feel safe and secure, and experience very few emergency situations during their college career.

    Clubs and Activities

    The university has a wide offering of clubs in relation to the size of the student body--from the CUAnime club to the Rowing club, Philosophy club and Book club, and several service-based organizations.

    Great for these types of students

    This university is great for Politics, English, Classical, and Philosophy majors, among others. Students should be dedicated to their education. While this university is attended and enjoyed by students from all belief systems, if you are Catholic (Roman or Eastern), there are a lot of fun, religion-based activities for you to enjoy and several opportunities for daily Mass.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception is located practically on campus. It is the largest Church in the United States, with an upper and lower level, and contains more than 100 shrines dedicated to countries around the world.

    Bang for the buck

    The university provides for its students. The cost is shocking to an entering freshman, but once you get to campus and start experiencing student life, you realize just why you paid that much.

    What to do for fun

    The university offers a wide range of student organizations. Campus Ministry offers many religious organizations and service opportunities. The university is located in what is called Little Rome, because there are several Catholic institutions surrounding the area, including the National Shrine (which itself is a day-long endeavor). There is a Metro station on campus, so the rest of the DC area is easily accessible from the university.

    Food and Dining

    This university is unique in that it offers an unlimited meal plan, which includes $100 per semester for purchases from the campus Starbucks. The cafeteria has long hours, and the staff are very helpful and friendly.

    Dorm Life

    While many of the dorms were built more than 50 years ago, they have been refurbished recently. The community is great, and the university puts in a lot of effort to ensure this.

    Academic Rigor

    The university is dedicated to quality education, especially in their English and Philosophy departments. If a student is considering this university, he or she should be a dedicated and punctual individual.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a strongly orthodox Roman Catholic school, this is the one. Just be sure before you apply that they offer the field of study you are interested in. As the student population is relatively small, so is the diversity of their academic offerings.

    In three sentences

    This university takes education seriously, but also manages to be very student-friendly. The small size allows for strong community bonds, and the location in the middle of the city is very convenient for all endeavors. The university sticks to its title of Catholic, and offers a strongly orthodox education and community.

  • 02/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the department of public safety does a great job!

    Clubs and Activities

    there's always something new and fun to do, especially with the house on fridays!

    Bang for the buck

    the price is high, but it is very worth it.

    What to do for fun

    there are so many fun things to do here! there are countless things to do in washington, dc. the school has many chances for catholics to worship, with three chapels.

    Food and Dining

    the food can sometimes be a little bland, but overall it is not offensive.

    Dorm Life

    great student body, and the dorms are safe and clean.

    Academic Rigor

    very challenging, but also very worthwhile academics, especially in philosophy and theology.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are not catholic--don't worry! the catholicness is not forced upon anyone. if you are catholic, campus ministry does a wonderful job helping you to grow in your faith.

    In three sentences

    catholic university's academics are impressive, with brilliant professors and dedicated students. the students are great, smart people who love learning. the location in washington dc is great for many reasons.

  • 07/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is a bit expensive but they are good about grants and aid for all students.

    Am enjoying being here

    Being in D.C. is awesome! There is always something to do either on campus or downtown.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are small which allows the students to form a relationship with their professors. The professors really want to see their students succeed and are very willing to help students.

  • 11/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletes focused on academics. Politics or nursing majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and visit the campus because it is beautiful.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is pretty expensive and though it offers a lot of financial aid to many students, the tuition is a little steep. But in return for such a hefty tuition, you have Washington, DC so close along with numerous opportunities for internships and experiences.

    Am enjoying being here

    The school is great and there are countless opportunities offered on a daily basis. The location is superb because the metro stop is conveniently located on campus, so getting into the city is just a few minutes away on the metro. Everyone is friendly and personable and willing to help.

    Am learning a lot

    Though some of the required classes can be difficult, the students here do learn a lot and are eager to understand the information. The classes you get to choose are very interesting and the instructors teach them so well that the homework is clear.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is super safe, just be careful about wandering into the surrounding neighborhood at night, this is Washington D.C. and it can be dangerous.

    Clubs and Activities

    It seems like there's something for everyone here! Plenty of clubs and organizations to join and there's always several events going on on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    My experience has been very personalized and I feel like the school cares about my success. The community is wonderful and I come out of class everyday feeling like I have learned and one step closer to my chosen career!

    What to do for fun

    Learn how to navigate the Metro and take advantage of being in D.C. to explore all that the city has to offer. Make sure to become active on campus and participate because it will help you stay in the loop. There are plenty of fun things to do both on campus and off.

    Food and Dining

    Food in the student restaurant is not the greatest but plentiful. It's also very repetitive but open late. Breakfast is the best meal because there's lots of fresh fruit and made to order omelets.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are all single sex, but have really great community. Security in the traditional style dorms is pretty strict and all visitors have to be signed in after around 4 o'clock. The suite style living in Centennial Village is nice, but the traditional dorm buildings are nicer style wise.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes vary but are definitely do-able as long as you keep up with the work. Very small class sizes so it is easy to form relationships with your teachers. Don't expect to be skipping class everyday because most take attendance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the program you want to be involved in and make sure to ask about it if you visit campus. Also, visit campus!

    In three sentences

    Catholic is a small college with decent academics and plenty of friendly people. It's lots of fun in D.C. and on campus. Both faith and party lifestyles are very active here.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    you will feel very safe at CUA, Campus police is strict.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs ans student organizations.

    Great for these types of students

    CUA is not really diversed

    Bang for the buck

    Too expensive but might be worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of clubs and the red line can take you anywhere in DC, just be careful and make sure you go with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is alright, they kind of serve the same thing every week.

    Dorm Life

    they have living and learning communities; Art, politics and religion.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you show up to class and turn your papers in on time, you will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't always stay in your dorm, go around campus and look for activities to do and you will love it and make new friends. Go on the freshmen retreat, life changing.

    In three sentences

    This school is very religious. A lot of student organization and clubs. they make you think like a philosopher.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is excellent! If you go out into D.C. for a night and end up missing your ride back, you can call the campus security and ask for a ride home.

    What to do for fun

    I only visited Catholic University two times and each time I was there I was running around like crazy doing everything I possibly could. They have various student run events on campus, as well as fun extracurricular activities, such as intramural sports and dance classes. Also, you could always hang out in downtown D.C., where the night life is always thriving!

    Food and Dining

    The food was great when I visited. And I love that they offer healthy alternatives!

    Dorm Life

    I loved the freshman and sophomore dorms that I toured! And the sense of community that comes along with living with all of your classmates is irreplaceable.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes that I sat in on were interactive as well as informative!

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely take a hold of the scholarships and financial aid that Catholic University generously offers. Applying for the scholarships and financial aid are quick and easy!

    In three sentences

    Catholic University of America is such a welcoming and warm environment that is perfect for any student willing and ready to learn and have fun. The location, student life, and classes all have spectacular things to offer that are there for the taking. Catholic U is a place that I look forward to calling home for the next four years of my life and I can not wait until I start there in the fall.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is all over the place. I have never not felt safe on campus, no matter what time it was.

    Greek Life

    Very minimal on campus, but they do a lot of good drives and things for the school and charities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are more clubs that you can even think of.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to think for yourself and explore different topics that you have never heard of. Everyone is welcome to take any class.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Right next to the National Basilica. It is a great church to wander around, so big you could get lost.

    Bang for the buck

    There are many opportunities to do interesting and new things with the school and in DC

    What to do for fun

    Go into the city and explore.

    Food and Dining

    Dinning hall has the same things over and over, but you can eat as much as you want.

    Dorm Life

    Lots of fun, always something going on. As long as you are not too loud there is never a problem

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging courses that will make you think. Numerous ways to get help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school and explore the city. Stop anyone you see and ask them about the school, very friendly people.

    In three sentences

    Great opportunities to explore the capital. Great and extremely helpful professors, tons of resources for achieving. Always ways to improve your own learning.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Social events, sporting events, parties.

    Food and Dining

    You have a variety of food to choose from, but don't forget a restaurant is only a metro ride away if you find you don't like the food at CUA.

    Dorm Life

    They are strict, but fair. They're main goal at CUA is to keep you safe.

    Academic Rigor

    You are expected as a student to do your work and attend class. Each teachers attendance policy is different, but being focused and on time are two huge factors if you want to do well. Pay attention, take notes, and ask questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Listen to your adviser, they really do know what they're talking about and are there to help you every step of the way. Don't slack off early on and regret it once midterms come around. Be social, you won't have any fun if you're stuck in your room, there are so many different people at CUA, you're sure to find a group you fit in with.

    In three sentences

    It is a diverse and social atmosphere filled with astoundingly smart and out spoken students. There are countless groups and events to take part in throughout the year. You won't find another school like it.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The community CUA is around is really rough, but security does a great job.

    Greek Life

    There are service frats, but nothing special.

    Clubs and Activities

    It is D3 athletics, but they are very good. They are part of the Landmark Conference and do rather well.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are religious or not this can be a good spot. I did not go to church once while attending, and didn't feel pressured at all either. The school is somewhat preppy, but there are all walks of life as you could assume.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    CUA has the National Basilica on campus which is gorgeous, and along with the other Catholic traditions, the school has church documents and historical relics.

    Bang for the buck

    Don't spend the full price to come here, but if you get a good deal, definitely go for it!

    What to do for fun

    GO INTO TO CITY! Washington D.C. is an amazing place to wonder around and see museums, historical sights and the good ol' prez!

    Food and Dining

    Beware: the pryz food will make you fat! Just pay attention to the serving sizes and how much your actually consuming.

    Dorm Life

    I personally enjoyed the single sexed housing, however I know a lot of people who did not. The dorms in Centennial Village are defiantly the freshman choice if you are looking for leniency.

    Academic Rigor

    The freshman courses are very challenging, but the teachers generally tell you right way what they are looking for. Attendance is a big part in succeeding and they pay attention to who's there.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus is definitely the draw, but don;t commit if you don't get the right financial aid.

    In three sentences

    Catholic University is a small private university in Washington D.C., with mostly liberal arts students. The campus is gorgeous, and with the right financial circumstances can be a great university. They have a wonderful politics department.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    For a university food the dining is better than most

    Dorm Life

    I have loved getting to live above my classes. I never have a problem arriving to class on time

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to talk to the financial aid office. They are wonderful at finding hidden scholarship and grants!

    In three sentences

    At CUA it is easy to forget that you are attending school in a major world city. The class sizes are small and the professors work to help the students both in and outside the class room.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a small group of people at the Pryz who call themselves the Circle. They have commuters and residents, politics and architecture majors (along with plenty of others), freshman, mostly sophomores, and juniors.

    Bang for the buck

    Though Catholic has a great community, both educational and social, it is a bit more expensive than one might want to care for.

    What to do for fun

    Catholic has a huge variety of fun activities such as retreats, dances, loads of clubs and groups.

    Food and Dining

    To be 100% honest, the food at the Pryz (the main hub of the school) is not exactly amazing. There is no one to blame for the less-than-excellent quality of the food, so one should not discourage their hopes of school simply for this.

    Dorm Life

    Since there are plenty of dorms on campus, each dorm life is quite different from each other so one should do their research and see which dorm is more suitable for them.

    Academic Rigor

    As mentioned before, most professors are professionals in their field of expertise so they will teach you the basics and very quickly you'll find yourself learning as much as they know.

    Tips for prospective students

    Decide your major early because once you get on campus that first day, you hit the ground running. You will find yourself trying to everything at once but if you know what you want to do, you won't stress out and you'll find things seem to ease up a bit.

    In three sentences

    Catholic is a really great school filled with a very friendly community. The courses are taught very well and most every teacher is also a professional in the degree in which they teach (e.g most architecture professors are licensed architects).

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus itself is safe, but the areas around it are not safest to go out alone at night. Personally, I feel safe on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs on campus, and the events and movies they sponsor are really cool.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Shrine of the Immaculate Conception is adjacent to the campus and it is beautiful.

    What to do for fun

    Campus ministry organizes many fun events on Friday nights. Also, there are many museums, monuments, and other cool things to see in DC.

    Food and Dining

    There is a variety of food to choose from and most of the food I have had on campus is good, such as the chili, tacos, and ethnic dishes, and the quality is moderate. Overall, the food and dining area are satisfactory, but sometimes the plates are not the cleanest.

    Dorm Life

    The people in my dorm are nice. The rooms have a decent size and the air-conditioning and heat work well. The bathroom is well-kept in general. Overall I am satisfied with the life in the dorm, because there is a sense of community.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of my classes are easy whole others are challenging.The length of both the readings and papers are longer than what I was used to in high school, but it is manageable. There is a variety of interesting classes offered and my professors really care about what they teach and for their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visiting the college and talking to students really helped me decide that this was the place for me. There are several opportunities to be taken advantage of at the university, especially because of its location in DC.

    In three sentences

    The campus is small and peaceful, yet it is also in the city, so there it has the best of both worlds. Food and housing are satisfactory, and students and staff are friendly. There are several opportunities to live out one's faith with masses, adoration, and service opportunities.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    D.C. is not the safest city in the world, but Northeast is fairly safe and CUA campus is very safe.

    Greek Life

    Really almost nonexistent. I really cannot speak much to it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Really lots of clubs, and a good number of ones that are Catholic-based as well. Also, a good number of politically-based ones, being in D.C. And if you can't find one you like, if you get enough members, you could start one; get details from the Student Life office.

    Great for these types of students

    More quiet, more serious, fun-loving but not really on the wild side, religious, certainly respectful of people, institutions, happy people, those who are suburban or who would thrive in a big city, those who thrive on riding a subway, those who would like diversity, different experiences and cultures.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing really unusual; just the Sunday night Mass at St. Vincent dePaul Chapel is really popular. I like the Mass at Caldwell hall. Campus ministry is really great - but you don't have to go, if that is not your thing. The Edward Pryzbyla Student Center ('the Pryz') is the nerve center of campus life.

    Bang for the buck

    Let's face it, college is expensive. I am so happy here and I am learning a lot. I grew so much in my reasoning and my maturity in just one semester. And I didn't even know it was happening. My parents pointed it out to me. I was just learing and having fun - yes it was work, too, but it was fun, as well. Well worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    There are campus sporting events, intramurals, concerts, lectures, movies; you could always go into D.C. If you can't find something there, then you are to blame! :-)

    Food and Dining

    The Pryz could be better, but it could be a lot worse! :-) If you really have had it, you could always go into D.C. If you can't find something there, then you are to blame! :-)

    Dorm Life

    Good rooms, good activities, safe environment, and good communication.

    Academic Rigor

    They don't let you off the hook, but it is NOT boring. They rather not stick strictly to books and they like to learn by doing. Not a lot of big lecture halls and not a bunch of TAs.

    Tips for prospective students

    You might hear things because it is 'strict' or it is 'Catholic'. I encourage you to keep an open mind. They do have a moral and ethical code and you are expected to behave as moral people. However, no one forces any religion down your throat. The students are so happy here. If you follow simple guidlines, you will enjoy a happy and vibrant campus life.

    In three sentences

    The Catholic University of America is in a vibrant international metropolis that offers everything. It is a warm and inviting environment that cares deeply about the intellectual, emotional, spiritual,and physical well-being of each student. The student will have a lot of fun and interesting activities while being challenged to excel-I can't recommend the experience enough!

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 18 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although the area around Catholic isn't the best, the campus is very safe to walk around and there are campus police officers driving around as well as emergency phones around campus.

    Greek Life

    I think we have one frat and one sorority, both of which are service based. More or less, we have zero greek life activity.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different ones around campus, definitely worth it to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Catholic is great for all students, there are almost 20 varsity sports, there are a few churches on campus, and I find Catholic to be a perfect adjustment for students who are from smaller towns and not used to cities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Catholic University is one of the only schools in DC that has an enclosed campus where the city does not run through it.

    Bang for the buck

    Catholic charges a lot of money and sometimes I feel like the students get the short end of the stick. The food could be a lot better, the library just recently opened for 24 hours a day except on the weekends, the only place on campus to get coffee is Starbucks (limited hours on weekends), and the advisors in most of the majors are eh and many often don't help much at all.

    What to do for fun

    Catholic has a lot of activities and groups that are involved on campus and off campus. There are also countless things to do in DC and it is just an easy metro ride into downtown.

    Food and Dining

    Freshman and sophomore year the food is pretty bad and you are required to get unlimited food plans, however, the food not much different than other universities. There is a second dinning hall that is targeted for more of the older students who have block food plans and there is more of a variety of food there.

    Dorm Life

    Catholic is phasing in single-sex dorms and in the next year or two all buildings should be single-sex. The RA's are pretty strict and there is little tolerance for underage activity. The Catholic University prides themselves in their ability to uphold the Catholic philosophy and the Catholic ways of life.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say that Catholic is between a 3.5 and a 4 on the academic rigor scale. There are definitely some science, nursing, math, economic, and philosophy courses that are quite challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    I would encourage students to really take advantage of the easy accessibility to internships in the area, especially those who are interested in political science, sciences, and research.

    In three sentences

    Catholic University is a medium sized school with a intimate learning environments that allow healthy teacher-student relationships. Catholic is in close proximity to downtown DC (accessible via metro on campus) where there are countless restaurants, museums (free), and places to explore. There are also incredible internship opportunities available to students in the DC area, and Catholic has a great relationship with many.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    EXCELLENT. Campus security is on top of their game. They are always patrolling and on the call if you feel in danger.

    Greek Life

    Horrible. There a few frats but the sororities tend to make more of an appearance. From what I've heard, sororities tend to be lots of drama.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a large variety of clubs. CUA is not very diverse so the ethnic clubs tend to stay small but they are still tons of fun.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like the city and don't mind walking around campus and bumping into 10 nuns playing frisbee, then CUA is for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The best event on campus happens at the end of the spring semester. It's called Luaupalooza. There is free food, rides, and a live concert. TOO MUCH FUN!

    Bang for the buck

    Catholic is pretty pricey but there are scholarships for those of Catholic faith. Even though it may put a hole in your wallet, the education is very worth it.

    What to do for fun

    It's DC! There are monuments, museums, theaters, and parks. If you don't find something fun to do then you must not be looking.

    Food and Dining

    Food gets very tiring after a while. I'm a vegetarian and there are very limited choices. There are several places to order out though.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus but constantly stay on campus late. The people and dorms are lovely. There have been some pest issues lately though so keep your dorm clean!

    Academic Rigor

    I'm an architecture student and the schedule really does give you limited amount of time to fool around.

    Tips for prospective students

    My biggest mistake first semester was not pushing for higher grades. Although you might not want to appear as a teacher's pet or annoying, going in during office hours makes a huge difference on your gpa.

    In three sentences

    Catholic University is a great school full of friendly and helpful staff. It has high moral standards and fantastic students that maintain the reputation. The campus is just as impressive.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Lame

    Clubs and Activities

    A club or activity for every person of every background and interest

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is less than stellar, but the unlimited meal plan for freshman and sophomores goes a long way!

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I attend events and lectures on campus to enhance learning and the college experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest that you spend a few days on campus to experience the college life. The activities are fun.

    In three sentences

    Catholic University's professors are genuinely concerned with the students. The campus is beautiful. The student atmosphere is one of thoughtful kindness.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Excellent!!

    In three sentences

    It is an excellent university with great professionals!

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food, admittedly, is iffy. One day you're eating quality food, the next you have on your plate something like mystery meat. You really can't have 100% in the food here.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are okay overall. It's kind of hard to rate comprehensively, however, being that I've only lived in one.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are good. Small classes and highly-educated teachers aid in the high standards of the academic process.

    In three sentences

    CUA is a mid-sized, liberal-arts oriented university. Academics and Catholic values are highly valued here. There is also a surprising mix of personalities among the student body itself.

  • 05/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is in the neighborhood of a very bad area, but it still has a safe feeling with campus security always around.

    Greek Life

    Very limited greek life; 1 frat and 1 sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's honestly something for everyone and if there's not, you have the option to start your own club!

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for people who come from a catholic background but there are also students from multiple religions on campus (including atheism). A lot of kids come from private catholic schools but I came from a public school and I love CUA.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The basilica is CUA's pride and joy.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a great school, but also an expensive one. Apply to as many scholarships and loans as you can!

    What to do for fun

    In DC, everything a student could want is just a metro ride away.

    Food and Dining

    Limited on weekends, but they really do try and be creative with the food that they serve!

    Dorm Life

    Honestly, some dorms are much better than others! Male dorms, for instance, are constantly messy and chaotic.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are hard if you don't keep up with the work. You'll find yourself pulling quite a few all nighters if you don't stay on top of assignments and due dates but the actual work is not incredibly difficult or un-doable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind, especially when entering DC. I was born and raised in a small town so it was a bit of a shock to be introduced to all of DC, but I'm so happy I chose to branch out. I couldn't imagine living anywhere else.

    In three sentences

    Catholic University is what you make it. It's location is incredible and unique, with the metro located conveniently on campus. The faculty and classwork really contribute to a great overall atmosphere.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Department of Public Safety is always helpful and always has the students' best interest at heart. They are willing to pick any student up from any location on campus and bring them back to their dorm, they can escort you back to your dorm at night, and can talk to you via phone if you ever feel unsafe.

    Greek Life

    There is one sorority and one fraternity on campus, as well as a co-ed fraternity. Greek life isn't really big and not many people participate because they are not nationally chartered.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different things to do on campus; the options are endless.

    Great for these types of students

    Religious, conservative, focused on academics, friendly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Catholic has a lot of fun traditions like dances and cookouts. There are a lot of religious traditions as well, one being the March for Life, which a huge fraction of the student body participate in every year. The Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception is on campus, which is the largest Catholic church in America and is truly a sight to see.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is very nice and the campus is aesthetically pleasing, but it is rather overpriced. The gym is small and lacks a lot of equipment and the cafeteria is not the best and there is only one on campus. On the other hand, the dorms are good, the classrooms are clean and comfortable, and the laundry is free.

    What to do for fun

    Go into the city (sightseeing, dinner, movies, bowling, concerts, etc). There is so much to do in Washington D.C. so it is highly encouraged to get out as much as possible. The Metro is extremely easy to use and reasonable in price. There is a minor house party scene, mainly on the weekends. A lot of students go to bars and clubs as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't the worst food ever, but it is by no means great. The options are very limited. The workers are very friendly.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are extremely nice and the residential staff is always friendly and helpful. Most juniors and seniors live off campus. Housing is only guaranteed for the first two years, but it is really easy for upperclassmen and even graduate students to find living arrangements on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are somewhat difficult, as in they are more challenging than that of a state school but nothing compared to an Ivy League. The school does have a high acceptance rate so the classes aren't the most rigorous around. However, if you take the right classes and push yourself, anyone can do well and still be academically stimulated.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a school with a thriving party scene, Catholic is not for you. However, if you are looking for a small, welcoming community with a nice campus and good living arrangements, it might be just the right fit.

    In three sentences

    This school is based on Catholic values and has more conservative views but it also has a strong sense of community so everyone feels welcome. The academics are challenging, but not impossible and the teachers are extremely proficient. Beautiful campus and fun opportunities in the city.

  • 08/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety at CUA is probably the best out of all the other universities in the DC area. They do a really good job.

    Greek Life

    There's not much Greek Life but it is on the rise.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a vast amount of unique clubs and fun activities on campus. There's something for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since we have a metro stop right on campus, a lot of students use it to get around the city. One tradition we have at CUA is the Rhode Island Challenge. When riding the red line back to campus there's a stop right before CUA's stop called Rhode Island Ave. The challenge is to hang from the overhead bars from the Rhode Island stop to the CUA stop without falling or touching the ground. Everyone tries it at least once. Some succeed and some fail but nonetheless its a lot of fun to do with your friends.

    What to do for fun

    Explore DC! Go see the museums and monuments. You're in the nations capital! There's always something to go see or to do.

    Food and Dining

    CUA doesn't have the best food but its not the worst.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorm Life at CUA is pretty nice. You meet and get to know people from all over and they are overall very nice and welcoming people. The dorms are in pretty good shape.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major, CUA can be very challenging but its not impossible. It also depends on your work ethic.

    In three sentences

    CUA is a great school with a very friendly community. If you're looking for a relatively small school in a big city, CUA is probably a good fit for you. There's so much to do on and off campus that you'll never be bored.

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I travel in groups mostly and feel very safe on campus. As an urban campus any travels off campus can be a little scary.

    What to do for fun

    I play a varsity sport so a lot of my time is spent with my teammates. There are many exciting opportunities off campus and the Metro (subway) is adjacent to campus so you can easily get to most anything in Washington DC.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but the selection gets old after a while. Again, a lot depends of how you use your food plan. It is fairly easy to eat healthy, but there are enough temptations that you have to watch how you are eating.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is typical for a college freshman. The CUA facilities are good, although like every campus, some newer than others. A lot depends on your roommate and at CUA you have the opportunity to pick your own.

    Academic Rigor

    As a freshman I have found that I can keep up with the studies, but getting help along the way makes it easier than going it alone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Catholic is expensive so prepare for the expenses early. Seek out every scholarship opportunity to offset the high tuition costs.

    In three sentences

    Although rigorous academics, the school is everything I was looking for. There are ample opportunities to study in groups or get a tutor.

  • 02/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    DPS security is always seen driving around campus. Always willing to give an escort to those who feel unsafe and the security guards at the doors of the dorms gives a real sense of safety and security.

    Greek Life

    It is present on campus. I'm not involved and do not know much about the process of life.

    Clubs and Activities

    SO MANY OPTIONS. Not one of my friends is not involved in some club, sport or groups. It is a great way to meet people.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want to work, learn, explore, and really get something out of college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When I want to study I like to explore the buildings on campus for study areas, I seem to be able to find a new bubble every now and then.

    Bang for the buck

    College costs an arm and a leg. However, being here has done nothing but brought out the best in me and help me discover myself. I absolutely love it and I think I am making the experience worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    It is DC. The Capitol of the country. If you find no interest in the multitude of events the school hosts almost daily then jump on the metro and go explore the city. If you are bored, it is your own fault. There is ALWAYS something to do.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of options for food. While some options become your favorite meals and others might be unidentifiable it isn't the worst thing you will ever ingest. If you can't handle those options there is always the cafeteria and student restaurant. AND, now Potbelly located across the street from campus. I promise you will not starve.

    Dorm Life

    I enjoy living on campus in the dorm. Being so far from home the people you live with become family. Living with people exposes you to so many new things. I feel safe and secure and actually, communal bathrooms are NOT the worst thing I have had to deal with.

    Academic Rigor

    They ARE going to push you. It will be challenging. It will get tough. However, it is possible. Teachers, study groups, and peers will always be there for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! I know that is what everyone, literally everyone says, but by joining a club sport and committees I have met some of my closest friends. It really expands your social and academic circles.

    In three sentences

    Catholic has a great sense of community, there is a constant feeling of support and interest as a student. The academics are challenging, yet manageable. The faculty and student body is extremely welcoming and there is always aid available for whatever issues or troubles you might experience.

  • 03/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you walk outside of campus there is a high chance you'll get mugged.

    Greek Life

    No real greek life. Only service frats.

    Clubs and Activities

    The campus is great if you are interested in that type of thing. There is so much to do in the city that you'll have something to do even if you are not involved with campus activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Catholic. Politics.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No class, go to mass days, where you seriously have class canceled and are asked to attend mass.

    Bang for the buck

    This University (academically, administratively, and campus wise) is not worth the money. BUT, the Washington, DC location is worth the money and the opportunities that are in DC are worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    It is Washington, DC...if you run out of fun things to do, then you're doing it wrong.

    Food and Dining

    When you are forced to have a meal plan and eat at the pryz, pepto-bismo will become your new and first best friend at college. Beware of the eggs, they will leave you running to the bathroom all day.

    Dorm Life

    Single-sex dorms are annoying, but you get use to them. There is very limited housing on campus, so good luck finding a place to live junior and senior year.

    Academic Rigor

    This university is no Ivy league, even though it attempts to be and charges as much as one.

    Tips for prospective students

    This university will be completely different than you ever expected it to be. Everything about CUA will challenge you, but develop you as a person at the same time. Make sure Washington, DC is somewhere you want to live before you decide to come to college here.

    In three sentences

    Catholic University of America is a wonderful academic institution. There is also a great sense of spirituality on campus, but it is not over powering to the non-catholic student. However, the University's administrative departments unfortunately lack and can be very burdensome and unhelpful to students.