Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Cayuga County Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/11/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Just from visiting the Open House, I found myself to be very impressed... From the people who organized it, to the students that helped, they went above and beyond and were SUPER friendly and informative!!

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety was very important to the Cayuga Community College staff. They had policemen walking the halls during and after school hours. I felt extremely safe while I attended Cayuga Community College.

    Greek Life

    There was no greek life at Cayuga. It is a small community college. It is a very nice school but also very small.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities to gain and invest in. A few are sports, drama team, radio station clubs, gay, straight alliance club, and many more. I played soccer there and it was very benifical and a lot of fun.

    Great for these types of students

    It is very open to any kind of student. I had friends that believed in all different points of view. Some were gay or lesbian, others were from Ireland or England, and some were just from a different part of America. No matter where you come from or who you like it is all accepted at Cayuga.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some of the interesting locations are the nature trail or the gym. I love both those places because they are were I love to be the most. They have a lot of interesting traditions, locations, and people.

    What to do for fun

    The fun things you can do at school are hang out with friends, play video games, play pool, play ping pong, and sports. Outside of school Auburn has threaters, drive-ins, a mall, stores, and parks. Auburn is a small adoriable little community that has enough stuff to keep you and your friends busy for an afternoon on the town.

    Food and Dining

    I the food is amazing in the cafeteria. It was a little pricey but it was good quality food. Next year a subway is being put in so maybe the price will not be so bad. I loved the food but I did not always want to spend as much as I did.

    Dorm Life

    I personally did not live in a dorm because I lived at home with my parents. It was a great experience to live at home but I also heard all the fun and memorial moments from my friends that lived in dorms. I heard it is easier to live in a dorm because you can car pool, share rent, and food.

    Academic Rigor

    It does not have the demanding Academics that a year college has but it has the difficulty classes that do give students the challenge they will experience when or if they transfer. Cayuga is an easier school then a four year school but it still tests and demands exellence from their students. I feel it is a good in between school before a student transfers to a four year school and is coming right out of high school or took a few years off from school in general.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do not go in with an exception of thinking its going to be like all the other colleges I am thinking about going to. Cayuga is a college life atmosphere but it does not have the demanding responsibilities that a normal college will have. I love Cayuga because I feel I am completely ready to jump into the whirl wind of a four year college.

    In three sentences

    Cayuga was a great way to transition into college life without being over whelmed. It had the normal atmosphere of college life but you could still live at home. It was an easy place to adjust to because everyone is very welcoming.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Cayuga Community College has a lot to offer, and they are increasing their extra-curricular activities. I stated before that I am planning on playing for CCC on their Women's Soccer League; they have several sports for several athletes. Now if you're not interested in sports there's College Chorus, Harlequin Productions (Theatre), WDWN (WIN-89 FM) Radio, Cayuga Collegian (Newspaper), Student Government Organization (SGO), or Student Activities Board (Comedians; Musicians; Annual Holiday Festival Craft Fair; and Cultural and performing arts program with performances by noted artists and groups). And if none of those clubs appeal to you, create your own club! Just be sure to run it through with the Student Activities Office.

    Great for these types of students

    People from outside of the New York State region are more than welcomed into the community, and interns from other countries are greeted with open arms and treated like family while attending Cayuga.

    Bang for the buck

    Now the campus is always fun and interesting because you're always running into someone that you know, and if you're not impressed with the people, then start walking into town (since the price of gas is always increasing). Everything is close by, and you don't really need a ride from places.

    What to do for fun

    Like I said before, CCC is in Auburn, and there are several places to go. You can go to Hoops Park and enjoy a walk, or visit the playground that's right next to Hoops Park. Or if you want to enjoy a movie, head on over to the Movieplex right on Grant Ave. And if that's not good enough for you, go and shop your heart out at the Finger lakes Mall, and go roller skating (behind the McDonald's before the Finger lakes Mall), at Reva Roller Dome.

    Food and Dining

    CCC is surrounded by several stores and fast food places. If you'd like to stay in the school, there's a small cafeteria that is available. Or if you would like a salad, you can go to Walgreen's or Walmart. If you need something on the go, there's a Burger King, McDonald's, Wendy's, or Arby's. If you would like to sit down and enjoy yourself Denny's, and Hong Kong are ready to serve you. Trust me, there's much more that the city of Auburn has to offer, I've only listed a small portion of places to eat.

    Dorm Life

    CCC does not have any dorms this year, but I heard through the grape-vine that they are planning on having dorms for next year. Now even-though there are no dorms, there is a housing plan; Lattimore Hall.But I know several students have decided to commute.

    Academic Rigor

    You are expected to work hard in College, and like I said before keep those grades up. You're the one paying for these classes, so make the most of them, and don't get caught behind. You're invited to ask all of your questions to the professor, and you are given their email address so you can contact the teacher if an issue pops up. Not only the teachers will help, but the students are there for you, and the coaches, and other staff members at Cayuga will help anyone with a question.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep those grades up high, and don't worry about starting the next chapter in life. And don't over work yourself, there is financial help, and you don't have to pay off the loan until a couple years after you've graduated Cayuga Community College.

    In three sentences

    Being the oldest out of four and just graduating from high school, I have received a lot of help on my financial aid, payment for my classes, where I can get my books, and I have been welcomed into the Women's' Soccer League. Everyone who works at CCC are all very friendly people, and will help out anyone who needs help.

  • 02/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    not over expensive very affordable compared to other colleges, you defiantly get your education for your money here.

    Food and Dining

    food is good, you have lots of options. there are also local restaurants in walking distance, which is very nice.

    Dorm Life

    i commute but have heard only good things about the dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    fulton campus is expanding to a new location and will now have dining and dorms. plans look really interesting and the college will be bigger and better in the coming year.

    In three sentences

    excellent professors, everyone has been very helpful. very good selection of classes. environment is very welcoming, wouldn't of choose a better community college.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's all kinds of shops and stores in the city and around downtown. There's also a mall and an arcade to spend a day at every now and then. It's also right next to Syracuse so you can go out to the club with your friends for a night.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria's food isn't something I would chance

    Dorm Life

    The off campus housing is a great place to start life on your own in the real world

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are fun, yet challenging and mind opening. If you make sure to do your out of class studying, the classes will prove very rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work for that A. This may be a community college but it definitely has its standards.

    In three sentences

    The staff is amazing; They work with students and make sure your educational needs and goals are being met. The atmosphere is a very warm and welcoming one. Failing is almost impossible here because all the help you could need is right there in the form of professors, tutors, friends, and other staff such as the librarians.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Protected

    Greek Life

    Non exisitant

    Clubs and Activities

    Lava is an hour and a half away, that it.

    Great for these types of students

    Yeeee

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Radio station, offers 4-6 student positions, that no one applies for. But it's awesome i got my own office.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are intrested in the music business like me.

    What to do for fun

    Become friends with telcom kids.

    Food and Dining

    Good atmosphere!

    Dorm Life

    Theres one main dorm, in the middle of the city, near the theatre.

    Academic Rigor

    Easy, online courses are hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Become a radio Dj here it's fun...

    In three sentences

    Overall good school,Telcom, department is stellar. Easy teachers, everyones nice, few sexy chicks always walkin around. Wouldn't have picked any other school in the area.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No problems thus far.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs, not currently in any.

    Great for these types of students

    All types!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Is basically one big building. Can stay inside completely to go to different classes!

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth your money!

    What to do for fun

    Study!!! Sports!!! Clubs!!!

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good food but a bit pricey.

    Dorm Life

    Don't live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    You must put the time in. What you put in is what you get out of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    You must apply yourself, do your work, and study.

    In three sentences

    I love my school. The professors are awesome. The campus is small, and the people are friendly.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security is always walking around.

    Greek Life

    I am not quite sure.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    everybody

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The library is called the learning campus and takes up most of the campus.

    What to do for fun

    I like to play basketball and practice my skills.

    Food and Dining

    There isn't anywhere to eat around the campus.

    Dorm Life

    none. I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    I am doing very well.

    Tips for prospective students

    First tip: study for upcoming tests. Second tip: write down your notes the correct way and so you yourself can read them.

    In three sentences

    I love the college campus. i go to the Fulton campus and it is brand new. The instructors are great and i am adjusting very well.

  • 12/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a very safe campus, located in very safe cities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are multiple clubs and organizations to join. There is truly something for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    Any student wanting a quality education at an affordable price should definitely look into this school.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent school, with excellent tuition rates.

    What to do for fun

    You can study, hang out with friends, or join a club!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria provides a decent variety of foods. Located around the campuses are also multiple dining options.

    Dorm Life

    The Fulton campus does not offer dorms, however the Auburn campus does. The Auburn campus has great dorm facilities as well as activities to participate in.

    Academic Rigor

    There are a variety of courses offered both on campus and online. The teachers are very helpful in both types of situations. The classes may be challenging, but with the one on one sort of atmosphere, it is not hard to maintain a great GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    Relax, it isn't that hard to fit in. There are clubs for every type of student, so join one and meet people! When it comes to studying, do not wait until the last minute as testing schedules change often.

    In three sentences

    This school has a very welcoming atmosphere. The students are friendly, and the teachers are very helpful. In this school the class sizes are so small, you will feel like a person and not just a number.

  • 01/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorn but I have heard positives

    Academic Rigor

    Can be difficult to receive an A in many courses but overall I found it to be challenging and not overly difficult

    In three sentences

    Awesome campus. Full of interesting people and the professors are very knowledgeable on the subject the teach. There is never a dull moment!

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Fulton campus is right on the edge of Fulton, so you can go to Wa-lmart between classes, or grab something cheaper to eat off campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is only a Starbucks on campus, and it is really expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    I am taking honors classes, as well as regular ones. The homework is definitely enough to keep me busy, but some in some classes, it is a lot easier than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you do not live close, it's quite the drive for an 8 am class. The Auburn campus has housing, but the Fulton one that I attend does not.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are great; they help you as much as they can. The class choice is phenomenal, because there are classes for everything. And all of the classes are relatively small, which makes everything easier.

  • 02/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    One of the best community colleges in the country, and extremely affordable.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, play sports, explore Auburn.

    Food and Dining

    They have a Subway in the basement.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at CCC.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are very difficult, while others are extremely easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join as many clubs as possible to get the most out of your experience.

    In three sentences

    Cayuga Community College is a great school. It has phenomenal teachers, great facilities and all of the help a student needs is readily available.

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    a campus officer is there everyday, as well a the Cayuga county sheriff deputy, who have an office there as well. They take care of the student ID's too.

    Clubs and Activities

    criminal justice club is awesome

    Great for these types of students

    great for students just out of high school with no major set in mind, and perfect for working parents with other obligations such as work or their children. night classes, weekend classes, and online study is available.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    blood drives, craft shows, family fun days

    Bang for the buck

    With an annual tuition rate at about 4,500, you can't beat it. Especially if you get the student aid and grants available. There are also scholarships that the financial aid office will help you with as well.

    What to do for fun

    There are several clubs to join who are always traveling all over the world. Posting on every hallway board display anything and everything you could take part in.

    Food and Dining

    Subway right in the cafeteria with buy one get one subs, can't beat it!

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, but know students who live in the dorms, and they say that it is great.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is tough, but rewarding once the work is complete and you see that A on the top of your paper. Completing courses with an A gives you a sense of fulfillment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't hesitate to ask questions! It took me ten years to build up the courage to go back to school, and it was the best decision I've ever made. Once you register and start classes you'll want to keep continuing your education. All it takes is that first step in deciding to come here, you won't regret it.

    In three sentences

    Staff and Students alike are very professional. Classes are small and professors are extremely accommodating. Taking classes here have been a rewarding experience, I feel prepared and confident for my future career after obtaining my associates degree from Cayuga Community College.

  • 04/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    its only $2300 a semester

    What to do for fun

    nothing

    Food and Dining

    its subway thats it

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The nursing program is the only rigorous course

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont come here

    In three sentences

    The administration is terrible. The Teachers are some what able to keep your attention long enough to learn something

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs for anything you can think of!

    Great for these types of students

    Great place for anyone looking to get a great education, and meet some great friends.

    Bang for the buck

    Absolutely worth attending.

    What to do for fun

    There are a ton of sports, clubs, and extra curricular activities to be a part of. The city of Auburn is a beautiful city, full of great restaurants, bars, and a beautiful lake to go out on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to be challenged, classes are not going to be too easy.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school for anybody looking to get a great college experience, and get a good education in the process. Its easy to apply, get financial aid, and understand the flow of how everything works. Great teachers, people, sports, clubs, anything you could ask for.

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I don't go a day without seeing a police officer on campus, but that's a good thing! They're usually having a good time because the campus is very safe. In my last two years I have not heard of one altercation that has taken place.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a club for everything. Chemistry, music, tutoring, anime, etc etc etc. There's a niche for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    All of them! Even if you're going in with a level 070 Math and English in your schedule, haven't been in school for years, or whatever the case, CCC will help bring you up to speed and get you prepared for moving on. The only people who wouldn't benefit are those who have already finished their associates.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The nature trail is a lot of fun. Not really unusual or anything, but there are ducks, geese, and turtles!

    Bang for the buck

    This little school offers a lot for what you pay. It's very nice to see the professors all care about their students and want them to succeed.

    What to do for fun

    Auburn is a cute little town, not far from Syracuse, where you'll find much more to do, as it's a big city. Museums, theaters, a large mall, a zoo, etc.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Subway in the cafeteria downstairs and the library and bookstore both have little yummies to much on. However, this is a community college, so the dining is not so much dining because we're not living there.

    Dorm Life

    No true dorms. The possibility has arose and has to pass legislation, still. However, there is a dorm type thing in downtown Auburn. I do not live there, however.

    Academic Rigor

    I have learned a lot in my time here and the classes were difficult, but not unmanageable. Like I mentioned, though, the wonderful tutors are always there to help as well, no matter the subject!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get into the CAS! The CAS is full of great, friendly tutors who are very willing to help all the students that need it. I am a tutor, myself, and know that the CAS helps out everyone, whether you're a non-traditional student, a disabled student, or even a tutor who has no clue what she's doing in one of her classes!!

    In three sentences

    CCC is a great school for a great start in life. If you're not sure what you're going to do, or even if you are, you will learn a lot for not that much money. The staff is full of friendly, helpful professors that have taught me a lot since I began.

  • 07/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never heard of any problems on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Their is always club activities going on, or the school has some kind of even going on almost every Wednesday.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a lot more affordable then some schools.

    What to do for fun

    Join one of the many clubs on campus, or join one of the sports teams

    Food and Dining

    Their are vending machines all over, but their is also a Subway in the school!

    Dorm Life

    I did not dorm so I do not know about Lattimore hall.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe the course work was pretty challenging, not so challenging that its not do able, but just enough to make you think out of the box.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need help, or don't understand something don't be afraid to ask questions!

    In three sentences

    I would give Cayuga Community College a 10 on my rating scale. Professors doors are always open for help or just general questions, and they always go out of their way to help you.

  • 02/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are very nice guys and do a great job. They make it very safe!

    What to do for fun

    There is all sorts of clubs to join and athletic events to attend.

    Food and Dining

    The food is a little expensive, but not bad food at all.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in dorms there but have heard that it is decent!

    Academic Rigor

    The school challenges you enough to grow and learn as you mature but is not as stressful and difficult to make you go crazy!

    Tips for prospective students

    DON'T BE LAZY! If you show effort and listen to your teachers/advisers, there's no way to be unsuccessful! All you need to do is, quit complaining and get your work done on time!

    In three sentences

    CCC, is a terrific place to learn with a friendly environment, awesome teachers, and amazing educational opportunities! I wasn't interested in schooling at all as a high school student and these teachers have brought back my zest to learn. I would rate it a 10 out of 10 and encourage anyone living in the area to look into attending it.