Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Cecil College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/27/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any kind of student no matter who you are or what you want to major in this college will be perfect for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to this college and check it out I'm sure you will fall in love like I did.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is very affordable for students wanting to expand in their education.

    Will enjoy being here

    Everyone here is friendly and helpful no matter how dumb you think your question is they will answer it as if it was the smartest question in the world.

    Will learn a lot

    This college is beautiful and they have a wide range of courses for students to take no matter what your major is.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Full-time or part-time workers, any age. People wanting a great education for a reasonable cost. People who like smaller schools and class sizes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention and stay on top of your work schedule. You can go full time and also have a part-time job, just be aware of your work load. You can also play several sports and gain scholarships from them. Cecil could be your stepping stone to play in higher ranked school's sports.

    Bang for the buck

    Very reasonable tuition.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is a very comfortable environment and everyone is very nice.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is always security guards patrolling. i feel safe while on campus.

    Food and Dining

    the new cafeteria is good! many options and very relaxing. plus plenty of vending machines around.

    Academic Rigor

    some courses are harder than others. the math and science course are definitely challenging but they are a definite college level courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    take as many classes as possible to complete your degree as soon as possible. relax and enjoy it everyone is friendly and willing to help.

  • 03/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    *****

    Bang for the buck

    ** i have decided in later years to go to college because of the issues with the economy, a job loss a few years, etc. i know i have made the right decision and i am enjoying this journey. i am looking for any support that i can get as i am a single woman and this is a very daunting task and financially challenging.

    Academic Rigor

    ****

    In three sentences

    cecil college has a number of great programs and paths from which to choose. they have flexible class schedules. most of the instructors are enjoyable, supportive and flexible.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    In Combination with FAFSA, the prices were so reasonable, that a student practically gets paid to attend.

    What to do for fun

    Ive noticed that there are more than just a few clubs and activities that can be found at Cecil.

    Food and Dining

    Pizza, all day everyday.

    Dorm Life

    Cecil is a commuter school that currently does not have a bus or shuttle.. There are no dorms. Students who have to travel far, I suggest move closer with friends or carpool.

    Academic Rigor

    Between Dual Enrollment and Conversations with friends that attend, I've come to the conclusion that while the classes at Cecil can be very hefty in overall content, so long as notes are taken well, students will have no peoblem.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe environment.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for returning adult students.

    Bang for the buck

    Financial aid covers it all for me so its a winner.

    Food and Dining

    Food is ok.

    Academic Rigor

    Simple enough if you study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early for best class selection.

    In three sentences

    Cecil College is a great start for advancing my education. Location is very good and student life is very diverse. Glad I made the decision to attend here.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    very affordable, with excellent education.

    What to do for fun

    Cecil offers many clubs and activities. There is always little events around campus to help students with stress, exams, studying. Cecil has a new gym that is accessible to all current students.

    Dorm Life

    Cecil College does not currently offer on campus living.

    Tips for prospective students

    For success, a prospective student must know that staying organized and planned is a must. Use the help that the College offers, it is there for a reason! Lastly, always remember that you will get through the stressful times, as long as you keep a positive outlook and stay persistent.

    In three sentences

    Cecil College is a very excellent school, not too small and not too big; the size of Cecil College allows for staff and resources to be very available for students, and a student doesn't feel like just a number at Cecil College. The Professors are excellent and very helpful, as well as other students. Tutoring for classes is always available, and the immense amount of dedication the staff and students have is incredible!

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Cecil county is pretty small, nature walks are nice and horse back riding

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    In three sentences

    I recommend cecil college. I have highly enjoyed my time here. Everyone is very helpful.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are not a lot of security guards and the one or two that are there barely do anything.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    I do not participate in any activities or clubs.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is awesome.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Cecil is harder than most people think it is. It isn't like the 13th grade, they have legitimate college classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be serious about your classes, your money is on the line.

  • 09/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security team is always reachable and very helpful.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not many clubs, but the sports are well organized.

    Great for these types of students

    Good for students who can't afford tuition to other schools like me! When you have to pay your way, Cecil is the way to go.

    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap and amazing instructors! Admittedly, some of their instructors aren't professors, but they are good teachers.

    What to do for fun

    There are always student activities going at Cecil College if you know where to look! Besides that, the new Gymnasium complex has a lot of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Cafe, but no cafeteria. It's a little over priced.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Cecil College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students, please keep in mind that college is not high school; be prepared to do a lot more work. Learn your writing skills and be proficient at grammar-- it might save your grade!

    In three sentences

    I would rate Cecil College with a 8/10, and an extra thumbs up for their dedication to their students. The facilities are as top-notch as you can get in a small town like North East, and they always put their students first. If I could complete my four years of studying here I would; it's very affordable for me.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sit in the student lounge?

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    If taking online tests, study ahead of time! They are very difficult.

    In three sentences

    The college is very affordable. Some professors are very good, but some aren't helpful at all. The college tends to not have grades in quickly which is very frustrating.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Cecil collage has an excellent gym

    Food and Dining

    Cecil only has a small cafe but it has a decent variety for hungry students

    Dorm Life

    Cecil collage has no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Not completely sure what this topic means but if it is just asking how hard classes is then I can just say it varies. Cecil has some tough math classes although this also depends on the teacher you get.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't try to do too much at once. Some classes will be listed as co-requisites but they might both be really tough classes and you'll be better off taking them separately. So research before signing up.

    In three sentences

    Cecil Collage is a small school but it still has many useful classes. The collage specializes in engineering and nursing. But most importantly it is cheap so it is great for people on tight budgets

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Walk with a buddy and know your surroundings!

    What to do for fun

    Join a club or explore extracurricular opportunities!

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus, prepare, and have fun!

    In three sentences

    Cecil is so uplifting. It gives individuals individuality and hope. I can succeed knowing i attend Cecil college.

  • 03/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always securty roaming the parking lots.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    These are the clubs �¢���¢AAT (Alpha Alpha Theta), our Honor Society �¢���¢Allies, a support and social networking group �¢���¢Art Club, a fine arts interest group �¢���¢Business Entrepreneurs, advancing students in entrepreneurship �¢���¢Cecil Math League, participate in Math competitions �¢���¢Horticulture Club, promoting environmental issues �¢���¢Multicultural Student Union (MSU), a support and programming group �¢���¢Photography Club, exploring visual media �¢���¢Seahawk Cheerleaders, full of Seahawk spirit �¢���¢Student Leadership Council, a programming and advocacy group representing all students �¢���¢Student Nurses Association, open to nursing majors

    Great for these types of students

    Cecil is the way to go when you can not afford a large University.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Wonderful Professors! Always there when you need them. Each and everyone of my Professors have went above and beyond what they should have for me.

    What to do for fun

    Cecil always has different things going on all the time from plays to the wonderful gym, different clubs, there is always something going.

    Food and Dining

    Love the Cafe

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    It's college. It's just like going any where else. Be prepared to work and work hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay very well organized and keep on top of all of your work. Check your cecil email everyday and keep in contact with you teachers if you need extra help. There is also the Reading, Writing, Math and Computer labs with some very helpful people there. Take the time to stop in and check out these resources.

    In three sentences

    Everyone is very helpful wheather you call in or just stop by. I have enjoyed have a gym right on campus. Everything is very easy to access also.

  • 04/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is in a nice area and has security cameras and security vehicles that ride around during class time.

    Greek Life

    Phi theta kappa sorority for honor students.

    What to do for fun

    There is free access to a gym.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small caf�© on campus but there is a strip across the road with pizza hut and Chinese.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms yet.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically the classes teach you what you need to know effectively to accommodate all students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go in with an open mind and be willing to learn new things. The teachers are easy to access and talk to.

    In three sentences

    Cecil has the basic classes I need to transfer. They also have many free opportunities for tutoring and computer access.

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any kind from hard working to laid back.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap and effective. Cecil offers degrees from other colleges all while staying at Cecil.

    What to do for fun

    They have many sports teams and extracurricular activities to participate in. Cecil also has a long nature trail with scenic surroundings.

    Tips for prospective students

    Schedule your classes later in the afternoon the students in morning classes can be quite un-interactive. Also be sure you take advantage of all the free services they offer.

    In three sentences

    Great college to start off at! They have very friendly staff and a beautiful campus. And there is always something going on for the students.

  • 06/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I see the main security officer around campus all the time. Cecil College is a safe place to be. I have walked around campus by myself early in the morning when no one is there yet, and I have felt safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    From what i know, there are different activities that students can become involved in. I haven't tried them though, but want to.

    Great for these types of students

    local students or students of any age

    Bang for the buck

    Cecil College is less expensive than big name schools and I am sure you get the same kind of education. Although, Cecil College is smaller, so students are more likely to receive one-on-one time with their professors.

    What to do for fun

    Sports, theatre, Club Cecil

    Food and Dining

    Surprisingly, the Seahawk Cafe has some good food available! Everyday, a local pizza shop delivers pizza for the students to purchase. There are also snacks, frozen/refrigerated meals, and coffee all for a cheap price! The Cafe and Student lounge offer cafe tables, regular tables, and seating for eating meals and relaxing between classes. I would give 5 starts if they had a gourmet chef to take orders and make meals!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available, but that is okay because I am married.

    Academic Rigor

    I would call the classes I have taken challenging, but not hard. The teachers make you use critically thinking skills, but the classes are not that difficult. Anyone can go to college, but yes, college takes effort. A degree cannot just be handed to you without doing any work, but I hear it's worth it!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you learn better by someone teaching you, register for in-class classes, because you somewhat have to teach yourself for online classes. Also, get active in the various activities offered at Cecil, whether that be sports or theatre!

    In three sentences

    Cecil College is a great college to go to because the professors take their time and teach you efficiently. Cecil College offers many programs, such as the new nursing program, which is beneficial to the students because then they don't have to transfer to another college. Cecil College offers fun events on campus, such as Club Cecil Night, so that students can interact and have a blast!

  • 06/29/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    18 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Surrounding areas. Northeast mainstreet, Havre de grace, chesapeake city, and newark de. Check out the locals!

    Food and Dining

    Cafe is okay, but there is amazing food just down the road on mainstreet in north east

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Math will kick you in the butt, but you will know your stuff when you finish that class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to other students about the teachers for classes. Find a teacher that fits with you. I can't tell you how many emails I've sent asking questions and asking for help during their office hours. If you have anything with Fin Aid at cecil, Do It Early. They are a good school, but I've had my paperwork lost a few times. The visual communication department is one of the friendliest and amazing places on campus. Don't avoid it if you are a vcp student. Everyone in there will help you create anything you dream of.

    In three sentences

    This college got me on my feet and ready to face a 4 year university. When I started I had no idea what I wanted to do or who I wanted to become. They help create me to become the driven and artist person I am and I will continue to focus on the goals I started at cecil.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Almost all the buildings are next to each other instead of walking far to classes. Security Guard walking around the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    LGBT club known as (Allies), Honors Club, Geekdom club for geeks who love Sci-Fi stuff, Math club, Business Club, Tennis, and many more clubs to attend.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student who wants to go in for a degree!

    Bang for the buck

    The college is currently adding a new Science and Math building on campus!

    What to do for fun

    They have Tennis courts for anyone to play on, a lot of clubs to attend, and sports to join! Also, join be in Musicals that they usually have every year.

    Food and Dining

    Reasonable food offering, but no cafeteria to buy food at. Only vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    No place to stay on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    All types of levels for different type of classes example, degrees, Math, English, Science. Also, Cecil College has tutors for all subjects if you need help in something.

    Tips for prospective students

    Very well affordable! The college has almost everything you want in a good college to attend!

    In three sentences

    Very friendly and great atmosphere to be in. They have all kinds of ways to help you save money by offering rent a textbook, having tutors to help you, a quiet class room to take tests and/or do homework. The staff is very friendly and will be glad to help you in whatever you need. Very reasonable pricing for classes and tuition; I would definitely would recommend future College students to go here!

  • 08/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Keep Greek life away! We don't want to be a party school.

    What to do for fun

    The trail in the woods is very nice to walk on and enjoy nature. Otherwise, there is not much to do.

    Food and Dining

    The small cafe could be open more hours, especially since Cecil offers many evening classes.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at Cecil College.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic work needed to put in varies between professors. However, as a whole, Cecil is moderately challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your advisor and don't be too shy to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    Cecil College is a great starting point. Cecil helps new students acclimate to college life, while still being flexible with work, home, and/or children. Cecil has the best interest of every student in mind.

  • 04/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I like to take hikes on the nature trail, which is beautiful. You can also read in the library, or use a computer in one of the many computer facilities. You could also work out at the gym, but I never have.

    Food and Dining

    Cecil's cafe is cozy, with microwaves and a toaster. They sell frozen food, candy, fresh sandwiches, and hot pizza (which is usually not very good).

    Dorm Life

    As far as I know, Cecil College doesn't have a dorm -- you have to commute.

    Academic Rigor

    I wouldn't say that any of my classes have been easy, but they have all been do-able. Some of the harder classes, such as English and Math, are pretty difficult, and will take a lot of your time. Other courses are easier; with these courses, you will get out of it what you put into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    The biggest tip I would give to a prospective student is to work hard. Cecil College may be a small school, but that doesn't mean the teachers won't expect you to put a lot of effort into your work. If you are dedicated and hard-working, you will succeed!

    In three sentences

    I attend Cecil College mostly because it is close to home, but I also think it is a great school. I have been happy with almost all of my professors, and there is a wonderful student community. The campus is also very nice, with places for friendly gatherings, and also places to be by yourself.