Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Cedar Crest College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for science majors. There are unlimited research opportunities available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with the college community. The campus is not huge and niether is the student body so get involved and meet new people. There is no need to be stuck in your dorm room 24/7 studying. Let loose and got to the functions the college offers. There are plenty of off campus trips funded by the school so take advantage of them.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is pretty pricey but the educational experience as well as research opportunities make this institution worth it. Though some may be deterred by the fact that Cedar Crest is women's college, it is not as bad as one would think. Also, the college offers lots of financial aid which significantly cuts down the cost making it easier to afford.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is absolutely gorgeous. The faculty and students at Cedar crest are one of a kind. The faculty truly want to see you succeed an care about each individual student. The students here are very friendly and you make friends that will last forever.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes here are very engaging. Professors know how to make class interesting while you receive a great education. The professors here always have plenty of office hours in case you may need assistance in learning the course material. There are also plenty of available tutors. There is also a writing center where there are individuals ready to happily review an essay or paper of ours or help you get started.

  • 06/20/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Cost was a huge issue for my family. Cedar Crest wasn't the cheapest school around, by any means, but they were incredibly accommodating.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus at Cedar Crest is beautiful and the social life is anything you want it to be, from reserved to exciting.

    Will learn a lot

    The curriculum at Cedar Crest is very open, and I am very excited to be able to take an array of courses that interest me, even if they are not associated with my major.

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police patrol regularly.

    What to do for fun

    There are many attractions nearby including Dorney Park, Cedar Crest's own Da Vinci Science Center, movie theaters, and on campus activities such as Zumba.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to take responsibility for your experience, and make the most of it! Expect rigorous coursework that will prepare you for your career.

    In three sentences

    Cedar Crest College is a leader in educating its nursing students. They teach students a global perspective to successfully prepare them for their career. They excel academic expectations.

  • 03/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard working, self motivated, students. CCC is a quiet campus, great for studying and for students who want to remain focused on school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look extensively into the programs you are interested in majoring in for the next four years. CCC has a great nursing program along with other science programs. The business department is also great. The professors are easy to talk to and highly concerned with your progress in their classes. The professors will work with you if you are struggling or if you need some one to talk to.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a private college so yes it is very expensive, however the personal attention from professors and opportunities out weigh the costs. If you are looking for small class sizes and personal attention from professors this is a great college.

    Am enjoying being here

    The students are very friendly and open. It was very easy to settle in as a freshman and feel at home. I am part of the Ballet company and have friends in the Modern, Jazz and Tap companies and all of us enjoy practicing and performing. The downside is that the dance department is loosing money so dance classes are being cut from the program quite rapidly.

    Am learning a lot

    The class sizes are usually small about 15 students to a class or smaller. The professors are easy to talk to about homework, projects and upcoming tests. The classes are engaging and interesting. Some classes have an online portion which is very helpful. The online work helps to reinforce what you learned in class and helps you get in touch with your professor if you have questions.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who care heavily about there education. Students who live close to the location or an hour or two away. Students with a tolerance of 90% girls all of the time. Women who inspire to be much more in life

    Tips for prospective students

    If you get bored easily and you are looking to constantly have fun then this is not the school for you. Although there are activities to attend on campus, the weekends are always dead. I have friends near by so it makes it easy for me to travel and find things to do. Always come to school with an open mind and open heart. School especially college is not all about fun so in the long run you will appreciate attending a school like this.

    Bang for the buck

    For the most part i believe so.

    Am enjoying being here

    iEven though Cedar Crest may be a bit of a small school with a lot of girls i am learning to cope with it. I love the friends am making and the education level

    Am learning a lot

    I am definitely learning a lot. I must admit that a lot of the professor's show great interest in welling to help you with your school work. You must also show an interest too.

  • 01/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    going sledding with cafeteria trays in the winter.

    In three sentences

    cedar crest is a great small community that is very excepting of others. there is a little something here for everybody.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are alot to do, but you would need transportation to get there

    Tips for prospective students

    its an all girls school, but its a good one.

    In three sentences

    very good school. the nursing program is very competitive.its not too expensive.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police is very active on campus, there is always an officer on call 24 hours a day, also they do rounds around the campus checking to make sure that all is well, the go through academic buildings as well as residents halls. Also there are emergency polls around campus that when one presses the button it connects you to campus police and they will come to where you are and escort you to where you need to go. I personally have never had to use these but they are good to have around in case students are walking late and want someone to walk with them. I have never felt unsafe at Cedar Crest.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the end of each semester a tradition we have is, on the last day of classes we all get together as a campus and have what we call frolic. We collect in Samuels theater and put on skits and dances for the students to see. After frolic ends we all go upstairs to the dining hall for midnight breakfast, where the Dean of Students serves us breakfast and then we have a dance party in the dining hall. This is just a way for the students to unwind after a hard semester and get all the stress out before Finals start.

    What to do for fun

    I like to hang out with my friends and I am apart of many extra curricular activities on campus. My friends and I like to go off campus and volunteer on the weekends as well as have some late night trips to taco bell.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is pretty decent for college food, and there are plenty of choises. and even when the dinning hall is closed it is easy to stop in the falcons nest to grab a quick dinner before and after class, especially when it comes to dinner time.

    Dorm Life

    I love living on campus, it gives me an opportunity to be more connected on campus and I am making more memories with my friends then I ever would if i lived off of campus. Also living in the dorms has helped to break me out of my shell and meet new people that I would not have other wise met or become close with

    Academic Rigor

    I am a Biodiversity and Conservation Biology major here at Cedar Crest, and I must say that being a science major here at times can be hard, but if you put in the work and use the tutors provided as well as talking to the professors students can exceed greatly. One thing that I know about being a Science major here is that when I leave here with my degree it will be well earned and I will be better prepared for my field, and well be able to stand out when applying to graduate schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    A good tip for Cedar Crest College is to get involved, the more involved a student is the more they feel at home here and it helps them grow as a person. I am currently the Vice president of the Conservation club, Treasurer of Student government, I am a varsity member of the Cross Country team, I am active in volunteering for the community, and I also work as an Ambassador in Admissions. Because I am so involved I have had an opportunity to meet new people, try new things and grow as a person, these experiences have helped me to grow as a person. Also I take full advantage of all the study abroad opportunities on campus, over this last winter break I went to Arizona to study the plant life there, this summer I am going to Guyana to explore the Rain forest and learn about the amazing habitats cultures there.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have our own police squad, and they are always available, and extremely approachable.

    Greek Life

    We offer one fraternity on campus: Alpha Phi Omega, a national community service fraternity. We do not have housing for the fraternity. Instead, all brothers from the fraternity are housed in different dorms.

    What to do for fun

    There are many academic and fun clubs to participate in on campus. Additionally, there are numerous attractions nearby, such as Dorney Park. There are numerous opportunities for fun!

    Food and Dining

    The Dining Hall offers little variety. The Bistro offers good quality food, but the pricing is a bit extreme.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life highly depends on the dorm in which you live. Steinbright Hall and Curtis Hall are quiet, studious environments, whereas Butz Hall and Moore Hall are more lively and animated, making it more difficult to study.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor of the school highly depends on the major that you pursue. The creative arts and social science majors are not that rigorous, but the science program is highly challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    What makes you unique?! Show our admissions office exactly who you are. You are more than just a test score and a GPA. Prove it to us!

    In three sentences

    Cedar Crest College inspires young women to excel in academic, extracurricular, and personal ventures. Any school can teach a woman to become a professional, but only Cedar Crest can teach women how to become a leader. I would recommend Cedar Crest wholeheartedly.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The only problem is they are not wheel chair friendly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask for help and then you wont run into trouble. Don't let pride stand in your way of help. You will excel further by asking and don't be afraid to ask.

    In three sentences

    I think this a great college. They are there to help you, if you swallow your pride and let them help. I was dragging my feet, and hurt me in the end. The professor know what they are teaching. Pay attention and you learn a lot. They bring their own experience, that helps you understand what is in your books and gets you ready for your future.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus saftey is great if you are out late at a party you could call the campus police to help you and they will drive you to your dorm.

    What to do for fun

    OMG! the college has a trip they go to that they told my school about it's like you pay 10 dollar to go to new york to see a movie and out to eat and stuff. then you get your 10 back it was only to hold your seat. Also Dorney park is right next door.

    Food and Dining

    The food their from what i saw was okay they have different dining halls though which is handy for people that like change.

    Dorm Life

    You can choose from single or double they have cable and best about it you don't have to walk a mile to wash clothes its all right there in your dorm area and it has you computer lab in you dorm to nice.But it doesn't have center air only bad part

    In three sentences

    I visited Cedar Crest with my school and it was aw-sum of was small but very homey. I like how everything just felt right about the college. The food wasn't bad either, great college to attend in the fall for me.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The school is pricey but they make sure you know what you're doing before you leave the school.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, walk/run/play in the park, hang out at local malls

    Food and Dining

    Not completely terrible but still has room for improvement.

    Dorm Life

    I have mixed feelings about dorm life. I really enjoyed being in close proximity with my friends and the RAs are always wonderful. Unfortunately, being around so many girls for such a long period of time tensions are bound to get high. I was fortunate that I avoided most of the cattiness but it still bothered me. But don't let the nastiness of some girls make you cross Cedar Crest off your list of colleges to go to just because of that. As long as you separate yourself from the cattiness you'll be fine

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on your major. I am an art therapy major and I consider the classes I take to be rigorous but not overwhelming. On the other hand I know many science majors who more or less dedicate their lives to their classes because they are so tough. But the only reason why they are so tough is because they make sure you know the information before leaving school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Housing is very expensive. Try finding off-campus housing if you can because chances are that an apartment will be cheaper than getting a dorm room.

    In three sentences

    Having very few to no boys in classes definitely creates a different educational atmosphere. Plenty of activities to be involved with. Definitely a unique experience and definitely glad I attended this school.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always available. They are friendly and respond quickly to students calls and concerns.

    Clubs and Activities

    Students can become involved in many activities. Students also have the freedom to start up their own clubs that they find interesting.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Big Sis, Lil Sis program is one tradition acknowledged by the Cedar Crest College community. This program allows incoming Freshmen to interact with Upper Class students. This is a great program because it gives the incoming Freshmen guidance from students that have previously been in their position.

    What to do for fun

    The location of the college is very convenient because students have access to many food restaurants, shopping areas and entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    Students have many options to choose from when it comes to dining. The dining hall has a different menu every week which provides students with variety.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a decent size for the students. We have the option of choosing the dorm area that is most comfortable to our living standards. There is a study lounge, community bathrooms, trash room and lounge on every floor for students.

    Academic Rigor

    The one thing I enjoy about the Cedar Crest environment is being able to focus on my academics. Majority of the students are open towards helping one another. The professors are always open towards helping students strive.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a former freshmen at Cedar Crest College, I would suggest prospective students to come in with an open mind. Expect to receive a lot of helpful information that can be used throughout your first year experience and daily living. Expect to meet many great people who can contribute to your success.

    In three sentences

    Cedar Crest College introduces young women to the role of becoming a leader. Being a part of the Cedar Crest College community has allowed me to take more responsibility and become an active citizen within the community. Students will receive a great education and many resources that will allow them to succeed in life.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I commute so I don't stay on campus except for attending class but there is a very beautiful park right next to the school and Dorney Park is just up the street.

    Food and Dining

    I only ate at the cafeteria once and the meal I got wasn't that good and I had to wait a long time to get it.

    Dorm Life

    I commute.

    Academic Rigor

    I took two academic classes before starting the nursing program. I enjoyed both classes. The professors were very helpful and not too strict.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't hesistate to ask for help. Starting college isn't easy because everything is new. Financial aid, registrar, and the professors are helpful and ready to answer your questions.

    In three sentences

    The nursing program I am attending is wonderful. The advisor's and professor's are helpful. The campus is beautiful and the buildings are close to each other in walking distance.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is not that large and campus police are always on duty. Safety is not an issue!

    Greek Life

    There is little Greek life, expect for a few sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities. You can find something to do no matter what your interest! There are lots of Division 3 sports, intramural sports, recreational activities, community service events, dorm events, and a gazillion clubs. You can get involved in community service, student government, academic clubs, and so much more!!!!

    Great for these types of students

    Students seeking a personalized education! The school is known for its excellent science programs. The research oppurtunities are unlimited!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cedar Crest College has one of the largest variety of trees!

    Bang for the buck

    The school tuition is expensive! However, you CAN afford this school! Apply for scholarships, do your research! The school is great if you want a personalized education. The staff works extremely hard to make sure each student is learning and reaching their full potential.

    What to do for fun

    Allentown and Bethlehem are great areas full of resturants, bowling allies, shopping centers, malls, ect. It is also only about 30 minutes out of Philadelphia and an hour or so from New York so if you are into the city it is close to visit! The school often provides free trips to NY, skiing resorts, and other fun places to get students involved in activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is good. There are not as many choices as larger schools, however they try to accommodate everyone through vegetarian options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great! Being an all girls school it is much different than larger schools that have coed dorm floors. I find dorm life very easy and fun! Everyone is welcoming and the RAs are great!

    Academic Rigor

    As a nursing major the academic rigor is extremely hard. However it is definitely worth it. As a school known for its successful nursing program I feel privileged to put in the hard work in hopes of being successful. Despite the difficulty there are many tutors willing to help at all times! You can definitely do it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for scholarships on the website and ask about financial aid during visitation. This school may seem very expensive, but they offer so much merit aid and other scholarships it becomes affordable for students in all financial circumstances.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school for students looking for a small friendly environment. The faculty and staff here are always willing to help and know each student as an individual. The atmosphere and students are welcoming.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are uniformed police officers on campus!

    Bang for the buck

    There are many scholarships available.

    What to do for fun

    Dorney Park, Shopping, Camping

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions! Visit the campus and meet with an advisor and also if you can meet with a current student.

    In three sentences

    When I went for a campus visit to Cedar Crest, the staff was so friendly and made me feel welcome. Throughout the tour they were extremely helpful and answered all of my questions. The campus is beautiful and well laid out, everything is easy to find and not overwhelming.

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are all over 24 hours a day. As a commuter if you dont feel safe late at night in a late class you can call them and they will escort you to your car. i never feel unsafe at the college.

    Greek Life

    I an not in tough with this side of the college due to i am a mom and a commuter.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs in allentown. Any bar or night club you are interested in are there at your disposal.

    Great for these types of students

    Any and all students that are looking to better themselves setting themselves up for success in life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    nothing

    Bang for the buck

    Bang for you buck is not a good topic. To me you get what you put into it.

    What to do for fun

    The campus provides different activities as well it has a amusement park right next to it. Not to mention is near the heart of allentown and bethlehem which is full of mentionable things.

    Food and Dining

    There are lots of great dinning places around the campus but I have never ate there at the college itself.

    Dorm Life

    I have two kids, three dogs and a husband. Unfortunately I never had the chance gfor dorm life but I an sure it is great. I live in my house and its great.

    Academic Rigor

    The college is hard and tough. This is what it should be not something that you can float by. The college allows people to see there paths and if you put in the work and utilize the tutors and help they offer it makes your experience pleasant.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip to a future student is to work hard and someone will notice. I have been working my whole life which took down different path and now cedar crest is allowing me to get a degree. They took my situation into account when they selected my to join there establishment.

    In three sentences

    The College allows me to case my dream. They gave me an opportunity to better myself and my families future. The college very clean and easy to navigate.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe.

    Greek Life

    non-esistant

    Clubs and Activities

    Nu Delta Alpha (Dance Honor Society), Buskin Society (Theatre club), Alpha Phi Omega and many more. There is basically a club for every major.

    Great for these types of students

    Dancers, actors, nursing students, and those interested in the sciences.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At orientation, there is the open door ceremony, the strawberry festival and so much more. At the end of each semester Buskin Society hosts Frolic which is a bunch of skips put on by the students. Afterwards, the Student Activities Board will host midnight breakfast upstairs in the dining hall. Students are served breakfast, there is a DJ and dancing, as well as raffle prizes.

    Bang for the buck

    This school was great when it came to financial aid, but I expected much more from the price of the school.

    What to do for fun

    If you live on campus, there are sometimes field trips to Broadway or the aquarium, but these are rare. Make sure to find a good group of friends to hang out with. There are so many colleges in the Lehigh Valley, too. Muhlenberg is less than a mile away. There are two clubs, Maingate, which is good on college nights, and Stonewall.

    Food and Dining

    All new students are required to get the most expensive meal plan here. Honestly, you will not use it. The food is far from great, rats were found in the dining hall and bistro and the service is horrible.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors want you to succeed, but won't baby you. Expect to work hard. Favoritism is sadly pretty big here.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is an all girls school. Many people, for some reason, do not realize this and are shocked when they come here. Do your research. Dance majors, be aware that you can and should take advantage of the LVAIC system. This will allow you to take dance classes at colleges such as Muhlenberg, DeSales, Lehigh, Moravian, and Lafayette. I would take a tour and watch a couple of classes before you come because that is the only way you'll know if you want to come here.

    In three sentences

    This is a small liberal arts college in the Lehigh Valley. Cedar Crest College has a great nursing program, but also has many different programs such as science, math, education, communications, English, dance, theatre, art, business and more.

  • 05/25/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Basically everything you can think of

    In three sentences

    A very friendly and warming environment. The students and faculty are personable and caring. You feel welcomed and cared for the moment you step in campus.

  • 06/24/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Ambitious Science Oriented Intellectually curious

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Big Sis Lil Sis

    Bang for the buck

    Good for the the price that they're asking. Challenging courses, very good amount of opportunities. College is what you make it.

    Food and Dining

    It's not bad, but it could be better.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are normal.

    Academic Rigor

    Very strong in the sciences. The honors program will work you to the bone.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're an honors student, use you academic advisor like it's your religion. Also, once you're in the program it's hard work.

    In three sentences

    Dedicated Open Challenging

  • 06/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is not an issue, security is always on duty and they are friendly and helpful as well. Safety was a concern to me when choosing a school to transfer to.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to join, the school offers trips for students to some great places, a lot of activites on campus, zumba, fitness challeges!

    Food and Dining

    They have great food, made fresh, and is USDA choice, as well as large variety to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I commute to school so I don't live in the dorms. I have seen one though and they are a good size for two people compared to other schools. I have rated this one star because I do not live on campus so I don't know much about the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    As a nursing student, academics is very important and in this major it is very challenging, but worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with and advisor and get information about the field of study you are interested in. There are many majors and minors, it is definitely worth to take a tour of this college and possibly consider it.

    In three sentences

    Cedar Crest College has an amazing campus. All the staff, faculty, professors, and administers are extremely helpful and kind. I love how kind and helpful everyone is there and that they are truly interested in helping you achieve your goals for the career you are working towards.

  • 08/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are extremely secure, from the parking lot up to the door rooms. It is a very safe environment. Security would even keep records of any strange suspicious incident not matter how simple it may be. I believe it is a very safe place from morning to night since they always have many guards throughout the entire day.

    Greek Life

    Not aware.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm currently aware that the college offers a wide variety of clubs starting from science clubs arts and even psychology. They also have many activities throughout the year in which I will be more familiar with as I experience the college on my first year as a transfer student.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for any type of student whose goal is to achieve a professional career in their future. It is also great for determined students who are willing to go the extra mile to make a difference as a professional in their achieved field after attending CCC.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unfortunately I'm not too familiar with this college's traditions since I will be starting this coming semester and I'm not aware of them yet.

    Bang for the buck

    This is the type of college in which I cannot wait to start and graduate from. It is certainly the type of college that's considered a challenge for a Latin student like me specially learning the language in such short amount of time this has already been an achievement with just being accepted into a place were I never thought I will be. That's the reason why I'm seeking financial help from any available scholarship in which will be a part of a major achievement in my life in which I will never regret and will always be proud of.

    What to do for fun

    This college always has a way to keep students entertained! They offer many student clubs as well as the variety of sports that are offered as well. I know that any student who chooses to attend this college has an unforgettable experience from their first year as a freshman up to their senior year.

    Food and Dining

    Since I'm a current transfer student I was able to have only one dinning experience at a college tour and it was great. Food was excellent and the service was outstanding! I know I will definitely enjoy this part of the college at all times.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, I'm not a resident in this college due to the fact that it is not necessary. But from previews feed backs I have not received any negative comments.

    Academic Rigor

    The College is extremely accurate in all fields. In my field they specify every detail in depth. Advisors inform students about where to go from a BA degree and even job opportunities. They will never leave a student without an academic answer. This college is on point!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be organized, responsible and focused on your field of study. Always prioritize and make sure studies come first. Built a relationship with all of your professors and never be afraid to ask questions. The key to succeed is to set a goal and work hard for it to make all things possible.

    In three sentences

    Cedar Crest is a very interesting College in which inspires me since its more focused on Women, although men are accepted as well but it is an inspirational place for students like me. I can say that this school has great programs in many fields such as, science, history, math and psychology. They are extremely organized and well prepared to take students to the next level! Cedar Crest College helps prepare students for a great future and a successful career in any field that students pursue.

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police is always around and if need be they can escort you home if you feel unsafe.

    Clubs and Activities

    You name it you can find it, and if not, you can start it!

    Great for these types of students

    All kinds! There is something for everyone here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Dink Donuts! Every girl is partnered with a Big Sis or an older girl on campus to act as your mentor. The big sis makes a funny hat, or Dink, for the younger and the younger must show it off at a fashion show. Dink Donuts wouldn't be the same without donuts, so you munch away on donuts during the show!

    Bang for the buck

    I wish it could be more affordable, but all in all this is a private school and you do get what you paid for.

    What to do for fun

    Anything you want! Everything is at your fingertips!

    Food and Dining

    They take requests!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your work! This is no longer high school. You can't get by without doing anything.

    In three sentences

    Cedar Crest College is the most personal college I applied to! If you want to go somewhere where it is always about YOU this is it!

  • 11/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a campus police that patrols the area often. And in almost every room, there is a phone with the campus's police phone number next to it. Nothing dangerous really happens on Cedar Crest, but there is a campus police.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities are so much fun. It'Â?Â?s not like in high school where a group of students get together and just talk about things. People who join the club actually share an interest with you, and they try to think of creative ways to make people more aware of whatever their club if for. Also, you can go on actual trips to places unlike in high school clubs. However, I will say this: do not get too involved. I would stick to maybe about 3 clubs. Although it may look good on your resume that you take part in a bunch of clubs, it can also backfire on you. You could over-stress yourself with clubs, schoolwork, and maybe even athletics. And I feel like the person who reads your resume wants someone who was really active and put lots of effort in a few clubs rather than joining a bunch and not being able to make it all of the events. So try to get involved, but limit yourself so that you do not get over-stressed. Along with clubs are activities! Every club in Cedar Crest opens up their events to the whole campus, so you have lots of things to do. And even if you weren't in a certain club, you can email the club and tell them you are interested in this event.

    Great for these types of students

    So if you prefer smaller colleges and closer relationships with professors, I would recommend going to Cedar Crest College. It is an all girls college, however, that shouldn't matter in regard to your educational future. Personally, as a Cedar Crest student, it feels more comfortable around all girls. It gets rid of all the drama of boys and parties. And people here actually care about their education and grades. So if you are studious, a little shy, and want a comfortable college, I highly recommend Cedar Crest College.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have not participated in any unusual traditions yet; however, I have heard of a couple. In Cedar Crest there is this huge hill on the side of the college. So when it snows, we take lunch trays, trashcan tops, or anything really and slide down the hill. I am really looking forward to this event! Also, there is a tradition called midnight breakfast. I'm not sure when it is, but it hasn't happened yet. And it's an event at midnight and the Cedar Crest cooks will make crepes, pancakes, home-made whipped cream and orange juice, and much more for the students who stay up till midnight. I'm not really sure how this happened, but it'Â?Â?s a tradition at Cedar Crest College. The last one I can think of is the ring ceremony. I'm not sure if other schools do this, but at Cedar Crest during your junior year there is a ring ceremony. It's similar like in high school to get a graduating ring. However, in Cedar Crest it'Â?Â?s an actual formal ceremony. And the neat thing about this is that you can make your own ring if you want to. And some students do because rings are expensive. So if you take the jewelry and metal-smithing class, you can actually make your own ring! And I plan to do that my junior year because I feel like it would be more special to me.

    Bang for the buck

    Since Cedar Crest College is a private school, it is a little pricey; however, there are so many ways to get scholarships and provide financial aid. And they do not give it to just one student, if you sign up and work hard on whatever the scholarship is you will most likely get it. Also, if you have good grades in high school, you can get a merit scholarship that cuts your tuition in half! Plus if you sign up for scholarships you should not have a problem. For instance, Cedar Crest tuition is about $36,000. However, I signed up for multiple scholarships and only pay around $1,200 a month! There are ways to alleviate financial issues; you just have to look for them.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun such as clubs and events. There are a variety of clubs that do a variety of things. And all clubs have mini field trips relating to that club. There is also a SAB (Student Assistant Board) that plans out events like going to an amusement park, the zoo, the mall, New York Broadway shows, museums, and much more. You have to pay for these events but they only cost $10-$15 per an event. Also Cedar Crest College is near multiple small malls that are walking distance. So you could go with your friends to the mall. There are also events that happen throughout the school year. For example there are many dances, hunts, and anything holiday related. For example, for Halloween you could dress up and go around campus and receive candy from professors. Or in the beginning of the school year, if you went around to different buildings, they would give you a sticker that you had to collect. They would also give you free school supplies along the way too. And once you collected all the stickers, you could hand it in and win a free iPad! For people who live in dorms, there will be events like a bonfire or movie night. Cedar Crest has many events that keep students active.

    Food and Dining

    I usually do not eat in the dining hall because it is more expensive than the school's alternative. However, I have eaten in the dining hall a couple of times, and it has decently good food. Their menu consists mostly of salad, chicken, fruit, bread, pasta, pizza, vegetables, and dessert. It is set up like a buffet circle and right in the middle is the dessert table full of desserts like cupcakes, cakes, muffins, cookies, brownies, pies, and ice-cream. They change it up every now and then too. For instance, we recently had an international buffet where there were multiple types of food like from France, Spain, China, and much more. Also, during Halloween they gave us a special meal too. I do not go to the dining hall that often, I usually go to the Bistro or the Falcon'Â?Â?s nest. Here it is like a quick grab-and-go type of place. They have a grill, soups, pizza, sandwiches, wraps, and taco Thursdays. You order and choose what you want and can either pay with your meal plan or just cash. I personally enjoy the Bistro better because they have specials every day and everything is fresh.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter so I do not know much of dorm life, but I have been in the dorms and they are really nice. They are fairly large because Cedar Crest is a pretty small school. But on every floor there is a lounge, kitchen, computer room, TV, and a couple of bathrooms. There are big, wide, open windows so the room seems very roomy. And there is heating and air conditioning, but it'Â?Â?s not too strong. I have friends who live in dorms and they seemed decently happy about it.

    Academic Rigor

    Honestly, college is not too different from high school academic rigor wise. There is more responsibility on the student'Â?Â?s part to remember when things are due, but overall it is not a drastic change. It'Â?Â?s different in that you don'Â?Â?t have one class right after the other all the time. All your classes are spread out during the week. However, the studying amount has increased a lot compared to high school, but that'Â?Â?s why you have so much time during the week. Use that time wisely and manage it and you will be fine. Tests are not extremely bad, but they are more challenging. Also, when studying you cannot just study the notes that you get in class, you have to read the textbook, take your own notes and study those too. Sometimes it can be stressful because you will have tests and papers all due on the same day, but it is possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    1.) Have a planner: Get a planner and write down all your assignment and exam dates because there are no reminders in college. And I'Â?Â?ll guarantee you that you will forget if you do not write them down. Also, during college you have a lot of free time, so it'Â?Â?s easy to forget that you had something due. 2.) Don'Â?Â?t be lazy! I do not care how easily you are distracted; do not become lazy in college. If there is an opportunity, go and take it without hesitation. The more you push assignments off, the more stress you are going to have later on. And college is different from high school. If you miss one class, it's really hard to catch back up. 3.) Don't be shy: Everyone is in the same boat as you. They all left their little high school bubble and are out on their own just like you. So don't be shy and make new friends! It may be hard and awkward at first, but keep trying. I am a commuter and a very shy person, so I missed my chance of making friends. And yes I do have some, but it's not like I see them all of the time. I would call it more of acquaintances then friends. 4.) Get involved: There are so many clubs and organizational opportunities to be involved in. I guarantee you that you will find a club that you have an interest in. Also, if you know what major you want to go into, there is always a club for majors. And don'Â?Â?t worry because even if you are not in a certain major you can still join! For example, I am an art therapy major, but I am also in conservation and outdoor club. Along with getting involved in clubs, you should also strive to get involved in your community.

    In three sentences

    Honestly, Cedar Crest College is one of the best decisions I have made in my life so far. They have a beautiful campus, good food, strong academics, interesting classes, fun clubs, and a friendly atmosphere. Even if I had to start my life all over again, I would still choose to go to Cedar Crest College.

  • 11/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe at night. If you feel a little discomfort there are many Safety towers along the campus where your press a button and talk to an officer to drive over and walk with you to your dorm. The occasional skunk around campus is a little alarming but other than that it is just fine.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life but we have a volunteer fraternity which has initiation and all that good stuff.

    Clubs and Activities

    Get involved!!!!! There are many students who are not involved in community service, athletics, or even a job or club on campus. Graduate schools and employers want you to succeed in the workplace by being socially engaged. I played soccer this year and basketball season for me just started. I am also in the Spanish Club, Health Professional Students Club, and Black Student Union. Although I have these things I also have a work-study job. You must be involved in order to succeed in college, or else you will get bored. The only thing I wish we had was a pep club to attend all home sporting events because the turnout for many of the sports teams games is bad considering we have many undergraduate students.

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking, culturally diverse, disciplined, passionate, and lovely students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have frolic before final exams which is kind of a big party where they make breakfast for dinner and everyone unwinds before finals.

    Bang for the buck

    I wish more merit aid was given because a lot of students, including myself can not afford to pay a good chunk of change out of pocket a month. If you do well in school, you have greater chances of getting a better scholarship. Other than that the fin aid of is more than accommodating to help you whether it be searching for scholarships or even filling out a loan.

    What to do for fun

    The college has weekend palooza which is an assortment of activities done on the weekends. SAB (Student Activities Board) makes a lot of activities which they provide the transportation for. Excursions like Mall and a Movie (for a great price), Renaissance Festival, Broadway show in NYC, and more. The Athletics Department also includes the home games of sports teams. Some clubs include movies in the multicultural center, rock-climbing, bingo nights, and even shopping in the Promenade shops. The Spanish club most recently did a Salsa Night which included salsa dance lessons and hispanic food.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria isn't some great somedays. Other days, it can be really good. We had a Vietnam food day, Indian food day, Italian food day, and German food day so far for the diversity factor of the college. The falcons nest has wraps and sandwiches and burgers and fries. But it can be a bit annoying on the weekends when only the falcons nest is open and all you can really order is fried food when they have put away the sandwich station or buffet station.

    Dorm Life

    I love my dorm! I live in Moore Hall. It is specifically designed for freshmen but you can live anywhere on campus. Upperclassmen live in Moore too. My RA is great. We have monthly dorm activities. In october they had decorate your own cupcakes night and pamper yourself night. We also had a build our own sundae night. The only thing I can say I don't like about Moore is that people can tend to be REALLY loud on the weekends if your trying to study in your room. I also hate that I am on the 3rd floor but hey, its good exercise.

    Academic Rigor

    Honestly I think some of my classes are really hard but don't let that get to you. My Biology 121 class is the hardest out of all my classes (I am pre-med). We had a teacher at the beginning of the year but he retired so we have an even more rigorous professor now. What you put in is what you get back. In other words, if you work hard- you will get A's and B's and maybe high C's. If you don't go to class and play around- you will get D's and F's. I could do a lot better. My GPA right now is a 3.3 but I have a little time to get it up with Final Exam grades. Work hard when you are here.

    Tips for prospective students

    We have a First Year Seminar. I personally think it isn't that great but it actually ties in with your Writing class you take as a Freshman. Transfers are welcomed with open arms. The school has many opportunities for research and real world experience. We actually have a department of community service which is required to graduate when you take ethical life. The community service department has activities and excursions every week by the bucket loads. Make sure you do well in school and do exceptional on your standardized tests in order to get in. If not, make a killer essay. Our nursing, science, and social work departments are where most majors come from. Our nursing department has a very good reputation in PA. Many science majors go on to get Ph.D's and work in labs or even become physicians. Social work places a lot of people in field work their senior year. You get a lot of opportunities here.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere is academically enriching. The academics carry great internship and research opportunities. Cedar Crest is for the hardworking and disciplined.

  • 11/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many extracurricular activities for all students and non-students.

    Food and Dining

    Great options when it comes to eating on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I dont dorm i am a commuter

    Academic Rigor

    I dont find any difficulties in academic settings.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check all schools out before you apply, take a walk around.

    In three sentences

    If you want to become a part of a family this is a great place to start. You can never feel lost or lonely here everyone is happy to help. Telling my friends that i have a class to go to always puts a smile on my face.

  • 12/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is around sometimes...

    Greek Life

    Non-existent

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus, join something that you will enjoy to be a part of. There is something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard-working

    Bang for the buck

    Education-wise, it is very well worth the expenses.

    What to do for fun

    If you have money to spend you can take a taxi to get somewhere or hop on the greyhound bus to go to new york or philadelphia. There is nothing much to do in Allentown.

    Food and Dining

    There are dining cafes on campus, this is what majority of the campus students attend every day.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, so I cannot give accurate information on the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Hard work and dedication is mandatory

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to the school prepared to work hard, do not depend on your lecture to teach you even half of what you need for your courses. Cedar Crest is a very demanding school, but well worth the work.

    In three sentences

    Cedar Crest overall is a good school to attend. The variety of majors& minors will intrigue any student. I would recommend to to anyone that is willing to put in a lot of work to achieve success.

  • 03/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The dorms should be nicer, and there should be more options for food, other than that the college is beautiful and amazing for a private liberal art college.

    Food and Dining

    The food can give you an upset stomach because the food is much healthier here.

    Dorm Life

    The college has history so the dorms are not as fancy as most these days. If you like Victorian, beauty and livable conditions then you're fine.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are fabulous, and the class sizes are so comfortable. The professors know you by name and show so much care and appreciation towards their students. You get a great education here, probably the best.

  • 06/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always campus police around, and they are really friendly. Also there are emergency polls around campus that all you need to do is push a button and tell then what is wrong and they will come right to you to help you out with whatever is needed.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities on campus to join and take part in. You just need to find one that fits your style.

    What to do for fun

    There is a TV on each floor of the dorm rooms if you wanted to watch it. Otherwise the college provides some weekend fun with events, and there's BINGO, everyone loves BINGO.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good, however with the dining hall being closed for renovations, the Falcons Nest becomes very crowded.

    Dorm Life

    There are four dorm halls on campus. Moore usually gets all of the freshmen, and that can get really noisy. The showers are a little small, and the dorms get really hot in the warmer months if you don't have a doctors note to have A/C.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers push for their students to understand what they are teaching. Also they try to give students extra help when they are falling behind. If a student doesn't know what to do, all they need to do is ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember, this is an all female college, so don't be surprised with the lack of testosterone on the first day.

    In three sentences

    Cedar Crest is a beautiful, small, all women's college in Allentown Pennsylvania. The professors are very helpful and are reliable when it comes to extra credit and other curricular help. There are a lot of on school and off school entertainment possibilities, with movie streaming, weekendpalooza and other social events.