Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Cedar Valley College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/29/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused

  • 07/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Cedar Valley college is great for students with disabilities, ESL, transfer students, certificate students, and pretty much every type.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to use the tutoring center as much as you need it as well as the computer labs. Don't think negatively about the first day of class, always have a can do attitude. If possible try to get in student clubs and also work-study. If anybody needs any help look for a Student Ambassador like myself in the L building. We could help you from everything between applying, to transferring.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very affordable, more than a 4 year college and all credits transfer.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being here because there are so many resources that you can use for your classes. For example Cedar Valley offers 2 computer labs, library with a min computer lab, tutoring center, and counselors all at no cost to the student.

    Am learning a lot

    Being there I have learned a lot from self-discipline to communication skills.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students who are stuck on what they really want from a school or just want to get their basics out the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a REAL college experience this is not the school for you. It's just like High School all over again. You don't get the real experience of the sports and sororities that you would in a University. It is very flexible for those who have a very hetic schedule and have little time to spare.

    Bang for the buck

    It's very cost efficient so yeah it's good for the money that you are paying.

    Am enjoying being here

    I personally don't enjoy myself because it is not where I saw myself going, but most people enjoy their time there because of the many functions and activities that are there to join.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm learning a lot from my teachers and the courses. Most of the teachers are patient and understanding and really try to teach you.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good Security System. I felt very safe.

    Greek Life

    Kappa Alpha

    Clubs and Activities

    Government Club Health Professional Club Ms. Cedar Valley Pagent

    Great for these types of students

    Students that cannot afford a university. Students that come from a one income family. Students that have to work to help support the family. Students that have children

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a wonderful gym and the view to the pond is amazing.

    Bang for the buck

    Six Flags and Dallas Zoo would be a good example of bang for the buck. They offer lots of discounts and its fun.

    What to do for fun

    Play soccer, participate in student activities, volunteer

    Food and Dining

    Good food and dining. (Love Subway)

    Dorm Life

    Lived at home with my parents, have not experience dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers have a great Academic Rigor. They follow the curriculum and they have a great way of teaching.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should: Complete Assignments Don't be afraid to try new things Participate in Group Clubs Use the Tutoring Center, don't be afraid to ask for help

    In three sentences

    A very good community college, I really enjoyed the years that I attended. It gave me the confident to participate in so many Student Clubs, I even participated in Ms. Cedar Valley Pageant. I would not trade the experience for anything.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that are not ready or have no interest in a 4 year college can get a career opportunity from Cedar Valley College because they have a lot to offer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take in what is being taught and don not give up. Learn all that you can whilb you have the mind to be used.

    Bang for the buck

    College is an opportunity to allow you to get a better job and a chance to make more money.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am enjoying Cedar Valley College because the professors take the time to expain and answer questions for those in need.

    Am learning a lot

    After 35 enrolling into College after 35 years, I am recalling information and learning alot that I did not know

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Cedar Valley is great for all types of students. Whether a student is just graduating high school or returning after many years, obtaining a degree or taking refresher classes or just exploring a new hobby, CVC has a variety of classes available.

    Tips for prospective students

    One of the best tips I could give a prospective student is to communicate with their instructors. Working together with professors can help guide you toward avenues you didn't know existed.

    Bang for the buck

    Being the CEO of a single parent household takes strict budgeting. That is why I am thankful for Cedar Valley's lower tuition fees. I am able to attend an accredited college within my budget with the option of transfering my hours to a university later on. This way I get a great education for less money.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am actually enjoying attending Cedar Valley. The work has been challenging but also fun. There are plenty of organizations as well as academic courses to join and/or enroll.

    Am learning a lot

    After taking a long break from college I was hesitant in returning to school. Cedar Valley has made the transition easy for me. The professors have been knowledgeable, accessible and caring. The students are friendly and eager to learn. I've also been able to enroll in on-line courses which are very convenient. My learning experience so far has been great and whenever I needed extra help the staff was always available and helpful.

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    top security

    Clubs and Activities

    Hip hop and drama club

    Great for these types of students

    people with busy schedules

    Bang for the buck

    affordable classes

    What to do for fun

    go to fun center( table tennis, board games, video games)

    Food and Dining

    subway thats it

    Dorm Life

    they have no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    classes challenging but not to difficult

    Tips for prospective students

    take online classes

    In three sentences

    Its affordable, safe, organized college

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    about average

    Greek Life

    one of the most active groups in the nation.

    Great for these types of students

    any and everybody.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    a few snakes about the campus, particularly by the little lake. i love to watch the ducks and the turtles. barking dogs can be heard by the medical building due to the veterinary technician program

    What to do for fun

    several clubs that run the gamut-from academic to violin!

    Food and Dining

    close to some fast food places with a subway shop on campus or bring your own.

    Academic Rigor

    tough but thorough.

    Tips for prospective students

    start your admissions process early. bring whatever forms you are specifically told to bring-no more/no less. check in to financial aid early and be ready for a process because applying and getting aid is a process.

    In three sentences

    cvc offers and excellent education for the price. cvc has incredible instructors. cvc has a very diverse student body.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are interested in drama, veterinary technology, or automotive technology those are CVC's specialties.

    What to do for fun

    The Office of Student Life (OSL) provides most of the entertainment for the campus and also promotes the clubs and organizations available on campus like Phi Theta Kappa and Student Government Association (SGA).

    Food and Dining

    Food is AWESOME, they have a Subway in the cafeteria and vending machines throughout the buildings.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    In three sentences

    Cedar Valley College is a really good school, with attentive teachers, in a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. They have a great tutoring center with awesome available tutors to help you with any subject and even offer online help. The library even offers the ability to rent textbooks inside the library for up to two hours, if you can't purchase the textbook right away.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    study

    Food and Dining

    food is about a 5 on a scale of 1 to 10

    Dorm Life

    not living on dorm

    Academic Rigor

    is not very hard

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard

    In three sentences

    it is a good school to attend

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is nothing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Patience in the administration office.

    In three sentences

    Cedar Valley College is old. It's staff in the administrations office are clueless about their job. Not my college of choice but the closest one to me.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    email and text emergency alerts

    Greek Life

    unknown

    Clubs and Activities

    unknown

    Bang for the buck

    Decent price for a great education

    What to do for fun

    off campus student

    Food and Dining

    off campus student

    Dorm Life

    Off campus living

    Academic Rigor

    Very academic and keeps me focused!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not fall behind with online classes. Make a schedule for studying and stick to it. Be sure to stand up for yourself and let instructors know if you are having problems.

    In three sentences

    Great instructors who respond quickly with questions. Are understanding to software errors and keep in contact with there students. Very impressed with the quality education I am receiving!

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is a very safe place. There has never been a time where things have gotten out of control. At Cedar Valley there is a friendly peaceful atmosphere.

    Bang for the buck

    When it comes to money, Cedar Valley has very good prices on there classes. The classes are very very affordable especially if you compare them to the prices that you pay at the universities. If you attend Cedar Valley you will not have to worry about not getting what you paid for!

    What to do for fun

    Since Cedar Valley is not a University there isn't too much that you can do. You can get to know people and chat it out by the pretty lake that's behind the school. Also every once in a while there are school events that you can attend!

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok but not the best. The reason why I gave it two stars was simply because the only place it has that offers food is a Subway. Other than that they also have vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    Cedar Valley College doesn't have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    There aren't to many challenges that I can think of. What I can say is don't pick to many classes if you know that you can't handle them all at once. Also some people may not take you as serious as you want to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to learn, choose the classes that you are most interested in, be on time, and make sure you leave procrastination behind!Get to know your professors on a friend level. Don't be afraid to meet new people.

    In three sentences

    Cedar Valley college is a good community college for new freshmen students. Most of their courses are transferable which is good so you can attend the university you have been dreaming to. Their professors are really kind and do show respect to their students and really want us to succeed in life.

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is a pretty secure they have plenty of security there I don't feel as if I'm in danger at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your work done there serious when it comes to getting your work done but there also very friendly people and will help you out if you are in the need for help.

    In three sentences

    Cedar Valley College is a pretty cool school there very helpful. There always willing to help a student out when they need help. They have a great tutoring center witch is always helpful. Its an OK school.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately Cedar Valley College Doesn't offer housing for students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your Best don't take on too much that you cant handle .

  • 05/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a park nearby with many activities that can be done. Many people go to have a blast, hang out and relax around their fellow peers.

    Food and Dining

    The school is surrounded by many family ran diners. It has a great environment and the people are great to be around.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at the school. However, it is very public and is surrounded by many great apartment complexes.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is excellent. The school has many resources to make education an attainable goal. It is a great way to pursue a goal in learning and achieving that goal through the great resources this school provides.

    Tips for prospective students

    A new student to this school should have an open mind and be willing to try new things. As in ways to study and work with others in achieving a mutual goal to be successful.

    In three sentences

    This school is a pleasure to be a part of. It served as a guide to help me realize what I would like to achieve in life. It will always be a part of me and I am thankful for all its great resources that made it possible.

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe.

    Greek Life

    I don't know about the Greeks.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs to join. There are also student government, Phi Kappa Theta, National Honor Society, and many cultural clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    If you need to work on choosing a major, it is a great place. You can take the time to see what you really want to do and go for it!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We hung out in the food court. It became a meeting place!

    Bang for the buck

    Good bang for the buck and it will save you money toward you bachelor degree!

    What to do for fun

    Go to a sporting event or one of the cultural activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food was ok, if you like subway sndwiches

    Dorm Life

    No dormitories

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are hard. Budgeting your time and schedule outside of the school was helpful. Talk to current student and take advantage of the free tutoring before you find yourself in a jam.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay in touch with your instructors. They will help, but only if you take the time to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    Cedar Valley Community college was a great place to learn about college expectations and have a safe college experience before I go to four-year college. All my grades transferred and I am happy for that. The school staff was very supportive and helpful, but I learned I had to ask for the help.

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Location of the campus is a little scary, but there are officers that patrol the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    VTSA

    Great for these types of students

    Vet techs

    Bang for the buck

    If you are in the Collin or Terrant county, ask for the discount because those two counties do not offer Vet Tech classes

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, study, study!

    In three sentences

    Great veterinary technician program. I have learned a lot and still learning through their excellent instructor.

  • 08/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is someone always petroling the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Real affordable. I have been to expensive colleges before and the fact that a school cost more does not be the quality of education is better.

    What to do for fun

    They have many activities that they do inorder to reach out to the student body. Talent shows plays etc

    Food and Dining

    No reall cafateria on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    They have professors there that if you apply yourself you will learn alot from them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you know what you should be taking according to you degree plan because it is easy to enroll in things you don't need if you are not carefull.

    In three sentences

    Affordable credit programs. They make it easy to complete my prerequisites for Nurses. The advisors and staff are great and very helpful.

  • 10/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have police on campus every hours and days! If you fill like you need safety they'll walk you to your car!

    Clubs and Activities

    They have lots of clubs and activities just never attended

    Great for these types of students

    Who want to go to college in 4yrs or less

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Book Store and Main Building

    What to do for fun

    They provided a room with computers to do: Homework, Study and social media!

    Food and Dining

    Been in the cafeteria but never ate. They have subway!

    Dorm Life

    CVC don't provide dorm!

    Academic Rigor

    Just try to keep your grade up and attend tutor is needed

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect all professor to help you, Attend tutor is needed!

    In three sentences

    Cedar Valley is a Okay School. When I first attended CVC it was uncoordinated. Most professor care and most don't : as in helping and paying attention in what you wear!