Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Centenary College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Centenary College has a thriving Theatre Arts department. Having just built a new arts center, The David and Carol Lackland Center, the department is bursting with life. Alongside the Theatre Arts department, there is a professional Equity theatre company in residence at the Lackland Center, the Centenary Stage Company. The theatre company is helmed by Carl Wallnau, the artistic director.

    Bang for the buck

    Centenary College is expensive, with tuition upwards of $35,000+ a year. If you're not on financial aid, it can be rough. However, Centenary has superb financial aid; many students say that their financial aid package from Centenary was by far the best of their offers. If you're looking for an intellectual, social, and laid-back, small community, I believe that Centenary is one of the best college's out there. I find the price is very worth it.

    Am learning a lot

    Centenary College is a remarkable academic environment. In my experience, professors really care about their subject and their students. Overall, they are incredibly approachable and always interested in helping you learn and eager to discuss issues that are of related to classroom work. Professors will work you hard, but the work is meaningful, productive and worthwhile. Classes are small, allowing for involved student-professor and student-student interaction. Students themselves are bright, generally interested in learning and care about their subjects. Centenary College is a liberal arts college, and discussions in the classroom frequently involve related subjects and connections made to other classes. It's definitely an intellectual community.

  • 11/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is an excellent school for Fashion majors. The fashion program teaches absolute beginners how to sew like pros within the first semester. The school also has excellent connections in the fashion industry for some of the top internship positions. The school is also known for having an excellent Equine program with a beautiful Equestrian center off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    When touring the campus, make sure to ask your tour guide as many questions as possible. They will tell you everything there is to know about Centenary which will make you fall in love with the school.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is pretty pricey but the majority of students receive some financial aid. It is worth the price though because you learn so much in the classes, and there are always tons of free events on campus to keep you entertained.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus itself is gorgeous. Its an old school but still very pretty. The new dining hall has a great variety and there are always fun free events planned thorough out the week.

    Am learning a lot

    I absolutely love this school. The small class sizes make it easier for teachers to get to know their students better and help them one on one when they need it. All of the teachers I've had so far are excellent at thoroughly explaining the material in ways that students understand it.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    most of the time i personally love the cafeteria, some days there's nothing i like so i will get a sandwich. i am extremely picky but yet there is always something to eat

    Dorm Life

    the freshman dorms are so nice! come sophomore year theres tons of dorming options

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved in the activites! they have awesome trips for really cheap!

    In three sentences

    centenary is such a homey, warm small college. most of the teachers are really there to help you. all of the students are really nice and helpful.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security does not seem to know the difference between some of the buildings, and when they are called to open classrooms or perform other mundane activities, it takes them quite a while. A mandatory lock-down was performed Spring 2012 and some faculty did not know the protocol.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life that I am aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    I know there are sports teams. I was briefly involved in the Video Game Club, but otherwise I am not well-versed in the activities on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Fashion Design majors, and Equine students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a Methodist church on campus, which is very pretty.

    Bang for the buck

    Centenary is too expensive, in my opinion. $40,000 per year for a small, almost unheard of school is unacceptable.

    What to do for fun

    There are some sports teams and clubs. It's in a college town, so there is shopping nearby. A bus is brought in every few weeks to tow students to the nearby shopping mall in Rockaway.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delightful and varied. Your dietary needs Will be met, whether you are carnivore, herbivore or omnivore.

    Dorm Life

    I have not been a part of the dorm life,

    Academic Rigor

    My former college was infinitely more challenging than Centenary, to the point I was having extreme difficulty maintaining a 2.0 GPA. Centenary is rigorous enough that you feel you're learning, but you're not scared to death of academic probation every semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not expect any faculty to be able to answer your questions. I've had numerous unfortunate experiences where I go to a particular department and get bounced around, constantly hearing I don't know, ask someone else. The academic guide you are provided with will contradict itself in multiple sections. However, I cannot praise every professor I've encountered enough. Centenary has scrounged up some of the best I've seen.

    In three sentences

    If you are a transfer student like me, make sure you know what is required of you, because you advisers are not particularly helpful. The food is outstanding and varied, the cafeteria clean, and the staff are very kind. Professors are very easygoing and helpful, classes are not difficult.

  • 05/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety department always emails updates on campus safety and security. Anytime there are any issues with parking, snow closings, or events on campus you will know just by checking your student email.

    Clubs and Activities

    Cnetenary college offers support to students with spiritual values. There is Bible study and worship service offered. I really enjoy Centenary's got talent show, competitions, comedians coming to campus, and intramural activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many nice benches to sit down and do your homework. It is very quiet on campus in the afternoon.

    What to do for fun

    You can join sports, support groups and other activities. Talk to your advisor to see what your interests are.

    Food and Dining

    I have not dine at Centenary College as I bring my own food. I take evening classes for my degree since I work eight hours a day.

    Dorm Life

    There are dorms available on campus, however, I commute by car.

    Academic Rigor

    Centenary College staff is professional and if you need help there is always someone to assist you that same day.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is very helpfull to get an advisor to review your program and classes you need to take. The campus is beautiful and there are a lot of activities and groups to join.

    In three sentences

    Cnetenary College provides a good variety of degrees to choose from. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. I really enjoy taking classes here since the professors are very understanding and do not turn you away when you need help.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Although it is a small town, it has many school themed parties! There are places to eat out nearby like Applebees, Fridays, etc. that accept Cyclone Card discounts. (ID Cards)

    Food and Dining

    The meals vary greatly from Italian to Chinese cuisine. There's is a salad bar complete with every topping including tofu for the vegetarians. Everything is served fresh as in that day. There is a breakfast section with muffins, bagels, cereal (gluten free if you prefer) and a fridge fully stocked You can even make your own waffles, omelets, etc.

    Dorm Life

    The people are just like old friends honestly. You all meet one another and everyone is pretty willing just to have a good time. We hang out in each others rooms, have parties, or just meet in the common area and watch movies on the 40 inch, play pool or play video games on the 40 inch.

    Academic Rigor

    Expect to be challenged by the course load but do not be intimidated. The work pushes you higher however it is not to difficult to the point of discouragement. Remember if you ever need help, just sign up for a tutor twice a week or so and you will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to Centenary College Dont stress if you are undecided on a major Expect quality attention and challenging homework to take you to the next level

    In three sentences

    Centenary College is the perfect school for prospective students to get one on one attention with professors. There are several tutors dedicated to helping students on a daily basis in many majors. For those uncertain of their majors, their is a program called Majors and Minors to help guide you in the direction you would like to pursue.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Clubs and activities all the time. The SGA is very good with planing fun events all year long

    Food and Dining

    Very good food a lot to choose from. There is even late night which is also very good.

    Dorm Life

    Very clean and nice for all students. big enough rooms. apartments for upperclassmen

    Academic Rigor

    Very good academic programs. Many majors and minors at the school. Classes are close to dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focus and have fun. There is a lot to offer at centenary college. Follow the rules it will be a lot easier. Be safe

    In three sentences

    Centenary is very fun and exciting. The class sizes are great for one on one help. The campus is very clean and safe for all the students and staff.

  • 02/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and activities as well as some parties on the weekend.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay, some days are better than others. It does get boring after a while because they usually serve somewhat the same types of things.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are okay, although I could do without the many 1:30 am fire alarms.

    Academic Rigor

    Since I am an equine major, I have been learning this stuff my whole life, so right now the classes aren't that difficult for me. I have also never had a tough time in school

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to put yourself out there to make new friends!

    In three sentences

    I love it here. The equine program is the best. The people here are so nice and helpful; they really make me feel at home!

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The caferteria is not as gluetin tolerant as it could be. Also, they have very little variety.

    Academic Rigor

    The education department has various programs that have repetitive class content.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should be aware that college is a place that can either make or break you. Fall victim to partying or procrastination, your grades can slip.

    In three sentences

    This school is a little too expensive. There is very little financial aid oppertunity here. The school has a good education and theatre department.

  • 03/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security guards do their very best and are all former cops. However of course you always have your students that think its alright to just do whatever , and what not, and things do happen.

    Greek Life

    The sorority on campus puts off the image saying they are each unique and accepting, however they are not. Some, not all of the girls are extremely nasty. Its just a click.. I never see them do much. Its great to have a sorority on campus however, be nicer perhaps? I am surprised people pledge considering the things they do during pledging from what I have heard.

    Great for these types of students

    Equine and Education majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I am aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive college. Depending on your major, where your living and what not.

    What to do for fun

    They try to plan events on campus and off campus for us to do, which is nice i.e. beach trips, mall trips, etc. They also offer shuttles to different places. The town is small but there are also a lot of pretty parks nearby.

    Food and Dining

    The food varies in the cafeteria. Some days they have decent food and other days; not so much. On the weekend, it is not the best at all.

    Dorm Life

    The regular dorms are not that great however they have apartments on campus which are nice. Founders Hall is much nicer however. With dorm life, it can be tricky as far as roommates go.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the major, as for equine it is amazing. I am a equine major and the program is wonderful. It truly depends on the major you are in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Truly make sure that you are plan ahead when it comes to your scheduling, homework and everything else course work related or you will get behind. Make sure to visit the campus, as it is not for everyone. If you are someone serious about the equine industry, this school is for you.

    In three sentences

    Centenary College is a small private college, with a beautiful campus. They have done a lot of upgrades to the campus in the last few years. However, there seems to be something in the water in terms of the students i.e. how they behave.

  • 04/17/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although there is a large meth problem in Hackettstown - the campus feels very safe. There are rumors of drug-over doses, muggings, and rapes being swept under the rug, however. Knowing the administration pretty well, if these rumors were true, it wouldn't surprise me.

    Greek Life

    Non existent.

    Clubs and Activities

    While the student activities board is close-knit - it is a somewhat pathetic popularity contest. The student activities themselves seem to be held only for those involved on the committee.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who live in the Hackettstown area who are looking for a school close to home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bullying is a common trend among girls (and boys!) on the campus - it is surprisingly closed minded, and students with disabilities, of minorities, or of the LGBT community are often made fun of and ostracized.

    Bang for the buck

    Now that I am transferring, it is extremely impossible - I have lost nearly two years of schooling thanks to the way the school's classes are accredited. Also, the registrar's office can't get it together to get my transcripts and other forms out to other schools. Many college counselors that I have spoken to are telling me part of the reason I am having a hard time transferring is because of the school's poor reputation.

    What to do for fun

    Hackettstown, where the college is located, is extremely isolated. Without a car, there is nothing to do for fun - and even with a car, fun is located, usually, hours away. On the weekends, students go home, so it is hard to find things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall makes many students sick - and a surprising amount of students opt out of eating there all together. There are many suspicions that the cooking oil does not get changed, which is where everyone's food poisoning comes from. The dining hall is also run and owned by a separate, private, entity - and is overpriced for even the biggest meal plan possible - which is less than twenty meals a week.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are in extremely poor condition structurally, and are also maintained poorly. Upperclassmen apartments are pretty nice - if you can get into them!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are somewhat of a joke - they are much easier than they were in high school, and are not taken seriously by many of the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Unless you are from the North Jersey area, or get a full scholarship, don't go here! Your money will be wasted on extremely poor academics, a school with a bad reputation, and professors/staff with minimal to no connections outside the university itself. The kids are also pretty closed-minded, and it is generally a commuter school, so it isn't a great place to meet people or have fun.

    In three sentences

    Centenary is small, private, and under-funded. It is a good school for locals in the area who are afraid to or are unable to move away from home, simply looking to get a degree. Centenary is not a school for those looking to be academically, culturally, or socially challenged.